View Full Version : Spoty

Babyshamble
18-12-2016, 05:45 PM
Anybody know if we are nominated for team of the year 😎 ? We'll surely get a mention .GGTTH.

18-12-2016, 05:51 PM
If we were an English team with our Hollywood style win after 114 years we would have a decent sized slot however doubt we will get a mention.

18-12-2016, 05:54 PM
We'll get the token 10 second Scottish football mention along with Ross County and Celtic.

As for the main prize. Murray will rightly win it and the 2 glaring omissions from the shortlist, imo, are Carl Frampton and Ryan Moore.

18-12-2016, 06:00 PM
Scottish Cup is on the stage so we should get a mention at least.

18-12-2016, 06:00 PM
Anybody know if we are nominated for team of the year 😎 ? We'll surely get a mention .GGTTH.

Team of the year will be either Leicester or the GB Olympic team, I would imagine

18-12-2016, 06:10 PM
Scottish Cup is on the stage so we should get a mention at least.

:agree: Expect Hibs to get a decent mention.

18-12-2016, 06:14 PM
Spoty can beat it. Still not forgiven them the omission of Lawrie Reilly's death in 2013.

18-12-2016, 06:25 PM
Claudio Rainieri coach of the year.

18-12-2016, 06:35 PM
Remember to vote for Andy Murray.

18-12-2016, 06:36 PM
That Laura trots quite fit likes.....:drool:

18-12-2016, 06:44 PM
There we go. 6 seconds maybe.

Just been mentioned

That was that then!

18-12-2016, 06:45 PM
Joke.

18-12-2016, 06:49 PM
Claire balding has just changed her name to eddie???

18-12-2016, 06:50 PM
There we go. 6 seconds maybe.

6 seconds max !......surely get another mention later

18-12-2016, 06:52 PM
Standard. We're an afterthought

18-12-2016, 06:56 PM
Same amount of time given to all the cups, no?

18-12-2016, 06:59 PM

Yes but we love to feel hard done to.

18-12-2016, 07:02 PM
Yes but we love to feel hard done to.

With the clips of man u winning the fa cup and liverpool losing to sevilla you've got every right to feel hard done by :greengrin

18-12-2016, 07:03 PM

Precisely

18-12-2016, 07:04 PM

Man Utd winning the FA Cup or Madrid the CL is hardly a comparable story is it?

If it had been an English team winning the FA Cup after such a wait they would have got the same coverage as Leicester got.

18-12-2016, 07:05 PM
With the clips of man u winning the fa cup and liverpool losing to sevilla you've got every right to feel hard done by :greengrin

Haha I missed that bit ;-)

18-12-2016, 07:09 PM
Not watching, but nothing they can do with this telly programme can add to the joy that day in May gave us.

https://twitter.com/TweeterAlliss/status/810550253803868160

18-12-2016, 07:11 PM
Man Utd winning the FA Cup or Madrid the CL is hardly a comparable story is it?

If it had been an English team winning the FA Cup after such a wait they would have got the same coverage as Leicester got.

It's not really a bigger story than the last two Scottish Cup winners. Would be interesting to know how much time they got.

18-12-2016, 07:31 PM
Not watched SPOTY for a long time. Pretty turgid show. Great achievements by some of the winners but talk about dragging it out. Just go back to SPOTY, and team and International. Bloody Robbie Williams now. It's more like Sports Relief than Sports Personality.

18-12-2016, 07:33 PM
Not watched SPOTY for a long time. Pretty turgid show. Great achievements by some of the winners but talk about dragging it out. Just go back to SPOTY, and team and International. Bloody Robbie Williams now. It's more like Sports Relief than Sports Personality.

What's Robbie up for😂

18-12-2016, 07:38 PM
What's Robbie up for😂
did The LA "Angels" win anything.

18-12-2016, 07:40 PM
We're diddies

What do you expect

18-12-2016, 07:42 PM
Enjoying the program but they sure are dragging it out.

18-12-2016, 07:49 PM
Man City wimmen's fitba team.

Nae Hibs.

WTF.

18-12-2016, 07:51 PM
Team of the year award goes to Leicester City FC

18-12-2016, 07:51 PM

Nae Hibs.

WTF.

Totally joke.

18-12-2016, 07:54 PM
Now for the Memorium section

Remember the time they forgot Lawrie Reilly during the tribute?

Disgusting

18-12-2016, 07:55 PM
Barcelona V Espanyol on Sky Sports 1 - far better than any dross BBC sports can deliver.
You're welcome 👍

18-12-2016, 07:55 PM

Nae Hibs.

WTF.

Did they not just get a fleeting mention, same as us?

18-12-2016, 07:58 PM

Nae Hibs.

WTF.

F1 Mercedes team too

Joke

18-12-2016, 07:59 PM
Did they not just get a fleeting mention, same as us?

They were one of the nominations as team of the year!

18-12-2016, 08:00 PM
Some very young folk passed away in sport this year.

Now for the Memorium section

Remember the time they forgot Lawrie Reilly during the tribute?

Disgusting

The memorial section always seems to forget someone obvious. The BBC website had a big piece on JT McNamara (jockey) and followed it up with a piece on his cousin Robbie (also sadly paralysed in a fall) only last week but he wasn't included in this years memorial segment?

The fact that the BBC didn't see fit to include Carl Frampton shows what a farce it is

18-12-2016, 08:01 PM
They were one of the nominations as team of the year!

Missed that. Probably got nicer knees than ours. :greengrin

18-12-2016, 08:01 PM
The fact that the BBC didn't see fit to include Carl Frampton shows what a farce it is

Said as much earlier on. Both he and Ryan Moore had great years in their fields and should have been in.

Nick Skelton 3rd

18-12-2016, 08:02 PM
Andy again

18-12-2016, 08:02 PM
Browlee 2nd and Murray wins it.

The final results are pretty much right imo.

18-12-2016, 08:03 PM
At least Hibs won the main award. well done Andy Murray. Thoroughly deserved.

18-12-2016, 08:03 PM
Deserved winner

18-12-2016, 08:05 PM
Who are the three jokers at the back of Andy Murray ? :greengrin

sauzee6_2
18-12-2016, 08:08 PM
Love that Andy Murray won - but would you vote for him if he was a jambo?

18-12-2016, 08:10 PM
2-0 (Suarez's second) 😀

18-12-2016, 08:12 PM

Nut!

18-12-2016, 08:14 PM
Said as much earlier on. Both he and Ryan Moore had great years in their fields and should have been in.

Nick Skelton 3rd
Ryan Moore had another injury which in effect ended his chance of the jockey's title. It's not the first time that's happened either. He's still, in my opinion, the best flat jockey by some way though.

18-12-2016, 08:17 PM
Glad that Murray won it, but I wouldn't have had any problem if Brownlee had, to me he represents what sport should be all about.

18-12-2016, 08:19 PM
Surely we merited a nomination for team of the year?

18-12-2016, 08:19 PM

I like to think I could respect his achievements all the same.

Andy is incredible.

18-12-2016, 08:31 PM
Ryan Moore had another injury which in effect ended his chance of the jockey's title. It's not the first time that's happened either. He's still, in my opinion, the best flat jockey by some way though.

Miserable barsteward but definitely the best flat jockey at the moment imo. In 2016 he won, amongst others:

1000 Guineas, Oaks, Fillies Mile, King George IV and Queen Elizabeth, Queen Elizabeth II, Sun Chariot, Sussex, Diamond Jubilee.... That's only in Britain he also won the Arc and Poule d'Essai des Poulains in France, Hong Kong Classic Cup, Hong Kong Classic Mile, Hong Kong Cup, Matron, Vincent O'Brien and Pretty Polly in Ireland, the Dubai Turf and the Tenno Sho in Japan.

Consistent success at the highest level all over the world and not even a mention.

18-12-2016, 08:37 PM
Not sure you can argue with the winner of team of the year ... while our story was great there's was something else

18-12-2016, 08:41 PM
Not sure you can argue with the winner of team of the year ... while our story was great there's was something else

Agreed but not to be one of the nominees when Man City ladies were was ridiculous.

18-12-2016, 08:43 PM
Were people really genuinely expecting us to be one of six or seven team of the year nominations?

18-12-2016, 08:44 PM
Were people really genuinely expecting us to be one of six or seven team of the year nominations?

Ahead of the Man City women's team? Aye probably.

18-12-2016, 08:45 PM
Surely we merited a nomination for team of the year?

:top marksScottish Cup Winners 2016 deserved team of the year for ending the hoodoo.

Ian Crocker deserved Commentator's special award for his 'It's Henderson to deliver'.

Every Hibernian supporter who attended deserves a 'Supporter of the Year' award as we had collectively lived in hope for 114 years.

Every Hibernian supporter deserved an award just for being a Hi bee.

Referee of the year - Steven Maclean for being 'fair' against the huns.

Manager of the year - Alan Stubbs

Special Award - Robbie Neilson and the Yams for surrendering the two goal lead at Swiney (money spinning replay) and then being turned over at ER.

God bless the Hi bees and all who support us and well done Andy Murray and all of the Murray family.

Glory Glory

18-12-2016, 08:50 PM
Miserable barsteward but definitely the best flat jockey at the moment imo. In 2016 he won, amongst others:

1000 Guineas, Oaks, Fillies Mile, King George IV and Queen Elizabeth, Queen Elizabeth II, Sun Chariot, Sussex, Diamond Jubilee.... That's only in Britain he also won the Arc and Poule d'Essai des Poulains in France, Hong Kong Classic Cup, Hong Kong Classic Mile, Hong Kong Cup, Matron, Vincent O'Brien and Pretty Polly in Ireland, the Dubai Turf and the Tenno Sho in Japan.

Consistent success at the highest level all over the world and not even a mention.
Yep, couldn't argue with any of that. As you obviously know, he was a brilliant jockey before he got the retainer for Coolmore as well. Ironically, one of the best races which typifies him (for me) was in the St James Palace against Frankel. Although the jockey on Frankel (Tom Queally) misjudged the race, and Frankel still won it, Moore came from a mile back on Zoffany and came as close as any horse did to beating Frankel. He seems to find gaps which other jockeys won't dare to go through in big fields, a brilliant jockey. The reason he doesn't get recognized so much for his achievements is that he's not as flamboyant or publicity seeking as the likes of Dettori, although Dettori is a great jockey too.

18-12-2016, 08:53 PM

Put it this way I would never have predicted Man City ladies to be nominated ahead of Hibs.

18-12-2016, 08:56 PM
Ahead of the Man City women's team? Aye probably.

BBC are pushing women's sport to death of late, no surprise.

We had the most notable achievement in Scottish sport (Murray being a more British brand) last year I'd wager, and failed in another two tournaments don't forget.... Trumped by Leicester in men's football in a UK sense, Wales in the Euros more more visible, then throw in an Olympic year for the rest. Like the English majority would give a stuff about us, it's a Scottish Championship football team. Doesn't make a blind bit of difference to how amazing it was for us.

18-12-2016, 09:03 PM
Agreed but not to be one of the nominees when Man City ladies were was ridiculous.

They went unbeaten in the league and also won the cup.

Pretty impressive achievement.

Babyshamble
18-12-2016, 09:05 PM
Well pleased for Andy Murray.great achievement.surprised that Gary Anderson wasn't mentioned tho.Double world darts champion.Carl Frampton was missing as well .

18-12-2016, 09:14 PM
They went unbeaten in the league and also won the cup.

Pretty impressive achievement.

But even on current form we'd horse them ;)

18-12-2016, 09:16 PM

18-12-2016, 09:21 PM

I'd pay folding money to see that.