View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Raith

Pages : 1 [2]

24-12-2016, 02:05 PM
8 points in front now two behind. Not a coincidence and not good enough. Lennon has next week and the United game to save it for me. Powder puff, too many individual mistakes, no urgency, poor tactics.

We are an extremely poor side.

24-12-2016, 02:10 PM
Well happy feeling gone.....after having a chuckle at the yams getting beat last night, was looking forward to a hibs win to set things up for Xmas.
As others have said, Groundhog Day.
Whilst I don't rate Lennon, it seems there was plenty chances today. The players need to focus and have the will to win / fire in the belly to sweep past teams and hurt them by taking chances.
As we've seen, too many simply don't have that in their makeup.

Lennon better deal the right cards in the Jan window cos if we don't go up, we're in the **** up to our necks.

24-12-2016, 02:12 PM
Once we're safely 7 or 8 behind United we'll go on a big long unbeaten run cause the pressure's off. We'll claw a few back, lose the crunch game at Tannadice, and wonder who'll beat us in the playoff this season.

24-12-2016, 02:14 PM
If Lennon is here for the season we are staying down.
If he goes and we replace well this time we can win this league
His appointment was wrong from day 1 for me. Butheresque.
This isn't the first time I've posted this either and no doubt it will be ripped to shreds again - the last tine with the argument that we were top. This time will be something else. Bottom line is Lennon is a very poor manager for hibs. Nice bloke. Good at Celtic, atrocious at Bolton - his previous gig. Bad now.

Can't share your wanton gloom. Pressing the panic button did us a fine load of good when Fenlon was ditched (or rather ditched himself) in favour of Butcher - a panicky move which I lay squarely at the feet of gloomy ****ers like YOU and which ultimately lead to our current position.

Of course we want to be top of the league and we aint at the moment - we have the resources to back Lennon though and back him we should. I believe we will get back on top of United sooner rather than later.

mcfly
24-12-2016, 02:16 PM
We've not played well in weeks. We hesitated in making a decision with Butcher when all the warning signs were there and it cost us. I don't want us to make the same mistake again.

We've notably regressed in every department under Lennon.

Agree - the football this year is awful - def going backwards under lennon

Exactly. Read the match thread, everyone was delighted with the line up. Not Neil's fault if no-one can hit a coos erchie with a banjo at present.
This is where I am right now, if these players won't do it Lennon has this window to get some who will and that's it for me.

Only signings I have been moderately happy with are Graham and marciano

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

8 points in front now two behind. Not a coincidence and not good enough. Lennon has next week and the United game to save it for me. Powder puff, too many individual mistakes, no urgency, poor tactics.

We are an extremely poor side.

:agree: There's not a single club in the four divisions which wouldn't fancy their chances against us in 90 minutes. I embarrassingly said in another thread that our cup game was a formality for us. I can see me eating my words soon.

24-12-2016, 02:17 PM
We have played worse and won on 3/4 occasions this season but it doesnt matter, 4 years in this divion is scaring me ****less.

24-12-2016, 02:18 PM
Whats the point in signing players like commons when we cant beat the likes of raith! Pathetic

Can't share your wanton gloom. Pressing the panic button did us a fine load of good when Fenlon was ditched (or rather ditched himself) in favour of Butcher - a panicky move which I lay squarely at the feet of gloomy ****ers like YOU and which ultimately lead to our current position.

Of course we want to be top of the league and we aint at the moment - we have the resources to back Lennon though and back him we should. I believe we will get back on top of United sooner rather than later.
Fwiw I backed Pat and still do. I think what relegated us was not ditching Butcher when it was blatant we were regressing without hope of improvement. The wrong decision both times.

Skooshing ? Aye nae bother.

24-12-2016, 02:23 PM
The guy who scored their goal looks a good player, he' looks like the kind of player who we should be looking at.

Agreed. He defended well all game. Won everything in the air, put in a few crucial blocks and kept it simple when he had possession.

24-12-2016, 02:23 PM
You have to find it amusing that Lennon picks the team and formation that I've read most people wanted and he still gets slated. Our players need to accept responsibility and step up to the plate.

He's picked the wrong team for months and clearly has no clue how to win against inferior teams. Just cos he picked a better team today (that still failed to win) doesn't mean he's suddenly a good manager. What does he do in training day to day?

He is clueless and classless IMHO and needs to go now, before it's too late.

24-12-2016, 02:24 PM
Whats the point in signing players like commons when we cant beat the likes of raith! Pathetic

I hear you.

We should have the talent to win games like this but we have to make our superiority count.

We are hard to beat. But that's not enough - we need to the 3 points every single week.

24-12-2016, 02:26 PM
And to think he's probably wiped over a million off the value of Jase too. Only ever accomplished anything by default. GTF Lennon, raging at this.

How did Lennon manage to do that like? Ridiculous post.

dmc1875
24-12-2016, 02:31 PM
Not that this is saying much but that's the best we have played and probability the most times we have carved chances in weeks.

Same old problems though, can't finish and always going to let one in when you least expect it.

The no 6 of raith was outstanding

24-12-2016, 02:34 PM
He's picked the wrong team for months and clearly has no clue how to win against inferior teams. Just cos he picked a better team today (that still failed to win) doesn't mean he's suddenly a good manager. What does he do in training day to day?

He is clueless and classless IMHO and needs to go now, before it's too late.

Frankly it wouldn't supprise me if Lennon just walked, not as if he needs the money.

24-12-2016, 02:35 PM
Frankly it wouldn't supprise me if Lennon just walked, not as if he needs the money.

I agree he doesn't seem that interested or engaged

24-12-2016, 02:42 PM
Skooshing ? Aye nae bother.

What's your point? We should be skooshing this league. Almost seems like given the choice you wouldn't even want us too?..

24-12-2016, 02:42 PM
How did Lennon manage to do that like? Ridiculous post.

Benching him for large parts of the season.

QMU-1875
24-12-2016, 02:48 PM
Got to blame the players after results like today. Painfully average mob. Don't let the cup win pull the wool over your eyes this lot need shipped out in January. Dundee United have clearly signed winners with the mentality that this lot don't have. Lennon has hopefully seen this now. The only area we are competent in is the centre of defence and in the middle with McGinn and Fyvie (sometimes). The rest need wholesale changes.

24-12-2016, 02:48 PM
First half we were decent but if you don't take chances when you're on top you'll be punished. Same old same old.

No lack of effort but Holt is past it, Shinnie is too slow, I'm fitter than Commons and McGeoch was anonymous NOT man of the match. We need a goal scorer and a quick wide player in the window and hope we can ship out a few to free up wages.

MacGruber
24-12-2016, 02:49 PM

Lot of crap. Never wanted Pat to go when he did. We would have stayed up if he stayed the rest of the season. Never called for Pats head once. Don't let that stop you making it up though

Mantis Toboggan
24-12-2016, 02:51 PM

Not much evidence we can do that right now. We are just so slow and holt should be nowhere near the team. Makes colin nish look like didier drogba.

Greenwich_Hibby
24-12-2016, 02:53 PM
I would not be confident in Lennon's ability to spend wisely in January given his 'talent' spotting record to date....and that's before I mention his hugely questionable record as a manager - big name, big ego, not a fit with Hibs at all - nae confidence in him......

24-12-2016, 02:53 PM
What's your point? We should be skooshing this league. Almost seems like given the choice you wouldn't even want us too?..

Don't think he means that at all, always thought this skooshing the league was ridiculous & just a little disrespectful of other teams, which has probably fired them up to play even better against us.

Ryan69
24-12-2016, 02:55 PM
You have to find it amusing that Lennon picks the team and formation that I've read most people wanted and he still gets slated. Our players need to accept responsibility and step up to the plate.

Whos fault she it then?
He does also choose the tactics...which seem to suck at the moment

24-12-2016, 03:12 PM
Players not taking their chances is not the fault of the manager.

Take one of those chances and everyone goes home happy.

McGeough and Cummings are back in the team and Martin got his game. Exactly what everyone on here wanted to happen yet Lennon gets slated for his team selection and tactics. Bizarre.

24-12-2016, 03:23 PM
We are the club every team wants to beat in this div Grant Holt was a cracking player I feel he is done now tho I'm not sure about lennons tactics and style of play time will tell its this season or never

24-12-2016, 03:27 PM
Lennon's signings have been pants. Shinnie is woeful almost every week, he seems to sign players based on name/previous achievement rather than actually looking at what the squad needs NOW and filling the gaps.

Was glad to see Dylan back and playing well but goodness me, Lennon does not fill me with confidence and I fully understand why folk say we've gone backwards.

24-12-2016, 03:28 PM
Lots on here talking up the missed chances but if we had not lost single goals in games we would have won against Morton and Raith and name a few yourself , keep a clean sheet and you never lose so don't just blame the forwards .

24-12-2016, 03:32 PM
Possession H65% RR35%
Shots H16 RR5
Corners H9 RR1
Still can't win.

How many times have we seen match stats like this over the last two and a half seasons? Still can't take simple chances in front of goal. Still getting caught with "sucker" goals. It seems every time we do, points are dropped.

Until whoever the manager is, and whoever the players are, can correct these failings Hibs won't get out of this awful league.

24-12-2016, 03:37 PM
Very poor result but I actually feel a bit more confident of winning the league now than I did last week, bizarre as that probably sounds. I thought Lennon set the team up well today. The shape worked for me and so did the inclusion of Scott Martin. In the first half we created 5 or 6 very good chances which were mostly blocked. I thought Holt did well in the first half and played his position better. We were unfortunate that we never went in at the break in the lead. The second half was nowhere near as good though and I think Lennon made his substitutions a bit late, a constant criticism, and no idea why he took Jason off, although I agreed about Boyle coming on. Commons looks like it will take him a few weeks longer to get fit than his current contract lasts but there were good signs with his link up with Jason in particular. Shinnie had one of those games but his attitude was spot on. Never hid and worked hard right till the last. His manager should have hooked him though as it was never going to be his day.

One thing I hope Lennon takes out of today is that youth could play a part this year. I thought Scott Martin was the MOTM for us today. He kept it simple, got tackles in and was buzzing about everywhere. He also looked like he wanted to win more than most typified by a fantastic late run down the left wing and some crunching tackles. We have Shaw banging them in for the U20s who I hope now at least gets a place on the bench. I have blamed Lennon for the last few weeks as I think the style of play and formations has been honking. I wouldn't blame him today. We played very well in parts and created a bag full of chances. We are crying out for the window to open where we can get some pace and width and then SJM and Fyvies return should give us a decent chance of automatic promotion. We need to stay in touch in the next few weeks to do that though.

hibee62
24-12-2016, 03:46 PM
Very poor result but I actually feel a bit more confident of winning the league now than I did last week, bizarre as that probably sounds. I thought Lennon set the team up well today. The shape worked for me and so did the inclusion of Scott Martin. In the first half we created 5 or 6 very good chances which were mostly blocked. I thought Holt did well in the first half and played his position better. We were unfortunate that we never went in at the break in the lead. The second half was nowhere near as good though and I think Lennon made his substitutions a bit late, a constant criticism, and no idea why he took Jason off, although I agreed about Boyle coming on. Commons looks like it will take him a few weeks longer to get fit than his current contract lasts but there were good signs with his link up with Jason in particular. Shinnie had one of those games but his attitude was spot on. Never hid and worked hard right till the last. His manager should have hooked him though as it was never going to be his day.

One thing I hope Lennon takes out of today is that youth could play a part this year. I thought Scott Martin was the MOTM for us today. He kept it simple, got tackles in and was buzzing about everywhere. He also looked like he wanted to win more than most typified by a fantastic late run down the left wing and some crunching tackles. We have Shaw banging them in for the U20s who I hope now at least gets a place on the bench. I have blamed Lennon for the last few weeks as I think the style of play and formations has been honking. I wouldn't blame him today. We played very well in parts and created a bag full of chances. We are crying out for the window to open where we can get some pace and width and then SJM and Fyvies return should give us a decent chance of automatic promotion. We need to stay in touch in the next few weeks to do that though.

I agree with this. I thought the first half today was the best I've seen all season, although I've only been to a handful of games. If Cummings was a little bit quicker or commons a little bit younger we'd have been 3 up at half time. Holt played really well at linking up play for me but too often found himself provider to the positions he should have been in.

I'd maybe go for keatings for Cummings next time out but apart from that I'm happy with that team until McGinn and fyvie are back.

1875Hibees
24-12-2016, 03:47 PM
Players not taking their chances is not the fault of the manager.

Take one of those chances and everyone goes home happy.

McGeough and Cummings are back in the team and Martin got his game. Exactly what everyone on here wanted to happen yet Lennon gets slated for his team selection and tactics. Bizarre. Whats bizarre is that you seem to think that just because the manager picks the team people want, thats his job done lol Thats bizarre, and shows your a bit clueless about football.

Green-Hibee-7
24-12-2016, 03:51 PM
I've been slated and I've admitted probably rightly so for wanting Lennon gone as early as January. But nothing absolutely nothing changes my opinion on that as the weeks go on.

I actually thought today we started pretty well and the football all be it slow was a lot better than what has been served up in previous weeks. My criticism is playing Holt or Graham constantly whilst never exploring the Boyle Keatings or Cummings combination. The pace of Keatings or Boyle would 100% cause more problems and probably more space and chances for Cummings than having a static, overweight holt who never wins headers. Guy actually tries his heart out as well but it's just chronic.

Shinnie has nice passes or attempts here or there but is a complete bottler in any tackle or heading situation and too many times keeps the ball for too long or eventually runs it out from poor control.

Stevenson gets pelters for not finding a man with crosses but had Sir David not scored in May - he would 110% be getting slaughtered on here. Absolutely hopeless of putting in a decent ball.

McGregor and Hanlon cruise every game. The latter I think has come on leaps and bounds and I would easily have as first man on the team sheet.

Shout out to wee Martin - got stuck in, never hid and certainly never done anything worse than anyone else in green midfield today.

Saving two points from Morton and Raith when going for a title is tragic.. Jury is out on Lennon for me - with a lot of players needing a look at themselves as well.

24-12-2016, 04:26 PM
Benching him for large parts of the season.

Aye when he was missing sitters game after game that were costing us points. You were quite happy for Lennon to stick with that? Boyle came in at that stage and deserved his start. Cummings is the only person that has caused his own value to drop. If it has.

24-12-2016, 04:49 PM
But. Lennon must have seen holt was **** commons was **** and shinier was ****. Yet two stayed on.

You watch the game? All 3 players were excellent today. Shinnie poor finishing but alround play great from all 3

24-12-2016, 04:52 PM
You watch the game? All 3 players were excellent today. Shinnie poor finishing but alround play great from all 3

24-12-2016, 04:57 PM

lol

24-12-2016, 04:59 PM

The one thing that really jumps out at me as I read through this thread is how many differing opinions there are about the same player, Holt was...., Holt played well, Shinnie was...., Shinnie played well, McGeoch MoM, McGeogh did nothing. So on & so on.

24-12-2016, 05:01 PM
Whats bizarre is that you seem to think that just because the manager picks the team people want, thats his job done lol Thats bizarre, and shows your a bit clueless about football.

What is equally bizarre is that irrespective of what the manager does you will find fault, which shows you may well be the clueless one.

24-12-2016, 05:09 PM
Exactly. Read the match thread, everyone was delighted with the line up. Not Neil's fault if no-one can hit a coos erchie with a banjo at present.

I think today is near the strongest we can put out but that's only because Lennon decided we didn't need any wingers.

Canon Hannan
24-12-2016, 05:26 PM

Great post well said 🙏🏼👍

Canon Hannan
24-12-2016, 05:28 PM
The one thing that really jumps out at me as I read through this thread is how many differing opinions there are about the same player, Holt was...., Holt played well, Shinnie was...., Shinnie played well, McGeoch MoM, McGeogh did nothing. So on & so on.

Plenty managers here Lago 😂
Neil will win us the league. Keep the faith 👍

24-12-2016, 05:53 PM
Still odds on favourites according to the bookies.

Not as odds on as Celtic though.

24-12-2016, 06:12 PM
Not a bad performance to be fair, especially in the first half, but yet again, why do we give the opposition one opportunity and they score with it, yet we cannot take chance after chance.

There is no danger we'll win the league or even get promoted if we continue to fail to convert our chances in games like today. It's like a Groundhog day from the last 2 seasons.

24-12-2016, 06:13 PM

All round play except the one thing that actually matters.

1875Hibees
24-12-2016, 06:17 PM
What is equally bizarre is that irrespective of what the manager does you will find fault, which shows you may well be the clueless one.Erm.... That was my first post in the thread lol And I like Lennon. Just not pleased with our performances recently.

24-12-2016, 06:45 PM
Plenty managers here Lago 😂
Neil will win us the league. Keep the faith 👍

Your right, I can remember sometime ago Sir Tom Farmer commenting, & I paraphrase, that he wouldn't like to be manager at ER as there were always 15000 people there that knew better what players should be picked & how they should play. He wasn't really wrong.

24-12-2016, 07:02 PM
Your right, I can remember sometime ago Sir Tom Farmer commenting, & I paraphrase, that he wouldn't like to be manager at ER as there were always 15000 people there that knew better what players should be picked & how they should play. He wasn't really wrong.

Amazing how many times the manager eventually goes the way of the crowd though. Weeks of playing 3 centre halves and a holding mid with many in the support thinking its a bad idea and then the manager starts to go with these managers in the crowd. Weeks of hoofball with the crowd moaning and eventually the manager listens and we start to keep the ball on the deck. The problem is that it isn't the crowd changing the manager's mind it is usually the manager moving from one formation and style to the next to another in the hope of finding a solution because he is starting to panic.

24-12-2016, 07:16 PM
Amazing how many times the manager eventually goes the way of the crowd though. Weeks of playing 3 centre halves and a holding mid with many in the support thinking its a bad idea and then the manager starts to go with these managers in the crowd. Weeks of hoofball with the crowd moaning and eventually the manager listens and we start to keep the ball on the deck. The problem is that it isn't the crowd changing the manager's mind it is usually the manager moving from one formation and style to the next to another in the hope of finding a solution because he is starting to panic.

Yes but the problem with your theory is that those that make up the crowd have many & varied opinions, as can be seen by readig some of the various threads posted on here following todays match.

24-12-2016, 07:20 PM
Tbh i think I'm done with this. Far too many wee men with issues.

24-12-2016, 07:23 PM

There seems to be more and more clueless wee men with issues as the season goes on.

24-12-2016, 07:46 PM

Me too, had my say.

Peanut Shaz
24-12-2016, 08:05 PM
I agree he doesn't seem that interested or engaged

I said this on another a few months back. I believe his hearts not in it. There's no affinity with the fans at all. Looks disinterested. Still not convinced he'll see the season out.

The Baldmans Comb
24-12-2016, 08:08 PM
Pretty anonymous but "enjoyed" his 1:5 GTF when subbied.

Abused throughout but some Hibs fans couldnae take it back.

Sums up the utter wee sapps throughout the football world whoever you support.

24-12-2016, 08:37 PM
Lennon looked engaged enough to me when our goal went in.

I don't know where this disinterested stuff comes from, I really don't see it.

He's stuck his neck on a block coming to us. His career can't withstand us finishing anywhere other than first.

He may or may not love our club but he has as vested an interest as anyone in seeing us win this league.

He's interested all right.

24-12-2016, 09:16 PM
I said this on another a few months back. I believe his hearts not in it. There's no affinity with the fans at all. Looks disinterested. Still not convinced he'll see the season out.

Said before that I think this will be his last management job. He'll be back on Match of the Day etc after he leaves us, whether he sees out his contract or not.

27-12-2016, 12:28 PM
http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/raith-rovers/battling-raith-claim-christmas-eve-point-at-easter-road-1-4325489

A Fife viewpoint of Saturday.

27-12-2016, 12:43 PM
http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/raith-rovers/battling-raith-claim-christmas-eve-point-at-easter-road-1-4325489

A Fife viewpoint of Saturday.

Thanks Hamish, even their reporter said Skacel behaved like a tosser

Fanforlife
27-12-2016, 01:04 PM
Said before that I think this will be his last management job. He'll be back on Match of the Day etc after he leaves us, whether he sees out his contract or not.
After totally contrasting scenarios at Celtic and Bolton, do you really believe that a guy who has spent most of his life involved in professional football would not care how he has done in his job at Hibs?Think you will find that his pride more than anything else would rule that out. Lennon must know that if he fails to get us promoted then his days as a head coach would be over and as a failure his media work would probably dry up as well.

27-12-2016, 01:06 PM
Thanks Hamish, even their reporter said Skacel behaved like a tosser

Interestingly the Fife viewpoint seems more impressed with our play than some of our own support.

27-12-2016, 01:27 PM
Pretty anonymous but "enjoyed" his 1:5 GTF when subbied.

Abused throughout but some Hibs fans couldnae take it back.

Sums up the utter wee sapps throughout the football world whoever you support.

Oh did ye ...... and the actual game he was referring to, did ye enjoy that as well?