View Full Version : The Kirkgate

beensaidbefore
01-11-2016, 06:32 PM
Why is that place so bad? I know a lot has been done to improve its appearance but jeezo. Having a police officer stationed there for part of the day might help. Clearly selling stuff, a proper fight and folk not batting an eyelid!

Also what is it with folk using f instead of th to start a word?
'Il have free.'
'No sorry they are not free!'
'No, free, like one two free. Haha did you fink I meant free?'cheers paaw!

01-11-2016, 07:05 PM
As a born and bred Leither I just find the place really depressing, on the rare occasions I actually set foot in the place it's soul destroying, I wish they would just tear it down and start again, it's just grey blandness and I think that rubs off on the people who frequent it. It's like something out of a Zombie film at times.

The complete gentrification of many parts of Leith has really annoyed me, but there are certain areas like the Kirkgate that really need a new lease of life

beensaidbefore
01-11-2016, 07:13 PM
As a born and bred Leither I just find the place really depressing, on the rare occasions I actually set foot in the place it's soul destroying, I wish they would just tear it down and start again, it's just grey blandness and I think that rubs off on the people who frequent it. It's like something out of a Zombie film at times.

The complete gentrification of many parts of Leith has really annoyed me, but there are certain areas like the Kirkgate that really need a new lease of life

I'm a relative newcomer through work and don't live there. Hearing stories from people at work some are 80s 90s and been in Leith all their days it sounds like it was once magnificent, and arguably as good as Princes Street etc. Sad it is that way now.

01-11-2016, 07:22 PM
I'm a relative newcomer through work and don't live there. Hearing stories from people at work some are 80s 90s and been in Leith all their days it sounds like it was once magnificent, and arguably as good as Princes Street etc. Sad it is that way now.

I can remember it as far back as the early to mid 80s it's always been a bit of a hovel to be honest but it had Woolies etc so the shops were a tad better, but the jakey element have always hung about there, some of the greatest things I've ever seen have been down there like someone ****ting in a bin at 4 in the afternoon or the guy taking his ferrets out a walk on a lead :faf:

beensaidbefore
01-11-2016, 07:32 PM
I can remember it as far back as the early to mid 80s it's always been a bit of a hovel to be honest but it had Woolies etc so the shops were a tad better, but the jakey element have always hung about there, some of the greatest things I've ever seen have been down there like someone ****ting in a bin at 4 in the afternoon or the guy taking his ferrets out a walk on a lead :faf:

Sorry, I wasn't clear. I work with the elderly! I re read my post and should have said are in their 80s and 90s. Even the youngsters... 70s tell me stories from their parents, grandparents days, very interesting history, and a tough existence for some by all accounts.

Yeah I remember being down there late 80s with my folks and it was impressionable to say the least.

01-11-2016, 07:42 PM
Sorry, I wasn't clear. I work with the elderly! I re read my post and should have said are in their 80s and 90s. Even the youngsters... 70s tell me stories from their parents, grandparents days, very interesting history, and a tough existence for some by all accounts.

Yeah I remember being down there late 80s with my folks and it was impressionable to say the least.

Ah now I get you, my nana is in her 80s and has Alzheimer's so we often get her talking about how Leith was back when she was a little girl, completely different place in many ways, i was also lucky enough to know my great granny as well who was born in leith in 1910 so heard all her stories too, she was one tough woman :faf:

01-11-2016, 07:44 PM

It used to be a street that you could drive down and it had shops with houses above them on each side. It's always been a haven for the jakys since I was young. It's a bit of a shame as there's plenty good things about it. I used to play football in the community centre and my daughter goes there to the dance school. It wouldn't take much to improve things down there, there just doesn't seem to be the will to do it.

01-11-2016, 07:45 PM

Put it back the way it was when it was the heart of Leith.

beensaidbefore
01-11-2016, 09:31 PM
It used to be a street that you could drive down and it had shops with houses above them on each side. It's always been a haven for the jakys since I was young. It's a bit of a shame as there's plenty good things about it. I used to play football in the community centre and my daughter goes there to the dance school. It wouldn't take much to improve things down there, there just doesn't seem to be the will to do it.

They just spent a few quid after consulting the community, and its not really made much of a difference. OK the big bench is gone but it doesn't appear like the atmosphere has changed. Much more money needs to be invested by the council, but we also need buy in from the community, that includes proper support for the problems at hand. Glasgow are considering a safe place for drug users, that would help for a start. But in my opinion, like everything else that's days, unless there is money to be made we won't be seeing it anytime soon.

Sad because there are lots of good people living and working there trying to make positive changes.

02-11-2016, 04:06 PM
I'm a born and bred Leither but my wife is from one of the nicer parts of the Greater Glasgow area. I keep up a pretence to my wife that I think the Kirkgate is a lovely place as she thinks it is a hovel (not even so much in terms of the buildings but rather the people that frequent it) but I pretty much just do it to wind her up and make out that she is a snob, although I don't think it is nearly as bad as she makes out. Maybe I'm just used to it now.

We used to be regulars in the Lidl there but she won't go back now that one has opened at Cannonmills which doesn't come with the selection of junkies and jakeys that the Kirkgate provides. One of our favourite incidents was about a month or so ago in Lidl. Jakey goes up to my wife and asks her where the microwave hamburgers are to which she replies that she isn't sure but she would imagine somewhere around where they were standing. He still can't find them and asks several more customers very loudly if they know where the microwave hamburgers are. When he doesn't get anywhere he starts shouting "Help! Member of staff please. Help!" When this doesn't elicit an immediate response from a member of staff he starts crying and screaming. "MICROWAVE BURGERS! HELP HELP HELP HELP! I NEED MICROWAVE BURGERS! WHY DOES NAEWUN KEN WHERE THE BURGERS ARE?" The whole shop just stopped and stared.

07-11-2016, 11:02 AM
Ive Witnessed karaoke on a Sat afternoon down there, only a year or so back.

Also a few months ago there was a wee animal thing, lizards and the like. 3 junkies completley out of it spraffing away to the woman whilst taking shots of a snake, one of them was so baked he didn't even know his pal/missues had placed a snake on his neck and was just staring as the snake slid up to his face.

Unfortunately what can you do? You could open an armani, hugo boss, mulberry etc shops down there but same clientele would be hanging around. Only with even more things to chore

beensaidbefore
07-11-2016, 04:26 PM
Ive Witnessed karaoke on a Sat afternoon down there, only a year or so back.

Also a few months ago there was a wee animal thing, lizards and the like. 3 junkies completley out of it spraffing away to the woman whilst taking shots of a snake, one of them was so baked he didn't even know his pal/missues had placed a snake on his neck and was just staring as the snake slid up to his face.

Unfortunately what can you do? You could open an armani, hugo boss, mulberry etc shops down there but same clientele would be hanging around. Only with even more things to chore

Last 2 posts sum it up better than I could have. The problem for me is that the type of behaviour above is tolerated and therefore seen as acceptable. And sadly pointing out to someone who clearly is a tramp that their behaviour is an bit trampy seems a bit pointless and probably not worth the risk of a kicking.

To police it better and stop turning a blind eye means buy in from everyone, and sadly folk aren't interested in putting their head above the parapet.

07-11-2016, 04:34 PM
Last 2 posts sum it up better than I could have. The problem for me is that the type of behaviour above is tolerated and therefore seen as acceptable. And sadly pointing out to someone who clearly is a tramp that their behaviour is an bit trampy seems a bit pointless and probably not worth the risk of a kicking.

To police it better and stop turning a blind eye means buy in from everyone, and sadly folk aren't interested in putting their head above the parapet.

Don't see much wrong with the behavior you have quoted in your post. I don't think people singing in the street or talking to a woman with a pet lizard could be considered anti-social.

beensaidbefore
07-11-2016, 05:06 PM
Don't see much wrong with the behavior you have quoted in your post. I don't think people singing in the street or talking to a woman with a pet lizard could be considered anti-social.

That I suppose is the milder end of the spectrum. I saw 2 men having an proper fight, running round the burger stall to get away, then charging back at each other. Kids wit them and plenty all round. Noone stopping them or saying have a word guys, there was about 10 folk with them just standing laughing. The fact that kind of thing is seen as normal for the area is the issue for me. What chance have the bairns got if they see mum n dad acting like that and nobody pulls them up or calls them out for it. Next generation of radges in the making.

07-11-2016, 06:32 PM
That I suppose is the milder end of the spectrum. I saw 2 men having an proper fight, running round the burger stall to get away, then charging back at each other. Kids wit them and plenty all round. Noone stopping them or saying have a word guys, there was about 10 folk with them just standing laughing. The fact that kind of thing is seen as normal for the area is the issue for me. What chance have the bairns got if they see mum n dad acting like that and nobody pulls them up or calls them out for it. Next generation of radges in the making.

That's the way it works, vicious circle really.

07-11-2016, 06:49 PM
can anyone else remember jimmy fisher and playing football at his jims boys club in the community centre :greengrin

07-11-2016, 08:16 PM
can anyone else remember jimmy fisher and playing football at his jims boys club in the community centre :greengrin

Christ there's a name from the past, a load of us went to america under the jims boys club banner in the early 70s.

07-11-2016, 09:15 PM
Not sure if it's still the same policy being played out although having said that nothing has changed for the better in the last few years, it's got worse.

Anyway it was the case that Edinburgh council and other councils used the boarding houses around Leith Links as a dumping ground for 'difficult' to house clients.

The obvious when they're chucked out in the morning is for them to congregate somewhere, like the Kirkgate and continue their anti social behaviour.

It's nothing short of a disgrace this is allowed to happen, not just in Leith but anywhere else.

The City of Edinburgh Council have parked a problem, our of sight of their precious tourists and the police pay it no better than lip service.

Shame on the City of Edinburgh Council and shame on the police.

07-11-2016, 09:44 PM
Not sure if it's still the same policy being played out although having said that nothing has changed for the better in the last few years, it's got worse.

Anyway it was the case that Edinburgh council and other councils used the boarding houses around Leith Links as a dumping ground for 'difficult' to house clients.

The obvious when they're chucked out in the morning is for them to congregate somewhere, like the Kirkgate and continue their anti social behaviour.

It's nothing short of a disgrace this is allowed to happen, not just in Leith but anywhere else.

The City of Edinburgh Council have parked a problem, our of sight of their precious tourists and the police pay it no better than lip service.

Shame on the City of Edinburgh Council and shame on the police.

Correct. There are two "guest houses" and a weird nunnery that helps hobos situated on the one street where I live. There is a nice looking park on the same street but it is a virtual no go zone because of the clientele from these places meeting up there.

It was quite funny though when I saw some Indian tourists (a family) rock up to one of the guest houses one day thinking it was a nice place for them stay on their holiday only to be greeted by a gang of jakeys who didn't look like they had showered in a year. The look on their faces was priceless.

08-11-2016, 07:16 AM
My sister in law ended up in one of those B&Bs for a few weeks, had to move out when one of the other 'guests' burnt it down.

There are some really nice houses down that way, some are very grand.

08-11-2016, 08:34 AM
I used to go to Jim's every Tuesday and Friday iirc :greengrin

09-11-2016, 08:09 AM

Probably before my time but remember playing 5 a sides at the Community Centre when with the BB's! Fond memories of that big anchor in the middle of the place and playing and running around when I was young, as the grandparents used to live on Constitution Street and then wandering to Woolies from school at lunchtimes via Elio's chip shop on Duke St (or similar!) for lunch :greengrin

Ah the good ol days :wink:

22-11-2016, 06:38 AM
I'm a born and bred Leither but my wife is from one of the nicer parts of the Greater Glasgow area. I keep up a pretence to my wife that I think the Kirkgate is a lovely place as she thinks it is a hovel (not even so much in terms of the buildings but rather the people that frequent it) but I pretty much just do it to wind her up and make out that she is a snob, although I don't think it is nearly as bad as she makes out. Maybe I'm just used to it now.

We used to be regulars in the Lidl there but she won't go back now that one has opened at Cannonmills which doesn't come with the selection of junkies and jakeys that the Kirkgate provides. One of our favourite incidents was about a month or so ago in Lidl. Jakey goes up to my wife and asks her where the microwave hamburgers are to which she replies that she isn't sure but she would imagine somewhere around where they were standing. He still can't find them and asks several more customers very loudly if they know where the microwave hamburgers are. When he doesn't get anywhere he starts shouting "Help! Member of staff please. Help!" When this doesn't elicit an immediate response from a member of staff he starts crying and screaming. "MICROWAVE BURGERS! HELP HELP HELP HELP! I NEED MICROWAVE BURGERS! WHY DOES NAEWUN KEN WHERE THE BURGERS ARE?" The whole shop just stopped and stared.

"Jakey" sounds like (if they were not off their head) possibly on the autistic spectrum either way probably a bit of support and understanding required.

22-11-2016, 07:56 AM
"Jakey" sounds like (if they were not off their head) possibly on the autistic spectrum either way probably a bit of support and understanding required.

There's a constant stream of extras from The Walking Dead that visit the drug dealing bitch in the flat below ours, support and understanding is not what I'd like to give them/her.

beensaidbefore
22-11-2016, 05:53 PM

There's usually a fairly clear distinction between jakies and the rest of the population!

At least at the Kirkgate anyway. 😁

24-11-2016, 06:35 PM
I remember playing on an anchor. I take it that's gone now?

ACLeith
24-11-2016, 10:21 PM
I remember playing on an anchor. I take it that's gone now?

Went as part of the refurbishment a number of years ago. No idea where it ended up.

24-11-2016, 10:27 PM
Went as part of the refurbishment a number of years ago. No idea where it ended up.

Replaced by a grey spike...[emoji33]

Someone should start a 'Bring back the anchor' campaign!

24-11-2016, 11:47 PM

I'm sure I read somewhere that it is now at Ocean Terminal.

ACLeith
25-11-2016, 05:13 AM

Can't remember seeing it there HH, maybe being used to keep Britannia in place!

Mr Grieves
25-11-2016, 07:02 AM

There's an anchor behind the flats on ocean drive. I spotted it the last time I was going to the dentist there, must be the one that was in the kirkgate.

25-11-2016, 08:55 AM
Can't remember seeing it there HH, maybe being used to keep Britannia in place!

I've never been but, seem to remember reading it somewhere.

27-11-2016, 02:25 AM
There's an anchor behind the flats on ocean drive. I spotted it the last time I was going to the dentist there, must be the one that was in the kirkgate.

There's also one at the junction of Annfield and Great Michael Rise in Newhaven. That might also be it.

Not a Leither myself but some of my family stayed down there and my abiding memory of the Kirkgate was playing on that anchor with other, random kids. I think that mums maybe used to leave us all there while they trapsed around Woolies or somewhere :-D

27-11-2016, 08:29 AM
There's also one at the junction of Annfield and Great Michael Rise in Newhaven. That might also be it.

Not a Leither myself but some of my family stayed down there and my abiding memory of the Kirkgate was playing on that anchor with other, random kids. I think that mums maybe used to leave us all there while they trapsed around Woolies or somewhere :-D

It's a different one down Newhaven, that one has been there as long as I can remember