View Full Version : Hibs & Bonnyrigg links?

06-12-2016, 10:22 PM
There must be a good few. For a start:

- A certain Patrick Gordon Stanton was farmed out to Bonnyrigg as a youth.

- An obscure one, but Keiran McGachie, the Bonnyrigg striker, is the nephew of former Hibs striker John McGachie.

Any others?

06-12-2016, 10:25 PM
Bobby Duncan (of the 40 yarder past Zoff fame)
Craig Patterson

06-12-2016, 10:28 PM
Ewan Moyes won the Scottish youth cup with us along with Byrne, Witherspoon etc

06-12-2016, 10:28 PM
Gordon Rae, Eric Stevenson and former board member Ian Brennan all hail from the area

06-12-2016, 10:29 PM
Robin Rae (keeper) joined them later on in his career

Edinburgher
06-12-2016, 10:30 PM
Robbie Horn was in the year below me at Sciennes Primary does that count? :agree:

06-12-2016, 10:42 PM
Gordon Rae, Eric Stevenson and former board member Ian Brennan all hail from the area

I think Gordon actually started his career out that way at Whitehill Welfare!

06-12-2016, 10:47 PM
Gordon Hunter lives/lived up here.

06-12-2016, 10:48 PM
Ian Murray lives in Ivan Sproule's old house and both of their kids went/go to Bonnyrigg Primary.

06-12-2016, 10:50 PM
Darren Jackson lived in Bonnyrigg whilst he played for us and his daughter went to Lasswade primary at the time.
Andy McNeil played in goals for them a few years ago on loan.

06-12-2016, 10:51 PM
I'm a Hibby that stays in Bonnyrigg. Good enough link?

06-12-2016, 10:54 PM
Gordon Hunter lives/lived up here.

I thought Geebsie was from Wallyford way?

06-12-2016, 10:56 PM
I thought Geebsie was from Wallyford way?

Don't know but he definitely lived here for a while quite recently. His kids went to Bonnyrigg primary as well.

06-12-2016, 10:58 PM
The auld SMT buses that used to go there in the early 70's were green.

ihibs7
06-12-2016, 11:07 PM
Ally Brazil, graham harvey

dalkeith stu
06-12-2016, 11:07 PM
The auld SMT buses that used to go there in the early 70's were green.

No.79!!!

andrew70
06-12-2016, 11:16 PM
Sean O'Hanlon :dunno::dunno:

06-12-2016, 11:22 PM
Grant Murray played for them

06-12-2016, 11:49 PM
Me

Hibby-b
07-12-2016, 07:16 AM
Both have great Northern Soul Clubs - KTF.

confused
07-12-2016, 09:31 AM
The man who is launching his book tonight , Eric Stevenson. Eric is a Bonnyrigg man also owned the wee shop at lasswade, and the Waverley pub.and won a few games for the Hibs by tormenting defenders .

07-12-2016, 09:35 AM
The man who is launching his book tonight , Eric Stevenson. Eric is a Bonnyrigg man also owned the wee shop at lasswade, and the Waverley pub.and won a few games for the Hibs by tormenting defenders .

Wasn't Lasswade, it was Poltonhall, opposite Hawthornden school

Bill Milne
07-12-2016, 09:50 AM
In bygone days, almost all the senior clubs used Juniors as feeder clubs for bringing through talent. Ours was Bonnyrigg Rose!!

SmashinGlass
07-12-2016, 10:04 AM
I'm a community coach for the Bonnyrigg u13's. That count?

07-12-2016, 10:07 AM
There must be a good few. For a start:

- A certain Patrick Gordon Stanton was farmed out to Bonnyrigg as a youth.

Any others?

..and played with my Uncle (who won the Scottish Junior Cup with the Rose), unfortunately he was/is a Jambo..

My Uncle that is...not God..

07-12-2016, 10:56 AM
Played with Stevie Whittaker for 6 years at Sherwood boys club who then merged with Bonnyrigg Rose boys club two years after Whittie went down south. Mid 90's.

07-12-2016, 12:48 PM
..and played with my Uncle (who won the Scottish Junior Cup with the Rose), unfortunately he was/is a Jambo..

Whew had me worried for a moment there:greengrin

Fanforlife
07-12-2016, 12:51 PM
My son played a few seasons with them, winning the league and East of Scotland cup,left a coaching job with them earlier this season, good Hibby like his Da.

ma6mkd
07-12-2016, 01:03 PM
Robbie Horn was in the year below me at Sciennes Primary does that count? :agree:

And he was my Centre Half partner when playing for Boroughmuir back in the day. We were no McGregor / Hanlon partnership at that time sadly.

07-12-2016, 01:47 PM
No.79!!!

Birkenside i think it was back then.

07-12-2016, 01:58 PM
I followed them for a while when a mate played for them.

07-12-2016, 04:05 PM
Birkenside i think it was back then.

Fell asleep on that bus a few times following a post footy sesh when I stayed in Arniston. Still not sure what or where Birkenside is!

SmashinGlass
07-12-2016, 04:30 PM
Fell asleep on that bus a few times following a post footy sesh when I stayed in Arniston. Still not sure what or where Birkenside is!

It's the erse end of Gorebridge. I used to see a bird that stayed there.

07-12-2016, 04:32 PM

It's where I was brought up Dave. Essentially a council estate stuck on the south side of Gorebridge. Next stop the borders. Great place as a kid as the playground was miles and miles of countryside without being as isolated as you might think.

Callyballybe
07-12-2016, 04:36 PM

That would however explain alot!

07-12-2016, 05:13 PM
That would however explain alot!

confused
07-12-2016, 05:14 PM
Wasn't Lasswade, it was Poltonhall, opposite Hawthornden school
Correct , my mistake , 45 years ago , the brain is going

Brussel Patepy
07-12-2016, 06:11 PM
It's funny Ian Brennan's been mentioned in this thread then a couple of posters start randomly talking about Birkenside. Ian and his wife owned a shop in Birkenside for years.

07-12-2016, 06:38 PM
"Hibs & Bonnyrigg Links"

Mair connections between Hibs & Leith Links I would think :whistle:

ihibs7
07-12-2016, 07:06 PM
70s goalkeeper Bobby Robertson later played for the rose.

djs69
07-12-2016, 08:09 PM
My mate Paul Riley played for the Hibs first team once (he came on as a sub, and replaced Ray Wilkins).....lol....he played for Bonnyrigg for a few years in his later career...great wee clubhouse ;-)

07-12-2016, 08:19 PM
My cousin & ex Captains bar afc team mate, Lenny Clark was goalkeeper for Bonnyrigg rose for a few years ⚽️

07-12-2016, 08:29 PM
70s goalkeeper Bobby Robertson later played for the rose.

He played for my school team Darroch.
Went on to play for Whitburn, Rangers and Hibs.
Loved that he would come and play in a kickabout in the Meadows with all the old pals on a Sunday, thats when football was on a Saturday!

07-12-2016, 08:29 PM
Our coach Grant Murray played for the rosey posey

07-12-2016, 08:49 PM
Kevin McDonald (Geordie) played for the Rose

07-12-2016, 08:53 PM
One of my mates Son , plays for them .
He's out injured the now so missed the Dumbarton games .

07-12-2016, 10:04 PM
My mate Paul Riley played for the Hibs first team once (he came on as a sub, and replaced Ray Wilkins).....lol....he played for Bonnyrigg for a few years in his later career...great wee clubhouse ;-)

Ginger haired guy? He was/is a mate of a mate of mine.

ihibs7
07-12-2016, 10:10 PM
He played for my school team Darroch.
Went on to play for Whitburn, Rangers and Hibs.
Loved that he would come and play in a kickabout in the Meadows with all the old pals on a Sunday, thats when football was on a Saturday!

I think he was a Scottish junior internationalist whilst with the rose in the mid 70s. He wasn't the goalkeeper when they won the Scottish in 78, so I suspect he'd moved on by then.

djs69
07-12-2016, 10:18 PM
Ginger haired guy? He was/is a mate of a mate of mine.

Nah, he's really dark haired, must be someone else

Fanforlife
07-12-2016, 10:52 PM
My cousin & ex Captains bar afc team mate, Lenny Clark was goalkeeper for Bonnyrigg rose for a few years ⚽️
The Bingham flying pig😁🍺

08-12-2016, 05:37 AM
I actually travelled through to Hampden in the early 70s to support them in the Junior Cup Final against Cambuslang Rangers.

A mate of mine, who played fitba with me for the work team, and good Hibbie, Davie McQueen played for them as did Another good Hibbie who could often be seen in the Hibsclub, Dode Henry, who I think was captain.

The Rose were full of Hibbies then, and it is unfortunate that they seem to have picked up a bit of an infestation recently,judging by all the pro jambo comments coming from their officials.

Is DDT still permissible?☺️

08-12-2016, 06:04 AM
The Bingham flying pig😁🍺The very one 😄👍

08-12-2016, 08:03 AM
I actually travelled through to Hampden in the early 70s to support them in the Junior Cup Final against Cambuslang Rangers.

A mate of mine, who played fitba with me for the work team, and good Hibbie, Davie McQueen played for them as did Another good Hibbie who could often be seen in the Hibsclub, Dode Henry, who I think was captain.

The Rose were full of Hibbies then, and it is unfortunate that they seem to have picked up a bit of an infestation recently,judging by all the pro jambo comments coming from their officials.

Is DDT still permissible?☺️

I think Ian Paterson, another good Hibby was also in that team.

Fanforlife
08-12-2016, 12:24 PM
I think Ian Paterson, another good Hibby was also in that team.if that was the Bonnyrigg team that won the Scottish in the 70,s then Ian Henderson from Magdalene was another Hibby that played in that team.

08-12-2016, 01:26 PM
if that was the Bonnyrigg team that won the Scottish in the 70,s then Ian Henderson from Magdalene was another Hibby that played in that team.

Actually Ian Paterson was in the team that won the cup in 66, he scored a hat trick in the replay! Don't know if he played in losing final in early 70's but doubt he was in team that won again, in 78 I think. Still, great to score 3 in a final at Hampden.

Fanforlife
08-12-2016, 01:40 PM
Actually Ian Paterson was in the team that won the cup in 66, he scored a hat trick in the replay! Don't know if he played in losing final in early 70's but doubt he was in team that won again, in 78 I think. Still, great to score 3 in a final at Hampden.Was the reason I asked if it was the winning team from the 70,s.Hendo was a mate of mine but was unsure of the names of the other guys who played in that team.

08-12-2016, 04:25 PM
Davey Paterson played in the final in the 60's...

must check..