View Full Version : Old Hibs song - A Hibee for me

28-12-2016, 03:05 PM
Looking to get my Gran a brick at the West Stand and she suggested the line ' A Hibee For Me'

From the song

A hibee for me
If youre no a hibee
Youre nae use to me

She mentioned some other lines that included giving some stick to Willie Waddel.

Wondering if anyone can confirm this song and of they know the rest of it.

Dont wanna put up a brick with gobbledegook but good if its right for her.

Tom Hart RIP
28-12-2016, 03:31 PM
I think the next lines are
Eddie Turnbull is braw
And Reilly an aw
But the cocky wee Gordons the pride of them aw.
(From the old Scottish song A Gordon for me.

I remember another song based on A long way to Tipperary.
That includes the lines
Goodbye Patrick Thistle, Farewell Aberdeen and to hell with the Rangers and the Celtic, Wullie Waddell Jock Stein.

28-12-2016, 03:32 PM
Looking to get my Gran a brick at the West Stand and she suggested the line ' A Hibee For Me'

From the song

A hibee for me
If youre no a hibee
Youre nae use to me

She mentioned some other lines that included giving some stick to Willie Waddel.

What about inscribing NIDDRIE on it?

The songs adapted from Its a Gordon for me. There was a few teams adapted it including us I think.

https://youtu.be/lSSgO4O4MYM

28-12-2016, 03:35 PM

From the song

A hibee for me
If youre no a hibee
Youre nae use to me

Can remember a song with these words but it was a 'Gordon for me' - in honour of the Prince of wingers, Gordon Smith.

hibeeron
28-12-2016, 05:23 PM
Remember getting ejected from a taxi going to Dryborough Cup Final at Hampden with some Glasgow Hibs branch members
All for constantly singing :
"Alan Gordon for me
Alan Gordon for me
If you're no Alan Gordon
Ye're nae use tae me
Pat Stanton is braw
John Blackley and awe
But big Alan Gordons
The pride of them awe"

Driver was a hun and didn't appreciate " All Hampden was covered in banners of green"

28-12-2016, 06:23 PM
We had a non football version of this song which involved the Ayatollah, the Shah and the Pope. Probably best not to post it.