View Full Version : T2 Trainspotting

h1bee123
05-11-2016, 11:20 AM
The new trailer came out a few days ago. Looks good. Couple of Hibs references in the trailer - a hibs scarf in Sick Boy's pub at 0.07 and Sick Boy wearing a green strip which I assume is a reference to hibs.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EsozpEE543w

05-11-2016, 12:44 PM
It does look good, hope they keep to the same style as the original

NZ Green
05-11-2016, 12:52 PM
Looks pretty good, cant wait for it. I don't think it will be as good as the original as it was exactly that, original. I think it will be similar to the first one but just a 2016 version, so it wont be quite as surprising.

05-11-2016, 01:06 PM
If there's no Scottish Cup reference I'll be disappointed.

05-11-2016, 01:08 PM
If there's no Scottish Cup reference I'll be disappointed.

I was talking about this the other day, not sure if filming finished before or after the 21st

05-11-2016, 01:12 PM
I was talking about this the other day, not sure if filming finished before or after the 21st

It was still going in July.

05-11-2016, 01:13 PM
There will be plenty of hibs references. Hopefully they snuck a wee Scottish cup poster in somewhere.

05-11-2016, 01:34 PM
Outside the super-rich TV deal and corporate sponsored clubs, Hibs must be one of the most famous local clubs in the world, on a cool-exposure-to-trophies ratio. Maybe St Pauli.

So hip it hurts. So Hib it hurts.

ruthven_raiders
05-11-2016, 01:55 PM
There will be plenty of hibs references. Hopefully they snuck a wee Scottish cup poster in somewhere.

If they were still filming you would hope they might ha e filmed some of the scenes on Sunday and incorporated a few seconds into movie 😊

05-11-2016, 02:17 PM
Depends when the film is based. They say 20 years after Trainspotting which is around 1990 or so which would make it avout 2010. Maybe we'll see a Matt Thornhill strip... ;)

05-11-2016, 02:20 PM
Depends when the film is based. They say 20 years after Trainspotting which is around 1990 or so which would make it avout 2010. Maybe we'll see a Matt Thornhill strip... ;)

I was hoping they meant 20 years after the movie which would be 1996 so 2016 would fit in well for the final

05-11-2016, 02:32 PM
Wasn't the original set in the early 80s?

If so, 20 years later would see us losing the LC Final to Livingston....

:duck:

GordonR
05-11-2016, 04:20 PM
Wasn't the original set in the early 80s?
:

Only if the rave/acid house scene starred 10 years earlier than it actually did.

It's set in the late 80s.

05-11-2016, 05:06 PM
It does look good, hope they keep to the same style as the original

No input from Irvine Welsh, with some other guy scripting it. I am sceptical, but hope it works out fine.can't help yhinking this factor alone will diminish the Hibees content.

05-11-2016, 05:40 PM
No input from Irvine Welsh, with some other guy scripting it. I am sceptical, but hope it works out fine.can't help yhinking this factor alone will diminish the Hibees content.

No input from Irvine :confused: :hilarious

Someone's been winding you up

05-11-2016, 07:00 PM

Irvine has been an executive on the project, however you're right in saying the story has nothing to do with Porno as Danny's boyle apparently didn't like it as a film adaption.

Stewboy
05-11-2016, 07:00 PM
If it is set around 2010 I hope to see one of them say they have a bet on the cabbage for the big cup in 2016!!!

05-11-2016, 07:11 PM
It'd be great if the cup win was somewhat involved, but like others I'm confused with the timeline. They were definitely filming at the end of July. I came back my holidays and was working at Greendykes House in Niddrie, whilst they were filming. Said building is in the trailer.

spudhib
05-11-2016, 07:12 PM

That "some other guy" would be John Hodge who wrote the original screenplay 20 years ago 😂

itslegaltender
05-11-2016, 07:34 PM
Trailer shows Renton on the trams. Definitely set in today's world. A wee Easter egg reference to the cup is all I ask for!

Tinribs
05-11-2016, 07:37 PM
"smother the pain with an unknown dose, of an unknown drug made in somebody's kitchen"

Genuinely laughed out loud at that :)

05-11-2016, 07:42 PM
Subplot of begbie getting jailed for sticking the nut on Lee wallace on the pitch at hampden.

05-11-2016, 07:43 PM
Subplot of begbie getting jailed for sticking the nut on Lee wallace on the pitch at hampden.

:greengrin Franco does hate a grass right enough

06-11-2016, 07:46 AM
Irvine has been an executive on the project, however you're right in saying the story has nothing to do with Porno as Danny's boyle apparently didn't like it as a film adaption.

Read that it's very loosely based on Porno.

Do hope we get someone playing Juice Terry, killing it and leading to a few Juice Terry films like A Decent Ride and maybe even Glue although I've nae idea how they'd make that into a film.

06-11-2016, 09:14 AM
No input from Irvine :confused: :hilarious

Someone's been winding you up

Aye your right enough.

" they've given me a load of money and said I can be executive producer, but that could mean anything or nothing. I don't really know if that means get over here and do some work or keep the **** out of the way"

Sounds like Irvine role is key here then right enough.

06-11-2016, 09:22 AM
Aye your right enough.

" they've given me a load of money and said I can be executive producer, but that could mean anything or nothing. I don't really know if that means get over here and do some work or keep the **** out of the way"

He has already been doing promotional interviews with the cast. That suggests he had some involvement.

06-11-2016, 09:36 AM
Read that it's very loosely based on Porno.

Do hope we get someone playing Juice Terry, killing it and leading to a few Juice Terry films like A Decent Ride and maybe even Glue although I've nae idea how they'd make that into a film.

I've always thought Glue would make a really good film if done properly. Probably only behind Trainspotting in my favourite Welsh books.

A Decent Ride I wasn't a fan of. More could have been done with the Juice Terry character imo.

06-11-2016, 10:23 AM
Looks pretty good, cant wait for it. I don't think it will be as good as the original as it was exactly that, original. I think it will be similar to the first one but just a 2016 version, so it wont be quite as surprising.

The original was good but not as good as the book. This might be a better movie.

06-11-2016, 12:02 PM
Aye your right enough.

Don't believe everything you read :wink: