View Full Version : How much for a night out?

03-11-2016, 08:52 PM
Was having a conversation about how much money I used to go out with for a good night in my twenties, this would include bevvy all night, chippy and maybe a taxi home. I recall it was about £20-£30. Fast forward to now, nearly 50 years of age and I hate going out even just for a decent session without at least £100 cash in my pocket. Obviously I carry cards but would never dream of buying a round with one and would just go to the bank for more cash if ever required. Not saying I spend it all unlike in my twenties but just hate going out without a decent amount of cash in pocket. Anyone else the same,and what do you younger folk consider adequate carrying cash these days?

03-11-2016, 09:26 PM
Really?? I'm 44 now. In my going oot up town days in my late teens early 20's I'd always start out with £100 cash - with the hope/intention of having plenty left next day. Often woke up next day with only smash in my pockets.

Edit: this would include train fare from Livi into town then taxi back.(+ kebab/pizza/whatever)

03-11-2016, 09:33 PM
These days taking out £50 is fine for a night out with the mates, we never go for a meal or any of that nonsense.

03-11-2016, 09:36 PM
£50 is the most i'll take out. Could easily spend all of that or less depending on how the night is.

03-11-2016, 09:51 PM
Fairly recently I picked up 4 laddies in town around 7am on a Sunday and took them back out to Livi after their Saturday night out up town (i drive a PHC for a livi based company). Though they'd clearly had a few bevvies none of them were blootered or caused me any bother at all. However! They did count up how much they had spent on they're 12 hour sesh..... And the ballpark figure was £750! (They'd all started with £200 and emptied their pockets to count up how much was left).

Thank **** I'm long past those days.

£10 max on a bottle of wine is now the extent of my Saturday night "out" (*in the house!).

03-11-2016, 10:37 PM
Fairly recently I picked up 4 laddies in town around 7am on a Sunday and took them back out to Livi after their Saturday night out up town (i drive a PHC for a livi based company). Though they'd clearly had a few bevvies none of them were blootered or caused me any bother at all. However! They did count up how much they had spent on they're 12 hour sesh..... And the ballpark figure was £750! (They'd all started with £200 and emptied their pockets to count up how much was left).

£10 max on a bottle of wine is now the extent of my Saturday night "out" (*in the house!).

Luckily these days my stomach is in cahoots with my wallet.
Any more than 2 pints and it sends up the white flag.
£10 is about my limit too.

03-11-2016, 11:56 PM
Was having a conversation about how much money I used to go out with for a good night in my twenties, this would include bevvy all night, chippy and maybe a taxi home. I recall it was about £20-£30. Fast forward to now, nearly 50 years of age and I hate going out even just for a decent session without at least £100 cash in my pocket. Obviously I carry cards but would never dream of buying a round with one and would just go to the bank for more cash if ever required. Not saying I spend it all unlike in my twenties but just hate going out without a decent amount of cash in pocket. Anyone else the same,and what do you younger folk consider adequate carrying cash these days?

It can fluctuate quite dramatically once punting is included in the day/evening out.

04-11-2016, 06:14 AM

Sounds like they were on more than just the bevy then! It's pretty hard to spend £200-£250 on booze in the space of 12 hours and not be falling about the place smashed!

04-11-2016, 06:18 AM
If it's just a night in the local then I'll probably not spend over £50. If it's an all day session with my mates up the town it can easily surpass £100. I hate to think what a night up the town with my mrs costs me...

04-11-2016, 06:27 AM
Aye, £100 easily although I will use my card in some places rather than carry loads of cash.

Uni days (7-10 years ago) it was about £25.

04-11-2016, 06:28 AM
If it's just a night in the local then I'll probably not spend over £50. If it's an all day session with my mates up the town it can easily surpass £100. I hate to think what a night up the town with my mrs costs me...

Similar amounts to me I'd say.

04-11-2016, 06:52 AM
It can fluctuate quite dramatically once punting is included in the day/evening out.

Not forgetting your train fare to Carlisle :-)

04-11-2016, 07:06 AM
£95.

I met a friend at 1pm yesterday for lunch. I got home around 10pm.

In the 80s as a single man I'd go out with £32.50 for a Friday/Saturday night.

I'd 'hide' £2.50 somewhere on me so I'd have money at the end of the night for a kebab!

04-11-2016, 07:43 AM
Night at the local(s) with a couple of mates I can do for £30/£40. Few drinks with the girlfriend up that to £50/£60. Proper day out with mates, football team mates, people I haven't seen in a while etc and it always gets silly and I'm looking at £100 minimum. Unfortunately or thankfully, depending on what way I look at it, those days are getting fewer and further between.

04-11-2016, 07:48 AM
Not forgetting your train fare to Carlisle :-)

Indeed! :-)

04-11-2016, 08:26 AM
I can spend anything from about £30 on a night out to £100. It generally works out that if I'm drinking pints I spend less as they take so much longer to drink but if it's vodkas then I'll spend a fortune as you can polish one of them off in about 5-10 minutes.

04-11-2016, 09:14 AM
Depends where you're going as well. I can sit all night with a few mates in my local and spend £40-50 but that wouldn't buy the first round in some places up town.

04-11-2016, 09:15 AM
Sounds like they were on more than just the bevy then! It's pretty hard to spend £200-£250 on booze in the space of 12 hours and not be falling about the place smashed!

100% correct. Though in my experience that's the norm for 20/30 year olds now rather than being a rarity. That's one of the reasons I don't work Friday or Saturday nights anymore - most of the fares are aff their nuts on coke (instant ******** powder as I tend to call it).

04-11-2016, 09:54 AM
Thing is, I remember needing £80-£100 for a night out when I was 18, and thats 17 years ago. I would always play the fruit machines tho, and that would pay me into a club where drinks were pricier. Some lads I work with now who are between 23-26 have been known to spend over £150 on a saturday out. That includes taxis.

Clubs and pubs now taking debit cards really doesnt help tho. Luckily no matter how drunk I get I seem to avoid doing that tho. My drunken self even knows my missus would kill me :greengrin

I'm out in Edinburgh tomorrow with a few work mates. We're meeting for lunch at Bubba Q's in the royal mile. Have a 9 hole pub golf route planned out, plus we have 2.5hrs booked into supercube. We've already put £80 each into the "kitty" which has paid for supercube, will cover the meal and also the drinks for the pub golf. We plan on going up the town once back in Dunfermline, so I reckon I'll spend another £60 on top.

04-11-2016, 10:24 AM
Thing is, I remember needing £80-£100 for a night out when I was 18, and thats 17 years ago. I would always play the fruit machines tho, and that would pay me into a club where drinks were pricier. Some lads I work with now who are between 23-26 have been known to spend over £150 on a saturday out. That includes taxis.

Clubs and pubs now taking debit cards really doesnt help tho. Luckily no matter how drunk I get I seem to avoid doing that tho. My drunken self even knows my missus would kill me :greengrin

I'm out in Edinburgh tomorrow with a few work mates. We're meeting for lunch at Bubba Q's in the royal mile. Have a 9 hole pub golf route planned out, plus we have 2.5hrs booked into supercube. We've already put £80 each into the "kitty" which has paid for supercube, will cover the meal and also the drinks for the pub golf. We plan on going up the town once back in Dunfermline, so I reckon I'll spend another £60 on top.

Supercube? Are all your work mates 17 year old girls?

04-11-2016, 10:30 AM
Supercube? Are all your work mates 17 year old girls?

Each to their own eh :aok: Bit of fun during the day.

04-11-2016, 11:42 AM
All about value. If I end up with a kebab and my leg over, then £100 is a no bad night.

If I wake up with nothing more than a hangover, then £70 is a right kick in the teeth. :greengrin

04-11-2016, 01:30 PM
Great thread!

My 'par' for a proper night out is £100. An all dayer would be £150. The question is, how much did we all spend on our day out on May 21st!?! :thumbsup:

04-11-2016, 01:38 PM
Great thread!

My 'par' for a proper night out is £100. An all dayer would be £150. The question is, how much did we all spend on our day out on May 21st!?! :thumbsup:

Nowhere near what I expected to be honest. Around £40 in the kitty before the match. £15 on my jim beam for the bus. Fiver on a four pack while stopping off at deer park, 4 or 5 pints back in Edinburgh then home to rosyth. So around £100 when including programme and half time food.

Following day I probably only spent around £30 as had a carry oot at the links.

04-11-2016, 01:48 PM
Great thread!

About £350, I was seemingly swanning about the pub with a bottle of champagne in each hand like i was Floyd Mayweather :faf: not that I can remember

04-11-2016, 03:49 PM
Great thread!

On the Saturday surprisingly little. A few folk got me a pint for organising our buses and post game I didn't really have many. Give or take about £50.

Sunday was a different story, in the pub from opening, at the Links then in the pub until closing and easily cleared £150 but think there were a few card rounds I've conveniently forgotten, carried on on the Monday and probably spent another £70.

Never even got a single words grief about the state of me that weekend either. Mrs PB knew what it meant and that I wasn't taking liberties.

beensaidbefore
04-11-2016, 05:34 PM

I agree. On the bingo...

04-11-2016, 05:50 PM
Great thread!

Not sure but I happily lost £200 betting on Rangers.

04-11-2016, 08:17 PM
100% correct. Though in my experience that's the norm for 20/30 year olds now rather than being a rarity. That's one of the reasons I don't work Friday or Saturday nights anymore - most of the fares are aff their nuts on coke (instant ******** powder as I tend to call it).

It's ridiculous how many people are taking cocaine and how openly they're doing it these days. Never had any interest in it myself but the amount of cocaine being used up the town on a Friday and Saturday night should be cracked down on, it's absolutely everywhere. I'm 26 and either I was oblivious to it when I was 18-23 or so or it's got a hell of a lot worse the last few years.

04-11-2016, 08:19 PM
About £350, I was seemingly swanning about the pub with a bottle of champagne in each hand like i was Floyd Mayweather :faf: not that I can remember

I was in the persy cup final night and was also drinking champagne straight out the bottle. Quite simply the best night out I've ever had.

Galahibby
04-11-2016, 10:29 PM
I'm just home from a night out. Spent less than a tenner and won £20, so I'm better off than I was before I went out. If only I could perfect that on a larger scale I'd be all set. Quiz nights are the new rock 'n' roll :wink:

05-11-2016, 07:11 AM
It's ridiculous how many people are taking cocaine and how openly they're doing it these days. Never had any interest in it myself but the amount of cocaine being used up the town on a Friday and Saturday night should be cracked down on, it's absolutely everywhere. I'm 26 and either I was oblivious to it when I was 18-23 or so or it's got a hell of a lot worse the last few years.

I was told by a doorman a few years ago that they don't crack down on it as the people on it tend to behave better than they do when having just a drink. He said it was the police's job to enforce the law.

05-11-2016, 07:26 AM
I was told by a doorman a few years ago that they don't crack down on it as the people on it tend to behave better than they do when having just a drink. He said it was the police's job to enforce the law.

So much for SIA licensing standards,doormen allowing use are breaking the law and could be stripped of licence if caught.

05-11-2016, 07:27 AM
I'm in Liverpool for the weekend and will spend considerably less on a bevvy session than I would in Edinburgh.

05-11-2016, 07:32 AM

Tbh I don't have any issue with that. Nothing worse than people who can't handle their drink. On the other hand I've seen people on Coke who cause just as much trouble.

05-11-2016, 07:34 AM
I'm in Liverpool for the weekend and will spend considerably less on a bevvy session than I would in Edinburgh.

Easily. Plenty pubs in Liverpool where you can get a cheap enough drink.

05-11-2016, 07:38 AM
Great thread!

I took £200 myself and had already given my boy £60 ( in case I lost him) and still went to the bank for another £50.
That included a taxi from the 4 in Hand to Broxburn.
Spent it all.

Blootered

05-11-2016, 07:45 AM

While the festival was on I ended up in the slug and Lettuce in George street, not my choice, however I went for a pee, while in the stall I got a text so replied, when I came out there was a bouncer there waiting on me, "what were you doing in there?", a pee, "no you weren't" aye I was, he basically told me I was taking coke(which I've never done in my life) and it was clear as day I was on something, thing was I hadn't even been drinking, it's good to know my natural state is that of a coke heid :faf:

Anyway, I told him if he suspected me of taking or having drugs he could phone the police and I'd happily be searched by them or take a drug test but that once I passed I wanted an apology, he backed down and told me he had his eye on me

Meanwhile there were countless people stoating about clearly out their nut that Columbo didn't even blink twice at, maybe he just didn't like the look of me

05-11-2016, 07:55 AM
So much for SIA licensing standards,doormen allowing use are breaking the law and could be stripped of licence if caught.
I didn't say they were allowing it to happen in front of them or even turning a blind eye to it. This was a few years ago in the calton studios, everyone was searched when entering and if drugs were found they weren't allowed in. They just didn't go around trying to catch people once they were in the club.

05-11-2016, 07:56 AM
Tbh I don't have any issue with that. Nothing worse than people who can't handle their drink. On the other hand I've seen people on Coke who cause just as much trouble.
:agree: That's exactly my thoughts on it.

05-11-2016, 07:59 AM
While the festival was on I ended up in the slug and Lettuce in George street, not my choice, however I went for a pee, while in the stall I got a text so replied, when I came out there was a bouncer there waiting on me, "what were you doing in there?", a pee, "no you weren't" aye I was, he basically told me I was taking coke(which I've never done in my life) and it was clear as day I was on something, thing was I hadn't even been drinking, it's good to know my natural state is that of a coke heid :faf:

Anyway, I told him if he suspected me of taking or having drugs he could phone the police and I'd happily be searched by them or take a drug test but that once I passed I wanted an apology, he backed down and told me he had his eye on me

Meanwhile there were countless people stoating about clearly out their nut that Columbo didn't even blink twice at, maybe he just didn't like the look of me

Were you in the roseburn after a derby when I got kicked out for taking coke? I was doing a pee and a couple of guys doing lines in the cubicle. A bouncer was waiting at the door when we all left the toilet at the same time coincidentally. The guy said all out now, I know what you were doing. I protested my innocence and even the 2 lads who willingly left said to him I wasn't with them but he still chucked us all out the side door.
I then walked back in the front door and Sat back to my pint. A little while later same bouncer clocked me and threw us all out, I'm sure you said were just leaving this ****hole anyway, and we carried on the carnage elsewhere.

05-11-2016, 08:02 AM
Were you in the roseburn after a derby when I got kicked out for taking coke? I was doing a pee and a couple of guys doing lines in the cubicle. A bouncer was waiting at the door when we all left the toilet at the same time coincidentally. The guy said all out now, I know what you were doing. I protested my innocence and even the 2 lads who willingly left said to him I wasn't with them but he still chucked us all out the side door.
I then walked back in the front door and Sat back to my pint. A little while later same bouncer clocked me and threw us all out, I'm sure you said were just leaving this ****hole anyway, and we carried on the carnage elsewhere.

I was, it was funny when it happened to you, but I didn't like it when it was me :faf:

05-11-2016, 08:53 AM
I was in Edinburgh last week and went out for a meal and a few drinks and was surprised at how cheap it was. A curry, five pints and a double single malt, just checked my bank account and it was only Euro 16.35 :wink:

05-11-2016, 09:27 AM
Tbh I don't have any issue with that. Nothing worse than people who can't handle their drink. On the other hand I've seen people on Coke who cause just as much trouble.Never had any bother from coke heads but the wee fannies on methadrone(or whatever the latest concoction was) were a nightmare.

05-11-2016, 12:00 PM

Par for the course with most bouncers in my experience. More concerned with vendettas against people they don't like the look off than doing their job.

A few years back I was out and hadn't touched a single drop of alcohol or taken any other intoxicating substance. Bouncer said I wasn't getting in because I was 'too drunk' when I questioned that he said it was because I was 'looking like trouble' then finally because I looked 'like a ****'. A couple of days later he put a picture of me on his Facebook page, that he took with his phone whilst working, asking if anyone knew who I was because he was going to '**** me up'. I then got a charming message from him telling me he hoped I got AIDS.

I'm still bemused by the whole thing now as I didn't know the guy, didn't speak to him for more than 3 minutes and to all intents and purposes just accepted his decision.

05-11-2016, 12:18 PM
Went out last night in Dunfermline and spent £50 in the pub and then 2 x £15 taxis.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

speedy_gonzales
05-11-2016, 02:25 PM

I was in TGI Fridays years ago with mixed company, unknown to me 2 of the guys were on the marching powder, I went to the toilet and was sitting on the throne with the denims around my ankles when the door was force-ably opened. The duty manageress and a male member of staff (no bouncers apparently) were standing there as I hurriedly pinched one off. They were very apologetic and I wasn't too excited about the whole affair, I accepted their apology and explained that I work in an industry where we have a fair bit of drug screening so apart from the alcohol I was clean. Upshot was we got a free round of drinks for the distress and those on the nose candy were well warned!

05-11-2016, 02:35 PM
I was in TGI Fridays years ago with mixed company, unknown to me 2 of the guys were on the marching powder, I went to the toilet and was sitting on the throne with the denims around my ankles when the door was force-ably opened. The duty manageress and a male member of staff (no bouncers apparently) were standing there as I hurriedly pinched one off. They were very apologetic and I wasn't too excited about the whole affair, I accepted their apology and explained that I work in an industry where we have a fair bit of drug screening so apart from the alcohol I was clean. Upshot was we got a free round of drinks for the distress and those on the nose candy were well warned!

Apt user name (no pun uintended) for someone thought to be doing drugs though. :greengrin

06-11-2016, 11:07 AM
I'm just home from a night out. Spent less than a tenner and won £20, so I'm better off than I was before I went out.

Thats not a night out thats an hour out. :-)

06-11-2016, 11:50 AM
Thats not a night out thats an hour out. :-)I remember a toff looking down his nose at me saying I bet you're one of those louts that drinks 6 pints of lager? I told him I sometimes stayed out for more than an hour:greengrin

06-11-2016, 02:33 PM
Great thread!

Roughly over £150 over a few days. I was drunk by half 9 after the final.

Had a carry out at the links on the Sunday then proceeding to get a bit drunk again afterwards in Leith Walk's finest establishments.

06-11-2016, 03:02 PM
Just reading through this thread and Im glad I dont drink at all now.
When I first started drinking a regular Sunday evening session after playing fitba Sunday afternoon was 5 pints of Light and a bag o chips for a quid. Pint of Light was 18p.

06-11-2016, 04:45 PM
All depends on what you're into/ where you go.

Can be anything from 20 quid for a few pints and a chippy on a Sunday afternoon to a minimum 200 easy on a night in town.

06-11-2016, 05:26 PM
Went out last nite, 7 pints and a taxi home and had change of £20. £2 a pint 🍻 of tetleys bitter. 🍻🍻👍

06-11-2016, 08:28 PM
In Edinburgh, generally 60-80 quid.

In Zürich, let's not even go there....

lugz
07-11-2016, 05:08 AM
If I'm going out with the lads to watch soccer Saturday or a couple of games on the Sunday I'll only ever take £40 and that'll cover a taxi and chippy at the end of the day.

When I used to go out a few years ago £80 was a minimum and that doesn't include the drink we'd buy and drink in the house before heading out.

LustForLeith
07-11-2016, 11:08 AM
I remember my mates telling me in about 94 that to go up the town with them all I'd need would be £11. That included a carry out before goign to a club, free entry into a club before eleven, drinks in the venue and walk home.

£11 would get nothing nowadays!

In Vegas recently and noticed that there's tonnes of happy hour offers on the go. Am I right in thinking they're scrapped in Scotland?

07-11-2016, 11:37 AM
I remember my mates telling me in about 94 that to go up the town with them all I'd need would be £11. That included a carry out before goign to a club, free entry into a club before eleven, drinks in the venue and walk home.

£11 would get nothing nowadays!

In Vegas recently and noticed that there's tonnes of happy hour offers on the go. Am I right in thinking they're scrapped in Scotland?

Yep. Prices have to be changed for a minimum of 72 hours, or that was the case when I left the trade nearly 3 year ago, which to all intents and purposes makes happy hours illegal.

Galahibby
07-11-2016, 06:04 PM
Thats not a night out thats an hour out. :-)

That is a night out at my age :wink:

Sodje_18
12-11-2016, 09:20 AM
Great thread!

I went on a night out on the Friday night, got home half an hour before leaving for my bus then straight out after the game - was terrified to check my bank balance on the Monday but was well worth every penny :thumbsup:

Between the friday, the match and parade I'd say I was about £350-400 all in. Spent less in effin Copenhagen

12-11-2016, 11:30 AM
Depending on where I am Edinburgh can go out with £50 can have a great night. If I'm 'home' in my village in sweden then it's about 1500kr bout £130 if it's Stockholm I ring my bank and ask for an extension of my mortgage! Easily blow about 3000kr on a night boutique £270

12-11-2016, 01:07 PM
Depending on where I am Edinburgh can go out with £50 can have a great night. If I'm 'home' in my village in sweden then it's about 1500kr bout £130 if it's Stockholm I ring my bank and ask for an extension of my mortgage! Easily blow about 3000kr on a night boutique £270

I'm interested to hear what goes on in a night boutique! ;-)

Mr_F
12-11-2016, 05:09 PM
I'm interested to hear what goes on in a night boutique! ;-)

Loads ae pumpin

12-11-2016, 09:00 PM
Loads ae pumpin

Shhhh my missus is in ear shot ;-) auto correct has a lot to answer for how many times I'm not trying to say can't