View Full Version : 11 best Hibs fans/players

21sMay
12-01-2017, 10:57 PM
Was just wondering what kind of team we could come up with if just Hibs fans from over the years ??

Goalie???? Can't think of one
Left back-- Ian Murray
Centre back-- Darren mgregor
Centre back-- John Hughes
Right back -- ??????
Left mid-- mickey weir
Centre mid- sir pat
Centre mid- John Collins
Right mid - ????
Centre forward-- Derek riordan
Centre forwards-- Keith wright

Any greats I've missed I apologise , these are the players I think have been great players and pretty sure all are Hibs fans

12-01-2017, 11:00 PM
Goalie has to be John Leslie

Hutchie
12-01-2017, 11:00 PM
Was just wondering what kind of team we could come up with if just Hibs fans from over the years ??

Goalie???? Can't think of one
Left back-- Ian Murray
Centre back-- Darren mgregor
Centre back-- John Hughes
Right back -- ??????
Left mid-- mickey weir
Centre mid- sir pat
Centre mid- John Collins
Right mid - ????
Centre forward-- Derek riordan
Centre forwards-- Keith wright

Any greats I've missed I apologise , these are the players I think have been great players and pretty sure all are Hibs fans

Kevin Thomson

12-01-2017, 11:01 PM
John Collins and John Hughes no Celtic fans as boys? I'd always thought Hughes was a Hibs supporter but sure there was someone on here who insisted he was a Celtic supporter when he was younger who knew him. Think he'd be classed as one of us now though!

Right back - Willie Miller

Keyser Sauzee

I can vaguely remember this, I'm sure I watched it on tv. Was it at Tynie? What game was it?

12-01-2017, 11:02 PM
And McNeil in goals, Willie Miller right back

21sMay
12-01-2017, 11:04 PM
I'd be shocked if Collins and Hughes are Celtic fans ?? But maybe they are , if so then Hanlon and Thomson for me

12-01-2017, 11:06 PM
Hanlon>Mcgregor anyway

12-01-2017, 11:07 PM
Craig Paterson to replace Celtic fan Hughes, wee Gordon Strachan to replace Celtic fan Collins, and wee Robbo up front - just because he'd love to have played for Hibs 😉

smithy_hibees
12-01-2017, 11:09 PM
Young sparky.
Can't think of many ex players attending as many as griffiths does even though still plays at a very high level

12-01-2017, 11:23 PM
Leigh Griffiths has to be in that team somewhere.

12-01-2017, 11:31 PM
Leigh Griffiths has to be in that team somewhere.

What about that chap that every wanted to "Gi'e the ba' tae"?

Also, Grant Brebner?

13-01-2017, 01:20 AM
John Collins and John Hughes no Celtic fans as boys? I'd always thought Hughes was a Hibs supporter but sure there was someone on here who insisted he was a Celtic supporter when he was younger who knew him. Think he'd be classed as one of us now though!

Hughes's dad a Celtic fan but John a Hibee, used to go to the games.

13-01-2017, 01:22 AM
I'd be shocked if Collins and Hughes are Celtic fans ?? But maybe they are , if so then Hanlon and Thomson for me

From Galashiels, his dad was a Celtic fan and think JC played Celtic bhoys club.

13-01-2017, 01:23 AM
What about that chap that every wanted to "Gi'e the ba' tae"?

Also, Grant Brebner?

Grant can run the book and take care of the Wags!

aussie_hibee
13-01-2017, 02:03 AM
Andy McNeil
Miller McGregor Hanlon Murray
Stanton Thomson Collins
Griffiths Reilly Riordan

Any more of the famous 5 or tornadoes that were also fans and could strengthen this?

13-01-2017, 02:40 AM
From Galashiels, his dad was a Celtic fan and think JC played Celtic bhoys club.

Correct.
His family were massive Celtic fans

13-01-2017, 04:07 AM
Andy McNeil
Stanton Thomson Collins
Griffiths Reilly Riordan

Any more of the famous 5 or tornadoes that were also fans and could strengthen this?

Orouke?

LustForLeith
13-01-2017, 05:01 AM
At a recent sports brunch doo Yogi spoke of the proudest day in his career being when he made his debut for Celtic.

I'm sure his family were all Celtic fans and he was too when he was younger.

I was a bit drunk at the time but it does ring a bell.

13-01-2017, 06:02 AM
Yogi was absolutely a Hibby. Collins was definitely a Celtic fan

Juice-Terry
13-01-2017, 06:24 AM
Lawrie Reilly and Eddie Turnball (at least) from the FF.

13-01-2017, 06:44 AM
Tommy Younger in goals, total Hibs man.

13-01-2017, 06:50 AM
Tommy Younger in goals, total Hibs man.

Super joe. Arthur duncan.

13-01-2017, 07:09 AM
Andy McNeil
Stanton Thomson Collins
Griffiths Reilly Riordan

<<<<<<<<<<<< him.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

StevieCowan
13-01-2017, 07:10 AM
Callum Milne & Paul Kane on the bench

13-01-2017, 07:16 AM
Yogi was one of those types who had Celtic as their big team but also followed Hibs. There were plenty of them around Leith back in the 70s & 80s. His uncle used to run the Leith Celtic bus from my old man's pub back in the day and Yogi 100% used to travel on it.

A bit like Alan Preston who was a Rangers fan before declaring his undying love for the charity thieves.

13-01-2017, 07:19 AM
Orouke?

:agree: Jimmy has to be in there somewhere.

13-01-2017, 07:37 AM

Yogi used to go up to the Hibs games as a laddie with all the boys from Leith Links/Lochend area, he was about 4-5 years younger than me but we all went up in one big group, a huge Hibee, his dad and brother were Celtic fans though.

Correct.
His family were massive Celtic fans

I think because he came through our ranks we all assumed he was a Hibee but I'm pretty sure he's a Celtic fan.

Bukta#8
13-01-2017, 07:48 AM
Gordon Hunter
Kano

13-01-2017, 08:02 AM
Alan rough for goalie?

Earlydelivery
13-01-2017, 08:03 AM
He was at my secondary, defo a Celtic fan .

13-01-2017, 08:18 AM
Yogi was one of those types who had Celtic as their big team but also followed Hibs. There were plenty of them around Leith back in the 70s & 80s. His uncle used to run the Leith Celtic bus from my old man's pub back in the day and Yogi 100% used to travel on it.

A bit like Alan Preston who was a Rangers fan before declaring his undying love for the charity thieves.

I was at school (primary & secondary) with a guy who almost made it as a footballer - he was at Aberdeen then Hearts before eventually being released when he was about 20/21.

He was Celtic daft up until the time when Hearts "Mita" won the league - he changed allegiance and has been a rabid yam ever since.

I find it hard to understand people that can do that.

Fanforlife
13-01-2017, 10:35 AM
Got to be a places for Alex Cropley and Ralph Callaghan, both big Hibbys.

13-01-2017, 10:45 AM
He was at my secondary, defo a Celtic fan .
Yogi has confirmed that many times. Celtic fan as a boy became a Hibee later on.

13-01-2017, 10:49 AM
Alan rough for goalie?
Celtic fan

Tom Hart RIP
13-01-2017, 10:53 AM
Alex Cropley and Eric Stevenson

13-01-2017, 10:53 AM
Gordon Hunter
Kano
The Rebel Eric Stevenson. Read his book 'Hibs through and through' Says it all.

13-01-2017, 10:55 AM
Yogi has confirmed that many times. Celtic fan as a boy became a Hibee later on.

He was taken to Celtic games as a lad but started going to Hibs games with all his mates from Links area when he was a teenager.

Gorebridge Hibb
13-01-2017, 11:18 AM
He was taken to Celtic games as a lad but started going to Hibs games with all his mates from Links area when he was a teenager.

Chris Reid in goals or Jason Gardiner.....

rodhibs55
13-01-2017, 11:27 AM

Robin Rae

13-01-2017, 11:43 AM
Robin Rae

I remember a match at Fir Park (I think) where he was standing just in front of me in the away end - he spent most of the match with a latex mask over his head.

Strange!

13-01-2017, 11:49 AM
I was at school (primary & secondary) with a guy who almost made it as a footballer - he was at Aberdeen then Hearts before eventually being released when he was about 20/21.

He was Celtic daft up until the time when Hearts "Mita" won the league - he changed allegiance and has been a rabid yam ever since.

Even funnier given how that league campaign ended. :greengrin

13-01-2017, 11:55 AM
Mike McDonald for keeper, not sure if he is a Hibby but, IIRC he was at the last London Hibs Burns Supper.

13-01-2017, 12:00 PM
Mike McDonald for keeper, not sure if he is a Hibby but, IIRC he was at the last London Hibs Burns Supper.

This year's too :aok:

Bobo
13-01-2017, 12:06 PM
Peter Cormack for definite was a Hibs supporter, what about John Brownlie?

jingler1954
13-01-2017, 12:28 PM
Pat Nevin played to a high standard and is a Hibs fan.:agree:

13-01-2017, 12:31 PM
John was from Pumperstpn not B & B but grow into the club. Nevin , Grey , Aly McL , Jackie Mac. Many , many others.

13-01-2017, 12:36 PM
Par N is a top man. Did not want to subject his children to the lRA stuff at Parkhead but did want them to give them the joy of football. They were all ST's in the old East.

4WAW
13-01-2017, 12:40 PM
Left back has to be Shades, Erich was star in that position. Any place for Lawrie Reilly and Ned, or the fabulous Baker boy? Maybe a shout for Gordon Hunter as well? So many options that I can think of but not sure about their "fan" status.

13-01-2017, 01:06 PM
Given my age ,84, it can only be :greengrin

Kerr
Govan
Shaw
Finnigan
Aird
Kean
Smith
Johston
Reilly
Turnbull
Ormond

" When will we see their likes again ?"
:hibees

howdenthehibby
13-01-2017, 02:01 PM
Jackie Macnamara snr and Ralph Callachan

hughio
13-01-2017, 02:07 PM

Kerr
Govan
Shaw
Finnigan
Aird
Kean
Smith
Johston
Reilly
Turnbull
Ormond

:not worth

13-01-2017, 02:14 PM

Kerr
Govan
Shaw
Finnigan
Aird
Kean
Smith
Johston
Reilly
Turnbull
Ormond

Only Lawrie out the 5 was a born and bred Hibby. Quote " I was born Hibby, lived my life a Hibby and when the time comes I will die a Hibby."

hibeg
13-01-2017, 03:22 PM
Alex Cropley would have to get a game

Tamhere1875
13-01-2017, 04:46 PM
A certain Mr Henderson?

13-01-2017, 05:08 PM
No room for big Nishy. :greengrin

13-01-2017, 05:09 PM

Lawrie Leslie maybe?
He started with Hawkhill Amateurs which is a Dundee team I believe so he may not have necessarily been a Hibs fan before signing.

Fanforlife
13-01-2017, 05:12 PM
Lawrie Leslie maybe?
He started with Hawkhill Amateurs which is a Dundee team I believe so he may not have necessarily been a Hibs fan before signing.
Sure Lawrie Leslie is a Niddrie born guy.

13-01-2017, 05:15 PM
Sure Lawrie Leslie is a Niddrie born guy.

:aok: We'll count him 'in' then.

Whenever I hear "Niddrie" mentioned it makes me think of Hibs for some reason. :wink:

13-01-2017, 07:19 PM
This year's too :aok:

Its one of the few things I can recall of the evening, the 0830 start had a bit of an effect on Kano's border crossing marauders! :-)

13-01-2017, 08:30 PM
Pat Stanton

beensaidbefore
13-01-2017, 08:36 PM

Or our current goalie coach. Alan Combe?

13-01-2017, 08:43 PM
Only Lawrie out the 5 was a born and bred Hibby. Quote " I was born Hibby, lived my life a Hibby and when the time comes I will die a Hibby."

Beg to differ :greengrin:wink:
Jimmy Kerr was my uncles friend and the first " non family" Hibbee I ever met !!
He was born in Ormiston in 11919 and was a Hibbee thro' and thro' even although he went on to play for Q of Sth

beensaidbefore
13-01-2017, 08:45 PM
Jimmy Kerr was my uncles friend and the first " non family" Hibbee I ever met !!
He was born in Ormiston in 11919 and was a Hibbee thro' and thro' even although he went on to play for Q of Sth

Have you been to the future and back? 😂

13-01-2017, 08:59 PM
David Murphy. Played for his boyhood heroes but said playing for the Hibees was the dogs.

13-01-2017, 09:20 PM

I think southsider was referring to the Famous Five only, jds.

Babyshamble
13-01-2017, 11:25 PM
Calumn Milne.paul Kane.willie Miller.

13-01-2017, 11:29 PM
Calumn Milne.paul Kane.willie Miller.

Callum Milne is the hardest man I've ever met - ever 😀 Good shout libertine.

Babyshamble
13-01-2017, 11:33 PM
Callum Milne is the hardest man I've ever met - ever 😀 Good shout libertine.

Cheers mate.yer tho.he was proper hard.

13-01-2017, 11:38 PM
Cheers mate.yer tho.he was proper hard.

Mind, I wouldn't want to be Willie's dentist 😀

14-01-2017, 01:15 AM
Orouke?

Remove the question mark!

No bigger Hibee than Jimmy O'Rourkr

Green_one
14-01-2017, 02:42 AM
Pat Stanton

Joe Baker. Lawrie can play wide

14-01-2017, 02:44 AM
Eric Stevenson

stantonsboots
14-01-2017, 05:22 AM
Yogi was absolutely a Hibby. Collins was definitely a Celtic fanagreed remember him from games in the late 70's

14-01-2017, 07:06 AM

There was a thread on this very forum not all that long ago in which quite a few of the 'die hard' Hibbies who post on here told stories of being rescued from the clutches of the Old Firm cult .... not least of all my good self.

From 26/05/1967 until roughly 4:30pm on 03/05/1975 I could have been described as 'Celtic daft'. This aberration started the day after Celtic had won the European cup as I and far too many of my school friends were seduced by this massive and exotic bit of success into joining the Celtic camp, I lived in Leith at the time and I assure you it wasn't just me. The aberration ended on 03/05/1975 as I listened on the radio to Celtic's sledgehammer smashing Airdrie's nut in the Scottish cup final.

As I listened to that game it began to dawn on me more and more that as a proud Edinburgh lad ( even though I was and still am exiled in the Borders ) I had no business supporting a team from a different city and that I had in fact, like it or not, spent the previous 8 years as a snivelling glory hunting bloody little traitor to my city and my roots.

From the end of the game I resolved to support an Edinburgh team .... it might have been the Yams in all honesty, but having lived in Leith as a kid and having vague memories of being a Hibs fan prior to being drawn to the dark side it really had to be the Hibees. At the start of the 76/77 season I went with my pal to my first ever Hibs game ( in fact my first ever professional football match ) .... Hibs 1 Dundee Utd 2 ... Hamish McAlpine scored a penalty.
But that didn't matter, from the second I got to the top of the stairs and looked down on the pitch from the summit of that huge terracing I was hooked body and soul ...... Hibees for life through thick and thin and even thinner.

I suppose I didn't so much change from Celtic to Hibs as go back to Hibs from Celtic .......... They say you cant change your team, but if you ask me the one time you can do that with honour is when like so many kids you have been brainwashed into following the glory hunting herd and the ability to exercise independent thought that comes with experience allows you to realise what a huge mistake you have made.

14-01-2017, 07:09 AM
Peter Cormack
Alex Cropley

Edit: Apologies, already mentioned but both get a start for me.

14-01-2017, 08:06 AM
Have you been to the future and back? 😂

I have indeed as I am a 42nd Cousin of Dr Who :wink::greengrin

14-01-2017, 08:09 AM
I think southsider was referring to the Famous Five only, jds.

Yup realise that now - sorry !!
Ah ! My age has let me down again : will need to get back on the tablets :greengrin:wink:

14-01-2017, 08:57 AM
Yogi's boyhood team shouldn't matter too much as he was pretty poor for Hibs anyway (great contribution in the millennium derby aside) and should never be in ahead of Scottish Cup winners Hanlon and McGregor.

A pairing we can hopefully enjoy for another 3/4 years.

MartinfaePorty
14-01-2017, 11:22 AM
I notice a few folk saying Cropley and I'm sure he has a great fondness for Hibs, but when I was in his taxi the man himself told me he was a Celtic fan (he mentioned this after I told him I was off to watch Dundee Utd v Celtic).

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

14-01-2017, 12:54 PM
I notice a few folk saying Cropley and I'm sure he has a great fondness for Hibs, but when I was in his taxi the man himself told me he was a Celtic fan (he mentioned this after I told him I was off to watch Dundee Utd v Celtic).

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk
In his book, he doesn't actually say which team he supported. He does, though, say that he went to ER a lot.

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

FitzAlan
14-01-2017, 12:59 PM

JC played for Hutchie Vale as a teenager, whence Hibs signed him. Same age group as Eddie May. Gordon Neely was the coach!!

bournehibby
14-01-2017, 01:01 PM
Peter Cormack
Alex Cropley

Edit: Apologies, already mentioned but both get a start for me.

Any room for Peter Marinello?

bh

confused
14-01-2017, 06:32 PM
Orouke?
Eric Stevenson