View Full Version : Did you pretend to be any particular Hibs player when you were a kid?

05-11-2016, 08:28 AM
http://www.sbnation.com/mlb/2016/11/3/13506616/nike-commercial-world-series-chicago-cubs

I've posted this link on the Hibs/Cubs thread. I can't find a similar football video but the principle is the same. Many of us will have kicked or hit a ball as kids while pretending to be our sporting heroes. I recall my dad telling me that in his day boys playing football would want to be Gordon Smith while I myself recall others pretending to be Pat Stanton.

BenjiOscar
05-11-2016, 08:30 AM
Went between Gordon Rae and Gary Murray. Big Gordon especially was a real hero when I was a youngster.

05-11-2016, 08:34 AM
Sorry to be boring but, I was always Pat Stanton during kickabouts in primary school.

Unfortunately, so was Hibrandenburg, and IIRC his cousin Joe was as well, so there were always at least three Stantons on the pitch.

05-11-2016, 08:38 AM
Stanton

05-11-2016, 08:39 AM
Arthur Duncan

05-11-2016, 08:40 AM
Eric Stevenson because I thought we looked alike and Jimmy O'Rourke although there was no similarity in looks or ability.

05-11-2016, 08:43 AM
Aaaaaah great thread and a throwback. I'm not as old as many on here so it's more modern players.

Me and my brother would always want set up for a "Justin skinner" probably more referred to as a "scholesy" I can't even remember if he done it often or where it came from but from a set piece situation we'd cross it from the edge of the box and volley it in.

Then there was the usual Crunchie/O'Neil and Mixu latterly

05-11-2016, 08:44 AM
Alan Gordon.

Being a tall blonde centre forward and intelligent it was the natural choice lol.

At the time I was in the Edinburgh Gang Show. There was a bit in one show that was about Hibs and Hearts and the club's supplied the strips. They were used strips. Only one I was interested in, number 9. I WAS Alan Gordon, it could very well have been a top he'd worn as he graced the hallowed turf at Easter Road. Pleased as punch, proud as any Hibby could be as I strutted my stuff on the Kings Theatre stage.

05-11-2016, 08:45 AM
Stevie Crawford...yeah I'm not football player now either

05-11-2016, 08:46 AM
Ally MacLeod as I liked his skill and we had the same BMI. If I was tackling then Gordon Rae. Always liked delaying the tackle a wee bit so you got the man too

05-11-2016, 08:47 AM
Went between Gordon Rae and Gary Murray. Big Gordon especially was a real hero when I was a youngster.
Big Gordon Rae for me . I was fortunate that when he came down to Selkirk to visit his in laws he'd take me golfing as a kid. Didn't realise how lucky I was. Couldn't meet a nicer man or role model.

Lately though I have been know to run round the garden shouting and screaming as David Gray. The neighbours think I'm mad but I'm only 44 years young :greengrin

05-11-2016, 08:51 AM
Colin Nish. Always stood a yard offside and fell over a lot.

05-11-2016, 09:02 AM
I was Kevin McAllister.

Not the jinking winger from the 90s though. My mum and dad just went on lots of holidays without me.

biotech
05-11-2016, 09:10 AM
Scotland's George Best - Peter Marinello!

05-11-2016, 09:10 AM
I was Kevin McAllister.

Not the jinking winger from the 90s though. My mum and dad just went on lots of holidays without me.

05-11-2016, 09:21 AM
Me too, then Alex Cropley as he used to live near us for a bit. Problem was I was more of a cross between Ally Scott's ball control and the now legendary Conrad Logan's fitness before he joined us[emoji1]

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

05-11-2016, 09:22 AM

Yep me too!

05-11-2016, 09:34 AM
Pat Stanton.

05-11-2016, 09:40 AM
I was Kevin McAllister.

That took me a while but I finally got that (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4DgbUBoxa48).

AltheHibby
05-11-2016, 09:47 AM
Pat Stanton as we're both Niddrie boys. Now that I'm an accountant I really should have pretended to be Alan Gordon.

If I was to pick a recent player it would be Conrad Login as we are both keepers and a similar shape.

Tom Hart RIP
05-11-2016, 09:48 AM
The great Jimmy Orourke.

05-11-2016, 09:49 AM
No hardly knew of Hibs never mind any of their players as a kid. I was Steve Heighway and Kenny Dalglish :-)

05-11-2016, 09:56 AM
No hardly knew of Hibs never mind any of their players as a kid. I was Steve Heighway and Kenny Dalglish :-)

Not a bad shout! I thought Steve Heighway was a terrific player.

05-11-2016, 10:17 AM
Peter Cormack

05-11-2016, 10:25 AM
Peter Cormack

Did that include his running style :greengrin If so, me too, as well as "his majesty" King Pat.

Leith's finest
05-11-2016, 10:37 AM
I was shades on the pitch, feared nobody, but I got sent off at least once a month

05-11-2016, 10:58 AM
I used to be Kevin Harper until I got slagged off and bullied for pretending to be a black player :rolleyes:

Thankfully I don't think that would be much of a problem for kids these days!

05-11-2016, 11:03 AM
I was Kevin McAllister.

Topographic Hibby
05-11-2016, 11:14 AM
Alex Edwards or Alan Gordon.

05-11-2016, 11:45 AM
In my mind, I was John Blackley, wearing my shorts the way he did, sort of pulled down at the front and pulled up at the back - I even tried to copy his legendary 'Sliding-tackle' but, being crap at football, I only ever managed it once - and even that was only in a practice-match !

E10 Rifle
05-11-2016, 11:48 AM
Ally MacLeod as I liked his skill and we had the same BMI. If I was tackling then Gordon Rae. Always liked delaying the tackle a wee bit so you got the man too

:tee hee: same BMI - love it p.s. I was Ally McLeod too for the same reason :wink:

05-11-2016, 11:55 AM
I was Kevin McAllister.

Love it :faf:

05-11-2016, 12:06 PM
Yes , use to think I was like Jim Scott

05-11-2016, 12:24 PM
I loved playing in goals so would always pretend to be jim leighton, ended up playing full back though when i started playing so didnt think of myself as the next joe tortolano or graeme love!!

wfortune
05-11-2016, 12:32 PM
Des bremner for me.

Sent from my D2303 using Tapatalk

05-11-2016, 12:36 PM
The legend that is Ally McLeod. Never had anywhere near his ability but I do now have a body like his and am about as fast. Great player. Him not me

Ardenttwo
05-11-2016, 12:45 PM
The legend that is Ally McLeod. Never had anywhere near his ability but I do now have a body like his and am about as fast. Great player. Him not me

Willie Hamilton. In Jock Steins view the most talented footballer he ever worked with

05-11-2016, 12:50 PM
always pat stanton

eezyrider
05-11-2016, 01:17 PM
Alex Edwards or Alex Cropley.

EZ

Yuillsy
05-11-2016, 01:18 PM
Steven Cowan, Paul Kane or John Collins. I loved Joe McBride as well!!

05-11-2016, 01:43 PM
Not a Hibs player but I was always trying to emulate Gordon Banks, on one memorable day in the Meadows, playing crossy I pulled off the save from Pele diving down and pushing the ball over the bar.
On getting to my feet blood was pouring down my leg, up to the Infirmary for eight stitches no more football for 4 weeks.
That was "Corpy" pitches for you!!!!

05-11-2016, 01:51 PM
Peter Cormack. Light on my feet with a great touch and good in the air.

05-11-2016, 01:55 PM
I was never any good as an outfield player. Played more in goals but always aspired to be Like Pat Stanton. Was never gonna happen though LOL

High-On-Hibs
05-11-2016, 01:55 PM
Latapy. My mates kept calling me Konte though. :confused:

05-11-2016, 02:03 PM
Latapy. My mates kept calling me Konte though. :confused:

Are you sure it was Konte?

hailhail22
05-11-2016, 02:08 PM
Brian Hamilton, think because Hamilton is my mums maiden name I liked it and Lee Power comes to mind 😮 Again think I just liked the name lol

05-11-2016, 02:31 PM
Pat McGinlay. Just had a wee soft spot for the man.

05-11-2016, 02:46 PM
Another Peter Marinello wanna be here.

05-11-2016, 02:51 PM
"Big" John McNamee for me, later on I wanted to be like Pat Stanton , however......was never as skillful as the great man.

05-11-2016, 02:53 PM
Riordan, Dean Shiels and the real Ronaldo for me!

05-11-2016, 02:56 PM
Latapy, Mixu 😂, Colgan and later Deeko.

villager
05-11-2016, 03:14 PM
During Street kickabouts I was always mickey weir

villager
05-11-2016, 03:48 PM
During Street kickabouts I was always mickey weir

05-11-2016, 04:17 PM
Steven Cowan, Paul Kane or John Collins. I loved Joe McBride as well!!

Joe Mcbride for me. Especially after the double at Saville Dome.

Mango Man
05-11-2016, 04:26 PM
Keith Wright.

Earlydelivery
05-11-2016, 04:28 PM
Stanton for me . When I pass on , i told my mrs I want number 4 on my casket. absolutely the greatest hibs player I've ever seen , or likely to see .

05-11-2016, 04:40 PM
Derek Riordan. Never played better than when I wore the yellow away kit with 01 on the back.

Dan Sarf
05-11-2016, 04:47 PM
I always felt that the stylish green Keds with white laces that I wore to play 25-a-side football on the Penny Pit at Prestonpans made me virtually indistinguishable from Gordon Smith.

05-11-2016, 05:06 PM
Always pretended to be John Collins for fitba and Seve for gowf.

HibeeDave
05-11-2016, 05:35 PM
Willie Irvine as i had number nine on my shirt

Adniston Burn
05-11-2016, 06:47 PM
Patrick Gordon Stanton

05-11-2016, 06:48 PM
Barry Lavety

Callyballybe
05-11-2016, 06:53 PM
Joe Tortolano. Obviously!

Newcastlehibby
05-11-2016, 07:13 PM
The Rebel.
I even had a shirt that had allegedly been worn by him. Seemed genuine.
Wish I still had it though it definitely wouldn't fit niw.

05-11-2016, 07:22 PM
All about Darren Jackson up at Drumbrae pitches

05-11-2016, 08:02 PM
Gordon Smith - " The Prince of Wingers "
" When will we see his like again?"
:hibees

linlithgowhibbie
05-11-2016, 09:16 PM
Neil Martin for me:thumbsup:

05-11-2016, 09:34 PM
John McNamee. We had things in common. I played centre half and so did he. There the similarities end :greengrin

cmcd
05-11-2016, 11:23 PM
Willie Hamilton. In Jock Steins view the most talented footballer he ever worked with

Me also .Hamilton .My all time favourite player

blaikie
05-11-2016, 11:28 PM
Sproule 😍

06-11-2016, 12:22 AM
I used to look up to barry lavety, now i think what a skinny ******* he was

06-11-2016, 07:42 PM
Scott Brown as a teenager

06-11-2016, 07:59 PM
The Rebel.
I even had a shirt that had allegedly been worn by him. Seemed genuine.
Wish I still had it though it definitely wouldn't fit niw.

The Rebel for me too
Eric Stevenson is his name, of course.
Like Eric, i was a" left fitter", but there, sadly, the similarity ends.
I never got one of his "jerseys"
I did once possess a pair of his boots.
Sadly lost now.
Sat beside Eric many years ago on the Bonnyrigg bus going to some away game i now forget.
I am sure i bored him to tears telling him he was my childhood hero (over and over ;-)

Never meet yer heroes whilst half drunk !!

06-11-2016, 09:35 PM
Joe Baker ....... wow.:not worth

06-11-2016, 10:14 PM
When I was growing up in the Manchester area, I hadn't a clue who Hibs were. I used to get football annuals and one player who really caught my eye was Laurie Reilly. The annuals included a couple of pictures of Reilly, one in a Hibs strip and one in a Scotland strip.

07-11-2016, 08:12 AM
For me it was always a choice between being Andy Goram and Andy Goram.

07-11-2016, 08:31 AM
Lawrie Leslie - what a keeper!! :agree:

07-11-2016, 09:16 AM
Tam McManus haha

07-11-2016, 09:30 AM
Only one player I ever wanted to be like was Jimmy O'Rourke, fantastic midfielder.

DTS
07-11-2016, 09:32 AM
Mixu with the flips included(well a handstand was the best I could do back then) then progressed into riordan

07-11-2016, 09:42 AM
I could do a lot of stuff the way Benny did, I even scored a hattrick.

07-11-2016, 09:59 AM
Darren Jackson.

07-11-2016, 10:21 AM
Riordan/Sproule.

07-11-2016, 10:27 AM
Pat McGinlay/Michael O'Neil

07-11-2016, 10:31 AM
Jackie Mac, we all agree he was magic

07-11-2016, 10:56 AM
Are you sure it was Konte?

:not worth:not worth :faf:

07-11-2016, 11:13 AM
Like Jonnyboy and Grumpy Auld Git - Big John McNamee. (And he WAS big - built like a brick whatsitsname.)

However, unlike the other two, I'm gonnae be honest - BBJ was what the Sunday Post in those days referred to as "a robust pivot".

In other words, a big, hard, and I mean HARD, centre-half.

John came from Coatbridge. I met a guy from that town who told me that his son (the guy's son, not John's) had got a trial for Hibs. The laddie was a centre-forward, and found himself playing directly against BBJ.

At the first corner for his team, the laddie jumped against BBJ, and won the ball, which went narrowly over the crossbar. The laddie ended up in a heap on the ground (it was BBJ he was up against, after all).

John reached down a hand to help him up, and as he did so smiled broadly and whispered something in the boy's ear.

At half-time, Dad remarked to the boy that John had been really nice, helping him up like that and offering some sporting encouragement on what was a very pressured occasion, especially since the kid had beaten him so easily in the jump for the ball.

"What exactly did he say to you, son?" he asked.

"He told me that if I did that again, he'd break both my f***ing legs." :devil:

John was my hero, and it broke my heart when he went to Newcastle United.

After that I was John Madsen, and after that I was Shades. In the Scotland team I was Jim Holton. There's a pattern there somewhere.

07-11-2016, 12:49 PM
Benny Brazil...i thought I'd keep my expectations realistic

07-11-2016, 02:02 PM
Benny Brazil...i thought I'd keep my expectations realistic

George Best l didn't have a once of his skill or owened Rolls royces or slept with more than one miss world but have supped a few pints in Jinglin Geordies like Besty

07-11-2016, 02:21 PM
Colin Stein until he signed for the huns and broke my heart. I was too skinny to be Joe McBride

07-11-2016, 02:25 PM
George Best l didn't have a once of his skill or owened Rolls royces or slept with more than one miss world but have supped a few pints in Jinglin Geordies like BestyWhat one did you pull then?

Mikeystewart
07-11-2016, 04:47 PM
I remember wanting to hit long range shots like riordan and runabout like a headless chicken in midfield like Scott Brown.

07-11-2016, 07:06 PM
Peter Cormack - he had a distinctive style of running. Balletic you might say.
I grew out of it eventually.

Newcastlehibby
07-11-2016, 07:48 PM
The Rebel for me too
Eric Stevenson is his name, of course.
Like Eric, i was a" left fitter", but there, sadly, the similarity ends.
I never got one of his "jerseys"
I did once possess a pair of his boots.
Sadly lost now.
Sat beside Eric many years ago on the Bonnyrigg bus going to some away game i now forget.
I am sure i bored him to tears telling him he was my childhood hero (over and over ;-)

Never meet yer heroes whilst half drunk !!

I suppose it was a jersey and not a shirt back then. I used to stand down near the corner flag, mesmerised by his footwork, as were most of the right backs!

08-11-2016, 04:39 AM
Keith Wright - every day out the back banging them in against the garden fence 😜

SGE HIBS
08-11-2016, 06:28 AM
Alex Edwards always , was a touch volatile back then also .

08-11-2016, 06:53 AM
Alex Edwards always , was a touch volatile back then also .

Couldn't agree more, absolute quality.

Roxyhibee
08-11-2016, 08:26 AM
As a primary school kid, it was Marinello.

The dribbling, the name, the hair, the attitude, the big money transfer talk - no club had anyone as glamorous at the time, especially the Yams, whose players all seemed like boring squares compared to our Cormack, Stanton, O'Rourke, etc.

They were a drab club then and a drab club now...

Leith_Hibee
09-11-2016, 12:44 PM
Steve Archibald for me, I used to re-create his header against the jambos and celebrate in a similar style.

hibbycraig
09-11-2016, 01:32 PM
Stevie Crawford for me. Even bleached the hair!

cad
09-11-2016, 01:55 PM
I was crap at fitba you gotta tell it how it is, effort and fitness sure talent zip not worth a zook, hopeless in fact I knew what I wanted to do but my feet had other ideas , if I had a strong point where footballs concerned I was always well turned out you got to look good sitting on the sidelines .
As a kid tho,Peter Cormack was they guy I dreamed of playing like he just seemed to dance round opponents a talent I knew I would never acquire.

gjb
09-11-2016, 04:31 PM
Alex Cropley or Arthur Duncan class players

09-11-2016, 05:49 PM
Alan Gordon, one handed goal salute ....

09-11-2016, 09:02 PM
My First Year at Hibs.. Had Jukebox and Stevie Cowan.. that years top goalscorer i think.. SO Stevie Cowan for me was a memory .. :wink:

09-11-2016, 10:14 PM
Nope. King Kenny for me. As a 5/6/7 year old in the late 70's I probably couldn't have named a Hibs player.(my dad refereed junior fitba on a Saturday, so i only very rarely was taken to ER as a bairn)-but everyone knew the King.

Ronster117
11-11-2016, 03:56 PM
Lots of players spring to mind from70's and 80's.
best performance and a hatrick against Celtic....Benny Brazil

Canon Hannan
11-11-2016, 04:07 PM
Bobby Thompson......................just loved him for some reason?! All legs, high sided boots and the head butt tackles.

12-11-2016, 10:54 AM
Mixu with the flips included(well a handstand was the best I could do back then) then progressed into riordan

WOOW!!!!
That must have been some diet and surgery?????

jonny
12-11-2016, 11:00 AM
Being one who is rather vertically challenged I always had a special affinity with Mickey Weir, then Kevin McAllister.
Used to fancy myself as a bit of a winger, in actual fact I think I was probably more of a whinger.

Septimus
12-11-2016, 11:34 AM
Tommy Younger. Like me he looked good but unlike me he was good.

12-11-2016, 01:22 PM
I was Gary Caldwell - clumsy CB who could occasionally pick out a sweet long ball