View Full Version : Trump or Clinton ... vote here!

HibbyDave
05-11-2016, 09:07 PM
Post your vote here just for fun!!!

05-11-2016, 09:12 PM
If I was American, with nose firmly held it would be Clinton.

05-11-2016, 09:12 PM
**** knows how I'd feel if I had to make the choice for real, but I'd do anything to stop a lunatic like Trump gaining any sort of power. Watching the campaign is like watching a really unbelievable sit com.

05-11-2016, 09:38 PM
Both terrible candidates, but I guess from the outside looking in then it has to be Clinton.

We laugh at Trump just like we laughed at Farage, but it's a sign of how far removed the old school politicians are from the reality of life that people like this get to the position they are in.

05-11-2016, 09:43 PM
Both terrible candidates, but I guess from the outside looking in then it has to be Clinton.

We laugh at Trump just like we laughed at Farage, but it's a sign of how far removed the old school politicians are from the reality of life that people like this get to the position they are in.
That is so true. There's a huge number of people in both this country and in the US that feel they don't have anyone to represent them. In this country we ended up with brexit and the US may well end up with trump. It's the modern day equivalent of the mass unrest of the people between the world wars.

05-11-2016, 10:00 PM
I can't stand Hillary Clinton but the thought of Donald Trump becoming President of the USA is frightening.

I would vote Clinton as the least worst candidate (just).

wpj
06-11-2016, 06:20 AM
Just seen the news! An an assassination scare at a Trump rally! (No weapons found, a scam?) Really the most decisive election I can remember anywhere. A lot of the trump campaign is purely anti Clinton rather than pro Trump. I really wish Bernie had the nominations to be standing

06-11-2016, 06:46 AM
This is "post truth" politics, where you can say anything you want with no comeback. The best examples of this are;

Trump steadfastly denies he supported the invasion of Iraq, despite the readily available audio and video footage of him endorsing it.

The Brexit campaign claim that £360million would go to the NHS if we voted out. The day after the referendum, Farage admits this is not true.

If Trump loses, he will just say he won and carry on regardless, with the majority of the headcases that support him believing his every word.

06-11-2016, 07:06 AM
Clinton. Without hesitation.

06-11-2016, 07:07 AM
Clinton, she's not perfect but Trump being in the White House is scarey

06-11-2016, 07:54 AM
This is "post truth" politics, where you can say anything you want with no comeback. The best examples of this are;

Trump steadfastly denies he supported the invasion of Iraq, despite the readily available audio and video footage of him endorsing it.

The Brexit campaign claim that £360million would go to the NHS if we voted out. The day after the referendum, Farage admits this is not true.

If Trump loses, he will just say he won and carry on regardless, with the majority of the headcases that support him believing his every word.

Agreed. What's the point in voting when you're basing your vote on what is a pack of lies from every candidate. You're just closing your eyes and hoping for the best. As an aside I'm certainly not pro trump but I don't think I could choose between either of them. The idea that no matter what one you vote for your president could be up in court not long after election is a ridiculous situation to be in.

06-11-2016, 08:06 AM
South Park nailed it

06-11-2016, 09:15 AM
Jill Stein. :agree:

06-11-2016, 10:22 AM
Clinton without hesitation.

06-11-2016, 10:38 AM
Bernie Saunders

06-11-2016, 11:57 AM
From what i've read Clinton would be a bigger danger to world peace than Trump.

ClewsHibs
06-11-2016, 12:20 PM
From what i've read Clinton would be a bigger danger to world peace than Trump.

How so?

06-11-2016, 01:32 PM
How so?Some folk reckon Trump is an isolationist where Clinton would be more likely to wage war abroad.

06-11-2016, 03:25 PM
Some folk reckon Trump is an isolationist where Clinton would be more likely to wage war abroad.

I'm no fan of jingoistic foreign policy but it's the path the UK has trodden in recent years. With our own commitment to isolationism from Europe post EU referendum then, if we continue down the same route, a strong NATO is increasingly important. I think Clinton protects that better than Trump.

Of course a radical rethink of our own involvment in, and enablement of, foreign conflict would be a better idea imo. The fact our own bloody fingerprints are all over the place historically makes that unlikely though.

High-On-Hibs
06-11-2016, 06:09 PM
A gun to the head would be my vote. Anything is better than choosing between that.

06-11-2016, 07:38 PM
FBI director: new Hillary Clinton emails still do not show criminal wrongdoing

http://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2016/nov/06/fbi-director-hillary-clinton-email-investigation-criminal-james-comey?CMP=Share_AndroidApp_Copy_to_clipboard

06-11-2016, 09:09 PM
No fan of Hillary, and there's something unattractive about the slogan "Stronger Together" that I just can't put my finger on :wink:, but could never vote for Trump.

06-11-2016, 09:12 PM
The fact that the most dominant country in the world allows a creature like Trump anywhere near the presidency strikes me with disgust and terror for the future.

06-11-2016, 09:44 PM
I think I'd blow my nose on the ballot paper... what a dire choice to have.

EH6 Hibby
06-11-2016, 10:28 PM
I think I'd blow my nose on the ballot paper... what a dire choice to have.

And that is why Trump might just win it. Too many people will end up spoiling their vote or not voting at all.

That's why I think we ended up with Brexit. Too many people didn't care enough to vote so the slight majority won because they were the nes who felt stronger about it.

06-11-2016, 10:32 PM
Trump?

Clinton?

Vote Trumpton!

07-11-2016, 04:50 AM
If I was a US citizen I'd vote for Hillary Clinton and the Democratic Party - IMO Trump is not the disease afflicting society, he's only a symptom and the worrying thing is that he is not the end of something bad, but the starting point for something worse to come ...

07-11-2016, 05:47 AM
Jill Stein. :agree:

An implicit vote for Trump.

I'd be Clinton every day of the week, only as a way of stopping Trump.

07-11-2016, 06:42 AM
If I was a US citizen I'd vote for Hillary Clinton and the Democratic Party - IMO Trump is not the disease afflicting society, he's only a sympton and the worrying thing is that he is not the end of something bad, but the starting point for something worse to come ...

That's where I am. No matter how good a president Clinton is, every little mistake will be put under the microscope and the conclusion from the hard of thinking will be that Trump would have done better. This will clear the path for the next psychopath to romp the election somewhere down the line.

07-11-2016, 08:19 AM
It seems to be de rigueur to state wisely that the US has a choice of 2 terrible candidates.

I don't believe that to be the case.

Certainly, both candidates are less popular han previous nominees, but only Trump is awful.

In my opinion, Clinton's unpopularity mostly stems from deliberate, but unsubstantiated, smears against her, spread by Trump and other right wingers, because she is a woman, and because of her husband's behaviour.

She is a highly experienced politician and is respected by statesmen around the world.

Trump, on the other hand has no idea about politics He is a ruthless business man with multiple deliberate bankruptcies behind him, who has the support of Putin and posdibly the radge in North Korea only. When it looked like he was hoing to win, the dollar crashed.

I hope Clinton wins and wins the Senate and the House too.

I don't understand why people in the UK think she'd be a bad choice other than someone said it.

07-11-2016, 09:16 AM
It seems to be de rigueur to state wisely that the US has a choice of 2 terrible candidates.

I don't believe that to be the case.

Certainly, both candidates are less popular han previous nominees, but only Trump is awful.

In my opinion, Clinton's unpopularity mostly stems from deliberate, but unsubstantiated, smears against her, spread by Trump and other right wingers, because she is a woman, and because of her husband's behaviour.

She is a highly experienced politician and is respected by statesmen around the world.

Trump, on the other hand has no idea about politics He is a ruthless business man with multiple deliberate bankruptcies behind him, who has the support of Putin and posdibly the radge in North Korea only. When it looked like he was hoing to win, the dollar crashed.

I hope Clinton wins and wins the Senate and the House too.

I don't understand why people in the UK think she'd be a bad choice other than someone said it.

I dunno, Clintons economic policies leave a bit to be desired but I get your point she hardly seems the terrible choice some are making out.

She's hardly an inspiring choice but when compared to the alternative it's a rather simple choice to make!

07-11-2016, 10:00 AM
Clinton in a New York minute.

Donald Trump - in ACTUAL power aye??!!

Naw.

Ozymandias
07-11-2016, 10:49 AM
Clinton without hesitation.

Trump getting in would be a global and US disaster - the thought of Trump and the Republican Right running the US is genuinely scary. (The irony of evangelicals supporting him is incredible - noticed how God hasn't been a feature of this campaign? It's because those hypocritical know-nothings are backing a man with the zero genuine faith because he gels with and stokes their fears of "the other").

Trump getting to choose the next 2, 3 or 4 Supreme Court judges has serious impact for personal civil liberties in the US for decades, never mind a one-term trump presidency.

07-11-2016, 11:24 AM
I dunno, Clintons economic policies leave a bit to be desired but I get your point she hardly seems the terrible choice some are making out.

She's hardly an inspiring choice but when compared to the alternative it's a rather simple choice to make!

:agree: While I'm no expert on American Politics. From what I've gathered so far, Clinton has her faults, in the same way that a few of my dodgier mates aren't exactly perfect :greengrin

Not in the same league as that racist lunatic. I think she's been made out to be far worse than she is due to who she is up against.

(((Fergus)))
07-11-2016, 07:10 PM
You can vote in the global poll here: https://worldwide.vote/hillary-vs-trump/#/

As the job title is President of the *United States of America*, I would vote for the candidate who, in my judgement, loved the USA and *all* of its (legal) citizens the most.

TheReg!
07-11-2016, 07:24 PM
You can vote in the global poll here: https://worldwide.vote/hillary-vs-trump/#/

As the job title is President of the *United States of America*, I would vote for the candidate who, in my judgement, loved the USA and *all* of its (legal) citizens the most.

I know it's not to be taken seriously however, I do think the silent majority just like Brexit etc will get Trump through. It's an interesting read, pretty much the whole of Europe have voted for Trump.

07-11-2016, 08:09 PM
Like most sane people I hope Trump doesn't get into power. I'm pretty sure Clinton will win by a decent margin.

Ozymandias
07-11-2016, 08:49 PM

As long as you're not female, non-christian, black, liberal, hispanic, a journalist, disabled then you're right, he probably may love you, in so far as a narcissitic sociopath can love anyone other than himself.

07-11-2016, 10:55 PM
I think Trump will win, it's the year of the unlikely triumph so in a roundabout way this is all David Grays fault. Enjoy yer last xmas folks :greengrin

07-11-2016, 11:47 PM

I read an article somewhere a while back that the big (2010?) economic crash could be traced back directly to Clinton's policies.
I'm no economics professor so I can't possibly confirm this. Just adding my tuppenceworth to SiMar's comment above.

ChicagoHibee
08-11-2016, 02:33 AM
I'm a Democrat and voted for Al Gore, John Kerry, and Obama twice. Even though he will lose tomorrow, I will be voting for Donald J. Trump. For those of you across the pond and support the neocon Clinton, don't worry......she will win and will probably have the US in another stupid war by 2018.

Ozymandias
08-11-2016, 09:05 AM
I'm a Democrat and voted for Al Gore, John Kerry, and Obama twice. Even though he will lose tomorrow, I will be voting for Donald J. Trump. For those of you across the pond and support the neocon Clinton, don't worry......she will win and will probably have the US in another stupid war by 2018.

Why - what appeals?

High-On-Hibs
08-11-2016, 02:06 PM

If Clinton is a neo Conservative in your view, then what do you think that makes Donald Trump? :crazy:

Clinton might get America into another war. Trump will get you into World War 3.

ChicagoHibee
08-11-2016, 03:31 PM
If Clinton is a neo Conservative in your view

Not just my view, but the view of other Neocons who are supporting her......Max Boot, Robert Kagan, etc.

Then what do you think that makes Donald Trump? :crazy:

A paleocon.

Clinton might get America into another war

Just my opinion, but I think she will.

Trump will get you into World War 3?

He won't..........she will be elected as president.

08-11-2016, 04:09 PM

This is what interests me most - in the U.K. nearly everyone thinks Clinton is the only sane choice. It's not the same in the USA and I'd suggest that they're better placed to make a decision than us. For what it's worth I think people are wholly exaggerating how much of a disaster Trump would be, especially over here in the U.K. Where all we get is him constantly being portrayed as an absolute roaster on the TV while Hilary generally gets portrayed as a more run of the mill presidential candidate.

08-11-2016, 04:27 PM
This is what interests me most - in the U.K. nearly everyone thinks Clinton is the only sane choice. It's not the same in the USA and I'd suggest that they're better placed to make a decision than us. For what it's worth I think people are wholly exaggerating how much of a disaster Trump would be, especially over here in the U.K. Where all we get is him constantly being portrayed as an absolute roaster on the TV while Hilary generally gets portrayed as a more run of the mill presidential candidate.

There's nothing being portrayed, Trump is a raving lunatic.

08-11-2016, 05:00 PM
There's nothing being portrayed, Trump is a raving lunatic.
He's like Doctor Evil with a bad wig.

High-On-Hibs
08-11-2016, 06:16 PM
If Clinton is a neo Conservative in your view

Not just my view, but the view of other Neocons who are supporting her......Max Boot, Robert Kagan, etc.

Then what do you think that makes Donald Trump? :crazy:

A paleocon.

Clinton might get America into another war

Just my opinion, but I think she will.

Trump will get you into World War 3?

He won't..........she will be elected as president.

A paleocon? Well he's certainly a pelican with that big nose of his. It only seems to get larger everytime he opens his mouth. He is a hard right neo conservative who contributes nothing to the tax fund and wouldn't hesitate to sell away peoples jobs for an extra buck.

Clinton certainly isn't much better.... but she is still better.

Also, your arguement that Trump won't take the US into WW3 because he won't be elected? My point is that he would if he was elected, which you seem to want to happen.

High-On-Hibs
08-11-2016, 06:17 PM

He portrays himself as an absolute roaster on TV. He doesn't require any media spin.

Ozymandias
08-11-2016, 06:35 PM

I've followed the election since the start of the primaries last year, trying to catch up every day as the procession of Trump to candidature has been hypnotically and terrifyingly fascinating.
He is, undoubtedly and irrefutably, a liar, a narcissist, dangerous, unprepared, divisive, racist, disgusting, uncouth, thin-skinned, petty and self contradictory. For what it is worth, with very little exception, everything that comes out of his mouth should horrify anyone with even the slightest liberal or progressive outlook.

08-11-2016, 07:52 PM
A paleocon? Well he's certainly a pelican with that big nose of his. It only seems to get larger everytime he opens his mouth. He is a hard right neo conservative who contributes nothing to the tax fund and wouldn't hesitate to sell away peoples jobs for an extra buck.

Clinton certainly isn't much better.... but she is still better.

Also, your arguement that Trump won't take the US into WW3 because he won't be elected? My point is that he would if he was elected, which you seem to want to happen.

Paleocon.

Paleoconservatism (sometimes shortened to paleocon) is a conservative political philosophy found primarily in the United States stressing tradition, limited government and civil society, along with religious, regional, national and Western identity.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Paleoconservatism

#here to help.

08-11-2016, 09:22 PM
Even now, months on there is a deranged part of me wanting to see how mental things can get if he wins :hide:

08-11-2016, 09:49 PM
Clinton is the slightly less bad option so she would get my vote.

The thought of Donald Trump getting the keys to The White House frightens me.

08-11-2016, 09:54 PM
Clinton is the slightly less bad option so she would get my vote.

The thought of Donald Trump getting the keys to The White House frightens me.

What's wrong with Clinton?

Any specifics?

09-11-2016, 05:42 AM
After I got up this morning, it dawned on me that the world has gone crazy overnight.

09-11-2016, 05:46 AM
After I got up this morning, it dawned on me that the world has gone crazy overnight.
Just over night? It's bloody unbelievable.

09-11-2016, 05:54 AM
Year of the underdog.

09-11-2016, 05:55 AM
Year of the underdog.

Year of the far right, sadly.

09-11-2016, 05:59 AM
Year of the far right, sadly.

Corbyn?

09-11-2016, 06:11 AM
Corbyn?

Look at the media coverage of him. They'll do anything to discredit him and people are generally really, really gullible and ignorant.

09-11-2016, 07:03 AM
Is there now a case for scrapping democracy?
It's not working. I'm not getting the results I want. :wink:

Really we shouldn't be surprised at the vote. The US has delivered some corkers in the past from Ford through to Obama. George W was probably the worst - but they've trumped that now.

09-11-2016, 07:05 AM

Really we shouldn't be surprised at the vote. The US has delivered some corkers in the past from Ford through to Obama. George W was probably the worst - but they've trumped that now.
Ford wasn't elected.

Nixon was, though [emoji48]

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

09-11-2016, 07:06 AM

Ford wasn't elected.

(What was wrong with Obama? He may, in hindsight, prove to have been pretty special)

09-11-2016, 07:10 AM
I hope Trump doesn't get shoved into a big vat of wet cement!

09-11-2016, 07:11 AM

That would be terrible.

09-11-2016, 07:15 AM
It would also be setting a very bad president! ;-)

09-11-2016, 07:15 AM
Ford wasn't elected.

Agreed. Re.Ford, he managed to reach a position that gave him the opportunity to be Prez. Only in America as they say.

Sorry about the typo earlier. Should have read "deliverrrrred"

09-11-2016, 07:25 AM

It might harden him up a bit though.

09-11-2016, 07:33 AM

There are a lot of bad hombres out there!

09-11-2016, 08:34 AM
Well, well, well................

How unappealing a candidate must Hilary Clinton be, or rather be perceived to be, in the swing states to lose that that misogynistic, racist man-child????

09-11-2016, 09:38 AM
What's wrong with Clinton?

Any specifics?

I don't trust her at all.

09-11-2016, 09:40 AM
Well, well, well................

How unappealing a candidate must Hilary Clinton be, or rather be perceived to be, in the swing states to lose that that misogynistic, racist man-child????

I think the nearest UK equivalent would be Cherie Blair.

09-11-2016, 07:19 PM
I think the nearest UK equivalent would be Cherie Blair.

Eeeek!!

09-11-2016, 07:28 PM
Clinton mentioned blacks, hispanics, gay, transsexual, women in her speech but didn't seem to reference ordinary working white Americans. She doesn't seem to get what has just happened.

10-11-2016, 10:33 AM
Clinton mentioned blacks, hispanics, gay, transsexual, women in her speech but didn't seem to reference ordinary working white Americans. She doesn't seem to get what has just happened.

Why are white (I assume male) Americans oridnary but women, homosexuals, blacks etc aren't?

pontius pilate
10-11-2016, 11:18 AM
Why are white (I assume male) Americans oridnary but women, homosexuals, blacks etc aren't?

Obviously its a figure of speach but it is a point fairly made where is the reference to the white working class americans in her speach that is after all where she lost the presidency battle and where trump gained it. The powers that be have a total disconnect with the working class and now it is coming back to bite them on the ass watch out for italy and france to be the next ones to provide a shock in their upcoming elections germany holland and belguim will see changes. Then what?

10-11-2016, 12:24 PM
Obviously its a figure of speach but it is a point fairly made where is the reference to the white working class americans in her speach that is after all where she lost the presidency battle and where trump gained it. The powers that be have a total disconnect with the working class and now it is coming back to bite them on the ass watch out for italy and france to be the next ones to provide a shock in their upcoming elections germany holland and belguim will see changes. Then what?

That Clinton didn't mention certain groups in her speech pretty much sums up her campaign, a total failure to connect with enough people.

I question the 'ordinary' qulification though. I'd say plenty women and homosexuals consider themselves perfectly ordinary, working class and maybe even white. Likewise a great number of black Americans can trace their American ancestry just as far back as plenty 'ordinary' white Americans. The problems facing the working class, a phrase I ****ing hate btw, don't have any exclusivity based on race, gender or sexuality imo.

It's also worth noting that, if exit polls are to be believed, Clinton actually gained more votes amongst those on low incomes than Trump did.

10-11-2016, 01:05 PM

That's an extrapolation from what I said.

When will the left realise you can't sustain power on serving their own (middle) class and buttering up minorities.

Then Third Way (as represented by Blair and Clinton) promised a lot to working people but has stopped delivering and has run out of steam and then some.

(((Fergus)))
15-11-2016, 08:27 PM

IIRC that's five elections Hibs.net has now called consistently:

UK GE 2010
IndyRef
UK GE 2015
Brexit
Trump

It's enough to make you take up gambling.

16-11-2016, 12:00 PM

IIRC that's five elections Hibs.net has now called consistently:

UK GE 2010
IndyRef
UK GE 2015
Brexit
Trump

It's enough to make you take up gambling.

Hmm, can we use our collective powers of prescience to come to a view on the German and French elections in that case? Asking for a friend.