View Full Version : Hibernian Ladies Win The Scottish Cup

06-11-2016, 12:20 PM
Hibernian Ladies play in their Scottish Cup Final today. We may have both Scottish Cups resting in our Board room later today. That would be magnificent. Go girls keep the faith. GGTTH

Highland_Hibee
06-11-2016, 12:23 PM
Good luck, didn't know Boyles fiancé plays for them until I watched his interview earlier. What a historic couple that could be!

06-11-2016, 12:24 PM
Live on BBC Alba 4pm.

06-11-2016, 01:38 PM
Time for Heroines

06-11-2016, 02:55 PM
Live on BBC Alba 4pm.

Was just coming to ask that. Will Defo sit down and watch it

Jim Herriot
06-11-2016, 03:07 PM
Time for Heroines
When can we expect the DVD to be delivered? Will it be HD?

hhibs
06-11-2016, 03:10 PM
Good luck, didn't know Boyles fiancé plays for them until I watched his interview earlier. What a historic couple that could be!

What position does she play?

Just settled down with a glass of wine to see the Hibs Ladies do a historic double.....:flag:

06-11-2016, 03:20 PM
Playing well. Playing mostly down the left wing. That's where our first goal will come from. :wink:

06-11-2016, 03:23 PM
I like the Hibs Ladies shape.

06-11-2016, 03:28 PM
I like the Hibs Ladies shape.
Me anaw. Mind you at my age I would like the Hibs Ladies mums shape too probably.....

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 03:31 PM
1-0

06-11-2016, 03:31 PM
1-0 Hibees.

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 03:32 PM
Yeeeesss get in

1-0 nice header. Robertson 23 gone

AltheHibby
Robertson. Nice header.

Nice header :thumbsup:

Prof. Shaggy
06-11-2016, 03:34 PM
If we're quick we can get there in time for the FT invasion...:greengrin

hhibs
06-11-2016, 03:36 PM
Goal ! Header for Robertson.........go Hibees !

06-11-2016, 03:36 PM
Two cups. :greengrin

06-11-2016, 03:38 PM
Hibs ladies looking good and worth their lead. Would be great to have both Scottish Cups in the care of the Hi-bees.

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 03:39 PM
Playing pretty well so far. Deserved lead Id say.

06-11-2016, 03:40 PM
Is this not the league cup equivalent? I thought the ladies won the Scottish cup equivalent last year around the same time as us (injury time winner v Glasgow). Or have i got myself completely confused?

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 03:40 PM
Am I right in thinking that both teams beat that mob on their way to the finals?

06-11-2016, 03:42 PM
Is this not the league cup equivalent? I thought the ladies won the Scottish cup equivalent last year around the same time as us (injury time winner v Glasgow). Or have i got myself completely confused?

You're confused. :greengrin

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 03:42 PM
Some lovely long balls being played over the top.. creating a good few chances from it.

06-11-2016, 03:46 PM
Need another goal, though. City are better than this.

06-11-2016, 03:46 PM
You're confused. :greengrin

Found it!

http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/36527059

Anyone able to shed any light on my confusion?

the_ginger_hibee
06-11-2016, 03:50 PM
Found it!

The L in 'SWPL Cup' stands for League - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Women%27s_Premier_League_Cup

Today is the Scottish.

06-11-2016, 03:52 PM
Found it!

That was the Scottish Women's Premier League Cup.

06-11-2016, 03:53 PM
The L in 'SWPL Cup' stands for League - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Women%27s_Premier_League_Cup

Today is the Scottish.
Ah okay. And their summer season means this is their end of season showpiece. Makes sense!

Thanks.

Sent from my EVA-L09 using Tapatalk

06-11-2016, 03:55 PM
Not a mention on the BBC. It's all the English wimmin

06-11-2016, 03:57 PM
Well worth the halftime lead. If the Hibernian Ladies were to win, would it be the first time that a club has had both men and women as current Scottish Cup holders ?

The Captain....
06-11-2016, 04:00 PM
Looked very comfortable first half - probably should be more than one up as got into decent positions two or three times but not picked out the final ball. Looks freezing in the stadium..well done to the travelling Hibees who have gone thru...I hope they enjoy another Cup win for their efforts.

06-11-2016, 04:03 PM
First foul was after 26minutes,lucky if it's 26seconds in the men's game.

06-11-2016, 04:12 PM
Hopefully if they win we will see both cups out at Easter Road.

06-11-2016, 04:19 PM
That should have been 2-0 but the lassie shat it

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 04:23 PM
Close. I thought that was going in.

06-11-2016, 04:26 PM

That's something I would like to get a hold of. Maybe even a photo of me holding them aloft.

06-11-2016, 04:26 PM
Close. I thought that was going in.

I'm going to have to give this thread a miss as the iplayer is obviously a bit behind :rolleyes:

....thought that was going in

06-11-2016, 04:31 PM

Oi! You've already been pulled up this weekend for your bad taste in jokes. Don't be adding sexist comments to your CV.

06-11-2016, 04:32 PM
Horrific keeping

06-11-2016, 04:32 PM
That's something I would like to get a hold of. Maybe even a photo of me holding them aloft.

....and you! :greengrin

06-11-2016, 04:33 PM
Defensive howler for the equaliser.

Shame the crowd isn't bigger.

Hibee_Craig7062
06-11-2016, 04:33 PM
Horrific keeping
Yip....stand up and catch it

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 04:35 PM
Horrific keeping

Harsh. Imo.

The error was more with the defenders. Any who. 1-1.
Belief needed...

06-11-2016, 04:37 PM
Harsh. Imo.

The error was more with the defenders. Any who. 1-1.
Belief needed...

Agreed

But she tried to be smart and tip it over.

06-11-2016, 04:39 PM
Agreed

But she tried to be smart and tip it over.

She was at full stretch so I don't know what else she was supposed to do. Harsh.

Glasgow in the ascendancy now.

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 04:41 PM
We're the better side.

C'mon Hibs.

06-11-2016, 04:43 PM
She was at full stretch so I don't know what else she was supposed to do. Harsh.

Glasgow in the ascendancy now.

Wit

Highland_Hibee
06-11-2016, 04:45 PM
It's not quite 21/5/16 is it.

06-11-2016, 04:51 PM
Be funny if the board goes up at 90 minutes saying 4 additional minutes.

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 04:58 PM
Aarrghhhhhhhhghhhhhhhhh.
So close to a winner

David Gray would have thrown himself at the ball there

AltheHibby
Off the line in the last 2 seconds. How unlucky were we?

how did that not go in ?, 92nd minute too :greengrin

06-11-2016, 04:59 PM
Should have won that there

how did that not go in ?, 92nd minute too :greengrin

I was hoping for the 90+2.

Hibs the better team over the 90. Given the standard of keeping I'd be telling the players to shoot from anywhere.

06-11-2016, 05:00 PM
So close.

Come on let's have the double!

06-11-2016, 05:11 PM
We're all over them now. Come on the wimmen.

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 05:22 PM
S***, that was close.

06-11-2016, 05:25 PM
Hibs been better Team easily

06-11-2016, 05:36 PM
Hibs been better Team easily

It'll be unfair if we lose this on pens.

06-11-2016, 05:36 PM
How are we at penalties?

KSA Hibee
06-11-2016, 05:37 PM
Common the Cabbage .. let's get this done 🏆🏆

06-11-2016, 05:42 PM
Bad start :(

06-11-2016, 05:45 PM
What a save. Mon the cabbage!!

06-11-2016, 05:45 PM
3-3 with one miss each.

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 05:47 PM
Yes, yes, yes

Hibernian win the Scottish cup, for the 2nd time this year!!!

Girls win!

06-11-2016, 05:48 PM
Yes ! Double scottish cup holders :flag:

06-11-2016, 05:48 PM
Well done the ladies team!

06-11-2016, 05:49 PM
Another cup for the trophy cabinet. Is that another DVD to be made [emoji16]

Northern Hibby
Well done ladies 🏆🏆 at Easter Road 😀

ACLeith
Where's the invasion? No players assaulted? Amateurs!!!!!

KSA Hibee
🙏🎊🎉⚽️🍻💚💚 double done !! Well done the lassies

Yessss!

sauzee=legend
06-11-2016, 05:50 PM
Scottish cup double 🏆🏆

Sioux
Pretty disappointing. No one invading the pitch:greengrin

The Captain....
Brilliant...well done the lasses...I think over the piece they were the better side. Great pen save by the keeper. :flag:

Fantastic for the ladies
Very well done to the management team

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 05:51 PM
And both teams beat the yams on the way. Fantastic.

mjh
Just in case anybody missed it the DVD will be along soon!!

hhibs
Scottish Cup Champions !!!

Fantastic Hibs ladies !!

Hibs OWN the Scottish Cup !!

Is this a first ?

:hibees:flag:

Congratulations to Hibernian Ladies. Well done. :thumbsup:

KSA Hibee
Like bloody buses ... ye wait 114 years and then you get 2 at once 🏆🏆

Hibs1969
06-11-2016, 05:52 PM
Hibernian FC - double Scottish Cup winners 2016. Fantastic.

Well done ladies, great effort. 🏆🏆

How are we at penalties?

Seems like we're no bad at them.

Well done Hibs. :flag:

Outstanding! Well done hibernian ladies :flag:

06-11-2016, 05:53 PM
No matter what age or what sex I never get tired of watching a Hibs team lift a trophy. Well done the girls🏆🏆

Yaaaaaasssssss 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Halmyre Hibee
Was nervous watching the penalties. Well done girls. GGTTH.

Hope the ladies get all the publicity their cup win deserves.

06-11-2016, 05:54 PM
Hibernian FC Retweeted (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/734693092155068416/yJnsJRfw_bigger.jpg Martin Boyle ‏@MartinBoyle9 (https://twitter.com/MartinBoyle9) 3m3 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/MartinBoyle9/status/795337520015962112)
3 day bender? Fancy it.. @RachSmall23 (https://twitter.com/RachSmall23) https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f440.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f3c6.png

KSA Hibee
06-11-2016, 05:55 PM
No matter what age or what sex I never get tired of watching a Hibs team lift a trophy. Well done the girls🏆🏆

A Hibs strip is a Hibs strip is a Hibs strip !!

Halmyre Hibee
Now playing Sunshine on Leith. Happy Days.

Kavinho
We absolutely deserved that.

Sunshine on Leith....!

Congratulations to the team & staff.
Outstanding

06-11-2016, 05:56 PM
Thoroughly deserved. Better team on the night. Well done the Hibs ladies

Hibernian FC Retweeted (https://twitter.com/HibsOfficial) https://pbs.twimg.com/profile_images/734693092155068416/yJnsJRfw_bigger.jpg Martin Boyle ‏@MartinBoyle9 (https://twitter.com/MartinBoyle9) 3m3 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/MartinBoyle9/status/795337520015962112)
3 day bender? Fancy it.. @RachSmall23 (https://twitter.com/RachSmall23) https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f440.pnghttps://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f3c6.png

Legend.

AltheHibby
Like bloody buses ... ye wait 114 years and then you get 2 at once 🏆🏆

😁

06-11-2016, 05:58 PM
This an absolutely fantastic marketing opportunity for the club as a whole with a chance to promote the ladies team and their outstanding double cup winning performance.

Wee Effen Bee
06-11-2016, 05:58 PM
As I said on the Murray thread, 2016 is an all-round Hibees year!

hibees59
06-11-2016, 06:00 PM
Congratulations to Hibernian Ladies, a great result.:thumbsup:

06-11-2016, 06:01 PM
Well done, what a great achievement! 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

06-11-2016, 06:01 PM
Men's and Women's team both get to the 2 major cup finals of 2016. Mens team wins the Scottish for the first time in 114 years and the Women's team wins both trophies, this hasnae been a bad wee year eh :greengrin

06-11-2016, 06:03 PM
Felt quite emotional when I heard the ladies singing "when the Hibs went up to lift the Scottish Cup, we were there"

That's half time sorted for Saturday

06-11-2016, 06:04 PM
Congratulations to the Hibees girls!
They looked like they wanted it more than Glasgow.
Well done to all the girls and staff.
Hope the Cups are on show at the AGM tomorrow night

06-11-2016, 06:04 PM
Fantastic achievement. Cup doubles don't come along all that often. Hopefully they get to parade the trophy at ER at our next home game.

Womens football is on the rise and it's good to see Hibs at the forefront in Scotland.

Babyshamble
06-11-2016, 06:07 PM
What a year to be a hibby.double Scottish cup winners ..Gary Anderson world darts champion & Andy Murray world number one in tennis. Fantastic 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

Callyballybe
Fantastic achievement, well done to the management team and the ladies themselves.

Scottish cup double. Brilliant!

Brilliant! Well done the girls! 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬

06-11-2016, 06:12 PM
Scott Boath came across as a classless fud. 'Aye remember we (City) have won the league 10 times on the trot. Bad looser with no class. Well done girls. Glory Glory.

06-11-2016, 06:14 PM
Stunning

06-11-2016, 06:18 PM
Outstanding achievement from the Hibernian Ladies.

06-11-2016, 06:21 PM
missed it :( but well done the ladies :cup: persevered

SON OF PADDY
06-11-2016, 06:25 PM
Felt quite emotional when I heard the ladies singing "when the Hibs went up to lift the Scottish Cup, we were there"

That's half time sorted for Saturday

Brilliant result !!
Well done ladies so proud of every one of you,
Hopefully the cup will be paraded on Saturday and the girls can take a well deserved bow.

hhibs
06-11-2016, 06:26 PM
This must provide great marketing opportunities.............right,so get to it Hibs,money to be made for all the Hibees family.

06-11-2016, 06:27 PM
Yes!! Well done Hibernian Ladies. What a year for our club!
:flag::flag::flag::flag:

06-11-2016, 06:28 PM
Even Sportscene referred to a great weekend for Hibs supporters - the Ladies success, our comfortable win at Ayr and Andy Murray reaching no.1.

hhibs
06-11-2016, 06:29 PM
Scott Boath came across as a classless fud. 'Aye remember we (City) have won the league 10 times on the trot. Bad looser with no class. Well done girls. Glory Glory.

Almost Warburtonesk. Nae class whatsoever.

Well done the ladies!!

Brilliant result !!
Well done ladies so proud of every one of you,
Hopefully the cup will be paraded on Saturday and the girls can take a well deserved bow.

Both Cups maybe🏆

SON OF PADDY
06-11-2016, 06:37 PM
Both Cups maybe🏆

Surely the ladies will show off " both cups " League & Scottish holders. GGTTH

06-11-2016, 06:40 PM
5 pages and I've no idea who we were playing against!

dchibs
06-11-2016, 06:41 PM
Going to book getting my picture with both cups now

06-11-2016, 06:41 PM
5 pages and I've no idea who we were playing against!

Glasgow City who have been the dominant side in ladies football for the lasr few years.

06-11-2016, 06:55 PM
Superb - congratulations ladies

Good to see both Scottish Cup trophies in the Easter Road trophy cabinet this year 💚⚽🏆

AltheHibby
06-11-2016, 07:01 PM
http://m.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/37891305

rotherhamrob
06-11-2016, 07:02 PM
Congratulations ladies

06-11-2016, 07:08 PM
That will be Martin Boyles fiancée on the lash for the next 3 weeks.

06-11-2016, 07:21 PM
Well done ladies!

Hibernian FC - 2016 Men's & Women's Scottish Cup Winners!

06-11-2016, 07:22 PM

High-On-Hibs
06-11-2016, 07:24 PM
Delighted they won the cup. You'd think more effort would have gone into the design of the cup though.

wpj
06-11-2016, 07:25 PM
Brilliant! Well done

gaz1875
06-11-2016, 07:29 PM
Well done the Ladies, organised throughout and some brilliant penalties :flag:

06-11-2016, 07:35 PM
Brilliant, ladies!

06-11-2016, 07:37 PM
Enjoyed that. ...Thank you ladies.
the harbour Inn exploded when you won the cup.

06-11-2016, 07:46 PM
Glasgow City who have been the dominant side in ladies football for the lasr few years.

Bit of an understatement, Glasgow have won the league for the last 10 years!!!

06-11-2016, 07:51 PM
Live on BBC Alba 4pm.

Poorly promoted, I had no idea it was on.

Well done the Lassies! Hibs: double Scottish Cup winners 2016. What a year!

06-11-2016, 07:55 PM
Well done Hibs ladies. All helps build a culture of success at the club.

06-11-2016, 08:15 PM
Well done the ladies .... Scottish & League cups in the bag, what a season its been for them. Deserved to win the game, better team over the 90 minutes.

Kavinho
06-11-2016, 08:20 PM
Well done the ladies .... Scottish & League cups in the bag, what a season its been for them. Deserved to win the game, better team over the 90 minutes.

...and the 120mins, and the penalties!
Would have been a travesty to have not taken home the cup

06-11-2016, 08:27 PM
Brilliant stuff well done the Ladies Team, let's not forget they also won the League Cup in June..just think..if we had beaten Ross County we'd have all four cups !:flag::flag::flag:

06-11-2016, 08:51 PM
That will be Martin Boyles fiancée on the lash for the next 3 weeks.

https://twitter.com/MartinBoyle9/status/795358583600906241/photo/1

06-11-2016, 09:17 PM
Typical. You wait 114 years for the Scottish Cup then two come along at once.

GTMRossaK3
06-11-2016, 09:40 PM
There was only one team out there today who looked as if the had won the League 10 times on the trot and it wasn't wearing orange! A fantastic performance of controlled football and so glad they got what they deserved. They have come on leaps and bounds from when I went to last year's final. Fantastic to have the two Scottish Cups at Easter Road - one was great but this really puts the icing on the cake. Wonderful result - just hope the girls get the credit they truly deserve. A half-time parade on the pitch at Easter Road is a must. Thanks Ladies for a fantastic afternoon!

Gogs07
06-11-2016, 09:44 PM
Congratulations to the Hibs ladies on a great cup double.

Hopefully, the DVD will be out quicker than the men's!!.:greengrin

06-11-2016, 10:22 PM
Only caught the last ten minutes plus extra time on Alba, then had to go out so I missed the penalties. Checked Twitter to find we'd won!

Congratulations to Hibs Ladies on their cup double this year :not worth

And to Hibs as a club for the Scottish Cup double :not worth

06-11-2016, 10:25 PM
https://twitter.com/MartinBoyle9/status/795358583600906241/photo/1

Brilliant.

1st photo - pished.

2nd photo - he's got that twinkle in his eye!

07-11-2016, 02:53 AM
Forgive me if it has been suggested already, but the Ladies Scottish Cup should be added to the Persevere tour, along with a representative.

It would act as an inspiration for all the schoolgirls, and show them that there is a place for them as well as their Dads and brothers in our club.

Jay
07-11-2016, 06:15 AM
Forgive me if it has been suggested already, but the Ladies Scottish Cup should be added to the Persevere tour, along with a representative.

It would act as an inspiration for all the schoolgirls, and show them that there is a place for them as well as their Dads and brothers in our club.

I think thats a fantastic idea!

Hibs1972
07-11-2016, 06:34 AM
Well done the Ladies, organised throughout and some brilliant penalties :flag:
To be honest,apart from the 2 penalties that skied over the bar,most of the penalties were "unsavable"! Most were hitting side netting or high to one side or other,brilliant!:flag:

Fergos
07-11-2016, 06:44 AM
Massive achievement for the Hibernian Ladies.

Congratulations to all involved.

2 big cups at ER in 1 season, surely a first for any club?

Galahibby
07-11-2016, 07:39 AM
To be honest,apart from the 2 penalties that skied over the bar,most of the penalties were "unsavable"! Most were hitting side netting or high to one side or other,brilliant!:flag:

I was thinking they could teach the lads a thing or two about taking penalties.

Bill Milne
07-11-2016, 07:47 AM
Massive achievement for the Hibernian Ladies.

Congratulations to all involved.

2 big cups at ER in 1 season, surely a first for any club?

And a "wee" cup as well!!

07-11-2016, 12:00 PM
...and the 120mins, and the penalties!
Would have been a travesty to have not taken home the cup

Aye ... sorry I forgot it was ET, should have said 120, though I had to go out and missed the ET just got back in time for the pens.

Somebody said the Women's cup should be added to the 'Persevered' tour and that sounds like a brilliant idea, it will surely help girls get involved in playing the game ..... hats off to ALBA by the way for having the foresight to cover the final, what a great souvenir for the ladies to be able to show the grandkids in future years.

hibeejeebies
07-11-2016, 12:28 PM

Well done the girls 😁

07-11-2016, 12:58 PM

Well done the girls 😁

:agree::top marks:hibees

Yuillsy
07-11-2016, 01:21 PM

Good Idea, we watched the game yesterday and the 1st thing my older daughter said was "Can I get my picture taken with that cup?".

07-11-2016, 05:44 PM
First time ever the same club holds both the women's and men's Scottish Cups. Another first for Hibernian Football Club.

08-11-2016, 10:27 AM
Hibernian Ladies play in their Scottish Cup Final today. We may have both Scottish Cups resting in our Board room later today. That would be magnificent. Go girls keep the faith. GGTTH