View Full Version : Next weeks fixtures

22-10-2016, 09:43 PM
I had a wee peek to see who is playing next weekend. 2nd plays 5th (DUTD v Falkirk) and 3rd plays 4th (Raith v QOS), while we are at home to St Mirren (top v bottom)

I know our last home game against them didn't go at all well, but surely with these fixtures there is a great opportunity to extend the gap at the top.

22-10-2016, 09:52 PM
Two draws in those other matches and a handsome victory for us would do just nicely. :aok:

22-10-2016, 10:07 PM
Tbh. In a league like this, where there's little between most of the teams, we could say this every week.

If we win 3/4 or 4/5 we'll sort ourselves out.

22-10-2016, 11:11 PM
At this stage I would prefer a Falkirk win at Utd and a draw between QOTS and Raith Rovers .... if we beat St Mirren that would leave us 4 points in front of Falkirk 5 points in front of QOTS and 6 points in front of Utd with Raith also 6 points behind, I still think that over the course Utd will be our main challengers, so the bigger gap we can open over them the better.

22-10-2016, 11:15 PM
Want United to lose every game, they'll be our biggest challengers in the end. But then if we take care of our own results nobody else should worry us.

22-10-2016, 11:20 PM
We have 3 games coming up where we play Falkirk and QoS at home then Utd at Tannadice.

If we can win them it won't matter about other teams results.

It is all about what Hibs do.

22-10-2016, 11:29 PM
As much as it pains me to say it, we need Houston to come back from being grounded against Raith, and to have lift-off at Tannadice. The red cards fiasco have hauled us into the same orbit as United, when we should be hurtling away from them at warp factor speed.

Sorry for the excessive space metaphors but I've been drinking a rather feisty little wino.

22-10-2016, 11:34 PM
As much as it pains me to say it, we need Houston to come back from being grounded against Raith, and to have lift-off at Tannadice. The red cards fiasco have hauled us into the same orbit as United, when we should be hurtling away from them at warp factor speed.

Sorry for the excessive space metaphors but I've been drinking a rather feisty little wino.

Stop the puns before somebody gives you a rocket. :wink:

22-10-2016, 11:36 PM
Stop the puns before somebody gives you a rocket. :wink:

That's Apolloing.

shetlandhibee
23-10-2016, 01:15 AM
At this stage I would prefer a Falkirk win at Utd and a draw between QOTS and Raith Rovers .... if we beat St Mirren that would leave us 4 points in front of Falkirk 5 points in front of QOTS and 6 points in front of Utd with Raith also 6 points behind, I still think that over the course Utd will be our main challengers, so the bigger gap we can open over them the better.:agree:

23-10-2016, 06:33 AM
It doesn't really matter what these wee diddy teams do tbh, it's all about us, it's in our hands.

23-10-2016, 03:24 PM
It doesn't really matter what these wee diddy teams do tbh, it's all about us, it's in our hands.

Dundee Utd since 1980:

League winners 82/83
Scottish cup winners 93/94 ... 09/10
League cup winners 79/80 ... 80/81
UEFA Cup finalists 86/87
European Cup semi finalists 83/84 .... cheated out of a place in the final by a bribed official.

Hibs since 1980:

Scottish cup winners 15/16
League cup winners 91/92 ... 06/07

Diddy teams is it ..... lets leave that big headed lack of respect to the Ugly Sisters eh.

23-10-2016, 03:39 PM
Dundee Utd since 1980:

League winners 82/83
UEFA Cup finalists 86/87
European Cup semi finalists 83/84 .... cheated out of a place in the final by a bribed official.

Hibs since 1980:

Diddy teams is it ..... lets leave that big headed lack of respect to the Ugly Sisters eh.

But since the nineties both have won 2 cups. But reality is both Dundee together are a smaller club than Hibs

23-10-2016, 03:42 PM
But since the nineties both have won 2 cups. But reality is both Dundee together are a smaller club than Hibs

Since 2000 we've won two, they've won one.

The "since the 80's" choice suggests someone supports Liverpool 😂

23-10-2016, 03:45 PM
HIBERNIAN WINS
DRAWS
DUNDEE UTD WINS

League

FA Cup

League Cup

Total

Hibs v Dundee utd

League games

Hibs 57 wins v Dundee utd 63 wins..54 Draws

SC
Hibs 4 wins v Dundee utd 4 wins...6 draws

LC
Hibs 8 wins v Dundee utd 3 wins... 2 draws

Total

Hibs 69 wins v Dundee utd 70 wins...62 draws

23-10-2016, 06:18 PM
Dundee Utd since 1980:

League winners 82/83
UEFA Cup finalists 86/87

Hibs since 1980:

Before 1980 however, they weren't on the same planet as the Hibs though, were they? And they were very, very boring at it being on the same planet when they found it. And we are beating them all round on Leagues, League Cups and Scottish Cups. And we gave them a name and opened their ground, which we populate heavily whenever we have the misfortune to meet them.

Earlydelivery
23-10-2016, 06:26 PM
Before 1980 however, they weren't on the same planet as the Hibs though, were they? And they were very, very boring at it being on the same planet when they found it. And we are beating them all round on Leagues, League Cups and Scottish Cups. And we gave them a name and opened their ground, which we populate heavily whenever we have the misfortune to meet them.
We've got more season ticket holders than both Dundee clubs combined

majorhibs
23-10-2016, 06:38 PM
Dundee Utd since 1980:

League winners 82/83
UEFA Cup finalists 86/87

Hibs since 1980:

Naebody needs likening to Liverpool supporters, but reality & you are as good as your NEXT game applies, unfortunately on this website the last few years theres a certain type of big heed big mouth who have taken over, 3 years down does not a big team make, promotion does.

23-10-2016, 06:55 PM
At this stage I would prefer a Falkirk win at Utd and a draw between QOTS and Raith Rovers .... if we beat St Mirren that would leave us 4 points in front of Falkirk 5 points in front of QOTS and 6 points in front of Utd with Raith also 6 points behind, I still think that over the course Utd will be our main challengers, so the bigger gap we can open over them the better.
Yes with you, would prefer a Utd defeat as I think they will be our biggest threat.

23-10-2016, 06:57 PM
Since 1945:

Hibs have won three League Championships, one Scottish Cup, three League Cups and one European Cup semi-final.

United have won one League Championship, two Scottish Cups, two League Cups and one European Cup semi-final.

You can distort the results to prove what you want.

23-10-2016, 07:36 PM

I am glad that none of the "diddy: teams in the league have ever taken points of us.

24-10-2016, 03:07 AM

I wasn't saying they aren't ..... but if you are going to start including Dundee Utd under a heading of 'diddy teams' where the hell does that leave the 70% or more of Scottish clubs who are not as well supported as they are ..... as I said, lets leave all that 'diddy teams' nonsense to the OF and the Yams.

If the someone you are referring to is me you couldn't be more wrong mate .... I don't support an English team as such, but if I did it would probably be Everton who I go to see now and again when I'm in Liverpool, in fact Liverpool are probably the last English team I would support ...... nae offence tae Scouse Hibee :greengrin