View Full Version : Chris Humphrey

30-12-2016, 09:37 PM
Seen on twitter deal to bring Humphreys(ex Well) is on the table , what do we think????

30-12-2016, 09:39 PM
Seen on twitter deal to bring Humphreys(ex Well) is on the table , what do we think????

I'm Free

30-12-2016, 09:41 PM
As I said on the PM board if Kenny Millar is reporting it then there is likely mileage in it.

Juice-Terry
30-12-2016, 09:43 PM
I seem to remember being very impressed with him a few years back. Plenty of pace, no?

30-12-2016, 09:44 PM
If he's still got his pace then yes, in a heartbeat! Had good skill too from what I remember.

McIntosh
30-12-2016, 09:45 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ln4CsadpzVA

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QKpKwB7u-V4

30-12-2016, 09:45 PM
I seem to remember being very impressed with him a few years back. Plenty of pace, no?

Would be the fastest in our team by far. I always remember whenever we played Motherwell that he was the danger I wanted to keep quiet. Was always impressive.

30-12-2016, 09:56 PM
Had a look at PNE online messageboard. Vast majority of posts wishing him well, thanking him for his time at the club and saying he played well enough when given the chance

30-12-2016, 09:58 PM

Have a look at the transfer window thread.

30-12-2016, 10:52 PM
Good player if my memory serves me right. Hope hevsigns

30-12-2016, 10:54 PM
I remember him ripping Hanlon at left back at Fir Park.

30-12-2016, 11:20 PM
Alan Obrien with a jet pack 👍

31-12-2016, 02:01 PM
I'm assuming it's this guy- Chris Humphrey: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Chris_Humphrey

Niffy
31-12-2016, 03:40 PM
NL says he'll be in on Monday.

31-12-2016, 03:41 PM
Lennon saying deal almost concluded and should be with us on Monday. Sounds promising.

Greenworld
31-12-2016, 03:42 PM
Done deal but no details of contract length yet

Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk

31-12-2016, 03:42 PM
A winger!! Fantastic!!!

31-12-2016, 03:44 PM
Happy days .. in from start v Dixon of the Arabs :agree:

31-12-2016, 03:54 PM
Lennon said it was a loan deal. I thought he had been released?

31-12-2016, 03:54 PM
NL says he'll be in on Monday.
Also that more in are unlikely unless players are moved out.

31-12-2016, 04:00 PM

To be fair, with Humphreys and Commons in, plus McGinn Fyvie Keatings Marciano all back from injury, I don't really see us needing to strengthen much more unless something special comes along.

1875Hibees
31-12-2016, 04:00 PM
Also that more in are unlikely unless players are moved out.Great. " Buy season tickets and all the money will go towards the team. " Sold the most we have sold in however many years and now its " We need to get rid to bring more in." Brilliant. We need more than just two.

31-12-2016, 04:01 PM

He actually says not many others.

31-12-2016, 04:02 PM
To be fair, with Humphreys and Commons in, plus McGinn Fyvie Keatings Marciano all back from injury, I don't really see us needing to strengthen much more unless something special comes along.

Agree

Gordy M
31-12-2016, 04:03 PM
Agree

Anyone know if commons will be staying after the emergency loan ends?

Lee Marvin
31-12-2016, 04:04 PM
Great. " Buy season tickets and all the money will go towards the team. " Sold the most we have sold in however many years and now its " We need to get rid to bring more in." Brilliant. We need more than just two.

Our squad is already very big (assuming humphrey and commons) so it's obvious that we would need to move out before anyone else comes in

31-12-2016, 04:04 PM
He actually says not many others.

Your right he does.

1875Hibees
31-12-2016, 04:06 PM
Our squad is already very big (assuming humphrey and commons) so it's obvious that we would need to move out before anyone else comes in I get that. But we wont have any huge earners and the club will still be making a ton of money from half season tickets. We need to go up this year so I think we need to make sure and bring in the players necessary to do that.

31-12-2016, 04:07 PM
Lenny could be playing possum. If he finds the right guy, who can make a real impact, he'll go for him. But we have a decent squad, no sense in filling it up with wages. Commons will be better alongside McGinn and Fyvie, and Humphrey's hopefully still has the pace to get "free" of the last defender and whip in more potent crosses for the big guys and Cummings and Keats.

31-12-2016, 04:07 PM

That's a fair point indeed. With these key players back from injury and with Humphreys added, we may only need to add one more quality player to strengthen the squad or maybe not at all, and if we can go a good few points clear over the next month or two we can start to give first team experience to a few of the younger lads like Oli Shaw etc.

Bring on United :hyper

:giruy2:

31-12-2016, 04:20 PM
Signed.

31-12-2016, 04:21 PM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/7133

31-12-2016, 04:21 PM
Well, what a great day this has turned out to be!

31-12-2016, 04:22 PM
Really pleased with this signing - today's finishing pretty good after all!

kevo1875
31-12-2016, 04:22 PM
Welcome to the hibees Chris ggtth

31-12-2016, 04:50 PM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=ln4CsadpzVA

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=QKpKwB7u-V4

2 beauties, here's one more: https://youtu.be/m6LQCx_fth4

31-12-2016, 04:56 PM
Great another player with a surname that people will constantly get wrong! :greengrin

alihibs1
31-12-2016, 05:55 PM
Had 92 pace on fifa the year Boyle had 78. I know fifa has little correlation but sounds like Usain Bolt.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

31-12-2016, 05:59 PM
Great another player with a surname that people will constantly get wrong! :greengrin
How can you get Chris wrong:greengrin

ACLeith
31-12-2016, 06:02 PM
How can you get Chris wrong:greengrin

It's quite easy Kris 😀

31-12-2016, 06:06 PM
It's quite easy Kris 😀
After I wrote I just hoped no one would think of that, damn:confused:

vincipernoi
01-01-2017, 01:49 PM
Was Chris Humphreys who skinned ryan mcgivern repeatedly down the right side in a game at easter road? - sorry, aging memory can't put a year to it

01-01-2017, 01:51 PM
Was Chris Humphreys who skinned ryan mcgivern repeatedly down the right side in a game at easter road? - sorry, aging memory can't put a year to it

Barry Humphreys could have skinned mcgivern

01-01-2017, 02:24 PM
Barry Humphreys could have skinned mcgivern

:tee hee::tee hee:

01-01-2017, 02:42 PM

You're being very vague with that description.

Many a player done that to him.

The Leith Dutch
01-01-2017, 08:38 PM
2 beauties, here's one more: https://youtu.be/m6LQCx_fth4

Liking that this and one of the other goals were shots from distance.
I'm not in the camp that thinks we need massive amounts of new players in but another player with pace and shooting from distance are defo on the list of things we're lacking.

01-01-2017, 08:49 PM

Cant mcgivern be added as a swear word to the swear filter?

01-01-2017, 08:51 PM
Liking that this and one of the other goals were shots from distance.
I'm not in the camp that thinks we need massive amounts of new players in but another player with pace and shooting from distance are defo on the list of things we're lacking.

At the match yesterday I thought once Boyle came on the Falkirk defence dropped in a bit deeper. With either Humphreys or Boyle in the side I'd expect this to become the norm.

Super_JMcGinn
01-01-2017, 08:54 PM
Has he been playing recently and is there any up to date footage ? Very excited by this signing remembering him from his time at Motherwell.

01-01-2017, 09:12 PM
At the match yesterday I thought once Boyle came on the Falkirk defence dropped in a bit deeper. With either Humphreys or Boyle in the side I'd expect this to become the norm.

The same happened last week against Raith. Their CH's were superb but looked rattled when Boyle came on and our midfield got a bit more space as their back line was forced deeper.

I suspect we'll see a lot more from a few of our regulars when this happens - a number of our players will feel the benefit of an injection of pace into our side.

I think this could be the difference between us looking an ordinary side and a very decent one, and I'm looking forward to the second half of the season.

01-01-2017, 09:20 PM

He did. Think he scored and set one up that day. That was the day their drummer was hammering away the whole game and there was a bunch of around 50 who were singing and jumping about daft the full 90 mins.

01-01-2017, 10:18 PM
Everybody seems positive about this signing.

Have to admit I didn't know of his existence until we came in for him.

Hope he does the business, but forgive me if I reserve judgement until after a few games....we have had a few signings that I thought would prove 'the difference' but didn't fully meet expectations....

Marco G
01-01-2017, 10:24 PM
The same happened last week against Raith. Their CH's were superb but looked rattled when Boyle came on and our midfield got a bit more space as their back line was forced deeper.

I suspect we'll see a lot more from a few of our regulars when this happens - a number of our players will feel the benefit of an injection of pace into our side.

I think this could be the difference between us looking an ordinary side and a very decent one, and I'm looking forward to the second half of the season.
We are taking the legs from our opponents. Raith were knackered with 10 minutes left and Boyle's pace did the trick. So if we have more players that can exploit it, then its good news.

01-01-2017, 10:52 PM
Seems to be a good person off the field and have a good character.

Looking forward to him being involved and I think he will do well.

01-01-2017, 11:03 PM
Seemingly was playing the wingback role at PNE, as they played 3 at the back, although that was last season.
I hoped he was coming to play right side in a 442, but presume it gives us cover for Gray

02-01-2017, 12:17 AM
Can one of the admins please update the thread title? We must have about 4 or 5 variations of spelling of his name on different threads now.

02-01-2017, 01:23 AM
Good luck Sir

02-01-2017, 01:41 AM
Everybody seems positive about this signing.

Have to admit I didn't know of his existence until we came in for him.

Hope he does the business, but forgive me if I reserve judgement until after a few games....we have had a few signings that I thought would prove 'the difference' but didn't fully meet expectations....
Think at this level he should be able to make an impact Its just a deal till the end of the season so it gives us a different option
Can play as winger or wing back and with Eardsley not having made any impact this gives. us cover
If fully fit we will see if pace and crossing make a difference Lennon must think he can still do it so a welcome addition to the squad
Think Commons will extend his stsy and if we get one more in then that will be it for this window

02-01-2017, 03:02 AM
Good luck Sirlooks excactly what we are needing and, surprisingly he can actually play for Scotland, his Ma, is frae Kilmarnock.

02-01-2017, 05:05 AM
Can one of the admins please update the thread title? We must have about 4 or 5 variations of spelling of his name on different threads now.

It's Humphrey....as in wot you call a camel with nae humps.....

02-01-2017, 01:40 PM

Agreed and it'll no be me making the mistake.

My daughter married into the Humphrey clan (no relation to Chris btw) and me and the missus made the fatal mistake of adding an 's' to the surname to begin with. It really upset my daughter that we couldn't get the name right, so let's not do the same on here.:greengrin

It's Humphrey, not Humphreys or Humphries or any other variation for that matter.:agree:

02-01-2017, 01:51 PM
Agreed and it'll no be me making the mistake.

My daughter married into the Humphrey clan (no relation to Chris btw) and me and the missus made the fatal mistake of adding an 's' to the surname to begin with. It really upset my daughter that we couldn't get the name right, so let's not do the same on here.:greengrin

It's Humphrey, not Humphreys or Humphries or any other variation for that matter.:agree:

Sounds like she took the humph over your spelling. :wink:

02-01-2017, 01:55 PM
It's Humphrey....as in wot you call a camel with nae humps.....

Three Humps Shirley?

02-01-2017, 01:56 PM
Sounds like she took the humph over your spelling. :wink:

Haha. She certainly did.
While on the subject. Just been reading another thread and he's referred to as Humpries. Oh dear!!

02-01-2017, 02:08 PM
As long as it starts with the first scorer is..... am not bothered

02-01-2017, 02:10 PM
The thread title should probably be changed then to save with the confusion. Don't want to go upsetting our new signing!

02-01-2017, 03:24 PM
Seemingly was playing the wingback role at PNE, as they played 3 at the back, although that was last season.
I hoped he was coming to play right side in a 442, but presume it gives us cover for Gray

I don't think he'll be cover for Gray, he's a right midfielder/right winger so it'll allow us to play 4-4-2. If he played a few games at wing back it'll have been like when Boyle played a couple games for us in that position, or similar to what Victor Moses does at Chelsea. Our squad certainly has more options now though, particularly with McGinn, Fyvie, Marciano and Handling all due back soon.

02-01-2017, 03:32 PM
Well the wrestler Wade Barrett just gave Humphrey some well wishes so he must be good haha

02-01-2017, 05:52 PM

Humphrey Leith, where you fi?

02-01-2017, 06:10 PM
Friendly with Wade Barrett.

Hope that doesn't make this bad news.

02-01-2017, 06:17 PM
We've been needing a boost in the Humphrey department since Rudge left.

03-01-2017, 09:47 AM
Preston fans wishing him well. Seems well thought of by them.

Humphrey has played as a wing back. Some of them saying he contributed effectively in the promotion season, but has been found wanting in the championship. General view is that Humphrey lacks a wee bit of ability at that level

Interesting that a few of them seem to believe the Scottish Championship to be the equivalent of the Conference!

03-01-2017, 12:33 PM
Three Humps Shirley?

Don't call him Shirley
;)