View Full Version : Falkirk launch appeal against Taiwo red.

15-11-2016, 09:16 AM
Can't say I'm surprised at this. Not because I didn't think it was a red - it absolutely was - but because Peter Houston is one of the most blinkered football managers I ever come across. This quote is simply unreal -

But John McGinn wasn’t hurt in the incident, he got up straight away, and I hope they see sense. - Thats ok then Peter, players can challenge how they want as long as the player isn't overly hurt from it. :rolleyes:

15-11-2016, 09:22 AM
Houston will have to appeal it. If he doesn't win he is going to have to abandon one of his favourite tactics.

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

15-11-2016, 09:27 AM
I hope they increase his suspension, what a disgrace that any professional football manager feels that there are any grounds for appeal.

In fact, The Police should be charging TT with assault!!

JDHibs
15-11-2016, 09:34 AM
lol.

15-11-2016, 09:43 AM
I can't see it being successful. He even said on the radio that both players went in two footed. Now while that definitely wasn't the case, that would suggest that Tom Taiwo should still have been sent off.

15-11-2016, 09:45 AM
To be honest I was surprised at the red card at the time. I was more surprised that Baird and Hippolyte didn't get one as well.

15-11-2016, 10:35 AM
Can't say I'm surprised at this. Not because I didn't think it was a red - it absolutely was - but because Peter Houston is one of the most blinkered football managers I ever come across. This quote is simply unreal -

- Thats ok then Peter, players can challenge how they want as long as the player isn't overly hurt from it. :rolleyes:

His version of events has McGinn going in two footed and getting straight up.

He went in one footed and stayed down for about 20 seconds.

He thought McGinn dived at Falkirk last season when he anything but.

What the hell is wrong with him?

15-11-2016, 10:41 AM
Imagine houstons paranoia ripping out of him if they lose the appeal.

15-11-2016, 11:45 AM
😂😂😂

15-11-2016, 11:53 AM
Delighted they are wasting a grand. I'll be surprised if it's not increased never mind reduced. It was a horrible tackle and TT left the pitch straight away while the rest of their thugs intimidated the ref

malcolm
15-11-2016, 12:03 PM
He's confused - not able to distinguish between using two feet and leaping in, in more horizontal fashion, with both feet at once, as his player did. It's not a foul to set both feet e.g to block the ball. If we required players only to use one foot they'd either all fall over or be like Stephen fletcher only using one of his feet for standing :wink:

Laurs
15-11-2016, 12:12 PM
has anyone got a link to the challenge i've not seen it again and would like to. Thanks

15-11-2016, 12:25 PM
I hope it gets tripled.

15-11-2016, 12:29 PM
Won't be surprised if it's overturned.

15-11-2016, 12:35 PM
I can't recall TT being a thug playing for us. Is it the manager that makes them like that, or does he bare a grudge cause he didnae make it at Hibs

15-11-2016, 12:45 PM
GTF Houston you bitter, greeting faced, classless hearts idiot.

The tackle was a disgrace and what kind of logic is that that oh because McGinn wasn't badly injured its ok. I'll just go up to someone and punch them in the head in the street but only get in trouble for it if the person is badly injured by it. Same logic.

His team of hammer throwers are one of the dirtiest i've ever seen at ER.

15-11-2016, 12:47 PM
I can't recall TT being a thug playing for us. Is it the manager that makes them like that, or does he bare a grudge cause he didnae make it at Hibs

He doesn't need to be, he's simply following his managers philosophy of hack players down and kick teams off the park. That Falkirk team are exactly the sort of team the likes of Houston, Levein etc build. Big and physical, anti-football thugs.

cam75
15-11-2016, 01:10 PM

Did he not get into some trouble at a casino door few years back?

15-11-2016, 01:14 PM

One of the nicest guys in football. Enjoyed his time at Hibs and was just a bad tackle, it happens.

Was a good player for hibs, very reliable despite being a bit limited.

15-11-2016, 01:15 PM
Did he not get into some trouble at a casino door few years back?

Felipe Morias

15-11-2016, 01:23 PM
Is there any highlights avail to see the tackle again?

woodythehibee
15-11-2016, 01:34 PM
Is there any highlights avail to see the tackle again?

http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10657040/hibernian-1-1-falkirk

definite red.

15-11-2016, 01:40 PM
has anyone got a link to the challenge i've not seen it again and would like to. Thanks

4 seconds in.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-VUc6jb2WM

15-11-2016, 01:41 PM
I don't think it was a particularly intentionally malicious tackle but it was mistimed & both feet were off the ground. I'd be surprised if it was overturned.

15-11-2016, 01:43 PM
http://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/competitions/scottish-football/10657040/hibernian-1-1-falkirk

definite red.I can't believe they're going to try and appeal that, that's a red all day long.

EH6 Hibby
15-11-2016, 01:44 PM
What is Houston's problem with McGinn?

15-11-2016, 01:56 PM

He never has and never will had the chance to manage a player of his calibrate. Must really irk him.

15-11-2016, 01:58 PM
4 seconds in.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=u-VUc6jb2WM

I hope there is better footage than that for the hearing. Still looks a red in that clip, but not a great picture. From my seat in West Upper I was looking straight down the challenge and it was an absolute shocker. Houston is clearly taking the piss here.

Edit - just noticed the Sky clip above, and picture a lot clearer. Still need better footage than that though to decide appeals.

15-11-2016, 02:07 PM

How long have you got?

He's a bitter maroon faced yam roaster who looks like his heid is about to explode every time he is asked to whine about how tough life is at wee low budget Falkirk. Him and Billy Broon share similar genetics by I really don't want to think about that one might have come about.

Anti - football manager - probably believes this sort of thing is alright, if it's not, what's he going to do on the training ground?

15-11-2016, 02:25 PM
why are players allowed to get away with crowding the ref and shouting in their faces :confused: if this was one player reacting he would almost def get a card, but when they all crows its as though they are exempt, ive seen it many times. Not sure who it is but one guy is right in the face of beating shouting and poiting...also looks like he gets pushed a bit by a few of their players

15-11-2016, 02:46 PM
[/B]

How long have you got?

He's a bitter maroon faced yam roaster who looks like his heid is about to explode every time he is asked to whine about how tough life is at wee low budget Falkirk. Him and Billy Broon share similar genetics by I really don't want to think about that one might have come about.

Anti - football manager - probably believes this sort of thing is alright, if it's not, what's he going to do on the training ground?
And a liar. Said to appeal costs £1000. In our league it is £250. Said SJM was to blame and he should have got red. Changed his tune overnight to "fair challange by 2 committed p[ayers". Dick.

15-11-2016, 03:11 PM
To be honest I was surprised at the red card at the time. I was more surprised that Baird and Hippolyte didn't get one as well.

they would have deservedly so with a lot of other referees

15-11-2016, 03:21 PM

Because McGinn is everything Houston is against - a player who can get the ball down and play proper football. McGinn also has something that Houstons never had and never will have - class.

CorrieHibs
15-11-2016, 03:30 PM
TT knows it's a red as he walks off more or less straight away and then his team mates get involved.

Horrible club.

They were at it for the whole game. How Baird wasn't spoken to i"ll never know.

If Bartley had done some of the fouling Baird did he would of been off.

15-11-2016, 03:53 PM
Heard Houston on the radio after the game saying that it was not a red card. IMO he is putting his money where his mouth is and I don't see anything wrong with that.

15-11-2016, 04:24 PM

definite red.

For some reason I couldn't find that on sky website! Doh.

Thanks though and as I suspected at the time...late and two footed. Defo red.

CorrieHibs
15-11-2016, 04:35 PM

- Thats ok then Peter, players can challenge how they want as long as the player isn't overly hurt from it. :rolleyes:

If McGinn did roll about injured. Houston would of called him a cheat!

15-11-2016, 05:49 PM
If McGinn did roll about injured. Houston would of called him a cheat!

Exactly! This is exactly what is wrong with football these days. Players thinking they have the thrive about in agony on the deck like they've been shot to get a decision their way. How many times have we seen players roll around the deck screaming as if they've been shot then oh the ref gives them a free kick/sends the opposition player off etc then suddenly they spring to their feet :rolleyes: Or even worse, when they roll about in supposed agony and the ref doesn't give them the decision their way and they spring to their feet to run after the ref and complain. Not only is it embarrassing but its also just blatant cheating which unfortunately has become part of the game. Just because McGinn didn't fake injury or indeed actually sustain an injury doesn't make the tackle any less illegal.

Houston really needs to get a grip. Every interview he does especially after playing hibs gets more embarrassing everytime. He hates hibs and hates players like McGinn who as I mentioned above just go against everything he stands for in the sense that they can actually play football. Houstons tactics to dealing with REAL football players is to hack them down and stop them playing then proceeds to say they are divers etc.

15-11-2016, 06:16 PM
Such a waste - that £1000 could have gone towards them building their fourth stand as well.

15-11-2016, 07:44 PM
Just watched the SKY highlights and used freeze frame by frame of the incident, and slowed right down both players go in 2 footed Mcginn's feet are in the air and stamps down just as the challenge comes in.
If Tiawo had been quicker, Mcginn would have stamped on him and that looks like what he tried to do.
Looks like both players actually played the ball, but still reckless by both players in my mind.

15-11-2016, 08:17 PM

What's wrong with him is that he's your average, typical, petty-minded Jambo - obsessed with hating everything and all-things Hibs !

I had the misfortune to be stuck in hospital when our SC semi-final with Dundee Utd was played so I had to watch it on TV - with a Jambo amongst the crowd of us watching it. Every single foul against us was 'NEVER A FOUL - HE DIVED/CHEATED' - every single foul we commited 'RED CARD REF - DIRTY HIBS BXXXXXXD' !. When Jason Cummings missed his penalty, I seriously thought he was going to wreck his wheel-chair with all his jumping about - which he did all through the game, his hatred was so passionate !!. Even all the non-Hibs/Hearts fans/patients were telling him to 'Shut the fXXk up' ! But when Cummings scored the penalty sending us to the final, he literally 'Burned rubber' with his wheel-chair in his haste to get back to his room - where he stayed for the rest of the night, didn't even come out for his tea - something he NEVER missed !!

Jambo-supporters - particuarly the ones that've been brought up during their 30+ years run with 'other people's money' - have developed a rabid, vicious hatred of Hibs and an (unfounded, puzzling) arrogance second only to their big bros over in Govan ! A typical example is newspaper-forums (the EEN/Scotsman) on Hibs-articles, without fail, every single Hibs-thread will have a Jambo making the first post, always snidey/nasty/patronising - always full of arrogance. Even though we're a league apart (as we've always been regarding them !) their hatred continues, maybe even increased.

All of which means, now they're 'Playing within their means' and when we're back in the SPL, that the level playing-field WILL see a huge change in the derby-games - and its a change that they will NOT like !!. Perhaps that's where their hatred of us comes from, they fear a future where Hibs - a club that, due to their years of cheating, they've genuinely looked done on, never rated, scorned - no longer their 'poor rivals/'wee team' are going to start changing the derby-record dramatically !, For them, their future is most definitely GREEN !!

And that's what's wrong with the Jambo Houston !

15-11-2016, 08:45 PM

definite red.

Horrible tackle. If Lewis had stayed on the post would probably have stopped the goal.

15-11-2016, 08:48 PM
Tremendous ball from McGinn it must be said.

15-11-2016, 09:30 PM
Houston is the biggest tit walking this planet

16-11-2016, 11:07 AM
For some reason I couldn't find that on sky website! Doh.

Thanks though and as I suspected at the time...late and two footed. Defo red.

It wasn't really "late" though was it as his one foot won the ball.

It was however off the ground and studs showing, so a nailed on red either way, but I imagine the fact he got the ball will be Tomato Heid Houston's line of defence.

Galahibby
16-11-2016, 09:54 PM
EEN saying the appeal's been withdrawn.

http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/falkirk-withdraw-appeal-over-tom-taiwo-red-card-against-hibs-1-4291670

16-11-2016, 09:56 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161116/89375c7e09ce3f05589cbe4647123126.png
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161116/837a86e2bbfa61fd10b170093c962931.png

16-11-2016, 09:58 PM
What a dismal little shower they are

16-11-2016, 10:01 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161116/89375c7e09ce3f05589cbe4647123126.png
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161116/837a86e2bbfa61fd10b170093c962931.png

The lesson is; look at the video before start shooting your mouth off and put in an appeal.

Ahahaha back into their hole

I'd like another apology from Houston to Mcginn

16-11-2016, 10:02 PM
Maybe the forearm smash he did seconds before was being brought to the table

16-11-2016, 10:03 PM
If it was possible for Houston to make himself look even more of a fanny, he's just managed it.

16-11-2016, 10:03 PM
Houston is a @anny
He wears a @annys hat

PercyHibs
16-11-2016, 10:15 PM
I didn't think it was a red at the time and I don't now. The sky sports clip and YouTube clip on the previous page is inconclusive.

Agree Houston is a diddie tho.

16-11-2016, 10:26 PM
Houston is a @anny
He wears a @annys hat
And when he gets on telly

He sound a right yam twat

16-11-2016, 10:42 PM
And when he gets on telly

He sounds a right yam twat

slight spelling error :)

i'm sure the song writers can add another few lines by the time we play the cloggers again

16-11-2016, 10:45 PM
slight spelling error :)

i'm sure the song writers can add another few lines by the time we play the cloggers again
[emoji1]

16-11-2016, 11:32 PM
Houston is a see you en tee

17-11-2016, 07:20 AM
If it was possible for Houston to make himself look even more of a fanny, he's just managed it.

I hope it wasnt the ref giving them the heads up he still thought it a red. That shouldnt happen if that is the case. Seems very odd to appeal then withdraw with there being an explanation.

17-11-2016, 07:34 AM
I hope it wasnt the ref giving them the heads up he still thought it a red. That shouldnt happen if that is the case. Seems very odd to appeal then withdraw with there being an explanation.

You know, I was thinking last night that they've maybe been given the heads up. Ridiculous if the case.

JDHibs
17-11-2016, 08:05 AM
In my opinion, Houston came out and said it wasnt a red after a quick watch at half time and when things were still heated.

Once its came to Mon/Tues and theyve had time to review it properly like a normal human being, theyve realized its a red.

Still Houston is a complete moron.

17-11-2016, 08:09 AM
In my opinion, Houston came out and said it wasnt a red after a quick watch at half time and when things were still heated.

Once its came to Mon/Tues and theyve had time to review it properly like a normal human being, theyve realized its a red.

Thing is, it was Tuesday morning when they officially announced they were launching an appeal. Houston said we'll need to speak to the chairman. If they'd just left it at that point then everyone would have just presumed that the chairman has said no we're not risking the cash, and that's the end of the story. But for them to advise on the Tuesday (the latest you can lodge an appeal) that they were making an appeal, there's a wee bit more to it for me

17-11-2016, 08:36 AM
Pathetic wee club

17-11-2016, 08:39 AM
Thing is, it was Tuesday morning when they officially announced they were launching an appeal. Houston said we'll need to speak to the chairman. If they'd just left it at that point then everyone would have just presumed that the chairman has said no we're not risking the cash, and that's the end of the story. But for them to advise on the Tuesday (the latest you can lodge an appeal) that they were making an appeal, there's a wee bit more to it for me

Good point, and probably right but I think there's got to be a chance that it maybe took hoosty until Tuesday to work out how to turn on his telly and see the evidence.

Not the brightest bulb on the tree.

Marco G
17-11-2016, 08:41 AM
You know, I was thinking last night that they've maybe been given the heads up. Ridiculous if the case.

What they will have seen is the refs report. That could be part of the evidence they are talking about. Does not have to be a two footed tackle to merit a red and if the video backs up whatever the ref said then the appeal would likely fail.

17-11-2016, 12:14 PM
It wouldn't surprise me if Houston had no input into the withdrawal of appeal, and the directors have taken it upon themselves to do the right thing. Houston has made a fool of himself, and his club, and his club knows it.

17-11-2016, 12:55 PM

Nope, the tomato heided one was on the radio doing the Sunday game and was asked about it by Rob Mclean - he stated that Falkirk have their own video analysis person at each game, and they had reviewed it.

He said it was definitely going to be appealed, as John McGinn also went in with two feet and there was no malice involved.

So, he definitely had time to analyse it, definitely thought it wasn't a red, and they were definitely going to appeal.

17-11-2016, 07:01 PM
I've not seen Houston's apology anywhere. He was quick enough to pontificate and blame McGinn.

Shows the quality of the man.

Detestable.