View Full Version : largest attendance for non hearts old firm league game that you attended at Easter Rd

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:23 PM
Mine has to be East Fife in Jan 1973.

17,100 IIRC

Game after 7-0 that put us at the top of the league on goal difference.

That will be beaten tonight :flag:

06-01-2017, 03:24 PM
21,000 v Partick Thistle, 1979

06-01-2017, 03:25 PM
Probably the day Aberdeen won the league in 1980.

The east terracing was still at its full height.

06-01-2017, 03:26 PM

17,100 IIRC

Goal Average in those days:wink:

06-01-2017, 03:26 PM
I was at the Partick game as well but vaguely remember being at a Scotland U23 game v Holland, maybe mid 70's with 30,000+ (I think)

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:27 PM
Goal Average in those days:wink:
thought it changed after Killie won it on goal average in 64?

06-01-2017, 03:28 PM
I was at the Partick game as well but vaguely remember being at a Scotland U23 game v Holland, maybe mid 70's with 30,000+ (I think)

Went to extra time an penalties.

06-01-2017, 03:28 PM
Probably the day Aberdeen won the league in 1980.

The east terracing was still at its full height.

15,157 .... (EDIT: Actually it wasn't, that was the attendance at Pittodrie, the home game attendance was 12,921)

Weren't you at the Thistle game when Best made his home debut?

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:30 PM

I was, forgot about that as it was a bit of a one off.......

06-01-2017, 03:32 PM

Is that all? Could've sworn it was more. Did we have the full terracing then?

06-01-2017, 03:32 PM
George Best game v Thistle for me. Attendance that day probably six or seven times what it would have been at that time

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:35 PM
very few hibbys there that day. Worth it to see Ferguson win the league though. Archibald and Strachan were immense.

06-01-2017, 03:35 PM

Yeah, the big terracing hadn't been knocked down yet. Hibs support was really low that day though.

Docc109
06-01-2017, 03:36 PM

17,100 IIRC

36051 against Leeds in 1973. 0-0

06-01-2017, 03:36 PM
22,229 for the 3-2 win over Aberdeen, 30 Dec 1972. Happy days :thumbsup:

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=1925

Topographic Hibby
06-01-2017, 03:37 PM
George Best game v Thistle for me. Attendance that day probably six or seven times what it would have been at that time

Snap!! Me too. Own goal and a penalty IIRC. Also the U23 game v Holland that someone else mentioned.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:38 PM
36051 against Leeds in 1973. 0-0
there are loads of games with high attendances like that - were discussing league games outwith hearts and the old firm

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:39 PM

good catch!

06-01-2017, 03:42 PM
Anderlecht - was in the South Stand that night it was rammed.

06-01-2017, 03:46 PM

Only 14,188 I'm afraid.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 03:48 PM
Only 14,188 I'm afraid.
thats a lot for the South Stand though...........:confused:

06-01-2017, 03:48 PM

I was in the Dunbar end aswell, tried to find the attendance for the match but couldn't find it....
I was only a young teenager at the time but all I remember it was chocca...

06-01-2017, 03:50 PM
I know the thread is for league games but there was a decent crowd for the Scottish Cup tie v Dundee in 1974 - 28,236. 3-3 draw at ER, cuffed in the replay.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=13662

06-01-2017, 03:51 PM
Only 14,188 I'm afraid.
That was the biggest load of rubbish ever. I honestly think that night there was 20,000+ at that game. Lost my wife in the mayhem when the early first goal went in. Found her at halftime wandering about at the pie huts at the back of the east totally pissed off as the last thing she said was "if Hibs score, don't let go of me"

06-01-2017, 03:52 PM
Leeds United in the UEFA. Think it was around 27000. Rammed it was and me about 4' 2"

06-01-2017, 03:52 PM
A game against Hamilton that I don't want to discuss further.

crash
06-01-2017, 03:56 PM
I was at the Aberdeen match in 1971 for the return of Joe Baker . Aberdeen goalie Bobby Clark was setting a new record without losing a goal. Pat and Joe scored in a 2-1 victory. Attendance 23402.

06-01-2017, 03:58 PM
[QUOTE=crash;4898909]I was at the Aberdeen match in 1971 for the return of Joe Baker . Aberdeen goalie Bobby Clark was setting a new record without losing a goal. Pat and Joe scored in a 2-1 victory. Attendance 23402.[/QUOTE

My first ever Hibs game ( or the first I remember).

06-01-2017, 04:02 PM
That was the biggest load of rubbish ever. I honestly think that night there was 20,000+ at that game. Lost my wife in the mayhem when the early first goal went in. Found her at halftime wandering about at the pie huts at the back of the east totally pissed off as the last thing she said was "if Hibs score, don't let go of me"

Brilliant:greengrin

06-01-2017, 04:05 PM
I was at the Aberdeen match in 1971 for the return of Joe Baker . Aberdeen goalie Bobby Clark was setting a new record without losing a goal. Pat and Joe scored in a 2-1 victory. Attendance 23402.

Thanks for that, saved me looking it up :thumbsup:

Pat Stanton's goal was worthy of breaking a record.

My biggest Hibs crowd anywhere? Hampden 1972, 50K Hibs tickets sold for that cup final, attendance was 108K

06-01-2017, 04:06 PM

Ohhhh.... I'm claiming that one. I was there.

06-01-2017, 04:07 PM
40,000 for the Leeds game?

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:08 PM
I know the thread is for league games but there was a decent crowd for the Scottish Cup tie v Dundee in 1974 - 28,236. 3-3 draw at ER, cuffed in the replay.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=13662
30,000 plus at the replay as well....

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:13 PM
Thanks for that, saved me looking it up :thumbsup:

Pat Stanton's goal was worthy of breaking a record.

My biggest Hibs crowd anywhere? Hampden 1972, 50K Hibs tickets sold for that cup final, attendance was 108K
There were no tickets back then or crowd limits. Hibs support was estimated at around 35k at the time IIRC, however its anyone's guess but I doubt 50,000.

06-01-2017, 04:14 PM
40,000 for the Leeds game?

36,051. But wasn't a league game :greengrin

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:16 PM
This is the winner thus far. Anyone with a good memory care to go back further into the annuls of history???

I was at this game. Joe Baker wore white boots?

06-01-2017, 04:17 PM
I know we are talking about ER but, the biggest crowd i've been in at a game in Edinburgh must be the 29000 that turned up at Tynie in 1989 for the semi of the u-16 World Cup v Portugal, pandemonium, it was brilliant!

06-01-2017, 04:21 PM
I know we are talking about ER but, the biggest crowd i've been in at a game in Edinburgh must be the 29000 that turned up at Tynie in 1989 for the semi of the u-16 World Cup v Portugal, pandemonium, it was brilliant!

I was there..... KO delayed for 25 minutes or so.

Bak to ER, just saw that i was there v Celtic in 74,... 48k there :agree:

06-01-2017, 04:22 PM
What was the attendance for the AEK match?

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:24 PM
For any game at easter Rd the largest crowd I was in was the 1971 SC Reply vs Rangers. They cheated to a 2-1 "win". Crowd was given as 49,007 I recall but thousands couldn't get on the east terracing it was so full. Not sure how many jumped the turnstiles or climbed the walls............

06-01-2017, 04:26 PM

Was there too. The Jambos said that the Baker Boy was finished. They know nought.

06-01-2017, 04:28 PM
For any game at easter Rd the largest crowd I was in was the 1971 SC Reply vs Rangers. They cheated to a 2-1 "win". Crowd was given as 49,007 I recall but thousands couldn't get on the east terracing it was so full. Not sure how many jumped the turnstiles or climbed the walls............

Couldn't get in that night. Didn't even think about doing a bit mountaineering.

06-01-2017, 04:31 PM
To answer the original question I think it would be an Aberdeen game, either the one before 7-0 or the Baker comeback game.

Possibly the Best home debut v. Partick.

Biggest Cup match , 49000 ish v Rangers
Biggest League match 40,000ish v. Celtic, won 2-0 with two Joe McBride(Snr) goals ~1968
Biggest European game Hamburg (my first I think) or Leeds or one of the Turnbull Tornadoes ECWC run.

I'm sure someone can put figures on these.

06-01-2017, 04:32 PM
I was there..... KO delayed for 25 minutes or so.

Bak to ER, just saw that i was there v Celtic in 74,... 48k there :agree:

I'm quite confident the crowd was a tad larger than the figure given for the Tynie game, exactly 29k, doubtful!

06-01-2017, 04:34 PM
There were no tickets back then or crowd limits. Hibs support was estimated at around 35k at the time IIRC, however its anyone's guess but I doubt 50,000.

They sold tickets for segregation purposes.

Hibs fans were housed in the covered enclosure [Rangers End], Celtic fans on either side, where the broken glassed rained down on us as they threw bottles on to the metal stanchions. I also remember having to get tickets for other games as well, although not too often, giving the size of the grounds.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:34 PM
To answer the original question I think it would be an Aberdeen game, either the one before 7-0 or the Baker comeback game.

Biggest League match 40,000ish v. Celtic, won 2-0 with two Joe McBride(Snr) goals ~1968
Biggest European game Hamburg (my first I think) or Leeds or one of the Turnbull Tornadoes ECWC run.

biggest league match would be the hearts game that set the ground record back in the 50's? 68,000 wish

06-01-2017, 04:38 PM

Hamburg 27,399

Leeds 36,051

You're welcome ;-)

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:40 PM
They sold tickets for segregation purposes.

Hibs fans were housed in the covered enclosure [Rangers End], Celtic fans on either side, where the broken glassed rained down on us as they threw bottles on to the metal stanchions. I also remember having to get tickets for other games as well, although not too often, giving the size of the grounds.
there were no tickets and no segregation at the 1972 SCF. I was there. I was at the celtic end with both hibs and celtic fans. No bother at all. I was 14 and remember an adult Hibs fan near me wearing a suit and crying his eyes out after about the 5th goal went in.......it was my first final but I guess he'd been through a lot......

06-01-2017, 04:41 PM
biggest league match would be the hearts game that set the ground record back in the 50's? 68,000 wish

I'm auld but no that auld.

Must have been amazing if a bit unsafe, I've been in a 49000 crowd so god knows how another 15 to 20k would have fitted in.

MKHIBEE

I was at that game , did Scotland lose on penalties? I can't remember it was so long ago

I see that question was answered a few posts after the original. Must keep up

I'm sure it was 26,000 for the Sporting game. Was that the Rangers replay early 1973?

I'm sure the Celtic game was around October 1970 and the first game after Tom Hart became associated officially with Hibs and given Joe McBride's display that afternoon, it was shockingly poor what happened 2-3 months later, which led to Willie Mac's resignation and effectively reduced our chances against Liverpool that Xmas.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:43 PM
I'm auld but no that auld.

Must have been amazing if a bit unsafe, I've been in a 49000 crowd so god knows how another 15 to 20k would have fitted in.
the cowshed wasn't there for starters but still must have been a tight fit!!

06-01-2017, 04:44 PM

Yes HH . That lot moaned after Killie won the league on goal average.
Had they kept their moaning traps shut , they would have won the league in 86 :)
No sure about my largest crowd at ER , but I've been at Hampden with 73 thousand when Scotland beat Spain 3-1 (85)

06-01-2017, 04:44 PM

Can't remember, just quoting the website.

06-01-2017, 04:47 PM

Biggest league crowd for a game that I was at is probably 48,554 for the Celtc game where we lost 4-2 in 74. I think they were about 3 or 4 points ahead of us before the game. Huge Celtic support that day.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/game.php?gameid=76107

06-01-2017, 04:47 PM
Did we not have a sell out for a relegation decider second last game of the season against Dunfermline in the dark days of Fenlon?

Sure the home end was a sell out that night anyway.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:52 PM
Did we not have a sell out for a relegation decider second last game of the season against Dunfermline in the dark days of Fenlon?

Also first leg v Airdrie in another play off year.......

06-01-2017, 04:54 PM
Athens was a right busy evening!

06-01-2017, 04:54 PM
Also first leg v Airdrie in another play off year.......

That would have been with the old East and West stands though wouldn't it?

As someone else already mentioned, the Hamilton playoff (😩) and that Dunfermline game would be my two.

Topographic Hibby
06-01-2017, 04:56 PM

It was the last game game before the 5-1 final and a draw was made for the right to buy 2 CF tickets.

I'm sorry to say I won.

Joy.......

PS we won the Pars game 4-0 IIRC.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 04:56 PM
That would have been with the old East and West stands though wouldn't it?

As someone else already mentioned, the Hamilton playoff (😩) and that Dunfermline game would be my two.

I recall I was in the new south stand as everywhere else was full. The new west and south stands had been completed

06-01-2017, 05:00 PM
Yes HH . That lot moaned after Killie won the league on goal average.
Had they kept their moaning traps shut , they would have won the league in 86 :)

Thats one of my favourite go to stories when one of them gets a tad nippy! :-)

06-01-2017, 05:02 PM
So, when was the last time we had a 30k plus home crowd in a domestic game against anybody other than Hearts or the Old Firm?

In fact, has it ever happened?

06-01-2017, 05:03 PM
It was the last game game before the 5-1 final and a draw was made for the right to buy 2 CF tickets.

I'm sorry to say I won.

Joy.......

PS we won the Pars game 4-0 IIRC.

So did I, oh well.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 05:06 PM
So, when was the last time we had a 30k plus home crowd in a domestic game against anybody other than Hearts or the Old Firm?

In fact, has it ever happened?

Maybe back in the 50's?

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 05:08 PM

Attendance is given as 15,281 and vs Airdrie back in 1994 it was 15,308

Docc109
06-01-2017, 05:14 PM
there are loads of games with high attendances like that - were discussing league games outwith hearts and the old firm

Probably my 2nd post in years and I get snipped at 😂😂.
Yup, I misread OP.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 05:17 PM
Yup, I misread OP.
didn't intend to be snippy. Sorry don't take offense:wink:

06-01-2017, 05:19 PM
Yup, I misread OP.

Must do better!

Docc109
06-01-2017, 05:20 PM
didn't intend to be snippy. Sorry don't take offense:wink:

No worries, guess it was Best's first game then 😊

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 05:22 PM
No worries, guess it was Best's first game then 😊
I think Aberdeen in 1971 just beat it............so far

06-01-2017, 05:29 PM
there were no tickets and no segregation at the 1972 SCF. I was there. I was at the celtic end with both hibs and celtic fans. No bother at all. I was 14 and remember an adult Hibs fan near me wearing a suit and crying his eyes out after about the 5th goal went in.......it was my first final but I guess he'd been through a lot......

I was there too, in the hibs end. I had to buy tickets for the terracing a few times during the TT era, although it was far more frequent if you wanted in to the North Stand and Enclosure.

The quarter final against Aberdeen the [ticket] prices for the North stand was £1 & 75p, with 50p for the enclosure.

The 50K sold was from newspaper reports at the time, the only other media you got back then was the odd TV or radio report and the news you got in the football programme.

Hibs last home game that season came a couple of days before the semi replay against Rangers, so no news in there and the last league game was a few days later, at Ibrox, which we also won.

06-01-2017, 05:30 PM
36,051. But wasn't a league game :greengrin

Picky picky........

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 05:52 PM
I was there too, in the hibs end. I had to buy tickets for the terracing a few times during the TT era, although it was far more frequent if you wanted in to the North Stand and Enclosure.

The quarter final against Aberdeen the [ticket] prices for the North stand was £1 & 75p, with 50p for the enclosure.

The 50K sold was from newspaper reports at the time, the only other media you got back then was the odd TV or radio report and the news you got in the football programme.

Hibs last home game that season came a couple of days before the semi replay against Rangers, so no news in there and the last league game was a few days later, at Ibrox, which we also won.
sorry but the 1972 SCF was not all ticket and there was no segregation just the traditional celtic and rangers ends and there was no official hampden capacity that there would need to be for an all ticket game.
Yes tickets for stands because they have seats but not the terraces
All ticketing did not come into force until around 1974/75. Murra field started it after the Wales game in 1974 where there were almost deaths due to crushing from a huge unticketed crowd turning up.

The 49,000 at the Rangers cup replay in 1974 at Easter Rd wasn't all ticket

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 05:56 PM

The papers anticipated 90,000 at the game. 60K Celtic, 30k Hibs. In the event 108k turned up on a sunny fateful saturday.

06-01-2017, 05:58 PM
I'm at a loss to recall what game. Probably Hamilton play off but thinking Dunfermline game may have been more.

06-01-2017, 05:59 PM
Easter Road's largest ever crowd was 65k at the New Year game in 1950. That was before they had added the extra section at the back of the East Terracing so they must have been really squeezed in.

They didn't have any concept of a maximum capacity and just kept letting people in, which is total madness.

My dad was at the game as a ten year old and he said he was terrified, and is still amazed nobody was crushed to death.

06-01-2017, 06:03 PM
Easter Road's largest ever crowd was 65k at the New Year game in 1950. That was before they had added the extra section at the back of the East Terracing so they must have been really squeezed in.

They didn't have any concept of a maximum capacity and just kept letting people in, which is total madness.

My dad was at the game as a ten year old and he said he was terrified, and is still amazed nobody was crushed to death.

It wasnae quite as bad as that but, thats why I think there was much more at Tynie in 89.

06-01-2017, 06:19 PM
Hibs V Napoli November 1967 5-0 huge crowd and a real crescendo of noise.

The game was talked about for years after, Dino Zoff letting in 5 goals was unheard of.

Jim_in_Canada
06-01-2017, 06:28 PM
Hibs V Napoli November 1967 5-0 huge crowd and a real crescendo of noise.

The game was talked about for years after, Dino Zoff letting in 5 goals was unheard of.

As long as I live, I will never forget it - still get goosebumps thinking about Bobby Duncan's goal. Wish I could see it again but there doesn't seem to be a video anywhere !

06-01-2017, 08:21 PM

17,100 IIRC

Hibs vs Dunfermline in a cup game in the late 80s when they filled the away end.

06-01-2017, 08:31 PM
It wasnae quite as bad as that but, thats why I think there was much more at Tynie in 89.

Most I experienced at ER was the last "standing" new year's day game.... don't know the official crowd but it was the most crowded game I have ever been at.

houstonhibbee
06-01-2017, 08:46 PM
Most I experienced at ER was the last "standing" new year's day game.... don't know the official crowd but it was the most crowded game I have ever been at.
Jan 1 1974 around 36,000 I think. About the same as the 1973 new years game. 3-1 to Hibs?

07-01-2017, 01:16 AM

That was the end of our relegation season. Dunbar end was rammed with them but only 3 or 4000 Hibees there. My first full season watching us.

houstonhibbee
07-01-2017, 01:39 AM
Jan 1 1974 around 36,000 I think. About the same as the 1973 new years game. 3-1 to Hibs?
1/1/73 0-7 35,989

1/1/74 3-1 35,393

07-01-2017, 02:07 AM

Just checked and found that goal diference kicked in in August 1976
The season Killie pipped the Jambos to the title on goal average was 1965 (hee hee) If it had been goal difference then the Jambos would have been champions. Ironically the reverse happened in 1986 - pipped on goal difference when goal average would have seen them champions - thats what we call "Jambottled -it"

07-01-2017, 05:45 AM
21,000 Hibs and George Best v Partick Thistle .... followed by last nights game :greengrin

Biggest ever at ER in all games would probably be Pat Stanton's testimonial which was 30,000 IIRC

ihibs7
07-01-2017, 08:14 AM
I was at that game , did Scotland lose on penalties? I can't remember it was so long ago

I see that question was answered a few posts after the original. Must keep up

http://www.fitbastats.com/scotlandu23/game.php?gameid=44 32k

ihibs7
07-01-2017, 08:17 AM
There was a fair crowd at Easter road for Charlie Nicholas's first game as an Aberdeen player 16947