View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v QOS

19-11-2016, 01:01 PM
Sun's already setting over here in Stockholm, hope it's better in Leith. Team news?

19-11-2016, 01:05 PM
Sun's already setting over here in Stockholm, hope it's better in Leith. Team news?

Lovely Sunshine on Leith just now.

19-11-2016, 01:07 PM
Graham starts with Holt on bench

STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, McGinn, Fyvie, Stevenson, Boyle, Shinnie, McGregor, Graham.

Holt and Cummings on bench. Graham starts. If I were Jason and Graham was being played before me I'd be considering my options at this point..

hibsmad
Graham and Boyle both start. Cummings and Holt on bench.

19-11-2016, 01:09 PM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, McGinn, Fyvie, Stevenson, Boyle, Shinnie, McGregor, Graham.

Holt and Cummings on bench. Graham starts. If I were Jason and Graham was being played before me I'd be considering my options at this point..

Hopefully he'll realise his best option is to train hard and take his chance when it comes around again.

Why?? 2 entirely different players and Cummings and Boyle would not work as a pairing....

hibsquaker

My option would be try a lot harder.

JennaFletcher
19-11-2016, 01:10 PM

Cummings goes through spells where he doesn't score otherwise he'd be playing every game. Lennon said that if he doesn't score he doesn't offer much to the team. Graham and Boyle must be doing well in training.

19-11-2016, 01:10 PM
Graham starts with Holt on bench

Marciano also looks to be starting in goals, thought he was injured?

Mikey_1875
19-11-2016, 01:13 PM
Would rather have Cummings in the team tbh but confident we can still do the business

19-11-2016, 01:24 PM
Graham ahead of Holt is the more baffling decision imo, assuming we have to play a little and large forward line that is.

19-11-2016, 01:26 PM
For me Cummings coming off the bench with 20 or so mins to go, with their tired legs a good chance he could grab a goal.
I think we are already missing Keatings for his work rate and ability to drag defenders out of position.

19-11-2016, 01:27 PM
Graham ahead of Holt is the more baffling decision imo, assuming we have to play a little and large forward line that is.

Was there not talk of Holt taking a slight knock last week.

19-11-2016, 01:29 PM
John Doolan attending the game.

19-11-2016, 01:30 PM
We get it, Neil. You're the boss and you're not afraid to drop people.

Point made.

Can we have our best striker back on the pitch now, please?

19-11-2016, 01:30 PM
Was there not talk of Holt taking a slight knock last week.
Fair enough if that's the case.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

19-11-2016, 01:33 PM
Delighted Crane has made the bench

get cummings on that pitch man

Point made.

Keatings is injured though

lugz
19-11-2016, 01:34 PM
Why we persist with gray and Stevenson in the current formation is baffling.

19-11-2016, 01:39 PM
People were complaining last week that Holt doesn't score enough,Graham has shown a few tidy finishes since he joined us so seems reasonable to give him a chance in a similar role to Holt.

19-11-2016, 01:40 PM
Odd selection but hope I and others are wrong.

Must have been working well in training.

If we don't win today then NL leaving his best striker on the bench will bite him on the backside big time.

19-11-2016, 01:42 PM
Why we persist with gray and Stevenson in the current formation is baffling.

Who's better?

19-11-2016, 01:47 PM
Dundee utd battered Q.o.s. 4-1 @palmerston two weeks ago....i expect us to match that scoreline

19-11-2016, 01:51 PM
So apparently we have cheerleaders now.

Highland_Hibee
19-11-2016, 01:55 PM

Thought that was the ladies team.

19-11-2016, 01:56 PM
Dundee utd battered Q.o.s. 4-1 @palmerston two weeks ago....i expect us to match that scoreline

You may be dissapointed Will settle for two goal win and failing that any win
But a win is a must today at home

19-11-2016, 01:57 PM

We have been complaining about the lack of entertainment on the pitch lately. Clearly they took it the wrong way

19-11-2016, 02:01 PM
Ayr v Falkirk, some Ayr statto called off the ball today to tell them that Ayr united have never won a game on the 19th of november :shocked: it would be rather pleasing if that unwanted record is broken today :)

19-11-2016, 02:01 PM
Anybody else audio cutting out.

19-11-2016, 02:03 PM
Not with me.......

19-11-2016, 02:05 PM
Not with me.......

Being in the middle o the north sea don't help but usually ok.

19-11-2016, 02:06 PM
Great to have two match day threads with alternative line ups. I'm going with the universe that guarantees Hibs three points if possible?

19-11-2016, 02:08 PM
You may be dissapointed Will settle for two goal win and failing that any win
But a win is a must today at home

they better win...i've done a very rare thing and put money on us winning...surely we can beat this mob and atone for that 3-1 trouncing they gave us in the league cup

19-11-2016, 02:09 PM
Graham with a goal after a goal line stramash

19-11-2016, 02:09 PM
Graham with a goal after a goal line stramash

yas, first of many hopefully

19-11-2016, 02:10 PM

You were saying? :greengrin

NikGunnarsson
Very happy for Graham, think he deserves more game time. Boy knows where the net is.

Great to have two match day threads with alternative line ups. I'm going with the universe that guarantees Hibs three points if possible?

Somebody locked the alternative universe thread, where the line-up was very different.

It's shame, cos it would have been interesting to see how that team performed in comparison to this one.

Woohoo, this team are doing better so far!

rotherhamrob

And Graham duly scores😁

19-11-2016, 02:11 PM
Well I guess the manager is the best person to pick the team!!

chasitup
19-11-2016, 02:11 PM
That's probably the most muted response to Hibs going a goal ahead I've seen on here.......

hailhail22
19-11-2016, 02:12 PM
1-0 graham

19-11-2016, 02:13 PM
That's probably the most muted response to Hibs going a goal ahead I've seen on here.......

Hoooorrrrrrrraaaaayyyyyyyyy.................THE HIBS HAVE F*****G SCORED.................

That better?

19-11-2016, 02:14 PM
Get in Graham!!

Woohoo!!!!

http://twt-thumbs.washtimes.com/media/image/2014/09/04/steelers-eagles-footb_vill_s878x585.jpg?9739c089d09019457eff909573 53d2bf131e7da7

Good to see different players coming in and scoring, hopefully go on and get another couple now

You're on the wrong match-day thread :wink:

chasitup
19-11-2016, 02:15 PM
Hoooorrrrrrrraaaaayyyyyyyyy.................THE HIBS HAVE F*****G SCORED.................

That better?
Aye, much better. Well done you. :na na:

You're on the wrong match-day thread :wink:

The other one went ballistic!

Couldn't tell if Graham scoring was a prediction or actual goal. It's even more muted on the alternative match day thread. Lennon will be posting shortly asking for a little more enthusiasm :greengrin

Fair play Neil.

Iv said for a couple of weeks he should start ahead of holt as he is a bit more mobile.

All we need is Cummings back in and Boyle out wide

19-11-2016, 02:17 PM

Point made.

Right now that is Boyle?

MacGruber
19-11-2016, 02:19 PM
Cummings on the bench again is a joke sorry if that's not popular opinion. The fact Graham has scored isn't here or there in the Cummings situation.

Behar
19-11-2016, 02:21 PM

Yes, constantly. Having to switch between primary and backup player

pontius pilate
19-11-2016, 02:22 PM
Well done graham and hibs hopefully early goal settle the nerves and we can push iwn from here. NL obviously doesnt see JC workig hard enough in training and its his opinion I trust he sees them every day

19-11-2016, 02:24 PM
houstons mob 1 up @ Ayr

HibeeLR
19-11-2016, 02:25 PM
Only following game through updates on snapchat but crowd doesn't look great, any guesses?

19-11-2016, 02:32 PM
Both Hibs and QOTS hit the post in the last few minutes.

SlatefordHibby
19-11-2016, 02:32 PM
Cummings on the bench again is a joke sorry if that's not popular opinion. The fact Graham has scored isn't here or there in the Cummings situation.

If you see more of the team in training than the manager does then you'd better call him and tell him that you know better. For all our sakes!

MacGruber
19-11-2016, 02:35 PM
If you see more of the team in training than the manager does then you'd better call him and tell him that you know better. For all our sakes!

Really!

Hibs radio, WTF is going on? cutting off all the time, anybody else?

How many chances is Boyle going to miss?

Also Stevenson is absolutely brilliant at rattling the ball off the 1st man. 5 times today already with pinpoint accuracy

mcfly
19-11-2016, 02:36 PM
That's Boyle missed 2 sitters

1 on 1 with keeper both times

Should be game over

19-11-2016, 02:36 PM
Sure I've heard "great save from [opposition keeper]" more ****ing times than anything else at ER this season.

19-11-2016, 02:37 PM

Also Stevenson is absolutely brilliant at rattling the ball off the 1st man. 5 times today already with pinpoint accuracy

Boyle should have had the game wrapped up. 2 one v ones and a lob. Not good enough.

19-11-2016, 02:37 PM
Really!
Yes really. You do realise that you would be taken more seriously if you had valid reasons/opinions to back up your statements?

19-11-2016, 02:38 PM

Cummings has done nothing for ages so there is no situation, but im sure you know better than the manager

19-11-2016, 02:41 PM
Cummings has done nothing for ages so there is no situation, but im sure you know better than the manager

Because he hasn't had a chance to

When he was starting he was scoring and winning player of the month

19-11-2016, 02:42 PM

man of the match in 2007 :greengrin

19-11-2016, 02:43 PM
2-0 SUPER JOHN(AND A DEFLECTION) :greengrin

MacGruber
19-11-2016, 02:43 PM
Yes really. You do realise that you would be taken more seriously if you had valid reasons/opinions to back up your statements?

Reason being Cummings is a prolific scorer at this level - our only one. Just want to see our best players on the park to give us the best chance to get promoted.

rotherhamrob
19-11-2016, 02:44 PM
Get in there sjm

SlatefordHibby
19-11-2016, 02:44 PM

Are you another one that knows better than the manager? :rolleyes:

Looks like we're doing ok without him.

19-11-2016, 02:45 PM
Big deflection on SJM goal, probably going down as OG though

That's Boyle missed 2 sitters

1 on 1 with keeper both times

Should be game over
They weren't sitters, stop making stuff up. Keeper did really well both times.

No he wasnt, he was poor for ages when starting games

mcfly
19-11-2016, 02:46 PM
3 sitters missed by Boyle - shocking misses

Cummings on please

Stevenson finally beats the man and Boyle somehow misses from 3 yards.

Must have been in shock.

How'd you miss that Martin?

Come on!!

boyle has missed a sitter from SIX yards

Reason being Cummings is a prolific scorer at this level - our only one. Just want to see our best players on the park to give us the best chance to get promoted.
Yet we're unbeaten since he dropped out.

mcfly

Are u here pal they were sitters

Open ur eyes

19-11-2016, 02:47 PM
Cummings would have scored at least 2 of the chances missed by boyle IMO

SlatefordHibby

Is it really that simple? Like I said, you'd better let him know how it works.

Stop whining.

h1bee123

Cutting out every minute. Keep having to change from primary player to back up player. I had already recently cancelled my subscribtion as I think the service offered should be better and this just confirms it to me.

MacGruber
19-11-2016, 02:48 PM

I know he is our number 1 striker. Done nothing in ages.... and still our top scorer. Not surprising.

cookin_on_gaz
19-11-2016, 02:48 PM

Has been happening to me all game. Listening on Samsung and need to keep logging out then back in again

19-11-2016, 02:49 PM
That has to be miss of the season from Boyle, pehaps he was just shell shocked Stevenson managed to get a cross in. :greengrin

19-11-2016, 02:49 PM
Pretty decent first half all things considered, Though we should be up by more than two. Utd drawing at Morton

19-11-2016, 02:50 PM
I know he is our number 1 striker. Done nothing in ages.... and still our top scorer. Not surprising.

No he is our best goalscorer not our best striker, he needs to do more in games than what he has been doing, gets dropped because he hasnt been playing well, team winning games so hasnt had a look in yet. No big deal

19-11-2016, 02:51 PM
Playing well but should be up by 4 or 5. Boyle has been lively but has missed a hatrick of sitters

Green Reaper
Has been happening to me all game. Listening on Samsung and need to keep logging out then back in again

Also on Samsung and it''s annoying as hell. Kept reloading page and got it back rather than log out and in again

Ardenttwo
Pretty decent first half all things considered, Though we should be up by now than two. Utd drawing at Morton

Jamie Insall scores again

19-11-2016, 02:52 PM
Cummings would have scored at least 2 of the chances missed by boyle IMO

He would have had to have gotten in the positions in the 1st place as well. At least 1 came from the kind of chasing down Boyle excels at.

19-11-2016, 02:53 PM
Boyle should have had the game wrapped up. 2 one v ones and a lob. Not good enough.

We dont have a striker who performs consistently well week in week out hence the rotation of strikers just now Hopefully Boyle goes on to score in this one though so Lennon s faith in him is rewarded
Cummings has always been the player to consistently score for long periods then have a barren spell but he would always bounce back
Lennon seems tohave decided Cummings doesnt bring enough to the team outwith scoring and as long as we keep winning and scoring. he can justify that call

19-11-2016, 02:53 PM
So far so good. Hibs firmly in control, creating chances and looking like they will go on to score more. Graham has been useful and Boyle is getting into scoring positions, should have had at least one and probably should have scored more.

Defence is pretty solid, Shinnie is prominent and looking to create. Mc Ginn and Fyvie working hard and stifling Queens attempts at going forward.

19-11-2016, 02:55 PM
Keatings reckons he will be back next week.

19-11-2016, 02:57 PM
Stevenson's having a good game.

Yes, he hit the first man once or twice but he's had some really good touches, been excellent in possession and put 2 cracking deliveries in.

I was wondering if Holt was suspended like his peer Ibrahimovic.

Reasonable first half against weak opposition . Hope Keatings is back soon since put him in for Boyle today and it could be 5 v 0 or even 6 .

19-11-2016, 02:58 PM
Cutting out every minute. Keep having to change from primary player to back up player. I had already recently cancelled my subscribtion as I think the service offered should be better and this just confirms it to me.

It's a lifeline for me as I can't make games at ER, shoddy service most of the time but having said that I could never bring myself to listen to that woeful yam/hun loving Sportsound :grr:

19-11-2016, 03:01 PM
Am happy with the score so far We wont go on to loose this one and looks like we are more than capable of increasing our lead

19-11-2016, 03:02 PM
Hopefully get a third quickly and give Jason a chance to come back in. Boyle is a wide man for me. Far too many chances squandered. Graham much have a good goal to minutes played ratio. He should keep quiet about it though as we clearly don't like goalscorers at ER

19-11-2016, 03:04 PM
Hibs radio site completely gone offline now, an absolute disgrace.

Update. Back on now.

19-11-2016, 03:05 PM
No he wasnt, he was poor for ages when starting games

What part are you disagreeing with?

He is our top goal scorer and has about 8? That is about double any of our other strikers. So you can't say he wasn't scoring.

He won player of the month?

19-11-2016, 03:06 PM
Are you another one that knows better than the manager? :rolleyes:

Looks like we're doing ok without him.

Because I have a different opinion I know better than him? Get a grip

Yes we are doing ok... in the Scottish championship.

I want us to be doing better than ok

19-11-2016, 03:07 PM
Who's the ref today? Been not bad so far.

Hibs radio site completely gone offline now, an absolute disgrace.

A disgrace? Do you think they're doing it deliberately? Presumably there are technical problems, it happens.

Kavinho
That has to be miss of the season from Boyle, pehaps he was just shell shocked Stevenson managed to get a cross in. :greengrin

Thought Cummings missed a worse one earlier in the season

It's a lifeline for me as I can't make games at ER, shoddy service most of the time but having said that I could never bring myself to listen to that woeful yam/hun loving Sportsound :grr:
Don't understand this, I'm having no trouble at all.

19-11-2016, 03:09 PM
Fox decides he fancies a wee run on the hallowed turf

19-11-2016, 03:09 PM
3-0 Gray

19-11-2016, 03:10 PM
Fox decides he fancies a wee run on the hallowed turf
Christ -I thought Liam Craig had come back to us..... :wink:

MacGruber
19-11-2016, 03:10 PM
No he is our best goalscorer not our best striker, he needs to do more in games than what he has been doing, gets dropped because he hasnt been playing well, team winning games so hasnt had a look in yet. No big deal

Not looking to turn this into an argument because I kind of get where you're coming from.
Jason Cummings is the best striker at hibs though - by a distance. If you think different then fair enough, we seen it different.
Lets just get promoted!:)

19-11-2016, 03:11 PM
Let's see us go gor the jugular here. 5 or 6 would be a statement.

As I type Boyle misses another, good save this time though.

rotherhamrob
Skooshing this game.

And Sir David of Gray makes it three.....

SlatefordHibby
19-11-2016, 03:12 PM
Because I have a different opinion I know better than him? Get a grip

Yes we are doing ok... in the Scottish championship.

I want us to be doing better than ok

I've got a grip thanks but you obviously do think you know better as you seem to think that we'll be doing better if Cummings was on the park.

What part are you disagreeing with?

He is our top goal scorer and has about 8? That is about double any of our other strikers. So you can't say he wasn't scoring.

He won player of the month?

He scored early on, after that he done nothing which is why he has been dropped, you cant honestly say based on performances he should be playing

I love it when that man gets on the score sheet :flag:

19-11-2016, 03:13 PM
Well seeing theie keeper played for Rangers. Has hun written all over him.

19-11-2016, 03:13 PM
Christ -I thought Liam Craig had come back to us..... :wink:

The fox done more work on the pitch than Alan O'Brien did in 2 seasons.

Ardenttwo
19-11-2016, 03:14 PM

And surprise surprise Jim Goodwin gets sent aff

19-11-2016, 03:15 PM
Fyvie in a bit distress here after we made a hash of a free kick. Doesn't look great.

So far so good today. Morton win would be ace!

3-0 let's get Crane on and see what he has

19-11-2016, 03:16 PM
Should be 3-1 as Hanlon slips and lets a man through. Keeper stood up well and forced him wide.

He scored an own goal in the first half too apparently. Show em how's it done gaffer.

Am happy with the score so far We wont go on to loose this one and looks like we ate more than capable of increding our lead
17672 ;)

19-11-2016, 03:18 PM
Fyvie limping off.

Should have been off as soon as he went down. Obvious he was in pain and the games won.

McGeough on.

19-11-2016, 03:18 PM

Just spent the last couple of minutes trying to figure out how that impacts us before realising he plays in the division below!

19-11-2016, 03:20 PM
Lee Robinson is literally the only thing stopping this from being a rout.

19-11-2016, 03:22 PM
4-0. Great goal by Boyle, well deserved. Both strikers score again.

rotherhamrob
19-11-2016, 03:23 PM
Squirrel again,get in there.

Ardenttwo

Delighted for Boyle, good goal.....

19-11-2016, 03:24 PM
Confused by Cummings posts on this thread. Same with the Weegia. You think we would be admired for having so many goalscoring options that have us sitting top of the league.

NZ Green
Sounds like a well deserved goal. Glad Boyle is on the scoresheet.

McGinn signalling he wants to come off

What is the attendance?

Off the bar
Still 20+ to play. Could/should be 6 or 7 now

19-11-2016, 03:25 PM
Cummings for McGinn

19-11-2016, 03:25 PM
Squirrel again,get in there.

The presence of the Fox obviously sharpened him up.

19-11-2016, 03:26 PM
One more goal then a subtle own goal and we can destroy them as a club.

NikGunnarsson
Get a grip peeps, we are winning 4-0 and all our strikers are scoring but people want someone to take their place just because of his name. Keatings, Holt, Graham and Boyle all deserve to play over Cummings.

Just been looking at the bbc stats....QoS 6 fouls 5 yellows wtf!?

19-11-2016, 03:27 PM
McGinn signalling he wants to come off

If he needs to come off that could mean he needs his operation as soon as , nae point taking risks Could of done without Fyfie getting injured though Lets hope not serious and lets getDylan through the test of the game so he can play next week

rotherhamrob
19-11-2016, 03:31 PM
The presence of the Fox obviously sharpened him up.

10/10 😁

19-11-2016, 03:36 PM
Just been looking at the bbc stats....QoS 6 fouls 5 yellows wtf!?
Corruption, of course. Ref hates QotS!

19-11-2016, 03:38 PM
With Hibs TV being down i've got open all mics on, they're at least 10 minuets behind the rest of the world. Thankfully i've got the app on phone instantly updating and Hibs.net

19-11-2016, 03:39 PM
Cummings has just got his hat-trick on the other match thread.

...but we're losing 4-3.

MacGruber
Get a grip peeps, we are winning 4-0 and all our strikers are scoring but people want someone to take their place just because of his name. Keatings, Holt, Graham and Boyle all deserve to play over Cummings.

Absolutely. 4 strikers that deserve to play over Cummings. Sensible haircuts. Hopefully get rid of Jason. Price for someone 5th choice maybe not much. We should pay up his contract and get shot.

Corruption, of course. Ref hates QotS!

Punishment for letting Hibs win :agree:

19-11-2016, 03:40 PM
Game has totally died in the last 10 minutes, not even training pace.

19-11-2016, 03:41 PM
This is a complete skoosh

How's the fabled ER atmosphere today?

with hibs tv being down i've got open all mics on, they're at least 10 years behind the rest of the world. Thankfully i've got the app on phone instantly updating and hibs.net

ftfy

19-11-2016, 03:43 PM
Absolutely. 4 strikers that deserve to play over Cummings. Sensible haircuts. Hopefully get rid of Jason. Price for someone 5th choice maybe not much. We should pay up his contract and get shot.

That's a bit dramatic, Jason will get a chance like all the other strikers have had since he went off the boil and when he does he needs to take it.

You better tidy those toys up!

14021 attendance

IlDiavola
Loving this scoreline.

Lets get a couple more please Hibs!

19-11-2016, 03:44 PM
14021 attendance

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial 7m7 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/800015150749192197) TODAY'S ATTENDANCE | 13,861; Thanks again for the magnificent support https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f44f.png#HFCvQOSFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvQOSFC?src=hash)

?

19-11-2016, 03:45 PM
Shinnie MOTM

14021 attendance

Must be a lot of missing ST holders today because the PATG ticket sales looked really good.

Hibernian FC ‏@HibsOfficial 7m7 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial/status/800015150749192197) TODAY'S ATTENDANCE | 13,861; Thanks again for the magnificent support https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f44f.png#HFCvQOSFC (https://twitter.com/hashtag/HFCvQOSFC?src=hash)

?
Definitely announced differently in the ground.

19-11-2016, 03:46 PM

Maybe the tweet referred to the home attendance.

19-11-2016, 03:46 PM

?

Is that maybe the attendance in the home end? Tannoy definitely said 14021.

19-11-2016, 03:47 PM
Anyway, have we scored 5 yet?

19-11-2016, 03:47 PM
I'm guessing they remembered another block of seats and announced the updated number.

19-11-2016, 03:48 PM
Rangers score in 90 plus 2 jammy gits lol

MacGruber
19-11-2016, 03:48 PM
That's a bit dramatic, Jason will get a chance like all the other strikers have had since he went off the boil and when he does he needs to take it.

You better tidy those toys up!

Fair enough. Was throwing them out the pram a bit.

Hope you are right and he takes his chance.

:)

19-11-2016, 03:50 PM
Rangers score in 90 plus 2 jammy gits lol

Lucky lucky team. Managed this a few times this season, must have been worth around 6 or 7 points their late goals.

Great win for hibs. 4 goals, clean sheet and hopefully utd dropping points.

Good win :thumbsup:

Best performance of the season, great shift from everyone on the pitch today. Odd that there was no injury time.

19-11-2016, 03:52 PM

it's possibly 13,861 home fans, and 160 away fans =14,021

Austinho
19-11-2016, 03:53 PM
Dundee United only manage a draw - good day for us.

19-11-2016, 03:53 PM
United scoreless at Morton. 3 point gap restored.

19-11-2016, 03:59 PM
GD now +19, 8 better off than dundee utd...now that's nice reading

Benny Brazil
19-11-2016, 04:00 PM
United scoreless at Morton. 3 point gap restored.

Is it not only 2 points ahead ?

19-11-2016, 04:01 PM
big game for the bottom clubs coming up on BBC Alba, st.mirren v Dunfy

or, Scotland v Argentina :)

19-11-2016, 04:01 PM

19-11-2016, 04:06 PM
Excellent today

19-11-2016, 05:26 PM
First half was a strange one. I thought we were better against Falkirk yet went in 2-0 up and it could have been 5. Second half we were excellent and totally dominated. Bring on Utd!

19-11-2016, 05:30 PM
Stroll today, team looks balanced and settled, starting to look confident, the composure by them is good

19-11-2016, 05:33 PM

3 points ahead, and Utd have to beat us by 10 goals or something to go top.

Skol
19-11-2016, 05:37 PM
you dont get how goal difference works when the 2 teams in question play each other do you.....a 4-0 will even things out !!!

19-11-2016, 05:45 PM
you dont get how goal difference works when the 2 teams in question play each other do you.....a 4-0 will even things out !!!
Hands up.......I'm drinking, can I delete my post 😁

Super_JMcGinn
19-11-2016, 05:56 PM

They looked like sitters to me too, what more does a striker want than a 1 on 1 with the keeper 9 yards out? Cummings would have buried both imo. I think Boyle is a great sub to come on with his pace.

ClewsHibs
19-11-2016, 05:57 PM
Had Hibs 5-0. Ffs

19-11-2016, 06:04 PM
So a win against Dundee United next time round puts us top by six.

killie-hibby
19-11-2016, 06:07 PM
Great to see Desmond making a surprise appearance today.
Older netters like me will remember him well.

greiggy
19-11-2016, 06:07 PM
Today's shut out and Spurs losing 2-1 means we have the best defensive record in the uk. Good day all round.

19-11-2016, 06:09 PM
Great to see Desmond making a surprise appearance today.
Older netters like me will remember him well.

He was a foxy auld rogue.

19-11-2016, 06:11 PM
sore one for the buddies

0-1 v Dunfy, 7 points behind dumbarton with a game in hand

19-11-2016, 06:27 PM
Today's shut out and Spurs losing 2-1 means we have the best defensive record in the uk. Good day all round.

kane scored a double in the last two mins to win 3-2 for spurs

Madrid Derby just about to KO on sky sports 5

Ronster117
19-11-2016, 06:43 PM
Good win today, Utd dropping points.... all looking good this weekend.

19-11-2016, 07:07 PM

don't know if you report/post the action on the park, while at the game Pretty Boy but I concur wholeheartedly with all of the posts, having been at the match.:aok: for that reason, you are welcome to join us on our bus to Dundee in a fortnight.:greengrin

19-11-2016, 07:27 PM

At the game, I thought that was evident as soon as Fyvie and McGinn left the pitch. Both were really good today.

19-11-2016, 07:33 PM
My take on the 'Cummings' debate - I think Jason Cummings is a great goalscorer, but all this talk of "Jason would have scored that one" is meaningless. He's played in the last two games and (albeit with only limited time on the pitch) has contributed the square root of nothing! Boyle has taken his spot and has scored one and has got himself into great positions only for the goalie to save 2 or 3 well hit efforts. It's now up to Jason to convince our manager that he deserves a spot in the team. I'm not sure he's done that yet!

20-11-2016, 09:09 AM
how much defending did Gray and Lewie do? A handfull of tackles if you are lucky. But we look at the bench and we have NO wingers, NO width. I really hope we sign two decent wide players and then start battering teams.

20-11-2016, 10:01 AM
They looked like sitters to me too, what more does a striker want than a 1 on 1 with the keeper 9 yards out? Cummings would have buried both imo. I think Boyle is a great sub to come on with his pace.

That's not what sitter means. Yes, a striker should score a one-on-one more often than not. Yes, Boyle should have scored more than one yesterday. But sitter doesn't just mean 'should score' it means 'harder not to score'.

20-11-2016, 11:03 AM
That's not what sitter means. Yes, a striker should score a one-on-one more often than not. Yes, Boyle should have scored more than one yesterday. But sitter doesn't just mean 'should score' it means 'harder not to score'.

You'll need to direct us to where this definition of sitter comes from.

20-11-2016, 11:39 AM
You'll need to direct us to where this definition of sitter comes from.

True, looking back my post is a little on the prescriptive side, but in 25 years following football I've never heard sitter used to mean anything other than 'really, really easy chance'. I guess now I have.

20-11-2016, 11:54 AM

A 1 on 1 with the keeper doesn't constitute a sitter it means it's a 1 on 1 with the keeper. A sitter is what Cummings missed against Raith and that was one of the worst sitters I've seen anyone in a Hibs strip miss. You need to reset your perspective.

20-11-2016, 12:01 PM
I think a one on one with the keeper is a sitter.

A sitter is an easy chance, whether it is running in on goal, a chance from a good cross or whatever.

As I saw it, Boyle missed 4 sitters yesterday. But he plugged away, got his goal and he can be happy with his afternoon's work. It should also be said that Boyle's natural pace make these chances sitters - other players they might be half chances at best or not chances at all.

The one I had most sympathy with him on was the bad one from the Stevenson cross in the first half. I don't think he expected it to reach him, he adjusted his stride late and it was actually a lot trickier than it looked.

If I were him though I'd be staying back after training (and getting one of the keepers to as well) and practice running in on goal from the halfway line. He's missed a few of these in recent weeks and if he started taking more of these chances he'd score a bucketload.

Good player though and he's doing well for us right now.

20-11-2016, 12:13 PM
Thats exactly what we should be doing to teams in this league, winning comfortably. QoS were a far cry from the team they were at the start of the season, they created next to nothing today, never looked like scoring at all. The fact we missed so many chances and still won 4-0 says it all about the one sided nature of the game.

Big game next against Utd and a chance to give ourselves a more comfortable lead at the top. The more we can start to pull away the more pressure mounts on Utd and hopefully it gives us a psychological edge. Long way to go obviously (and lets face it hibs are hardly known for doing things the easy way!) but I reckon over the course of the season Utd will drop more points than us.

20-11-2016, 12:17 PM
I think a one on one with the keeper is a sitter.

A sitter is an easy chance, whether it is running in on goal, a chance from a good cross or whatever.

As I saw it, Boyle missed 4 sitters yesterday. But he plugged away, got his goal and he can be happy with his afternoon's work. It should also be said that Boyle's natural pace make these chances sitters - other players they might be half chances at best or not chances at all.

The one I had most sympathy with him on was the bad one from the Stevenson cross in the first half. I don't think he expected it to reach him, he adjusted his stride late and it was actually a lot trickier than it looked.

If I were him though I'd be staying back after training (and getting one of the keepers to as well) and practice running in on goal from the halfway line. He's missed a few of these in recent weeks and if he started taking more of these chances he'd score a bucketload.

Good player though and he's doing well for us right now.

Disagree, I'd imagine the term "Sitter" is a shortened version of the phrase "Sitting duck"! It's probably out there somewhere. With the keeper still guarding the goal I don't think you could describe it as a sitter.

20-11-2016, 12:58 PM
I've always figured a sitter is something EVEN I could score, a one on one with the keeper is a great chance that a player "should" score with but the keeper does have some input in the final outcome:D

20-11-2016, 01:33 PM

Your definition is spot on.

This thread has descended into a very tedious semantics debate.

Highland_Hibee
20-11-2016, 01:36 PM
It's easy to sit in the stand and criticise one on one situations but it's hardly as simple as just putting it in the net. The chance Keatings missed at the end of the SC derby replay at ER is more what I would call a "sitter".

drumatic44
20-11-2016, 03:35 PM
Probably heard that we had a squirrel on the pitch, too fast for him tho'. Or up from Leicester on a trip round the underdogs stadia, heard he was going to visit Chicago Cubs, but, when Trump got elected, he thought better of it .!!