View Full Version : Paleerie

08-01-2017, 01:41 PM
When someone was behaving excitedly or emotionally etc, my mum would say that they were having a "paleerie" (spelling?)

Has anyone else used this word?

08-01-2017, 03:30 PM
Our family always pronounced it "paloorie" although not sure how you actually spell it or even if that was how it was supposed to be pronounced.

I'm sure it's the same thing.

08-01-2017, 04:07 PM
Our family always pronounced it "paloorie" although not sure how you actually spell it or even if that was how it was supposed to be pronounced.

I'm sure it's the same thing.

Thanks 👍

09-01-2017, 09:14 AM
Could it be from Palaver, do you think it's Scots or do you think it's from an English word??

09-01-2017, 02:20 PM
Could it be from Palaver, do you think it's Scots or do you think it's from an English word??

Quite possibly related to palaver. I'd never thought of that.

I thought it was Scots. It sounds like it should be.

09-01-2017, 03:47 PM
Quite possibly related to palaver. I'd never thought of that.

I thought it was Scots. It sounds like it should be.

Going to ask my old dear she works on the Scottish national dictionary

10-01-2017, 11:12 AM
Got this from my Mum today. No finders fee

Hi TRC
I got Sherlock onto this (aka Alison) found this on a Kintyre forum and what she has found is mostly 'paloorie'. She found someone having 'a hairy paloorie' and we think it is Scots and a completely new find.

I'm going to add it to our word collection for later inclusion in SND.

Thanks, a lot of these words were missing back in the day so well done!

10-01-2017, 11:22 AM

Hi TRC
I got Sherlock onto this (aka Alison) found this on a Kintyre forum and what she has found is mostly 'paloorie'. She found someone having 'a hairy paloorie' and we think it is Scots and a completely new find.

Superb! I'm delighted about that.

xyz23jc
10-01-2017, 12:27 PM

Hi TRC

Brilliant! A bit more detail about origins etc wid be guid tae (Gaelic/Irish/Norse!) This has been daein ma heid in fur a few days noo!!:greengrin
Dinnae 'hink Suzie Dent wid hae a clue neither!!:agree:

10-01-2017, 04:20 PM
If I hear anything more from mother dearest and her trusty sidekick I will let you guys know. On a small note and if it's OK by the Admins I'd like to give there app a wee mention which you can get on Google play don't know about ios just type Scottish dictionary in the search field