View Full Version : BBC Ham Shankers Post Keatings Goal As An OG.

22-10-2016, 04:31 PM
Why? (Other than them being biased Hun-worshipping crapbags still smarting from a certain series of events on May 21st and desperate to do us down at all costs...)

22-10-2016, 04:33 PM
I wish they would change it it's costing me 380 notes in winnings

22-10-2016, 04:41 PM
I wish they would change it it's costing me 380 notes in winnings

The live match thread gives it to Keatings.

22-10-2016, 04:42 PM
It was an o.g. all day long I'm afraid

22-10-2016, 04:43 PM
Bookies have already gave it as an o.g. I never made the game and was watching on here so I thought it was a keatings goal for ages, I had the money spent 3 times over

Callyballybe
22-10-2016, 04:56 PM
100% own goal. Massive deflection.

Not complaining though!

22-10-2016, 04:59 PM
It was going closer to the corner flag than the goal until the boy headed it

22-10-2016, 05:00 PM
100% own goal. Massive deflection.

Not complaining though!

Was Keatings shot going wide?

Callyballybe
22-10-2016, 05:02 PM

At the time, didn't think it was (could've been though.) But from behind the goals, the deflection was clear.

22-10-2016, 05:02 PM

I thought it was going wide of the keeper and into the corner of the net. Definite own goal though.

22-10-2016, 05:12 PM
Why? (Other than them being biased Hun-worshipping crapbags still smarting from a certain series of events on May 21st and desperate to do us down at all costs...)

That's what they're doing, Bob. In their intro to the hatefest tomorrow they referred to the 5-1 thrashing the Huns got the last time they played Celtc, then said that they might take comfort from the last time they were at Hampden - against Celtc.

(Did they beat them that time? I wasn't paying attention.)

I can't see any comfort for any Bluenose looking back to the last time they were at Hampden.

Last time they were at Hampden, they were 2-1 up and they bottled it - totally.

22-10-2016, 05:56 PM
OG all day long came off the defenders head like a bullet

22-10-2016, 05:58 PM
That's what they're doing, Bob. In their intro to the hatefest tomorrow they referred to the 5-1 thrashing the Huns got the last time they played Celtc, then said that they might take comfort from the last time they were at Hampden - against Celtc.

(Did they beat them that time? I wasn't paying attention.)

I can't see any comfort for any Bluenose looking back to the last time they were at Hampden.

Last time they were at Hampden, they were 2-1 up and they bottled it - totally.

To be honest, the events of 21st May have completely slipped my mind. Anybody care to refresh my memory?

22-10-2016, 06:51 PM
2 -1 up with a few minutes to go.

What happened?

22-10-2016, 06:57 PM
Not just the BBC

22-10-2016, 07:08 PM
It was going closer to the corner flag than the goal until the boy headed it

Agreed - it was a beauty of a header though :greengrin

22-10-2016, 07:09 PM
Not an OG just a deflection. Seen a lot worse deflections given to the boy who shot.

22-10-2016, 07:20 PM
It was definitely an og.

22-10-2016, 07:22 PM
No way Keatings shot was going in, definitely an own goal.

22-10-2016, 07:28 PM
Not an OG just a deflection. Seen a lot worse deflections given to the boy who shot.

It was an OG all day, wasn't going in so can hardly just be classed as a deflection, a bullet header.

22-10-2016, 07:30 PM
No way Keatings shot was going in, definitely an own goal.

Agreed. To me a deflection is when a player gets in the way but the boy Wedderburn deliberately headed the ball

22-10-2016, 07:34 PM
Whatever it was, we were due that wee break.

22-10-2016, 07:41 PM
Agreed. To me a deflection is when a player gets in the way but the boy Wedderburn deliberately headed the ball

No way was it a deflection it was a bullet header from Wedderburn. If it was a Hibs player it would have been a brilliant diving header.

22-10-2016, 07:43 PM
No way was it a deflection it was a bullet header from Wedderburn. If it was a Hibs player it would have been a brilliant diving header.

That's what I said, ya radge :greengrin

22-10-2016, 07:44 PM
Best goal of the game .

22-10-2016, 07:44 PM
That's what I said, ya radge :greengrin

And I'm agreeing with you ya radge :-)

22-10-2016, 07:49 PM
And I'm agreeing with you ya radge :-)

Right, just stop there. We cannae have three Radges posting on .net :greengrin

22-10-2016, 08:57 PM
Not just the BBC

Exactly. The Press Association are the arbiters for goals - all bookmakers and all media outlets go with their decisions.
All live feeds on BBC, Sky, bookies etc are direct from PA. The BBC & Sky are not wasting resources on having live texts on every game. It's one guy, probably a recent school leaver, feeding into them all.
As someone else said, the main BBC live text, encompassing all the games, gave it to Keatings and that will be because Tam McManus called it on the radio or that's how their reporter Scott Davie saw it.
PA got the Dumbarton own goal at Tannadice wrong today and it appeared everywhere - only to be corrected later.
It's certainly not a BBC conspiracy...

23-10-2016, 07:57 AM
I remember Wotherspoon scoring a debatable goal a few years back. I think the goal was initially attributed to him and then later it was changed to an og. Some bookies still payed out but Ladbrokes, the then stadium bookies refused to pay out.

23-10-2016, 08:07 AM
The keeper was diving to try and deal with the original shot and the deflection took it above his reach ..saying to me Keating s effort was on target !! You saw by his reaction when it went in that the deflection made a difference !

23-10-2016, 08:17 AM
The keeper was diving to try and deal with the original shot and the deflection took it above his reach ..saying to me Keating s effort was on target !! You saw by his reaction when it went in that the deflection made a difference !

Of course it made a difference, it stopped it going out for a goal kick :)

Definite own goal IMO

23-10-2016, 12:09 PM
Wasn't there but there's a good view from the back of the goal on the highlights, which suggests the ball was going well wide until the Pars guy gor his head in the way.

23-10-2016, 12:24 PM
In my book, if the shot was on target and deflected into the net, it's the shooter's goal. If the shot was going wide then it's an o.g.

23-10-2016, 01:39 PM
Looked to me like Keatings shot was going well wide until the Dunfermline lad decided to score the best goal of his career :greengrin

23-10-2016, 02:08 PM
Looked to me like Keatings shot was going well wide until the Dunfermline lad decided to score the best goal of his career :greengrin

Maybies not. The way that Keatings struck his shot suggested that his intention was to bend it into the corner of the net.

23-10-2016, 02:18 PM
Maybies not. The way that Keatings struck his shot suggested that his intention was to bend it into the corner of the net.

The fact is it was going across the face of goal when defenders head bulleted it into net so OG without a doubt.