View Full Version : Cheltenham 2017

25-10-2016, 02:45 PM
With the jumps season just about to come alive I thought it about time to start the annual Cheltenham build up thread.

Just watched Thistlecrack make a very decent start over fences winning easily on the bridle at Chepstow. Third Intention won the Old Roan on Saturday past whilst Sire De Grugy flopped in the same race. Cue Card and Coneygree could both be seen in the Charlie Hall on Saturday coming.

25-10-2016, 03:36 PM
Thistlecrack is very exciting, what a machine!

25-10-2016, 07:16 PM
With the jumps season just about to come alive I thought it about time to start the annual Cheltenham build up thread.

Just watched Thistlecrack make a very decent start over fences winning easily on the bridle at Chepstow. Third Intention won the Old Roan on Saturday past whilst Sire De Grugy flopped in the same race. Cue Card and Coneygree could both be seen in the Charlie Hall on Saturday coming.
It might be my memory playing tricks on me, but I can't remember many staying hurdle winners going on to be top notch chasers.

25-10-2016, 07:44 PM
It might be my memory playing tricks on me, but I can't remember many staying hurdle winners going on to be top notch chasers.

I can't think of many of the top of my head, be interesting to see how Thistlecrack does, certainly looked the part today but the novice chase at Cheltenham in a couple of weeks and then the Kauto Star on Boxing Day will likely be far more informative.

25-10-2016, 08:29 PM
Excited for the jumps season. The Gigginstown fallout with Mullins automatically ramps up the interest in the Irish graded races.

29-10-2016, 02:29 PM
Surprising defeat for Cue Card, pushed back into 3rd by Irish Cavalier and Menorah.

06-11-2016, 04:28 PM
Sad news breaking from the Mullins yard that Vautour has had to be euthanised after breaking a leg in a 'freak accident'.

Big loss of a real superstar of jumps racing.

06-11-2016, 05:17 PM
Gutted about that. Ryanair was a real crack performance.

HibernianJK
07-11-2016, 11:37 AM
Horrible news about Vautour he really was one of the best out there.

Was looking forward to him tackling the 3m division all the way to Cheltenham this season.

Long way off but the Gold Cup looks wide open.

Coneygree, Don Cossack (hopefully), Cue Card, Thistlecrack and hopefully a young horse or 2 to shake them up.

07-11-2016, 04:15 PM
Valseur Lido was impressive at Down Royal on Saturday.

07-11-2016, 06:11 PM
Valseur Lido was impressive at Down Royal on Saturday.

He was that. Thought Silviniavo Conti showed plenty in defeat as well and he's one who has traditionally needed his 1st run out. Campaigned well he could still win a few decent races imo.

07-11-2016, 07:10 PM
Aye, he jumped really well but, was no match for the winner.

12-11-2016, 12:47 PM
Thistlecrack wins by 3 3/4 lengths at 1/7, never saw the race so, nae idea what type of performance it was.

12-11-2016, 01:06 PM
Thistlecrack wins by 3 3/4 lengths at 1/7, never saw the race so, nae idea what type of performance it was.

Won easy and was eased right down on the run in. Left a good novice chaser in Mariniero well behind.

In saying that there were a few jumping mistakes and he made quite a bad one at the 5th or 6th. Think Tizzard said afterwards he will likely run in the Kauto Star at Kempton on Boxing Day.

12-11-2016, 01:10 PM
Felt a bit sorry for Minella Rocco in the last race, if it hadn't been hampered during the carnage with the loose horse I think it would probably have won.

13-11-2016, 11:43 AM
Nicky Henderson just announced that Sprinter Sacre has been retired.

Wonderful horse and hopefully he has a good retirement. Selfishly a bit gutted as I'm down at Cheltenham on the Wednesday next year and had hoped to see him in action.

HibernianJK
13-11-2016, 08:15 PM
Sad news about SS but even worse news that Simonsig had to be put down after falling today. Brilliant novice with bad injury problems.

13-11-2016, 08:26 PM
Sad news about SS but even worse news that Simonsig had to be put down after falling today. Brilliant novice with bad injury problems.

My mate was down and said it was nasty. Simonsig fell, got up, stumbled on for about 100 yards then collapsed right in front of the stands. I was watching on TV and Simon Holts voice on the commentary said it all, you knew it was bad.

Days like today and the situation with Freddie Tylicki remind you just what a tough sport it can be at times.

16-11-2016, 06:28 PM
Anyone got any thoughts on the Betfair Chase on Saturday?

I'm quite tempted by Seeyouatmidnight at somewhere between 7s and 9s. I think Coneygree will need the run, Cue Card may be caught out if he tries to go with Coneygree from the front, Silviniaco Conti isn't the horse he was and I'm not convinced Irish Cavalier wasn't flattered last time out.

The Jockey Club have announced they have commisioned a trophy to go along with the £1M bonus for winning the 'triple crown', named after Kauto Star as the only horse to do it. Tbh looking at the crop of 3 mile chases this year I'd be suprised if it was won.

19-11-2016, 04:06 AM
Anyone got any thoughts on the Betfair Chase on Saturday?

I'm quite tempted by Seeyouatmidnight at somewhere between 7s and 9s. I think Coneygree will need the run, Cue Card may be caught out if he tries to go with Coneygree from the front, Silviniaco Conti isn't the horse he was and I'm not convinced Irish Cavalier wasn't flattered last time out.

The Jockey Club have announced they have commisioned a trophy to go along with the £1M bonus for winning the 'triple crown', named after Kauto Star as the only horse to do it. Tbh looking at the crop of 3 mile chases this year I'd be suprised if it was won.

Corker of a race. John Hunt on Twitter fearful a bit of the weather, could be a real slog.
Not sure Seeyouatmidnight has the class but may not come down to that. Small interest on Coneygree.

HibernianJK
19-11-2016, 09:22 PM
Cue Card different league today. Coneygree probably needed that but doesn't take anything away from the winner. Would love to see Don Cossack and CC meet at Cheltenham again.

20-11-2016, 08:15 AM
Cue Card different league today. Coneygree probably needed that but doesn't take anything away from the winner. Would love to see Don Cossack and CC meet at Cheltenham again.

Just watched the race this morning.

Cue Card looks as good as last year, Coneygree ran a stormer in 2nd and was always going to struggle to win it from the front so lacking in race fitness, Silviniaco Conti is in permanent decline and both Irish Cavalier and Seeyouatmidnight aren't grade 1 horses.

King George should be a cracker.

26-11-2016, 07:46 PM
Thistlecrack more assured today than his last outing. Straightforward too.

03-12-2016, 01:50 PM
Possibly not totally relevant to Cheltenham but Many Clouds just put in a very good round of jumping to win well at Aintree. Nasty looking fall for Minella Rocco in the same race, didn't look good.

03-12-2016, 02:05 PM
Un De Sceaux just pips Sire De Grugy in the Tingle Creek. Race of the season so far imo with God's Own running on well in 3rd as well.

cammy1969
03-12-2016, 02:14 PM
At mad ran on well after his blunders cost him race

cammy1969
03-12-2016, 02:15 PM
Ar mad

03-12-2016, 06:46 PM
After today the form of O O Seven looks rock solid. 16s generally available for JLT. Worth taking a chance that could be his target.

04-12-2016, 01:17 PM
At mad ran on well after his blunders cost him race

Plan seems to be to run him in the King George. Be interesting to see him stepped up in trip as he fairly flew up the hill.

HibernianJK
06-12-2016, 05:08 PM
Un De Sceaux just pips Sire De Grugy in the Tingle Creek. Race of the season so far imo with God's Own running on well in 3rd as well.

I've lost a fair bit of money on God's Own this season. Seems to be nearly winning all the time. Always finishes strongly whether over 2m or 2m4. Very frustrating

16-12-2016, 09:58 AM
http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?317001-Cheltenham-Festival-Tickets&p=4880076#post4880076

I'm selling tickets for the 1st 2 days of next years festival at a reduced price due to a change in plans if anyone is interested.

18-12-2016, 11:31 AM
Coneygree out of King George

19-12-2016, 10:54 AM
Big ups to the Tizzards letting Thistlecrack take on Cue Card.

19-12-2016, 11:56 AM

Was sure he'd go in the Kauto Novices.

Suppose Coneygree being out does open it up a bit and they may fancy they'll run into at least a place.

HibernianJK
19-12-2016, 04:36 PM

Not sure how much of a say Tizzard had in it. Seems like the owner's made up his mind. I have a feeling he would have rather gone for the Novice race.

19-12-2016, 05:44 PM
Not sure how much of a say Tizzard had in it. Seems like the owner's made up his mind. I have a feeling he would have rather gone for the Novice race.

Owners decision yes but Tizzard gave "full backing" don't think they would have went otherwise even though they were keen on the big one.

19-12-2016, 08:04 PM
Owners decision yes but Tizzard gave "full backing" don't think they would have went otherwise even though they were keen on the big one.

I always respect owners and trainers trying their luck in the bigger races. Thistlecrack would have walked the Kauto Star but they are really testing him.

The Bradstocks done it with Coneygree in the Gold Cup whe he was entered in the Ryanair and RSA and got the reward.

HibernianJK
19-12-2016, 09:20 PM

Don't think he could say much else to be honest but besides the point he's in there now.

Shaping up to be a great race now!

19-12-2016, 10:01 PM
You should always go with the proven form rather than potential but, I'm loath to back against Thistlecrack.

20-12-2016, 11:45 AM
7 confirmations for the King George

Cue Card
Thistlecrack
Road to Riches
Silviniaco Conti
Roi de Francs
Tea fur Two
Josses Hill

HibernianJK
20-12-2016, 02:06 PM
7 confirmations for the King George

Cue Card
Thistlecrack
Road to Riches
Silviniaco Conti
Roi de Francs
Tea fur Two
Josses Hill

Disappointed in only 7 declarations. 2nd most prestigious race in GB+I and a bit of a kick in the teeth for EW punters.

21-12-2016, 08:16 PM
Disappointed in only 7 declarations. 2nd most prestigious race in GB+I and a bit of a kick in the teeth for EW punters.

I have TC at 8/1 for the GC but given this is his biggest test to date in this sphere and CC loves the odd mistake, I wouldn't let 7 runners put you off having an EW bet. Do the homework right and there's potential for massive value elsewhere.. just don't ask me to name it!

21-12-2016, 09:06 PM
Seems to be a suggestion that Altior is going to step up from the novices and run in the Desert Orchid at Kempton.

HibernianJK
22-12-2016, 10:20 PM
Seems to be a suggestion that Altior is going to step up from the novices and run in the Desert Orchid at Kempton.

Would love to see that would be a great race against Sire De Grugy and Special Tiara. Would always go a decent clip with ST in the race would really put Altior's novice jumping to the test.

23-12-2016, 09:23 AM
King George field is now only 5.

Thistlecrack
Cue Card
Silviniaco Conti
Josses Hill
Tea for Two

23-12-2016, 11:16 AM
King George field is now only 5.

Thistlecrack
Cue Card
Silviniaco Conti
Josses Hill
Tea for Two

Should still be a decent race, although the Tizzard horses seem to have scared off the opposition, without thinking about it too much I cannae think of a smaller KG field in recent years.

23-12-2016, 06:35 PM
Without checking the exchanges seems to be 6-5 TC & 5/4 CC at the moment.

26-12-2016, 02:21 PM
What a horse Thistlecrack is.

Barely even came off the bridle. A star chaser already and suddenly that price for the GC looks generous.

27-12-2016, 01:29 PM
As I said at the start of the thread what a machine. Ended up not having a bet in the race but, it was a joy to watch.

27-12-2016, 02:00 PM
A cracking top weight carrying performance from Native River to win The Welsh National, what a season Tizzard is having.

27-12-2016, 02:04 PM
A cracking top weight carrying performance from Native River to win The Welsh National, what a season Tizzard is having.

Still only a youngster as well. Few big handicap wins in him yet. Jumps well enough to go to Aintree imo.

Altior was impressive earlier as well albeit he didn't beat a lot. Few big wins for the Mullins team as well, Cheltenham shaping up nicely.

28-12-2016, 02:09 PM
Still only a youngster as well. Few big handicap wins in him yet. Jumps well enough to go to Aintree imo.

Altior was impressive earlier as well albeit he didn't beat a lot. Few big wins for the Mullins team as well, Cheltenham shaping up nicely.

I get a feeling that he's going to get caught between a rock and a hard place regarding his rating. Too high for the big handicaps and not quite good enough for the top grade 1s. Should mop up the weaker races though.

HibernianJK
28-12-2016, 04:21 PM
I get a feeling that he's going to get caught between a rock and a hard place regarding his rating. Too high for the big handicaps and not quite good enough for the top grade 1s. Should mop up the weaker races though.

Below Thistlecrack I think Native River is bang in the mix for the top 3m+ chaser around. Will most definitely have a say in the Gold Cup and was my early tip for the National after staying on 2nd in the 4 miler at Cheltenham

31-12-2016, 08:55 AM
Anyone else heading to Musselburgh tomorrow? Some good horses making the trip which is good. Prize money of £30000 and £40000 on offer for a couple of races will do that.

31-12-2016, 09:32 AM
Below Thistlecrack I think Native River is bang in the mix for the top 3m+ chaser around. Will most definitely have a say in the Gold Cup and was my early tip for the National after staying on 2nd in the 4 miler at Cheltenham

Got to agree with the previous poster, whilst Native River is undoubtedly talented, theres a huge difference between winning a National of any variety and winning the big one at The Festival.

HibernianJK
31-12-2016, 05:02 PM
Got to agree with the previous poster, whilst Native River is undoubtedly talented, theres a huge difference between winning a National of any variety and winning the big one at The Festival.

I agree. By 'have a say' I was more trying to get at 'definitely be in the mix for places' maybe I used the wrong wording but I can't look past Thistecrack and MAYBE Don Cossack. Below them there is then Native River, Don Poli (great run in Lexus), Djakadam, Coneygree. I don't think Outlander will prove to be that good at Cheltenham even though he wont the Lexus

SmithyHibee
31-12-2016, 09:47 PM
Anyone else heading to Musselburgh tomorrow? Some good horses making the trip which is good. Prize money of £30000 and £40000 on offer for a couple of races will do that.

Aye I'll be heading down tomorrow, not backed anything for a good while so looking forward to a decent days racing!

02-01-2017, 10:18 AM
Aye I'll be heading down tomorrow, not backed anything for a good while so looking forward to a decent days racing!

Good day and Superb Story ground it out well for a big win for me. Also had Clondaw Kaempfer. Was on Castafiore in the 1st who was going to have a say until he fell.

Bit of a downer seeing the injury to Vinny Gambini, that really wasn't nice and was made worse by a group of 'lads' next to us jeering and laughing about it. Thankfully most people were a bit more respectful.

02-01-2017, 10:25 AM
Good day and Superb Story ground it out well for a big win for me. Also had Clondaw Kaempfer. Was on Castafiore in the 1st who was going to have a say until he fell.

Bit of a downer seeing the injury to Vinny Gambini, that really wasn't nice and was made worse by a group of 'lads' next to us jeering and laughing about it. Thankfully most people were a bit more respectful.

On a separate point, the coverage on ITV was extremely enjoyable to watch and a breath of fresh air to the somewhat staid C4 efforts.

Promising début. Looks a proven stayer.

02-01-2017, 10:34 AM
On a separate point, the coverage on ITV was extremely enjoyable to watch and a breath of fresh air to the somewhat staid C4 efforts.

Promising début. Looks a proven stayer.

I watched a bit of it back later and thought it was a decent start. I think a lot of it was aimed at non racing fans with some pretty simple terms explained ('the mare there - that's a female horse') probably the best example. In saying that racing desperately needs a new TV audience so if that helps bring it in then so be it.

I didn find the segment with Victoria Pendleton explaining to Mick Fitzgerald how to jump a hurdle mildly amusing.

02-01-2017, 11:32 AM
I didn find the segment with Victoria Pendleton explaining to Mick Fitzgerald how to jump a hurdle mildly amusing.

If Mick could explain to us how to go about jumping Victoria that would be even better, the show would probably have to start later though! :-)

05-01-2017, 11:50 AM
Oliver Sherwood suggesting Many Cloud might run in the Gold Cup.

Could throw a spanner in the works as he's a proven stayer who won't let anyone have a soft lead if he sets out to make it a stamina test.

05-01-2017, 01:02 PM
Apart from 1 notable mistake at Cheltenham in November, Thistlecrack is, in my opinion, virtually unbeatable. He's such a professional horse who jumps well, has speed, stays really well, and has good form at Cheltenham. Maybe the best indication of his ability is how he disposed of Cue Card in the King George. The year before Vautour had looked as if he was going to cruise to victory but Cue Card caught him. There was never any chance of that in the 2016 renewal, and they haven't got to the bottom of Thistlecrack, not by a long way.

As a decent each way bet I'd think about Alpha Des Obeaux in the RSA. His form last year would put him right up there, but we'll see.

05-01-2017, 09:43 PM
I've just had my 2nd early Cheltenham bet.

Finians Oscar in the Supreme Novices at 16/1 NRNB with Skybet. Won well at Hereford the other week and if he runs well in the Tolworth (currently 5/2 2nd favourite) on Saturday then that price will go.

HibernianJK
06-01-2017, 03:38 PM
Apart from 1 notable mistake at Cheltenham in November, Thistlecrack is, in my opinion, virtually unbeatable. He's such a professional horse who jumps well, has speed, stays really well, and has good form at Cheltenham. Maybe the best indication of his ability is how he disposed of Cue Card in the King George. The year before Vautour had looked as if he was going to cruise to victory but Cue Card caught him. There was never any chance of that in the 2016 renewal, and they haven't got to the bottom of Thistlecrack, not by a long way.

As a decent each way bet I'd think about Alpha Des Obeaux in the RSA. His form last year would put him right up there, but we'll see.

I fancied ADO as well but a poor run in the Drinmore in Ireland then a howler in the 3m novice over Xmas has put me right off him. That divison is wide open IMO.

I like Might Bite, who completed strolled the Kauto Star at Kempton before an unfortunate fall at the last. Think he's one to keep onside.

07-01-2017, 04:14 PM
I've just had my 2nd early Cheltenham bet.

Finians Oscar in the Supreme Novices at 16/1 NRNB with Skybet. Won well at Hereford the other week and if he runs well in the Tolworth (currently 5/2 2nd favourite) on Saturday then that price will go.

Backed all day for the Tolworth, went off favourite and won easy. The Tizzards have made no secret that they are excited by this horse. Cut to 6/1 in places for the Supreme although up to 12s still available. 6/1 favourite across the board for the Neptune which I'm also on NRNB at 10s. All depends what route he goes now.

07-01-2017, 06:41 PM
Who's going down this year. I'm heading down for the Thursday and Friday as usual. There's a hibs pub in Cheltenham as well. It would be great if we had a game on at the time.

07-01-2017, 07:50 PM
Who's going down this year. I'm heading down for the Thursday and Friday as usual. There's a hibs pub in Cheltenham as well. It would be great if we had a game on at the time.

I had tickets for Tuesday and Wednesday but a change in circumstances means I can no longer go. Pretty gutted. Still got the week booked off work to watch on the box though.

Heading to Musselburgh in a few weeks for the Scottish Trials. Good to see 2 consecutive days this year and the 'Edinburgh National' over a 4 mile trip is a good addition.

07-01-2017, 09:02 PM
I had tickets for Tuesday and Wednesday but a change in circumstances means I can no longer go. Pretty gutted. Still got the week booked off work to watch on the box though.

Heading to Musselburgh in a few weeks for the Scottish Trials. Good to see 2 consecutive days this year and the 'Edinburgh National' over a 4 mile trip is a good addition.

Musselburgh has made great strides in the last 10 years. I remember going there years ago and it was an absolute tip.

HibernianJK
07-01-2017, 10:41 PM
Musselburgh has made great strides in the last 10 years. I remember going there years ago and it was an absolute tip.

I live just across the road and there's always a buzz about the place when there's racing on. Lovely little track.

08-01-2017, 01:54 PM
I see the much hyped American Tom for Ricci/Mullins/Walsh flopped today at Naas. 8/15 favourite and was last of 4 runners by a distance and being hard ridden when he fell badly 4 out.

On the flip side Death Duty done the business well for Elliot/Gigginstown. Likely to go for the Albert Bartlett according to Elliot.

HibernianJK
08-01-2017, 05:07 PM
I see the much hyped American Tom for Ricci/Mullins/Walsh flopped today at Naas. 8/15 favourite and was last of 4 runners by a distance and being hard ridden when he fell badly 4 out.

On the flip side Death Duty done the business well for Elliot/Gigginstown. Likely to go for the Albert Bartlett according to Elliot.

Poor performance although Ricci did say he was a 2m4f horse. Maybe have been outpaced early over 2m. Still, no positives to take from that.

09-01-2017, 12:26 PM
Coneygree out of the Gold Cup.

HibernianJK
09-01-2017, 03:35 PM
Can't help but feel the Bradstock's are chasing a bit of a lost cause with Coneygree.

I don't think he will ever return to the heights he hit and it looks like they are really struggling with him.

He's had his day in the sun and wouldn't mind seeing him retired.

09-01-2017, 03:57 PM
Can't help but feel the Bradstock's are chasing a bit of a lost cause with Coneygree.

I don't think he will ever return to the heights he hit and it looks like they are really struggling with him.

He's had his day in the sun and wouldn't mind seeing him retired.

Legs are very fragile.

I'd hate to see another Simonsig situation where a good horse comes to a sad end trying to recapture old form. I agree if he isn't right then he should be retired.

09-01-2017, 07:12 PM

I am a big fan of Gordon but have to say wasn't overly impressed with Death Duty. Augusta Kate looked just as likely the winner when falling at the last.

American Tom was never travelling and the fall was horrendous - relieved both horse and jockey were unscathed. I see it was discovered after that the horse had a lung infection so can put a line through that race.

09-01-2017, 08:53 PM
Oliver Sherwood suggesting Many Cloud might run in the Gold Cup.

Could throw a spanner in the works as he's a proven stayer who won't let anyone have a soft lead if he sets out to make it a stamina test.
He's already run in it and finished 6th to Coneygree (who's not running in it this year either due to a small injury). There's other front runners in the race, so there could be quite a lot of throatcutting. Trying to find value in the race is tricky. If Djackadam stays at roundabout the 14/1 mark he's a good bet in my opinion, on his Cheltenham form anyway.

10-01-2017, 07:56 AM
He's already run in it and finished 6th to Coneygree (who's not running in it this year either due to a small injury). There's other front runners in the race, so there could be quite a lot of throatcutting. Trying to find value in the race is tricky. If Djackadam stays at roundabout the 14/1 mark he's a good bet in my opinion, on his Cheltenham form anyway.

Yep, remember the race well because I had a wedge on Coneygree at 8/1.

I'm not for a second suggesting Many Clouds will win the Gold Cup, Aintree is his target and Cheltenham will be to get another run under his belt. The addition of a proven stayer over the marathon trips always adds a nice dynamic though, especially if others try to take them on for the lead. Adding Native River into the mix suggests a strong gallop is on the cards. A couple of examples in recent years is when Lord Windemere won the race. Teaforthree was in the field and went off quickly and most of the field fought for position. Davy Russell dropped right out the back and niggled LW to keep him in touch, as mistakes started to happen he powered through the field and won well in the end. Synchronised was another, he was off the bridle from miles out and McCoy produced a masterclass to keep him going, all he did was stay on and he passed the whole field up the hill.

I wouldn't take anything away from Thistlecracks form. However he did get the run off the race in a small field on his ground at Kempton. Cue Card also ran about 6lbs below his rating. It's also worth remembering that the Cheltenham chase course is a different beast to the hurdles course he knows well. The layout of the hurdles course rewards a high cruising speed as large sections are run on the 'flat'. The chase course, whilst still rewarding speed, is one of the ultimate jumping tests. Timeform ranked all NH chase courses in terms of jumping difficulty and Cheltenham ranked 5th behind Aintree National, Aintree Mildmay, Fakenham and Musselburgh.

I'm confident Thistlecrack will win and backed him a long while back at 6s so I won't be looking for anything else in te race. I just think he will get a far sterner test than at Kempton. There's a lot of different factors to take into account and I think it will be a better and closer race.

10-01-2017, 03:30 PM
Yep, remember the race well because I had a wedge on Coneygree at 8/1.

I'm not for a second suggesting Many Clouds will win the Gold Cup, Aintree is his target and Cheltenham will be to get another run under his belt. The addition of a proven stayer over the marathon trips always adds a nice dynamic though, especially if others try to take them on for the lead. Adding Native River into the mix suggests a strong gallop is on the cards. A couple of examples in recent years is when Lord Windemere won the race. Teaforthree was in the field and went off quickly and most of the field fought for position. Davy Russell dropped right out the back and niggled LW to keep him in touch, as mistakes started to happen he powered through the field and won well in the end. Synchronised was another, he was off the bridle from miles out and McCoy produced a masterclass to keep him going, all he did was stay on and he passed the whole field up the hill.

I wouldn't take anything away from Thistlecracks form. However he did get the run off the race in a small field on his ground at Kempton. Cue Card also ran about 6lbs below his rating. It's also worth remembering that the Cheltenham chase course is a different beast to the hurdles course he knows well. The layout of the hurdles course rewards a high cruising speed as large sections are run on the 'flat'. The chase course, whilst still rewarding speed, is one of the ultimate jumping tests. Timeform ranked all NH chase courses in terms of jumping difficulty and Cheltenham ranked 5th behind Aintree National, Aintree Mildmay, Fakenham and Musselburgh.

I'm confident Thistlecrack will win and backed him a long while back at 6s so I won't be looking for anything else in te race. I just think he will get a far sterner test than at Kempton. There's a lot of different factors to take into account and I think it will be a better and closer race.
You're quite right to point out the differences between the hurdles and chase courses, but like you it's difficult to see past Thistlecrack, particularly if he's not odds on. The Lord Windermere race was a bit strange. It really turned into two races after the last, with Silvianaco Conte racing against Bob's Worth on the far side and LW, On His Own and The Giant Bolster on the near side. One of the closest finishes I've ever seen in the Gold Cup. The unlucky one was probably On his Own who was always up there helping to force the pace and was bumped by the 1st and 3rd on the run-in. It's fascinating what you were saying about Timeform's view on chase courses. Fakenham, for example, is a very 'idiosyncratic' unusual course, and often the only horses that win there are horses that often don't run or win anywhere else, kind of like Brighton (a switchback track) on the flat. I'd put Wincanton, Fontwell, Uttoxeter and Kelso up there as more demanding chase courses than either the Mildmay or Musselburgh, but it's down to opinions of course, and I've disagreed with Timeform horse ratings before, so disagreeing with them about this is hardly a surprise.

I'm also going to be a bit controversial as regards Native River. Great weight-carrying performance in the Welsh National, but I'm struggling to see how he has any form that comes close to Djackadam, Don Cossack, Don Poli or Cue Card, nevermind Thistlecrack. I totally take your point that his best chance probably lies with him trying to force the pace, but again I would say that there's quite a few who like to do that, and I'm not sure he would have the pace to stay with them up the home straight. Now that I've said that he'll probably win by 12 lengths. Tactics, of course will play a huge part. In the Coneygree race, Many Clouds and Smad Place, both horses that like to force the pace, were held up. If I had £100 to spend on the race I'd stick £50 on Thistlecrack on the nose and probably Djackadam or Don Poli e/w, but it certainly won't the first time I've been wrong lol

10-01-2017, 04:40 PM
As an aside I see Kempton is potentially to be closed and houses built there.

King George to be moved to Sandown and a new AW circuit built at Newmarket.

10-01-2017, 09:25 PM
As an aside I see Kempton is potentially to be closed and houses built there.

King George to be moved to Sandown and a new AW circuit built at Newmarket.
I can't see how the JC think that's going to make more money for them than Kempton racetrack and their all-weather. It's just a possibility at the moment as you say, but I'm struggling to see the financial sense in it, other than to suit the big stables at newmarket.

11-01-2017, 10:00 AM
Don Cossack retired.

11-01-2017, 10:20 AM
Don Cossack retired.

Nightmare, was looking forward to see a head to head with thistlecrack!!

Great horse who did me a few favours, apart from falling in the KG 2015, he was my fourth of a lucky 15 with a tenner accy........Was worth 3k

11-01-2017, 12:18 PM
Nightmare, was looking forward to see a head to head with thistlecrack!!

Great horse who did me a few favours, apart from falling in the KG 2015, he was my fourth of a lucky 15 with a tenner accy........Was worth 3k

Always like Don Cossack. Looked like a proper old fashioned chaser as opposed to the sleeker French breds that seem to be in fashion at the moment.

Won me a few quid over the years including in a reverse forecast with Djakadam in last years Gold Cup.

11-01-2017, 05:36 PM
It's a shame about Don Cossack, he was a very good and generally very reliable horse (apart from the 2015 King George). Did me a few turns at good prices too before he won the Gold Cup.

11-01-2017, 07:10 PM
Its a great shame re Kempton, The KG just won't be the same at Sandown. Had a few brilliant Boxing Days on the back of a good win on The KG and one particularly painful one when Barton Bank came down at the last when miles clear.

12-01-2017, 03:03 PM
Nothing massively exciting but thought I'd post anyway. I'm a member of a Facebook group that includes a few owners, trainers, grooms etc and there was bit chat about each way bets in the Gold Cup. Many Clouds was mentioned and someone suggested he won't run and Oliver Sherwood replied with the following:

He might....Clouds will either run in the Cotswold Chase at Cheltenham, two weeks Saturday or the Betfair Chase at Newbury two weeks after that, where he goes will be ground dependent. I don't want to run him on heavy ground. After that, and depending how he runs, he will either run in the Gold Cup or in the race at Kelso he won last year. If the Gold Cup continues to cut up and the ground was good or good to soft he might run. I have total respect for Thistlecrack and at this stage he does look the most likely winner but you can't be afraid of one horse...anything can happen. The Grand national is still Clouds number one target.

HibernianJK
12-01-2017, 03:52 PM
Cue Card and Djakadam both entered in the Ryanair at Cheltenham.

For Cue Card Tizzard probably doesn't want to run him against Thistlecrack however I have a feeling although he's won it before, that there may be a few speedier, younger horses who could get the better of him. He is 11 now and the Ryanair is normally a quickly run race and I think he could get outpaced. I would still go Gold Cup with him.

I wouldn't understand Djakadam going for the Ryanair as I feel 3m+ is his trip. I would hate for the GC to cut up into a 6/7 runner affair and it should be the aim for all 3m steeple chasers whether there is a horse like Thistlecrack or not.

Personally wouldn't touch TC at 10/11 as I think there's still questions to ask. Cheltenham is a stiffer jumping test than Kempton and the extra 2 1/2 furlongs up the hill has claimed many a good horse.

12-01-2017, 04:22 PM
Cue Card and Djakadam both entered in the Ryanair at Cheltenham.

For Cue Card Tizzard probably doesn't want to run him against Thistlecrack however I have a feeling although he's won it before, that there may be a few speedier, younger horses who could get the better of him. He is 11 now and the Ryanair is normally a quickly run race and I think he could get outpaced. I would still go Gold Cup with him.

I wouldn't understand Djakadam going for the Ryanair as I feel 3m+ is his trip. I would hate for the GC to cut up into a 6/7 runner affair and it should be the aim for all 3m steeple chasers whether there is a horse like Thistlecrack or not.

Personally wouldn't touch TC at 10/11 as I think there's still questions to ask. Cheltenham is a stiffer jumping test than Kempton and the extra 2 1/2 furlongs up the hill has claimed many a good horse.

I just don't think there's all that many real top class 3 mile chasers at the moment.

It's easy to be negative as we have ovviously seen a real golden era of staying chasers but how many of the Gold Cup field would beat the likes of Kicking King, Kauto Star, Best Mate, Denman, Imperial Commander, Long Run.... even regular bridesmaids like Neptune Collognes, Exotic Dancer and Harbour Pilot?

Thistlecrack? Cue Card on his day? Not many of the rest imo.

HibernianJK
12-01-2017, 04:59 PM
I just don't think there's all that many real top class 3 mile chasers at the moment.

It's easy to be negative as we have ovviously seen a real golden era of staying chasers but how many of the Gold Cup field would beat the likes of Kicking King, Kauto Star, Best Mate, Denman, Imperial Commander, Long Run.... even regular bridesmaids like Neptune Collognes, Exotic Dancer and Harbour Pilot?

Thistlecrack? Cue Card on his day? Not many of the rest imo.

You're right that this does seem to be a low point in the standard of 3m chasing. However I think that should also encourage a lot of trainers/owners to take a punt at the GC. I said I wouldn't back TC but he is obviously the most likely winner.

Behind him there's not much by way of class. You've got the proven stayers of Native River, Many Clouds, Djakadam and Don Poli. Middling horses that could perhaps run into a place is everything goes right like Smad Place, Outlander, Valsuer Lido etc. But no real class horses behind TC.

12-01-2017, 06:56 PM
I'll be opposing thistlecrack on the day. He's way to short a price for a novice. If he jumps well he'll almost certainly win, but there will be a few jockeys trying to pressure him into a mistake imo.

12-01-2017, 07:25 PM
The value on TC has certainly gone, I never had a bet in the KG because I couldn't split the Tizzard horses before the race, I think I'll just enjoy the spectacle of the GC without a punt too.

12-01-2017, 07:45 PM
I'm just delighted I got Thistlecrack at 6s weeks back. Not a huge investment but should pay for the week if he wins. I'll probably have a punt on Many Clouds EW if he runs and the price is right as well.

12-01-2017, 07:48 PM
Whilst we are talking gee gees, have you ever tried to explain to a non punter why certain horses are cheered even when most folk doing the cheering haven't actually backed them?

This link sums it up for me.

www.theguardian.com/sport/2004/apr/29/horseracing.gregwood

12-01-2017, 08:20 PM
Whilst we are talking gee gees, have you ever tried to explain to a non punter why certain horses are cheered even when most folk doing the cheering haven't actually backed them?

This link sums it up for me.

www.theguardian.com/sport/2004/apr/29/horseracing.gregwood

I was at Cheltenham when Istabraq got a brilliant send off when pulled up in his final race, I saw Big Bucks cheered into the parade ring before his final start and warmly applauded afterwards after finishing out the places, I was at Kemptom with my Grandad as barely more than a toddler when Dessie was cheered when he cantered over the finishing line sound after falling in his final start, a friend phoned me to let me hear the ovation for Kauto Star when he was pulled up in the 2012 Gold Cup.......

I've just always loved horse racing especially national hunt and been lucky to meet a lot of people involved in the sport at various levels. Nothing bugs me more than people who make ignorant comments along the lines of 'no one actually cares about the horses' or 'it's only about money'. I'd love to hear them say that to a lad or groom who look after the horses every day. I stood with the groom of a horse called Simonsberg who was fatally injured at Musselburgh a few years ago and I've never seen someone so inconsolable.

The great thing about the jumps especially is they give you a chance to get to know horses. I understand for some it's just about having a flutter which is fine, for others horse racing is the one bet on the Grand National and I even accept some people don't like the sport for various reasons. However if you don't understand that for some racing is about more than that it's probably best just not to say anything at all.

12-01-2017, 08:41 PM
Good post......I love horse racing and a day at the races is my favourite. Very rarely have a bet if I'm not at the races though. Was lucky enough to have a friend who has owned horses and the buzz round the whole thing was brilliant. Going down to Musselburgh next Fri.

HibernianJK
12-01-2017, 09:25 PM
I was at Cheltenham when Istabraq got a brilliant send off when pulled up in his final race, I saw Big Bucks cheered into the parade ring before his final start and warmly applauded afterwards after finishing out the places, I was at Kemptom with my Grandad as barely more than a toddler when Dessie was cheered when he cantered over the finishing line sound after falling in his final start, a friend phoned me to let me hear the ovation for Kauto Star when he was pulled up in the 2012 Gold Cup.......

I've just always loved horse racing especially national hunt and been lucky to meet a lot of people involved in the sport at various levels. Nothing bugs me more than people who make ignorant comments along the lines of 'no one actually cares about the horses' or 'it's only about money'. I'd love to hear them say that to a lad or groom who look after the horses every day. I stood with the groom of a horse called Simonsberg who was fatally injured at Musselburgh a few years ago and I've never seen someone so inconsolable.

The great thing about the jumps especially is they give you a chance to get to know horses. I understand for some it's just about having a flutter which is fine, for others horse racing is the one bet on the Grand National and I even accept some people don't like the sport for various reasons. However if you don't understand that for some racing is about more than that it's probably best just not to say anything at all.

Great post.

I don't mind flat racing but with that being a lot about the breeding you only really get to know the best horses for 2/3 years depending when they start racing. Some only have 3 y/o careers.

With National Hunt you call follow a horse for 7/8 years and really fall in love with them. I was gutted when Vautour died last year and I'm sure others have felt the way about other horses. Most likely yourself with Kauto Star.

12-01-2017, 10:04 PM
Great post.

I don't mind flat racing but with that being a lot about the breeding you only really get to know the best horses for 2/3 years depending when they start racing. Some only have 3 y/o careers.

With National Hunt you call follow a horse for 7/8 years and really fall in love with them. I was gutted when Vautour died last year and I'm sure others have felt the way about other horses. Most likely yourself with Kauto Star.

I prefer the jumps too, theres nothing more spectacular than a top class two mile chase, Viking Flagship epitomised everything that is great about the sport.

13-01-2017, 11:16 AM
I prefer the jumps too, theres nothing more spectacular than a top class two mile chase, Viking Flagship epitomised everything that is great about the sport.
:agree: One Man winning the champions chase was the most thrilling thing I've witnessed on a race track, it was electric.

13-01-2017, 03:37 PM
Valseur Lido now out for the season.

Gigginstown not having much luck

13-01-2017, 07:01 PM
:agree: One Man winning the champions chase was the most thrilling thing I've witnessed on a race track, it was electric.

IIRC we were in The Horseshoe Bar (quite apt) in Glasgow prior to the 0-0 draw with Celtic at Ibrox in The Scottish Cup and VF won The Melling Chase and most of the boozer started clapping, it was an odd few seconds for the folk that were none the wiser! :-)

13-01-2017, 07:14 PM
IIRC we were in The Horseshoe Bar (quite apt) in Glasgow prior to the 0-0 draw with Celtic at Ibrox in The Scottish Cup and VF won The Melling Chase and most of the boozer started clapping, it was an odd few seconds for the folk that were none the wiser! :-)
I love the 2 mile chases. I remember being at Musselburgh years ago and there was a 2 mile chase in the lead up to Cheltenham and 2 of the best 2 mile chasers Scotland has seen in the recent past were running. One was clay county and I think the other was moment of truth. Seeing 2 top class chasers at such close range was brilliant. I backed the winner which made it more special :greengrin

13-01-2017, 07:37 PM

I was at Cheltenham when Master Minded won it by 19 lengths. It was incredible.

Interestingly after Master Minded was retired following his life threatening injury in the King George he just disappeared completely off the radar. He was taken away from Paul Nicholls yard shortly afterwards and even his groom wasn't aware what had happened to him. He appeared in a channel 4 piece and then it all got a bit mysterious. A girl I know spent about 18 months tracking him down and finally found out he is living on a farm in Newmarket with a lady who spent about 2 years nursing him back to health and easing him back into being ridden.

There's plenty things I could say about Clive Smith at this point but if you can't say anything nice and all that....

13-01-2017, 08:13 PM
I was at Cheltenham when Master Minded won it by 19 lengths. It was incredible.

Interestingly after Master Minded was retired following his life threatening injury in the King George he just disappeared completely off the radar. He was taken away from Paul Nicholls yard shortly afterwards and even his groom wasn't aware what had happened to him. He appeared in a channel 4 piece and then it all got a bit mysterious. A girl I know spent about 18 months tracking him down and finally found out he is living on a farm in Newmarket with a lady who spent about 2 years nursing him back to health and easing him back into being ridden.

There's plenty things I could say about Clive Smith at this point but if you can't say anything nice and all that....
Master minded was absolute class. Rarely has there ever been a better moving horse, it all looked so easy. Iirc he was a pretty young horse when he won his first champion chase. There was so many young French horses being brought over by pipe and nicholls at that time.

13-01-2017, 08:22 PM
Master minded was absolute class. Rarely has there ever been a better moving horse, it all looked so easy. Iirc he was a pretty young horse when he won his first champion chase. There was so many young French horses being brought over by pipe and nicholls at that time.

5 year old. He went off at 3/1 that day which was about the best value bet I ever had. Paid for the whole week.

He was a brilliant jumper. Really economical and lightning fast through the air.

13-01-2017, 08:29 PM
5 year old. He went off at 3/1 that day which was about the best value bet I ever had. Paid for the whole week.

He was a brilliant jumper. Really economical and lightning fast through the air.
He was very similar to best mate in that respect. It's sad to hear how some of these great horses get discarded once their racing career is finished. When you think about how much master minded made for his owner it's not too much to ask that he provides a decent retirement for his horse.

13-01-2017, 08:40 PM
He was very similar to best mate in that respect. It's sad to hear how some of these great horses get discarded once their racing career is finished. When you think about how much master minded made for his owner it's not too much to ask that he provides a decent retirement for his horse.

From what I gather his retirement is a happy one. He's out in the field and is well excercised and so on. I belive Clive Smith pays for his upkeep. It's more the shabby way Paul Nicholls and his staff who looked after the horse for so many years were treated. Basically given no info on what the plan was and the advice they offered was ignored. Not disimilar to the very public spat with the same owner re Kauto Stars retirement.

14-01-2017, 08:45 PM
Nice Scottish trained winner in the Classic Chase at Warwick in One for Arthur. Likely to be aimed at the Grand National now.

The one to take from the race for me (with Aintree in mind) though was Houblon Des Obeaux. Stayed on from well off the pace into 4th in horrible ground following on from staying on into 3rd in the Welsh National. A wee bit further and he'll be right there. Definitely in my thoughts for the National.

16-01-2017, 12:26 AM
There's been a lot of tragedy in horse racing over the years, but in my opinion this story just about tops the lot. Brindisi Breeze, ridden by Campbell Gillies showing top class form to win the Albert Bartlett Novice Hurdle in 2012. It was a brilliant performance, beating a lot of good horses.

https://youtu.be/80L8lxffnhE

2 months later Brindisi Breeze was killed in a freak accident, jumping out of his paddock and killed by an oncoming tanker. A month after that Campbell Gillies drowned in a swimming pool after a night out with friends.

Master Minded was a top class 2 mile chaser, but the two best two miler chasers I've seen were Moscow Flyer and Sprinter Sacre. All about opinions though.

16-01-2017, 05:30 AM
There's been a lot of tragedy in horse racing over the years, but in my opinion this story just about tops the lot. Brindisi Breeze, ridden by Campbell Gillies showing top class form to win the Albert Bartlett Novice Hurdle in 2012. It was a brilliant performance, beating a lot of good horses.

https://youtu.be/80L8lxffnhE

2 months later Brindisi Breeze was killed in a freak accident, jumping out of his paddock and killed by an oncoming tanker. A month after that Campbell Gillies drowned in a swimming pool after a night out with friends.

Master Minded was a top class 2 mile chaser, but the two best two miler chasers I've seen were Moscow Flyer and Sprinter Sacre. All about opinions though.

Campbell was a friend of mine, tragic doesn't begin to cover the story. Really nice guy and would have gone on to be one of the top jockeys, he was that good.

I was in Dublin with friends the day Brindisi won the Albert Bartlett. He seemed to sprint the whole 3 miles. The whole pub we were in had backed Boston Bob and we got a lot of stick that no way could a Scottish trained horse get within 30 lengths of a Mullins horse. We all had a flutter on Brindisi. It was quite satisfying to see about 4 dozen Irishmen with their faces tripping them after the race.

16-01-2017, 10:50 AM
Campbell was a friend of mine, tragic doesn't begin to cover the story. Really nice guy and would have gone on to be one of the top jockeys, he was that good.

I was in Dublin with friends the day Brindisi won the Albert Bartlett. He seemed to sprint the whole 3 miles. The whole pub we were in had backed Boston Bob and we got a lot of stick that no way could a Scottish trained horse get within 30 lengths of a Mullins horse. We all had a flutter on Brindisi. It was quite satisfying to see about 4 dozen Irishmen with their faces tripping them after the race.
It was dreadfully sad, he actually went to the same school as some of my in-laws. It was actually one of the best Cheltenham days for me from a betting perspective, Brindisi Breeze topped off a brilliant day for me. Who knows what they both would have gone on to achieve, they both had big future's ahead of them, and as you say, Gillies was a very good up and coming jockey. Also as you've pointed out, I don't think I've ever seen a horse virtually sprint for 3 miles over hurdles, it was a remarkable performance.

24-01-2017, 07:19 PM
Decent line up for the Cotswold Chase at Cheltenham on Saturday:

Thistlecrack
Many Clouds
Silviniaco Conti
Smad Place
Kylemore Lough

Amongst others.

24-01-2017, 11:18 PM
Good racing at Cheltenham all round, Un De Sceaux, Thistlecrack, then an interesting one, More Of That in the cross country chase. A really good novice hurdle after that as well.

HibernianJK
25-01-2017, 10:14 AM
Annie Power will miss Cheltenham due a leg injury Willie Mullins has said today.

I don't think anyone is really surprised.

Can't see her running again and really should be retired IMO.

25-01-2017, 10:57 AM
Annie Power will miss Cheltenham due a leg injury Willie Mullins has said today.

I don't think anyone is really surprised.

Can't see her running again and really should be retired IMO.

She's definitely going to be retired. Hasn't been right since the summer and improvement had been minimal.

HibernianJK
25-01-2017, 04:53 PM
She's definitely going to be retired. Hasn't been right since the summer and improvement had been minimal.

Very true.

Although there is no doubting she has been a brilliant horse I can't help but feel it's a case of what might have been with her.

28-01-2017, 12:43 PM
Faugheen to miss the Irish Champion.

Riccis bookies will have made another killing on the antepost market before a 'setback'. Him and Mullins are a disgrace at times.

28-01-2017, 01:23 PM
Thistlecrack beaten.

My chat about Many Clouds for the Gold Cup doesn't look so daft now.

28-01-2017, 01:31 PM
Or not Many Clouds collapses and dies after the line. So sad.

28-01-2017, 01:44 PM

That's terrible.

28-01-2017, 01:47 PM

That's terrible! Poor horse.

28-01-2017, 01:52 PM

Very sad.

He's always a bit unsteady after a race so think everyone just assumed he needed his usual water and space to cool down. Obviously something deeper though.

Horrible day, I love NH racing but it can be a very, very tough sport to follow at time.

28-01-2017, 02:30 PM
Very sad.

He's always a bit unsteady after a race so think everyone just assumed he needed his usual water and space to cool down. Obviously something deeper though.

Horrible day, I love NH racing but it can be a very, very tough sport to follow at time.
Totally agree. A brave, brave horse who gave his all in every race. I didn't see the race live but watched a replay of it on SportingLife.com. After the race he seemed to be okay, walking around in a circle a few times, and Leighton Aspell hadn't jumped off immediately after the line which jockey's often do when they sense something's wrong. As you say, it was obviously far more serious than anybody thought. It's tragic when something like that happens, even if it's in a sport that we all love. He deserved to win today as well, for the first time I thought Thistlecrack's jumping was sketchy to say the least.

HibernianJK
28-01-2017, 04:42 PM
Faugheen to miss the Irish Champion.

Riccis bookies will have made another killing on the antepost market before a 'setback'. Him and Mullins are a disgrace at times.

I'm really getting quite bored of Willie Mullins now. There's no doubt that he's an outstanding trainer but he monopolizes the punter so much it's hard to like him.

On another note, desperate news about Many Clouds. Always horrible to hear of a horse passing but the circumstances here make it so much worse. A live GC contender after that win and feel so sorry for Oliver Sherwood after he made a brave decision in taking Thistlecrack on.

In other news, another good win for Wholestone although I think he's better over further, and Unowhatimeanharry wins again. I would love to see Vroum Vroum Mag take him on in the stayers after she struggled in a poor mares race over 2m.

28-01-2017, 05:16 PM
Very sad.

Yes, was reading that he needed oxygen after winning the National.

29-01-2017, 02:15 PM
Impressive run by the much hyped Melon today. Put himself right in the Supreme picture.

29-01-2017, 04:27 PM
I'm really getting quite bored of Willie Mullins now. There's no doubt that he's an outstanding trainer but he monopolizes the punter so much it's hard to like him.

On another note, desperate news about Many Clouds. Always horrible to hear of a horse passing but the circumstances here make it so much worse. A live GC contender after that win and feel so sorry for Oliver Sherwood after he made a brave decision in taking Thistlecrack on.

In other news, another good win for Wholestone although I think he's better over further, and Unowhatimeanharry wins again. I would love to see Vroum Vroum Mag take him on in the stayers after she struggled in a poor mares race over 2m.
Yes, I watched the Wholestone race. That race at Cheltenham a few weeks ago could be quite a good form guide, Peregrine Run won it, beating Wholestone by half a length and West Approach (who ran well against UnowhatImeanharry yesterday) was third. I really like Wholestone, but his jumping can be a bit dodgy at times.

HibernianJK
29-01-2017, 05:20 PM
Yes, I watched the Wholestone race. That race at Cheltenham a few weeks ago could be quite a good form guide, Peregrine Run won it, beating Wholestone by half a length and West Approach (who ran well against UnowhatImeanharry yesterday) was third. I really like Wholestone, but his jumping can be a bit dodgy at times.

Yes West Approach ran a great race. Wonder whether he will stay in open company or go back down the novice route for Cheltenham. I think Death Duty will have a hell of a lot on his plate in the Albert Bartlett, which I hope is where Wholestone goes.

29-01-2017, 07:06 PM
As I posted a few weeks ago I am a member of a small Facebook (and Whatsapp) group that has Oliver Sherwood as a member.

This morning he sent us all a message of thanks for the messages we sent him after yeaterdays events at Cheltenham. It included a few nice anecdotes about Many Clouds and also a word of thanks from CJ (one of his yardmen who looked after Many Clouds on a day to day basis). As is tradition the travelling lass was given the bridle of the horse and apparently it all got a bit emptional when this was passed on to CJ, who has looked after him since he came to the yard as a 4 year old.

Perhaps inevitably Animal Aid have reared their heads and have publicly stated (in the Daily Mail and Huffington Post) their intention to take legal action against both the BHA and Oliver. This is based on a letter the repugnant Dene Stansall wrote to the BHA last year stating Many Clouds was unfit to run in the National (with no veterinary evidence to back the claim up I would add). This has obviously caused a bit distress at the yard as the implication is that they wilfully ran a horse that was unfit to run which they obviously deny. They had Many Clouds looked over in the summer and the only issue found was a small wind problem which was operated on.

It's a shame racing is going to be in the press for all the wrong reasons again. The work that has been done over the last decade or so with the RSPCA, World Horse Welfare, Retraining of Racehorses, Greatwood and so on has seen fatalities in NH racing fall to an all time low of about 0.4% and in 17 years it's about 0.02% who have died in a similar way to Many Clouds (who's cause of death still hasn't been confirmed as there was a necropsy planned for today). There has also been unprecedented improvements in birth to death care of NH horses. Sadly the extremists and hypocrites make the better story though.

29-01-2017, 07:26 PM
Yes West Approach ran a great race. Wonder whether he will stay in open company or go back down the novice route for Cheltenham. I think Death Duty will have a hell of a lot on his plate in the Albert Bartlett, which I hope is where Wholestone goes.
West Approach seems to have different ways of running, or maybe it's to do with what type of course he's running on. In the race with Peregrine Run and Wholestone he made the running and stretched, whereas in the race before that (also at Cheltenham) he sat at the back as he did yesterday and only got beaten half a length by Wholestone.

Totally agree with you re. Death Duty, he'll have to be on his A game to win the Albert Bartlett. A good each way bet might be Messire Des Obeaux, but you'd have to think Jacob would choose Wholestone first. Wholestone seems a bit of a character, he's really gutsy, but he continually makes mistakes although he normally gets away with it. I've backed him in every race this season and would love to see him win at the festival, but it's his jumping I'm still concerned about.

30-01-2017, 09:25 AM

It's just a horse. If we really cared we wouldn't put them through it.

30-01-2017, 11:14 AM
It's just a horse. If we really cared we wouldn't put them through it.

I'm intrigued as to who 'we' are? Fans? Or grooms, lads, lasses? Trainers or jockeys?

30-01-2017, 04:22 PM
So the PM results are out on Many Clouds and he died of a pulmanory haemorrhage. NO UNDERLYING HEALTH ISSUES WERE FOUND. The horse had worn a heart monitor in training prior to his comeback at Aintree in November and his heart function was normal.

He also showed no signs of post race ataxia (known as 'the wobbles') either at Aintree or prior to his collapse at Cheltenham on Saturday. THE PM RESULTS CATEGORICALLY PROVE THAT THE SYMPTOMS EXHIBITED BY MANY CLOUDS IN THE PAST WERE IN NO WAY PRESENT OR ASSOCIATED WITH HIS SAD DEATH AT CHELTENHAM ON SATURDAY.

HibernianJK
30-01-2017, 05:12 PM
So the PM results are out on Many Clouds and he died of a pulmanory haemorrhage. NO UNDERLYING HEALTH ISSUES WERE FOUND. The horse had worn a heart monitor in training prior to his comeback at Aintree in November and his heart function was normal.

He also showed no signs of post race ataxia (known as 'the wobbles') either at Aintree or prior to his collapse at Cheltenham on Saturday. THE PM RESULTS CATEGORICALLY PROVE THAT THE SYMPTOMS EXHIBITED BY MANY CLOUDS IN THE PAST WERE IN NO WAY PRESENT OR ASSOCIATED WITH HIS SAD DEATH AT CHELTENHAM ON SATURDAY.

Great news (sort of) about this. Delighted that Sherwood, the Vets etc have been cleared of any wrongdoing. Can't imagine what they've been going through and then to be accused off negligence towards the horse would have been awful.

31-01-2017, 06:37 PM
So JP McManus has put Jezki and Uknowwatimeanharry in the stayers and Yanworth, and most interestingly, Buveur D'Air in the Champion.

The Champion looks wide open imo. Even if Faugheen does run it's a huge ask to win the Champion in his first start of the season.

HibernianJK
31-01-2017, 07:59 PM
So JP McManus has put Jezki and Uknowwatimeanharry in the stayers and Yanworth, and most interestingly, Buveur D'Air in the Champion.

The Champion looks wide open imo. Even if Faugheen does run it's a huge ask to win the Champion in his first start of the season.

I wonder how much of this was to do with the owner/trainer. You'd think if Henderson really wanted to win the race he would have sent Altior and resumed chasing after. But then again Yanworth IMO is a better horse than BD so unsure who would have made the decision.

31-01-2017, 08:56 PM
I wonder how much of this was to do with the owner/trainer. You'd think if Henderson really wanted to win the race he would have sent Altior and resumed chasing after. But then again Yanworth IMO is a better horse than BD so unsure who would have made the decision.
The Yanworth situation fascinates me. For the last few months people have been talking about him for the Champion Hurdle, and yet he clearly stays far further. He made mistakes in the Neptune at last seasons's festival over 2 miles 5 and still finished 2nd. I agree that on what i've seen, he's a better horse than Bouveur D'aire, but I'm still surprised they aren't running him in the World Hurdle. Just my opinion though. Mind you, Yorkhill's also in the Champion, I wonder if it's a 'wherever you go, I go too' kind of scenario! On saying all that if, and it's a big if, Faugheen is fit and ready to race, he will win.

06-02-2017, 03:16 PM
Faugheen and Min both out of Cheltenham now.

Should open up a chance for a few decent priced winners and Altior surely the NAP of the meeting in the Arkle now with no Min around.

06-02-2017, 04:19 PM
Faugheen and Min both out of Cheltenham now.

Should open up a chance for a few decent priced winners and Altior surely the NAP of the meeting in the Arkle now with no Min around.

Champion hurdle resembles a grade 2 handicap now..

HibernianJK
06-02-2017, 06:32 PM
With Faugheen coming out of CH now I wonder if Henderson regrets putting Buvear D'air in instead of Altior. Altior clearly the better horse and would be clear favorite for that race.

Was he told by JP McMannus? I don't think BD beats Yanworth but Altior certainly would. Strange one.

09-02-2017, 06:48 PM
With Faugheen coming out of CH now I wonder if Henderson regrets putting Buvear D'air in instead of Altior. Altior clearly the better horse and would be clear favorite for that race.

Was he told by JP McMannus? I don't think BD beats Yanworth but Altior certainly would. Strange one.
I think a lot also depends on which race Yorkhill runs in. He's another horse that's good enough to win either the Arkle or the CH.

11-02-2017, 03:00 PM
Just watched Altior at Newbury. Okay, so he was 30/100, but he was really impressive. Really good round of jumping, and stretched clear at the end.

11-02-2017, 03:13 PM
Just watched Altior at Newbury. Okay, so he was 30/100, but he was really impressive. Really good round of jumping, and stretched clear at the end.

I reckon he's the only horse that could get near Douvan in the Champion. They'll obviously run him in the Arkle, which he'll win on the bridle, but long term he's exciting.

12-02-2017, 03:29 PM
Good run by Sizing John at Leopardstown, putting down a marker for a Gold Cup place. Saw this in Twitter about him:

'When there is no Douvan, Sizing John's form line over hurdles and fences reads 1131111. In races with Douvan 2322232. Heck of a horse.'

12-02-2017, 06:42 PM
Good run by Sizing John at Leopardstown, putting down a marker for a Gold Cup place. Saw this in Twitter about him:

'When there is no Douvan, Sizing John's form line over hurdles and fences reads 1131111. In races with Douvan 2322232. Heck of a horse.'

Bit Moscow Flyer - Istabraq about that. Really interesting stat. Might speculate on that.

13-02-2017, 01:12 AM
Altior's been impressive this season, no doubt. Comparisons with Sprinter Sacre might be a bit premature, but he's certainly going the right way. He probably will win the Arkle, but if Yorkhill's in that race I don't see Altior winning on the bridle. Just my opinion but I think Yorkhill would be a very dangerous horse to dismiss.

13-02-2017, 06:52 PM
Was sad to read that Fame And Glory has passed away at stud. In the shadow of Sea The Stars most of the time, but still a dam good racehorse. RIP.

14-02-2017, 07:17 PM
Grand National weights are out at 9 tonight.

Rule The World looking quite the celebrity on the red carpet.

14-02-2017, 08:17 PM
Outlander top weight.

Top 5 are:

Outlander
Champagne West
Empire of Dirt
Don Poli
Carlinford Lough

HibernianJK
14-02-2017, 10:42 PM
Outlander top weight.

Top 5 are:

Outlander
Champagne West
Empire of Dirt
Don Poli
Carlinford Lough

I like Ucello Conti this year off 1lb lower than last year where he ran well for a long way before not finishing his race. He also ran really well in the Thyestes chase last time out. Think he will carry my money this year.

15-02-2017, 09:08 AM
New alcohol limit in place for next months Festival (4 drinks per person at a time). Can only imagine what the queues will be like.

15-02-2017, 03:59 PM
I like Ucello Conti this year off 1lb lower than last year where he ran well for a long way before not finishing his race. He also ran really well in the Thyestes chase last time out. Think he will carry my money this year.

O'Faolains Boy was the one that caught my eye.

Has raced of some very stiff marks yet could carry only 10st 6lbs. Blacklion at 10 10 looks interesting as well as does One for Arthur at 10 6.

HibernianJK
15-02-2017, 05:50 PM
O'Faolains Boy was the one that caught my eye.

Has raced of some very stiff marks yet could carry only 10st 6lbs. Blacklion at 10 10 looks interesting as well as does One for Arthur at 10 6.

I've been disappointed with Blaklion since he won at Cheltenham but a return to that form would give him a great chance. One for Arthur does look like to have a nice weight and would love to see him run well for the North.

15-02-2017, 06:48 PM
I've been disappointed with Blaklion since he won at Cheltenham but a return to that form would give him a great chance. One for Arthur does look like to have a nice weight and would love to see him run well for the North.

One thing that's interesting, as per todays Racing Post, is that Outlander, who won't run, has been given top weight and a mark of 166. That's a higher rating than Synchronised, Imperial Commander, Lord Windemere, Many Clouds, Don't Push It and Hedgehunter. All of whom had achieved far more than Outlander has. The posts theory is that in the absence of a real superstar in this years entries, think Silviniaco Conti, Neptune Collognes, Imperial Commander, Long Run, Many Clouds etc in recent years that they have tried to manufacture one by falsely raising Outlanders rating.

HibernianJK
15-02-2017, 09:17 PM
One thing that's interesting, as per todays Racing Post, is that Outlander, who won't run, has been given top weight and a mark of 166. That's a higher rating than Synchronised, Imperial Commander, Lord Windemere, Many Clouds, Don't Push It and Hedgehunter. All of whom had achieved far more than Outlander has. The posts theory is that in the absence of a real superstar in this years entries, think Silviniaco Conti, Neptune Collognes, Imperial Commander, Long Run, Many Clouds etc in recent years that they have tried to manufacture one by falsely raising Outlanders rating.

You're right. I think that the Handicapper said as much. No real superstar, but much more depth. Elliot has already said Outlander won't be going so that will change things.

18-02-2017, 10:45 AM
New alcohol limit in place for next months Festival (4 drinks per person at a time). Can only imagine what the queues will be like.
When I first heard about it I thought they were limiting everyone to 4 drinks in total. I would be demanding a refund if that had happened.

18-02-2017, 01:51 PM
Yanworth made to work all the way at Wincanton, made hard work of it.

Champion Hurdle still looking a very weak race.

18-02-2017, 02:14 PM
Jezki beaten at Gowran Park as well.

18-02-2017, 02:24 PM
Vieux Lion Rouge and Blackliom both staking their National claims at Haydock.

Decent race between them and with weights off 10 7 and 10 10 respectively in the National both must be lively contenders.

18-02-2017, 02:43 PM
Cue Card very impressive at Ascot over less than his ideal distance. Jumping was absolutely brilliant.

Gold Cup has turned into a bit of a race again.

18-02-2017, 03:59 PM
For some reason Skybet still have Yorkhill as joint favourite for the Champion Hurdle even though Mullins said earlier in the week that he wants to keep him chasing. Yanworth wasn't particularly impressive, and I still think they should have sent him to the World Hurdle instead, but that's just my opinion.

HibernianJK
18-02-2017, 05:37 PM
Some good performances but only 1 real festival clue for me was Cue Card. I had asked myself during the week that if he did put a performance today would I consider backing him again for the Gold Cup, I probably won't but that performance won't have put anyone off.

Yanworth sluggish and Jezki probably past his best. I like Petit Mouchior for CH.

18-02-2017, 07:06 PM
Some good performances but only 1 real festival clue for me was Cue Card. I had asked myself during the week that if he did put a performance today would I consider backing him again for the Gold Cup, I probably won't but that performance won't have put anyone off.

Yanworth sluggish and Jezki probably past his best. I like Petit Mouchior for CH.

Last time out I thought it was Many Clouds jumping that really put the pressure on Thistlecrack. If Cue Card jumps the way he did today at Cheltenham it will again put Thistlecrack. The ground will be a factor as well, good to soft or better and I'd still fancy Thistlecrack.

Zarkandar won well today and put down a bit of a marker for the Stayers, which looks quite open this year. Whether he's good enough is another matter.

18-02-2017, 10:15 PM
Last time out I thought it was Many Clouds jumping that really put the pressure on Thistlecrack. If Cue Card jumps the way he did today at Cheltenham it will again put Thistlecrack. The ground will be a factor as well, good to soft or better and I'd still fancy Thistlecrack.

Zarkandar won well today and put down a bit of a marker for the Stayers, which looks quite open this year. Whether he's good enough is another matter.
The winner of the gold cup will come from neither of the above imo. Cue Card won't see it out and thitlecrack will be found wanting.

19-02-2017, 10:18 AM
Yanworth strikes me as a Solwhit type in that he can mop up the races he needs to in the run up to the champion hurdle but is incapable of putting in quick times. Not lost on me that Solwhit got his festival success in the World hurdle.

HibernianJK
19-02-2017, 10:22 AM
Yanworth strikes me as a Solwhit type in that he can mop up the races he needs to in the run up to the champion hurdle but is incapable of putting in quick times. Not lost on me that Solwhit got his festival success in the World hurdle.

This is his year for a Championship race over hurdles as Alan King has already said they will send him chasing next year. They might just think because CH is so open why not go for it, but your right I think he's better over further and don't think he's being allowed to show his class.

19-02-2017, 04:00 PM
This is his year for a Championship race over hurdles as Alan King has already said they will send him chasing next year. They might just think because CH is so open why not go for it, but your right I think he's better over further and don't think he's being allowed to show his class.
Totally agree. It'll be fascinating to see how Yanworth gets on over fences next season. He wants further than 2 miles, and for that reason I would find it hard to back him on the nose at approx. 5/1, even allowing for the CH being quite open this year, but if it does come down to a slog then he does have the staying power, so it wouldn't be a surprise if he did win it. As far as the betting for the CH goes, I suppose it's a case of which form from last seasons festival you go with, the Neptune or the Supreme Novices.

HibernianJK
19-02-2017, 04:28 PM
Totally agree. It'll be fascinating to see how Yanworth gets on over fences next season. He wants further than 2 miles, and for that reason I would find it hard to back him on the nose at approx. 5/1, even allowing for the CH being quite open this year, but if it does come down to a slog then he does have the staying power, so it wouldn't be a surprise if he did win it. As far as the betting for the CH goes, I suppose it's a case of which form from last seasons festival you go with, the Neptune or the Supreme Novices.

I think the Supreme form looks excellent as looking through that result there are so many subsequent winners and some really top class horses in that.

19-02-2017, 06:33 PM
For anyone who hasn't seen it or wants to watch it again BBC2 are showing Being A.P tonight at 10.

HibernianJK
21-02-2017, 11:52 AM
Thistlecrack ruled out of Cheltenham with a tendon injury. Can only see it being between Native River and Cue Card now.

This seasons ante post really has gone the way of the bookies. They must be laughing.

21-02-2017, 12:15 PM
Thistlecrack ruled out of Cheltenham with a tendon injury. Can only see it being between Native River and Cue Card now.

This seasons ante post really has gone the way of the bookies. They must be laughing.

Looking at the long range forecast it looks like there could be some heavy rain. Soft or worse and I could be tempted by Djakadam.

21-02-2017, 12:36 PM

That'll be a painful one for so many Ante P punters, ouch.

21-02-2017, 01:29 PM
That'll be a painful one for so many Ante P punters, ouch.

That was a lump on Friday for me. Now one of the most open of the championship races.

21-02-2017, 02:23 PM

Pretty well wide open now, and if the ground does indeed turn up heavy, Djackadam would be the logical pic. It was heavy at Haydock when Cue Card beat Coneygree, but I've always had this niggling feeling that the extra couple of furlongs at Cheltenham might be a step too far. Just my opinion though. I'd love to see Cue Card win it, but I think I'll be erring on the side of caution and going each way on Empire of Dirt.

21-02-2017, 08:02 PM
I think the injury to Thistlecrack along with the Mullins string shows just how hard it is to keep a horse right over a long period. It really show just how special horses like Istabraq, Big Bucks, Best Mate, Kauto Star etc were to keep coming back and winning at the highest level year upon year.

HibernianJK
21-02-2017, 09:19 PM
Looking at the long range forecast it looks like there could be some heavy rain. Soft or worse and I could be tempted by Djakadam.

Pretty well wide open now, and if the ground does indeed turn up heavy, Djackadam would be the logical pic. It was heavy at Haydock when Cue Card beat Coneygree, but I've always had this niggling feeling that the extra couple of furlongs at Cheltenham might be a step too far. Just my opinion though. I'd love to see Cue Card win it, but I think I'll be erring on the side of caution and going each way on Empire of Dirt.

Djakadam would definitely be a safe bet. We know he stays and goes on soft. Agree with Cue Card now at 11 that 3m 2 1/4f could be a bit far. Glad CC owners going for GC though. I like Sizing John for a place but Native River will probably carry most of my money.

cheltenhamhibee
22-02-2017, 12:56 AM

The pub is called The Adam and Eve, it's on Townsend Street (10 minute walk from the High Street) It's run by a mad Hibby and another one works behind the bar (me) cracking wee boozer, would be great to see you and any other Hibbys travelling down.

There's a lot of good things being said locally about Ami Desbois in The Albert Bartlett Novices Hurdle, I've had a wee nibble e/w @ 25/1 at the moment, boss went to see it on the gallops yesterday morning and said it is an absolute beast of a horse

22-02-2017, 02:19 PM
Limini turns over Apple's Jade at Punchestown. Throws the mares market up in the air again.

HibernianJK
23-02-2017, 12:00 PM
Limini turns over Apple's Jade at Punchestown. Throws the mares market up in the air again.

Surprised at that one but the rumours were Limini was in excellent form. I was hoping to see AJ win then go CH route. Not now.

26-02-2017, 04:34 PM
Geraghty out of festival.

26-02-2017, 04:50 PM
Geraghty out of festival.

No shock there. It was a nasty incident.

Big chance for whoever picks up the rides (think Mark Walsh will take a few) on the McManus horses with the hand he has this year.

26-02-2017, 07:04 PM
Thistlecrack back into 7s on Betfair and rumours all over Twitter etc that he is to be rescanned in the morning and might yet run.

Surely they wouldn't risk him?

02-03-2017, 11:51 AM
Betfair preview on Facebook. Elliott, Nichols presentsed by the excellent Gary O'Brien.

Also Star Sports previews on YouTube with Tanya Stevenson and Luke Harvey in more viewer friendly bite size chunks per individual race.

HibernianJK
08-03-2017, 07:54 AM
6 days to go folks! Not long until it all kicks off. For a wee bit fun, (whoever reads this) let's have your...

Best Bet (one that you've found) -
NAP -
Best outside chance -

I'll start us off with...

Might Bite (RSA)
Altior (Arkle)
Minella Rocco (Gold Cup)

A lot of antepost multiples on already but can't wait to get stuck into the real stuff next week!

08-03-2017, 11:33 AM
Yorkhill in the jlt
Defi Du Seuil in the triumph
Camping Ground in the Stayers

08-03-2017, 12:27 PM
Finians Oscar - Neptune
Altior - Arkle
Dolos - Fred Winter

08-03-2017, 08:04 PM
6 days to go folks! Not long until it all kicks off. For a wee bit fun, (whoever reads this) let's have your...

Best Bet (one that you've found) -
NAP -
Best outside chance -

I'll start us off with...

Might Bite (RSA)
Altior (Arkle)
Minella Rocco (Gold Cup)

A lot of antepost multiples on already but can't wait to get stuck into the real stuff next week!

Sizing John - gold cup bound, convinced it'll be an improver that wins this year and he's stand out but does need to improve
Yanworth - best horse in the race, will win ugly
Marinero - goes for one of the NH chases, hopefully RSA as on 120 ante post with BF!

10-03-2017, 09:49 AM
Empire of Dirt- Ryanair
Douvan - Queen Mother
Bristol de Mai - Gold Cup

10-03-2017, 09:55 AM
Anyone want to post up their 'Favourite I wouldn't back with counterfeit money'

Un De Sceaux - chance of tipping up.

10-03-2017, 10:20 AM

If you'd asked me that question last week I'd have said cue card, but all week I've been thinking that we could be looking at another desert orchid type race, where cue card is running out of steam up the hill, but class gets him home. The race has cut up a bit and if he's going to win, this has to be his year.

10-03-2017, 11:02 AM
Going to the Hamilton preview tonight, anyone else?

10-03-2017, 11:59 AM
Cheers lads....I'm spoilt for tips now!!

10-03-2017, 04:33 PM

Cue Card.

Just about every recent trend is against him and the race is just set up for an improver to win it. I'm starting to fancy Sizing John.

10-03-2017, 04:40 PM
Empire of Dirt- Ryanair
Douvan - Queen Mother
Bristol de Mai - Gold Cup

Enpire of Dirt apparently heading for the Gold Cup now with Don Poli ruled out.

HibernianJK
10-03-2017, 10:59 PM

Melon. Just has not proved enough to be top of what is a very good Supreme market.

10-03-2017, 11:45 PM
If anyone is heading down next week if you are in early on the Tuesday head to the parade ring for the Retraining of Racehorses parade, usually starts about 12.30. They do great work and there are some bona fide superstars in attendance this year. Full list:

Balthazar King, 13 - hunting
Beware Chalk Pit , 13 - hunting
Big Buck's, 14 - hunting
Denman, 17 - team chasing
Finians Rainbow, 14 - hunting
Forpadydeplasterer, 15 - showing
Long Run, 12 - hunting
Midnight Chase, 15 - eventing
Penzance , 16 - dressage
Punjabi, 14 - dressage
Rubi Light, 12 - showing
The Giant Bolster, 12 - dressage

Can't believe Denman is 17! Saw him last year and he still looks fit enough to go out and win a Gold Cup.

11-03-2017, 11:15 AM
Finians Oscar - Neptune
Altior - Arkle
Dolos - Fred Winter

'Sake Finians Oscar out with a 'minor setback'. Can't see past Neon Wolf now.

11-03-2017, 08:04 PM
Big Buck's, 14 - hunting

Ah....my saviour. World Hurdle 2010 lumped on money I didn't have at the time after lots of drink was taken. Spent the whole race hiding behind the settee.

14-03-2017, 05:19 AM
Better feeling than Christmas morning!!

HibernianJK
14-03-2017, 07:55 AM
Not being able to watch for the first time in 4 years is annoying!

First day picks;

Ballyandy
Altior
Yanworth
Limini

Small EW bets in the handicaps on arpege d'alene, un temps pour tout and foxtail hill.

14-03-2017, 10:35 AM
Ballyandy, Petit Mouchoir and Limini to win for me.

Also got an e/w trixie with Ibis Du Rheu, Arpege D'Alene and Mixboy.

14-03-2017, 11:36 AM
Ballyandy, Petit Mouchoir and Limini to win for me.

Also got an e/w trixie with Ibis Du Rheu, Arpege D'Alene and Mixboy.

I'monit!sorryspacebarseemstonotbeworkingonthissite buti'mlettingyouknowi'mfollowingyourtipsthisweeklo l

14-03-2017, 11:47 AM
I am totally hyper as usual
:hyper

14-03-2017, 12:44 PM
Preview night I was at on Friday, James Griffin an assistant trainer in Ireland and someone whose views I respect put up Labaik and reinforced it after talking to Elliott on the phone interview.

Damn.

14-03-2017, 12:46 PM
Preview night I was at on Friday, James Griffin an assistant trainer in Ireland and someone whose views I respect put up Labaik and reinforced it after talking to Elliott on the phone interview.

Damn.

Thanks for letting us know 15 minutes after the race :greengrin

14-03-2017, 12:49 PM
1-0 to the bookies.

14-03-2017, 12:59 PM
Thanks for letting us know 15 minutes after the race :greengrin

Never done it myself!! Forewarned about 'jumping off' even Elliott didn't sound convinced that he would not miss the start. Griffin stated he was an in running bet as long as he went with the others.

14-03-2017, 01:00 PM
1-0 to the bookies.

But they'll be screaming poverty when the 1/4 shot hacks up. Aye right.

14-03-2017, 01:16 PM
Bit more of a challenge for Altior than expected but won well despite clearly not being happy out there.

Think he had the beating of Charbel despite the fall.

14-03-2017, 01:22 PM
Bit more of a challenge for Altior than expected but won well despite clearly not being happy out there.

Think he had the beating of Charbel despite the fall.

Totally agree. A bit disappointing for the superstar 1/4 fav but if he was a 7/2 shot you would say he has won it nicely in the end.

14-03-2017, 02:12 PM
Right Yanworth, let's see what you're made of....could be a struggle.

14-03-2017, 02:35 PM
Struggle all right!!

14-03-2017, 02:45 PM
First winner of the meeting for me. I stuck my £20 free bet that I got for melon losing the first on it at 11/2.

14-03-2017, 03:10 PM
Limini here for me.

14-03-2017, 03:13 PM
Limini here for me.

Ruby doesn't look too happy early on. Gave a slap on the neck after the 2nd.

14-03-2017, 03:37 PM
Yes Apples. Recouping Triumph losses from last year.

14-03-2017, 03:44 PM
BigBadJohn in the next.

14-03-2017, 05:43 PM
Altior won, fairly comfortably in the end I suppose. People who are comparing him to Sprinter Sacre will have to wait a bit, because on that performance he wouldn't come anywhere near Sprinter Sacre. Still a very good horse though.

14-03-2017, 05:49 PM
Finished the day level with just the 1 winner. The bookies had the better of things today. I'll miss most of the racing tomorrow as I'm heading down on the train. Really looking forward to being there on Thursday and Friday, it's my favourite trip of the year.

HibernianJK
14-03-2017, 09:08 PM
Can't see Neon Wolf getting beat tomorrow and obviously Douvan.

I like Modus in the Coral Cup. The step up in trip did the trick the last time and his top weight is negated by Stan Sheppards 5lb claim. I also like Quantitiveeasing in the Cross Country as he normally runs well now at about 10s.

In the Bumper I've had a tip for Debuchen. But personally I like Cause Toujours but small stakes in that and the Handicaps.

15-03-2017, 05:58 AM
Can't see Neon Wolf getting beat tomorrow and obviously Douvan.

I like Modus in the Coral Cup. The step up in trip did the trick the last time and his top weight is negated by Stan Sheppards 5lb claim. I also like Quantitiveeasing in the Cross Country as he normally runs well now at about 10s.

In the Bumper I've had a tip for Debuchen. But personally I like Cause Toujours but small stakes in that and the Handicaps.

Agree with Neon Wolf and Modus. On both tomorrow. Our Kaempfer and Sausalito Sunrise each way for me and also Dolos in the Fred Winter.

Not touching the Champion, just going to enjoy the spectacle and hopefully Douvan puts on a performance.

pontius pilate
15-03-2017, 06:21 AM
I've got
God's own
royal vacation
Any currency
Dream catcher
all on e/w double and treble they all are between 10/1-16/1 I'm hoping I at least get two in. It's the thrill I suppose

15-03-2017, 08:46 AM
£5 each-way treble:

1.30 Willoughby Court
2.50 Peregrine Run
4.50 Dino Velvet

15-03-2017, 08:55 AM
Will have something on Whisper. Davy Russell in 3m novice chase. Yes please. Neon Wolf put up big at preview night.

15-03-2017, 12:45 PM
Will have something on Whisper. Davy Russell in 3m novice chase. Yes please. Neon Wolf put up big at preview night.

I'm on Whisper. Shame about Neon Wolf though.

15-03-2017, 12:46 PM
£5 each-way treble:

1.30 Willoughby Court
2.50 Peregrine Run
4.50 Dino Velvet

Good start.

15-03-2017, 12:57 PM
lucky 15 on
OO Seven
Tin Soldier
Domperignon du Lys
Carter McKay

Done a treble on

Tin Soldier
Divin Bere
Cause Toujours

All e/w

15-03-2017, 04:08 PM
Bloodbath!!

15-03-2017, 04:41 PM
Wow, didn't see that coming! If I'd been having a bet on the race I would have taken Special Tiara e/w on the ground, but Douvan's run was too bad to be true. Still, it's not like he was pulled up or anything, so it'll be interesting to hear what comes out in the next couple of days. All credit to Special Tiara though, wears his heart on his sleeve, and a brilliliant ride by Fehily.

HibernianJK
15-03-2017, 05:46 PM
Just watched the RSA for the first time!!! WOW. What a rollercoaster of emotions for the backers of the 1st and 2nd. ew treble saved my day and keeps me a float for the week.

15-03-2017, 06:38 PM
Worst first 2 days ever for me, need to take 1 race at a time tomorrow!

Will see how Yorkhill gets on before considering any more Mullins horses but definitely having a wee wager on Top Notch.

15-03-2017, 09:16 PM
Worst first 2 days ever for me, need to take 1 race at a time tomorrow!

Will see how Yorkhill gets on before considering any more Mullins horses but definitely having a wee wager on Top Notch.
Same here. I'm a big fan of Yorkhill, but the way their horses have been running anything's possible. If he'd stuck to hurdling he'd be a stick-on for the Stayers Hurdle but over fences, who knows.

16-03-2017, 12:23 PM
This 6/4 Yorkhill looks massive in a poor field however I can't get that schooling session out of my head the other day.

Conflicted.

16-03-2017, 12:25 PM
This 6/4 Yorkhill looks massive in a poor field however I can't get that schooling session out of my head the other day.

Conflicted.

I've plumped for Top Notch.

Yorkhill is good but I'm not sure his form stands up to a great deal of scrutiny. Again it's good but not great. Last years Neptune form isn't brilliant, struggled home at Aintree then beaten at Punchestown. Not beaten much over fences this year either.

He could well prove me wrong but I think that's key, he has to prove it.

HibernianJK
16-03-2017, 02:13 PM
I've plumped for Top Notch.

Yorkhill is good but I'm not sure his form stands up to a great deal of scrutiny. Again it's good but not great. Last years Neptune form isn't brilliant, struggled home at Aintree then beaten at Punchestown. Not beaten much over fences this year either.

He could well prove me wrong but I think that's key, he has to prove it.

Would have one too with a jump 2 out. Can't believe people are touting Yorkhill as a Gold Cup horse. Miles away in my eyes. Better day for punters today. UNWIMH to solidify that.

16-03-2017, 02:18 PM
Would have one too with a jump 2 out. Can't believe people are touting Yorkhill as a Gold Cup horse. Miles away in my eyes. Better day for punters today. UNWIMH to solidify that.

Unowhatimeanharry will save my week hopefully.

On known form should be a banker.

16-03-2017, 02:52 PM
I backed the FAV, have a look at the start, there was about 10 lengths covering the field when the starter let them go, it was a nonsense. Not sure it made much difference to UNWIMH though.

HibernianJK
16-03-2017, 02:57 PM
This isn't going to plan at all.

16-03-2017, 04:06 PM
Got a wee short price treble up on a Lucky 15, Yorkhill, Un De Sceaux and Let's Dance. Still waiting on What's Happening in the last for a wee e/w double with Baron Alco.

16-03-2017, 07:34 PM
Had Defi du Seuil as a cert tomorrow but heard there has been Lambourn money and lots of it for Charli Parcs.

HibernianJK
16-03-2017, 10:40 PM
Had Defi du Seuil as a cert tomorrow but heard there has been Lambourn money and lots of it for Charli Parcs.

May very well end up winning but wouldn't be me better on a juvenile with 2 starts and 1 fall.

cheltenhamhibee
17-03-2017, 02:12 AM
Lots of people down here tipping Wholestone in the Albert Bartlett (i've done Ami Desbois ante post, not sure about the going though ) Got a tip of a stable lad for Runfordave in the Martin Pipe Handicap Chase (4.50) Good luck to all :thumbsup:

Ps
Don't shoot the messenger

17-03-2017, 03:00 PM
Lots of people down here tipping Wholestone in the Albert Bartlett (i've done Ami Desbois ante post, not sure about the going though ) Got a tip of a stable lad for Runfordave in the Martin Pipe Handicap Chase (4.50) Good luck to all :thumbsup:

Ps
Don't shoot the messenger

Here's hoping mate, I've chucked a few quid on it e/w, would save me after a horrendous day of it!

18-03-2017, 06:31 AM
The ITV coverage was very good and a break from the Clare Balding style of constant slo-mo with music.