View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v St Mirren

29-10-2016, 12:51 PM
Top of the table Hibs v a team without a league win all season. Piece of piss no doubt.

Team news?

stevie-bee
29-10-2016, 12:53 PM
You just jinxed it

29-10-2016, 01:06 PM
No Cummings again

29-10-2016, 01:07 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161029/0048b18141782ab9fe07b30a0afbac6c.png

29-10-2016, 01:07 PM
Boyle starts up front with Holt.

Makes sense I suppose, big guy and wee guy.

Highland_Hibee
29-10-2016, 01:08 PM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, Hanlon, Fontaine, McGregor, Stevenson, McGinn, Fyvie, Shinnie, Boyle, Holt.

SUBS | Laidlaw, Bartley, Forster, Graham, Harris, Cummings, Martin

Interesting Boyle ahead of Cummings.

29-10-2016, 01:11 PM
Hmm, that's interesting.

Lennon doesnt like Cummings does he? Shocked to see our top scorer on the bench again, especially with Keatings out.

I hope there isn't something going on behind the scenes with Cummings.

29-10-2016, 01:12 PM
Wow, surprised at that with Keatings out. There isn't a lot of goals in that team (statistically I mean).

With Cummings on the bench presumably he's not injured?

29-10-2016, 01:13 PM
Cummings went way downhill after Lennon publicly blasted him (when he was still in great goal scoring form). I highly disagree with doing that to a confidence player like Cummings, especially when he's nowhere near to the worst offender in the team.

Enough said
29-10-2016, 01:15 PM
No Cummings again

Deserverlied dropped

29-10-2016, 01:23 PM
Cummings went way downhill after Lennon publicly blasted him (when he was still in great goal scoring form). I highly disagree with doing that to a confidence player like Cummings, especially when he's nowhere near to the worst offender in the team.

I'm not convinced he blasted him, he said he was missing too many chances - which he was. He should have had a hat trick in the game that inspired it (Dumbarton).

Instead of knuckling down and improving, he seemed to take the huff and I don't think he's scored since.

Cat Stanton
29-10-2016, 01:28 PM
Deserverlied dropped

Had Deserverlied been getting a game?

29-10-2016, 01:28 PM
Boyle deserves a chance after how he performed off the bench last week. Whether he can produce it from the start is the big question.

29-10-2016, 01:34 PM
Deserverlied dropped
Getting his just deserves

NikGunnarsson
29-10-2016, 01:40 PM
Actually very happy with that, Cummings has done nothing to deserve a place in the squad mind team. Hope as well if we are chasing a goal at the end he brings on big Graham rather than Cummings

29-10-2016, 01:48 PM
Boyle made a big impact last week and deserves to start. If it doesn't work we have a bench of Graham and Cummings. If it does work great, it's about time we tried to get a run of games going with the same team.

Lots more of second half last week display today please

29-10-2016, 01:49 PM
Actually very happy with that, Cummings has done nothing to deserve a place in the squad mind team. Hope as well if we are chasing a goal at the end he brings on big Graham rather than Cummings

Aye, don't want your top goal scorer on the pitch if we're chasing a goal.

Although, I do like Graham.

29-10-2016, 01:51 PM
Quite a defensive looking team?

29-10-2016, 01:52 PM

Cummings has scored more goals already this season than Graham has managed both this season and last season combined.

29-10-2016, 01:54 PM
I'm not convinced he blasted him, he said he was missing too many chances - which he was. He should have had a hat trick in the game that inspired it (Dumbarton).

Instead of knuckling down and improving, he seemed to take the huff and I don't think he's scored since.
Yes I agree, he didn't slaughter him he merely pointed out that his conversion rate needed to be upped.

Cummings has scored more goals already this season than Graham has managed both this season and last season combined.

But if we scored a goal, we'd have nothing left to chase. It's like you didn't even listen to Butcher.

euro Hibby
fans still coming in ?

Anybody who watched Cummings 2 weeks ago at starks park would agree he has been deservedly dropped

29-10-2016, 02:00 PM
What's the latest with McGeough now?

Off the bar
29-10-2016, 02:03 PM
What's the latest with McGeough now?

Two weeks

29-10-2016, 02:04 PM
Sounds like St mirren have gone close twice already.

29-10-2016, 02:05 PM
Two weeks

29-10-2016, 02:10 PM
What a ball from shinnie.

Boyl 1-0

Goal! Boyle.

29-10-2016, 02:11 PM
Nice finish

Zorro
29-10-2016, 02:12 PM
Brilliant! Great start

rotherhamrob
Squirrel scores get in there

Another 2 or 3 would be good today

Goal! Boyle.
Sometimes the manager just knows better than the fans:greengrin

29-10-2016, 02:14 PM
Get in Boyley!!

confused
29-10-2016, 02:15 PM
Well done wee man , now go and show them a good player !

29-10-2016, 02:16 PM
Get in! 6-1 good thing!

PompeyHibs
29-10-2016, 02:17 PM
Nice one from Boyle, hopefully we back it up with another couple

Hearts 1 down = pleasing

29-10-2016, 02:20 PM
Get in hibs!

Now lets actually go onto finish a team off this time. No arseing around, lets get this game done and dusted early doors!

29-10-2016, 02:20 PM
Get in hibs!

Now lets actually go onto finish a team off this time. No arseing around, lets get this game done and dusted early doors!

29-10-2016, 02:21 PM
Has Lewis sorted getting my DVD delivered yet? Not good enough.

Get in! 6-1 good thing!

It pays to wait on the team lines before placing your bets!

Get in hibs!

Seconded !

29-10-2016, 02:23 PM
St Mirren are actually coming at us a bit unlike most teams. They were doing so before the goal which is maybe why we got it to be honest.

Fair play to them.

High-On-Hibs
29-10-2016, 02:25 PM
St Mirren are actually coming at us a bit unlike most teams. They were doing so before the goal which is maybe why we got it to be honest.

Fair play to them.

They don't have a choice.

29-10-2016, 02:26 PM
They don't have a choice.

They did before the goal.

29-10-2016, 02:27 PM
They will think if it stays 1 0 they can get something from the game based on thier cup game here So agree with thoseposting it would be nice to get a few scores on the door so they have no way back
But as long as we win today couldnt give a monkeys how we do it Its just important we string a few back to back wins together

29-10-2016, 02:27 PM
Edinburgh City 1-0 up

29-10-2016, 02:32 PM
I'll stick my neck on the block and say 4-0.

29-10-2016, 02:34 PM
2-0 ict

29-10-2016, 02:34 PM
Inverness 2-0

29-10-2016, 02:35 PM
Boyle has a shot saved by Langfield.

29-10-2016, 02:36 PM
Holt 2-0 18 yarder

Always believe in Grant Holt.

Great finish by Holt.

Yes! Holty.

High-On-Hibs
29-10-2016, 02:37 PM
Superb goal by Holt on the edge of the box.

rotherhamrob
2-0 Holt,Lennon picking the right team

St Mirren have nothing to lose now. Let's take advantage and give them a real seeing to and send a message.

29-10-2016, 02:39 PM
2-0 Holt,Lennon picking the right team

So, the Manager does know best.

Who'd have thunk it? :greengrin

29-10-2016, 02:39 PM
This is more like it Hibs. Good to see Lennon getting the tactics right

29-10-2016, 02:40 PM
It pays to wait on the team lines before placing your bets!

Indeed, JC was the favourite when I put my bet on.

29-10-2016, 02:46 PM
Has Lewis sorted getting my DVD delivered yet? Not good enough.

Not his job. Henderson delivers.

29-10-2016, 02:47 PM
2-0 HT :thumbsup:

29-10-2016, 02:47 PM
2-0 at half time.

That'll do nicely. Another two in the second half as well.

Fancy Brian graham to get another.

MileHighBees
29-10-2016, 02:48 PM
HT 2-0 :coolhib:
Hibs playing well but St Mirren have also had some chances
Much better game than last time we played them

29-10-2016, 02:50 PM
Best 1st half performance of the season, no doubt. Could literally be 5-0. Our drive today is superb.....from the start for a change!

29-10-2016, 02:50 PM
Good score but we've been pretty pish - passing has been pretty horrendous. Boyle looking good. St Mirren are absolutely dire.

29-10-2016, 02:51 PM
Good score at half time and have played well in patches

29-10-2016, 02:52 PM
Best 1st half performance of the season, no doubt. Could literally be 5-0. Our drive today is superb.....from the start for a change!

Front 3 working well together. St Mirrenn have caused us a few problems though particularly from corners.

29-10-2016, 02:53 PM
We are going to skoosh this league

29-10-2016, 02:54 PM
HT 2-0 :coolhib:
Hibs playing well but St Mirren have also had some chances
Much better game than last time we played them

That wouldnt be hard , that last game was rank rotten
Good to see Boyle scoring as he hasnt always taken his chance when starting a game and also good tp see Holt scoring again as its the one thing for me that s been missing so far
More of the same in the second half ,and hopefully we go on to at least equal our biggest home win of the Season , and return to form
Is crowd looking like arpund 15,000

29-10-2016, 02:54 PM
The speakers in the east are ridiculously bad.

29-10-2016, 02:55 PM
I think its been a bit flat we've just been a bit more clinical today which is good.

The sound in the east is garbage

29-10-2016, 02:58 PM
Have Hibs for a 3 0 win @ 7/1

29-10-2016, 02:59 PM
Boyle's pace looks a credible weapon for home games. Can see him getting more starts at ER.

Nice to see Lexo finally getting some love from the ER crowd. It was an often rocky relationship but he ended a silverware drought and the teams in the second part of reign weren't bad. He looked quite moved by it.

29-10-2016, 03:00 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161029/2ff4907e1c0763d1659e6de08cc4bfa2.png

Hibs.net. [emoji23][emoji23]

29-10-2016, 03:00 PM
We are going to skoosh this league

I recruited a new skoosher!! 😄 Welcome! Or were you already on team skoosh from the get go?

29-10-2016, 03:01 PM
We playing good football? Moving it well etc? Couldnt make it today due to an illness😢

29-10-2016, 03:01 PM
Good score but we've been pretty pish - passing has been pretty horrendous. Boyle looking good. St Mirren are absolutely dire.

You're a hard man to please.

This is a decent performance. Solid enough at the back, looking dangerous going forward and I'm delighted to see us close clinically take a couple of chances.

We've been much better and that second goal is important.

Frogga
29-10-2016, 03:02 PM
Poor first half again in terms of our general play. I'm obviously happy that we are winning but we're lucky to be 2-0 up imo. Fair play to Boyle for having a go.

29-10-2016, 03:03 PM

Any more complaints?

29-10-2016, 03:07 PM
They always have been in all the years I have been going to ER & thats along time.

29-10-2016, 03:08 PM
Rotherham 2-1 up

29-10-2016, 03:09 PM
Fyvie down injured

29-10-2016, 03:11 PM
Any more complaints?

The weather on Arran is piss poor would rather be at Easter Rd. Struggling to hear the Tannoy in the East 🤑

29-10-2016, 03:11 PM
Any more complaints?

I'm just realistic in my assessment. We've not looked great and have lacked a bit of urgency. St Mirren were the better team for a portion of the first half. That said I'll take this over the usual 'barrow load of chances and no goals' we've been suffering recently!

29-10-2016, 03:12 PM
Fyvie down injured

Looks to be OK to continue.

29-10-2016, 03:13 PM
3-2 ict.

29-10-2016, 03:14 PM
3-2 ict

29-10-2016, 03:15 PM
Holt forces langfield into a save.

29-10-2016, 03:20 PM
Our pressing has been sensational today. They've been as poor as they have because we aren't allowing them to play.

29-10-2016, 03:21 PM
Dundee go 1-0 up
Motherwell 4-0 up

29-10-2016, 03:22 PM
Could do with Utd drawing today.

29-10-2016, 03:23 PM
Boyle is an absolute machine.

29-10-2016, 03:25 PM

They are the current form team so its important we just keep winning week in week out

29-10-2016, 03:26 PM

Indeed.

5 clear of them as it stands. Though qots would go above them if they win their game in hand.

29-10-2016, 03:27 PM
Boyle is an absolute machine.

Agree. We look so much better with him in the team

29-10-2016, 03:30 PM

I agree but as long as we just keep winning consistently then it wont matter what they do. We don't want to get to the stage where we are relying on other teams doing us favours, lets keep this well in our control.

29-10-2016, 03:32 PM
Penalty.

29-10-2016, 03:32 PM
Penalty. (to hibs)

29-10-2016, 03:33 PM
Saved

Saved

Saved. Boooo

Ict 3-3 hearts.

rotherhamrob
29-10-2016, 03:34 PM
Hopefully that doesn't cost us

Who took the Pen?

MileHighBees
Who took the Pen?

Holt

Holt

Off the bar
Good save or poor pen?

Sjm injured

You need pace to hurt this league of cloggers and that is what Boyle provides :aok:

muzzando
Holt

Ict 3-3 hearts.

****ing boooo!

29-10-2016, 03:35 PM
Bartley on for sjm

Hope it isn't serious

29-10-2016, 03:35 PM
Bartly on for McGinn

29-10-2016, 03:37 PM
Good save or poor pen?

Bit of both.

29-10-2016, 03:40 PM
Hope Mcginn isnt out of next few games as with Dylan and Keatings sodelined already we dont want to have further injuries

29-10-2016, 03:42 PM
Dundee utd 1-0

29-10-2016, 03:44 PM
Dundee utd 1-0

They are getting a bad habit of grinding results out.

29-10-2016, 03:45 PM
I recruited a new skoosher!! 😄 Welcome! Or were you already on team skoosh from the get go?

I was a reluctant skoosher

29-10-2016, 03:46 PM
Night and day from a couple of weeks ago.

29-10-2016, 03:47 PM
They are getting a bad habit of grinding results out.

And without some key players who are out injured Think its now clear they will be our nearest challengers

29-10-2016, 03:47 PM
Missed today due to work. What was the official attendance?

SonOfDavidFrancey
29-10-2016, 03:48 PM
Dundee utd 1-0

Bawz. Was looking like a nice five point gap.

29-10-2016, 03:49 PM

14,400 odd

29-10-2016, 03:51 PM

One less without you :wink:

MileHighBees
29-10-2016, 03:54 PM
FT 2-0
Solid but unspectacular second half
Never really looked in any danger of conceding
Another good win

29-10-2016, 03:56 PM
No Cummings again.

29-10-2016, 03:58 PM
No Cummings again.

...... and with Boyle having a great game, it looks like might he might be left out for a wee spell.

29-10-2016, 04:00 PM
One less without you :wink:

3 if im being pedantic.. my 2 kids missed out as well 🤓

29-10-2016, 04:04 PM
Decent win, should have been more.

Boyle did well, Shinnie too, though both infuriate a little with close control on occasion.

Defence coped with everything adequately.

St.Mirren one of the better footballing sides in that division, and Mallan and Morgan look good players. Probably in false position and won't get relegated.

Officials still terrible - stonewaller penalty denied and a lot of questionable decisions. Fortunately the game was one-sided, but wouldn't trust any of those guys to manage a higher octane occasion.

29-10-2016, 04:07 PM
...... and with Boyle having a great game, it looks like might he might be left out for a wee spell.

He as with every player will have to work hard and earn this place. Nobody has an automatic starting place. Jasons a cocky character so important to keep his feet grounded.

Highland_Hibee
29-10-2016, 04:20 PM
Boyle with a fighting performance. Wouldn't call it a "great performance" but it was the performance of a man desperate to stay in the team and he deserves too. Full of energy. Thought Fyvie wasn't his usual self and Shinnie had a decent but frustrating performance. McGregor and Fontaine defended very well for me.

29-10-2016, 04:25 PM
Not everything clicked all the time. Clangers makes a good save from Fyvie on the end of the best move in the game. Many loose or misplaced passes though. Sqirrel wirth MOM though. Troubled them all day.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

29-10-2016, 04:26 PM
Boyle with a fighting performance. Wouldn't call it a "great performance" but it was the performance of a man desperate to stay in the team and he deserves too. Full of energy. Thought Fyvie wasn't his usual self and Shinnie had a decent but frustrating performance. McGregor and Fontaine defended very well for me.

I thought Fyvie was excellent today. Shinnie started well, seemed to tire a lot during the second half but came back with a second wind. Holt had another good game too and I think we're much better with him in the team. Boyle a thoroughly deserved MOTM for me.

29-10-2016, 04:34 PM
14,400 odd

That's very decent!

29-10-2016, 04:35 PM
We're gonna win the league!

29-10-2016, 04:35 PM
That's very decent!

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6922

29-10-2016, 04:38 PM
Any yams sitting amongst the St Mirren fans today?

29-10-2016, 04:39 PM

http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6922

Does that qualify as an attendance 'slump'?

bookert
29-10-2016, 04:42 PM
I thought Fyvie was excellent today. Shinnie started well, seemed to tire a lot during the second half but came back with a second wind. Holt had another good game too and I think we're much better with him in the team. Boyle a thoroughly deserved MOTM for me.
Fitba eh, I am a Fyvie fan but I thought today he was fair at best, unusually for him missed a few 50/50,

29-10-2016, 04:48 PM
Thought the forward 3 had fantastic games.

Holt has really grown on me, he gets around the pitch so much for a guy with his stature. His positioning and movement is class. You can see he's 100% committed and not just here for a wage.

Boyle gave and gave and gave, amazed he lasted the 90 without falling away- a real testament to his fitness.

Defence was solid, thought Stevenson came into a game towards the end and got involved more goimg forward.

Fyvie had a few moments where he gave the ball away but overall wasn't bad. Mcginn a tad disappointing again. Really didn't get into the game at all. I was wondering if he was carrying an injury. Hope the knock he did pick up wasn't a bad one, maybe rested for a week and then back -hopefuly - to his best.

29-10-2016, 04:53 PM
Im still not entirely sold on Shinnie. Thought Boyle was brilliant and didnt let St Mirren settle for a second.

29-10-2016, 05:09 PM
Solid performance and I would say much better for 90 mins than previous weeks.

Last week it was just 2nd half but this week we seemed pretty solid for most. Gave away a lot of corners though.

They matched our formation playing a 3-5-2 - we could have scored 5 easily but they had a couple chances first half.

Every player was decent - worrying about McGinn and his knee - hopefully nothing serious as he hobbled off.

2 wins in a row - clean sheet and still top of the league! Bring on the next game !

29-10-2016, 05:11 PM
Boyle's most consistent 90 minutes.

Shinnie was knackered with 20 minutes to go but did well to keep going.

McGinn still well short of last season,doesn't seem to trust his instincts and as a result over complicates.

Defence poor at corners,a decent team would have had a couple of goals.

St Mirren moved the ball well but hopeless in the final third.

29-10-2016, 05:15 PM
Did Harris show anything when he came on?

29-10-2016, 05:16 PM
Did Harris show anything when he came on?
Not entirely sure he got a touch.

Sent via the bushes @ EM

29-10-2016, 05:18 PM
Boyle was superb - work rate was top class and a few need to look at him to see what they are missing in their game. Shinnie was decent also.

A very poor game from Gray who did very little going forward and looked a bit lost all day. McGinn and Fyvie also had poor games.

A patchy game but a 2-0 win and thats what counts.

29-10-2016, 05:23 PM
Boyle was superb - work rate was top class and a few need to look at him to see what they are missing in their game. Shinnie was decent also.

A very poor game from Gray who did very little going forward and looked a bit lost all day. McGinn and Fyvie also had poor games.

Agree on Boyle and Gray but I thought Fyvie played well always available and work his socks. I feel Fyvie is just a target for the boo boys.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 05:28 PM

You reckon Gray was poor all day ? what did he do wrong in your eyes ? The game was patchy yes but Gray was hardly poor. How did you rate Hanlon for example ?

Frogga
29-10-2016, 05:32 PM
It's great to see a Hibs team winning while not at their best rather than playing really well and conceding cheap goals. The only frustrating thing for me is that I've always felt watching Lennon's team that we have much more to give but are holding it back somehow. It feels slow and there's not much to get the fans on their feet. Boyle's attitude today was a breath of fresh air as he was making clever runs, working his socks off and playing direct football.

29-10-2016, 05:34 PM
You reckon Gray was poor all day ? what did he do wrong in your eyes ? The game was patchy yes but Gray was hardly poor. How did you rate Hanlon for example ?

Gray did have a bad game, just because he didn't make any glaring mistakes doesn't mean he didn't have a bad one.

For me Gray didn't look himself today, he wasn't getting to balls he normally would etc

Hanlon was great today, nothing got past him

Highland_Hibee
29-10-2016, 05:35 PM

I'm a Fyvie fan but I felt he was a wee bit clumsy in possession today. I agree Holt was good despite the penalty miss. He and Boyle could be a potentially lethal combination which begs the question where does Jason fit in right now!?

bookert
29-10-2016, 05:38 PM
Felt a.bit sorry for gray he had very little support up the right side and Morgan I thought was good for them. Hanlon was good as always but undoubtedly you will have a different opinion.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 05:40 PM
Gray did have a bad game, just because he didn't make any glaring mistakes doesn't mean he didn't have a bad one.

For me Gray didn't look himself today, he wasn't getting to balls he normally would etc

Gray didn't make any glaring mistakes yet had a bad game ? :confused::confused::confused: Words fail me at times. And yet you think Hanlon was great, tell me what you saw that Hanlon did today that made him great.

29-10-2016, 05:40 PM

I thought both Gray and Hanlon were poor today. Hanlon hardly won any balls in air and made a bad mistake early doors that they should have scored with.

29-10-2016, 05:41 PM
I still thought that Fyvie was the best player in the team. A contrasting view from others but there we have it.

29-10-2016, 05:45 PM
Gray didn't make any glaring mistakes yet had a bad game ? :confused::confused::confused: Words fail me at times. And yet you think Hanlon was great, tell me what you saw that Hanlon did today that made him great.

He defended well, his job

ACLeith
29-10-2016, 05:46 PM
I still thought that Fyvie was the best player in the team. A contrasting view from others but there we have it.
I''m a big Fyvie fan but I didn't think he was at his best today, got caught in possession more than usual. Glad to see he seemed to shrug off the knock he took though.

I liked Shinnie for most of the game, sublime pass for the opener.

As you say, opinions eh!

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 05:49 PM
Felt a.bit sorry for gray he had very little support up the right side and Morgan I thought was good for them. Hanlon was good as always but undoubtedly you will have a different opinion.
Gray and Stevenson see ten times more than the ball than Hanlon, if not more and obviously will make more mistakes. Hanlon can go through a game with hardly a touch or a tackle yet is deemed as being great as usual, I'm all for bumming up a Hibs player but some people need to take off the green tinted specs.

If Hanlon was playing at Wembley next month as some are suggesting on here you would see his limitations BIG TIME.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 05:51 PM
He defended well, his job

Gray did his job also. Tell me what was your interpretation of Hanlon's booking.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 05:53 PM
I thought both Gray and Hanlon were poor today. Hanlon hardly won any balls in air and made a bad mistake early doors that they should have scored with.

Hanlon made more than 1 today but try telling that on here and you will be crucified.

29-10-2016, 05:53 PM

Hanlon had almost nothing to do and didn't make any mistakes. Gray was playing as a wide midfielder today in a 5 man midfield. He didn't get forward enough when there was plenty opportunity to do so. Lennon was telling him constantly in the first half. He needs to be attacking the byline but didn't do that once today.

29-10-2016, 05:54 PM
"Clangers" Langfield saved his side from being on the end of an embarrassing scoreline. A combination of that and poor finishing from Hibs.

Opposition goalkeepers seem to frequently perform well for their teams at ER.

29-10-2016, 05:55 PM
"Clangers" Langfield saved his side from being on the end of an embarrassing scoreline. A combination of that and poor finishing from Hibs.

Opposition goalkeepers seem to frequently perform well for their teams at ER.

Agreed, but we played well and it's back to back wins. We roll on. Hibees!

29-10-2016, 05:56 PM
Hanlon made more than 1 today but try telling that on here and you will be crucified.

Did he steal your dinner money at school? You are obsessed with him.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 05:58 PM
Hanlon had almost nothing to do and didn't make any mistakes. Gray was playing as a wide midfielder today in a 5 man midfield. He didn't get forward enough when there was plenty opportunity to do so. Lennon was telling him constantly in the first half. He needs to be attacking the byline but didn't do that once today.

I agree wholeheartedly, Hanlon had virtually nothing to do yet still managed to get booked ? I rest my case.

29-10-2016, 06:00 PM
I agree wholeheartedly, Hanlon had virtually nothing to do yet still managed to get booked ? I rest my case.

You've got issues.

Super_JMcGinn
Did he steal your dinner money at school? You are obsessed with him.

Certainly not but I think you most certainly are, he only has to fart in the right direction during a game and you are touting him for Scotland. As long as we have him in our defence we are vulnerable at corners and set pieces, as has been proven already this season and numerous times in the past.. Wake up.

Gray and Stevenson see ten times more than the ball than Hanlon, if not more and obviously will make more mistakes. Hanlon can go through a game with hardly a touch or a tackle yet is deemed as being great as usual, I'm all for bumming up a Hibs player but some people need to take off the green tinted specs.

If Hanlon was playing at Wembley next month as some are suggesting on here you would see his limitations BIG TIME.

Hanlon can go through a game with hardly a touch or a tackle! You need to take off your blindfold and stop making up ******.

ACLeith
29-10-2016, 06:03 PM

I normally admire folk who stand by their opinions and are prepared to be in a minority of 1 but I make an exception with you!

I would love to sit next to you at a game and whenever he does something good to then get your view on why it was rubbish

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 06:03 PM
Agreed, but we played well and it's back to back wins. We roll on. Hibees!

I said when we appointed Lennon it wouldn't be pretty but he'd get us up, I didn't think it would be as ugly as this though. But you're right a win is a win and let's hope we win more than United over the piece.

29-10-2016, 06:05 PM
Certainly not but I think you most certainly are, he only has to fart in the right direction during a game and you are touting him for Scotland. As long as we have him in our defence we are vulnerable at corners and set pieces, as has been proven already this season and numerous times in the past.. Wake up.

Unless ive missed something was it not you who brought hanlon in to the post? You could have mentioned anyone yet picked hanlon, im not his biggest fan but there was worse players than hanlon today

29-10-2016, 06:07 PM
Solid performance without ever setting the heather on fire today. Boyle did well and deserves to stay in the team next week. His pressing, energy and goal were great today. Thought the CHs did well, Shinnie was good in patches. SJM looks like he needs a rest to me, he just doesn't influence games the way he was last season. As for St M - by God they're brutal and don't half gave some big thugs who like to thunder into a tackle! Good 3 points, revenge against Ayr next week hopefully to keep building the momentum.

Sent from my Nexus 9 using Tapatalk

Super_JMcGinn
Hanlon can go through a game with hardly a touch or a tackle! You need to take off your blindfold and stop making up ******.
In the 352 formation he hardly has a touch or a tackle to make, nothing of note anyway. When you are next watching the cup final keep your eye on Hanlon and see how many touches he has in that game as an example, and that's against Rangers don't forget, not Dumbarton or St Midden.

DM and LF our best defenders today, in fact...get DM in that Scotland team :), Sir David G didn't have much to do which is just as well because lord knows who was supposed to be playing in front of him today, acres of space which we really could have put to good use a bit more, martin boyle well deserved man of the match, fyvie took a sore one but thankfully recovered from it, st.mirren player with his arms clearly around the hibs player in the box(1st half)...referee looking straight at it as well :rolleyes: imo a poor softish penalty from holt, Langfield didn't have to work too hard to save it, i would have liked to have seen JC on for the last 20 mins at least

oh aye and p.s. get that ***** speaker system sorted for the east, mumble mumble, and putting the sound up makes it even worse :grr:

banchoryhibs
29-10-2016, 06:09 PM
I thought Boyle made a big difference up front but equally Fontaine bring much needed composure to the defence. Thoroughly enjoyed the game today
Had a pint afterwards with a mate who is a St.Mirren fan. His view: men against boys. We bullied them start to finish. I'm happy with that.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 06:11 PM
Unless ive missed something was it not you who brought hanlon in to the post? You could have mentioned anyone yet picked hanlon, im not his biggest fan but there was worse players than hanlon today

Only because that particular poster will point out a bad display by a Hibs player practically every week, NEVER does he criticise Hanlon, even when he has a howler. As I said on a previous post, Gray and Stevenson see way more of the ball than Hanlon and as a result will have more errors, it's not rocket science.

29-10-2016, 06:11 PM
In the 352 formation he hardly has a touch or a tackle to make, nothing of note anyway. When you are next watching the cup final keep your eye on Hanlon and see how many touches he has in that game as an example, and that's against Rangers don't forget, not Dumbarton or St Midden.

I won't bother wasting my time as I know you're talking rubbish and sound pretty clueless to be honest.

Super_JMcGinn
29-10-2016, 06:15 PM
I won't bother wasting my time as I know you're talking rubbish and sound pretty clueless to be honest.

You can hurl insults as a reply, but it's not too much of an ask, next time you are watching the cup final watch Hanlon's contribution to that game. Or forever keep your head in the sand.

29-10-2016, 06:17 PM
Only because that particular poster will point out a bad display by a Hibs player practically every week, NEVER does he criticise Hanlon, even when he has a howler. As I said on a previous post, Gray and Stevenson see way more of the ball than Hanlon and as a result will have more errors, it's not rocket science.

Again you could have mentioned any player but mentioned hanlon so you got a reaction from people, everyone knows you dont rate him(again i dont think he is that good) but why continually go on about him

29-10-2016, 06:19 PM

I always knew that out there somewhere there was someone who had even less of a clue about the game than me. I'm glad you blew in here Gail.

29-10-2016, 06:20 PM
You can hurl insults as a reply, but it's not too much of an ask, next time you are watching the cup final watch Hanlon's contribution to that game. Or forever keep your head in the sand.

Talking of sand you must have some in your eyes. Carry on, I actually find you quite amusing.

29-10-2016, 06:23 PM
FT Raith 1 Q.o.s 0

hope Dunfy beat Raith in the fife derby next week, Falkirk @ home to Morton, Q.o.s v Dundee utd

29-10-2016, 06:24 PM
Can't believe some people thought Fyvie was poor today.

He was absolutely superb IMO. I'd love him to add more of an attacking threat to his game, if he did he might start to get the credit he deserves.

Anyone know how long Dylan is out for? Not that I think we missed him, I just think Fyvie is a better player without him and Mcginn struggles a bit without him.

DirtyDeeds
29-10-2016, 06:29 PM

Somebody needs to contact the club and PH, you are undoubtedly going to end up outside Hanlon's front door one day with an axe in hand, ready to end all that is wrong at Hibs. Absolute zoomer.

29-10-2016, 06:34 PM
Opinions everyone has them & where would we be without them:agree:

29-10-2016, 06:36 PM

Can you tell us what your problem is with Paul Hanlon? Your constant negative ramblings about him are tedious at best. You never seem to see any good in him. What's the issue as it's obviously nothing to do with his footballing competencies.

29-10-2016, 06:39 PM
First half fyvie was poor. Second half he was superb. Even took a sore one but carried on. And it looked like a right sore one at that. Was surprised he was able to continue. For me McGinn was poor. Maybe we are spoiled by the way he plays at time we just expect it week in week out but honestly think McGinn maybe needs a rest. Give Scott Martin a pop.

29-10-2016, 06:39 PM
Thought we looked a lot more control in the second half - odd considering we didn't score any more. St Mirren tired though, and didn't look at all threatening in the final 30 minutes. Boyle was still sprinting around like a madman after 85 minutes; a massively impressive display of stamina and he was great for large parts of the game. Comfortable 3 points.

ACLeith
29-10-2016, 06:43 PM
Can you tell us what your problem is with Paul Hanlon? Your constant negative ramblings about him are tedious at best. You never seem to see any good in him. What's the issue as it's obviously nothing to do with his footballing competencies.

From the username I make an Assumption about the user's gender. Maybe knocked back by Paul for the Quali dance and he took her best pal instead. If I've got the gender wrong still maybe knocked back by Paul ....... 😱

ian omand
29-10-2016, 06:55 PM

He was absolutely superb IMO. I'd love him to add more of an attacking threat to his game, if he did he might start to get the credit he deserves.

Anyone know how long Dylan is out for? Not that I think we missed him, I just think Fyvie is a better player without him and Mcginn struggles a bit without him.

Yes I agree Fraser was excellent but I thought at times he could have done with more help.
He seemed to have too much responsibility at times which may have impacted on his ability to get forward.

29-10-2016, 06:58 PM

You really do hate it when he plays well. A totally bizarre obsession.

29-10-2016, 06:59 PM

I'm sure I read on here that Gail was dumped by PH at an early age. Read it on Hibs.net, so must be true.:agree:

Only joking, Gail.

TBH - whilst not as obsessive as Gail, I've always wondered if PH has reached his level as a player who's played for a team that struggled with relegation, then got relegated, then struggles to get promoted. Some on here touting him for Scotland, OMG! However, he played his role in winning the Scottish Cup, not least that last minute equaliser at Tiny. OMG - the joy when that hit the net.

Despite, these reservations, I like PH, really nice guy, good Hibee and I'll always support him. Good player, I think.

29-10-2016, 07:11 PM

You do know stalking can lead to a criminal offense Gail yes?

29-10-2016, 07:23 PM
A good 3 points. St Mirren in the first half were the best side I've seen in the league at ER this season. We took our chances and they didn't. We've seen that the other way many times! We controlled the game second half with McGinn and Fyvie far better. Could have been more.

Top of the league!

29-10-2016, 07:37 PM
Its interesting to see the conflicting points of view of people who have seen the same game.

My contribution to the debate

McGregor & Fontaine were better than Hanlon but he wasn't bad by any manner of means

Gray was poor going forward, I don't think he has touched the last couple of seasons form yet at all this season, but he is a dogged defender and give it his all

I though Stevenson had a good game.

Midfield, I thought Fyvie, whom I like was pretty poor until he got hurt, but he never hides

McGinn like Gray hasn't IMO reached last seasons from yet at all this season

Shinnie is an enigma, touches of real class, finds space well but contrarily often gives the ball away cheaply and ball control is hot and cold

I like Holt, good a bringing others into the game and works his backside off

Delighted for Martin Boyle, I had my doubts whether he could ever be a starter but showed the advantage today of having a bit of pace in the team

Put in a great shift.

Comfortable win against a team of big laddies not afraid to get stuck in or hunt it forward asap

ACLeith
29-10-2016, 07:43 PM
Its interesting to see the conflicting points of view of people who have seen the same game.

My contribution to the debate

McGregor & Fontaine were better than Hanlon but he wasn't bad by any manner of means

Gray was poor going forward, I don't think he has touched the last couple of seasons form yet at all this season, but he is a dogged defender and give it his all

I though Stevenson had a good game.

Midfield, I thought Fyvie, whom I like was pretty poor until he got hurt, but he never hides

McGinn like Gray hasn't IMO reached last seasons from yet at all this season

Shinnie is an enigma, touches of real class, finds space well but contrarily often gives the ball away cheaply and ball control is hot and cold

I like Holt, good a bringing others into the game and works his backside off

Delighted for Martin Boyle, I had my doubts whether he could ever be a starter but showed the advantage today of having a bit of pace in the team

Put in a great shift.

Comfortable win against a team of big laddies not afraid to get stuck in or hunt it forward asap
WOW! It is about opinions but I agree with everything you say. I thought Saints came to play proper football and succeeded for long spells. Played 2 up front all game and were a lot better than DU. With their new manager they'll pull away from relegation threat.

HFCdeb
29-10-2016, 07:59 PM
Somebody needs to contact the club and PH, you are undoubtedly going to end up outside Hanlon's front door one day with an axe in hand, ready to end all that is wrong at Hibs. Absolute zoomer.

I get this impression, too. Disturbing.

29-10-2016, 08:01 PM

This paragraph tells me one thing regardless of how well Paul Hanlon plays you will always see fault.

Your comment about the cup final also tells me another thing.... you are attention seeking and trolling plain and simple.

If it wasn't for Paul Hanlon we wouldn't have won the Cup. He played his part in a TEAM that glorious day that won the Scottish Cup Final yet you still look to comment.

I personally think you should have a serious look at yourself regarding this Paul Hanlon witch hunt. For me the best signing of the club could have made.

Yes you have your opinion but as I have mentioned your comment about him in the cup final tells me your are not a true supporter of the club or the team.

This is my opinion of the above paragraph.

All legends, all played their parts to bring the Scottish Cup back to ER!

29-10-2016, 08:48 PM
This paragraph tells me one thing regardless of how well Paul Hanlon plays you will always see fault.

Your comment about the cup final also tells me another thing.... you are attention seeking and trolling plain and simple.

If it wasn't for Paul Hanlon we wouldn't have won the Cup. He played his part in a TEAM that glorious day that won the Scottish Cup Final yet you still look to comment.

I personally think you should have a serious look at yourself regarding this Paul Hanlon witch hunt. For me the best signing of the club could have made.

Yes you have your opinion but as I have mentioned your comment about him in the cup final tells me your are not a true supporter of the club or the team.

This is my opinion of the above paragraph.

All legends, all played their parts to bring the Scottish Cup back to ER!

You have hit the nail on the head with your Witch Hunt comment Aldo Especially at Halloween
Gail should watch Hanlons celebration after he equslised against Hearts at Tynecastle He knew exactly what that meant to the Club being a Hibbie

29-10-2016, 08:52 PM
You have hit the nail on the head with your Witch Hunt comment Aldo Especially at Halloween
Gail should watch Hanlons celebration after he equslised against Hearts at Tynecastle He knew exactly what that meant to the Club being a Hibbie

Indeed Ronnie. Spot on.

TBH Gail will probably say his celebration was poor because it was Paul Hanlon!

30-10-2016, 09:41 AM

:agree: Fyvie runs the show at times and doesn't get enough credit imo.