View Full Version : Morton v Hibs
patch1875
17-12-2016, 05:11 PM
What times strictly on?
Callum7
17-12-2016, 05:12 PM
Nice to know who are half-time grass man supports.
Far too many aimless long balls for my liking and precious little pace or quality in the final third. There's plenty of candidates for getting the hook at HT after another painfully poor 45 minutes from Hibs!
Need to do much better 2nd half.
GlasgowHibee
17-12-2016, 05:12 PM
Pretty poor so far, this is the type of game where a win could cover how bad the performance has been.
One thing that I have noticed is that Commons is in loads of space in between their defence and mifideld but nobody in our midfield/defence has the ability to play a through ball past them.
17-12-2016, 05:13 PM
I hope we are lucky enough to scramble our way to winning outright promotion 'cos this team isn't going to handle the playoffs, especially against a Premiership side.
17-12-2016, 05:13 PM
yet another eye-bleeding inept first half performance, passing diabolical
17-12-2016, 05:14 PM
Anyone watching on BBC Alba just notice in the Morton groundsman's piece that he had a Hibs mug on his desk? Bit strange!!
CyberSauzee
17-12-2016, 05:14 PM
Half time profile piece on the Morton groundsman. Think he might be a Hibby as there was a Hibs mug on his desk.
As for the game....
17-12-2016, 05:16 PM
Nice to know who are half-time grass man supports.
Yeah. Spotted that.:confused:
Can only get better, can't it, please.
17-12-2016, 05:17 PM
Half time profile piece on the Morton groundsman. Think he might be a Hibby as there was a Hibs mug on his desk.
As for the game....
:agree::agree:
We are totally empty in the centre of midfield. We badly need Fyvie back soon.
Totally empty. If we're playing this formation we need our mids to stand up and want the ball.
I think they'll get a rocket at half time and come out fighting. I hope so anyway.
Can we count him as another celebrity supporter?
Utterly abysmal first half. No subs though I see [emoji849]
It's not as if Morton are good, players are obviously told to punt it and run like you know what, this will never do.
Pretty poor so far, this is the type of game where a win could cover how bad the performance has been.
One thing that I have noticed is that Commons is in loads of space in between their defence and mifideld but nobody in our midfield/defence has the ability to play a through ball past them.
They should try passing to the Morton players and the ball might go to a Hibs man
johncrobertson@
17-12-2016, 05:18 PM
Rod sitting with John Park - coincidence?
17-12-2016, 05:19 PM
I would dearly love to redress the balance of this thread a bit by saying something positive about that performance but there's not a single thing I can find.
We are slowly but surely getting worse week by week.
More worrying than that though, Laidlaw Hanlon & McGregor excepted the players individually were woeful
Lee Marvin
17-12-2016, 05:20 PM
Better 2 mins than whole of 1st half
fs boyle man
Rangers and Hearts both dominated the league through fast direct wingers who could cross a ball, why have we still not identified this?
Priority in January needs to be a couple of wingers who could break down teams like this.
It's not as if Morton are good, players are obviously told to punt it and run like you know what, this will never do.
Morton are actually ok. Good shape, press we'll and can pass it.
17-12-2016, 05:22 PM
Is Martin injured? Haven't seen it anywhere.
If he isn't and he simply didn't make the bench then he might as well leave for his own sake.
I understand, without necessarily agreeing with it, about Lennon wanting experience to win this league/resurect his career. At what point does he lose anything by trying a youngster over players not performing to the required standard.
The comedy show that is Marvin Bartley s performance continues then...
alihibs1
Better already
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
17-12-2016, 05:23 PM
Not the most vocal of away support today..
Some pass from commons, he needs to get on the ball a bit more this half
Boyle just can't take a ball into feet, it always bounces away from him.
Commons with some nice passing at the start of this half
Not the most vocal of away support today..
It's cos they're all on here, whinging.
17-12-2016, 05:24 PM
Is Scott Martin on the bench? If he is get him on and let him put his foot on the ball.
This is absolutely chronic.
17-12-2016, 05:24 PM
Couple of brilliant passes from Commons
17-12-2016, 05:25 PM
2 absolute peaches of a ball by Commons early doors
17-12-2016, 05:25 PM
The saving grace here is it surely cant get any worse.
17-12-2016, 05:26 PM
Given the lack of midfielders we have clearly decided just to cut them out of the game.
Be as well sticking Forster up front, at least he would win the ball
The ref has given us a bit of leeway as well, our back 3 would have been punished by other refs when 'out-muscling' players
Brutal
Thought we might have put forster at cb and pushed Hanlon into cm
well done laidlaw
Great save.
Good save Laidlaw
17-12-2016, 05:27 PM
Good save by Laidlaw. Should have been in though.
Fifehibby74
Get Cummings on
Usual standard of refereeing - unbelievable
The saving grace here is it surely cant get any worse.
People that tempt fate at football. Meant to add that to the football pet hate thread.
It's now inevitable they'll score and it'll be entirely your fault.
That's a clear elbow and another dive!
Now a handball!
I can't remember is being like that under Duffy.
17-12-2016, 05:28 PM
I think he's been extremely fair this game - we've made a lot of debatably strong challenges which we've gotten away with.
17-12-2016, 05:28 PM
Mcdonagh is a bellend.
Ricky Bobby
17-12-2016, 05:29 PM
I burned more calories having a halftime dump than Marv has the whole game.
He's been mostly very good
Weir, McAllister, Duncan, ..... who was the last good winger we had?
Get Cummings on
Lennon needs to change something, otherwise he's saying this is an acceptable standard :rolleyes:
Be lucky to get a point from this game. Morton only team trying to play football.
17-12-2016, 05:30 PM
Well done to the fans who have gone through for the game. I'm finding it difficult watching on tv. Woeful stuff so far.
What is that on Lambie's head?
Dan Sarf
Cummings to score from a pass by Commons. Fact. Almost certainly.
I think he's been extremely fair this game - we've made a lot of debatably strong challenges which we've gotten away with.
He's just watched a guy blatantly elbow Shinnie in the head, 3 yards away and chooses to give a yellow card.
17-12-2016, 05:31 PM
Ref's been the best performer on the pitch.
17-12-2016, 05:31 PM
Anyone hazard a guess as to why lennon finds this acceptable and hasn't made changes??
17-12-2016, 05:32 PM
Almost an hour gone and we've hardly had a shot at goal and certainly not one on target.
How nippy are the Morton fans btw? It's the same with St Mirren fans, moaning fandans.
Think it must be the west coast chip on the shoulder but not getting the OF refereeing decisions to pacify it.
We need to get our act together and pretty quick. A chance to move 2 points clear yet there is little or no urgency!
Worse than woeful. Has their keeper mad a save?
DJ HIBBY
Weir, McAllister, Duncan, ..... who was the last good winger we had?
Rougier was good to watch when he decided to turn up
17-12-2016, 05:33 PM
a lot more emergency signings needed me thinks
Worse than woeful. Has their keeper mad a save?
Don't think so and at this rate he won't!
Almost an hour gone and we've hardly had a shot at goal and certainly not one on target.
If we'd had 10 we still wouldn't score. Our defence looks goodbbut the forward line needs gutted and rebuilt
This is ****ing brutal.
Get Graham off and get Cummings or Keatings on
What a ***** game the passing is poor not troubled their keeper once. Boyle is ***** as ever and Graham is a waste of a shirt.
Lennon must make a change. Why is he playing this formation?
60 minutes gone, playing like Sh%%$ and no subs waiting on the touchline
AL-Qaholik
17-12-2016, 05:34 PM
Has Lennon dozed off? If not, he's clearly watching a different game to the rest of us, if he thinks no changes are required yet...
17-12-2016, 05:34 PM
Some of the diving around and moaning is ridiculous. QOS, Falkirk Morton all the same.
Chorley Hibee
17-12-2016, 05:35 PM
a lot more emergency signings needed me thinks
I am beginning to think we need an emergency management team!
The Pointer
The half-time piece about the groundsman was better than anything else I've seen on the pitch. We are hopeless, shapeless, can't pass and if anything, even worse than last week. What do these guys do at training?
Commons must be wondering what he's wandered into.
confused
Woefull , terrible.
How many times has Boyle been off side.
hiberactive
Fontaine
Stevenson
Gray
Bartley
Graham
Offer us absolutely nothing.
So defensive and one paced who offer no attacking threat whatsoever.
No one could convince me that Martin, Crane, Cummings or whoever else would do worse than that.
Agree 100%
Martin for Bartley
Cummings for Boyle
Holt for Graham
As I said elsewhere, there was an opportunity last season when Rangers dropped points at Alloa, and we went to Livi in the evening game. We fell flat and it proved a huge turning point.
Could be a similar scenario tonight. If we ever want to assert our dominance and win this league, a huge 3 pts needed.
Changes needed an hour gone surely!?
17-12-2016, 05:36 PM
How many times has Boyle been off side.
Was just gonna post the same thing...effing hopeless
Need Cummings and Holt on now .
How can Lennon be watching this and not making any changes? Playing 5 defenders and a holding midfielder in these games is crazy.
Get Graham off and get Cummings or Keatings on
What Holt and Cummings must be thinking is anyone's guess. Lennon's lack of action must make the players ask if he knows what he's doing !
This is woeful. Like watching Butchers team.
This has nil nil or one nil Morton written all over it.
dmc1875
The fact we are nearly on 65 mins and no sub with the standard of football we are witnessing is beyond belief
Lee Marvin
Graham is just a poor man's colin nish
This game is crying out for a change. BORE FEST!
17-12-2016, 05:37 PM
How can Lennon be watching this and not making any changes? Playing 5 defenders and a holding midfielder in these games is crazy.
It will be the usual 70-75 minute job. I said the same last week. That's a nice round number for managers who don't have a scooby what to do.
17-12-2016, 05:37 PM
We have been so bad here. Can't believe there's not been any changes yet.
17-12-2016, 05:38 PM
commons will be wondering wtf he's done
oh looky...a substitute
About bloody time.
This is very hard to watch. Won't be complaining with a 0-1 own goal but this 'performance' is so bad!
1 out of 3 so far for me.
Utter dross. Eye-bleeding stuff.
I'm concentrating on online shopping and social media over the game.
Ricky Bobby
At last, Graham simply not good enough.
dmc1875
Stevenson not able to take a man on today?
scandalous attempt at a shot lewis son
17-12-2016, 05:39 PM
Stevensons right foot shot proves crossing is far from the worst part of his game.
Top of the league is disguising a lot of problems.
Utter joke that the fat man gets brought on from the bench.
This is diabolical stuff. We need a complete overhaul in January, not tinkering round the edges.
Galahibby
This is brutal. I thought Graham was awful last week but he kind of redeemed himself with his goal. He offers very little though (imo!)
Ell_Chrisso
Not the look of a team that's going to win the league I'm afraid
Stevenson not able to take a man on today?
Its not just today, been about 5 years since he last did
17-12-2016, 05:40 PM
Ref loves his ****ing whistle
The Captain....
How bad is boyles first touch...woeful
Dan Sarf
The grass is playing nicely though
How is Boyle still on the park. Been brutal for 3 games now.
This is brutal got a mate who is a Bolton fan who warned me about this when Lennon got the job...I scoffed at the time...now I'm beginning to seriously worry
17-12-2016, 05:41 PM
boyle do lennons job for him...insist he subs yi
We've no urgency about us. Everything just seems to be totally flat.
How on earth is cummings not getting a game? What has he done to piss of Lennon?
17-12-2016, 05:42 PM
Have we even troubled the keeper?
rotherhamrob
I can honestly say I've rarely been this bored watching us.
There has been absolutely nothing to get the pulse going.
This reminds me a bit of the Partick Thistle away game under Fenlon. Hopefully we manage to steal this one as well.
Stevensons right foot shot proves crossing is far from the worst part of his game.
Criticism of Stevenson is a hanging offence according to some.
17-12-2016, 05:43 PM
This reminds me a bit of the Partick Thistle away game under Fenlon. Hopefully we manage to steal this one as well.
Wouldn't mind a goal of similar ilk! Liam craig screamer if I remember correctly?
Ricky Bobby
Utter joke that the fat man gets brought on from the bench.
Holt already offering way more than Graham.
A shot on goal at last!!!!! Unlucky by Gray
17-12-2016, 05:44 PM
They don't look like scoring in a million years and neither do we. Better keep 5 defenders on then and swap one tall striker for another tall striker. Fantastic.
17-12-2016, 05:44 PM
Apart from missing that penalty I can't think of what Boyle has contributed over the last three games. Perhaps time to hook him for Cummings.
17-12-2016, 05:45 PM
I'm embarrassed by this. Both teams brutal but Morton slightly better!
17-12-2016, 05:46 PM
Wouldn't mind a goal of similar ilk! Liam craig screamer if I remember correctly?
It was. Curled in the top corner 1st time. Think it was our only shot on target.
Big Bart is having one of his "less effective games"
Tidser should have been walking there after that booking, should have been booked earlier for his hack on Shinnie.
oh ffs stevenson
17-12-2016, 05:47 PM
Did Stevenson just hit the first man? Not often you see that.
Ricky Bobby
17-12-2016, 05:47 PM
Apart from missing that penalty I can't think of what Boyle has contributed over the last three games. Perhaps time to hook him for Cummings.
Lennon is playing him in the wrong position. Never a centre forward in a million years.
Stevenson has an uncanny ability to find the first defender with his crosses
17-12-2016, 05:48 PM
Stevenson's crossing is dreadful. There is virtually no point in getting the ball out wide when that is the standard of delivery.
Paloschi
Think the 3 or 5 at the back needs to go. We dont conceded much but the football is awful.
The Pointer
And as nothing much else is happening, I see the 1939 squaddie look is big in Greenock.
It's so frustrating to watch Stevenson continuously hit the first man at crosses every week. Brutal!
Holt already offering way more than Graham.
Not hard, he's still having a laugh at our expense- would be nowhere near the first team of any serious club with his couldn't give a f××× attitude to his fitness.
Holt another nice touch.
17-12-2016, 05:49 PM
75th minute sub as per
How many touches did Shinnie need to control that square ball from commons.[emoji23]
4-4-2 at last hopefully.
oh look, here's our 1.7m rated striker, well noticed lennon
Cummings on for Fontaine.
They don't look like scoring in a million years and neither do we. Better keep 5 defenders on then and swap one tall striker for another tall striker. Fantastic.
Yup taken him 77 mins to notice it's not working...useless mate
Cummings is exactly the type to find half a yard of space in game like this. Fingers crossee.
Hibs1969
17-12-2016, 05:50 PM
Slow, laborious and excruciating to watch.
How the **** has that stayed out??
How the **** has that not gone on? Holt does the hard part!
Hallelujah, 1 of the 6 defenders off for Cummings and change of formation
15 minutes for Cummings which is severely short timing us.
aw man
Burst the ****ing net FFS
Dan Sarf
How many touches did Shinnie need to control that square ball from commons.[emoji23]
It's not easy trapping a square ball. They bounce awkwardly.
17-12-2016, 05:51 PM
Ma peepers!! I feel like using vinegar as eye-wash instead of persisting with this. Garbage.
Still can't create chances. Lennon needs to GTF
Pathetic ball watching there.
What a shambles!!
17-12-2016, 05:52 PM
They deserve that.
and there we have it
Well.done lennon....now get tae
Ffs
Ffs.
How many let offs did we expect? ****ing garbage.
Lee Marvin
No more than we deserve.
Disgusting in every way
So ****ing typical!!
The Captain....
Not ****ing good enough...this has been an abomination of a performance.
Time running out for Lennon. This is a disgrace.
Ffs
Absolutely pathetic, I couldn't care less if Lennon was to **** off
HibbySpurs
What a ****ing joke
Rank, rotten losers.
Get lennon to ****. Hes clueless.
No surprises
hibbymick
it was coming.
1-0 Morton :rolleyes:
WE ARE EFFING RUBBISH!
Edit:
1-1
WE ARE EFFING MAGIC! :greengrin
17-12-2016, 05:53 PM
Twice off the bar and still our defenders can't clear it. Lennon's fault.
1-0 absolute pish. United top by a point
Serious serious questions need to be asked for our manager...this is an utter disgrace
Well deserved
JASE!!!! :aok:
Get in there. Now for the winner.
Go on the wee man!
That is why he should be ****ing starting!!! Get in Jase!
blaikie
That's why he should be in the team every week!
Go on Jason son
We need a winner though
oldbiker
What a hit that was :flag::flag:
JC :thumbsup:
And that's the magic from.the guy lennon deems not good enough to start a match??
That's why you play your best goal threat, Neil.
FFS. Defence all over the shop, show to react. It is going to be a very long season and Lennon needs to have a think about what he is up to. The injuries have hurt us but we look totally disjointed at times. TFFT well done JC permanent sub and top scorer
look what a ******* striker can do lennon :aok: well done Jason son
Get in Jason!!
That's the difference JC.
Yaaaaassss
The Captain....
Get in there Jason...shut up the haters ...should have started Lennon!
Well deserved
I agree great free kick.
17-12-2016, 05:54 PM
Well done Jase, I stand by that serious questions need asked about Lennon
dmc1875
Yes Jason!'
Get lennon to ****. Hes clueless.
That goal was nothing to do with Lennon, get a clue!!
ForeverHibs93
That's exactly why he should be starting, no way should he be on our bench.
Great free kick!
Rubbish. We aren't as good as Dundee United in this league and we should wake up to that fact.
Good strike but keeper goes down like a sack of spuds. Awful goalkeeping.
Let's all look at the ball as it hits the bar... let's all look as the ball hits the bar again. Let's all look at the Morton player running in to meet the ball and score. Then all look around.
Reap what you sow and TBH we don't deserve anything from this game. Woeful and I honestly thought we would play better than we have.
Blame lies at the feet of Lennon.
Shocking totally shocking. Never at the races 1st half but one team seemed to want it more.
Poor show Hibs
Edit: press send we score. Still not good enough
Lee Marvin
Yes wee man. Get out of jail free card.
Ricky Bobby
Bring on a striker score a goal, shock.
Come on Hibs.
HibeeDave
well done Cummings, but this is still terrible
Jpdhfc
Wonder if he will be good enough to start now after all all he dose is score
Back top! Phew!
17-12-2016, 05:55 PM
The state of the squad and the majority of performances this season very much are though.
Well well.
Well would you believe it, well done Jas
Great FK by JC ! Lennon still needs to take a long hard look at his role in this.
Need to win this now
I'd settle for a draw and get out of there, pronto
rotherhamrob
17-12-2016, 05:56 PM
Thank God for Jason Cummings.
Paloschi
I f***ing love Cummings
Fifehibby74
I'd settle for a draw and get out of there, pronto
Second that - this has been brutal.
the ginger destroyer will not destroy cummings's confidence
17-12-2016, 05:57 PM
Let's all look at the ball as it hits the bar... let's all look as the ball hits the bar again. Let's all look at the Morton player running in to meet the ball and score. Then all look around.
Reap what you sow and TBH we don't deserve anything from this game. Woeful and I honestly thought we would play better than we have.
Blame lies at the feet of Lennon.
Shocking totally shocking. Never at the races 1st half but one team seemed to want it more.
Poor show Hibs
Edit: press send we score. Still not good enough
.......and breathe
The selection was though was it not? As was the fact our top goal scorer has been frozen out for someone who runs and someone who is pish? Then he comes on and scores...
Lennon has turned us into a hoofball team that's garbage to watch. He's never a Hibs manager in a million years.
There's a few more waking up to the fact he's garbage.
Rubbish. We aren't as good as Dundee United in this league and we should wake up to that fact.
:agree: Unfortunately your bang on Bob
RoslinInstHibby
Well done Jase, I stand by that serious questions need asked about Lennon
Agree 100%
I have to say that a fair few of the Morton team can take the ball to feet, control & dribble with it better than the Hibs players.
Excellent substitution by Lennon
Only.took.him 77 mins right enough of utter dross to realise
.......and breathe
Still raging [emoji41]
Lennons tactics make my eyes sore
17-12-2016, 05:58 PM
Get Keating on
17-12-2016, 05:58 PM
Obviously I was lying - we are far better than United and will skoooooosh this league.
17-12-2016, 05:59 PM
Obviously I was lying - we are far better than United and will skoooooosh this league.
Big L
We've not played well, maybe now he will start wi JC. have to say Jim Duffy's got no a bad wee side there, they can hoof it wi the best, they can also play a bit.
I think I liked Neil Lennon more when he was Celtic manager.
17-12-2016, 06:00 PM
Excellent substitution by Lennon
Apparently he's clueless and he should get rid.
Makes Butcher look like Guardiola.
could you tell me what they are please? :wink:
Paloschi
17-12-2016, 06:01 PM
On the face of it a draw here isnt a bad result but then I remember its Morton
It's like a hearts derby performance from the 1980s. Spawny as **** scraping a point with eye bleeding football.
Lennon has made Hibs like Hearts.
NOT yer best performance Marv
and FINALLY he takes boyle off
HibbySpurs
For Lennon the honeymoon is almost certainly over.
Are we playing for a draw now?
17-12-2016, 06:02 PM
I just don't understand, we get it wide with no one near us, and we don't chuck it into the box!!
aw why did that have to fall to holt
Defender for a striker away to Morton whikst drawing. Too much ambition.
17-12-2016, 06:03 PM
That's Holt and Graham both missed almost open goals
We look so much more dangerous with our top scorer for the last few seasons and this playing. Who would have thought that.
Hibs should have won this 2nd half.
We are actually playing for a draw??
NOT yer best performance Marv
and FINALLY he takes boyle off
He's almost comically bad.
Shot on goal that was more a pass back to the keeper.