View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee United V Hibernian
02-12-2016, 09:25 PM
Tonight's result was all so depressingly familiar especially when it comes to the real crunch matches. I'm not talking about cup matches. I'm talking about winning the games that really matter to get out of this league.
The old failings that have been there for several seasons are still there. Failure to create and take chances in front of goal. That was a terrible penalty attempt. Simple as that. Holt failed to score with Hibs previous penalty kick too. Luckily on that occasion it didn't cost any points, unlike tonight. It's the oldest cliche in the book. If you don't take your chances you will get punished. We always do it feels like.
Inability to cross a ball into the penalty box that finds an attacking forward or midfield player. Or the killer pass. At least not often enough.
Hibs are in a real dog fight to get out of this league, and have difficult games coming up later this month at Morton & Falkirk with our squad missing probably its best two players in McGinn and Fyvie, plus James Keatings.
Does anyone still seriously believe Hibs will "skoosh" this league? If so, where is the evidence to support this claim? By "skoosh" I understand that to mean it would be practically won by Christmas or shortly thereafter, or by a considerable number of points.
The best we can hope for I suspect is that Hibs will try to bring in some players to patch up the squad in January. What sort of quality Hibs will be able to afford, and importantly will be available, remains to be seen. It's been said that January is not an ideal time to try to sign players.
majorhibs
02-12-2016, 09:34 PM
I'm not in the least bit worried, they got lucky and for me it was never a penalty, we WILL win the league.
Assesment of my neutral mate.
Hibs have been hopeless, bit of luck with a few long balls. We probably deserved a draw but that's more to do with how poor Utd are than anything we showed.
We are in a fight here and about time people stopped pretending otherwise.
Bedwetters stuff is tiring. 3rd season in this division and still looking as clueless as ever about how to get out of it.
We might still win the league but the signs are worrying. Again.
Chill.... we will perform at a higher level than them in the majority of the season. The gap will open up again quite soon. They were at their best tonight we were not.
We were poor tonight but I'm still not worried. We will beat Utd at home, not impressed with Utd at all tonight if that was them at almost full strength and on a good run? They actually didn't trouble us that much. They will drop more points to other teams than we will.
Nae time for it all, but really, you youngsters that were NOT there for last promotion campaigns, just please go somewhwere else. This is ZILCH like our last promoted seasons. Its crap & inconsistent & with a team I consider our main contenders just beat us in a 6 pointer. Crap. Unlike before. You go ahead skoosh dreamers. Misguided amateur supporters. Out of touch but mooths aplenty, this is NOT a good campaign, this is not a good display, this is not a good team & not a good managerial display so far. My opinion, fools skooshing should shut up, or go to glesgae where thats the norm, & this team which we need promoted NOW can get the sign that RIGHT effing now is not good enough. Better team are we? But just lost 0-1 to your promotion rivals, nae advantage, but were gonnae "skoosh" it? Clear off, fools.
majorhibs
02-12-2016, 09:39 PM
Nae time for it all, but really, you youngsters that were NOT there for last promotion campaigns, just please go somewhwere else. This is ZILCH like our last promoted seasons. Its crap & inconsistent & with a team I consider our main contenders just beat us in a 6 pointer. Crap. Unlike before. You go ahead skoosh dreamers. Misguided amateur supporters. Out of touch but mooths aplenty, this is NOT a good campaign, this is not a good display, this is not a good team & not a good managerial display so far. My opinion, fools skooshing should shut up, or go to glesgae where thats the norm, & this team which we need promoted NOW can get the sign that RIGHT effing now is not good enough. Better team are we? But just lost 0-1 to your promotion rivals, nae advantage, but were gonnae "skoosh" it? Clear off, fools.
Just a reminder, when I started goin to ER, if the team were crap & the players were crap, early 70s onwards, I was surprised & amazed at the vitriol & the booing I regularly was hearing fi auld boys next to me on the terraces in the East. At that time I guess was only way to let your frustrations be known but if Hibs were crap in them days, they got it TIGHT from the East. Big style.
khib70
02-12-2016, 09:43 PM
Incoherent abusive pish. Away to your bed. And I'm a good bit older than you, by the way. Nothing to say - say nothing.
half.time.draw.
02-12-2016, 09:44 PM
Dreadful performance.
Dundee Hibee
02-12-2016, 09:45 PM
Can't believe anyone saying that wasn't a penalty, both were stone wallers, my only concern was why Toshney wasn't booked for his, he would have walked for the foul on Lewis afterwards.
tanfield
02-12-2016, 09:53 PM
Two pish teams
But if that is the best United have to offer then as long we get our ***** together I am not unduly worried
Big if at the moment!!
02-12-2016, 09:53 PM
:blah::blah::blah:
02-12-2016, 10:59 PM
I don't think we deserved to lose, however I also thought both teams were poor.
Without sjm and ff we are a far poorer side and I'm not exactly sure what Lennon tactics are but it really is verging on hoofball. The only plus is we are still top while not playing particularly well and I don't think utd will keep their run going.
It isn't verging on hoof ball. It definitely is hoof ball. Minging.
02-12-2016, 11:00 PM
Haven't read the whole of this thread, but here's my take on it from watching the game on the telly.
Utd started well, but the longer the game went on the more Hibs got into it, Utd looked reasonably dangerous on the break, but in all honesty they didn't trouble Marciano apart from with a couple of long range efforts. I wouldn't go so far as to say Hibs deserved to win the game, but we were unlucky to lose it given the overall balance of play ..... but having said that it was far from being a good performance from us and it was mostly down to individual poor play.
Some of our decision making in the final third and midfield in general was poor .... you have an easy square ball into midfield and choose to play it up the wing to a guy marked by 3 Utd players, why?
Martin Boyle's inability to control a gift of a back pass by a Utd defender was criminal, only he will be able to explain why he let the bloody thing run across him.
Our delivery from corners and dead balls was at times amateurish .... there seems to be no plan at set pieces, just lump the ball into the box and hope to win it like a pub league team would and heaven help us if Lewis Stevenson is our dead ball expert, I mean really!!!. Our corners invariably either hit the first man or go so far to the back of the box that if the last Hibs player doesn't win it the chance is gone.
There was a general lack of invention from the whole team, next to no creativity from the midfield either where Dylan McGeouch was anonymous .... in fact Shinnie was our best player IMO because he at least tried to make something happen.
It was a poor performance all around IMO, but Utd weren't much better than us .... what is worrying is that without being the better team they have taken 4 points out of 6 against us, if we want to win the league we simply cant let this happen.
Final point .............. sort out who the **** is going to take penalties BEFORE you take the field and we wont get the bloody nonsense we did tonight!
02-12-2016, 11:00 PM
Just back home, we didn't deserve to lose. It's a sore one but we will push on and get the job done, but it will be tight.
resident_Arab
03-12-2016, 12:46 AM
They were at their best tonight we were not.
If only!
03-12-2016, 01:07 AM
Boyle 's an idiot for missing a penalty.
Memo to Boyle: practise penalties like a pro.
03-12-2016, 02:25 AM
There just didn't seem to be any urgency in our play. Passion, commitment.. Where has it all gone? It was like a training session instead.
03-12-2016, 08:38 AM
In the cold light of day, i thought we never deserved to loose, we looked like the home team for most of the game and folk need to calm down, plenty of games left yet.
03-12-2016, 08:48 AM
There just didn't seem to be any urgency in our play. Passion, commitment.. Where has it all gone? It was like a training session instead.
McGinn and Fyvie. That's where it's gone. I'm sure we'll make some signings in January. We STILL for a third year in this league need pace and width signed up as well as another central midfielder.
03-12-2016, 09:07 AM
Boyle 's an idiot for missing a penalty.
Memo to Boyle: practise penalties like a pro.
He's not an "idiot" for missing a penalty! It was just a very poorly taken one. Some of the best players in the world have missed a penalty.
Bye the way that's SEVEN penalties Cammy Bell has saved for DU so far this season, including an astonishing THREE in one game at Dunfermline. That said, I could have saved that one last night.
03-12-2016, 09:20 AM
In the cold light of day, i thought we never deserved to loose, we looked like the home team for most of the game and folk need to calm down, plenty of games left yet.
You don't get any points for playing well or being the better team. Last night we were poor against a poor team. This year is about results and we are not picking up as many points as last year up to this point. Given we never went up last year that should be something that concerns all Hibs supporters.
06-12-2016, 01:37 PM
Not meaning to bump this thread, but having watched the highlights of the penalty it's a lesson in a) staying on your feet in the box and jockeying (what the hell was McGregor up to? Blocking the shot he thought was coming I hear you say, but he started sliding more or less after he was level with the man so the only way him sliding would have blocked the shot was if Murray was to of wildly screwed the shot off to the right) and b) if anyone doesn't think that's a penalty I fear it's specsavers for you.
A nailed on foul from Fontaine.
Anyway, ho hum we move on, but it was a definite penalty.
06-12-2016, 01:56 PM
Not meaning to bump this thread, but having watched the highlights of the penalty it's a lesson in a) staying on your feet in the box and jockeying (what the hell was McGregor up to? Blocking the shot he thought was coming I hear you say, but he started sliding more or less after he was level with the man so the only way him sliding would have blocked the shot was if Murray was to of wildly screwed the shot off to the right) and b) if anyone doesn't think that's a penalty I fear it's specsavers for you.
A nailed on foul from Fontaine.
Anyway, ho hum we move on, but it was a definite penalty.
Personally thought he got the ball :nerd: but would have been screaming for it up the other end to be fair.
Agree about McGregor