View Full Version : Away support v United

20-11-2016, 11:50 AM
Unless we get to latter stages or draw the 2-0 muck up kings in the SC, then United away will be or biggest game of the season.

I know it's on telly and on a Friday night but let's try and get a massive support up to Tannadice.

The team appear, certainly on Twitter anyway, really seem to appreciate it.

A win and we go 6 points clear.

20-11-2016, 11:54 AM
Unless we get to latter stages or draw the 2-0 muck up kings in the SC, then United away will be or biggest game of the season.

I know it's on telly and on a Friday night but let's try and get a massive support up to Tannadice.

The team appear, certainly on Twitter anyway, really seem to appreciate it.

A win and we go 6 points clear.

This is a massive game for us. We've always taken a very decent support when playing both Dundee clubs in the past. I think this could be a massive hibernian support travelling to Tannadice with a raucous atmosphere from us to give the players a 12th man lift.

20-11-2016, 11:54 AM
As much as i always want to hibs to win every game. Tricky game, a point is ok. Make no mistake i dont think lennon will set us up to play for a point. Looking at uniteds last 6 or so fixtures only once have they beat a team by more than one goal. I really fancy us here, 3-0 hibs.

Massive vocal support full of booze will drive us on home.

20-11-2016, 12:00 PM
Really looking forward to this, 2 tickets purchased for me and the auld man :thumbsup:

20-11-2016, 12:18 PM
I'll be going but holding out in the hope behind the goals is opened up.

Dundee Hibee
20-11-2016, 12:49 PM
I'll be there seeing as I live in Dundee just now, staying here I have seen them a few times this season (with a workmate) and they struggle to score the goals their play deserves, (sound familiar?).
I think it will be a good open game won by who ever takes their chances, so I predict a 1-1 draw. :greengrin

20-11-2016, 01:07 PM
Grew up in Angus and barely missed a Hibs game at Tannadice in the last few years, but I'm out of the country for this one. Gutted.

20-11-2016, 01:08 PM

Me too. I wonder how many have been sold so far?

BH Hibs
20-11-2016, 01:42 PM
3 O'clock on the Saturday and we would've took a massive away support up there. Even a Sunday would've been better but not too sure with a Friday night ko. TV wasting it a bit again but that debates been done to death.

20-11-2016, 02:03 PM
Upper tier selling quite well, think looking at the online tickets sales, there's only one section left on upper tier, and a few in the lower tier available. Looking quite good so far

20-11-2016, 02:15 PM
How come when we headed to Tannadice in the top league there was rarely tickets on sale...and yet, this seems to be all ticket??...i think a pay at the gate approach would have got a big support up...

20-11-2016, 02:21 PM
TV has messed this up big time in terms of support. We would've been running a bus but as it is on a Friday night there just wasn't the demand. I think there will be decent numbers but not massive.

20-11-2016, 03:38 PM
4 of us going up. But think TV will effect the attendance

tanfield
20-11-2016, 03:56 PM
4 non regular away fans heading up

20-11-2016, 04:29 PM
Surely a sell out?
Biggest game of season so far.

20-11-2016, 04:32 PM
TV has messed this up big time in terms of support. We would've been running a bus but as it is on a Friday night there just wasn't the demand. I think there will be decent numbers but not massive.

The TV coverage could have a bigger effect on the home attendance so in a way it could work in our favour.

20-11-2016, 04:47 PM
3 O'clock on the Saturday and we would've took a massive away support up there. Even a Sunday would've been better but not too sure with a Friday night ko. TV wasting it a bit again but that debates been done to death.

I'm optimistic there will be a big Hibs support up, we took big supports to Motherwell for Friday night games.

The East Lothian Hibs bus will be full, probably for the first time this season to an away game.

20-11-2016, 05:17 PM
4 of us going. Heading there early for beers and gonna stay in hotel to have a few more beers and celebrate a Hibs win

LustForLeith
20-11-2016, 05:25 PM
Quite temted to go, not been to Tannadice for ages. Pies used to be the best around.

20-11-2016, 05:54 PM
I think Friday nights are good for games once in a while. Most people are finished work by 5 on a Friday so plenty time to get up there. Only takes just over an hour. Leaves rest of the weekend free as well.

linlithgowhibbie
20-11-2016, 07:01 PM
Linlithgow and Bo'ness also have a bus going up (some seats left) which is unusual for a friday TV game:thumbsup:

andrew70
20-11-2016, 07:06 PM
How come when we headed to Tannadice in the top league there was rarely tickets on sale...and yet, this seems to be all ticket??...i think a pay at the gate approach would have got a big support up...

I think it may be related to our away ticket scheme.

The tickets I received for Ayr looked like Hibs had printed them themselves.

Pay at the gate will likely still be available dependant on ticket sales, in the meantime, of course.

Fifehibby74
20-11-2016, 08:46 PM
Might be being a bit thick here but how come I can't get tickets online for united game? 4 of us going up.

20-11-2016, 08:52 PM
Might be being a bit thick here but how come I can't get tickets online for united game? 4 of us going up.

Initial allocation sold out perhaps?

20-11-2016, 08:55 PM

You can get 4 online now

Fifehibby74
20-11-2016, 08:59 PM
Cheers I'll check it out

20-11-2016, 09:47 PM
Really hope fans make the effort to go to this.

Team deserve the support and would look great on TV a full away end at side and hibs goals.

Hopefully 4000+ make the trip

20-11-2016, 10:19 PM
How far is the stadium from the train station? Last train to Glasgow is at 9.55pm so pushing it for time.

20-11-2016, 10:43 PM
How far is the stadium from the train station? Last train to Glasgow is at 9.55pm so pushing it for time.

It's a good 25 minute walk...

21-11-2016, 01:21 AM
Not being getting to many games of late but Friday night should be good for me and the lad to make this game.

21-11-2016, 01:37 AM
TV has messed this up big time in terms of support. We would've been running a bus but as it is on a Friday night there just wasn't the demand. I think there will be decent numbers but not massive.sorry Vinny, but I disagree. the amount of enquiries I have had for our bus is much better than we have had all season. we will have a 49 seater, and it's lookining good.. we will be there

21-11-2016, 01:58 AM
Really hope fans make the effort to go to this.

Team deserve the support and would look great on TV a full away end at side and hibs goals.

Hopefully 4000+ make the trip

Even with the shed opened we don't get that many tickets. Only 3600.

Since1875Hibs
21-11-2016, 06:41 AM
Bus running to this one, already full.

21-11-2016, 07:59 AM
I was unsure where to sit with their numbering system so I phoned their ticket office last week for advice and I just came clean that I was a Hibs supporter...to my surprise, the voice on the end of the line said 'don't worry, so am I' and later went on to say that she is looking forward to the Scottish Cup winners visiting her workplace.

StevieCowan
21-11-2016, 08:01 AM
I was unsure where to sit with their numbering system so I phoned their ticket office last week for advice and I just came clean that I was a Hibs supporter...to my surprise, the voice on the end of the line said 'don't worry, so am I' and later went on to say that she is looking forward to the Scottish Cup winners visiting her workplace.

I know exactly who you mean as I used to work with her. A bigger Hibby you'll find hard to meet.

👍

21-11-2016, 08:51 AM
Definitely heading up, some of the mates will be going by bus but not sure if ill get a seat, need to see if there's space on any buses or it'll be train for me.

21-11-2016, 09:13 AM
Even with the shed opened we don't get that many tickets. Only 3600.

There's about another 2000 in the Jerry Kerr stand that the OF get but we won't need that. Similar distance/time to Ayr which we only took 1200 for a Saturday 3pm so we'll have about 2500 max to Tannadice i'd say.

21-11-2016, 09:34 AM
There's about another 2000 in the Jerry Kerr stand that the OF get but we won't need that. Similar distance/time to Ayr which we only took 1200 for a Saturday 3pm so we'll have about 2500 max to Tannadice i'd say.

Much easier to get to than Ayr and it's a top of the table clash.

I think we will take a large support and hope people who can make it show up - TV or not the team needs the vocal backing in numbers.

21-11-2016, 10:22 AM

I've been told the old wooden bit won't be opened, just half the upper/lower and shed if needed ad so far only one block of the shed has been given to Hibs. Don't think it will be patg either.

21-11-2016, 10:36 AM

A lot easier to get to Dundee than Ayr for the majority of folk. I think Dundee United fans get part of that stand now as well

21-11-2016, 12:16 PM
I've been told the old wooden bit won't be opened, just half the upper/lower and shed if needed ad so far only one block of the shed has been given to Hibs. Don't think it will be patg either.

Surely has to be a PATG on the night.

FastEddieFelson
21-11-2016, 12:19 PM

just checked. west stand tickets are currently on sale via the eticketing site.

DarrenSQH
21-11-2016, 12:53 PM
Grabbing my tickets today now the shed behind the goals is open.

Look forward to it.

21-11-2016, 12:58 PM
Surely has to be a PATG on the night.

Not if we sell out beforehand which is looking likely since the shed is now for sale on the e tickets site.

21-11-2016, 04:50 PM
Not if we sell out beforehand which is looking likely since the shed is now for sale on the e tickets site.they might be silly not to offer PATG naw? if they have the auld wooden bit to open? or is that a safety issue?

21-11-2016, 05:05 PM
Not if we sell out beforehand which is looking likely since the shed is now for sale on the e tickets site.

Only bit of the ground I could get 3 tickets for a few minutes ago was the shed.

Earlydelivery
21-11-2016, 05:54 PM
Was up ticket office this afternoon, only restricted left for main stand and west was on sale ,she said about 2k sold .

21-11-2016, 06:06 PM
Make sure theres return trains at night. Missedba train there once and had to scrounge the boot of a car back tae auld reekie. Slept all the way likes.

21-11-2016, 06:17 PM
Need to ask and apologies if this has already been answered. Why is this game being held a week on Friday (Dec 2nd) and not this Friday (Nov 25th)? I know the rest of the division are playing in the Scottish Cup this weekend but that doesn't really have to restrict these two teams who enter the cup in the next round? This game could potentially have been played this Friday. Just saying.

21-11-2016, 06:24 PM
Was up ticket office this afternoon, only restricted left for main stand and west was on sale ,she said about 2k sold .

2K sold so far is very encouraging at this stage. I would be surprised if Dundee Utd are happy to turn away fans if there are empty seats, so surely more will become available should demand remain high.

21-11-2016, 06:32 PM
Better buy my ticket now

21-11-2016, 06:54 PM
Need to ask and apologies if this has already been answered. Why is this game being held a week on Friday (Dec 2nd) and not this Friday (Nov 25th)? I know the rest of the division are playing in the Scottish Cup this weekend but that doesn't really have to restrict these two teams who enter the cup in the next round? This game could potentially have been played this Friday. Just saying.

Then it would leave us with a free week the following weekend

21-11-2016, 07:18 PM
West stand holds 1800 so total allocation of 3600. Should be enough.

Don't think we can get anymore as united are selling to home fans for east stand, George fox and jerry Kerr stand.

Slim Shady
21-11-2016, 08:43 PM
Bus leaving from Corstorphine Inn at 5pm for this match with some seats left.

Please PM if interested.

21-11-2016, 09:11 PM
Then it would leave us with a free week the following weekend

Yeah, but we could bring the Dumbarton game forward to that weekend. :greengrin

Saturday Boy
21-11-2016, 09:15 PM

Oh no!!! That would make Christmas a week early 😳

21-11-2016, 09:15 PM

Haha. Just do that every week. Means we will seal the league title a week earlier

21-11-2016, 09:31 PM
Nine purchased for the Shed. Canny wait :aok:

21-11-2016, 10:09 PM
Three just bought for the West/shed

21-11-2016, 11:15 PM
It's a good 25 minute walk...

Bollocks to that then. Throw in I need to take the day off work on top off having to miss the last 20 mins of the game. Reckon will be TV for me.

resident_Arab
22-11-2016, 12:21 AM
West stand holds 1800 so total allocation of 3600. Should be enough.

Don't think we can get anymore as united are selling to home fans for east stand, George fox and jerry Kerr stand.

West stand (shed) holds 2100

Fairplay stand is around 1400-1500

That is your allocation

The only other area possible to make available after that is one section of the Jerry Kerr which would be an extra couple hundred or so as the other end of that is for home fans (only been split a couple times, once against Dundee and once against Aberdeen)

22-11-2016, 01:11 AM
I'm optimistic there will be a big Hibs support up, we took big supports to Motherwell for Friday night games.

The East Lothian Hibs bus will be full, probably for the first time this season to an away game.I agree re-the previous M/Well games. Like you, I fully expect our bus to be full. well over 40 names down, and waiting on a couple of answers. we will have a great support up there.

22-11-2016, 01:24 AM
Bollocks to that then. Throw in I need to take the day off work on top off having to miss the last 20 mins of the game. Reckon will be TV for me.

The last train is the 22:43 from Dundee to Edinburgh. Certainly doable unless we're held back which would mean a brisk walk instead of a stroll.

22-11-2016, 01:26 AM
they might be silly not to offer PATG naw? if they have the auld wooden bit to open? or is that a safety issue?

It's looking like utd won't have any tickets left to sell us on the night at the gate.

22-11-2016, 07:19 AM
The last train is the 22:43 from Dundee to Edinburgh. Certainly doable unless we're held back which would mean a brisk walk instead of a stroll.

Aye, I'm no going back to Edinburgh though. Last train to Glasgow is 21.55

22-11-2016, 07:22 AM

That's a surprise Vini. I think there is a big support heading up there.

22-11-2016, 07:23 AM
Aye, I'm no going back to Edinburgh though. Last train to Glasgow is 21.55

I can get you a lift there and back mate. Send me a Pm if you're interested in going.

PiemanP
22-11-2016, 08:06 AM
I think the Whole Friday night football reduces the away attendance thing is a bit of a myth. Off the top of my head I can only recall being away to Motherwell on a Friday night in Fenlon'a first game (?) and we took a very big support. In England too Friday night games attract very large away supports.

perhaps it's just a different type of fan who is more likely to go to the Friday games than a Saturday.

22-11-2016, 11:43 AM
Online it says West Stand W1 - what section is that ?

Looks like 5 sections behind the goals.

FastEddieFelson
22-11-2016, 01:28 PM
Online it says West Stand W1 - what section is that ?

Looks like 5 sections behind the goals.

i sort of assumed W1 would be the section on the left in this picture (http://2.bp.blogspot.com/_v6Mfxj-5jOs/TUdd76gVPqI/AAAAAAAAALQ/scxI8qHKZiI/s1600/P1010625.JPG), because the W1 tickets start from #1. you tend to count left to right whilst facing the stand, don't you? you do at easter road, at least. think tynecastle does it the other way, mind.

maybe resident_Arab is able to tell us...? :wink:

22-11-2016, 01:47 PM
Tickets arrived this morning, bring it on.

22-11-2016, 02:17 PM
Don't think the Friday night factor will dampen the crowd, especially the younger fans who seem to really fancy these games. The atmosphere should be great as well as people will be able to get bevvied before the game.

22-11-2016, 02:22 PM
So has anyone confirmed our total allocation other than our Arab pal?

22-11-2016, 02:25 PM
Got my tickets today, in the shed. This match is a 6 pointer likes

scooby
22-11-2016, 02:54 PM
Got 5 tickets for the shed, can't wait.

22-11-2016, 05:38 PM
I canny believe it being a Friday night seemingly puts folk off. Friday night's a class time for a kick-off. Half day at work, half day holiday, boozer for one o'clock then supporters bus up. Struggling to think of a better way to spend a Friday :scarf::party:

22-11-2016, 05:39 PM
Will Dundee United be close to selling out the home stands I wonder.

22-11-2016, 05:43 PM
I canny believe it being a Friday night seemingly puts folk off. Friday night's a class time for a kick-off. Half day at work, half day holiday, boozer for one o'clock then supporters bus up. Struggling to think of a better way to spend a Friday :scarf::party:

I'm actually going to the game because I can make it up after finishing at 5 but I'd find it hard to justify using my holidays to be able to make it.

22-11-2016, 05:54 PM
Will Dundee United be close to selling out the home stands I wonder.

Doubtful, they've only got about 5000 ST holders

renato
22-11-2016, 05:57 PM

I hope they do though. Full home end, c. 4k Hibbies and hopefully a cracking game.

22-11-2016, 06:00 PM
I hope they do though. Full home end, c. 4k Hibbies and hopefully a cracking game.

Would be good but i can't see it. We don't get 4000 tickets though. Plus it's too easy to go to the pub and spend the £22 entrance fee on bevy and watch the game.

22-11-2016, 06:14 PM
First away game of the season. Should be a cracking atmosphere

renato
22-11-2016, 08:48 PM
Would be good but i can't see it. We don't get 4000 tickets though. Plus it's too easy to go to the pub and spend the £22 entrance fee on bevy and watch the game.

We've got 3600 and looking good to sell out. I'm hoping the couple hundred spill over then becomes available and we're then edging closer to 4k. Loads of people I've spoken to, who don't normally do away games, are going to this one so hopefully others are likeminded too.

Either way, big and noisy backing for a top of the table clash - can't wait!

22-11-2016, 10:13 PM

If you'd rather spend £22 in the pub than watching the cabbage then you can't be that bothered about the club. This season, home and away, we should be packing places out and getting the boys over the line in this ****ty league! Friday night in Dundee, I don't think there is much better away games/times.

22-11-2016, 10:54 PM
Obviously would have sold this out easily had it not been hoored out to Sky at this ludicrous time. Still might come close as the games against United will be the hot ticket in the flag race.

Anywhere from 2,500 to capacity of 3,400 is likely.

24-11-2016, 06:46 AM
If you'd [/B]rather spend £22 in the pub than watching the cabbage then you can't be that bothered about the club. This season, home and away, we should be packing places out and getting the boys over the line in this ****ty league! Friday night in Dundee, I don't think there is much better away games/times.

I'll be at the game, away season ticket holder.

24-11-2016, 07:56 AM

Didn't realise you were an away season ticket holder, never seen you mention it on here before ;-)

24-11-2016, 09:41 AM

Wasn't meaning you directly Hermit, "You" was a generic term to those spending the night in the pub rather than going the biggest game of our season so far to cheer on the boys.

24-11-2016, 10:35 AM
Thought by now that W2 would have been on sale?!

24-11-2016, 07:28 PM

Sales may have slowed somewhat.

24-11-2016, 07:29 PM
Didn't realise you were an away season ticket holder, never seen you mention it on here before ;-)

Have I not? Must have slipped my mind :greengrin

24-11-2016, 07:30 PM
Wasn't meaning you directly Hermit, "You" was a generic term to those spending the night in the pub rather than going the biggest game of our season so far to cheer on the boys.

Theres definitely a few who are going to the pub to watch the game instead.

DarrenSQH
25-11-2016, 10:12 AM

I got seat number 29 and from having looked online the first section has about 14 seats so im guessing that more than one section counts as W1.

25-11-2016, 11:41 AM
I got seat number 29 and from having looked online the first section has about 14 seats so im guessing that more than one section counts as W1.

Good point - so think we are into the second section behind the goals plus the side upper and lower.

25-11-2016, 11:47 AM
If you'd rather spend £22 in the pub than watching the cabbage then you can't be that bothered about the club. This season, home and away, we should be packing places out and getting the boys over the line in this ****ty league! Friday night in Dundee, I don't think there is much better away games/times.

Pointless comment. Are you judge and jury on how much Hibs means to folk?

Saint Hibee
25-11-2016, 11:55 AM
Not been to Tannadice before; any recommendations for where to sit? Choice seems to be between Upper F (restricted) and West W1. Thanks.

FastEddieFelson
25-11-2016, 12:58 PM
Not been to Tannadice before; any recommendations for where to sit? Choice seems to be between Upper F (restricted) and West W1. Thanks.

pretty sure the west is the gentleman's stand of choice

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 01:27 PM

4,600 actually, down from 5,100 last season, record sales 5,700 in 2005

And only? That's comfortably more than anyone outwith yourselves and the obvious four clubs in the Premiership, it's also 1,100 more than Dundee despite our relegation and the very negative vibe around Tannadice and our support for the previous eighteen months (not comparable to on the back of a cup win)

We'll have a good home support as always, would imagine 7-8k, hopefully tv won't affect things much, this game won't decide anything afterall

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 01:29 PM
Be good if hibs managed a couple thousand plus for a change like we did the previous two years in the league cup so hope sales are going well

25-11-2016, 01:46 PM
Be good if hibs managed a couple thousand plus for a change like we did the previous two years in the league cup so hope sales are going well

Would imagine we've sold a fair bit more than 2000 already.

25-11-2016, 01:50 PM

Are you sure United brought more than 2000 to each of those games?

You had the bottom tier only ( which is less than 2k seats) each game and there were spare seats at both games.

Earlydelivery
25-11-2016, 01:57 PM
hibs
Hibs have more season ticket holders than you and Dundee put together .

stuart-farquhar
25-11-2016, 02:00 PM

You had the bottom tier only ( which is less than 2k seats) each game and there were spare seats at both games.

And of course the attraction of a trip to Edinburgh as opposed to......

25-11-2016, 02:06 PM

Don't want to get into the 'my Dad's bigger than your Dad' stuff but there's no way on God's earth did Utd have anything like 2000 at the LC game last season.

25-11-2016, 02:11 PM
Don't want to get into the 'my Dad's bigger than your Dad' stuff but there's no way on God's earth did Utd have anything like 2000 at the LC game last season.

The bottom tier holds 1800, maybe he added a 0 to many and meant 200

Canon Hannan
25-11-2016, 02:35 PM
We will take 3000 plus to play Dundee Hibernian.

Friday night game and we need a good backing!

25-11-2016, 02:49 PM
4,600 actually, down from 5,100 last season, record sales 5,700 in 2005

And only? That's comfortably more than anyone outwith yourselves and the obvious four clubs in the Premiership, it's also 1,100 more than Dundee despite our relegation and the very negative vibe around Tannadice and our support for the previous eighteen months (not comparable to on the back of a cup win)

We'll have a good home support as always, would imagine 7-8k, hopefully tv won't affect things much, this game won't decide anything afterall

So what? He was only saying how many season ticket holders u had u seem to have a right chip on your shoulder about hibs like

25-11-2016, 02:52 PM

Was that you adding the 2 games together?

Earlydelivery
25-11-2016, 02:55 PM
That's west 2 on sale now .:top marks

JDHibs
25-11-2016, 03:08 PM
Resident Arab - I cant believe you correct someone when they gave your team the benefit of an extra 400 fans.

A bit petty.

patlowe
25-11-2016, 03:35 PM

1300 tops

25-11-2016, 04:25 PM
What channel is match on tonight.

25-11-2016, 04:43 PM
What channel is match on tonight.

Channel 0.

(it's next week :wink:)

25-11-2016, 04:45 PM

25-11-2016, 04:46 PM
Oops compy error lol

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 05:06 PM

I know we had 2249 at the 3-3 game, less the year after

Think you'll find we did have fans in the upper tier unless this footage is lying?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inDX-kokrQ0

I don't tell fibs

25-11-2016, 05:10 PM
I know we had 2249 at the 3-3 game, less the year after

Think you'll find we did have fans in the upper tier unless this footage is lying?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=inDX-kokrQ0

I believe you had that at the 3-3 game, however last season you had nowhere near that.

Dinnae you be worrying about the Hibs support next Friday, it will be big.

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 05:10 PM
1300 tops

Wrong, was a good bit more than that

What is it with Hibs and insecurity, thought that would have left after May

Earlydelivery
25-11-2016, 05:21 PM
Insecurity ! Really I would also go with 1200 max .

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 05:25 PM
Insecurity ! Really I would also go with 1200 max .

You're also wrong, but i was referring to the responses to my "couple thousand for a change" , I know Hibs will have a good support up, you should have, we'll have a good support down on Friday night in early January too

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 05:31 PM
Anyway, enough of this daft debating

This time next week we'll all be looking forward to the game, should be a cracking atmosphere and outwith the ref being a factor there will be no excuses from me if Hibs win as we should be at full strength etc

25-11-2016, 05:51 PM
Anyway, enough of this daft debating

This time next week we'll all be looking forward to the game, should be a cracking atmosphere and outwith the ref being a factor there will be no excuses from me if Hibs win as we should be at full strength etc

I was you being pedantic that started it!

25-11-2016, 05:55 PM
Looking forward to the game, think it'll be a good one. Can see it being tight, either a draw or a 2-1 or 1-0 win.

25-11-2016, 08:34 PM
Ultimately out with the Old Firm there are only three clubs that can pull 10k plus home fans on a regular basis.

Aberdeen, Hearts and Hibernian.

Dundee Utd can probably pull 7000 on a good day. Shame as it would be good if clubs like Killie, Motherwell and Dundee Utd had more fans but sadly that's Scottish football for you.

25-11-2016, 08:45 PM
That's west 2 on sale now .:top marks

Looks like thats the 2nd block on sale! :aok:

Hopefully we keep snapping the tickets up and fill behind the goals - decent atmosphere in the shed and imagine most will hopefully be standing.

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 09:24 PM
Ultimately out with the Old Firm there are only three clubs that can pull 10k plus home fans on a regular basis.

Aberdeen, Hearts and Hibernian.

Dundee Utd can probably pull 7000 on a good day. Shame as it would be good if clubs like Killie, Motherwell and Dundee Utd had more fans but sadly that's Scottish football for you.

We aren't really in the bracket of those clubs as we are clearly bigger, those clubs you mention should be pulling in five figures tbf, on a good day we can pull 8-9k home fans and on the odd occasion five figures (europe, the odd derby, play off, the game after eddie thompson passed there were just under 11k home fans v St Mirren), 6-7k is more average for us not a good day.

Hibs are getting cracking crowds this year but have had disproportionately poor crowds at times as well, as have the sheep, the year before McInnes took over they had under 7k fans for a league game with us at Pittodrie

resident_Arab
25-11-2016, 09:25 PM
Looks like thats the 2nd block on sale! :aok:

Hopefully we keep snapping the tickets up and fill behind the goals - decent atmosphere in the shed and imagine most will hopefully be standing.

The two end blocks are slightly smaller, the three middle blocks hold 500 each

sbell1875
25-11-2016, 09:28 PM
After my faulty shower & car didn't cost anywhere near as much as I was expecting to fix I'll be buying my ticket over the weekend and collecting early next week.

First away match of the season and I can't wait!

25-11-2016, 10:02 PM
We aren't really in the bracket of those clubs as we are clearly bigger, those clubs you mention should be pulling in five figures tbf, on a good day we can pull 8-9k home fans and on the odd occasion five figures (europe, the odd derby, play off, the game after eddie thompson passed there were just under 11k home fans v St Mirren), 6-7k is more average for us not a good day.

Hibs are getting cracking crowds this year but have had disproportionately poor crowds at times as well, as have the sheep, the year before McInnes took over they had under 7k fans for a league game with us at Pittodrie

Agreed Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen should pull bigger crowds being bigger clubs and 8000 fans on a good day isn't great. I would actually argue teams like Dunfermline have the potential to have more fans than Dundee Utd. I certainly recal there being a spell when they had a good following.

Football fans come from all over to support their particular club. Traditionally Hibs fans came from Leith but this changed when Leith joined Edinburgh to some extent. But ultimately that is irrelevant as clubs are what they are. There is a big gap between the Old Firm and Hibs, Heaarts and Aberdeen. And there is also a gap to the next level Dundee Utd, Dundee etc. Granted Dundee Utd do have a slightly larger fan base than the rest.

25-11-2016, 10:11 PM
Agreed and 8000 fans on a good day isn't great. I would actually argue teams like Dunfermline have the potential to have more fans than Dundee Utd. I certainly recal there being a spell when they had a good following.

I've seen before that Dundee United have the most consistent crowds of the last 30 years i.e. Their attendances never change much up or down regardless of if they're doing well or not. So possibly a successful Dunfermline could get higher crowds than united.

25-11-2016, 10:14 PM
I've seen before that Dundee United have the most consistent crowds of the last 30 years i.e. Their attendances never change much up or down regardless of if they're doing well or not. So possibly a successful Dunfermline could get higher crowds than united.
True - Dundee United are a very well run club who have always achieved better than their resources (recent seasons not included).

I have loads respect for them and Scottish football needs them in the top flight.

26-11-2016, 07:22 AM
To be honest I'm getting a bit tired of outsiders with their sly digs about our crowds.

They probably don't have a clue about the transient nature of our population and the fact that around 2/3rds of the people in Edinburgh weren't born here and might have no connection to the city at all.

In real terms, the two Edinburgh teams are doing ok and if anyone from a daft wee town who nobody is really interested in wants to quote percentages then they can get lost.

26-11-2016, 07:30 AM
True - Dundee United are a very well run club who have always achieved better than their resources (recent seasons not included).

I have loads respect for them and Scottish football needs them in the top flight.

We don't need them at all.

People who are gushing over their consistent crowds over the last 30 years need to remember that they've not really been around any longer than that and that's all they have. Nobody had ****ing heard of them before the 1980's.

While I'd like to see them back eventually in a league where wealth is distributed fairly, a successful Dundee, St. Mirren, Dunfermline or Greenock Morton would be just as much of an asset.

26-11-2016, 08:17 AM
Wrong, was a good bit more than that

What is it with Hibs and insecurity, thought that would have left after May

What is it with Hibs and insecurity?

The only connection we have with that trait nowadays is the one that the Glasgow based media likes to project. The lazy idiots who know absolutely nothing about our club seem to lap it up and still make the connection but that's fine with us.

We don't tell fibs about our crowds either but I suppose a couple of hundred either way is a big deal to you guys.

You're about to find out the effect that "May" had on us. Enjoy the play-offs.

26-11-2016, 08:37 AM

The only connection we have with that trait nowadays is the one that the Glasgow based media likes to project. The lazy idiots who know absolutely nothing about our club seem to lap it up and still make the connection but that's fine with us.

We don't tell fibs about our crowds either but I suppose a couple of hundred either way is a big deal to you guys.

Dundee United will be down for at least 2 seasons. We are averaging 14,500 in our third season in the Championship (with the 3rd highest priced season tickets in Scotland).

Let's do a wee comparison with United if/when they are in their 3rd year in the second tier.

26-11-2016, 08:56 AM
Give resident_Arab a break man. He is only defending his team and he comes across pretty well IMO.

26-11-2016, 09:47 AM
Ltaf :-)

26-11-2016, 11:09 AM
Give resident_Arab a break man. He is only defending his team and he comes across pretty well IMO.

I'll give him a break when we're 7 or 8 points clear in the league. Right now we're a bit too close for comfort. ;-)

26-11-2016, 03:14 PM
Every team in Scotland has had a dip in attendances, when I first started to go to Easter Road a crowd of 56000 was the norm for big games.
Now with a seated Stadium it has been brought down to 20000 approx and no one can turn up and walk in to a pay at the gate because of segregation!
Even the Old Firm have halved their attendances with new stadia.
Ibrox before: 106000 now: 51000
Parkhead before: 83500 now: 60000
Tynecastle before: 44000 now circa 20000

It would seem that regulators are killing the game, and making it harder to encourage neutrals to go to games( i.e. tourists ect.)????

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 03:54 PM

I'm merely correcting inaccuracies from Hibs fans on here about Utd, I've not mentioned Hibs crowds much and certainly not inaccuracies about them, I've said me then once you're getting cracking crowds this season (which is a big part down to the feel good factor after may)

Our crowds this season are excellent and on the back of the most negative vibe at our club in years and a horrendous eighteen months results wise where we went from having one of the best teams in the country (better than both our current sides by a distance) to losing most weeks after selling key players en masse

26-11-2016, 03:58 PM
I'm merely correcting inaccuracies from Hibs fans on here about Utd, I've not mentioned Hibs crowds much and certainly not inaccuracies about them, I've said me then once you're getting cracking crowds this season (which is a big part down to the feel good factor after may)

Our crowds this season are excellent and on the back of the most negative vibe at our club in years and a horrendous eighteen months results wise where we went from having one of the best teams in the country (better than both our current sides by a distance) to losing most weeks after selling key players en masse

Your crowds are hardly excellent. I don't think you have had over 8000 home fans at a match all season.

Since1875Hibs
26-11-2016, 04:07 PM
Embarrassing on here at times, we're a capital city club, of course we're going to pull bigger supports than Dundee Utd?

Too much "my Da is bigger than your Da" pish on here.

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 04:10 PM
Agreed Hibs, Hearts and Aberdeen should pull bigger crowds being bigger clubs and 8000 fans on a good day isn't great. I would actually argue teams like Dunfermline have the potential to have more fans than Dundee Utd. I certainly recal there being a spell when they had a good following.

Football fans come from all over to support their particular club. Traditionally Hibs fans came from Leith but this changed when Leith joined Edinburgh to some extent. But ultimately that is irrelevant as clubs are what they are. There is a big gap between the Old Firm and Hibs, Heaarts and Aberdeen. And there is also a gap to the next level Dundee Utd, Dundee etc. Granted Dundee Utd do have a slightly larger fan base than the rest.

It is very good in Scottish terms and given we are in a two team city actually and no Dunfermline (lol) or anyone else don't have the potential to pull more than us these days, unless our crowds dipped dramatically, there are only five clubs who do, and that's despite our relegation

As for the eejit saying we were nowhere 30 years ago, since we gained promotion in 1960, we have outperformed everyone except the Old Firm and Aberdeen overall, in our first ever European appearance in the 60's we defeated Barca home and away who were the holders, lost to Juve in the following rd (won the Tannadice leg), one of only four European finalists from this country and one of only four to win the league in the Premier Division/League/ship era when you had to face the old firm 8 occasions in a season (more difficult than in the old 18 team setup)

As for us definitely being down a second year, well maybe so, but I'll be more confident going into playoffs (should we fail to win the league) as a Utd fan than I would a Hibs fan, we won our only playoff to gain promotion last time in 1996 in the most dramatic fashion (seconds from staying down, last gasp equaliser in 90th min and won in extra time vs Partick with over 10k home fans) which more than made up for finishing 2nd

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=0_fqe509qlI

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 04:15 PM
Your crowds are hardly excellent. I don't think you have had over 8000 home fans at a match all season.

Of course they are excellent, they're isn't another club out with the obvious five who after going through the eighteen months we just had would be pulling 5500-7000 home fans for games against the likes of Dumbarton etc, it's certainly at worst respectable, especially given atleast half the fanbase were refusing to comeback while Thompson remained at one point with protests outside Tannadice in April

It's fun educating "some" ignorant opposition fans ;)

Canon Hannan
26-11-2016, 04:15 PM
United have a good support due to consistently producing good teams year on year. Hibs have a huge sleeping support from Fife, Edinburgh and the Borders. 14-15,000 in the 3rd year in a Championship is good. We can also take 3-4000 away. Hopefully we can take a good support to the game. Forget the pub or TV and get to the game!

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 04:18 PM
United have a good support due to consistently producing good teams year on year. Hibs have a huge sleeping support from Fife, Edinburgh and the Borders. 14-15,000 in the 3rd year in a Championship is good. We can also take 3-4000 away. Hopefully we can take a good support to the game. Forget the pub or TV and get to the game!

True, Hibs have a big support, but no one has said hibs can't do that or said your crowds weren't good tbf

Utd strangely have a relatively decent sized out of town support, Glasgow, Stirling and Lanarkshire etc buses to every home game , nothing like the Sheep's but more than many clubs

26-11-2016, 04:24 PM
Of course they are excellent, they're isn't another club out with the obvious five who after going through the eighteen months we just had would be pulling 5500-7000 home fans for games against the likes of Dumbarton etc, it's certainly at worst respectable, especially given atleast half the fanbase were refusing to comeback while Thompson remained at one point with protests outside Tannadice in April

Dundee Utds support this season (home support)is where it usually is. As for the name calling - the ignorance is more on your part. Subtle digs at Hibs support even though we consistently pull far more fans to games than your club.

As mentioned previously Hibernian pull their traditional support from Leith. However from the 1940s the town became part of Edinburgh. Hibs are a fantastical supported club especially considering the decades of underachieving.

If Hibs could have real success Easter Road would be full every week. That's the major difference as Dundee Utd would struggle to get 10,000 regardless of how good they are doing.

Canon Hannan
26-11-2016, 04:25 PM
United and Aberdeen have fans in West Lothian and Edinburgh due to the 80s. Hibs have fans all over due to the 50/60/70s who moved out of the City. Personally I feel Patrick or Dunfermline have potential. What bugs me more is HMFC thinking they have a huge support bigger than us? I don't think there is much in it. They are getting 16k while we are getting 15k. Plus they lie about numbers and state they sell out every week when in fact there are always empty seats.

26-11-2016, 04:28 PM
True, Hibs have a big support, but no one has said hibs can't do that or said your crowds weren't good tbf

Utd strangely have a relatively decent sized out of town support, Glasgow, Stirling and Lanarkshire etc buses to every home game , nothing like the Sheep's but more than many clubs

The reason for that is the team you had in the early eighties.

A lot of people in the central belt followed Utd in Europe even although they supported other clubs and the spin off was young supporters started to pick them as their club.

I know of a couple of Hibs fans whose laddies started to follow Utd when they were at uni.

Aberdeen picked up a lot of fans from the central belt around the same time.

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 04:30 PM

2007-2016
5th (LC Fnl lost on pens to Rangers after 2-2)
5th (LC SF lost on pens to Celtic after 0-0)
3rd (Scottish Cup winners, qu for Europa)
4th (qu for Europa)
6th (SC SF lost to Celtic 4-3 aet)
4th (SC Fnl lost to Saintees 2-0, did beat Sevco in SF at neutral Ibrox)
5th (LC Fnl lost to Celtic 2-0)*
12th (relegated, SC SF lost to Hibs on pens which saved is a defeat to Sevco... Thank fk and I celebrated Hibs goals wildly that day in the final)

*Were on course for a momentus season till Thompson decided to sell GMS/Armstrong to Celtic on deadline day at end of January and rip the heart of the side and the support which started the downward spiral to relegation a year later, at that stage we were up there with Celtic and Aberdeen pts wise and had literally just beat the Sheep at Hampden in the LC SF.

26-11-2016, 04:30 PM
United and Aberdeen have fans in West Lothian and Edinburgh due to the 80s. Hibs have fans all over due to the 50/60/70s who moved out of the City. Personally I feel Patrick or Dunfermline have potential. What bugs me more is HMFC thinking they have a huge support bigger than us? I don't think there is much in it. They are getting 16k while we are getting 15k. Plus they lie about numbers and state they sell out every week when in fact there are always empty seats.

Yeah lots clubs issue attendances as tickets sold. Hibs give this as actual bums on seats.

Out with Scotlands big 5 crowds in Scotland aren't great to be honest.

Too expensive?

26-11-2016, 04:32 PM
2007-2016
5th (LC Fnl lost on pens to Rangers after 2-2)
5th (LC SF lost on pens to Celtic after 0-0)
3rd (Scottish Cup winners, qu for Europa)
4th (qu for Europa)
6th (SC FS lost to Celtic 4-3 aet)
4th (SC Fnl lost to Saintees 2-0, did beat Sevco in SF at neutral Ibrox)
5th (LC Fnl lost to Celtic 2-0)*
12th (relegated, SC SF lost to Hibs on pens which saved is a defeat to Sevco... Thank fk and I celebrated home goals wildly that day in the final)

*Were on course for a momentus season till Thompson decided to sell GMS/Armstrong to Celtic on deadline day at end of January and rip the heart of the side and the support which started the dishware spiral to relegation a year later, at that stage we were up there with Celtic and Aberdeen pts wise and had literally just beat the Sheep at Hampden in the LC SF.

Can't argue with that and feel your pain!!

Earlydelivery
26-11-2016, 04:34 PM
Thats a fact ,lots of dons glory hunters in there 40s from central belt .

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 04:35 PM
Dundee Utds support this season (home support)is where it usually is. As for the name calling - the ignorance is more on your part. Subtle digs at Hibs support even though we consistently pull far more fans to games than your club.

As mentioned previously Hibernian pull their traditional support from Leith. However from the 1940s the town became part of Edinburgh. Hibs are a fantastical supported club especially considering the decades of underachieving.

If Hibs could have real success Easter Road would be full every week. That's the major difference as Dundee Utd would struggle to get 10,000 regardless of how good they are doing.

No ignorance, it's on your part and the subtle digs coming from you

I'm proud of that last difference as we have came from nothing pre 1960 to become undisputedly the 6th sized club in the country and in that time even higher with regards on field achievement, we have shoved it up the local press constantly aswell while completely silencing the myth that dundee have more fans

I think some of the slight resentment is because we aren't as big fanbase wise but have achieved more in most Hibs and Utd fans lifetime, it's ok though, Hearts are the same

26-11-2016, 04:36 PM
This thread seems to have descended to a childish level that even I would baulk at.

...and that's saying something!

26-11-2016, 04:38 PM

I'm proud of that last difference as we have came from nothing pre 1960 to become undisputedly the 6th sized club in the country and in that time even higher with regards on field achievement, we have shoved it up the local press constantly aswell while completely silencing the myth that dundee have more fans

I think some of the slight resentment is because we aren't as big fanbase wise but have achieved more in most Hibs and Utd fans lifetime, it's ok though, Hearts are the same

Nah digs are from you and your ignorance towards Hibernian is clear.

No idea what your on about as no resentment towards Dundee Utd that I know off or have ever heard from Hibs fans.
Dundee Utd are our wee cousins from Dundee after all 😉

resident_Arab
26-11-2016, 04:40 PM
Can't argue with that and feel your pain!!

Aye I know Hibs have gone through similar, our team couldn't cope as we already sold A.Robertson and Gauld, then went on to sell Ciftci

26-11-2016, 04:41 PM
Aye I know Hibs have gone through similar, our team couldn't cope as we already sold A.Robertson and Gauld, then went on to sell Ciftci

Yeah cracking players to lose. Not a good time for you guys.

Canon Hannan
26-11-2016, 05:10 PM
Hibernian, Dundee Hibernian and Celtic are all cousins 👍👍👍✌🏼️😎Hahaha tee hee

26-11-2016, 05:33 PM
Aye I know Hibs have gone through similar, our team couldn't cope as we already sold A.Robertson and Gauld, then went on to sell Ciftcion a different issue, I cant fint any away supporters information on DUFC official site. bus parking, fans routes, car parking , ends of ground etc etc. been there dozens of times, but is the bus parking still as was, the last time we met you up there? and , booozers still operating in the area?:wink:

26-11-2016, 05:55 PM

Jesus. I thought this was a hibby posting. Never read his username

26-11-2016, 06:11 PM
This thread seems to have descended to a childish level that even I would baulk at.

...and that's saying something!

If you think that the exchanges here are particularly childish I can only assume you are new here.

It doesn't really get any more sensible I'm afraid...and that's just me I'm talking about. :-)

26-11-2016, 06:21 PM
So how's the ticket sales going? :dunno:

26-11-2016, 06:22 PM
on a different issue, I cant fint any away supporters information on DUFC official site. bus parking, fans routes, car parking , ends of ground etc etc. been there dozens of times, but is the bus parking still as was, the last time we met you up there? and , booozers still operating in the area?:wink:

I've not been to Tannadice since it was terracing so I don't have a clue either.

I'm just going to take the car and wing it, hopefully parking near that Fair Muir park so I can get easy access to the A90.

26-11-2016, 06:25 PM
I've not been to Tannadice since it was terracing so I don't have a clue either.

I'm just going to take the car and wing it, hopefully parking near that Fair Muir park so I can get easy access to the A90.

Park somewhere just off/along Clepington Rd, will make it easier to get on the Dundee bypass, and it's at our end of the ground

26-11-2016, 06:28 PM
If you think that the exchanges here are particularly childish I can only assume you are new here.

It doesn't really get any more sensible I'm afraid...and that's just me I'm talking about. :-)

I joined about the same time as you

26-11-2016, 06:28 PM
Park somewhere just off/along Clepington Rd, will make it easier to get on the Dundee bypass, and it's at our end of the ground

Cheers mate :thumbsup:

FAO everyone else: he's only joking so park somewhere else!

26-11-2016, 06:29 PM

😁👍🏼

26-11-2016, 06:44 PM

Chitty chitty bang bang :greengrin

I will leave the Capital in car with son at 6 o'clock and hopefully be parked up near Dundee's ground for 7 o'clock, quick getaway at ft and home to have a moan on the match thread. :thumbsup:

26-11-2016, 07:29 PM
Chitty chitty bang bang :greengrin

I will leave the Capital in car with son at 6 o'clock and hopefully be parked up near Dundee's ground for 7 o'clock, quick getaway at ft and home to have a moan on the match thread. :thumbsup:

Silver, think you'll have to be in Lewis Hamilton's car, to get up there in an hour, on a Friday nights peak traffic

27-11-2016, 10:18 AM

I really hope we pump you on friday. Dundee Utd fans never used to bother me until you popped up on here.

resident_Arab
27-11-2016, 01:30 PM
I really hope we pump you on friday. Dundee Utd fans never used to bother me until you popped up on here.

Only for us to win the next two meetings and finish top? :greengrin

resident_Arab
27-11-2016, 02:18 PM
Yeah lots clubs issue attendances as tickets sold. Hibs give this as actual bums on seats.

As do Utd, we always have, unlike many others

27-11-2016, 03:14 PM
Only for us to win the next two meetings and finish top? :greengrin

You will drop lots more points this season and by April time you won't be seen on this forum.

27-11-2016, 03:41 PM
As do Utd, we always have, unlike many others

Yeah I know mate. 👍🏼

27-11-2016, 03:50 PM
I can't believe, well maybe I do, some of the reactions on here to Resident Arab's comments. As far as I can see he's been respectful & fair in his comments re Hibs & understandably fights his own corner re Dundee Utd. He's obviously also a keen & knowledgeable fan of his club. Some of the comments are not IMO " Hibs class".

27-11-2016, 03:54 PM
Any idea how many we have sold then?

Anyone still waiting to get tickets ?

Hopefully sell a few more this week and fill behind the goals up.

27-11-2016, 03:55 PM
I can't believe, well maybe I do, some of the reactions on here to Resident Arab's comments. As far as I can see he's been respectful & fair in his comments re Hibs & understandably fights his own corner re Dundee Utd. He's obviously also a keen & knowledgeable fan of his club. Some of the comments are not IMO " Hibs class".

I agree with your summary too, Brog

27-11-2016, 04:49 PM
His comments have wee digs at Hibs - but that's fine - it's just banter.

27-11-2016, 08:01 PM

I agree that he has been respectful and fair but you're obviously ignoring the subtle digs regarding our club and him calling people ignorant , eejits etc...
He's been provoked into doing so but that's the deal when rival fans venture onto other message boards, especially so when it's a supporter of a team you are involved in a title shoot out with. He's got both barrels but he knows the score and probably realises that it's just a laugh at the end of the day.
He might even bite when I say that his clubs supporters are just the same as Aberdeen but unlike the sheep, they don't have the trophies to justify their arrogance.

27-11-2016, 08:20 PM
Minging city, minging strip, minging fans, minging team. Hope we absolutely pump them!

28-11-2016, 03:43 PM
So getting back on topic....

Am I right in saying we got an initial allocation of 1800 tickets and we haven't sold these yet?

Earlydelivery
28-11-2016, 03:47 PM
A believe it was 2100 and there's none left in fair play stand , only west available probably about 2500 sold ?

28-11-2016, 03:48 PM
So getting back on topic....

Am I right in saying we got an initial allocation of 1800 tickets and we haven't sold these yet?

I think that number was before they opened up their west stand so I think the full 3600 has been made available to us.

28-11-2016, 03:48 PM
Minging city, minging strip, minging fans, minging team. Hope we absolutely pump them!

Great city, minging strip, some great fans but a good few fandans, half-decent team that we'll need to be careful against. Hope we absolutely pump them!

Earlydelivery
28-11-2016, 04:45 PM
A believe it was 2100 and there's none left in fair play stand , only west available probably about 2500 sold ?

resident_Arab
28-11-2016, 05:22 PM
Great city, minging strip, some great fans but a good few fandans, half-decent team that we'll need to be careful against. Hope we absolutely pump them!

Some cracking strips and the odd howler (this seasons is decent but not a classic or anything), but very cool colours, class wee city on the up, unique!

28-11-2016, 05:24 PM
According to the bounce we had sold 2300 on Friday. Probably looking at 2500 sold by now you'd imagine after weekend sales.

28-11-2016, 05:32 PM
Some cracking strips and the odd howler (this seasons is decent but not a classic or anything), but very cool colours, class wee city on the up, unique!

I lived there for 9 years so I'm particularly fond of Dundee. It has always been described as "up and coming" and tbh even when I moved there in 1995 it was fine. It was very different by the time I left and unrecognisable now. I think a few folk have long memories and there's no doubt that it had it's problems in the past.

What I do like about the strips is the flash of colour - it always looks cool when you get a lot of United (or Holland) fans together and all you can see is a sea of tangerine. One of the most eye-catching displays you can see (apart from when "Rangers-minded types" combine it with Bowler hats and the like - not cool at all).

What about this effort though? There can't have been many worse than this in football history?

28-11-2016, 06:20 PM
Got my tickets today, GGTTH

resident_Arab
28-11-2016, 06:22 PM
I lived there for 9 years so I'm particularly fond of Dundee. It has always been described as "up and coming" and tbh even when I moved there in 1995 it was fine. It was very different by the time I left and unrecognisable now. I think a few folk have long memories and there's no doubt that it had it's problems in the past.

What I do like about the strips is the flash of colour - it always looks cool when you get a lot of United (or Holland) fans together and all you can see is a sea of tangerine. One of the most eye-catching displays you can see (apart from when "Rangers-minded types" combine it with Bowler hats and the like - not cool at all).

What about this effort though? There can't have been many worse than this in football history?

Definitely huge changes from when I was growing up, I just find the old ****hole talk funny as there are so many worse places in Scotland, most in the central belt too, I prefer it to Aberdeen aswell

That's my favourite away kit of all time btw haha (is either loved or hated by our support looking back) along with a couple of our eighties Adidas classics and the black one from 2014/15 with the hooped socks

No two tops were the same, but thought it looked great with the black shorts/socks with tangerine trim and good memories from our Scottish Cup winning run (worn in the QF and SF final replay wins)

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=JCKJUH-Gibk

http://c8.alamy.com/comp/BJFWXN/061193-hearts-v-dundee-united-3-0-tynecastle-park-edinburgh-dundee-BJFWXN.jpg

28-11-2016, 06:27 PM
I've got one spare for the Fair Play stand if anybody wants to sit there. £22

28-11-2016, 06:54 PM
I have a spare Adult ticket for The Shed - it's an apt name - £20 if interested. PM me if interested. Cheers.

28-11-2016, 06:55 PM
I lived there for 9 years so I'm particularly fond of Dundee. It has always been described as "up and coming" and tbh even when I moved there in 1995 it was fine. It was very different by the time I left and unrecognisable now. I think a few folk have long memories and there's no doubt that it had it's problems in the past. 17711

Massive improvements underway. Fine folk - fine City IMHO.

DarrenSQH
29-11-2016, 10:01 AM
Only the West Stand tickets online. I think that stand must just be split in two as section 1 tickets are up to about number 50 now.

Cant wait for friday. Would be nice to see us sell it out.

29-11-2016, 10:08 AM
Only the West Stand tickets online. I think that stand must just be split in two as section 1 tickets are up to about number 50 now.

Theres at least 3 sections to that west stand

29-11-2016, 12:42 PM

Split ?

It's 5 sections ?

W1 onwards - I think we have sold 2 blocks and hopefully more next few days.

29-11-2016, 01:55 PM
Just been to the ticket office. Only 240 tickets left.

29-11-2016, 02:00 PM
Definitely huge changes from when I was growing up, I just find the old ****hole talk funny as there are so many worse places in Scotland, most in the central belt too, I prefer it to Aberdeen aswell

Grew up in Carnoustie and think Dundee is a great city. Not much can beat Edinburgh though. :wink:

Juice-Terry
29-11-2016, 02:02 PM
Just been to the ticket office. Only 240 tickets left.

Brilliant. Sorry to ask again, but what is our allocation? I've heard somewhere between 3,500 and 4,000. Cheers.

29-11-2016, 02:35 PM
Brilliant. Sorry to ask again, but what is our allocation? I've heard somewhere between 3,500 and 4,000. Cheers.

3600 and thats our lot.

Juice-Terry
29-11-2016, 02:38 PM
3600 and thats our lot.

29-11-2016, 02:46 PM
Maybe they are just selling the 3 main / central sections behind the goal and leaving end sections empty?

29-11-2016, 02:47 PM

The town plays somewhat vibrantly in my own consciousness as I once enjoyed a fling with a doe-eyed, dusky-skinned maiden from there. I got the impression that fit filly's were somewhat at a premium in the city, (no 'diss' intended to any Dundonians here) as I received a fair deal of flak from the local lads when I was out on the town with her. Nonetheless, seeing a place through a haze of romance tends to amplify its charms. (And, of course blind one to its otherwise glaring deficiencies.)

29-11-2016, 02:48 PM
Maybe they are just selling the 3 main / central sections behind the goal and leaving end sections empty?

They've already sold the section closest to the Hibs fans in the fair play stand. I think we may have handed some back.

murray26
29-11-2016, 02:51 PM
Will I be able to buy tickets up there..? Was hoping too and slightly concerned now..

29-11-2016, 03:02 PM
They've already sold the section closest to the Hibs fans in the fair play stand. I think we may have handed some back.

Maybe keeping some for pay at the gate on Friday ?

29-11-2016, 03:13 PM
Maybe keeping some for pay at the gate on Friday ?

I personally don't think there will be pay at the gate. There might be though but a poster says he was at ticket office about an hour ago and there was only 250 left.

29-11-2016, 03:13 PM
Will I be able to buy tickets up there..? Was hoping too and slightly concerned now..

We don't know yet, looking unlikely though.

29-11-2016, 03:23 PM
I personally don't think there will be pay at the gate. There might be though but a poster says he was at ticket office about an hour ago and there was only 250 left.

I can imagine the police will want to keep it simple and know how many are attending before the game.

Not like there will be any trouble.

Hopefully we snap up the remaining tickets - odd though if hibs have handed them back before Friday though as may be a late rush.

29-11-2016, 03:37 PM

Buy it online and get is posted out?

29-11-2016, 03:41 PM

I have a spare for the west (behind goals) if you are struggling !!

29-11-2016, 04:04 PM
I can imagine the police will want to keep it simple and know how many are attending before the game.

Hopefully we snap up the remaining tickets - odd though if hibs have handed them back before Friday though as may be a late rush.

I've bought tickets from the Dundee Utd clubstore before, aswell as from a booth just up from the turnstiles in the Fair Play stand. If there are tickets left i'm sure you'll be allowed to buy on the night.

29-11-2016, 06:27 PM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-united/320683/10000-tickets-sold-dundee-united-v-hibs-game/

29-11-2016, 06:44 PM

Dunno if they still exist but Utd (& Dundee) used to have a large hooligan element.

Although the last time I encountered them they were all wearing dungarees, so that was definitely a while back.

hibbymark
29-11-2016, 06:53 PM
Girl in the ticket office yesterday said we had sold over 2000 tickets and the batch of 500 they had received yesterday were selling well .

29-11-2016, 07:11 PM
https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/sport/football/dundee-united/320683/10000-tickets-sold-dundee-united-v-hibs-game/

Cant open it for more than 10 secs or so. Says over 10k sold so that means around 8k home fans..

29-11-2016, 08:09 PM
Dunno if they still exist but Utd (& Dundee) used to have a large hooligan element.

Although the last time I encountered them they were all wearing dungarees, so that was definitely a while back.

Luckily PC Murdoch put an end to their shenanigans.

resident_Arab
29-11-2016, 10:52 PM
Cant open it for more than 10 secs or so. Says over 10k sold so that means around 8k home fans..

It means 7-8k gone in home end including ST's, that's assuming every ST holder turns up, the most vocal area behind the goal has less than 100 left which is good

Biggest attendance in the city this season anyway

29-11-2016, 11:12 PM
Have we sold behind the goals?

29-11-2016, 11:13 PM

You should never have changed from black and white :wink:

resident_Arab
29-11-2016, 11:14 PM
Have we sold behind the goals?

You are selling there, if you have sold 2500 or close then that's the shed about half full

resident_Arab
29-11-2016, 11:15 PM
You should never have changed from black and white :wink:

Disagree, great away colours though and the late fifties early sixties with the two black hoops was a cracker

29-11-2016, 11:16 PM
You are selling there, if you have sold 2500 or close then that's the shed about half full

Is that how much that stand holds or is that including the orignal stand on the sideline?

29-11-2016, 11:17 PM
Disagree, great away colours though and the late fifties early sixties with the two black hoops was a cracker

Ach I'm just a traditionalist at heart :greengrin

29-11-2016, 11:20 PM

7000 home support. Dismal little club

29-11-2016, 11:26 PM
Let's leave the size queen arrogance to the Jambos. Great effort from both sets of fans to pull in such numbers at a second tier Scottish game that is televised and in the Friday night graveyard slot.

29-11-2016, 11:36 PM
Let's leave the size queen arrogance to the Jambos. Great effort from both sets of fans to pull in such numbers at a second tier Scottish game that is televised and in the Friday night graveyard slot.

Juice-Terry
30-11-2016, 11:31 AM
About 150 tickets left out of a 2,500 allocation, according to the lassie in the TO half an hour ago.

30-11-2016, 11:34 AM
About 150 tickets left out of a 2,500 allocation, according to the lassie in the TO half an hour ago.

Let's get it sold out and put ourselves 6 points clear.

30-11-2016, 11:53 AM

Wonder why we only got 2500? Maybe keeping some back for PATG?

30-11-2016, 12:21 PM
Wonder why we only got 2500? Maybe keeping some back for PATG?

Im not sure there will be a patg, a real risk of a lock out if they allow it. What do you do then? The fans that don't get in can even go round and pay in the united end as its all ticket and near to a sell out.

30-11-2016, 04:49 PM
Still seems to be section W1 and W2 available on line.

Jaz
30-11-2016, 05:13 PM

About 5600 in the George Fox
..........2900 in the East Stand
..........2300 Jerry Kerr
..........1500 Fairplay
..........1900 West stand (Shed)

Capacity is 14,209

We've been allocated the Fairplay Stand and the West Stand.

Hibs331875
30-11-2016, 05:29 PM
Where's best for parking?

Juice-Terry
30-11-2016, 05:31 PM
..........1500 Fairplay

Capacity is 14,209

According to the lassie in the ticket office we haven't been given the whole West Stand - or at least we hadn't as of 11 am this morning.

30-11-2016, 05:36 PM
According to the lassie in the ticket office we haven't been given the whole West Stand - or at least we hadn't as of 11 am this morning.

Thats correct, the old wooden bit is not in use (which is a good thing as its horrendous), we are in the newest bit pf the FP stand upper and lower plus the shed.

30-11-2016, 05:55 PM

For traditionalist read old fart 💨 😂

30-11-2016, 06:01 PM

We've never been the same since we ditched the hoops eh?

30-11-2016, 06:11 PM
Luckily PC Murdoch put an end to their shenanigans.

resident_Arab
30-11-2016, 06:17 PM
..........1500 Fairplay

Capacity is 14,209

That's not the capacity and hasn't been since the seats went into the Jerry Kerr in 2009 and reduced the capacity of that stand and the stadium (now just under 14k)

The shed holds 2100

resident_Arab
30-11-2016, 06:18 PM
Thats correct, the old wooden bit is not in use (which is a good thing as its horrendous), we are in the newest bit pf the FP stand upper and lower plus the shed.

The wooden benches were ripped out in 2009 and replaced with all tangerine plastic seats, reducing the capacity

30-11-2016, 06:19 PM
The wooden benches were ripped out in 2009 and replaced with all tangerine plastic seats, reducing the capacity

Why are you banning the drummer?

30-11-2016, 07:02 PM
This game is reminding me of our one vs the Huns at the end of December last year. Praying we get the result to open up a six point gap to build on and we can hopefully say goodbye to this *****y league. Not expecting much with our first choice midfield injured.

30-11-2016, 07:42 PM
For traditionalist read old fart 💨 😂

Oi you, I resemble that remark :greengrin

We've never been the same since we ditched the hoops eh?

They were stolen, not ditched :wink:

30-11-2016, 08:30 PM
This game is reminding me of our one vs the Huns at the end of December last year. Praying we get the result to open up a six point gap to build on and we can hopefully say goodbye to this *****y league. Not expecting much with our first choice midfield injured.

It's going to be a very tough task in the circumstances, but let's see what we can find. Looking forward to it anyway :flag:

30-11-2016, 09:02 PM
It's going to be a very tough task in the circumstances, but let's see what we can find. Looking forward to it anyway :flag:

Given the limited midfield numbers I'd take a point now.

30-11-2016, 09:08 PM

Definitely

30-11-2016, 09:18 PM
Aye?:confused: Not me

30-11-2016, 10:02 PM
Aye?:confused: Not me

I think it's going to be a tough game. A point would be creditable there.