View Full Version : Match Updates Falkirk 1-2 Hibernian (Cummings, Commons)

Pages : 1 [2]

31-12-2016, 01:10 PM
How does Holt persistently get 90 mins? He's blowing out his erse after an hour.

He's just went off for Brian Graham

31-12-2016, 01:11 PM
Graham on for Holt

Ha ha, I must be psychic

Kerr booked for a foul on Shinnie

JennaFletcher
Come on Boyle and Graham!

31-12-2016, 01:13 PM
McHugh breaks away from Hanlon but Laidlaw is out quickly to narrow the angle and McHugh fires wide

31-12-2016, 01:13 PM
Cmon hibees

31-12-2016, 01:14 PM
C'mon Hibs give us a f****** goal. Sounds like Dumbarton well on top of DU. Still 1-0.

Grant booked after bringing down Boyle on the edge of the box, real chance from the free kick

Screamer!!!

Come on Let's nick it

high bee
Yaaaaaaaasss!

skyehibee
31-12-2016, 01:15 PM
Yaaaaassssss

1-1 draws are not gonna get us out of this division. Far too many draws this season..

YESSS that's why Commons was signed!!!!!! An assist and a winner! Well done Kris, shut these doubting Hibs fans up!

YUUUUUS

Commons freekick...decent strike

31-12-2016, 01:16 PM
Ya beauty

Commons!!!

Get in!!

Commons is finished IMO

31-12-2016, 01:17 PM
Beauty... blow the whistle

how the freak is this site so slow today, and only 100 guests

31-12-2016, 01:18 PM
YESSS that's why Commons was signed!!!!!! An assist and a winner! Well done Kris, shut these doubting Hibs fans up!

Steady

MartinfaePorty
31-12-2016, 01:18 PM
Ya beauty!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

31-12-2016, 01:19 PM
ohhhhhhhh what a goal kris commons

cam75
31-12-2016, 01:19 PM
Dumbarton 1up also💚

31-12-2016, 01:20 PM
1-1 draws are not gonna get us out of this division. Far too many draws this season..

Hahahaha .. lol

31-12-2016, 01:20 PM
Commons is finished IMO

He who laughs last...

31-12-2016, 01:21 PM
Steady

He's right. been involved in almost all chances....yet he was getting ripped again.

Site running so slow I knew something had happened, ya wee dancer.

I've always argued that Commons still had much to offer at this level, although there were plenty doubters. Good on you Kris - show the naysayers.

Well done Lenny.... Great stuff lad. Inspired substitutions and great goal. Happy New Year
Yaaaaaaaas.

Steviethebear
Great result 👍🏼

Ilovehibs
Hahahaha .. lol

Game not over yet

31-12-2016, 01:22 PM
Great result. Good end to the year.

31-12-2016, 01:23 PM
That'll do. Hopefully Dumbarton can do us a favour as well, would be good to go into next week on top.

He's right. been involved in almost all chances....yet he was getting ripped again.

eh ? I quoted him cause he said commons with the winner and you ken what we are like its not over till the ref blows the whistle

https://twitter.com/Sean_Nicol/status/815200014968438785

Wow!

Callum7
C'mon Dumbarton!

31-12-2016, 01:24 PM
Great result

Commons goal - https://twitter.com/The_Duke_85/status/815200084036042756

C'mon Hibs give us a f****** goal. Sounds like Dumbarton well on top of DU. Still 1-0.

He must have heard me! Superb result Hibs. Well done. Never an easy place to go and win, especially coming from a goal down. Just need to keep doing this week in, week out, now.

Canon Hannan
31-12-2016, 01:25 PM
Well done Lenny.... Great stuff lad. Inspired substitutions and great goal. Happy New Year
Yaaaaaaaas.

One Neil Lennon.
Where are the doubters now 😂
Come on Neil, Kris, Jason and the boys 👍🇳🇬🙏

31-12-2016, 01:25 PM
Wonder what the doom merchants will have to say today!

31-12-2016, 01:26 PM
very important win that :thumbsup:

HT Dumbarton 1 Arabs 0

Well done Hibs, never expected it for one minute. :giruy2:HOUSTON:top marksNow come on Dumbarton. :pray:

Fifehibby74
Great result. Credit to the team for grinding that result out. To beat Falkirk twice at home in a season is good going. Everyone will enjoy tonight now!! Roll on United!

rotherhamrob
31-12-2016, 01:27 PM
Great result.
Let's start next year like we finished this one and kick on.

Dry mattresses everywhere tonight. Well done the lads.

Commons with the winner and an assist. Finished aye?

He clearly seen my post saying he was finished :tee hee::tee hee::tee hee::tee hee:

Game not over yet

It is now....great result, Commons starting to show his worth, roll on D.Utd.

31-12-2016, 01:28 PM
https://twitter.com/Sean_Nicol/status/815200014968438785

Wow!

Here, what a hit!!!

What a great goal to win the game. Well done Hibs!

On a side note how's Barca sorry Dundee Utd doing?

good result at a place thats never easy to get a win, cracking goal from commons as well

Paloschi
We are due some luck against them... Its coming

Had a feeling! Get in. Cummings and Commons will fire us up.

guthrie01

:hyper:hyper BEAUTIFUL :hyper:hyper

****ing buzzing at that. Happy new year to all. Especially you Peter Houston 😁

31-12-2016, 01:29 PM
Well done Hibs

That bit (or large chunk) of class is the difference between 1 point and 3 and could prove the difference between 1st and 2nd.

Get him signed up for rest of season Neil.

Brilliant result ...... for once it was us with the last gasp goal against these buggers, that's two of our toughest away fixtures out of the way and even better another bloody plastic pitch out of the way as well, sets up an absolute cracker against Dundee Utd next Friday night.

Well done the Hibees :flag:

****ing buzzing at that. Happy new year to all. Especially you Peter Houston 😁

V nice for us to score a late goal against them for a change.

majorhibs
31-12-2016, 01:30 PM

Cracker. :flag:

I never understand why when Hibs win (or lose) a game some peoples first thought is to get ripped into their fellow fans. Strange behaviour, just enjoy the win ffs.

Oh yes, that's a BIG result. Come on noo Dumbarton :flag:

I've always argued that Commons still had much to offer at this level, although there were plenty doubters. Good on you Kris - show the naysayers.
Dashing Bob S (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?4637-Dashing-Bob-S)
http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/statusicon/user-online.png
Coaching Staffhttp://www.hibs.net/customavatars/avatar4637_6.gif (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?4637-Dashing-Bob-S)Join DateFeb 2005Posts23,228

http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=4892203#post4892203)
Yep. Was a lovely pass. He's done very little else tho

Still has nice skill, and I hoped he just needed to get his game touch back, but it looks like his engine is now shot for the pro game. Can't see him doing much at any level after this loan period. I'd hook him for somebody who offers more energy and movement.

rotherhamrob
31-12-2016, 01:31 PM

Cheers for that,cracking strike.

McIntosh
31-12-2016, 01:31 PM

I can give no higher compliment that say it is Sauzeeesqee

31-12-2016, 01:40 PM
Need to bin the guests slowesville Tennessee

31-12-2016, 02:39 PM
Need to bin the guests slowesville Tennessee

Ricky Bobby
31-12-2016, 02:41 PM
Nice touch from Lennon at the end of the game.

31-12-2016, 02:42 PM
Commons quality shining through today with a great through ball for the first and a bullet for the winner. Pleased for him.

Thought Hibs did a professional job today and the defence (other than at their goal) did a great job is dealing with the succession of set pieces and long throws. Falkirk played the game like their lives depended on it, but Hibs were just too good. Great 3 pts and back on top of the league. Dunbarton's win over Utd show us why Hibs will go on to win this league.

31-12-2016, 02:44 PM
Great win for us. Commons on form is a good sign. Delighted to go into the new year top of the league, hopefully we keep on going. Couple of players back from injury, new signing or two in the areas required and it all starts to look a little brighter. The team should get a huge lift from that win.

I never understand why when Hibs win (or lose) a game some peoples first thought is to get ripped into their fellow fans. Strange behaviour, just enjoy the win ffs.

Ive never understood why so many rip into the players after 2 games... its a weird world we live in.

cmcd
It is now....great result, Commons starting to show his worth, roll on D.Utd.

Yes that's the way to shut the Commons haters up

What did he do?

31-12-2016, 02:45 PM
Coaching Staffhttp://www.hibs.net/customavatars/avatar4637_6.gif (http://www.hibs.net/member.php?4637-Dashing-Bob-S)Join DateFeb 2005Posts23,228

http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/misc/quote_icon.png Originally Posted by CallumLaidlaw http://www.hibs.net/images/hibsnet/buttons/viewpost-right.png (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?p=4892203#post4892203)

Still has nice skill, and I hoped he just needed to get his game touch back, but it looks like his engine is now shot for the pro game. Can't see him doing much at any level after this loan period. I'd hook him for somebody who offers more energy and movement.

Yet again my Hibs.net account has been hacked by unscrupulous skooshers!

31-12-2016, 02:47 PM
Two great results for us today. By Friday night we could be 4 clear. Consider many thought we'd 7 behind. We just need to kick on and go on a good run again

31-12-2016, 02:50 PM
Brilliant to see McGinn out as part of the warm up. Looking very mobile.

Absolute belter of a winner. Hopefully a win next Friday and we're 4 pts clear.

Ardenttwo
31-12-2016, 02:51 PM

What did he do ??

31-12-2016, 02:51 PM
There was a sweep in the pub regarding post match comments and I got Houston - Bigger budgets. Did I win?

Big90inOz
31-12-2016, 02:53 PM
Great result but another woeful performance. Instead of imposing ourselves on sides we are far too negative, far to slow

31-12-2016, 02:57 PM
What did he do?

Came right up to the fans on the final whistle. It was actually a gesture of
defiance because of the abuse he'd been getting.

Dobosz83
A rocket from Commons. I've watched various angles on social media and it's quite the strike.

A very satisfactory 3 points against an ugly side who raise their game against us and treat it like a local derby. Now, a win next week against United sees space open up. That with a few signings and we can get back to 'skooshing'!

Happy new year when it comes my fellow Hibees!

Great result but another woeful performance. Instead of imposing ourselves on sides we are far too negative, far to slow

Aye it was a bit frustrating. But I thought we dominated from start to finish.

31-12-2016, 02:58 PM
Horrible day for football, rain, wind, cold, in a horrible half finished stadium, but a great result to take us back to top of the league.

31-12-2016, 02:59 PM
Great result!!! Shows some bottle to come back from 1-0 down to go on and win the game.

A brilliant weekend with the Yams beat the Huns beat DUFC beat and us winning.

Enjoy it and especially enjoy the inner gloat if you work with Yams.

Glory Glory

31-12-2016, 02:59 PM
Great win made more important by Utd slipping up. Not the best performance but the weather didn't help. I thought Commons was shocking in the first half but fair play to him he was much better in the second half and hit a bullet for the goal. Lennon isn't one to make life easy for himself taking Cummings off but it worked out well with Boyle being brought down for the free kick that won it.

31-12-2016, 03:00 PM
Good for him.

cmcd
31-12-2016, 03:02 PM

Laughed when I saw this post earlier and laughing even louder now

cmcd
31-12-2016, 03:04 PM
Ive never understood why so many rip into the players after 2 games... its a weird world we live in.

31-12-2016, 03:05 PM

Opinions, eh ? I thought we did well in horrible conditions on a plastic pitch against a team who were happy to kick anything that moved and played the game like their cup final. Our defence did well against an onslaught of set pieces and long throws, midfield looked more lively today and we scored 2 good goals. Definite signs of improvement over last few weeks, with Commons and Cummings improving each week.

31-12-2016, 03:07 PM
Superb result and a much needed one. Pressure is on Utd now.

31-12-2016, 03:07 PM

Bit of a glass half empty kind of guy

31-12-2016, 03:08 PM

More of a **** you to the fans who'd (rightly) voiced their displeasure at his substitutions earlier.

31-12-2016, 03:09 PM
Interesting to note that we are not competing for first place with Barcelona as so many on here have been making out this week.

31-12-2016, 03:10 PM
More of a **** you to the fans who'd (rightly) voiced their displeasure at his substitutions earlier.

Rightly? We won the game.

31-12-2016, 03:13 PM
As an aside I thought Tony Gallacher had a fine game at LB for Falkirk for someone so young. Great prospect.

beensaidbefore
31-12-2016, 03:16 PM
Rightly? We won the game.

The guy can't do anything right apparently.

Lee Marvin

Wrongly, I guess you meant...

Yet again my Hibs.net account has been hacked by unscrupulous skooshers!
:thumbsup: no probs mate, I've got it wrong so many times myself I've lost count.

31-12-2016, 03:17 PM

It gets worse. I actually said at the time: "why are they entrusting this ruined carthorse with such an important set-piece?"

31-12-2016, 03:20 PM
Falkirk 1 v Hibs 2
Dumbarton 1 v DU 0
The Rangers 1 v Celtic 2

Add in Yaks 0 v Aberdeen 1 and...

It's a Carlsberg Hogmanay. :thumbsup:

31-12-2016, 03:21 PM
Great strike from Commons but made possible by David Gray forcing/opening a gap in the Falkirk wall.

inglisavhibs
31-12-2016, 03:27 PM
Horrible day for football, rain, wind, cold, in a horrible half finished stadium, but a great result to take us back to top of the league.

Spot on, how some fans expect a rolls Royce performance in that wind on an astro pitch is beyond me. A very difficult away game ends in victory and with united losing it turns out a great day for us. We all need to get behind the club for every game and help us get out this league. There will be more disappointing results along the way but as long as we are on top come the end of the season I will be happy!

31-12-2016, 03:28 PM
St Mirren 1 v Morton 0. Morton player just got red carded.

31-12-2016, 03:36 PM
The guy can't do anything right apparently.

Scrapping a win at the end, albeit in spectacular style doesn't mean everything that went before it should be ignored, it was a poor performance today in truth, there are individuals regularly getting the 90 mins who are nowhere near good enough, the manager doesn't seem to recognise that. He'll be judged on results, today's was great, but surely nobody has been overly impressed with his impact on the team to date - because far too many of the results and performances haven't been nearly good enough.

Super_JMcGinn
31-12-2016, 03:39 PM
Spot on, how some fans expect a rolls Royce performance in that wind on an astro pitch is beyond me. A very difficult away game ends in victory and with united losing it turns out a great day for us. We all need to get behind the club for every game and help us get out this league. There will be more disappointing results along the way but as long as we are on top come the end of the season I will be happy!

Everyone IS behind the club hence the fantastic home attendances, It is the poor home form and dire performances we are worried about.

Anyone that goes to the games can see the performances are very poor, hopefully today's results will give the players the belief that they can do this.

31-12-2016, 03:39 PM
Well done Hibs

Did Falkirk lay on any dancing boy entertainment for us at the railway station? Or did they have a Hogmanay booking?

31-12-2016, 03:40 PM
A win is a win especially on that surface, bet you most SPL sides would not like to go there and get a result.

31-12-2016, 03:42 PM
He who laughs last...

Posted that after he scored, sly dig at a couple of earlier comments 😉

inglisavhibs
31-12-2016, 03:55 PM
Everyone IS behind the club hence the fantastic home attendances, It is the poor home form and dire performances we are worried about.

Anyone that goes to the games can see the performances are very poor, hopefully today's results will give the players the belief that they can do this.
They are not all dire, we do have a problem breaking down defences at Easter Road ( hopefully some pace and width added now) but watching Fenlon's, Mixu's, Calderwood's and Butcher's teams was what I call dire. We have some very good players now, good team spirit and if we can add a couple of players in the right positions we could have a decent team. Dire is far from the truth, if you want dire try Hearts last night.

Silky
31-12-2016, 03:58 PM

Who did the fans want on? Why? What difference would their subs have made that Lennon's didn't? Perhaps, just once, the displeased minority can bring out the white flag and cough out an admittance that the boss called it. The change had an impact and we won the game. Christ. We won!

31-12-2016, 03:59 PM
Who's that

McGinn

Saint Hibee
31-12-2016, 04:00 PM
Grim town, grim stadium, grim weather, grim match. But at least we won!

JJP
31-12-2016, 04:02 PM
Great 3 points today. Thank you Hibs!

31-12-2016, 04:04 PM
Who did the fans want on? Why? What difference would their subs have made that Lennon's didn't? Perhaps, just once, the displeased minority can bring out the white flag and cough out an admittance that the boss called it. The change had an impact and we won the game. Christ. We won!

Yep football manager has a lot to answer everyone now thinks they are a Mourinho.

31-12-2016, 04:05 PM
Yep football manager has a lot to answer everyone now thinks they are a Mourinho.

But Mourinho is an erse... :greengrin

31-12-2016, 04:05 PM
Terrific result to round off the year. Well done Hibs. More of the same in 2017 please.

31-12-2016, 04:06 PM
Subs up top were about spot on but would have done them at the same time and about 15 mins earlier.The game was crying out to get them stretched. Might have also hooked shinnie, who looked lightweight all game,for Keatings.
Great win. Ok performance on a **** surface in poor conditions. I thought the players at times looked like they were playing on ice. Football should be on grass.

31-12-2016, 04:08 PM
But Mourinho is an erse... :greengrin

Yep but thinks he is special. :greengrin

31-12-2016, 04:11 PM
Second half time was an improvement and Commons in particular was much better in the 2nd half even before his free kick. Hopefully that's him getting to match sharpness.

Holt on the other hand was hopeless. Tries to be too clever. Still thinks he was the player he was 5 years ago.

31-12-2016, 04:19 PM
Second half time was an improvement and Commons in particular was much better in the 2nd half even before his free kick. Hopefully that's him getting to match sharpness.

Holt on the other hand was hopeless. Tries to be too clever. Still thinks he was the player he was 5 years ago.

Real shame that you couldn't stop yourself being negative at the end of your post. This was a very good day for Hibs, try and be happy FFS....

31-12-2016, 04:22 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkHolt wasn't hopeless.

31-12-2016, 04:28 PM
Real shame that you couldn't stop yourself being negative at the end of your post. This was a very good day for Hibs, try and be happy FFS....

It would be a pretty boring message board of we just all said that everybody was superb and we were happy about everything.

He wasn't as bad as hopeless but we need more of a goal threat. Particularly when you have the like of Commons who could play players in more often than not like for Cummings goal.

31-12-2016, 04:28 PM

Think it was Cummings coming off that the booing was for.

31-12-2016, 04:34 PM
Good win but once again we turn up numbers yet just bloody moan, I got told off by a guy who brought his packed lunch with him to quiet down when trying to create a bit atmosphere!

31-12-2016, 04:36 PM

Are we not allowed to be critical now then? Deary me. Might as well shut the board down now. It was indeed a fantastic result but after a promising first few games, holt really has shown little recently.

31-12-2016, 04:45 PM
They are not all dire, we do have a problem breaking down defences at Easter Road ( hopefully some pace and width added now) but watching Fenlon's, Mixu's, Calderwood's and Butcher's teams was what I call dire. We have some very good players now, good team spirit and if we can add a couple of players in the right positions we could have a decent team. Dire is far from the truth, if you want dire try Hearts last night.

Dire if anyone remembers the Bertie Auld days, now that was dire.

31-12-2016, 04:56 PM
I don't think you can read much into today's performance as conditions were terrible.

What you can certainly say is that the players are up for it and dug themselves out another hole today.

Today was a great 3 points

I would like to see us play at a higher tempo and move the opposition around quicker to create space, hopefully Humphrey will help with that

mike1875
31-12-2016, 04:59 PM
How did Scott Martin get on today?

I was impressed with him last week but that's all i've seen of him.

31-12-2016, 05:10 PM

Impossible to judge IMO, conditions were that bad

Based on 2 games I would say he is combatative, gets around the park, gets stuck in and is worthy of his place ahead of Bartley.

I would need to see more of him and in better conditions as it's unfair to judge him but at this moment in time I have reservarions over his ability to run with the ball and execute a pass.

Very early days though for the laddie and there is certainly enough there to work with

31-12-2016, 05:22 PM
It would be a pretty boring message board of we just all said that everybody was superb and we were happy about everything.

He wasn't as bad as hopeless but we need more of a goal threat. Particularly when you have the like of Commons who could play players in more often than not like for Cummings goal.

I'd love it if we were all happy and in agreement

31-12-2016, 05:24 PM
Impossible to judge IMO, conditions were that bad

Based on 2 games I would say he is combatative, gets around the park, gets stuck in and is worthy of his place ahead of Bartley.

I would need to see more of him and in better conditions as it's unfair to judge him but at this moment in time I have reservarions over his ability to run with the ball and execute a pass.

Very early days though for the laddie and there is certainly enough there to work with

He certainly gets all over the park, gets stuck in and at this moment in time, as you say, is a better option than marv. We've had lots of false dawns over young players in the past but the early signs for Martin are good

31-12-2016, 05:24 PM
Always good beating that mob.

31-12-2016, 05:32 PM
Confused now though because two weeks ago when we were top we were better than United then people were told they were wrong because Dundee United went top last week, so I don't know what to think now. :greengrin

31-12-2016, 05:33 PM

Doesn't hide, gets stuck in and doesn't show any respect for who he's playing against which I like.

On the negative side I thought he gave the ball away far too often, particularly in the first half. We've been better with him in there instead of Marv the last two weeks though.

31-12-2016, 05:37 PM
I don't think you can read much into today's performance as conditions were terrible.

What you can certainly say is that the players are up for it.

Pretty much all that needs to be said by anyone about today.

31-12-2016, 05:48 PM
Are we not allowed to be critical now then? Deary me. Might as well shut the board down now.

No need to shut the Forum down cos I've got a fab idea. Oh yes.

Why not have two boards? Board A will be called Pish The Bed forum. Board B will be called Happy Clappy forum. This way, posters can avoid reading anything at all that doesn't meet with their approval or viewpoint. :wink:

31-12-2016, 05:49 PM
No need to shut the Forum down cos I've got a fab idea. Oh yes.

Why not have two boards? Board A will be called Pish The Bed forum. Board B will be called Happy Clappy forum. This way, posters can avoid reading anything at all that doesn't meet with their approval or viewpoint. :wink:

What about a 3rd forum? A balance where folk can be critical and concerned when justified, but willing to praise when justified [emoji6]

31-12-2016, 05:51 PM
What about a 3rd forum? A balance where folk can be critical and concerned when justified, but willing to praise when justified [emoji6]

I thought that was this one.....I'm confused now :confused:

31-12-2016, 05:51 PM

I have a coloured venn diagram in my head now.

31-12-2016, 05:52 PM

Now why didn't I think of that? :greengrin :aok:

31-12-2016, 06:02 PM
I'd love it if we were all happy and in agreement

Even if it slashed the number of posts you make, in half? :greengrin

BTW, my only complaint today was that nobody halfed that wee bugger Baird

31-12-2016, 06:11 PM
Made my day It was all about the result tofay and for me a win was imperative
We got it and now i want a performance against united and a few goals Playets coming in and players coing back from injury should mean we have more options as January progresses
Didnt expect United to slip up but the pressure of beingat the top clearly got to them so that was a wee bonus But dont want to be relying on them dropping points Want us to go on a long winning run
Now looking forward to Hogmany and a wee swally

QMU-1875
31-12-2016, 06:11 PM
Great result and even better to see the passion from Lennon at the end. Took a fair bit of stick with his call to sub Cummings but came up to the fans and joined in the celebrations applauding the fans. This result could well be a turning point, didn't think we were too bad today either totally dominant and again just needing to be that bit more clinical. Delighted. Mon the hibs.

31-12-2016, 06:20 PM

It's amazing that so many fans with no coaching experience think it's as easy as just playing the players they suggest. Lennon picked the side last week that most fans wanted. Bartley dropped,martin in midfield,jason up front and four at the back. Result a draw. My opinion would have been to keep five at the back v raith but had Boyle on to get to the byeline. Lennon knows the issues we have hence looking at left backs and signing Humphrey and looking at players with pace. Too many players at er are not playing as they can and maybe it's because they find it hard going to get themselves up for the championship. We have been so unlucky with refs and injuries. Once we have a fairly fit settled team we will be fine. Utd have had a settled side and it's showed. Hopefully soon we will get a settled team soon once keatings is fully up to speed and mcginn,fyfie and Marciano are back we can kick on.

houstonhibbee
31-12-2016, 06:43 PM
Confused now though because two weeks ago when we were top we were better than United then people were told they were wrong because Dundee United went top last week, so I don't know what to think now. :greengrin

you're overthinking it................i think:rolleyes:

31-12-2016, 07:28 PM
Offensively Gray and Stevenson are dreadful

Just isn't happening

Deary me, and I thought they were defenders 🤔

31-12-2016, 07:30 PM
If we dont beat falkirk and utd win we can forget winning the league. Hibs will do it the hard way as usual and fail at last hurdle

Good for you happy chappie 😂

31-12-2016, 07:40 PM
Wonder what the doom merchants will have to say today!

Exactly, pain in the *****

01-01-2017, 03:03 AM

I might be being naive here but I didn't get the impression is was a GIRUY at all. I took it as a thank you for our supporting the team this year in great numbers and decent voice. I didn't agree with Cummings coming off either (though don't boo) but also don't think Lennon is that touchy to take the huff at the fans' displeasure. The jury is still out for me with NL but I didn't detect any malice in his coming over to applaud the support and if anything thought it was a nice touch.

Super_JMcGinn
01-01-2017, 09:44 AM
I might be being naive here but I didn't get the impression is was a GIRUY at all. I took it as a thank you for our supporting the team this year in great numbers and decent voice. I didn't agree with Cummings coming off either (though don't boo) but also don't think Lennon is that touchy to take the huff at the fans' displeasure. The jury is still out for me with NL but I didn't detect any malice in his coming over to applaud the support and if anything thought it was a nice touch.

Every manager and player should applaud the fans after a match, after all if it wasn't for us there would be no team.

He deserves no plaudits for doing so.

ben johnson
01-01-2017, 10:20 AM
Originally Posted by chrisski33
If we dont beat falkirk and utd win we can forget winning the league. Hibs will do it the hard way as usual and fail at last hurdle

Fail at the last hurdle? I may have been seeing things but I could swear I saw a cup kicking about ER

01-01-2017, 10:40 AM
Every manager and player should applaud the fans after a match, after all if it wasn't for us there would be no team.

He deserves no plaudits for doing so.

Every manager should but not every manager does, so he's welcome to the plaudits.

QMU-1875
01-01-2017, 11:13 AM

People with an agenda against Lennon I think. No way he went over to rub it in the face of the fans that he was right. I thought it was a great touch and a message to us all that he cares. Potentially a game changing result yesterday. Let's kick on!

01-01-2017, 11:19 AM
Falkirk missed a lot of revenue yesterday, by not selling part of the main stand to Hibs. Must have been around 1,000 or so empty seats

01-01-2017, 11:21 AM
People with an agenda against Lennon I think. No way he went over to rub it in the face of the fans that he was right. I thought it was a great touch and a message to us all that he cares. Potentially a game changing result yesterday. Let's kick on!

Eh????? As one of those who think he was making a point the last thing I have is agenda against Neil Lennon!! The ones shouting abuse at a man who has us top of the league and clearly 'gets' where we've gone wrong the past two seasons are the ones with the agendas thanks!!

I'm 100 percent in my own mind it was him making a point and it was one he was quite right to make. I was horrified at how unsupportive a lot of fans were yesterday and in some cases detrimental to the team.

The ones slating him yesterday have been eagerly waiting their chance-same as the ones who're gleeful that Shinnie had a genuinely poor game against Raith. I don't get it but no doubt there are plenty who'll defend the saddos. It's one thing disagreeing with a substitution but the level of booing was just ridiculous and I'm sure Martin Boyle felt good when he ran on.

01-01-2017, 11:26 AM
I was in main stand and the booing was horrendous. There was also a "f'n useless" shout directed towards Shinnie that the whole stand could hear.

I just don't understand why people do this. It can only be detrimental to team and player confidence.

01-01-2017, 11:55 AM
Even if it slashed the number of posts you make, in half? :greengrin

BTW, my only complaint today was that nobody halfed that wee bugger Baird

Couldnt make the game today, but i agree that little sheit Baird could do with a wee bit of the Pattersons.

Gladly post twice as much if we were punching our weight John. :wink:

cmcd
01-01-2017, 11:58 AM
I was in main stand and the booing was horrendous. There was also a "f'n useless" shout directed towards Shinnie that the whole stand could hear.

I just don't understand why people do this. It can only be detrimental to team and player confidence.

Some posters and supporters for some reason need a scapegoat . I for one think Shinnie is a good footballer .As with Stokes some players need time to settle in . Lets pack in the abuse and get behind ALL the players

01-01-2017, 12:00 PM
Some posters and supporters for some reason need a scapegoat . I for one think Shinnie is a good footballer .As with Stokes some players need time to settle in . Lets pack in the abuse and get behind ALL the players

He's got all the attributes of being a good footballer but he was well below that level yesterday

01-01-2017, 12:05 PM
I have expressed my reservations over Lennon as our manager, but he is doing the job he is paid to do as we sit top of the league.

Part of that job is making unpopular decisions if he sees them as the right thing to do.

Its something I like about him, that he is brave enough and uncaring enough about the reaction it gets to do so.

The only person who knows what was in his mind over coming to the fans at the end was him.

Whether it was to thank us or GIRFUY us, I truly couldn't care.

Personally I think it was the former.

In hindsight I think it was the right decision too.

For a number of reasons that's one of the few away games I have been at this season and I have to say the atmosphere was poor.

As many have said there wasn't much supporting of the team and plenty of moaning at them and individual players.

We really need to put our different opinions to one side at the game and get behind the team and the players individually

01-01-2017, 12:08 PM
He's got all the attributes of being a good footballer but he was well below that level yesterday

But loud and personal abuse is probably not going to make him improve his confidence and level of performance. Is it?

01-01-2017, 12:09 PM
But loud and personal abuse is probably not going to make him improve his confidence and level of performance. Is it?

I never said it would

01-01-2017, 12:14 PM
Eh????? As one of those who think he was making a point the last thing I have is agenda against Neil Lennon!! The ones shouting abuse at a man who has us top of the league and clearly 'gets' where we've gone wrong the past two seasons are the ones with the agendas thanks!!

I'm 100 percent in my own mind it was him making a point and it was one he was quite right to make. I was horrified at how unsupportive a lot of fans were yesterday and in some cases detrimental to the team.

The ones slating him yesterday have been eagerly waiting their chance-same as the ones who're gleeful that Shinnie had a genuinely poor game against Raith. I don't get it but no doubt there are plenty who'll defend the saddos. It's one thing disagreeing with a substitution but the level of booing was just ridiculous and I'm sure Martin Boyle felt good when he ran on.

Nobody is "gleeful" when players play poorly, why say that?
Typical of the kind of utter nonsense that anyone remotely critical of any performance can expect on here.

01-01-2017, 12:17 PM
Couldnt make the game today, but i agree that little sheit Baird could do with a wee bit of the Pattersons.

Gladly post twice as much if we were punching our weight John. :wink:

I must be alone in that I wouldn't be upset to see Baird in a Hibs shirt. Knows both where the net is and how to " play" the game. If Cummings could learn the " playing" the game part and Bairds positional sense he would be a far better player.

01-01-2017, 12:19 PM
I must be alone in that I wouldn't be upset to see Baird in a Hibs shirt. Knows both where the net is and how to " play" the game. If Cummings could learn the " playing" the game part and Bairds positional sense he would be a far better player.

Baird reminds me of Paul Dickov in that despite his size he never gives defenders a minutes peace.

01-01-2017, 12:22 PM

Didn't know where the net was when he missed a first half sitter yesterday. Would hate seeing him in a Hibs strip. Wee scrote

01-01-2017, 12:22 PM
Baird reminds me of Paul Dickov in that despite his size he never gives defenders a minutes peace.

Yup. Terrific work ethic

01-01-2017, 12:28 PM
Nobody is "gleeful" when players play poorly, why say that?
Typical of the kind of utter nonsense that anyone remotely critical of any performance can expect on here.
Don't talk rubbish. Criticism of any player is fine when it's reasoned.

At games there are some fans who get on some players backs from the
minute the game starts and you know it. Some of those fans have gone after Shinnie and yes when they think their abuse is justified they're happy.

Don't give me any nonsense about people only wanting to support the team- some don't for some reason, and naive to say otherwise.

01-01-2017, 04:48 PM
Don't talk rubbish. Criticism of any player is fine when it's reasoned.

At games there are some fans who get on some players backs from the
minute the game starts and you know it. Some of those fans have gone after Shinnie and yes when they think their abuse is justified they're happy.

Don't give me any nonsense about people only wanting to support the team- some don't for some reason, and naive to say otherwise.

OK, you know best about what motivates people to spend their money following Hibs.

01-01-2017, 05:02 PM
Criticism of players is inevitable - as paying customers we all feel short-changed by a bad performance.

But it's previcated on a few myths; that the player doesn't know he's playing bad/made an error/hasn't seen a pass, needs you to tell him, and of course, will perform any better as a result of your advice.

Unless it's a couldn't-care-less mercenary of the likes of Matt Doherty, I'm seldom inclined to give my own team player any abuse.

01-01-2017, 05:11 PM
Criticism of players is inevitable - as paying customers we all feel short-changed by a bad performance.

But it's previcated on a few myths; that the player doesn't know he's playing bad/made an error/hasn't seen a pass, needs you to tell him, and of course, will perform any better as a result of your advice.
Unless it's a couldn't-care-less mercenary of the likes of Matt Doherty, I'm seldom inclined to give my own team player any abuse.

In a nutshell Bob. Those who indulge don't seem to care what it sounds like. It's ugly to say the least. A well placed ffs is sufficient. Barracking and booing should be reserved for the opposition

01-01-2017, 05:57 PM
I often think the players hear the 25 stone,half pissed guy in the stand and think "hey he is right, I will ignore everything I was told in training and change the game plan. Stuff the manager , I don't want to play next week anyway."

01-01-2017, 05:57 PM
In a nutshell Bob. Those who indulge don't seem to care what it sounds like. It's ugly to say the least. A well placed ffs is sufficient. Barracking and booing should be reserved for the opposition

That's what they're there for!

01-01-2017, 06:04 PM
That's what they're there for!

These 25 stone gadjis always have the deepest bellowing voice

01-01-2017, 06:14 PM
OK, you know best about what motivates people to spend their money following Hibs.

Stop talking rubbish again.

I'm talking about a minority of football fans and it's not even specific to Hibs. If you think nobody shouts vile abuse at their own players then you're off your head. And if you think it's 'support' or positive in any shape or form then you're wrong no matter how often folk try to justify it.

There are people around me who start abusing players literally within seconds of the game starting. What on earth makes you think that they don't come to do it? They do it every week and a mistake by a player gives them a further chance to do what they come to do.

01-01-2017, 06:22 PM
Yes that's the way to shut the Commons haters up

Who hates him?

01-01-2017, 06:48 PM
These 25 stone gadjis always have the deepest bellowing voice

Apart from the one sitting along from me on Saturday who sounded like his balls hadn't dropped yet as he shrieked his abuse at a number of Hibs players and the manager

inglisavhibs
01-01-2017, 07:54 PM
Are we not allowed to be critical now then? Deary me. Might as well shut the board down now. It was indeed a fantastic result but after a promising first few games, holt really has shown little recently.

Can't agree on Holt, very important player for us. Apart from that any personal abuse is detrimental to the team and our results. Criticism of poor team performances sometimes gees the team up to do better. In a season where every point is a prisoner it seems logical that we should all get behind the management and players and analyse at the end of the season.

01-01-2017, 08:22 PM
Constructive criticism is good, and can help the team. Shouting 'you're ****ing ***** Shinnie, give up' helps nothing apart from the loser shouting its ego.

01-01-2017, 08:58 PM
Apart from the one sitting along from me on Saturday who sounded like his balls hadn't dropped yet as he shrieked his abuse at a number of Hibs players and the manager

That was me.

01-01-2017, 09:17 PM
Must admit I had to laugh at the substitution on Saturday. There were maybe 20 or 30 around me who were squealing for a change to be made. Then, when the change was made, they were going apoplectic at the substitution that was made.

I wonder if they were gutted when Commons got the goal?

A mate of mine faced down some ranter that had it in for Commons and Holt. They guy didn't know where to look when the free kick went in, but is probably still a player expert and a top whiner.

01-01-2017, 09:49 PM
That was me.

Stop it! I was eating when I read that :greengrin

01-01-2017, 09:54 PM
Can't agree on Holt, very important player for us. Apart from that any personal abuse is detrimental to the team and our results. Criticism of poor team performances sometimes gees the team up to do better. In a season where every point is a prisoner it seems logical that we should all get behind the management and players and analyse at the end of the season.

I'll just point out that I have never ever ever booed a hibs player or fan. I don't shout any abuse either. Any vocal acknowledgement from me is from singing hibs songs. Don't think that any negative noise helps the team.

01-01-2017, 10:19 PM
Stop it! I was eating when I read that :greengrin

:)

02-01-2017, 06:56 PM
That was me.

You need to visit your doc :greengrin

02-01-2017, 07:02 PM
That's Hibs undefeated every time I have started one of these. It's about 8 or 9 now.

Never even lost while Butcher was in charge.

It's time for me to step up and get us promoted. :o)

Renfrew_Hibby
02-01-2017, 08:01 PM
Are the goals up anywhere?

02-01-2017, 08:02 PM

Think they're free view on hibs tv

02-01-2017, 08:12 PM

https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/video/vod/1500

02-01-2017, 08:26 PM
https://hibstv.hibernianfc.co.uk/tv/video/vod/1500

no workin

02-01-2017, 08:28 PM
no workin
Click on the screen instead of the play button......

02-01-2017, 08:36 PM
Click on the screen instead of the play button......

cheers :aok:

02-01-2017, 08:39 PM

It was the same at the Dumbarton home game. Two minutes in and some clever clogs abuses shinnie and that in the hibs kids area. I can understand fans frustration but surely it's better to get right behind the team as we do when we play rantic or hertz. It takes all sorts but will never get my head round abusing players as it doesn't help the team. Maybe its fans just expecting us to turn up and score three every game but with the win v Falkirk,commons improving each week and McGinn and Marciano back soon then we look in good shape. I'm sure the fans will get right behind the team on Friday. We all want the same thing which is promotion.

02-01-2017, 10:22 PM

If Holt still scored goals at the rate he used to, we really would be skooshing this league.

I like him but he ain't Zlatan!