View Full Version : Match Updates Dundee United V Hibernian

Pages : 1 [2] 3

lugz
02-12-2016, 08:06 PM
Looked like Holt told the bench to ****** off after the penalty - maybe they said for Boyle to take it.....

He definitely did. No wonder you give that to your most experienced striker.

mcfly
What a dreadful penalty that was.

Abysmal effort

Lennon told Boyle to take it

02-12-2016, 08:07 PM
I had forgotten how much drama-queenery goes on on the match day thread.

Lennon who wanted Boyle to take it. Which would make sense since Holt missed the last one

Not sure that elbow was 'thrown' to be fair, it looked more like jolted motion in the scrum... maybe I'm just clutching at straws, it's about time we got a bit of luck with a refereeing decision!

You're right I think. I think his lower arm is moved while jostling (wrongly) with flood. He doesn't try to or manage to make contact.

Ronster117
The game has heated up no question

Looks like Lennon told them it was Boyles pen

Some niggly fouls creeping in. Shinnie playing well

What a header by big daz

02-12-2016, 08:08 PM
I think the elbow was accidental. I like to see a bit of fire in a player as well.

Keep him on and get Boyle off.

Stats: Corners 3-1 Hibs. Possession 54/46 Hibs. Shot % on goal 60% Hibs, 18% United. 1 penalty saved.

Is it going to take a goal against us for Lennon to make a couple of changes?

ForeverHibs93
We've looked much better in the second half now IMO

Ronster117
02-12-2016, 08:09 PM
Jc coming on for Boyle

Not sure in Lennon's thinking - Boyle on penalties and Stevenson on free kicks?!

Jason getting stripped for action.

Boyle making way!

lugz
Jason coming on for Boyle

mcfly
Time for changes up front

khib70
I had forgotten how much drama-queenery goes on on the match day thread.
:agree::top marks

Time for a sub.

02-12-2016, 08:10 PM
jason cummings is getting game time, well done lennon

AT LAST

02-12-2016, 08:10 PM
Time for Jason to step up to the plate and do the business

Ronster117
02-12-2016, 08:12 PM
Time for Jason to step up to the plate and do the business

The script was written for him:thumbsup:

02-12-2016, 08:12 PM
Jc is on the games over

02-12-2016, 08:13 PM

This has got 0-0 written all over it.

02-12-2016, 08:14 PM
Decent amount or game time here forfor Jase. Plenty time to make an impact. He'll score the winner.

Wee word for the ref, he's had a great game so far and most 50/50 decisions have gone out way. Refreshing change

02-12-2016, 08:14 PM
Absolute rubbish to watch.

02-12-2016, 08:15 PM

Let's hope so.

Back 3 now up against a bit of pace in Murray.

We have been better 2nd half.

Pen would have opened it up but Heay Ho

02-12-2016, 08:15 PM
They are awful by the way. Need to step it up a gear

02-12-2016, 08:16 PM
This has got 0-0 written all over it.

Maybe so but we're making heavy weather of a great chance to beat our main rivals.

02-12-2016, 08:16 PM
Get Cummings on Lennon. Would have buried that penalty

Like the one he fired away in the semi final last season?

02-12-2016, 08:17 PM

Agree but we need to keep it tight at back

02-12-2016, 08:18 PM
penalty dundee united,

Penalty to utd.

Galahibby
This is horrendous.

blaikie
They'll score this one no doubt

Ronster117
That's as soft as I've seen

Knew that Simon Murray would end up scoring/causing trouble.

Could have written this script 😂

Amazing

Was always going to happen mind you

and THAT's how to take a penalty

There's what Grant ****in Holt brings to the team. :rolleyes:

ForeverHibs93
Oh. My. God.

Like the one he fired away in the semi final last season?the one in the shoot out

They ant miss

Are there any more decent options on the bench for us?

****ing pathetic

02-12-2016, 08:19 PM
1-0 Utd

Garbage

FFS- All Hibs this half too.

that was a soft pen. We still do not deserve to lost this though

02-12-2016, 08:20 PM
Pish

Same old, same old. Useless

N a pen for me btw but we shouldn't have been in that position.

Hanlon made a right Arse of it.

Poor poor

Maybe so but we're making heavy weather of a great chance to beat our main rivals.

F*****g usual

AL-Qaholik
Same old, same old. Architects of our own downfall yet again.

Need our fans to lift the team even more now.

That's how to take a penalty. Pish

02-12-2016, 08:21 PM

F*****g usual

Ronster117
Mon Hibs.....

Graham on now for me.

mcfly
Gotta take your chances....

Fontaine got the ball wasn't a penalty

Get holt off and graham on.

1875Hibees
Typical Hibs.

supermcginn
02-12-2016, 08:22 PM
We really are poor, lennon needs to start justifying his big name and wages!

02-12-2016, 08:22 PM
Grant holt is garbage.

HibbySpurs
02-12-2016, 08:23 PM
Horrendous, loads of ball, zero urgency, sucker punched again....

Best team/squad in the league by a mile but will mean **** all unless we start winning the big games...

Utd have fought hard and been first to more loose balls all night.

Lacklustre performance and going to be top on GD only when we should be ****ing miles clear.

We've been awful. Deserve nothing from this game.

Utd fans think they've won the league.

Long way to go but as things stand we do things the hard hard way.

We need width and pace

ForeverHibs93
02-12-2016, 08:24 PM
People won't like it but that came from Holt giving it away cheaply in the corner & then a pretty poor touch from Fontaine (I think?) over committed with the defending as well.

We're still in this game, a point wouldn't be such a bad thing now!

JimboHibs
02-12-2016, 08:24 PM

How about the players justifying they're wages ? Naw.

02-12-2016, 08:25 PM
People won't like it but that came from Holt giving it away cheaply in the corner & then a pretty poor touch from Fontaine (I think?) over committed with the defending as well.

Would love a point right now!

Utd fans think they've won the league.

Long way to go but as things stand we do things the hard hard way.

We need width and pace

We've needed width and pace for at least 3 seasons.

We should be 10 points clear at the top, instead we've let united get a sniff and at the moment they're taking it. We're blundering on saying we need width and pace but not doing anything about it.

Why was that not a red card.

Sway and dinnae talk utter p###...they belters r oot in force in this thread

khib70
Good job the fans up there are doing a better job than the whinging sheet-soakers on this forum, then. We're not useless, we were on top of the game until a soft penalty. The fans up there can see that. All the armchair Alex Fergusons spouting random knee jerk pish on here are obviously far more interested in spouting negative cliches than actually watching the game.

ForeverHibs93
02-12-2016, 08:26 PM
That tackle on Stevenson looked like he was off the ground and out of control to me, think Toshney can feel lucky that was yellow.

We've been awful. Deserve nothing from this game.

Worst post on this thread. Have you watched the game?

Even first half and all Hibs 2nd so how do you work that out?

Our fans have been superb tonight again they can't do anymore than they are doing :aok:

the one in the shoot out

No. The one that could have avoided that.

Has a Stevenson cross ever found a hibs man?

Time after time our fringe players let us down, Boyle scores 1 in every 5 sitters, Stevenson can't cross a bridge, we have no threat or game changer on the bench. We need to fix this in January and get rid of some of the dross.

We've needed width and pace for at least 3 seasons. We should be 10 points clear at the top, instead we've let united get a sniff and at the moment they're taking it. We're blundering on saying we need width and pace but not doing anything about it.

We have made them look good with a pretty poor performance.

I'll get stick for this but as a wing back Stevenson is just not good enough, not even close.

02-12-2016, 08:27 PM
Shinnie must have slipped about 12 times this game!

lugz
Why can you just tell with hibs. Game against Falkirk you just know that corner is going in. We miss a pen you just know they'll score.

Worst thing about this game is United have been very poor.

Has a Stevenson cross ever found a hibs man?

Yes. You do realise posts like that make you look foolish right?

Stevenson never a wing back

HibbySpurs
Go 3 up front final 10?

02-12-2016, 08:28 PM
I'll get stick for this but as a wing back Stevenson is just not good enough, not even close.

You shouldn't - I don't think his most ardent backer could disagree.

HibbySpurs
That'll be a yes then 😂

Lewis's final ball again and again has been very poor this evening.

Why o why has he been taking set pieces??

HibbySpurs

Can't cross a bridge never mind a ball

Holt is a huddy, he's a poor mans Colin Nish without the goals.

How the **** has Shinnie not changed his boots. Slipped multiple times.

02-12-2016, 08:29 PM

He's like 4th choice set piece taker I'd imagine.

Yes. You do realise posts like that make you look foolish right?

I'm sure a few have found a man - not a high percentage though.

the bed wetting crap on this thread is woeful...we have absolutely bossed this second half...even if we don't get a goal, there is only one team that will come out on top this season between these two..and it won't be United.. How anyone can say we've deserved nothing, is just emotional nonsense.

1875Hibees
I'll get stick for this but as a wing back Stevenson is just not good enough, not even close. Yup. Dosent contribute anything going forward and is mediocre in defending. Cant remember anyone so inept in crossing a football.

ForeverHibs93

Unfortunately I have to agree, I love Lewie and all he's done for us, but he's just not good enough going forward to be a wingback I don't think.

Take a defender off and put Graham on. 1-1 or 0-2. Worth the gamble Neil?

mcfly
Boyle works hard but no real quality for me.

Yes he's scored goals but how many does he miss.

Sorry but that penalty was more of a pass back - pathetic

supermcginn
02-12-2016, 08:30 PM
Sway and dinnae talk utter p###...they belters r oot in force in this thread

If you think this is good enough them good luck to you!

Nice pass from Shinnie, decent half chance for JC

We're poking and prodding without actually trying to even get through the Utd midfield/defence and then resorting to fontaine punting it flat into the box which is easily cleared. every time.

1875Hibees
Yes. You do realise posts like that make you look foolish right?Really hahahaha. Looks to me like its you looking foolish.

Bobo
Lack of touch, passing, movement and pace again looks like it's going to cost us.

There is nobody who can deliver a decent set piece or corner and we let the poorest Hibs player on the night take the penalty.... absolute madness!

02-12-2016, 08:31 PM
the bed wetting crap on this thread is woeful...we have absolutely bossed this second half...even if we don't get a goal, there is only one team that will come out on top this season between these two..and it won't be United.. How anyone can say we've deserved nothing, is just emotional nonsense.

Aye but the thing that matters is the score and currently it is 1-0 to them. An all too familiar theme over the past 3 years

Ronster117
02-12-2016, 08:32 PM
5 mins to go.... cummon

Dylan is being played too far back, id like to see him a bit further forward where his passing can really affect the game

Really hahahaha. Looks to me like its you looking foolish.
Oh that's me burned then by one of those 50 posts a year guys who only come out when we are losing.......:rolleyes:

02-12-2016, 08:33 PM
i hate this version of us skooshing it

lugz
02-12-2016, 08:33 PM

Amazing after the last 2 season you can say that. Momentum and confidence is a very dangerous thing in this league and that's exactly what we're giving United from tonight.

02-12-2016, 08:34 PM
Grant Holt is just getting in the way now. Useless tonight.

Lol imagine we don't actually win the league this year.

This has been dreadful.

ForeverHibs93
02-12-2016, 08:35 PM

I agree you can't write the season off on this result but surely it's just as equal nonsense to claim that based on this performance we're going to come out on top over the season?

There's a long way to go yet and it's still clearly very much in the balance.

majorhibs
02-12-2016, 08:35 PM

Skoosh, eh? Get hame. Skoosh yer hoose.

02-12-2016, 08:36 PM
i hate this version of us skooshing it

Its great isn't it. I feel we should have an advantage budget wise over Xmas though. Could be critical. Lennon will have had a time now to see where the missing links are required..

I cannot be at the game and have to listen to the crap on bbc and read what I can on here and there really is not much to pick between what I hear on the bbc and what I read on hear, only comment I can make is in the title and it is all about making the right decisions for that you need a wee bit of a fitba brain on the park, I happen to think that we lack this, have done for years, even down to what to do with a throw in, piss poor decisions only have one end result, they could still scrap a goal in this game, but they need to invest for the second half of the season.
before some smart arse comments yes we have made some good decisions in some past games but no enough of them.
All we have done for now is hand a wee bit of bragging rights to the dundee hibs.

Don't

02-12-2016, 08:37 PM
I agree you can't write the season off on this result but surely it's just as equal nonsense to claim that based on this performance we're going to come out on top over the season?

There's a long way to go yet and it's still clearly very much in the balance.

It's easy for people to call it bedwetting but Utd are on a good run right now and if they keep picking up points in games that they aren't so good in and we keep finding ways to throw away points in games we dominate then it will be too close for comfort for me.

Very possible. "Skoosh it"!? Deary me..

It's easy for people to call it bedwetting but Utd are on a good run right now and if they keep picking up points in games that they aren't so good in and we keep finding ways to throw away points in games we dominate then it will be too close for comfort for me.

Already is far too close we should be miles infront

Nothing is won or lost at this point in the season. So we have not won away against our closest challengers? Not the end of the world.

02-12-2016, 08:38 PM
Don't

To be fair, I really don't think we will.

Im very prepared for this… But I still think we have the advantage to finish strongest.

Grant Holt is everywhere except where he should be.

Sorry, but that is just complacent nonsense.

Nothing more, nothing less.

02-12-2016, 08:39 PM
Amazing after the last 2 season you can say that. Momentum and confidence is a very dangerous thing in this league and that's exactly what we're giving United from tonight.

Have to agree lugz, but things can change with just a couple of wins and a real good signing in Jan.

02-12-2016, 08:39 PM
How can anyone call this bed wetting? We should be walking this league and most definitely are not. Dundee United have deserved to win tonight. We have deserved nothing. We'll struggle massively without McGinn and Fyvie.

02-12-2016, 08:40 PM

Madden has given us just about everything tonight.

Very, very poor show. Can look at it as penalty missed against penalty scored but this was a ****** performance from Hibs. 🙁

How can anyone call this bed wetting? We should be walking this league and most definitely are not. Dundee United have deserved to win tonight. We have deserved nothing. We'll struggle massively without McGinn and Fyvie.

Fyvie in particular's been a huge miss.

That was a very poor display tonight! How much did we missed Fyvie tonight!

JDT
Anything happening? The radio cut out on me

02-12-2016, 08:41 PM
Now, I'm not a professional footballer. However, I'm certain if you give me the ball on the wing I could deliver a cross into the box with greater precision than any of the crosses that have been put in this game. Not one has made it passed the first ****in man!!

Hibtastic
I don't think there is much between us and Utd.

McGinn, Fyvie, Keatings and Harris would've probably played tonight.

We haven't even looked like scoring even at the penalty

This is scary scary stuff

Full time

khib70
Do you ever post anything positive? This whole forum is like a Sylvia Plath poem, and you are consistently the worst offender. Away and get these sheets of yours on the line...

6 goals. That's all.

Should be so much more.

Now, I'm not a professional footballer. However, I'm certain if you give me the ball on the wing I could deliver a cross into the box with greater precision than any of the crosses that have been put in this game. Not one has made it passed the first ****in man!!
Why aren't you a professional footballer then?

02-12-2016, 08:42 PM

Which is pathetic

lugz
Our own worst enemies.

McGinn, Fyvie, Keatings and Harris would've probably played tonight.

Harris? Really?

shreevesy
Grant Holt is everywhere except where he should be.

In the stand?

blaikie
Well that was ****ing awful

Other than giving a penalty against us which was debatable, you're right. There were many hibs tackles I thought he could have called foul on.

Crap result, but nowt to do but keep going. January transfer window please...

02-12-2016, 08:43 PM
Assesment of my neutral mate.

Hibs have been hopeless, bit of luck with a few long balls. We probably deserved a draw but that's more to do with how poor Utd are than anything we showed.

We are in a fight here and about time people stopped pretending otherwise.

Why aren't you a professional footballer then?

Just crossing the ball doesn't get you a contract. You need to be able to run and that as well. Seems it doesn't work vice versa though.

You are probably right, because it's impossible to build a side in such a short space of time after such a pre season of turmoil, where they changed so many players.

Or maybe that just applies to Hibs?

Had a great day, shame I rushed home to see last half hour of Hibs game. Should've stayed out. Shocking

We are actually regressing under Lennon. The standard of football we are playing compared to under Stubbs is lower and tonight was absolutely brutal.

Disappointing. We maybe didn't deserve to win, but Utd definitely didn't. Just need to rebuild our lead again.

That was complete garbage. Toothless upfront again.

1875Hibees
02-12-2016, 08:44 PM
Why aren't you a professional footballer then?Stop sucking up Stevenson's bum.

Pathetic result, pathetic penalty, pathetic attitude. Some of these players just aren't good enough.

Do you ever post anything positive? This whole forum is like a Sylvia Plath poem, and you are consistently the worst offender. Away and get these sheets of yours on the line...

Post something positive about that then please? I'm positive when there is cause to be positive. Tonight we were dreadful. ****ing deal with it.

khib70
Pathetic result, pathetic penalty, pathetic attitude. Some of these players just aren't good enough.

Pathetic post...

02-12-2016, 08:45 PM
Crap result, but nowt to do but keep going. January transfer window please...

We really shouldn't have to depend on that

hurry back SJM and FF.....please

You keep posting the same thing when you have not watched the game. What is going on?

That was poor from Hibs. We were second best to a very poor side. I think United will hit a run of bad form, they don't look much better than the other sides we've played, but that's no excuse for us. I think it'll be a struggle, we seldom look dominant against teams in this division.

We are actually regressing under Lennon. The standard of football we are playing compared to under Stubbs is lower and tonight was absolutely brutal.

Correct

Mikey_1875
Very poor but not a disaster. However we now have 5 MASSIVE games coming up finishing with UTD at home on the 6th. This period could define our season.

Pathetic post...

Truth hurts?

Steviethebear
Very poor tonight, we seem to be a bit hot and cold, great display crap display ok display can't seem to keep the momentum going at all?

How did Utd deserve to win that?? Are u serious?? We dominated the whole 3nd half and but for Boyle and his cock up we would have won that. Wee d### should be dropped for weeks now for that shi## penalty

mcfly
02-12-2016, 08:46 PM
I'm sorry but United were in a shambles at the start of the season. We were coming off the back of a cup win. We had all the momentum

We should be well ahead of them but we aren't

Graham and Cummings must be starters next week. Holt was awful tonight and lucky to be in the pitch. Boyle back on the bench for me

Bedwetters stuff is tiring. 3rd season in this division and still looking as clueless as ever about how to get out of it.

We might still win the league but the signs are worrying. Again.

Except the soft pen he gave Utd u mean??

our toughest match of the season, we were without our two best midfielders. We deserved a point and but for a missed penalty would probably have got all three. We will win the league.

02-12-2016, 08:47 PM
I'm not normally one for criticising the side, but that was poor and there have been too many performances like it this season. Whatever we are, we are not a 'skooshing' team.

They do have a good manager there who knows this league inside oot, dont know what his record is against Hibs but never like playing against teams that he puts out.

Dont you think there should be, considering the amount of preparation we've had for this division compared to theirs?

khib70
Post something positive about that then please? I'm positive when there is cause to be positive. Tonight we were dreadful. ****ing deal with it.
We were the better side in the second half. We had a soft penalty given against us when we were on top. Shinnie looks a real class act. We weren't by any stretch of the imagination dreadful. You ****ing deal with your attention-seeking negativity problem.

The Captain....
Should have been at least a point..better in the second but still not good enough. Fyvie and SJM can't come back soon enough for me. Some of the passing tonight was utterly abysmal.

The one where Fontaine clattered the boy who was goal side of him? Yes.

shreevesy

We were 7 points ahead of them earlier in the season and now they have the same points.
We must win the league this time round or we are in serious bother. Tonight was terrible and I think for the first time in a long time we had a good few favours from the ref and that still didn't help us.

dmc1875
02-12-2016, 08:48 PM
Watching Stevenson and gray huff and puff and get nowhere was painful to watch. Toothless up front. Not threatening and you knew as soon as we went behind the game was over. Teams who go behind against us is a different story but we really struggle to break down teams and have zero pace when you take Boyle out.

If we hadn't been given that we would have been raging. DU did not deserve to win that but it was a clumsy and careless challenge by Liam.

I don't understand how we continue to give the ball away from a hibs throw in. Its baffling.

Very very poor tonight. Did McGeough play?

There is nothing complacent in my post...where do I suggest it will be easy for us?

My point was simple.United may have won, but there was nothing in their performance to suggest they will beat us over the season.

Nothing more, nothing less...as you say

Holt - Terrible
McGeouch - Worse and even looked like he had injured himself again at the end [emoji85]

Very poor but not a disaster. However we now have 5 MASSIVE games coming up finishing with UTD at home on the 6th. This period could define our season.
And without 2 of our best players too - even more concerning

I'm not in the least bit worried, they got lucky and for me it was never a penalty, we WILL win the league.

We were the better side in the second half. We had a soft penalty given against us when we were on top. Shinnie looks a real class act. We weren't by any stretch of the imagination dreadful. You ****ing deal with your attention-seeking negativity problem.

Your 1st sentence could be applied to about 90% of pur losses over the last 3 seasons.

02-12-2016, 08:49 PM
Assesment of my neutral mate.

Hibs have been hopeless, bit of luck with a few long balls. We probably deserved a draw but that's more to do with how poor Utd are than anything we showed.

We are in a fight here and about time people stopped pretending otherwise.

:agree:Watching it with two English fans and they both said the same - thought ref helped us a bit by being fairer than others they have endured.

Bad day at the office - onward and upward. We could have run about all night tonight and not scored.

fishybeaver
Harris? Really?

Least with him we have a glimmer of hope that we might actually get a decent cross in the box.

I don't understand how we continue to give the ball away from a hibs throw in. Its baffling.

Asked to sit back when he should be further up the pitch

supermcginn

Exactly,its getting close to hoofball,just lumping it to hplt everytime

Boyle has been a brilliant breath of fresh air for the past several weeks. Tonight he was a waste if a jersey. And as for that penalty?!!!
Sadly Cummings had very little to work on and did not set the heather on fire.
Very unlucky to concede a penalty but I'm afraid referees fR too often feel they have to balance things out. Otherwise I thought Madden had a good game and I can see why he gave their pen.
Now we need to stretch this league

02-12-2016, 08:50 PM
Very disappointing. We had the most possession but they always looked dangerous. A draw might have been the fairer result but they took their chance and we didn't. I thought McGeoch was poor. Shinnie was the best player on the park.

Lennon should see what we need to go up. Hopefully Dempster/Petrie will release the funds to mak it happen.

ForeverHibs93

I said this a few weeks ago, I don't think we look as good as football team this year as we did last year, it's easy to say Stubbs didn't get us promoted with two tries but he had to compete with Hearts & Rangers, Lennon seems to be struggling without any major competitors.
If he insists on players like Holt I worry that we won't win the division this year.

Still I'm gonna try and not get too downbeat by it & hopefully we can get in to a bit of form, we're missing key players so need the squad players to set up for us!

I hate clubs spending beyond there means. But we gotta do it in Jan.

shreevesy
You are probably right, because it's impossible to build a side in such a short space of time after such a pre season of turmoil, where they changed so many players.

Or maybe that just applies to Hibs?

Very much this. No excuses for us failing at this level now.

The one where Fontaine clattered the boy who was goal side of him? Yes.
Clattered?? U sure mate?? Not what I saw on TV

Ronster117
02-12-2016, 08:51 PM
look back a year...... we went equal on points wi der Hun, then they pulled away..... I can see us doing the same

Poor performance. Can't complain at ending up with nothing, albeit they didn't look good.

Both penalties were clearly the correct decision.

How many goals did we score? Zero. United deserved to win on that basis. I'm struggling to find positives in yet another defeat in this ***** league.

Madden played a blinder for us tonight, Macgregor should have been booked for taking out Flood?
A few minutes later the same from Dundee United player and he gets booked?
Grant Holt should have been off for the elbow at the fracas how the linesman never seen it I'll never know?
Bringing on Cummings was good but long ball service is not his forte?
Why did Holt Go back into midfield when Cummings came on, as he had been booked he would be more likely to foul in there than up front????

HibbyDave
Chill.... we will perform at a higher level than them in the majority of the season. The gap will open up again quite soon. They were at their best tonight we were not.

DavieB
02-12-2016, 08:52 PM
Just not good enough the fans have been watching this rubbish for three years now, biggest budget and crowds should be romping this league

guthrie01

And yet we still came away with 0 points, need to get rid of this "well we put in a decent performance" stuff. If we are serious about getting out of this godforsaken league then we need to be dominant and ruthless. Not good enough tonight, plenty time to be positive once we start winning.

ForeverHibs93

I don't understand everyone saying soft pen? That was a clear as day pen, Fonts came through the back of him whether he got a nick on the ball or not, unfortunately I don't see how that wasn't a pen, just my view on it.

I'd be furious if we never got that.

familyman
If Neil Lennon is supposed to spark belief in this lot,I saw none of it for 45 minutes and why oh why tactically did Boyle whose touch had been grim all day long take the penalty...no common sense .It seemed at all levels on and off the park a point was acceptable....not for me at any rate.
Stevenson has reverted to the underweighted pass again...and Fontaine seemed so nervous passing poorly all night long.
This team lacked belief all night long and just huffed and puffed..disgrace
Tactically United were spot on, we were far of the pace and got what we deserved...nothing!
Time for major changes now we have handed United even more belief...shocker no excuses even without McGinn and Fraser we should have had belief....if nothing else..that above all is a real worry...
Disgusted with that performance....less talk get it sorted NOW

someone mentioned Dylan earlier, i swear i only heard his name mentioned twice on the radio in the 2nd half

02-12-2016, 08:53 PM
That was brutal. Didn't deserve to lose but nowhere near goods enough to win. Too many players not at it.

Stevenson's place in the team must be at risk now, here's been off form for a while now. Only player who really looked decent tonight was Shinnie.

xyz23jc
I'm not in the least bit worried, they got lucky and for me it was never a penalty, we WILL win the league.

Two grammes o whatever you're oan amigo! :rolleyes:

skyehibee
We were poor tonight but I'm still not worried. We will beat Utd at home, not impressed with Utd at all tonight if that was them at almost full strength and on a good run? They actually didn't trouble us that much. They will drop more points to other teams than we will.

You keep posting the same thing when you have not watched the game. What is going on?

I'm sorry, what? Watched the full 95 minutes. Poor performance. Poor result. Don't see the problem in commenting on that.

Not good enough - penalties looked the only way either team was going to score .... thought Utd better team overall

0 v 0 would have been fair reflection as neither team looked like scoring except from a penalty . I thought Dundee Utd would be better but they knew that if they could knick one that`d be enough in a match in which both teams wuld have been delighted with a draw . I predicted we`d be promoted this season but only after signing 2 or 3 players in January and still think that`s the case though I hope we don`t sign big name players being mentioned in press this week since we don`t need known players that boost crowds but aren`t motivated or fit .

How many goals did we score? Zero. United deserved to win on that basis. I'm struggling to find positives in yet another defeat in this ***** league.

How many clear cut chances did we have? I'd day that was less than Utd as well. We had a lot of the ball. Whoop de ****ing doo. Utd had the better chances and stuck the ball in the net which is what football is all about.

02-12-2016, 08:54 PM
My god how we miss McGinn. Really don't think UTD are that great but that result tonight is a horrible one to take. Real low night tonight.

Jan signings are now massive.

02-12-2016, 08:54 PM

Clattered and clumsy. Yes.

02-12-2016, 08:55 PM
And yet we still came away with 0 points, need to get rid of this "well we put in a decent performance" stuff. If we are serious about getting out of this godforsaken league then we need to be dominant and ruthless. Not good enough tonight, plenty time to be positive once we start winning.

Exactly. As soon as you point out that it's not good enough you are pounced upon for being a bedwetter. A positive is three points. We didn't get that.

mcfly
02-12-2016, 08:56 PM
Agree with the comments -crowds are massively up hibs must have money to spend and better quality is needed.

We simply must win this league.

However I have to say I enjoyed the football more under Stubbs. It's not great at the moment under Lennon

I don't understand how we continue to give the ball away from a Hibs throw in. Its baffling.

Throw ins or Shy's as we used to call them are all about movement and decision-making, we are not good at making the right decisions and constantly give the ball away putting pressure back on the team, have done for years and other teams are also well aware of this stupidity, its a fundamental of playing a simple game.

Funny enough I dont think Dylan has played very well since he came back in that game up in the highlands where ever it was, second half of that game something seemed to happen to him, like a switch had been turned off.

I said the same earlier in the thread and I've been saying it for years. A throw-in to us is a handicap and I can't believe that coach after coach has failed to address the major problem we have.

02-12-2016, 08:57 PM
How many clear cut chances did we have? I'd day that was less than Utd as well. We had a lot of the ball. Whoop de ****ing doo. Utd had the better chances and stuck the ball in the net which is what football is all about.

Completely agreed. Kind of disappointed with how some have completely jumped on me for pointing this out. When will we stop accepting ***** results like these?

02-12-2016, 08:57 PM
Not good enough - penalties looked the only way either team was going to score .... thought Utd better team overall

Opinions! Apart from taking penalties don't think there was any aspect in which they surpassed us.

Frogga
02-12-2016, 08:58 PM
Can everyone just take a few deep breaths before posting on here after negative results! :dunno:

We were unlucky to lose what will be our toughest match of the league and that's without the core of our midfield. Fair enough we didn't play well but neither did Utd. They will drop points throughout the season as they have looked very average in the two games v us.

I think it will be close but firmly believe we will be top come the end of May.

Holt Stevenson Boyle Fontaine McGeouch all utterly abysmal. Manager under pressure now. Dundee United not a good team at all.

Ronster117
Bring on the next game.... onwards and upwards

shreevesy
02-12-2016, 08:59 PM
Agree with the comments -crowds are massively up hibs must have money to spend and better quality is needed.

We simply must win this league.

However I have to say I enjoyed the football more under Stubbs. It's not great at the moment under Lennon

As someone said earlier on this thread we are regressing under Lennon. Poor performance tonight and we really need to get going in this league. January window needs to be maxed if we are to get out of here.

02-12-2016, 09:00 PM
Gonny have to splash a bit (short term deal) cash.

Crying out for a couple of decent wingers to give us options when formations aren't working.

02-12-2016, 09:01 PM
Can everyone just take a few deep breaths before posting on here after negative results! :dunno:

We were unlucky to lose what will be our toughest match of the league and that's without the core of our midfield. Fair enough we didn't play well but neither did Utd. They will drop points throughout the season as they have looked very average in the two games v us.

How many points were we ahead just a few weeks ago?
That's why it is disappointing when you have a chance to put them to bed we bottle it!!!!

02-12-2016, 09:02 PM
Chill.... we will perform at a higher level than them in the majority of the season. The gap will open up again quite soon. They were at their best tonight we were not.

But we're not at our best often and we've failed to beat that orange crap twice now.

rotherhamrob
02-12-2016, 09:03 PM
I don't think we deserved to lose, however I also thought both teams were poor.
Without sjm and ff we are a far poorer side and I'm not exactly sure what Lennon tactics are but it really is verging on hoofball. The only plus is we are still top while not playing particularly well and I don't think utd will keep their run going.

shreevesy
02-12-2016, 09:04 PM
That's why it is disappointing when you have a chance to put them to bed we bottle it!!!!

7 points they have made up, let that sink in 7 points. If that doesn't worry any Hibs man then they are truly deluded. Someone has just taken the cover of the abyss.

We are weakened without Fyvie and SJM and will be well ahead of DU by March.

asayers
Chance to pull 6 clear and we produce that, never looked like scoring. Boyle's first touch was terrible all night and we reverted to going back to front most of the night thus bypassed our better players by missing out the midfield. When the midfield did get involved (not very often tonight) the pace was so slow, always looking to move the ball back to the defence, never forward! We won't romp anything playing this way....far to slow, even when the ball goes out for a throw it takes an age to get things moving - is this a tactic or just slow thought process on our part? Been reading all week about how it's not a big deal if we lose tonight....mmmm yes it is!!!!

It was certainly a penalty, poor defending.

Clattered and clumsy. Yes.
OK let's just say your right...am that fed up tonight I cannae be arsed arguing with u

02-12-2016, 09:05 PM
Dont you think there should be, considering the amount of preparation we've had for this division compared to theirs?

Definitely. We've been chasing shadows for 2 seasons then should be in prime position ourselves to get a lead before the obvious challengers find their feet.

This is what happens when you have 6 defenders in your starting line up.

We missed McGinn and Fyvie massively today, emergency midfield signing needed ASAP. We're very unlucky to lose both at the same time but what we have to replace them lacks any kind of creation/offensive threat whatsoever.

I honestly think a lot of this stems from Neil Lennon's lack of summer signings in the areas required. If we don't start looking at left backs soon I'll be astonished. :confused:

heid the baw
2 pish teams in a pish league.
Terrible game. No quality on the park. Holt is a disgrace, Cummings is a far more entertaining players but no longer starts. Lennon will get them up, I am pretty sure of that, but as far as cup runs or entertainment are concerned can I refer you to Bobby Williamson

02-12-2016, 09:08 PM
We were honking.

Or maybe we have found our level as a pish championship team?

Not good enough at all and Lennon better fix it ASAP.

Islington Hibs
02-12-2016, 09:09 PM

That is probably right and I guess we remain favourites but this team is not clicking often enough and we seem to have major problems with our strikers. Cummings has been dropped and who knows what his relationship with Lennon is but I guess his confidence has taken a big knock, Holt is past it and not good enough. Keattings is injured, Boyle has a very poor conversion rate and Graham well the jury is out. We continue to lack bite.

We have given up a seven point advantage over Dundee Utd who themselves look pretty average. If that is not a concern I am not sure what is.

I very much hope to be proved wrong but the outstanding team -spirit built up under Stubbs is just not there.

On the positive our defence is strong as is the mid-field when all fit, thus we remain very difficult to score against but there are clear warning signs and I don't think we are anywhere near as good as last season on current form.

Galahibby
02-12-2016, 09:09 PM
Martin Boyle's girlfriend might want to teach him how to take a decent penalty!

Leith's finest
02-12-2016, 09:12 PM
I would like to see Paul Hanlon take the pens, anytime in a pens shoot out he has looked confident and scored, Dylan was very poor tonight, Holt very lucky to stay on pitch, thought Lennon would haved subbed Holt after the dispute he had, in saying that we were very poor tonight and only lost to a penalty

02-12-2016, 09:15 PM
The thing that really hacks me off is, with still 10-15 to play, our players - every free-kick/throw-in/corner etc - were STILL just casually jogging-up to take it !. It just looks like no desire, no energy, no yearning to at least grab an equaliser, let alone win the game !. I thought that this 'casual approach' was something Lennon woukd boot into touch when he came here but no signs of that happening !

Frogga
02-12-2016, 09:19 PM

We had a dip but Lennon got it sorted in the last few games.

Sleep on it and you'll realise that it wasn't such a bad defeat and that (if I'm right) we'll have forgotten about it by the end of the season.

United are competent but will struggle to take control of this league.

02-12-2016, 09:20 PM
Yes! The team needs freshened up in January, but the problem is Dundee United can also freshen theirs!
I thought we would have had a good grip on this League long before now and pushing on, not dwindling down our points advantage to goal difference?
We don't need loan players we need Hibs players who need to win the League to better themselves and not going back to their loan teams not bothered what happened!!!!

02-12-2016, 09:20 PM
7 points they have made up, let that sink in 7 points. If that doesn't worry any Hibs man then they are truly deluded. Someone has just taken the cover of the abyss.

This. Just talking about this in the boozer. We were abysmal tonight truly abysmal.

02-12-2016, 09:22 PM
Was t at the game Given Mcginn and Fuvie were missing i was expectiong a point , but to come away with nothing means its all about how we respond in the next few games
We cant afford more dropped points or United could pull away
The fact we didnt score and didnt create is a worry Can we continue to not play our top scorer ? Al the strikers will contribute goals but Cummings is the only one proven to score in five or six games in a row .Yep he will have his barren spells ,but he always bounced back
If he isnt going to start games then cash in as he is no use on the bench ,and he would of tucked the pen away
But maybe Holt and Boyle put in a power of work in other ways that justified thier selection
United will get a lift from this result ,we need to ensure we bounce straight back
We are still top but would rather we start to open up a gap or United will strengthen feeling they can win the Championship as its still all to play for
I am not bothered about an exciting title race We need to go up and the sooner we look like doing that we can start planning for next sesson