View Full Version : 'The War on Christmas'

02-11-2016, 07:11 AM
It's that time of year again when we learn than Muslamics and Hindihists want to ban Christmas. So post your examples here:

Number 1 is, shock horror, Starbucks have released a green cup instead of a red one.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/juliareinstein/put-the-christ-back-in-coffee?utm_term=.rum544oa1#.poPo77Oy6

What an affront to the baby Santa so near his birthday.

02-11-2016, 09:13 AM
It's that time of year again when we learn than Muslamics and Hindihists want to ban Christmas. So post your examples here:

Number 1 is, shock horror, Starbucks have released a green cup instead of a red one.

https://www.buzzfeed.com/juliareinstein/put-the-christ-back-in-coffee?utm_term=.rum544oa1#.poPo77Oy6

What an affront to the baby Santa so near his birthday.

Was Santa not green until Coca Cola got their grubby mitts on him

02-11-2016, 09:18 AM
If a multi-national company like starbucks has stopped bothering to milk the **** out of Christmas then maybe it's days are numbered. I hope so :devil:

02-11-2016, 11:17 AM
If a multi-national company like starbucks has stopped bothering to milk the **** out of Christmas then maybe it's days are numbered. I hope so :devil:

While I'm sure there ARE valid cases around, generally the submission these days to a few petty people from minorities is unbelievable, be it religious, political, commuting, & all the rest.
There's so many minority groups nowadays that the majority has become the minority - if you get my drift. :cool2:

02-11-2016, 11:19 AM

Starbucks or Christmas? :greengrin

02-11-2016, 11:41 AM
Starbucks or Christmas? :greengrin

Both. In no particular order :greengrin

02-11-2016, 11:53 AM
Both. In no particular order :greengrin

Perfect.

The sooner we can get back to pagan rituals on the 21st of December, the better in my book.

:stirrer:

02-11-2016, 11:57 AM
I've never encountered anyone of any minority who has had any objection to Christmas.

Whilst most people I know who aren't Christians obviously don't celebrate the religious aspect of Christmas, they tend to acknowledge and recognise the holiday and the festival. Their kids tend to get drawn into the commercial festival and all I know are happy to go along with it to a certain extent. People who have chosen this country as their home almost entirely respect the dominant religion and the views of the people who live there.

I strongly object to the Daily Mail, Britain First kind of mentality that is hell bent on dividing people and creating problems that simply don't exist. It is very harmful and is driving the world into a position it needn't be in.

02-11-2016, 12:00 PM
Perfect.

The sooner we can get back to pagan rituals on the 21st of December, the better in my book.

:stirrer:

I believe this was first proposed by Turkey at recent UN conference. :wink:

02-11-2016, 12:04 PM
We're gonna have to win the war on poppies before we can move on to the Christmas offensive.

02-11-2016, 01:00 PM
We're gonna have to win the war on poppies before we can move on to the Christmas offensive.

Would I be right in saying they don't do poppies in Germany for armistice day?

Ozymandias
02-11-2016, 01:07 PM
While I'm sure there ARE valid cases around, generally the submission these days to a few petty people from minorities is unbelievable, be it religious, political, commuting, & all the rest.
There's so many minority groups nowadays that the majority has become the minority - if you get my drift. :cool2:

Hard to think of too many genuine examples of any significance of "submission to minorities" that has an effect on the majority to be honest.

02-11-2016, 01:15 PM
For clarity my original post was meant to be light hearted.

Happy Winterval to one and all.

02-11-2016, 02:17 PM
Would I be right in saying they don't do poppies in Germany for armistice day?

No, the 11th of November is the beginning of Carnival.

hibs#1
02-11-2016, 04:28 PM
I've never encountered anyone of any minority who has had any objection to Christmas.

Whilst most people I know who aren't Christians obviously don't celebrate the religious aspect of Christmas, they tend to acknowledge and recognise the holiday and the festival. Their kids tend to get drawn into the commercial festival and all I know are happy to go along with it to a certain extent. People who have chosen this country as their home almost entirely respect the dominant religion and the views of the people who live there.

I strongly object to the Daily Mail, Britain First kind of mentality that is hell bent on dividing people and creating problems that simply don't exist. It is very harmful and is driving the world into a position it needn't be in.

Think you some this up very well better than I could.

Always seems to be a lot media outlets always looking to sensationalise(sp?) when Alot of these problems don't actually
Exist

As an aside I love Xmas and Xmas time don't like the fact the build up has already started so early think it kills the magic a little bit

02-11-2016, 07:59 PM

:agree: The majority of people from ethnic minorities who follow different religions generally embrace Christmas, even if they do not fully celebrate it.

The biggest problem comes from the atheist community who seem to want to take any sort of religious meaning out of Christmas, apparently in fear of offending the aforementioned people of ethnic minorities, when the truth is they are actually happy to enjoy the Christmas period with their friends.

02-11-2016, 08:39 PM
:agree: The majority of people from ethnic minorities who follow different religions generally embrace Christmas, even if they do not fully celebrate it.

The biggest problem comes from the atheist community who seem to want to take any sort of religious meaning out of Christmas, apparently in fear of offending the aforementioned people of ethnic minorities, when the truth is they are actually happy to enjoy the Christmas period with their friends.

That is quite possibly the biggest load of bollocks I've ever read on this forum-congratulations!

Firstly I didn't even realise not believing in imaginary characters made me part of a community.

And secondly why would atheists give a toss about which god it is they don't believe in? If you really believe atheists believe LESS in a Christian god than say a Muslim one then I'm afraid you're away with the fairies
*who also don't exist.

Anyhow, as the OP was indeed meant to be a light hearted observation I'll bow out now - hopefully you've been nice rather than naughty this year, that way Santa will bring you gifts.....

03-11-2016, 06:41 AM

Aye right, so it's the atheists who are the racists and bigots. Suppose they're at fault for brexit too?

03-11-2016, 10:15 AM

Speaking as someone who has nothing but contempt for any organised religion...I love Xmas. And the more who do, the merrier!
No big(gest) problem whatsoever. Anti-theists may no invest in ethereal nothingnesses or daft sky-wizards but we dinnae spend our times sucking the joy from our societal festivals and celebrations, particularly because of a non-belief. It's the believers that divide, no the sensible folks...Jesus!
:xbell

03-11-2016, 12:07 PM
Speaking as someone who has nothing but contempt for any organised religion...I love Xmas. And the more who do, the merrier!
No big(gest) problem whatsoever. Anti-theists may no invest in ethereal nothingnesses or daft sky-wizards but we dinnae spend our times sucking the joy from our societal festivals and celebrations, particularly because of a non-belief. It's the believers that divide, no the sensible folks...Jesus!

You better believe it. :greengrin

03-11-2016, 12:37 PM

Oi. That's my best Christmas gear :tree

I got this in Costa this morning......

03-11-2016, 01:20 PM

I'd have asked for a plain cup. We've not had Bonfire Night or St Andrew's Day yet.

03-11-2016, 01:42 PM

Did you not get a hot cross bun and an Easter egg with it?

06-11-2016, 08:53 AM

Can you give me an example which backs up either of those two statements?

06-11-2016, 10:27 AM
Was Santa not green until Coca Cola got their grubby mitts on him

Yes, he was.

06-11-2016, 10:41 AM
Can you give me an example which backs up either of those two statements?

I'm not sure the comment about athiests hokds eater, but I agree that most people embrace Christmas to some degree.

Christmas trees in Indian restaurants, Christmas menus in Halal restaurants and decorations on asian shop windows attest to that.

They certainly embrace it more than Christians do with other religious festvals like Diwali or Hanukkah.

06-11-2016, 06:01 PM
I'm not sure the comment about athiests hokds eater, but I agree that most people embrace Christmas to some degree.

Christmas trees in Indian restaurants, Christmas menus in Halal restaurants and decorations on asian shop windows attest to that.

They certainly embrace it more than Christians do with other religious festvals like Diwali or Hanukkah.

I think that's probably about right. Cheers Mr. Radge. :aok: Have to say I also disagree with the other point.

07-11-2016, 09:30 AM
You better believe it. :greengrin

Nice...:tee hee:

12-12-2016, 08:53 PM
They might also have to rename Hogmanay to Lambmanay.

15-12-2016, 08:13 PM
I'd like to declare war on Christmas (yes, I'm an atheist). Matt Haig's recent article is a good example of why.

https://www.theguardian.com/society/2015/dec/14/shopping-hell-kindness-therapeutic-depression-christmas?CMP=share_btn_tw

Christmas, I realised, could be a nightmare. It could intensify what depression already, to some extent, made you feel: that the world was having fun while you definitely weren’t. Christmas intensifies the chiaroscuro (to use the pretentious kind of art-history terms I had in my head at the time): the contrast between light and shade. The light around you seems brighter, so the dark feels darker.

As someone who suffers from pretty intense anxiety, all Christmas does for me is make me feel like I should be on point, I should be happy, and I should be jovial at every thought of spending time with my family and loved ones. The songs that 'exude happiness', are a constant message of how happy everyone should be - the chaotic shopping experience, and commercial expectations that you flourish people with gifts or 'don't care'. As un-religious as I am, I've much more respect for those who observe it as a religious holiday than those who go overboard with greed, overindulgence and utter twee decorations/dreadfully cliched celebrations.

But to each, their own. I just realised I shouldn't feel compelled to join in with the charade. And that was liberating.

15-12-2016, 09:05 PM
Eric Idle's Christmas song sums up my feelings on the subject perfectly.

16-12-2016, 07:50 AM
Didn't Christians originally "steal' Christmas Day from the Pagans though?
Fwiw, it's reckoned that Jesus was born around September/October as that was when records show the census was.
Just sayin', like. :greengrin

16-12-2016, 01:12 PM
Didn't Christians originally "steal' Christmas Day from the Pagans though?
Fwiw, it's reckoned that Jesus was born around September/October as that was when records show the census was.
Just sayin', like. :greengrin

It's actually the celebration of the Incarnation of Christ - the Word of God made flesh - rather than a birthday party. The Christian belief that the God Who created the material world entered that world in order to redeem that world, rather than the birth itself.

Since many members of the early Church were either indentured servants or slaves - who couldn't 'get off work' - it probably seemed sensible to hold the Christian celebration at a time when everyone else was celebrating. The Saturnalia was a time of year when normal rules rather went by the board.

The whole season suffers from an overlay of Victorian sentimentality ('See, amid the winter's snow' sort of stuff) and modern materialism (Black Fridays and Boxing Day sales).

There's nothing at all wrong with having a cheer-up time in midwinter whatever your beliefs.

16-12-2016, 01:36 PM
It's actually the celebration of the Incarnation of Christ - the Word of God made flesh - rather than a birthday party. The Christian belief that the God Who created the material world entered that world in order to redeem that world, rather than the birth itself.

Since many members of the early Church were either indentured servants or slaves - who couldn't 'get off work' - it probably seemed sensible to hold the Christian celebration at a time when everyone else was celebrating. The Saturnalia was a time of year when normal rules rather went by the board.

The whole season suffers from an overlay of Victorian sentimentality ('See, amid the winter's snow' sort of stuff) and modern materialism (Black Fridays and Boxing Day sales).

There's nothing at all wrong with having a cheer-up time in midwinter whatever your beliefs.

This is basically it.

I'm no Christian (or Muslim, Jew, Buddist etc etc) and there are elements - specifically the latter that you mention - that do my nut in about Xmas in the UK, but if everyone (and most are tbf) were a bit more " a man's a man for aw that" in their approach at this time of year (and indeed the rest of the time as well) and just occupy themselves with spending time (not necessarily oodles of ££££) with loved ones and friends and appreciate how bloody lucky they are to be able to do so in the warmth of their own home Xmas would be a much nicer experience for all concerned.

Probably won't happen though - SPEND SPEND SPEND

I'll be waking up on Xmas morning (ideally next to the wife assuming things don't go seriously west on Xmas Eve) in the French Alps then going skiing - lovely.

16-12-2016, 01:43 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aQaxSfqreak&list=PLhiCEEgDvERxsgDAr9pPnrFnL9bLuasPM

16-12-2016, 06:39 PM
This is basically it.

I'm no Christian (or Muslim, Jew, Buddist etc etc) and there are elements - specifically the latter that you mention - that do my nut in about Xmas in the UK, but if everyone (and most are tbf) were a bit more " a man's a man for aw that" in their approach at this time of year (and indeed the rest of the time as well) and just occupy themselves with spending time (not necessarily oodles of ££££) with loved ones and friends and appreciate how bloody lucky they are to be able to do so in the warmth of their own home Xmas would be a much nicer experience for all concerned.

Probably won't happen though - SPEND SPEND SPEND

I'll be waking up on Xmas morning (ideally next to the wife assuming things don't go seriously west on Xmas Eve) in the French Alps then going skiing - lovely.

Well, safe journeys and a really good holiday to you both.

BTW - "a man's a man for a' that" comes next month. JANUARY, not December ... :wink:

That's the fat guys in ill-fitting kilts misquoting their 'national bard' and getting legless and chucking up half-digested haggis, IIRC.

16-12-2016, 09:19 PM
Nothing at all wrong with whole families together for a couple of days. Eating, drinking and entertaining themselves.

I am looking forward to going to the Xmas Eve game with my oldest who doesn't get to many games. Then food with whole family up town and all heading back to the family home for a day of relaxation together on the 25th. No doubt with some board games.

Might head over with my two boys to East End Park on Boxing Day.

Yes there will be presents exchanged. But not overboard. Just a nice relaxing time together.

17-12-2016, 07:11 AM
Nothing at all wrong with whole families together for a couple of days. Eating, drinking and entertaining themselves.

I am looking forward to going to the Xmas Eve game with my oldest who doesn't get to many games. Then food with whole family up town and all heading back to the family home for a day of relaxation together on the 25th. No doubt with some board games.

Might head over with my two boys to East End Park on Boxing Day.

Yes there will be presents exchanged. But not overboard. Just a nice relaxing time together.

Some people don't have family to exchange gifts with or eat meals with. Some do have family but no money to do so. I can understand how it could depress people when they can't possibly do what the whole media is telling them they should be doing.

17-12-2016, 07:18 AM
Some people don't have family to exchange gifts with or eat meals with. Some do have family but no money to do so. I can understand how it could depress people when they can't possibly do what the whole media is telling them they should be doing.

Fair point.

Caversham Green
17-12-2016, 08:29 AM
On the religious debate, I discovered while researching my family tree that my great-grandparents were members of the Free Church of Scotland. They didn't (and as the United Free Church I think still don't) celebrate Christmas and Great-Granny and Great-Granpa were married on 25 December 1885. My guess is that this was so that they could have a celebration without offending the Church (put up an anniversary tree, anniversary goose for dinner etc).

As a tragic footnote their son (my Great-Uncle) was killed at Gallipoli on 25 December 1915 - their 30th wedding anniversary.

17-12-2016, 10:56 AM

Good on them for getting involved but let's no forget that the majority of their customers are probably Christian and so they have a vested interest in participating.

18-12-2016, 05:19 PM
Good on them for getting involved but let's no forget that the majority of their customers are probably Christian and so they have a vested interest in participating.

I don't know many people who make their shopping or curry choices based on whether or not there might be a Christmas decoration on display. Probably the opposite, if anything!

However, these folk seem to have an entirely generous motivation.

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2016/12/18/muslims-donate-10-tonnes-food-charity-drive-homeless-christmas/