View Full Version : Champions league

Jamesconnolly
03-10-2016, 05:24 PM
Has anyone any idea how many tickets we've sold for this ?:flag::flag:

03-10-2016, 05:55 PM
There are dots to be counted for anyone willing.

04-10-2016, 10:20 AM
My guess would be 1,500 for this one

04-10-2016, 10:22 AM
Says over 800 on the official website.

Saturday Boy
04-10-2016, 10:26 AM
There were 1199 at Glasgow City's match against Chelsea in last years Round of 32. It would be good if we could do better than that.

04-10-2016, 10:32 AM
Says over 800 on the official website.

Not read article Craig, thought they may have got bigger crowd with it being Bayern

04-10-2016, 10:34 AM
Not read article Craig, thought they may have got bigger crowd with it being Bayern

Also says they expect quite a few walk-ups, so I don't think your guess of 1500 will be too far off. Also says just the West stand will be open for this.

Me and 2 mates are probably going to head along but haven't got tickets yet; reckon there's a few folk in the same boat.

04-10-2016, 11:09 AM
What is the format of tomorrow's match? Is this a first leg, or a one-off tie with extra time &/or penalties if needed?

04-10-2016, 11:12 AM
Not bought a ticket yet but planning to head along. Would be good to get a decent crowd in for this.

tanfield
04-10-2016, 11:57 AM
Got tickets this morning. Only appears to be lower tier available / being sold.

04-10-2016, 01:16 PM
Bayern ladies arrived in Edinburgh at lunch time today.

04-10-2016, 02:12 PM
Anyone know if it'll be PATG tomorrow night.

04-10-2016, 02:42 PM
Heading up for this .... there had better be a pay at the gate option or I'll be watching it in the pub :greengrin

C'mon the lassies :flag:

04-10-2016, 02:42 PM
What is the format of tomorrow's match? Is this a first leg, or a one-off tie with extra time &/or penalties if needed?

Two legged format.....

Saturday Boy
04-10-2016, 03:24 PM
Two legged format.....

I think you've been too subtle for some with this. I thought it was funny.:wink:

Hibeesforever
04-10-2016, 07:31 PM
Tickets for myself and kids purchased. Looking forward to this, the team deserves a big support.

04-10-2016, 08:38 PM
For those who can't make it I think the game is on BBC Alba

05-10-2016, 05:01 PM
Looks like the first team are all going to support too which is good too see

05-10-2016, 05:46 PM
Someone gonna do a match updates thread for the ladies?

05-10-2016, 05:52 PM
Think this is it! If you can, get along!

05-10-2016, 05:57 PM
Bayern are anywhere from 1/7 to 1/20 with the bookies, should be goals in this game.

05-10-2016, 06:00 PM
The match is on Alba.

05-10-2016, 06:02 PM
Bayern are anywhere from 1/7 to 1/20 with the bookies, should be goals in this game.

This reads suspiciously like you're now taking an interest in the women's game BH :whistle:

05-10-2016, 06:04 PM
This reads suspiciously like you're now taking an interest in the women's game BH :whistle:

Eh naw, Coronation street clashes with this blockbuster. :duck:

05-10-2016, 06:05 PM
Eh naw, Coronation street clashes with this blockbuster. :duck:

Well don't go putting any money on it. That's money that could have gambled on the men's team :greengrin

05-10-2016, 06:07 PM
Well don't go putting any money on it. That's money that could have gambled on the men's team :greengrin

EXACTLY. :greengrin

patch1875
05-10-2016, 06:08 PM
Not many ladies going to present tonight bake off is on.

05-10-2016, 06:13 PM
All that talk of betting has got me thinking, just put a fiver on 0-8 at 66/1, you never know?

05-10-2016, 06:17 PM
It'll be a tough challenge for hibs tonight but I'll be watching hoping they can cause an upset.

05-10-2016, 06:21 PM
mon the ladies, hope they have a great night

05-10-2016, 06:26 PM
what a braw looking stadium :agree:

05-10-2016, 06:33 PM
Bayern must have got the beach towels down in our dugout this morning.

05-10-2016, 06:34 PM
THE TV CAMERAS ARE BACK IN THE EAST.

All is right with the world again.

05-10-2016, 06:36 PM

Where they should be.

05-10-2016, 06:37 PM
The pitch looks bigger when filmed from there.

0-1

1-0 bayern after 5mins 23 secs

Lennon in charge of defending corners? 0-1.

Not now it isn't

0-1

And the colour is their strips!

05-10-2016, 06:38 PM
Bloody zonal marking at corners. Get it sorted😡

Schoolgirl defending

Lennon in charge of defending corners? 0-1.

can't blame lennon, hanlon didn't even jump

05-10-2016, 06:39 PM
If someone's on that back post that is cleared, never understand why you don't cover both posts.

05-10-2016, 06:40 PM
Should have had someone on the post.....

05-10-2016, 06:41 PM
Schoolgirl defending

😂😂

05-10-2016, 06:42 PM
lol c'mon the hibs in a 165 decibel voice

hibee62
05-10-2016, 06:45 PM
Stewards not prepared for the size of the crowd it seems. Bayern flags moved to the south stand...

05-10-2016, 06:52 PM
lucky the bar got in the road

05-10-2016, 06:52 PM
Whos singing?!

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

hibee62
05-10-2016, 06:53 PM
Whos singing?!

There's a group of 20-30 Bayern fans at the south end.

05-10-2016, 06:53 PM
There's a group of 20-30 Bayern fans at the south end.
Oh aye.

05-10-2016, 06:54 PM
Whos singing?!

Bayern fans

05-10-2016, 06:55 PM
Looks like our 'keeper curse' extends to the ladies. Lucky lady there.

05-10-2016, 06:55 PM
This is murder :hilarious

05-10-2016, 06:56 PM
One.chance at a cross from the left and it's a cracker. What's she doing on Sat?

05-10-2016, 06:57 PM
This is murder :hilarious
Better quality of football at the Pitz in Portobello. Before anyone pipes up about sexism, just don't.

2-0 booooooo

Great goal from the frauleins.

0-2 not looking good

Some finish, this might go double figures now

05-10-2016, 06:59 PM
Some finish btw.

Bayern knock the ball about really well, Hibs trying hard but chasing shadows at times.

male fans singing at a ladies game is quite ermmm..odd

The difference between the 2 teams says it all.

Is the Hibs coach James Corden?

05-10-2016, 07:01 PM
Is the Hibs coach James Corden?

See Budge having a look at the stadium there.

hertz owner budge singing bayern songs

05-10-2016, 07:02 PM
The Budgie's at the Birds fitbaw 😂

05-10-2016, 07:02 PM

Definite look of jealousy there.

05-10-2016, 07:03 PM
She'll start ripping up seats and chucking stuff about any minute.

05-10-2016, 07:04 PM
This is women against girls....

The Captain....
05-10-2016, 07:06 PM

Bit of a wistful expression on her face at the time...you could almost hear her thinking, no rust, no bird***** all over the seats, no John Robertson Memorial air raid shelter, seats not 5mm from the one in front etc etc etc...

05-10-2016, 07:08 PM
There's the same difference between the men's team as the women's this could end up a right hammering for Hibs. Hibs are struggling to get two passes together

05-10-2016, 07:09 PM

Oh dear 0-3

05-10-2016, 07:10 PM
Superb header.

Flipping Germans eh? Even the ladies are better than our lot.

To be fair if it was the mens' teams against each other the score wouldn't be much different.

where's the pitch invasion when yi want one

05-10-2016, 07:11 PM
I'm just waiting for the shirt swap to be honest.

05-10-2016, 07:12 PM
Our record home defeat score against European opposition could be under threat here

05-10-2016, 07:14 PM
Any more goals and the boo girls will be making their feelings known.

05-10-2016, 07:18 PM
Tough half for the girls. They are up against a really good side though. Bayern are knocking the ball about, and are technically, better than any other team I have seen at ER this season.

05-10-2016, 07:20 PM
Chelsea Ladies also getting a doing by Wolfsburg.

05-10-2016, 07:21 PM
Final score predictions? Got 0-6 all over it. Really do hope we somehow get a goal.

05-10-2016, 07:24 PM

The Germans have been know throughout history for the odd invasion here or there, every bleepin where... ;)

05-10-2016, 07:25 PM
I'll be honest, I'm surprised at the quality of the Munich team. Very comfortable on the ball and their pressing game off it is also very good. Do Hibs ladies look as good when they come up against significantly weaker opposition in Scotland?

Crowd seems reasonable, west lower seems to be about 75% full (unless it's quieter at the other end).

05-10-2016, 07:26 PM
Tough half for the girls. They are up against a really good side though. Bayern are knocking the ball about, and are technically, better than any other team I have seen at ER this season.

I think the Bayern team would give a few championship teams a run for there money ... you can see there a full time professional team

TBH I'm quite enjoying watching it on TV, would have liked to get along but other half is working

Good to see the first team , Rod, Leeann & even Anne budge there supporting the ladies game

05-10-2016, 07:26 PM
Ach well
Naebody expected us to win this game.
Just hope the girls keep the score doon a bit.
They are giving it their best so far.
A goal would be a great lift for them.
And the rest of us, after the past few games (men's team of course).
An achievement to be playing a team of the calibre of BM who are all full time (i think)
Could be a Malmo or more,though.
But that would be no slight on the girls.
Sorry for the reminder !

Hibernian played Bayern Munich in a friendly, or what was termed a Floodlight Challenge match back in 1958 at the Holy Ground
We won 3 0
Bayern were nae slouches back then, either.

Back then as we had floodlights (another first, of course) many big sides from across the globe came to Easter Road for these type of games.
Must have been a wonder indeed to see all the world stars of football playing at the Holy Ground.

Tactics for 2nd half.

We could get this game abandoned,if we invade early and goad the Munich fans.

05-10-2016, 07:28 PM
Good attendance of 2551

Some finish btw.

Bayern knock the ball about really well, Hibs trying hard but chasing shadows at times.

Just as it'd be if oor men were oot there :cool2:

I think the Bayern team would give a few championship teams a run for there money ... you can see there a full time professional team

TBH I'm quite enjoying watching it on TV, would have liked to get along but other half is working

Good to see the first team , Rod, Leeann & even Anne budge there supporting the ladies game

No chance, in fact i'd say that young 13 year old laddie at celtc would run rings round these lot all day long.

05-10-2016, 07:31 PM

I doubt it but it's a pointless argument. I hadn't realised Bayern had won the woman's Bundesliga. Must make them in the top 4 for the trophy. I saw Hibs Siobhan Hunter playing for her primary team once and she was outstanding. Better than any of the boys and Hibs daft.

05-10-2016, 07:32 PM
Good attendance of 2551

Was that not about the record in Scotland? Certainly for a club match.

05-10-2016, 07:32 PM
Good attendance of 2551

Superb for a midweek game on TV - well done to all who have turned out.

The Captain....
05-10-2016, 07:35 PM
Huge difference in strength, technique, and speed of thought between the two sides as you'd expect with Bayern being full time. Really difficult to bridge that gap in experience, ability, fitness etc.

Hibs lasses looked best when they pressed in groups higher up the pitch but I dont think they have the confidence or fitness to do it throughout a half..the Bayern team do knock the ball around pretty well and look like scoring from set pieces every time they get one.

05-10-2016, 07:42 PM

05-10-2016, 07:43 PM
The way stevenson was ripped apart there for the 4th was criminal.

05-10-2016, 07:44 PM

Where did the defence go 😳

05-10-2016, 07:45 PM
Where did the defence go 😳

Probably doing the dishes from the half time scran.

05-10-2016, 07:48 PM

sigh

05-10-2016, 07:48 PM
Absolutely hopeless at defending these corners

05-10-2016, 07:49 PM
5-0 i'm getting a little excited now. :greengrin

05-10-2016, 07:50 PM
The ball makes a right clatter when it hits the bar.

05-10-2016, 07:51 PM
All that talk of betting has got me thinking, just put a fiver on 0-8 at 66/1, you never know?

Looking like a real good bet.. is there a cash oot option as it could be more?

05-10-2016, 07:52 PM
5-0 i'm getting a little excited now. :greengrin

8-0 must be the favourite score now

and now a penalty, keep yer hands down in the box hen :(

6-0

penalty 6-0 :thumbsup:

05-10-2016, 07:53 PM
Was 8-0 66/1?

Northern Hibby
05-10-2016, 07:53 PM
Men against boys, no pun or condescension intended, Bayern seem to be a more technical/fitter side 😔

05-10-2016, 07:54 PM
6-0? Are Bayern playing their men's side?

Men against boys, no pun or condescension intended, Bayern seem to be a more technical/fitter side 😔

Just like when any Full Time professional team plays part timers

Can we cut out the causal sexism. Really no need for it.

05-10-2016, 07:55 PM
What is wrong with Andy McNeils face?

05-10-2016, 07:56 PM

Some people just can't help sharing how utterly hilarious they think they are.

05-10-2016, 07:57 PM
Are the Bayern fans at the game folk who live local? Would be surprised if they brought over a travelling support from Bavaria.

Northern Hibby
05-10-2016, 07:57 PM
What is wrong with Andy McNeils face?

More to the point WTF is with that jacket??

05-10-2016, 07:58 PM
Some people just can't help sharing how utterly hilarious they think they are.

oddly enough the usual two

05-10-2016, 08:00 PM
Hibs looking knackered - been some shift for them..

hibee62
05-10-2016, 08:05 PM
Are the Bayern fans at the game folk who live local? Would be surprised if they brought over a travelling support from Bavaria.

A couple of them have shirts with the names of some of the women's team on them, so may have more than a passing interest in the women's team.

05-10-2016, 08:06 PM
This is the best ladies team I've seen. They find each other instinctively and always seem to have a player free.
Certainly they are classier than England or Scotland who are the only other teams I've watched.

WellingtonHibby
05-10-2016, 08:07 PM
Probably doing the dishes from the half time scran.

Absolutely no need for that sort of chat.

It would be worse in the men's fixture. They'd beat us by fifteen.

penalty number two

missed, game on :)

hibbytam
05-10-2016, 08:08 PM
penalty 6-0 :thumbsup:

Can't believe any hibs fan would celebrate a goal against any hibs team.....

05-10-2016, 08:09 PM
Bayern are a class above Hibs here. They've been excellent.

05-10-2016, 08:09 PM
This is the best ladies team I've seen. They find each other instinctively and always seem to have a player free.
Certainly they are classier than England or Scotland who are the only other teams I've watched.

Yup - top side.

05-10-2016, 08:10 PM
Come on Hibs! Not seven nil please!

05-10-2016, 08:10 PM
penalty number two

Second soft pen. Just like in the men's CL, ref doing best to ensure that the big club goes through.

05-10-2016, 08:11 PM
It would be worse in the men's fixture. They'd beat us by fifteen.

I reckon a full strength Bayern would beat us about 8-0 at Easter Road. Considering that would be two full time teams against each other the ladies have done not bad tonight.

05-10-2016, 08:13 PM
I reckon a full strength Bayern would beat us about 8-0 at Easter Road. Considering that would be two full time teams against each other the ladies have done not bad tonight.

I don't think we'll ever put it to the test, but I'd guess they'd hit double figures at their best.

05-10-2016, 08:13 PM
all hibs noo :greengrin

05-10-2016, 08:14 PM

Absolutely no danger. Any male team in any of the professional/semi-professional leagues in England/Scotland would absolutely obliterate them. The Australian national team played against an under 15 school team and lost 7-0. IIRC the USA national team, who were among the favourites to win the world cup, also got humped 7/8-0 by a team of school kids.

Comparing it to the men's game is just daft. Night and day.

05-10-2016, 08:15 PM
hibs choir finally singing :greengrin

05-10-2016, 08:17 PM
Absolutely no danger. Any male team in any of the professional/semi-professional leagues in England/Scotland would absolutely obliterate them. The Australian national team played against an under 15 school team and lost 7-0. IIRC the USA national team, who were among the favourites to win the world cup, also got humped 7/8-0 by a team of school kids.

Comparing it to the men's game is just daft. Night and day.

Have to agree. Teams like Spartans and Linlithgow Rose would beat them let alone Championship teams.

Edit - It was the USA ladies team against the USA men's under 17 side and the boys won 8-2.

05-10-2016, 08:19 PM
Wonder what salaries Bayern players are on? Did a quick google search but can't find anything

05-10-2016, 08:20 PM
No disgrace there. The mens team lost 6-0 to Barcelona in a friendly, the gap here was similar.

05-10-2016, 08:23 PM
No disgrace there. The mens team lost 6-0 to Barcelona in a friendly, the gap here was similar.

Aye, a tough lesson for them against the best. They'll have learnt a lot against a team at that level which they can put to use.

One less than Malmo.

good experience for them irrespective of result

05-10-2016, 08:24 PM
Decent report on SSN. Always good to see the great Hibernian name in the limelight.

05-10-2016, 08:24 PM
Game was played in a good spirit. No diving around etc. Very refreshing.

05-10-2016, 08:25 PM
Let Bayern gloat. The fact is that they have been scared to face us in the men's game, as they know they'll get humped like the last time.

Northern Hibby
05-10-2016, 08:26 PM
Nice to see the girls with the fans!

05-10-2016, 08:29 PM
what a cracking stadium easter road looks, all seats the same shade of green

05-10-2016, 08:30 PM
Despite the scoreline I quite enjoyed watching that. Not watched a lot of women's football but there was quite a gulf between the two teams, to be expected given Bayern ladies are full time.

Northern Hibby
05-10-2016, 08:35 PM
Despite the scoreline I quite enjoyed watching that. Not watched a lot of women's football but there was quite a gulf between the two teams, to be expected given Bayern ladies are full time.

Ditto!

hfcok
05-10-2016, 08:37 PM

The British ladies teams need to go full time to compete with the best in Europe, Chelsea the English champions got beat 3-0 at home by Wolfsburg,so its not just the famous Hibees.

05-10-2016, 08:42 PM
Good attendance of 2551

That will beat some SPL home crowds this season.

05-10-2016, 08:45 PM
Quite a mismatch tonight but the Hibs lassies did their best. Clearly Bayern operate at a different level entirely from the Scottish ladies game. Hopefully this heavy defeat won't affect their confidence and they gain something from it. They'll seldom come up against a team as professional as tonight's opponents.

05-10-2016, 08:51 PM
That will beat some SPL home crowds this season.

It has already. 900 more than Accies got on Saturday

05-10-2016, 09:01 PM
It was men against boys..........
Did well to keep it to 6, the German no. 7 was outstanding & ours was pretty good, great crowd, but Mr. Petrie; nae pies at half time?

Green_one
05-10-2016, 09:03 PM
Quite a mismatch tonight but the Hibs lassies did their best. Clearly Bayern operate at a different level entirely from the Scottish ladies game. Hopefully this heavy defeat won't affect their confidence and they gain something from it. They'll seldom come up against a team as professional as tonight's opponents.

Just back. Thought the Hibs captain and Lizzie Arnot (who remined me a bit of Alex Cropley) did really well. All the girls performed well against a mismatch. Will have learned a lot. Frankly if you take out the set pieces (especially the corners) Hibs did OK. Good crowd. :flag:

05-10-2016, 09:03 PM
I was disappointed in the hibs expected a wee bit more upfront, we just defended all game stills decent crowd and it was a experience for the girls

05-10-2016, 09:08 PM
Hopefully the girls dont have to read some of the usual pish from the sexually frustrated dinosaurs on this forum.

Bayern were superb tonight. Every single player a full time athlete, strong, fast, great with both feet. The game is miles ahead of the scottish and most of the English teams. It just shows what a little bit of investment can do to grow the game.

Hibs worked hard but playing a 451 meant they spent the whole game just chasing shadows. Disappointed that Chris didn't try and press the game higher up the park in the 2nd half when the game was already done. Lots to learn and lots to work on for everyone involved in the game in Scotland.

Well done to those that turned up, more singing from the 2500 than we get at easter rd with 16000 on a Sat. :flag:

hibsdaft
05-10-2016, 09:16 PM
A couple of them have shirts with the names of some of the women's team on them, so may have more than a passing interest in the women's team.

maybe they're HABs :dunno:

05-10-2016, 09:18 PM
Thought Hibs were brilliant tbh.

Surely no Hibs team would ever have been such big underdogs as part time v one of the best in the world? Were any of the Hibs girls working this morning!?

I was really impressed with the Hibs ball control, carrying it out from the back, the heart and effort they put in for 93 mins (musta been knackered having chased it all game) and just how comfortable they seemed with the ball. In those aspects they were remarkably not that far off Munich.

When it came to defensive positioning, off the ball movement, marking, physicality, set pieces and game management Munich were streets ahead and that's what comes from training full time and not having another job/world.

Nothing embarrassing by a 6-0 that included a harsh penalty.

Might get myself along to a couple of games now that I realise I completely underestimated the womens game in Scotland.

05-10-2016, 09:19 PM
Oh and worth pointing out that Wolfsburg beat full time (i think) Chelsea 3-0 in London.

And *cough* Malmo.

05-10-2016, 09:31 PM
Oh and worth pointing out that Wolfsburg beat full time (i think) Chelsea 3-0 in London.

Think Wolfsburg even have a full time gamer playing for them.

05-10-2016, 09:35 PM
Thought Hibs were brilliant tbh.

Surely no Hibs team would ever have been such big underdogs as part time v one of the best in the world? Were any of the Hibs girls working this morning!?

I was really impressed with the Hibs ball control, carrying it out from the back, the heart and effort they put in for 93 mins (musta been knackered having chased it all game) and just how comfortable they seemed with the ball. In those aspects they were remarkably not that far off Munich.

When it came to defensive positioning, off the ball movement, marking, physicality, set pieces and game management Munich were streets ahead and that's what comes from training full time and not having another job/world.

Nothing embarrassing by a 6-0 that included a harsh penalty.

Might get myself along to a couple of games now that I realise I completely underestimated the womens game in Scotland.

Well said.

05-10-2016, 09:47 PM
First time I've watched women's football and I was pleasantly surprised by the skill level shown by Bayern.

However it was difficult to actually enjoy a game where the Hibs players were struggling for the entire 90 minutes. That was the inevitable consequence of the mismatch between full time professionals and our own amateurs.

05-10-2016, 09:49 PM
The British ladies teams need to go full time to compete with the best in Europe, Chelsea the English champions got beat 3-0 at home by Wolfsburg,so its not just the famous Hibees.

English sides are full time professionals and there is plenty money now involved in their game. Hopefully we can start to see proper investments in our game up here as our clubs are doing well without the funding, imagine the potential with a bit of backing and training full time.

05-10-2016, 09:51 PM
First time I've watched women's football and I was pleasantly surprised by the skill level shown by Bayern.

However it was difficult to actually enjoy a game where the Hibs players were struggling for the entire 90 minutes. That was the inevitable consequence of the mismatch between full time professionals and our own amateurs.

It's not that inevitable. The Hibs men's team have lost away with reasonable frequency against part time teams!

05-10-2016, 09:53 PM
Bayern are a class above Hibs here. They've been excellent.

Indeed they were some of their players were fantastic

My first experience in the flesh of ladies football and I have to say I enjoyed it.

Its clearly a different proposition to mens football, but the fact that Bayern were so much better (understandably) gave them a chance to play some really decent football and to be honest it was good to watch.

Their no's 7, 8 10 & 33 stood out for me and the number 18 (Ex Hibs, I think) looked like a good player when she was close enough to see. Their defence were completely untroubled and the keeper had nothing to do.

Hibs battled gamely but were totally overpowered and to be honest it made me think why cant Hibs mens team do a similar job to that over their opponents this year.

An earlier poster said that the same would happen full time v part time mens teams, but I have yet to see any evidence of Hibs doing so.

Will be interesting to see how Hibs ladies react as they are usually the team handing out that level of tanking to their opponenets.

I would be interested to see a contest between 2 more evenly matched ladies teams in future

05-10-2016, 09:55 PM
Just back, best for Hibs, No.6, the captain, she reminded me of Murdo McLeod, lovely left peg, nice control, worked tirelessly. No.7 reminded me of Sammy Stanton for some reason, again she worked hard and you could see there's a player in there but the quality of the opposition gave very little opportunity for any of the Hibs players to shine. As the teams lined up before kick off it was apparant that every single Bayern player was bigger than every single Hibs player. Keen amateurs rarely succeed against super fit professionals and tonight merely reflected the gulf between the German game and the Scottish game. Still, I enjoyed the evening and £7 to watch the probable champions of Europe isn't to be scoffed at. Crowd was impressive too, almost as much as the yams got for Medals McKays testimonial

05-10-2016, 09:55 PM
It's not that inevitable. The Hibs men's team have lost away with reasonable frequency against part time teams!

Aye, we've lost some crackers at home too. Easter Road just isn't an intimidating stadium to come to, even for underdogs. The lack of atmosphere in the stadium really detracts from our home advantage. Look at Celtic - they are absolutely pish away from home in the CL, but take a world class team to Celtic Park and it's a different story.

I'd be interested to see our home record since the East was built.

05-10-2016, 10:29 PM
Manchester City are now English Champions while Chelsea were runners up. Both are full time professional teams and Chelsea are obviously way below the level of Wolfsburg.

Bayern were bigger, stronger and fitter than Hibs, so to keep the winning margin in single figures, especially after have two dodgy penalties given against them.

05-10-2016, 10:30 PM
Just back. Thought the Hibs captain and Lizzie Arnot (who remined me a bit of Alex Cropley) did really well. All the girls performed well against a mismatch. Will have learned a lot. Frankly if you take out the set pieces (especially the corners) Hibs did OK. Good crowd. :flag:

Was she driving a taxi?

05-10-2016, 11:26 PM
Well, that turned out just as I thought it would, it was pretty clear from the get go that the Bayern girls were bigger, fitter and extremely well coached, their pace movement and quick passing left our lot chasing shadows at times, hardly surprising when you consider they have some of the best players in Germany, if not the whole of Europe and are full time.

We didn't have a failure on the pitch as far as effort was concerned, but I did think we let Bayern have it too easy when they had the ball in their half and as a result they could build up moves almost at will, I would have liked to see us press them much higher up the park, we also didn't press them at throw ins, even deep in their own half, which IMO was our best chance to put some pressure on. Best for Hibs was the girl playing number 6 who was immense in the first half especially.

At the end of the day no matter the score the girls didn't disgrace themselves and showed in flashes that they can play a bit, you can see why they do so well domestically, I hope they enjoy their trip to Germany.

As somebody else said the crowd of over 2,500 would have done justice to some of the clubs in the Premier league, never mind the Championship, a pretty good turn out all told ....... the queue at the pie stalls was bloody enormous, didn't anybody feed their kids before leaving the house :greengrin

Went out for a fag at half time and noticed Ann Budge making a run for her flash motor, I presume she had to leave early because after spending 45 minutes in a proper football stadium she realised that for 12 million quid you have to be able to do better than a single tier stand with corporate facilities facing in the wrong direction.

Nutmegged
06-10-2016, 05:41 AM
Second soft pen. Just like in the men's CL, ref doing best to ensure that the big club goes through.

I seriously doubt the referee gave that second penalty at 6-0 with 6 away goals in the bag to ensure Bayern finalise this tie :greengrin

06-10-2016, 06:51 AM
Well, that turned out just as I thought it would, it was pretty clear from the get go that the Bayern girls were bigger, fitter and extremely well coached, their pace movement and quick passing left our lot chasing shadows at times, hardly surprising when you consider they have some of the best players in Germany, if not the whole of Europe and are full time.

We didn't have a failure on the pitch as far as effort was concerned, but I did think we let Bayern have it too easy when they had the ball in their half and as a result they could build up moves almost at will, I would have liked to see us press them much higher up the park, we also didn't press them at throw ins, even deep in their own half, which IMO was our best chance to put some pressure on. Best for Hibs was the girl playing number 6 who was immense in the first half especially.

At the end of the day no matter the score the girls didn't disgrace themselves and showed in flashes that they can play a bit, you can see why they do so well domestically, I hope they enjoy their trip to Germany.

As somebody else said the crowd of over 2,500 would have done justice to some of the clubs in the Premier league, never mind the Championship, a pretty good turn out all told ....... the queue at the pie stalls was bloody enormous, didn't anybody feed their kids before leaving the house :greengrin

Went out for a fag at half time and noticed Ann Budge making a run for her flash motor, I presume she had to leave early because after spending 45 minutes in a proper football stadium she realised that for 12 million quid you have to be able to do better than a single tier stand with corporate facilities facing in the wrong direction.

6 was Lisa Robertson for Hibs. In the scottish game she is pretty much the best holding mid in the league. But then you put her up against the no8 of Bayern. She was immense and just ran the whole show.

There was a goal in the 2nd half that Liza Evans set up, a direct run to the byline, cut back, easy tap in for a finish. Its the move the Hibs men are crying out for but only attempt about 4 times a season! But you look at Liza and she was the same level as these Hibs girls 3 seasons ago, then a move abroad and a move to Bayern and she is 100% better. As a nation we hold players back, poor diets, poor coaching....and thats the same in the mens game.

06-10-2016, 07:16 AM
Hibs worked hard but playing a 451 meant they spent the whole game just chasing shadows. Disappointed that Chris didn't try and press the game higher up the park in the 2nd half when the game was already done. Lots to learn and lots to work on for everyone involved in the game in Scotland.

This sums things up perfectly for me. The coach made a mistake by adjusting his team's formation for this game. With one up front, the ladies were guaranteed to be under the cosh for the entire game. The reason Hibs looked much better for the last ten minutes or so was no doubt partly due to the fact that Bayern knew the tie was over, but certainly due in part to the fact that Hibs had three up front and support from midfield.

Chris should revert to the normal attacking style for the away leg and see what happens - it hardly maters now.

Well done ladies and good luck next week. :aok:

06-10-2016, 07:32 AM
This sums things up perfectly for me. The coach made a mistake by adjusting his team's formation for this game. With one up front, the ladies were guaranteed to be under the cosh for the entire game. The reason Hibs looked much better for the last ten minutes or so was no doubt partly due to the fact that Bayern knew the tie was over, but certainly due in part to the fact that Hibs had three up front and support from midfield.

Chris should revert to the normal attacking style for the away leg and see what happens - it hardly maters now.

Well done ladies and good luck next week. :aok:

:agree: On the few occasions we had the ball going forward there was typically the ball carrier and only two in support, up against 5-6 Germans, meaning fewer options and the likelihood that the ball would be lost and then come straight back at us. That said, the Germans were so much on top that it's hard to blame most of the team for taking a breather when they had the chance.

GreenPJ
06-10-2016, 08:40 AM
Who was the Hibs no 7? Great technique and a few tricks, just not quite strong enough to compete yet with Munich but think she could go abroad and turn into a very good player.

Saturday Boy
06-10-2016, 08:45 AM
Who was the Hibs no 7? Great technique and a few tricks, just not quite strong enough to compete yet with Munich but think she could go abroad and turn into a very good player.

No 7 is Lizzie Arnot. A terrific player and has recently been capped by Scotland. Made the headlines when she was younger by playing for Edinburgh City's Boys Club. She scored the winning goal (with the help of a couple of deflections) when Hibs beat Glasgow City in the League Cup Final this season and on 90+2 minutes as well.

06-10-2016, 09:05 AM
No 7 is Lizzie Arnot. A terrific player and has recently been capped by Scotland. Made the headlines when she was younger by playing for Edinburgh City's Boys Club. She scored the winning goal (with the help of a couple of deflections) when Hibs beat Glasgow City in the League Cup Final this season and on 90+2 minutes as well.

Was that just 7s she played with Edin City? I can't think of very many that have stayed in the boys league at 11 a side.

Saturday Boy
06-10-2016, 09:33 AM
Was that just 7s she played with Edin City? I can't think of very many that have stayed in the boys league at 11 a side.

Can't remember now, but there was an article in the Edinburgh City programme about her after her first cap last season. First Edinburgh City player to progress all the way to the national team :wink:

06-10-2016, 09:38 AM

Never a more true assessment.

Ozymandias
06-10-2016, 10:48 AM

Over the last few years there have been a small but increasing number of girls who have stayed on to play "boys" football at 11-a-side. The tipping point at which most tend to stay solely in the girls game is around 15 when the physical differences come more into play. In West Lothian certainly, there have been some very accomplished female footballers playing for a range of teams - Linlithgow Rose, Murieston, Armadale and Bathgate Vale up to 15s/16s spring to mind straight away, and it is now hardly a matter of comment at all to see girls turning out for teams at 13s.

What was really encouraging last night was to see the number of female players and teams in support and engaged with the game. Onwards and upwards!

06-10-2016, 12:08 PM
6 was Lisa Robertson for Hibs. In the scottish game she is pretty much the best holding mid in the league. But then you put her up against the no8 of Bayern. She was immense and just ran the whole show.

There was a goal in the 2nd half that Liza Evans set up, a direct run to the byline, cut back, easy tap in for a finish. Its the move the Hibs men are crying out for but only attempt about 4 times a season! But you look at Liza and she was the same level as these Hibs girls 3 seasons ago, then a move abroad and a move to Bayern and she is 100% better. As a nation we hold players back, poor diets, poor coaching....and thats the same in the mens game.

It was hard to pick a stand out from Bayern, they were all bloody good ..... you make a good point about their attacking approach, the ball was moved quickly down both flanks, especially the right, and when the ball was played in it was usually a decent delivery with midfield players getting into the box looking to capitalise .... definitely a lesson for our men's team.

I get what you say about the coaching and all that, but lets not forget that compared to some countries in Europe, not least of all Germany, women's football is still in its infancy in Scotland and not only that, it has to be remembered that Bayern Munich are one of a handful of teams in Europe who are capable of playing to that standard, I would doubt they represent the norm, even in Germany.

A quick scan shows Bayern Munich won the women's Bundesliga last year 10 points in front of Wolfsburg who are also one of the best teams in Europe and in the process losing only 8 goals in a 22 game season and dropping 9 points out of a possible 66 losing only once ..... if the Hibs ladies had spent a year being coached by Pep Guardiola and eating Spinach like Popeye chances are they might have lost 4 - 0 instead of 6 - 0

06-10-2016, 04:39 PM
My guess is that Hibs set up the way they did to try to compress the game and lessen the space Bayern had to play in.

They were quicker and stronger and got past Hibs pretty easily so shortening the space they had to run into was the right idea for me.

If I am honest setting up more expansively would probably have caused a bigger defeat and I doubt very much would have resulted in our scoring, their defence absolutely smothered any attacking moves we made and I doubt that throwing more bodies at it would have caused them any problems.

It would also have knackered our ladies out far quicker.

Our players were eased of the ball very competently by Bayern.

They are however at different stages of their respective evolutions and once the pain of the defeat fades, Hibs ladies will no doubt take some of the lessons on board

Hibs have some pretty decent footballers themselves and have absolutely nothing to feel bad about.

07-10-2016, 09:28 AM
My guess is that Hibs set up the way they did to try to compress the game and lessen the space Bayern had to play in.

They were quicker and stronger and got past Hibs pretty easily so shortening the space they had to run into was the right idea for me.

If I am honest setting up more expansively would probably have caused a bigger defeat and I doubt very much would have resulted in our scoring, their defence absolutely smothered any attacking moves we made and I doubt that throwing more bodies at it would have caused them any problems.

It would also have knackered our ladies out far quicker.

Our players were eased of the ball very competently by Bayern.

They are however at different stages of their respective evolutions and once the pain of the defeat fades, Hibs ladies will no doubt take some of the lessons on board

Hibs have some pretty decent footballers themselves and have absolutely nothing to feel bad about.

Pretty good summary the majority of coaches will try and make it as difficult as possible in terms of space to play in their own half when playing against obviously fitter and better players.