steelendhibs
17-12-2016, 06:03 PM
I will support and clap every player. ....but Bartley is hellish

17-12-2016, 06:04 PM
This is awful

lugz
What a couple of embarrassing efforts with the goal gaping from Holt and Graham.

Utter rubbish let's take a point and sort this out for next week ffs

Big L
How far away is Fyvie from a comeback? He's a big miss.

17-12-2016, 06:05 PM
That was awful.

Bartley is a clown.

The Captain....
Absolute ****ing horse**** again Lennon

Dobosz83
How far away is Fyvie from a comeback? He's a big miss.

3 weeks. Confirmed by the man himself when I spoke to him on Thursday night.

And get Bartley tae f###...utterly brutal footballer

lugz
Bartley really should be no where near this team.

17-12-2016, 06:06 PM
2 minutes added, 2 goals, 4 subs, the ref blowing his whistle every 2 minutes..

One of the worst games ive seen in a long time, patch work midfield but still should have won that game

Bringing on a centre half to see out a draw :faf:

Ok, he's just trolling us now, right?

dmc1875
Honestly can anyone believe how bad that Bartley performance was?

Utter, utter, utter *****!!!!

I wonder if this team wants to win the league sometimes that was bloody woeful.

Utter ****!! Thank god I don't live near enough to watch that crap each week

Lee Marvin
Worst offensive performance in this division

****ing booooo

Lennon needs to get this sorted and quickly or he can gtf. I've always liked the guy but he hasn't shown one sign that he has a scooby what he is doing with this Hibs team.

Sums it up to me. Camera on thrower with dugout in background. Duffy arms flying shouting instructions and driving his team on. Lennon arms folded looking at the ground and spitting. Lennon to me looks like he has lost a bit of interest. Watching that who can blame him

That was awful. We're not even playing like a good Championship team just now. We're very fortunate to be top of the league.

Hats off to those that traveled to watch that garbage!

mcfly
Take a point - graham, holt, Bartley, Stevenson all very poor.

Great goal Jason - 👏👏

Marvin Bartley is a hard watch. He's hailed by so many but I just don't see it.

TheReg!
17-12-2016, 06:07 PM
How bad was Bartley!

Bartley and shinnie need dropped asap.

Truly horrible, Hibs. MOTM was Bartley for me, worst performance by any Hibs player since Roberston in the 4-3 Falkirk semi.

IMO Lennon will not be at ER at the end of this season, win it or not. And it will not be because he's gone to a bigger club.

Fifehibby74
Set up not to get beat (off Morton). How far has our club fallen? Not expecting to win 2 nil every week away from home but to at least look like winning. Morton fans fair chuffed with their team. Got out of jail with United result at raith rovers. Questions to answer for Lennon. Least most of the fans gor a free bus (what about a refund for the entry fee!)

Ricky Bobby
Hibs fans who attended should get their money back. Utter dross.

Ardenttwo
2 minutes added, 2 goals, 4 subs, the ref blowing his whistle every 2 minutes..

What in the hell is wrong with Bartley. Nearly cost us the game. He is utter dross

Dundee Utd will have watched that and say the same as we do them, "nothing to fear from Hibs".

Although.....another week and we're still top.

Chorley Hibee
In 30 years of following Hibs, that's about as bad a performance as I've witnessed in a game we've not lost.

Glad i recorded that, probably play it on loop all night. :rolleyes:

steelendhibs
Bartley could lose us this league!

17-12-2016, 06:08 PM
Wait though. I'm sure it's just bedwetting to think that it was an absolutely abject performance of pure and utter hoofball for the full 90 minutes. Morton were the better side by a distance.

How does Boyle still get a game ahead of JC? Cummings is the only striker with a bit of quality as we saw.

Dobosz83
Horrible performance and utterly unenjoyable from start to finish. My confidence in the side diminishes as the weeks pass.

Bartley was horrid tonight and it's incredible that not one development squad player can take that place.

Genuine concerns about Lennon's decisions and tactics at this point. Starting with a strike force containing 2 players rejected by Dundee and Ross County speaks volumes.

Real concerns.

HibbySpurs
Bartley is a clown.

No he's not.... A clown is funny.... Bartley just fills me with rage!

Utter utter pish and Lennon is now a real worry. That is as bad as I've seen although week by week it's getting worse. Short on players but even so it's really poor stuff.

Glad I'm not the only one mate...he is brutal...absolutely cra#

Truly horrible, Hibs. MOTM was Bartley for me, worst performance by any Hibs player since Roberston in the 4-3 Falkirk semi.

IMO Lennon will not be at ER at the end of this season, win it or not. And it will not be because he's gone to a bigger club.
Bollocks.

17-12-2016, 06:09 PM
Any football came from Morton who tried to play it to feet, doubts about the manager on this display.

Dreadful dreadful stuff. Wouldn't mind so much if we played some half decent football but we were dross total dross.

Wing backs can't cross, Bartley was just shocking and gave the ball away time after time, Shinnie has some nice touches but does little and Boyle runs around clueless. Graham does lay ball off ok but does nothing else.

Jason saved us with a cracking free kick and almost made himself the winner but we wouldn't have deserved it.

Big question marks over Lennon on that formation and quality of football.

No real cutting edge. 2 f****** shots on target all game just isn't good enough.

All the other results went Hibs way today, but once again they failed to take full advantage.

Also, why is it so often the case that when Hibs are live on TV they just don't perform well?

What a farce that was.

mcfly
17-12-2016, 06:10 PM
Some of the comments about Bartley are just wrong

Yes he was poor but was he alone??

Stevenson cannot beat a man or cross a ball. Why is he in every week.

Holt and graham missed sitters - neither are good enough

Hibs MOTM was Bartley... and we stop reading there!!

Galahibby
NOT yer best performance Marv

and FINALLY he takes boyle off

And puts on another sodding defender! Against Morton!! He'll be doing a Levein before long and just playing 10 defenders. Bowfin!

loanheadhibby
Sadly, these players will not get us promoted and I've doubts the manager has the nouse to change it. Horrible performance.

Things need freshened up and if that means bringing Crane and Martin in then so be it.

Experienced players are hardly setting the heather on fire as it is so why not see what the young lads can do. Martin is an energetic player who likes to drive forward which seems to be exactly what we lack.

AL-Qaholik
17-12-2016, 06:11 PM
Massive January window coming up.
We are substantially worse than last season and seem to be getting worse each week.
No idea what Lennon's tactics are actually supposed to be either.

guthrie01
Dundee United game will be the decider for Lennon I think, hoping we see better performances and results but so far we have only gotten worse from last season. If it wasn't for our defence we would be a mid table club which is shocking with the players he has available.

i'm starting to clench my fist and shake it at the screen whenever the camera pans on neil lennon :confused: help !

joebakerforever

So I wasn't the only one who thought he was rank rotten, and right up to the last few seconds he nearly blew it for us.

How he was never hooked was unbelievable as he was such a liability throughout.

Take a point - graham, holt, Bartley, Stevenson all very poor.

Great goal Jason - 👏👏

Holt wasnt to bad when he came on

Brutal.

Although.....another week and we're still top.

Playing like that, for how long?

If Raith goalie hadn't made a great penalty save this afternoon Hibs would probably be trailing DU by two points tonight.

Jpdhfc
17-12-2016, 06:12 PM
Wait though. I'm sure it's just bedwetting to think that it was an absolutely abject performance of pure and utter hoofball for the full 90 minutes. Morton were the better side by a distance.

How does Boyle still get a game ahead of JC? Cummings is the only striker with a bit of quality as we saw.
No no any negative comments means your bed is wet

That was awful. We're not even playing like a good Championship team just now. We're very fortunate to be top of the league.

Fortunate? We've scored the most goals and conceded the least?

That was shocking.We got out of jail there.Utter garbage at the moment.Play offs would not surprise me.

This will be Lennon's last management job, a retirement funded by TV punditry awaits.

So I wasn't the only one who thought he was rank rotten, and right up to the last few seconds he nearly blew it for us.

How he was never hooked was unbelievable as he was such a liability throughout.

Simply because there was no one to
Play his role

Graham and Boyle were just as bad. Boyle has had 3 stinkers in a row now. Both must be dropped next week

17-12-2016, 06:13 PM
Brutal. As bad as anything for the last 5 years. How Boyle lasted that game I will never know. Best striker in the league sitting on the bench for 70 mins. Bartley is chronically bad at the moment. Three centre half's. Two 'wing backs' who cannot cross the ball. Sort this out Lennon FFS!!

That was an absolutely minging game. We were terible.

Jpdhfc
Simply because there was no one to
Play his role

Graham and Boyle were just as bad. Boyle has had 3 stinkers in a row now. Both must be dropped next week

It's think Martin can play that position

Ricky Bobby
17-12-2016, 06:14 PM
Lennon proving that anyone could lead Celtic to league title. Devoid of ideas.

Playing like that, for how long?

Thinking along similar lines now, but there must be more Celtc boys we could bring in? That Bertie Auld guy knew how to organise a defence :duck:

When you watch Stevenson these days, when you watch Bartley, it just beggars belief Crane and Martin aren't getting a game. Even just a chance, one ****ing chance. Im not sure anyone alive can deliver a ball into the box any worse than Lewis Stevenson at the moment. He's clearly undroppable.

17-12-2016, 06:15 PM
How did Commons do?

This will be Lennon's last management job, a retirement funded by TV punditry awaits.

Garbage

Slugging it out with Jim Duffy for a share of the spoils - we look nothing other than a Championship side. The personnel and manager available should prove otherwise, and despite still remaining top of table, the standards are falling way short of what should be demanded at Hibernian.

Jpdhfc
When you watch Stevenson these days, when you watch Bartley, it just beggars belief Crane and Martin aren't getting a game. Even just a chance, one ****ing chance. Im not sure anyone alive can deliver a ball into the box any worse than Lewis Stevenson at the moment. He's clearly undroppable.

I'm with you youth deserve there chance

Going backwards in terms of performance, worrying times ahead.

HibeeDaz6270
I wonder if this team wants to win the league sometimes that was bloody woeful.

That was brutal to watch. We have went backwards since last season. We need to play 4 at the back and allow Stevenson and Gray to concentrate on defending.

I would also take Bartley out and give the young boy Martin a chance. Barley has no ability on the ball and is often like a man down off it.

Cummings has to start. Who for? I would put Boyle back on the wing for a bit of pace.

The players at our disposal we should be given much better performances than that, cant help but question Lennon's style.

17-12-2016, 06:16 PM
How did Commons do?

Barely touched the ball.

ForeverHibs93
I genuinely don't care if all Jason does is score.

In fact that's actually all the more reason to play him, cause the other lot couldn't do it in a barrel of fannies.

Lennons refusal to start Jase regularly is my biggest gripe when the other forwards don't have that bit of magic to get us goals.

If I had to choose between losing Cummings or Lennon, it would be the latter every time.

😂 Oh stop

Missing our three best players and our clean sheet specialist goalkeeper,playing with a makeshift midfield consisting of two loan players and a squad player who only plays when others are injured, away from home to a team with a good home record that sit fourth in the league. We are still top, it can only get better.

Lennon proving that anyone could lead Celtic to league title. Devoid of ideas.

Apart from bringing on cummings who then scores?

17-12-2016, 06:17 PM
How did Commons do?

Ball spent to much time going over his head for him to get a touch.

17-12-2016, 06:18 PM
Some of the comments about Bartley are just wrong

Yes he was poor but was he alone??

Stevenson cannot beat a man or cross a ball. Why is he in every week.

Holt and graham missed sitters - neither are good enough

No they are not,he was ****in useless, so was Stevenson so was Graham, so was Commons, and so was Gray. In fact apart from McGregor and Hanlon bar his ball watching instead of watching the guy who scored, the rest were pish.

Bartley was a different level of pish though.

17-12-2016, 06:18 PM
Sorry to not join in with the bed wetting but Morton haven't lost at home since march and surprise surprise utd drew with them. We are missing our main midfieders and I'm sure we will be making at least another couple of good signings. Utd aren't world beaters and are scraping results as well and Falkirk are faltering. Yes we were woeful but the reasons are clear to see. We were never top of the league at this time before. By all means have a rant but it's getting hysterical.

17-12-2016, 06:19 PM
Apart from bringing on cummings who then scores?

Of course he also had the power to play him from the start but chose to go with poundland Nish and a guy who hasn't kicked a ball for 3 games.

I don't know what Holt did wrong? :confused:

Time to start Cummings and Holt in a 4-4-2 as the formation today simply doesn't work if we have any passengers in midfield.

McGinn, Fyvie, Shinnie and Commons supporting Holt and Cummings sounds the business.

Jason just said commons is a massive signing.....he does need to trim down a bit right enough :greengrin

High-On-Hibs
No urgency against a mob with a tinpot stadium and 500 regulars.

It's Colin Calderwood all over again, but at championship level.

December is usually a bad month for us so we will kick on in January and win this league

You must be new to Hibs

I'd like to see some proof on the park that Crane and Martin won't improve us. I have seen enough from players in their positions this year to say they aren't good enough. Get the youngsters in next week and lets see how they do. Boyle has to be benched and Cummings has to play. Come up with a formation that doesn't involve 6 defenders but most importantly put a team out that looks like they know what they are doing. I'm beginning to think Butcher left his playbook in the dressing room and Lennon has picked it up and thought this will save me a bit of work. A total shambles and the complete opposite of what Leeann wanted in terms of creating a style of play and bringing in the development players when we needed cover.

17-12-2016, 06:20 PM
How did Commons do?

Two outstanding moments of skill early second half. About half his free kicks found someones head in the box. Spent most of the rest of the game looking skywards as high balls were launched up to 5'7 Boyle:rolleyes: Cant really judge based on that.

17-12-2016, 06:21 PM
We need someone to take Bartley's place in midfield. If we're expecting to be under sustained pressure for periods, he's got a role to play, but running with the ball at his feet is not his game. McGinn, McGeough and Fyvie can all run through scrums of players, take the ball under pressure and come out the other side, and we really miss that.

Henderson was good at it too. It's key to beating teams who don't give you time on the ball, and would go a long way to making us more comfortable.

17-12-2016, 06:21 PM
Again I find myself questioning Lennon's motivation for this job. Imo he thought it would be a piece of cake and didn't do his research during summer and as a result our summer business was very poor.

Now come January I can only hope he knows what to sort out and does it soon, still should have been done in summer.

I can guarantee you every one of us on this board knew in summer that we needed offensive quality out wide yet the hibs manager didn't?! What's the point?

Jpdhfc
17-12-2016, 06:22 PM
Sorry to not join in with the bed wetting but Morton haven't lost at home since march and surprise surprise utd drew with them. We are missing our main midfieders and I'm sure we will be making at least another couple of good signings. Utd aren't world beaters and are scraping results as well and Falkirk are faltering. Yes we were woeful but the reasons are clear to see. We were never top of the league at this time before. By all means have a rant but it's getting hysterical.

It's think you're hysterical

Of course he also had the power to play him from the start but chose to go with poundland Nish and a guy who hasn't kicked a ball for 3 games.

But didnt, so he brought on a sub and it changed the game, so kind of proves he knows how to do his job, that team should have had more than enough quality to win today, lennon is only partly to blame

gillythehibby
We were rank rotten. Bartley constantly gave the ball away , commons gave us nothing -looked off the pace understandbly- A real chance blown AGAIN !

17-12-2016, 06:23 PM

Yes we are missing McGinn & Fyvie in particular, but do other teams not have serious injuries to players over the course of a season too?

Petrie trying to bring back John Park ....

Hope not

Time to start Cummings and Holt in a 4-4-2 as the formation today simply doesn't work if we have any passengers in midfield.

McGinn, Fyvie, Shinnie and Commons supporting Holt and Cummings sounds the business.

Holt linked up play as soon as he came on which Graham didn't.

Ricky Bobby

17 weeks of the same rubbish. The future of our club could heavily depend on us getting promotion. Time to get hysterical.

17-12-2016, 06:24 PM
Bollocks.

Bartley or Lennon or both :greengrin

17-12-2016, 06:24 PM
Well my thoughts after watching that,
1) Gray & Stevenson are not technically good enough to operate as wing backs, they are simply defensive full backs.
2) Boyle is not a centre forward, I am still to be convinced that he is a 90 minute player, more an impact sub.
3) Cummings has served his jail time, has to be back in the team from the word go.
4) Holt ahead of Graham for me.
5) For his first game I actually thought Commons started to come onto a decent game in the 2nd half.
6) Bartley has gone backward this season, sloppy display tonight, not the player he was when he first came to the club, don't know whats gone wrong.
7) Missing McGin & Fyfie more tha I expected, hurry back boys.
8) Still top of the league.

17-12-2016, 06:25 PM

Holt and Cummings should be our 1st choice forward line unless we bring in someone more suitable in January.

17-12-2016, 06:25 PM
But didnt, so he brought on a sub and it changed the game, so kind of proves he knows how to do his job, that team should have had more than enough quality to win today, lennon is only partly to blameHe took Fontaine off and Morton scored with practically their next attack after the ball hitting the bar twice and them regaining possession in the position Fontaine was playing in. He then brought on our top scorer when we desperately needed a goal. Forgive me if I don't think that was a managerial masterclass

17-12-2016, 06:27 PM
Lennon is clueless. We look so badly devoid of ideas going forward. Definitely made us worse.

17-12-2016, 06:29 PM
All today showed is what we already knew in that we will struggle without mcginn,fyfie and McGeoch. If we can stay top till they return then I'll be happy. As for Jason he is a scorer but can be a passenger when were up against it. I'm sure he'll be starting next week against raith. Were still top,lets move on to next week.

Ricky Bobby
17-12-2016, 06:30 PM
Lennon is clueless. We look so badly devoid of ideas going forward. Definitely made us worse.

He has turned a decent side into a gang of hoofball merchants.

West lower
17-12-2016, 06:31 PM

Then let's hope the signings are better than the strikers he signed in the summer.

17-12-2016, 06:31 PM

Cool, so as we slide down, and consolidate a bit at this level, its okay to fail to beat teams like Morton (and whoever is next) because we have a sizeable injury list and might sign a few more players. The teams that compete with us at the moment don't have the same potential to spend their way out of an abysmal league yet they seem to be too close to us for comfort at the end of the season (Falkirk anyone?).

When is it right to be a bit pissed off at this level and say so? I refuse to call a Hibby with an opinion a bed wetter.

17-12-2016, 06:32 PM
He took Fontaine off and Morton scored with practically their next attack after the ball hitting the bar twice and them regaining possession in the position Fontaine was playing in. He then brought on our top scorer when we desperately needed a goal. Forgive me if I don't think that was a managerial masterclass

Our 2 centre halfs that people want in the scotland squad should have been marking a bit better

17-12-2016, 06:32 PM

Morton. We are talking about Greenock Morton here. No excuses.

17-12-2016, 06:33 PM

Aye, so bad we are top of the league.

17-12-2016, 06:33 PM
He took Fontaine off and Morton scored with practically their next attack after the ball hitting the bar twice and them regaining possession in the position Fontaine was playing in. He then brought on our top scorer when we desperately needed a goal. Forgive me if I don't think that was a managerial masterclass

You do realise he took Fontaine off for Cummings yeah? So one couldn't have come off before the goal, with his replacement coming on after the goal.

17-12-2016, 06:34 PM
Well that was just minging. Took my 5 year old to his first away game and I doubt he will want to go to another one.

17-12-2016, 06:35 PM

Dear Alba, no more live hibs TV games...please, I beg of you

:(

Stax
17-12-2016, 06:36 PM
As poor a performance I can remember for a long time. Positives? Cummings surely can't be left out the team any longer. Commons playing 90 mins, 1st game he's played in for ages and he wasn't the worst player for us and can only improve..clutching at straws I know. Top of the league but hard to be positive with the way we are playing just now.

Fifehibby74
17-12-2016, 06:36 PM
At least Peter Houston will be even sicker than us tonight!

17-12-2016, 06:37 PM
Half time profile piece on the Morton groundsman. Think he might be a Hibby as there was a Hibs mug on his desk.

As for the game....

St Johnstones groundsman's a Hibby as well

Cool, so as we slide down, and consolidate a bit at this level, its okay to fail to beat teams like Morton (and whoever is next) because we have a sizeable injury list and might sign a few more players. The teams that compete with us at the moment don't have the same potential to spend their way out of an abysmal league yet they seem to be too close to us for comfort at the end of the season (Falkirk anyone?).

When is it right to be a bit pissed off at this level and say so? I refuse to call a Hibby with an opinion a bed wetter.

:agree: crap patter, should be an automatic ban

If the team were playing to orders then that is never going to be good enough, from the first minute it was hoof ball and when they tried to pass it was woeful. The manager has to take the blame for the way we played, i know we are a few players down but there was very little football on show and when it was it came from Morton.

The Captain....
17-12-2016, 06:38 PM
We play like a team with no budget for players who are in a relegation struggle rather than a team with the highest budget in the league. It's eye bleeding pish hoofball *****. Get it take ****...it's not even like we do the long ball game well..totally mystifying.

17-12-2016, 06:39 PM
Holt and Cummings should be our 1st choice forward line unless we bring in someone more suitable in January.

I'm prepared to give the Holt role a go pro bono if it helps.

I realise I will get pelters for volunteering but I am doing it because I am of a similar build and can hold up a both a ball and a defender indefinitely.

Really only doing it for the chance to play alongside Jason Cummings but will probably end up just next to him on the bench.

17-12-2016, 06:39 PM
Awful stuff

Our best chance is that we can stay close enough to United until we get some bodies in / McGinn & Fyvie back fit, I have my doubts though.

There are every week, far too many players on the park that cant be relied upon to give you 6 or 7 out of 10 performances, let alone better, every week.

Bartley, Shinnie, Boyle, Graham, Holt to name but 5, put in performances tonight so bereft of touch, vision or awareness that it was scary.

Gray & Stevenson are honest triers but extremely limited offensively.

Lennon's signings with the possible exception of Laidlaw & Marciano, who have so little to do it is impossible to tell, are dreadful players, at least at this stage of their declining careers.

I have always had my doubts about Lennon as a manager and they grow week on week

He got by on Celtic being able to physically beast teams game after game, but I haven't seen one inkling of tactical ability, indeed some of his tactics are just bizarre.

High-On-Hibs
17-12-2016, 06:41 PM

By the very skin of our teeth. We were well ahead of Dundee Utd a while back and now they are only sitting behind us on goal difference. Not to mention that this is our 3rd..... yes 3RD attempt to get out of this joke of a league and we're looking more and more likely to lose our grip on the top of the league each passing week.

I can't believe how calm some people can still be in regards to our situation. We're struggling against sides with less than 10% of our own support base.

17-12-2016, 06:42 PM
Morton had 2 of their regular starters out, and one injured after 5 minutes. This was Morton we were playing not Celtic, we were 2nd best for periods of that game where we were outpassed and looked the team put together on a shoestring.

Its funny how we always seem to have an excuse, and the one we are using now is injuries, you'd think we were the only team who have them. :rolleyes:

17-12-2016, 06:43 PM

You're right, up to a point HH, but the worrying thing is that we are desperately treading water to keep ourselves afloat there.

17-12-2016, 06:43 PM
I like Bartley but he really is a deer in the headlights going forward. He does the defensive stuff well but we've seen in the last couple of weeks what happens if he is given a lot of the ball in the opposition half.

Him, Shinnie and Commons is NOT a midfield. I know we have injuries but if we had a more balanced squad I dont think it would be as big an issue. We create nothing outwide which means all our play is central and therefor we rely heavily on CMs.

Its not really fair to pick on individual players as the whole team were poor but despite his reasonable scoring record I'm still mystified why Graham was signed. Him and Boyle are not a forward line that will strike fear into defences.

I'm still backing Lennon but we need to sign a couple of wide players in January, switch formation and hope that our current injury problems lessen.

17-12-2016, 06:44 PM
At least Peter Houston will be even sicker than us tonight!

There are always positives somewhere!!

17-12-2016, 06:46 PM
Dear Alba, no more live hibs TV games...please, I beg of you

:(
Sorry!!!!

Hibernian V Dundee United the 6th January 2017, live at 19:45. OOPPPSS

17-12-2016, 06:47 PM
You do realise he took Fontaine off for Cummings yeah? So one couldn't have come off before the goal, with his replacement coming on after the goal.
He took Fontaine off for Cummings and changed the defence at a crucial stage in the game. Morton then scored in an area Fontaine would have been playing. Jason could have came on for a number of other players and positions. You chose to give him credit for bringing Jason on without thinking about what it meant taking Fontaine off.

17-12-2016, 06:48 PM
Sorry!!!!

Hibernian V Dundee United the 6th January 2017, live at 19:45. OOPPPSS

thank the lord i'm going to that game, we might look a little better than we do on the telly :greengrin

17-12-2016, 06:51 PM
Worried.

17-12-2016, 06:58 PM

A sensible post in among hundreds of pish ones.

17-12-2016, 06:59 PM
Morton had 2 of their regular starters out, and one injured after 5 minutes. This was Morton we were playing not Celtic, we were 2nd best for periods of that game where we were outpassed and looked the team put together on a shoestring.

Its funny how we always seem to have an excuse, and the one we are using now is injuries, you'd think we were the only team who have them. :rolleyes:

:top marks This is what I should have said at post 617 above, am out now.

17-12-2016, 07:06 PM
A sensible post in among hundreds of pish ones.

Aye they're aw oot o step except oor wee Johnie. :rolleyes:

17-12-2016, 07:10 PM
Aye they're aw oot o step except oor wee Johnie. :rolleyes:

I didn't say they were out of step, but there are lots in the hysterical bracket.

17-12-2016, 07:29 PM
He took Fontaine off for Cummings and changed the defence at a crucial stage in the game. Morton then scored in an area Fontaine would have been playing. Jason could have came on for a number of other players and positions. You chose to give him credit for bringing Jason on without thinking about what it meant taking Fontaine off.

I never gave anyone credit... in fact I berated the fact Jason wasn't starting, before the game started.
You however had a go at the poster who said it was a great substitution, by saying he took Fontaine off which cost us a goal, and only brought Jason on because we went 1-0 down and had to chase it. Which was totally incorrect.

17-12-2016, 07:33 PM
I didn't say they were out of step, but there are lots in the hysterical bracket.

Are you surprised, there has been so many warning signs over the years that folk have mentioned only to be labelled bed wetters.

Is it any surprise there's hysteria because the team who shouldnt be anywhere near us are level on points with us after making up a 7 point gap, when apparently it's impossible to create a team to challenge if you are in turmoil pre season?

17-12-2016, 07:38 PM

Morton having a decent run should never wash. Standards have to be set higher.

17-12-2016, 07:39 PM
Are you surprised, there has been so many warning signs over the years that folk have mentioned only to be labelled bed wetters.

Is it any surprise there's hysteria because the team who shouldnt be anywhere near us are level on points with us after making up a 7 point gap, when apparently it's impossible to create a team to challenge if you are in turmoil pre season?

Beat me to it. :aok:

The Pointer
17-12-2016, 07:46 PM
The players we have are, on form, more than able to get us up. It comes down to Lennon's tactics and motivational skills.

We start games in a very ponderous, casual manner rather than pushing the opposition from the word go. If these guys train hard they should be able to play at 100 miles an hour with every pass finding the man, but just because it's Morton/QotS/Dumbarton shouldn't mean we slow it down.

As others have said, Morton (like United and Dumbarton in the first half last week) played all the football, finding their men and creating space, something we singularly failed to do.

I hope Leeann at her meeting with Lennon this week asks him some searching questions as to how he's going to address our performances.

17-12-2016, 08:02 PM
as brutal a display as this was, Morton set out to get right at us from the start and they turned this into a battle, as any team set up by that *****bag Duffy would, and yes you can argue all day that a Hibs team should have the quality and fitba skills to get around this kind of set up, but we do not have at this moment in time the quality required to roll over a team set out to battle as Morton did, so a wee bit of credit it due to them although I still hate that pri*k Duffy, he is a well experienced manager.

It is going to be a real fight to stay at the top of this particular pile, although I still think we will and I don't much like the football on show but if it gets us to where we need to be then that will do for me and Mr Lennon will continue to have my backing in this huge task.
Ask yourself just how many of the players at ER the now would be good enough to have and use in the top six or above if or when we do go up, there are not many and we will have to invest big time.

So the point we got today is not the end of the world, and we are still top of this crap league for now.

Skol
17-12-2016, 08:03 PM
We had our problems under stubbs.

We are worse under lennon

Today was a a great opportunity wasted and this will go to the wire/

We need to stop playing a back 5 and a defensive midfielder

We need to play our proven goalscorer, despite any shortcomings. Goals win games and points

mcfly
17-12-2016, 08:18 PM
No they are not,he was ****in useless, so was Stevenson so was Graham, so was Commons, and so was Gray. In fact apart from McGregor and Hanlon bar his ball watching instead of watching the guy who scored, the rest were pish.

Bartley was a different level of pish though.

Wow really glad u don't do the team talks - inspiring you are.

Maybe try backing the team
Instead of slating them - we are missing 5 regulars

mcfly
17-12-2016, 08:21 PM
Think folk on here need a reality check

Look at the facts - we are missing 5 regular 1st team players
We are still TOP of the league
Yes it was a poor performance but we drew a game we could easily have lost.

The transfer window opens in 2 weeks and we will strengthen far better than others as we have money they don't!!

17-12-2016, 08:21 PM
The way we play is part of the problem and not just a Lennonism , we play with a bit of pace and .ire direct passing play a d we are a better team by a mile. With out our 3 main midfielders we struggle Bartley doesn't fit at all with playing that way ..we don't need a supposed midfield hardman in this league !! Nor if we got the Premier ! He needs to in January so we can bring in a more natural footballer as we are light on midfield as looks like mcgeoch isn't going to be able to play every game !!
Scott Martin needs to play instead of Bartly he can pass, move, is competitive. Without fyvie & mcginn, Stevenson in particular looks lost he gets protected from them. Do we give Crane and Martin starts next week I don't think so too big a risk with both. But certainly Martin.
Said it before about Boyle as others have , he needs to be told he isn't at centre forward , if he wants a game and to be part of us progressing that he plays wide and uses his pace to get at defenders with his pace , he will get as many goals from that position as be does now.
I can understand to an extent Cummings vs not starting g because last week I thought we got little from him even though he was back in , he should have burst his backside to prove a point but he didn't and showed his petlsnce , at times, but no doubt he is our main goal threat ..good to see Keating s on the bench as well.
There is something wrong though with us on the park, I do think it's not just one thing either as people keep alluding to...the shape in midfield with Bartly in it is awful ..he's a poor footballer I reckon and it shows ..too often..

17-12-2016, 08:38 PM

The transfer window opens in 2 weeks and we will strengthen far better than others as we have money they don't!!

Phew, here's me thinking we were pish, what a relief. Seriously though, I hope you're right cos we really can't have another season in this league and EVERY dropped point is a possible disaster. We should at least look better than Morton and tonight we didn't 👍

17-12-2016, 08:50 PM
I never gave anyone credit... in fact I berated the fact Jason wasn't starting, before the game started.
You however had a go at the poster who said it was a great substitution, by saying he took Fontaine off which cost us a goal, and only brought Jason on because we went 1-0 down and had to chase it. Which was totally incorrect.

Apologies, I read what I originally wrote and can't understand why I wrote it as I knew Cummings came on for Fontaine, as my later posts mention. I thought I was replying to the person who originally posted that Lennon brought on a sub that changed the game. I was trying to make the point, poorly, that that substitution firstly could have made a negative impact.

It is very black and white on here today with what posters think about the team and Lennon. Its so much better when it is green and white.

17-12-2016, 09:00 PM
It could be worse, we could have drawn with Raith today-oh wait !

17-12-2016, 09:05 PM

Maybe it's folk like yourself who need a reality check?

Yes Hibs are missing key players, but so are other teams, and that includes Morton today. A club with nowhere near Hibs resources.

Hibs are top of a poor league (second tier) by the skin of their teeth. So much for "skooshing" it. Folk were talking about it being won by Christmas.

You say we drew a game "we could easily have lost". That's the very point. The performance was really poor. If Hibs had lost they would be trailing DU tonight. Luckily the Raith Rovers goalkeeper also saved a penalty today too.

How do you know "we will strengthen far better than others"?

mcfly
17-12-2016, 09:15 PM
Maybe it's folk like yourself who need a reality check?

Yes Hibs are missing key players, but so are other teams, and that includes Morton today. A club with nowhere near Hibs resources.

Hibs are top of a poor league (second tier) by the skin of their teeth. So much for "skooshing" it. Folk were talking about it being won by Christmas.

You say we drew a game "we could easily have lost". That's the very point. The performance was really poor. If Hibs had lost they would be trailing DU tonight. Luckily the Raith Rovers goalkeeper also saved a penalty today too.

How do you know "we will strengthen far better than others"?

Oh dear how do I know???

Cause we are getting 7000 more fans every week than every other team.

Our budget is bigger - the board know we have to get out this league

Change your underpants and back the team - stop whinging on these pages

Ricky Bobby
17-12-2016, 09:27 PM
Oh dear how do I know???

To strengthen the team does not just mean buying more players. It means buying players that are better than the ones we have at present.
Bigger budgets and crowds have nothing to do with it.

mcfly
17-12-2016, 09:33 PM
Best to say nothing positive on these pages tonight the negative people are out in force.

Only hibs fans could whinge and moan in the best year ever as a fan

Unbelievable Jeff

17-12-2016, 09:37 PM
Next Sat id like to see:

Laidlaw

Gray McGregor Hanlon Crane

Martin Commons Shinnie

Keatings Holt Cummings

17-12-2016, 09:42 PM
Oh dear how do I know???

As usual people like you don't, or cannot, seem grasp the fact that because Hibs have a larger budget any signings might not necessarily prove to be as good as, or better, than those of our competitors. Look at the progress DU have made under McKinnon in a matter of months compared to Hibs, now in their third season in the Championship. DU will of course not try to sign decent players in January. They'll just sit back and watch Hibs stroll the league. :rolleyes:

Furthermore, outspending the opposition does not always guarantee success.

The board have known we have to get out of this league since the club was relegated three seasons ago.

Regarding your lazy empty headed parting shot. That was really funny. All you missed was the word bed wetter (lol). I've been backing Hibs much longer than you I suspect. Home and away. Not so much away now though. Season ticket holder for donkey's years, HSL member. Stood on open terracing in the pishing rain mixed in with drunk Rangers and Celtic fans long before fan segregation.

So please don't lecture me about backing the team because I post something that doesn't suit you on a fans forum. Capiche?

17-12-2016, 09:50 PM
That was an absolutely unacceptable performance. It wasn't because we were missing 3 of our best players either, it was because the players we had on the pitch didn't live up to the standards that should be expected of players given a contract by Hibernian football club.

I for one take my hats off to the central defence, the number of times the ball was given away by the midfield or forwards through utterly pathetic passing was incredible and at every turn Hanlon, McGregor and Fontaine managed to mop up the fallout until the one time they just couldn't. I cant stress how much our inability to make a simple pass to a guy in a Yellow shirt throughout the game enraged me ... I would expect better from my walking football team !!!

Both Gray and Stevenson failed at just about every turn to put an effective ball into the box even when they did manage to get a step on their marker ... twice in the first half Gray got himself into acres of room and his balls into the box both times were utterly woeful. We had the spectacle of the utterly ineffective Shinnie falling over his own feet like some pub league player on a Sunday morning with a giant hangover. It says everything that for all that he didn't have a great game Commons was involved in the few moments of quality we did produce with a couple of raking 30 yard passes out to the wing .. this from a guy who hasn't kicked a ball in anger all season.

As for the forwards .... how can a professional player presented with the gift Graham was in the first half not even have the composure to kick the bloody ball straight? Boyle was utterly lost for the most part, though I did feel a bit sorry for him having to compete with two centre halves as the ball was constantly and bizarrely hoofed up the park to him.

The truth is that we absolutely got away with it today and were bloody lucky not to lose ... with 6 sodding defenders on the park for 75 minutes if you include the utterly ineffective going forward Bartley how can you expect to be effective in the final third, its no coincidence that the Morton keeper hardly had a save to make.

Simply not good enough and Lennon has to recognise that and find a way to get the team playing in a much more dynamic fashion .... at the end of the day he has to carry the can for a well below average effort like that was.

ALBA showed Leeann Dempster sitting in the stand at the start of the second half and she looked like someone had just stolen her lollipop ..... I know how she felt.

We are still top of the league, but if we continue to perform like that we wont be for long and anybody who thinks different needs to bloody well wake up.

mcfly
17-12-2016, 09:53 PM
As usual people like you don't, or cannot, seem grasp the fact that because Hibs have a larger budget any signings might not necessarily prove to be as good as, or better, than those of our competitors. Look at the progress DU have made under McKinnon in a matter of months compared to Hibs, now in their third season in the Championship. DU will of course not try to sign decent players in January. They'll just sit back and watch Hibs stroll the league. :rolleyes:

Furthermore, outspending the opposition does not always guarantee success.

The board have known we have to get out of this league since the club was relegated three seasons ago.

Regarding your lazy empty headed parting shot. That was really funny. All you missed was the word bed wetter (lol). I've been backing Hibs much longer than you I suspect. Home and away. Not so much away now though. Season ticket holder for donkey's years, HSL member. Stood on open terracing in the pishing rain mixed in with drunk Rangers and Celtic fans long before fan segregation.

So please don't lecture me about backing the team because I post something that doesn't suit you on a fans forum. Capiche?

People like me?? What are we mortals supposed to bow down and agree with u??

I pay my money I've had s season ticket for many years, just as you say you have.

I'm entitled to my opinion and I don't agree with your negativity - yes we are playing poorly but we are still top. Think on the positive and when we do get everyone back fit with a couple of additions we will push on.

17-12-2016, 09:55 PM
That was an absolutely unacceptable performance. It wasn't because we were missing 3 of our best players either, it was because the players we had on the pitch didn't live up to the standards that should be expected of players given a contract by Hibernian football club.

I for one take my hats off to the central defence, the number of times the ball was given away by the midfield or forwards through utterly pathetic passing was incredible and at every turn Hanlon, McGregor and Fontaine managed to mop up the fallout until the one time they just couldn't. I cant stress how much our inability to make a simple pass to a guy in a Yellow shirt throughout the game enraged me ... I would expect better from my walking football team !!!

Both Gray and Stevenson failed at just about every turn to put an effective ball into the box even when they did manage to get a step on their marker ... twice in the first half Gray got himself into acres of room and his balls into the box both times were utterly woeful. We had the spectacle of the utterly ineffective Shinnie falling over his own feet like some pub league player on a Sunday morning with a giant hangover. It says everything that for all that he didn't have a great game Commons was involved in the few moments of quality we did produce with a couple of raking 30 yard passes out to the wing .. this from a guy who hasn't kicked a ball in anger all season.

As for the forwards .... how can a professional player presented with the gift Graham was in the first half not even have the composure to kick the bloody ball straight? Boyle was utterly lost for the most part, though I did feel a bit sorry for him having to compete with two centre halves as the ball was constantly and bizarrely hoofed up the park to him.

The truth is that we absolutely got away with it today and were bloody lucky not to lose ... with 6 sodding defenders on the park for 75 minutes if you include the utterly ineffective going forward Bartley how can you expect to be effective in the final third, its no coincidence that the Morton keeper hardly had a save to make.

Simply not good enough and Lennon has to recognise that and find a way to get the team playing in a much more dynamic fashion .... at the end of the day he has to carry the can for a well below average effort like that was.

ALBA showed Leeann Dempster sitting in the stand at the start of the second half and she looked like someone had just stolen her lollipop ..... I know how she felt.

We are still top of the league, but if we continue to perform like that we wont be for long and anybody who thinks different needs to bloody well wake up.

Totally agree and very well put 👍

17-12-2016, 10:01 PM

I pay my money I've had s season ticket for many years, just as you say you have.

I'm entitled to my opinion and I don't agree with your negativity - yes we are playing poorly but we are still top. Think on the positive and when we do get everyone back fit with a couple of additions we will push on.

You're positivity is very admirable and well intended. I do think we will be better when we have a full squad again but that performance tonight coupled with what we watched last week is not acceptable for a Hibs team in any division against Morton. We have no god given right to win but that performance is beyond defendable.

17-12-2016, 10:08 PM

Haven't a clue what you're slavering about in your first sentence.

Of course you're entitled to your opinion. Yet you say to me "stop whinging on these pages". So I'm not entitled to my opinion (which you describe as whinging because you don't like it) but you are. Have I got that right?

18-12-2016, 07:04 AM
If we can stay top or close with Utd I am more than confident once we get Fyvie and McGinn back in beside Commons / Shinnie
And add the 2 big signings we will gain a bit momentum and go up.

Seem to remember folk saying they will be happy to go up no matter what style we played.

Let's stick with the manager and the team.

We have the best squad by far and it'll show in the end.

Keep the faith