View Full Version : Official Site: MARVIN BARTLEY RED CARD REDUCED TO YELLOW

RSS Bot
20-10-2016, 11:20 AM
More... (http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/6907)

20-10-2016, 11:20 AM
Lol

Salt N Sauzee
20-10-2016, 11:22 AM
Twice already this season. Unbelievable.

20-10-2016, 11:24 AM
Game changing decisions, just like the play offs last year, going against us. Maddening!

high bee
20-10-2016, 11:25 AM
Arguably 5 points cost over 4 games by these decisions.

20-10-2016, 11:25 AM
Great news but has again potentially cost us points. I don't even think it was a yellow but it saves their face a bit by giving it. It was NEVER a red card by any stretch of the imagination in the first place, so glad it's been rescinded now.

20-10-2016, 11:27 AM
Still feel aggrieved that he has been given a yellow, what for? Thankfully he won't be suspended now though. Although, two rescinded reds for the same player in four league games speaks volumes of the standard of refereeing in this league.

DarrenSQH
20-10-2016, 11:27 AM
How is it still considered a yellow for reckless dangerous play? Joke.

HibbySpurs
20-10-2016, 11:28 AM
All well & good and pleased he's available for selection.

Sadly, doesn't alter the fact we had to play the best part of an hour (again) due to a poor (as polite as I can be) refereeing decision which undoubtedly affected our chances of winning the game!!!!

Some sanctions against ref's would be welcome (e.g. even a token fine of say £50 for a wrong decision that potentially affected the outcome of the game).....

20-10-2016, 11:32 AM
It's a cop out to at least partially protect the integrity of our so called referees.

20-10-2016, 11:32 AM
Is this really what qualifies as a judgement? No transparency from an organisation that has a monopoly on the game.

Thursday, 20 October 2016A Disciplinary Tribunal convened today in accordance with the Judicial Panel Protocol to consider the following case:Player: Marvin Bartley (Hibernian)Match: Raith Rovers v Hibernian – 15 October 2016 (SPFL Championship)Case: Claim of wrongful dismissal for violent conductOutcome: Claim upheld – sending-off rescinded and substituted with a caution for recklessly dangerous play

20-10-2016, 11:33 AM
I'm getting hacked off with these bassas! Its even more annoying when players receive a retrospective red card for an offence against Hibs and one of our rivals reaps the reward of a player being suspended in a game against them.

20-10-2016, 11:49 AM
I'm getting hacked off with these bassas! Its even more annoying when players receive a retrospective red card for an offence against Hibs and one of our rivals reaps the reward of a player being suspended in a game against them.

:aok::agree:

20-10-2016, 11:58 AM
The ban resulting from a retrospective red card should be applied the next time the two teams meet, not during the next game, always has been and always will be a nonsense rule.

nellio
20-10-2016, 12:01 PM
The ban resulting from a retrospective red card should be applied the next time the two teams meet, not during the next game, always has been and always will be a nonsense rule.
Difficult to see a solution though what if the player moves or the club gets promoted/relegated etc? Might not play them again?

20-10-2016, 12:06 PM
Hopefully big Marvin doesn't see himself as being some sort of target for dubious Referees and he continues to play his normal game. Self confidence is a big thing.

20-10-2016, 12:20 PM
Excellent. Now where's our compensation for the points lost because of these shocking decisions? Are the refs in question going to be reprimanded? At least a public apology?

ShinyFantastic
20-10-2016, 12:21 PM
Disappointing news...

20-10-2016, 12:25 PM
Knew this would happen without a shadow of doubt. It was NEVER a red card!!

20-10-2016, 12:30 PM
Nonsense. It's not even a yellow.

20-10-2016, 12:31 PM
Another game changing decision. Joke.

20-10-2016, 12:35 PM
Must be a world record.

20-10-2016, 12:36 PM

:agree: Totally agree. To even things up I would like a new law to be introduced whereby the opposition have a player sent off (player should be someone who plays in a similar position or is pre selected by the player who had the red card rescinded) in the same minute of the game the next time they are the opposition. The red card will then be reduced to a yellow card a few days later over some tea and Hobnobs.

Hope that makes sense. :greengrin

20-10-2016, 12:36 PM
Once again a referee left with egg on his face.About time those so called refs were held to task for there incompetence.Bring back the Maltese :not worth

20-10-2016, 12:44 PM
Once again a referee left with egg on his face.About time those so called refs were held to task for there incompetence.Bring back the Maltese :not worth

Really think the ref cares one jot ? No chance.

In both cases, the ref almost fumbled the card in their haste to kick Bartley out of the game. Maybe the SPFL/SFA should just give them tasers to do the job properly :cb

20-10-2016, 12:48 PM
Did we appeal his red card against Dunfy on Saturday too? might have saved some time next week :wink: :greengrin

Dublin07
20-10-2016, 12:49 PM
What I found strange for both incidents was normally a ref will lecture a player at length before producing any coloured card. For both these red cards he was out with the red in a flash and didn't even appear to say a word to marvin.
These refs are either trying to get back at us for what we did on 21/05 or they are involved in dodgy betting on a red card. There is no way it's just a coincidence.

20-10-2016, 01:06 PM
The Raith player should be guilty of simulation !

20-10-2016, 01:09 PM
Lennon has to heap pressure on Saturdays ref (Alan Muir) by referencing this in the press conference.

FFS it wisnae even a yellow !!!

Posh Swanny
20-10-2016, 01:13 PM
Statement should read: "The midfielder will therefore be available for sending off in Saturday's trip to play Dunfermline."

20-10-2016, 01:20 PM
Just imagine the outrage if this happened to Andy Halliday.

Dublin07
20-10-2016, 01:22 PM
I can't believe I am actually going to say this but probably the best ref we have had this season was Craig Thompson. That's how bad it has become.

20-10-2016, 01:36 PM
Great news for us but again a decision that potentially cost us points!

HibbySpurs
20-10-2016, 01:57 PM
I can't believe I am actually going to say this but probably the best ref we have had this season was Craig Thompson. That's how bad it has become.

Actually (& my conscience had trouble with this at the time) I was thinking during the UTD game that Thomson's was the best refereeing performance I'd seen at a Hibs game all season!

Now I recall, I actually had to double check the match program to make sure it was him :greengrin:

20-10-2016, 01:57 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161020/1c40c3b1a82e7731b503616e94be4023.png

20-10-2016, 02:03 PM
Well if we didn't it before we do now, Hibs will get no favours from anyone or any where as the go through this league campaign.

20-10-2016, 02:09 PM
Actually (& my conscience had trouble with this at the time) I was thinking during the UTD game that Thomson's was the best refereeing performance I'd seen at a Hibs game all season!

Now I recall, I actually had to double check the match program to make sure it was him :greengrin:

Thomson has reffed us fairly in nearly every game he's taken since the 2012 cup final. tells you a lot considering his performance then and the ones prior to that. Last season he took our 2-1 home win against Livvy, the 2-2 Hearts game (which had hearts fans telling me it was because of him that they didnt win comfortably and must be a Hibby - oh the irony), and our 3-2 defeat to Falkirk in the playoffs - he gave a penalty to us but should have sent off McCracken.

20-10-2016, 02:34 PM
Its about time we started to part replay games from the minute of sending off/non sending off (retrospectively given later) with the resulting amount of players on the park and the scoreline as was. I think thats fair. It can be behind closed doors if must as its a shambles when it can cost points and possibly a lot of cash to some clubs. Need to be looking at being able to appeal a second yellow too.

20-10-2016, 02:38 PM

Completely hypothetical as this would NEVER happen to an OF player, ever !

20-10-2016, 02:40 PM
Its about time we started to part replay games from the minute of sending off/non sending off (retrospectively given later) with the resulting amount of players on the park and the scoreline as was. I think thats fair. It can be behind closed doors if must as its a shambles when it can cost points and possibly a lot of cash to some clubs. Need to be looking at being able to appeal a second yellow too.

I think you can appeal a yellow if it is for simulation. I think Shinnie of Aberdeen successfully appealed one.

Add Tony Watt this season.

20-10-2016, 02:45 PM
Nonsense. It's not even a yellow.

20-10-2016, 03:18 PM
Well if we didn't it before we do now, Hibs will get no favours from anyone or any where as the go through this league campaign.

I agree Hibs will get no favours Lago, but we are not looking for favours from anyone. All we want is a level playing field, consistency from referees (and their assistants who often get away wi murder IMO), and the rules to be applied correctly and fairly.

In other words, we expect officials to do their jobs properly. If they don't they should be held accountable. Enough is enough. The number of "mistakes" (lol) is beyond a joke.

20-10-2016, 03:43 PM
Alan Muir on Saturday someone is pulling our plonker with the scheduling.

What is this nonsense about the player having to attend for it to be nothing? SFA simply not fit for purpose and never have been. Totally corrupt.

20-10-2016, 04:00 PM
With what has happened to him, will Bartley now be holding back from going in for 50/50 tackles and so on now? Hibs can't afford to have players going into matches with that mindset.

20-10-2016, 04:04 PM
Alan Muir on Saturday someone is pulling our plonker with the scheduling.

What is this nonsense about the player having to attend for it to be nothing? SFA simply not fit for purpose and never have been. Totally corrupt.

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161020/1c598b2168af4aac85761e74f57d6eed.png

There's the difference between the English FA and the SFA.

20-10-2016, 04:51 PM

This is 100% correct and cannot be said enough. No way in a million years that this would ever happen to the OF and if it did they would be screaming from the rooftops with the press backing them up and calling for action by the authorities.

With us, not even a peep.

20-10-2016, 05:12 PM
With what has happened to him, will Bartley now be holding back from going in for 50/50 tackles and so on now? Hibs can't afford to have players going into matches with that mindset.

Can't imagine a ref being too keen on being the third one to be so wrong so might work out in the end.

Fergos
20-10-2016, 05:34 PM
Can't imagine a ref being too keen on being the third one to be so wrong so might work out in the end.

Aye same thoughts here, I think this just maybe work for us rather than against us....maybe.

20-10-2016, 05:56 PM

It might be the difference, but I think they are wrong with this one .... IMO it was exactly the type of foul that should draw a red, the Swansea guy had done him up like a Kipper as they say with a brilliant turn and as he sprinted away Xhaka just ran after him and swiped him down from behind without a though of trying to get the ball .... and I mean not a trip, but a swipe which could have put the Swansea lad on the treatment table.

20-10-2016, 06:00 PM
It might be the difference, but I think they are wrong with this one .... IMO it was exactly the type of foul that should draw a red, the Swansea guy had done him up like a Kipper as they say with a brilliant turn and as he sprinted away Xhaka just ran after him and swiped him down from behind without a though of trying to get the ball .... and I mean not a trip, but a swipe which could have put the Swansea lad on the treatment table.

Dreadful action by the FA.Could have been the end of the Swansea player's career if he had twisted as he fell.An excellent red card.

20-10-2016, 07:00 PM

You could be right Andy74. Marvin should therefore just go steaming in and boot the Pars players all over the shop on Saturday.

Just kidding. I know what you're saying. :greengrin

20-10-2016, 07:07 PM

Or two swift yellows that can't be appealed maybe

20-10-2016, 07:22 PM

:agree: Barts is almost untouchable.

20-10-2016, 08:01 PM

Yep. Different Culture....more of a Club.

(One for 80's kids there.....)

Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk

20-10-2016, 08:14 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161020/1c40c3b1a82e7731b503616e94be4023.png

Makes sense then. Although that's a silly rule.

20-10-2016, 08:23 PM
This is getting ridiculous.
Refs should be held more accountable for incorrect decisions that have a major effect on results.
As we are all well aware, we've had more than our share of scandalous decisions over the past several years that have cost us dearly.

Marco G
20-10-2016, 08:24 PM

Except that they scored from a corner that should clearly have been a goal kick, and Thomson was just a few yards from it!? Anyway, no argument that he is streets ahead of many of the refs we are getting.

20-10-2016, 09:11 PM
It's a cop out to at least partially protect the integrity of our so called referees.

They just don't have any integrity, the standard of refereeing in this country is an absolute disgrace!

20-10-2016, 09:42 PM
sure i read a few posters on here adamant that it was a red :hilarious

20-10-2016, 09:54 PM
Makes sense then. Although that's a silly rule.

I think Bartley is at the wind up there. It would be Lennons decision whether he attended or not.

20-10-2016, 11:42 PM
The refs should face sanctions or is admitting their wrong punishment enough?? :confused: