View Full Version : Still Game

07-10-2016, 07:30 PM
Only an hour to go. Very excited!

07-10-2016, 08:58 PM
Hmmmm

Hopefully just a slow start but, as I feared, that wasn't great at all.

07-10-2016, 09:01 PM
Hmmmm

Hopefully just a slow start but, as I feared, that wasn't great at all.

Agreed. :aok:

07-10-2016, 09:05 PM
As usual some absolutely side splitting stuff and a lot of unfunny slapstick.

07-10-2016, 09:06 PM
Not great,felt like it was just trying to introduce all the characters again and was too fragmented.

07-10-2016, 09:07 PM
I'm not that big a fan but there were enough laughs in it to make it worthwhile watching.

07-10-2016, 09:09 PM
I enjoyed it. Was always going to be hard to live up to hype but thought it had some good moments. Always hard after a 9 year break, especially since it had to reintroduce and introduce characters that some viewers had never seen (as it was broadcast in England as well for the first time).

07-10-2016, 09:10 PM
I actually really enjoyed it.

07-10-2016, 09:45 PM
I actually really enjoyed it.

Same here. Their big mistake was going with a diamond formation though :greengrin

07-10-2016, 10:21 PM
I really enjoyed it. Some bits weren't great and I think it suffered a bit being in HD but overall, very funny.

07-10-2016, 11:05 PM
Well, I laughed.
Streets ahead of all that American canned-laugherised crap that saturates the box these days.

08-10-2016, 01:12 AM
The first 6 series are available on netflix if anyones interested.

08-10-2016, 11:32 AM
I dinnae see what the appeal is to be honest.

08-10-2016, 11:58 AM
I thought it was pretty *****.

LustForLeith
08-10-2016, 12:07 PM
I've never found Still Game or Chewin The Fat funny. Always thought I was in the minority

09-10-2016, 03:57 AM
It's lazily written I think. Hard to credit this is the pinnacle of Scots TV comedy.

09-10-2016, 08:19 AM
There were a few gems among all the dross.

09-10-2016, 05:32 PM
I recorded it on Friday and just watched it back today. Thought it was pretty good tbh and I expect that the rest of the series will be better. Because it's been so long they had to reintroduce all of the characters, now that's over with we should see some funny stories.

Neil4Hibs
10-10-2016, 02:21 PM
I really enjoyed it. A lot of my friends down here were seeing it for the first time, and they all thought it was very funny.

Would I Lie to You, Have I Got News for You then Still Game is a pretty good hour and a half for Friday evening on BBC!

10-10-2016, 08:24 PM
I'm a massive fan so been very much looking forward to its return. Thought Friday's episode was good, although there have obviously been far better episodes in previous series. I actually watched it again last night and laughed more second time around. Will be better episodes ahead now that, as others have alluded to, the reintroductions have been done.

14-10-2016, 10:30 PM
Just watched the latest one on BBCi.
Very disappointing. The canned laughter was blatantly obvious in the opening scenes.

14-10-2016, 10:57 PM
Was brilliant tonight.

16-10-2016, 08:05 AM
Didn't watch the first one but thought the second was very funny.

David_D
16-10-2016, 11:28 AM
Thought they were both good but thought second one was much funnier.

16-10-2016, 05:21 PM
Brilliant last night, quite a few laugh out loud moments as is the norm with Still Game. Winstons unfortunate stumble as the pallbearer a highlight :greengrin

16-10-2016, 08:51 PM
Thought it was ***** again.

17-10-2016, 10:36 AM
I've enjoyed both so far. However, you can tell where it's been softened for the English viewers.

17-10-2016, 11:08 AM
Hardly laughed at the 2nd one but still quite enjoyed it, just sat there with a wee smile on my face all the way through. Thought the first was way better.

17-10-2016, 12:01 PM
Im enjoying it enough to watch it, but its not the same. Some bits were just too far i.e the new barman and Methadone Mikey (or whatever his name is), I thoght he was a terrible character and appears he is in it next week so makes me think he is a 'new reoccuring one

17-10-2016, 01:47 PM
Im enjoying it enough to watch it, but its not the same. Some bits were just too far i.e the new barman and Methadone Mikey (or whatever his name is), I thoght he was a terrible character and appears he is in it next week so makes me think he is a 'new reoccuring one

Haven't yet seen it but I imagine as a replacement for Pete the jakey - the departed and much missed Jake D'Arcy.

17-10-2016, 02:58 PM
Haven't yet seen it but I imagine as a replacement for Pete the jakey - the departed and much missed Jake D'Arcy.

Yes it is, if you watch this weeks episode you will know what I mean. They didnt need to replace him though, and the guy they have replaced him with just isny that good.

17-10-2016, 03:30 PM
Yes it is, if you watch this weeks episode you will know what I mean. They didnt need to replace him though, and the guy they have replaced him with just isny that good.

The new guy has had a short cameo give him a chance eh.