View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Dumbarton

10-12-2016, 01:29 PM
Sun has already gone down over in Stockholm, let's hope it's better weather for Hibs penultimate home game of the season.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) 22m22 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/807587177064435713)
STARTING XI | Laidlaw, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, Bartley, Stevenson, Boyle, Shinnie, McGregor, Graham, Cummings.

5-2-3 with Bartley in midfield? It is a mystery. Otherwise, decent selection.

Spudster
10-12-2016, 01:34 PM
The official Facebook page says 442 with mcgregor in midfield 😕

10-12-2016, 01:36 PM
Strange formation but good to see us putting out an attacking team.

A bit worried how we'll dictate the play and create chances with that midfield.

10-12-2016, 01:47 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161210/608a344a0cc4268f05e1e7c5c73dde68.jpg

Hadn't realised we were selling tickets for the Dunbar End

10-12-2016, 01:48 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161210/608a344a0cc4268f05e1e7c5c73dde68.jpg

Hadn't realised we were selling tickets for the Dunbar End

Hibs Kids in there today I believe.

007 Mickey Weir
10-12-2016, 01:50 PM
The official Facebook page says 442 with mcgregor in midfield 😕

Hanlon more likely

FastEddieFelson
10-12-2016, 01:54 PM
Had my ticket checked as many as three times today before getting to the turnstile

10-12-2016, 01:54 PM
Hanlon more likely

With Boyle and Shinnie wide?

I think I'd prefer that to 5-2-3 tbh. Our width coming further up the field would be a good thing.

10-12-2016, 01:55 PM
Had my ticket checked as many as three times today before getting to the turnstile

Yeah, strange one!

10-12-2016, 01:55 PM

Chaos outside the east. Being very thorough with where you should be going in. Meaning huge queues at concession gates and barely nothing at adult gate. Crazy

10-12-2016, 01:56 PM
Crowd seems well down on recent weeks today.

john18722
10-12-2016, 01:57 PM
Yeah, I have my season ticket Barcode saved on my phone and they wouldn't let me near the turnstile as I didn't have my official season card.

Tinribs
10-12-2016, 02:00 PM
Yeah, I have my season ticket Barcode saved on my phone and they wouldn't let me near the turnstile as I didn't have my official season card.

So they not letting you in?

10-12-2016, 02:04 PM
Formation is 5-2-3. We're kicking it long.

c31
10-12-2016, 02:07 PM
D Utd already 1 up

10-12-2016, 02:07 PM
Play is very disjointed. The front three are isolated from Shinnie and Bartley who appear to be sitting in front of the CBs.

10-12-2016, 02:08 PM
Any word on the subs bench

10-12-2016, 02:09 PM
Utd ahead already is a killer. Unlikely to drop points from that now.

10-12-2016, 02:09 PM
Any word on the subs bench

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) 1h1 hour ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/807587257687351296)
SUBS | Virtanen, Holt, McGeouch, Forster, Eardley, Crane, Martin

10-12-2016, 02:10 PM
We're at 6s and 7s here. No one seems to have a scooby what they are meant to be doing.

10-12-2016, 02:11 PM
Dumbarton have more purpose than we do.

10-12-2016, 02:11 PM
We're at 6s and 7s here. No one seems to have a scooby what they are meant to be doing.

Really poor start

10-12-2016, 02:12 PM
Shocking start.

renato
10-12-2016, 02:12 PM
Utd ahead already is a killer. Unlikely to drop points from that now.

Ayr missed a great chance and Utd go straight up the park and bang, goal. When confidence is high and form on your side, everything seems to go your way...

10-12-2016, 02:13 PM
Poor opening from Hibs. Uninspired. And 1-0 for Dundee United at Ayr.

10-12-2016, 02:15 PM
Sloppy start.

Hard to see where the creativity is going to come from.

Really lacking in ideas when we're about 40 yards from goal.

Our best chance will be from a hoof up the park or a set piece.

Pretty primitive stuff.

10-12-2016, 02:17 PM
A honking opening 15. We look like a disorganised Sunday league team.

10-12-2016, 02:18 PM

Not so good Makes you wonder what goes on on the Traiing ground in the week leading up to the game This should be an easy win game no mayter what team we put out

10-12-2016, 02:18 PM
We're getting outplayed and outfought by a team who have just failed to score against a junior team over 2 games.

10-12-2016, 02:21 PM
Is it really 523 and not 343? Crazy to think we'd need 5 at the back for Dumbarton

10-12-2016, 02:23 PM
The worst quarter I've seen.

10-12-2016, 02:25 PM
Is it really 523 and not 343? Crazy to think we'd need 5 at the back for Dumbarton

Looks like 343 to me.

10-12-2016, 02:25 PM
This is utter pish. We have been brutal so far.

10-12-2016, 02:26 PM
What an awful start to the game. I'll be happy if we just get through this with a win.

Free header for Hanlon and totally misses the target. Best chance of the game so far.

wtf is Lennon coaching to these guys

10-12-2016, 02:27 PM
Looks like 343 to me.

Lewis and Boyle linking up well, football breaks out shocker.

10-12-2016, 02:29 PM
No creativity. Too many sideways and backwards passes. Dumbarton are competing well but apart from a Hanlon header from a corner we have created SFA.

10-12-2016, 02:30 PM
Wtf is Graham thinking there? Hit the ****ing thing.

10-12-2016, 02:30 PM
Can't believe I backed 4-0 and 5-0. 😫

10-12-2016, 02:31 PM
wtf is Lennon coaching to these guys

Thats a very good question and if we dont improve massively as the game goes on ot will be a hot topic on this forum
United seem to growing in confidence as a team and we clearly arent
But early days get in the game

10-12-2016, 02:32 PM
If this doesnt improve I think I might carve a hole out of the back of the east and launch myself out it.

Laidlaw flapping at most crosses. He just does not seem confident at all.

renato
Ayr all over Utd but can't score...

10-12-2016, 02:33 PM
Boyle and Cummings both playing , if neither are scoring i know which one gives the team more.

That was a shocker ot a challenge on Gray. Ref walks 30 yards to book a player and fails to call the physio on.

Incompetent doesn't cover it.

Can't believe I backed 4-0 and 5-0. 😫

I said 2 0 but even that doesnt seem like happenig
Hopefully he changes it at half time and gets it sorted

10-12-2016, 02:35 PM
That was more of a red than Bartley's recent ones.

10-12-2016, 02:36 PM
Can't wait to read on here later how this is all Cummings and/or Stevenson's fault, rather than the guy who picks three centre halves and Marvin Bartley at home to Dumbarton.

Falkirk 0. QOTS 1

We're at the half chances and balls bouncing in the box but not going in stage.

We've seen this show before.

10-12-2016, 02:37 PM
Starting to take control now.

10-12-2016, 02:38 PM
Boyle and Cummings both playing , if neither are scoring i know which one gives the team more.

Boyle doing well so far IMO.

10-12-2016, 02:38 PM
Lumping my dollar on 0-1 Dumbarton. We've seen this all before.

mcfly
10-12-2016, 02:39 PM
Very poor display so far.

No width and a real lack of urgency

Cmon hibs

john18722
So they not letting you in?

Got in eventually once I convinced them I use the Barcode everweek

renato
Ayr miss another sitter!

Big L
10-12-2016, 02:41 PM
Ayr miss another sitter!

Ayr 57% of the game, up 6 corners to 2. DUN UTD 1 shot and scored.

Paloschi
10-12-2016, 02:41 PM
We all know if it comes down to luck between us and united they will get it. We need to open a gap between ourselves at them asap. To not be top half way through the season is completely unacceptable.

10-12-2016, 02:42 PM
We've been much better for the last 5 minutes. Not great, but better.

It's a funny ole game.

TBH if games were won on possession Hibs would have strolled the Championship for the last 3 seasons. We are world beaters at huffing and puffing.

The art of winning without needing to be better.

renato
10-12-2016, 02:43 PM

Both games have that familiar feeling again - hope I'm wrong :greengrin

10-12-2016, 02:43 PM
Dylan has to play the second half. Get Bartley off!

10-12-2016, 02:44 PM
I'm really starting to doubt Lennon. This is murder if we scrape a result or not. If he blames the home fans or whinges about signings not happening for this piss poor display he can **** off. He seems to have turned a premiership team playing in the championship into a championship team.

10-12-2016, 02:45 PM
Thank ****. Still not ****ing good enough.

Thank ****

Finally a bit qulaity. Good ball in and Hanlon finishes well.

1-0.

10-12-2016, 02:46 PM

Finally a bit qulaity. Good ball in and Hanlon finishes well.

1-0.

So glad to have lost my quid!

Still sounds well of the standard we should be getting at home vs Dumbarton.

1-0 Hanlon

Bobo
10-12-2016, 02:47 PM
This has been a pile of *****e and a far from acceptable performance so far so we are very fortunate to be in front but I'll happily take it

Paloschi
10-12-2016, 02:48 PM
Look we seen this sort of thing from Stubbs too albeit without the occasional long ball. Im starting to question some of the players.

I'm really starting to doubt Lennon. This is murder if we scrape a result or not. If he blames the home fans or whinges about signings not happening for this piss poor display he can **** off. He seems to have turned a premiership team playing in the championship into a championship team.

Make a cup of tea or have a few deep breaths.

Good finish from a decent corner from JC, although you have to say poor defending but who cares. :thumbsup:

McGeough not staying out to warm up at HT with the other subs if that means anything.

Huge goal :thumbsup: Hibs need to get a quick 2nd in the 2nd and put this to bed.

Falkirk 1-1

10-12-2016, 02:49 PM
McGeough not staying out to warm up at HT with the other subs if that means anything.

Scrap that, he's just appeared.

10-12-2016, 02:49 PM
It ain't over till Adele sings .... :worried:

10-12-2016, 02:50 PM

Lets jus concentrate on winning this one Realistically we aint changing Managers

10-12-2016, 02:50 PM
Midfield is missing, players except maybe two or three look like they can't be arsed. Bizarre team selection tbh

10-12-2016, 02:51 PM
This is dire stuff to watch. Carry on this way I honestly can't see us scoring other than set pieces! At home v Dumbarton!

Dire first half.

Martin for Fontaine and 4-4-2 for me. Don't think there will be any changes though.

Quick flurry of goals to make it 5-0 I think.

10-12-2016, 02:52 PM
Cummings hasn't done much but he's hit a few cracking corners in.

If Lennon's looking for him to make a bigger contribution than just scoring goals, he may have found a way to get him to contribute more.

That half was nowhere near good enough but we got the goal.

We get the same 3 points for an ugly 1-0 as we do for scoring 4 or 5 and we shouldn't turn our noses up too much at getting wins.

skyehibee
10-12-2016, 02:53 PM
Get Mcgeough on midfield looks lost

10-12-2016, 02:54 PM
Shocking first half. Got a row from my mates for moaning but after I shut up they kept it going. No shape, basics missing, Dumbarton not being pressured on ball, a half hour of blasting it forward. Decent corner for the goal and a good finish bit it only papers over the cracks.

I will be even more worried in our manager if that team comes out without any changes in personnel or shape. Simply not good enough.

Away in for a Tom kite :greengrin

bookert
Eh I'm looking at him.

10-12-2016, 02:57 PM
Eh I'm looking at him.

Yep he came about a couple of minutes later as I said above.

10-12-2016, 03:02 PM
Lets jus concentrate on winning this one Realistically we aint changing Managers

Best post to date.:aok:

10-12-2016, 03:03 PM
Stevenson for McGeough? Move Boyle to the left wb and shift Shinnie forward with McGeough in midfield? That's what I'd do.

10-12-2016, 03:07 PM
What a daft challenge from Hanlon.

10-12-2016, 03:09 PM
Cummings hitting some great corners today

10-12-2016, 03:10 PM
2 or 3 half chances for Dumbarton. Started this half same way we did the 1st.

10-12-2016, 03:11 PM
We're second best again this half.

10-12-2016, 03:13 PM
This is brutal. Overhaul needed in January. 5 at the back v Dumbarton. [emoji35]

10-12-2016, 03:13 PM
Revolutionary tactics playing with no midfield.

10-12-2016, 03:14 PM
Although we are winning today, this is clearly nowhere near good enough and one of the main reasons there is so much doubt about this team and where we are going.

This is Dumbarton we are playing here, and we are hardly dominating play.

10-12-2016, 03:15 PM
Great work by Gray, much better hibs.

10-12-2016, 03:16 PM
Our decision making is brutal.

Gray picks up an overhit corner, has Boyle in 10 yards of space and elects to go down a blind alley and blast a cross into the side netting

10-12-2016, 03:17 PM
Service to them has been poor but the front three almost as well sitting I the stands.

10-12-2016, 03:18 PM
Honestly, we are playing so poor. Two weeks in a row with 6 defenders on the park.

Don't care what formation you play, 6 defenders is just not on, no attacking threat or midfield presence whatsoever

10-12-2016, 03:20 PM
Shinnie is a waste of a jersey.

10-12-2016, 03:20 PM
Come on Matty, get your live feed working again.

10-12-2016, 03:21 PM
Come on Matty, get your live feed working again.

https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10205961212947785&id=1783851477

10-12-2016, 03:22 PM
Shinnie and Boyle the only ones capable of creating anything here, Barr should be sent off for that, dirty *******.

10-12-2016, 03:22 PM

And sadly, he's the only one trying to drive forward. Its a terrible performance by the team and we wont win this league playing like this.

10-12-2016, 03:24 PM
Anyone watching those last couple of dead balls still think we would not benefit from signing Commons?

mcfly
10-12-2016, 03:25 PM
This is awful today

10-12-2016, 03:26 PM
No sign of a sub yet?

10-12-2016, 03:26 PM
Does anyone have the number for Dignitas

10-12-2016, 03:27 PM
I'm in line and that was never offside. Should have been 2-0

10-12-2016, 03:27 PM
5 defenders and Bartley. At home. To Dumbarton.

10-12-2016, 03:28 PM
No sign of a sub yet?

75 minutes is my guess. That's the standard for a manager that doesn't have a clue.

10-12-2016, 03:28 PM

Not sure why you are singling him out, at least he's trying to create things? The wonder kid Jason Cummings has done absolutely nothing, apart from take a couple of good corners. Graham has done nowt either, in fact the lot of them have been pish, giving a really pish performance in a pish game.

10-12-2016, 03:31 PM
https://m.facebook.com/story.php?story_fbid=10205961212947785&id=1783851477

Thanks for the attempt, but that link just opens my FB.

Going by todays show, I think UTD will be above us in a couple of weeks,

This board is brutal sometimes.

10-12-2016, 03:32 PM
75 minutes is my guess. That's the standard for a manager that doesn't have a clue.

Oooh a minute out.

10-12-2016, 03:33 PM

10 seconds out, lol

10-12-2016, 03:33 PM
2-0 Graham.

10-12-2016, 03:34 PM
Cummings and Bartley don't look sharp today.

Great to see McGeough on.

10-12-2016, 03:34 PM
:flag::flag:

10-12-2016, 03:35 PM
Great control and finish by Graham, might have taken a deflection.

JennaFletcher
Not at the game, doesn't seem like it's been the best but all that matters to me is the win and 3 points!

Phew. :thumbsup:

Much better. Should see it out now.

10-12-2016, 03:36 PM
That should do it

10-12-2016, 03:38 PM
:thumbsup: Every win is a good win. Sounds like Lennon's making hard work of it, though.

10-12-2016, 03:38 PM
Boyle beats 5 players, is fouled on the edge of the box, nothing given.

capitals_finest
10-12-2016, 03:40 PM

Calm yerself.

This refs another total joker. Boyle had overrun that but was clearly pushed then a blatant corner sees a goal kick awarded.

Considering four important players are out injured it was never going to be pretty. That'll do today.

10-12-2016, 03:41 PM
13881 attendance. 86 Dumbarton fans.

10-12-2016, 03:42 PM
13881 attendance. 86 Dumbarton fans.

Although it lower than recents weeks, it's still a decent crowd.

10-12-2016, 03:43 PM
Shinnie MotM.

10-12-2016, 03:44 PM

Having a premiership team in this league saw us finish third. Lovely football but couldn't scrape results against Dumbarton when they sat in. We need a championship team to win the championship. It's been ugly today but I can't think of a shot on goal they've had - this board has been legit brutal today. Just now a pig ugly win is better than a nice looking draw.

10-12-2016, 03:45 PM
Shinnie MOTM :dunno:

Boyle for me.

10-12-2016, 03:46 PM
The skoosh is still on

Considering four important players are out injured it was never going to be pretty. That'll do today.

Another sensible post, people are forgetting how many first team regulars are out just now.

Boyle for me.

Toss of the coin between the pair for me. No one has been great but both have worked hard and at least tried to drive us on.

Boyle for me.

Could have been either, but i'd say Shinnie just edged it.

10-12-2016, 03:47 PM
Good strike by Boyle, well saved.

10-12-2016, 03:48 PM
Having a premiership team in this league saw us finish third. Lovely football but couldn't scrape results against Dumbarton when they sat in. We need a championship team to win the championship. It's been ugly today but I can't think of a shot on goal they've had - this board has been legit brutal today. Just now a pig ugly win is better than a nice looking draw.

The 'I'll take 1-0 every week' line? The problem with that is it does not work that way in reality. Teams that struggle to score goal tend to slip up every now and again. Today is a win and everyone will be happy with that but it would be stupid to ignore the warning signs in a performance like this.

10-12-2016, 03:50 PM
On a positive note we have improved our goal difference over D Utd

10-12-2016, 03:50 PM
The 'I'll take 1-0 every week' line? The problem with that is it does not work that way in reality. Teams that struggle to score goal tend to slip up every now and again. Today is a win and everyone will be happy with that but it would be stupid to ignore the warning signs in a performance like this.

What about teams that win 2-0 every week?

10-12-2016, 03:51 PM
Solid and unspectacular. Fair enough.

10-12-2016, 03:51 PM
What about teams that win 2-0 every week?

Let me know when we are that team.[emoji3]

10-12-2016, 03:52 PM
On a positive note we have improved our goal difference over D Utd

It's only a small advantage but if we keep building on it, it'll be like an extra point.

United apparently got away with it at Somerset.

Kavinho
10-12-2016, 03:54 PM
Just glad we'll not have to change the lyrics for the bread man song

10-12-2016, 03:56 PM

I truly don't care, we tried the pretty but ineffective stuff under Stubbs and finished third. We won today and remain top of the league.

Plus we won by more than one goal and increased our GD advantage.

10-12-2016, 03:56 PM

And how many goals are the free flowing Dundee United scoring?? Must be well clear of us on goal difference.

10-12-2016, 03:59 PM
Falkirk, QOS and RR all losing points is a good day. The quicker we can make it a 2 horse race (or 1 horse) the better.

10-12-2016, 03:59 PM

It's only a small advantage but if we keep building on it, it'll be like an extra point.

United apparently got away with it at Somerset.

All we can do is keep winning and hope we get the rub of the green when we next play the Arabs.

Well done today Hibs.

10-12-2016, 04:02 PM
That should do it

Big L
10-12-2016, 04:07 PM
They certainly had the rub of the green 2day, 55% Ayr. 14 corners to 2. 7 shots not one on target, they had 2 and got a goal.

Kavinho
10-12-2016, 04:10 PM
Re the utd result..
the Flip side of those stats is that its exactly what you want if you are to win a league. .

The classic "grinding out results"

10-12-2016, 04:15 PM
Re the utd result..
the Flip side of those stats is that its exactly what you want if you are to win a league. .

I disagree, struggling to score goals is as likely to come back and bite them on the arse as it is us. I'd just rather we started putting team away properly so that we can take the element of chance out of it.

Kavinho
10-12-2016, 04:16 PM
I disagree, struggling to score goals is as likely to come back and bite them on the arse as it is us. I'd just rather we started putting team away properly so that we can take the element of chance out of it.

Of course, but you'd still rather the 3 points, when, arguably, they weren't deserved

Wee Effen Bee
10-12-2016, 04:16 PM

We have continually been told not to ignore these 'warning signs' yet here we are in December and we are top of the league with an increased goal difference. Dundee Utd only won 1-0 today - are their fans bemoaning the fact they could have scored more or are they happy they won? I said back when people were wetting themselves after the QOTS cup game and the Ayr home game, if we win, I don't give a toss how it's done. Missing vital players and playing against a team who are hurting and want to restore some pride. Yet, we don't give them a sniff of goal. That will do for me.

10-12-2016, 04:19 PM
Although it lower than recents weeks, it's still a decent crowd.

I think that's almost exactly actually the same attendance as at the QOTS game.

EDIT: Just checked and it was 20 up from that game, so heading in the right direction :wink:

Big L
10-12-2016, 04:19 PM
Dun Utd just keep getting over the line. Last 4 results 3 1-0 and a 0 - 0 draw.

10-12-2016, 04:29 PM
Well done Hibs, need to seriously pick it up a bit.

khib70
10-12-2016, 04:29 PM

Who painted your eyes on for you? Jeez. This board is murder every game and you're one of the chief assassins

Fuzzywuzzy
10-12-2016, 04:31 PM
What was the shouting match in the lower west about. Two boys a decent distance apart were giving it laldy

10-12-2016, 04:35 PM
Who painted your eyes on for you? Jeez. This board is murder every game and you're one of the chief assassins

I was pissed off after two atrocious attempts at free kicks. Still don't rate him mind you. Really expected more from him this season.

10-12-2016, 04:37 PM

He was by some way our best player - you are miles off reality here

10-12-2016, 04:40 PM
I was pissed off after two atrocious attempts at free kicks. Still don't rate him mind you. Really expected more from him this season.

He was the best player on the pitch by a mile today. Compare his football ability to Bartley and the you understand how difficult it is for Shinnie to play

10-12-2016, 04:46 PM
Shinnie was by far our best player today.

Boyle? Nowhere near. Does lots of running but always too late making a pass. He will do well to hold on to his place when others return from injury.

FifeHibs
10-12-2016, 04:46 PM
I'm sure Messi would get criticised in a hibs top by some!!!

10-12-2016, 05:01 PM

Boyle for me.

Boyle was very average. Made a couple of good runs but his shooting and decision making let him down constantly.

Not sure why Cummings is getting a hard time. Thought he was decent enough today - showed he can do more than just score with a lot of great balls into the box and some sharp passing. Shinnie was also good.

10-12-2016, 05:03 PM
What was the shouting match in the lower west about. Two boys a decent distance apart were giving it laldy

The boy sitting further towards the back was absolutely steamboats and screaming abuse from the first whistle.

Had half the stand telling him to shut the **** up at one point

10-12-2016, 05:17 PM
Re the utd result..

Which is pretty much what we done today too

10-12-2016, 05:18 PM
Boyle was very average. Made a couple of good runs but his shooting and decision making let him down constantly.

Not sure why Cummings is getting a hard time. Thought he was decent enough today - showed he can do more than just score with a lot of great balls into the box and some sharp passing. Shinnie was also good.

I thought Boyle was decent, probably marginally my MOTM. When we were playing at our worst, he still looked like the player most likely to make something happen - great attitude.

Shinnie frustrates the life out of me. He's clearly very talented and makes so many major, significant positive contributions for us But he also falls over his feet, gives the ball away frequently and occasionally shells dead balls straight out the park - I can see why some folk get on his back. He's wildly inconsistent, even within the same 90 minutes but he offers us something none of our other players do and in spite of his regular gaffes, he's a first pick for me.

I also thought Cummings was good today. The corners he hit in were immense and without that first goal at an important time we might have been in a world of trouble. We were a constant threat from his corners, and he should have been taking the free-kicks instead of Shinnie on that showing. Nothing was created for him, he was feeding off scraps but I thought he kept possession brilliantly at times and never let his head go down. That wasn't a player who offers nothing other than scoring goals for me.

10-12-2016, 05:19 PM
Best player on park last 2 weeks...truly unbelievable mate 🙈🙈

10-12-2016, 06:18 PM

It's not just us.

Heard a caller on a phone in say recently that if Messi moved to Man City he'd get 'found out'.

10-12-2016, 06:41 PM

It's not just us.

Heard a caller on a phone in say recently that if Messi moved to Man City he'd get 'found out'.

Super_JMcGinn
10-12-2016, 06:43 PM
Shinnie was by far our best player today.

Boyle? Nowhere near. Does lots of running but always too late making a pass. He will do well to hold on to his place when others return from injury.

No one can criticize Boyle's effort that's for sure but he is one greedy so and so, he had a great chance to square to Graham for a virtual tap in to make it 3-0 but as usual screwed the shot horribly wide.

Thought that game was very poor but 3pts are 3 pts and on we go to the next game. :flag:

10-12-2016, 06:57 PM

Well thank the lord he was playing today otherwise it would have been a total embarrassment. The only creative player on the park and man of the match by a million miles.

10-12-2016, 07:14 PM
I thought Boyle was decent, probably marginally my MOTM. When we were playing at our worst, he still looked like the player most likely to make something happen - great attitude.

Shinnie frustrates the life out of me. He's clearly very talented and makes so many major, significant positive contributions for us But he also falls over his feet, gives the ball away frequently and occasionally shells dead balls straight out the park - I can see why some folk get on his back. He's wildly inconsistent, even within the same 90 minutes but he offers us something none of our other players do and in spite of his regular gaffes, he's a first pick for me.

I also thought Cummings was good today. The corners he hit in were immense and without that first goal at an important time we might have been in a world of trouble. We were a constant threat from his corners, and he should have been taking the free-kicks instead of Shinnie on that showing. Nothing was created for him, he was feeding off scraps but I thought he kept possession brilliantly at times and never let his head go down. That wasn't a player who offers nothing other than scoring goals for me.

I like Boyle too but thought he made a couple of bad choices today, unlucky at the end with his shot from distance.

One of the dead balls Shinnie clearly put it where he was supposed to and no one even ventured to the area it was put into. Made it look like he had just kicked it straight out but you could see him asking the bigger lads what they were doing. I think he gets a hard time for someone who always shows for the ball and is constantly looking to go forward. Yes he loses the ball occasionally but only because he is trying to create or runs out of options.

Agree 100% about Cummings, thought he looked sharp and hungry today. Was pretty unlucky with the back heel first half.

gaz1875
10-12-2016, 07:20 PM
Well thank the lord he was playing today otherwise it would have been a total embarrassment. The only creative player on the park and man of the match by a million miles.

Here here!! I had two guys behind me constantly slated Shinnie, he only had a few misplaced passes despite having the bulk of possession in a Hibs shirt and driving us forward at every opportunity. It's no fluke he was always where the ball was throughout the game. The two guys were both gutted he won man of the match after I minutes before said he was the best player on the pitch.

10-12-2016, 07:25 PM
Really surprised people saying Boyle for MOM....had a decent if not great first half....was largely invisible for me in the second half. A couple of runs, one shot...but can't recall anything of note that he did outside that.

Compared to Shinnie who was involved in all that was creative for us...not at the same level

Mind you, overall it was a dogged but poor performance..some of our long balls looked very much like average championship football...

10-12-2016, 08:19 PM
Could have been either, but i'd say Shinnie just edged it.

10-12-2016, 08:46 PM

Wisnae me. For once.

Was down at St James' Park with a couple of clients today. Newcastle look really, really strong. Realise this is completely NHC but I'm too pished to care.

cmcd
10-12-2016, 08:59 PM

How anyone can criticise Shinnie is beyond me At the moment he is by far our best midfielder.

10-12-2016, 09:03 PM
How anyone can criticise Shinnie is beyond me At the moment he is by far our best midfielder.

Couldn't agree more.