View Full Version : Match Updates Hibs v Dundee Utd

02-10-2016, 10:09 AM
Seeing as everybody else appears to be too busy actually going to the game ;-), I thought I'd take it upon myself to step in and start the Match Update thread.

Team News?

Weather?

Confidence Levels?

How busy is 'Behind The Goals'?

02-10-2016, 10:15 AM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, McGregor, Forster, Hanlon, Fyvie, McGeouch, McGinn, Shinnie, Keatings, Cummings.

02-10-2016, 10:15 AM
It's beautiful in Musselburgh, from where I will be watching todays game.

02-10-2016, 10:16 AM
Subs: Laidlaw, Bartley, Holt, Boyle, Eardley, Graham, Harris

02-10-2016, 10:17 AM
STARTING XI | Marciano, Gray, McGregor, Forster, Hanlon, Fyvie, McGeouch, McGinn, Shinnie, Keatings, Cummings.

Big mistake playing Hanlon at LB. We will get done for pace there.

02-10-2016, 10:17 AM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161002/cd8fd97d59aad36119dc76fa9b7a698a.jpg

Sunny [emoji172]

02-10-2016, 10:22 AM
James Keatings. Please take this chance today I think you have the papers if given a run.

02-10-2016, 10:22 AM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20161002/cd8fd97d59aad36119dc76fa9b7a698a.jpg

Sunny [emoji172]

Great pic! Pitch looks superb :thumbsup:

Earlydelivery
02-10-2016, 10:23 AM
Just leaving I'm happy with that team

Arch Stanton

Well, if Utd have done their homework it won't have done them much good.

It would be good if that team plays to it's potential.

sauzee=legend
I'm guessing that will be 352.
Gray and Shinnie wing backs, fyvie the deepest lying midfielder with the McG's having the freedom to get forward more.

ClewsHibs
02-10-2016, 10:24 AM
Brilliant day for a game of football. No excuses

02-10-2016, 10:24 AM
Gray and Shinnie wing backs, fyvie the deepest lying midfielder with the McG's having the freedom to get forward more.

No chance. Hanlon LB.

02-10-2016, 10:25 AM

Shinnie is an attacking midfielder....

euro Hibby
02-10-2016, 10:35 AM
Lennon is a clever manager. He is prepared to try things. I don't think anyone saw that team coming.
Best of luck for today.

02-10-2016, 10:36 AM

What do you suggest ?

I think what this suggests is Lennon will not accommodate passengers. Graham had his turn, he didn't take it, it's Keatings' go now.

James Keatings. Please take this chance today I think you have the papers if given a run.

No pressure, James, just show us what you're capable of.

02-10-2016, 10:37 AM
What do you suggest ?

Crane.

02-10-2016, 10:38 AM
Any news on the United team?

Are they without as many midfielders as they thought they might be?

Godsahibby
02-10-2016, 10:38 AM

It's the other shinnie at Aberdeen who's the wing back

02-10-2016, 10:43 AM
Guessing Lennon doesn't rate Crane then.

02-10-2016, 10:45 AM
I like this team.

Keatings deserves a chance in his natural position.

Big threat from set-pieces with Keatings' delivery and McGregor, Forster and Hanlon in there.

Shinnie had a ropey couple of games but imo he's still a good player - this team set-up should suit him.

Glad to see Fyvie and McGeouch in there, 2 of our best players and if United have a weakened midfield hopefully we can dominate them there and capitalise.

02-10-2016, 10:45 AM
Holt dropped for tactical reasons?

02-10-2016, 10:46 AM
Bunch of United fans just got the police on them for chanting "dirty fenian *******s" outside the West.

muzzando
02-10-2016, 10:48 AM
Diamond formation?

Off the bar
02-10-2016, 10:49 AM
Pish utd support not even the full bottom tier

02-10-2016, 10:50 AM
Interesting team. I like the idea of a keatings Cummings partnership. Dynamic and lends itself to a better passing game of football.

02-10-2016, 10:51 AM

Yeah cause Stevenson is a pace machine

02-10-2016, 10:53 AM
Crane.

Very harsh on Hanlon IMO

02-10-2016, 10:56 AM
Bunch of United fans just got the police on them for chanting "dirty fenian *******s" outside the West.

Weird

02-10-2016, 10:58 AM
Griffiths and Henderson in the crowd.

02-10-2016, 10:58 AM
Good to see Leigh and Hendo at the game again

02-10-2016, 11:00 AM

Pretty strange behaviour. Particularly from fans of the former Dundee Hibernian.

02-10-2016, 11:04 AM
Andy Walker: "Hibs are a Premiership club in everything but name".

Aye, nae **** sherlock!:rolleyes:

02-10-2016, 11:07 AM
Pretty strange behaviour. Particularly from fans of the former Dundee Hibernian.

Not some of our "visiting " friends again maybe?

1987kev
02-10-2016, 11:09 AM
Jeezo Hanlon crossing worse than Stevenson

02-10-2016, 11:12 AM
Not some of our "visiting " friends again maybe?

I didn't see any of them wearing club colours.

1987kev
02-10-2016, 11:13 AM
10 mins in. Keatings free kick hits the post only chance so far

02-10-2016, 11:14 AM
Keatings hit bar earlier with free kick.

Nothing much since.

02-10-2016, 11:15 AM
Couple crosses in the box in quick succession, just about cleared both times.

02-10-2016, 11:17 AM
McGinn passes to an offside Shinnie when he should have taken a shot.

02-10-2016, 11:19 AM
Linesman just give offside when we were in a good postion.
Poor decision.

02-10-2016, 11:19 AM
Hanlon's getting up the wing well but he can't cross.

Mr Grieves
02-10-2016, 11:20 AM
McGinn passes to an offside Shinnie when he should have taken a shot.

He should have taken a shot but Shinnie was well on

02-10-2016, 11:20 AM
Our passing can go from superb to awful so quickly.

02-10-2016, 11:21 AM
Fyvie gives the ball away away in midfield. What a surprise! Smart player but needs to cut this part of his game out.:rolleyes:

02-10-2016, 11:22 AM
All of our midfielders have been guilty of sloppiness in possession so far. They're capable of much better.

Quite pleased with Keatings and Forster so far though.

1987kev
02-10-2016, 11:23 AM
Passing been shocking so far.

02-10-2016, 11:23 AM
Lots of poor passing last 10 from both teams.

02-10-2016, 11:24 AM
Hanlons having a mare with his passing

Half chance for shinnie from a cross.

1987kev
Better passing shinnie shoots wide

Mr Grieves
Hanlon with poor pass to give utd player possession who makes an even worse pass

02-10-2016, 11:25 AM
Hanlon's distribution is weak.

02-10-2016, 11:28 AM
We've been fine. Lack of clinical finishing as usual.

muzzando
02-10-2016, 11:29 AM
Foul after foul from DU

1987kev
I'm no fan of a striker taking corners

If this ends anything other than 0-0 or 0-1 I will be surprised.

02-10-2016, 11:30 AM
We've been fine. Lack of clinical finishing as usual.

Lennon really needs to look at this, we have dominated possession but done nothing with it.

1987kev
02-10-2016, 11:31 AM
Lucky there mile on side.

Dundee united player now been given offside another poor decision.

Makes up for the one we had earlier.

paddy1875
02-10-2016, 11:33 AM
Pre season friendly

PompeyHibs
02-10-2016, 11:33 AM
Zzzzz Hibs playing well and dominating the game but still no cutting edge.
We hardly create any chances and the midfielders just dont score goals

02-10-2016, 11:34 AM
If Hibs dont spend money on decent players in January then we won't get out of this league.

There is nothing special about this team.

02-10-2016, 11:35 AM
Same old ****

1987kev
02-10-2016, 11:36 AM
Goal keatings what a ball from shinnie

Lovely ball from Shinnie good finish from Keatings

Beautiful pass from Shinnie and finish by Keatings!

I take it back. Great finish!

02-10-2016, 11:37 AM
Game on! Now he have a football match to watch.

Well worked goal, persistence and patience pays off

Cracker!

Zorro
Great timing on the pass and the run - and great finish from Keatings

Mr Grieves
First real chance, great pass, run and finish!

Great assist, great goal. Let's kick on.

02-10-2016, 11:38 AM
Play Keatings and he scores goals, simple as that. Decent contribution generally as well.

Come on hibs

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

If Hibs dont spend money on decent players in January then we won't get out of this league.

There is nothing special about this team.

Keep it up

Bitton at ER as well, all the celts want to be at ER.

Really like Keatings. Intelligent player

Mr Grieves
02-10-2016, 11:39 AM
How can a professional footballer be so ***** at crossing?

Dan Sarf
02-10-2016, 11:39 AM
Beautiful pass to Keatings... then guess what happened? "Would you like to see me naked?" It was a message from someone called Helen who apparently lives 6 miles away and it covered the screen. Well thank you, Helen but please keep your clothes on from now on.

Kavinho
02-10-2016, 11:41 AM
Lovely pass for that.

Good goal Keatings

02-10-2016, 11:42 AM
Beautiful pass to Keatings... then guess what happened? "Would you like to see me naked?" It was a message from someone called Helen who apparently lives 6 miles away and it covered the screen. Well thank you, Helen but please keep your clothes on from now on.

My stream froze just as the ball left Keatings foot :greengrin

Mr Grieves
02-10-2016, 11:42 AM
Keatings corners have been good, just need somebody to attack them

Dan Sarf
02-10-2016, 11:44 AM
My stream froze just as the ball left Keatings foot :greengrin

Apparently Sarah lives just 3.2 miles away from me and has the same idea. 36D she says...

Dan Sarf
02-10-2016, 11:46 AM
terrible.

where do you live?

3.2 miles from Sarah...:greengrin

02-10-2016, 11:47 AM
Keep it up

I stand by my comment. We are nothing special and need to sign some decent players in January to win this league.

We are the biggest club in this league by a mile and should not be toiling from week to week.

02-10-2016, 11:47 AM
Apparently Sarah lives just 3.2 miles away from me and has the same idea. 36D she says...

You need to disable pop-ups in your browser...and your trousers :greengrin

02-10-2016, 11:48 AM
Half time

Dan Sarf
02-10-2016, 11:48 AM
You need to disable pop-ups in your browser...and your trousers :greengrin

Very funny!

02-10-2016, 11:49 AM
One way traffic bar a 5 minute spell but we neee the 2nd goal.

02-10-2016, 11:49 AM
Some quite good individual performances but lacking urgency as a team. Pretty dissapointed with that half. Feels like it always happens with these lunchtime Sunday kickoffs though when the opposition isn't hearts.

02-10-2016, 11:50 AM
Anyone who thinks Stevenson's crosses are bad needs to watch Hanlon's today

02-10-2016, 11:50 AM
Decent score so far.

Starting Keatings seems to have been the right choice.

02-10-2016, 11:52 AM
Anyone who thinks Stevenson's crosses are bad needs to watch Hanlon's today

He's a decent enough stand in but Lewis is clearly better.

02-10-2016, 11:53 AM
I stand by my comment. We are nothing special and need to sign some decent players in January to win this league.

We are the biggest club in this league by a mile and should not be toiling from week to week.

Not just the biggest but the best...by a country mile. We're not going to win every game this season. Neither is any other club in any league you care to name.

euro Hibby
02-10-2016, 11:57 AM
poor first half. Hanlon wasteful high up the park too many stray passes. Keatings has done well. Hopefullly the goal with settle them, I don't think Hibs have really
caught fire yet this season.

02-10-2016, 11:58 AM
There's some moaning faced ****s on this site

02-10-2016, 11:59 AM
United could be dangerous on the counter if they get their final ball sorted. Need a cushion.

We've looked good. Hanlon is getting loads of space down the left - doesn't have the left back tendencies to make it work for him though unfortunately.

Glad keatings scored - I like him. Think he'll be a big player for us if we keep using him.

02-10-2016, 11:59 AM
One way traffic bar a 5 minute spell but we neee the 2nd goal.

All hail the Knights who say neee :not worth

02-10-2016, 12:00 PM
I've been desperate for Keatings to get his chance. Bingo

02-10-2016, 12:01 PM
There's some moaning faced ****s on this site

That's true but also true that we've been pretty poor. Despite being in front I think Lennon will be giving them a bollocking at HT. Some of the passing has been awful

02-10-2016, 12:05 PM
Eardley replaces Gray at HT

02-10-2016, 12:06 PM
Why is the new guy on?

02-10-2016, 12:07 PM
I'd like to see graham or holt on for cummings soon I think.

02-10-2016, 12:08 PM
Why is the new guy on?

Gray was injured in a collision with marciano in the first half.

02-10-2016, 12:12 PM
Hanlons deliveries today have been terrible!

02-10-2016, 12:13 PM
PH

02-10-2016, 12:14 PM
Gray was injured in a collision with marciano in the first half.

Ah ok, cheers.

02-10-2016, 12:14 PM
Plenty openings down the left but poor delivery, what do you expect when you play a centre half as a wing back. Doesn't say much for Lennon's faith in Crane!

02-10-2016, 12:16 PM
Not going to slate him too much because he's clearly out of position and doing his best, but Paul Hanlon the marauding full back is not something I want to see again after today.

02-10-2016, 12:17 PM
United fans booing their own sub.

02-10-2016, 12:25 PM
1-1 header from corner

02-10-2016, 12:26 PM
Can't say we've not seen this happen before.

Who was on the post?

Totally never seen that coming. When will we learn?

02-10-2016, 12:27 PM
Every. Every. Every time.

hibee62
Never a corner!

Really need to start scoring more and putting teams away

Are we reaching the end of the honeymoon period ?....I'm about to wet ma bed.....

02-10-2016, 12:28 PM
We've had 2 1/2 years to be clinical in this division.

Groundhog day. Failure to finish teams off cost us last season.

Lets do this hibs FFS

Who was on the post?

McGeough, he had no chance.

Who was on the post?

Dylan.

02-10-2016, 12:30 PM
Sky just shown it was never a corner.

It has to be defended better though. Poor.

02-10-2016, 12:30 PM
If we actually had a left back that could cross/shoot we would be out of sight in this game.

02-10-2016, 12:31 PM
Not just the biggest but the best...by a country mile. We're not going to win every game this season. Neither is any other club in any league you care to name.

Toil toil toil. Aye ok we will romp this league. :rolleyes:

02-10-2016, 12:31 PM
Shinnie elects to try and control the ball after a great pass from Hanlon rather than shooting. Why is it.our players try to walk the ball in to the net?

ChicoM1875
02-10-2016, 12:32 PM
Shinnie should have hit that! Unbelievable!

02-10-2016, 12:35 PM
Cummings off for Graham
Shinnie of for Boyle

hibee62
02-10-2016, 12:36 PM
Sky just shown it was never a corner.

It has to be defended better though. Poor.

It was clear as day from my seat in line with the by line in the east so how that idiot missed it is beyond me!

02-10-2016, 12:37 PM
McGinn has been really poor

PompeyHibs
02-10-2016, 12:39 PM
Zzzz what a shocker of a second half from Hibs. We could play all day and not score again!

Come on Hibs 10 to go

02-10-2016, 12:39 PM
Utd just following the already well established way of getting at least a point from us, sit in, even if you lose a goal and hit on the break when you can. Apply a bit of pressure with 10-15 mins to go.

02-10-2016, 12:40 PM
McGinn has been really poor

As poor as I've ever seen him. McGeouch has looked so slow as well.

The balance,of the team just isn't right at the moment. The forwards are getting no service

PompeyHibs
02-10-2016, 12:42 PM
Zonal marking at corners that has cost us a goal v Ayr United and now Dundee Utd

Foster / Hanlon / McGregor positioned on six yard box (no chance of winning a header when opposing players have a run on them.

We are so neat and tidy at passing and controlling the game but have no finesse in the last third of the pitch at all.

Utd just following the already well established way of getting at least a point from us, sit in, even if you lose a goal and hit on the break when you can. Apply a bit of pressure with 10-15 mins to go.

Absolute nonsense. Hibs are just not very good.

02-10-2016, 12:43 PM
Seen nothing different with Lennon. Same slow frustrating football

02-10-2016, 12:45 PM
That's me out from starting Match Day Threads.

02-10-2016, 12:46 PM
Pish. Staying down

02-10-2016, 12:46 PM
Standard of play from both sides is truly awful.

02-10-2016, 12:47 PM
Honestly can't believe how poor McGinn is

02-10-2016, 12:47 PM
McGinn has been very poor.

Can Hibs get a winner here?

02-10-2016, 12:48 PM
Absolutely dismal stuff. Like watching Hibs in the 1980s.

Same old, same old.

As long as we persist with trying to shoehorn 4 central midfielders into a system and insist on using 2 not very attacking full backs as width we are going to continue to struggle in this league.

2 points from the last 9 as it stands. Not league winning form never mind skooshing it form.

khib70
Pish. Staying down
Dear oh dear. Soaking sheets brigade have emerged. Poor show second half but a huge amount of the season left. Get a grip

02-10-2016, 12:49 PM
Dear oh dear. Soaking sheets brigade have emerged. Poor show second half but a huge amount of the season left. Get a grip

It's hard to stay positive when we've been pish for the last 4 weeks.

RedHibby
02-10-2016, 12:50 PM
Nothing new everything is a struggle. No pace, no urgency, same old same old. It doesn't matter though because we will skoosh this league.

02-10-2016, 12:52 PM
Same ****, different day

Very, very poor.

Kavinho
Frustrating

Absolute tripe that was.

we seriously arnt as good as a lot of people think we are

LDD 2 pts from 9 v Ayr, QOS and Dundee Utd. 2 at home.

Brutal.

02-10-2016, 12:53 PM
That was gash. Hopefully Lennon stops doing his cringey interviews about Celtic and concentrates on the job at hand.....

Centre backs, Fyvie and Keatings did their jobs, the rest were woeful.

Brian Graham ahead of Holt baffles me

Not good enough. Seriously, truly and absolutely woeful.

Its the pace and urgency every time ah dinnae get it, were a bloody good team, best in the league, stop fannying about trying to pass yir way into the net, just GET F, N INTAE THUM, its not rocket science, hammer them wear them down. **** sake.

Hibs are a team going through the motions and not a team wanting to win the title.

What of load of rubbish.

Kavinho
02-10-2016, 12:54 PM
It's hard to stay positive when we've been pish for the last 4 weeks.

And yet still right up there.

We'll click.

AL-Qaholik
02-10-2016, 12:54 PM
Three games without a win in this division is utterly woeful. Two of them at home as well. Same old failings. Time to earn your keep, Mr. Lennon.

02-10-2016, 12:55 PM
Chronic.

SC win has papered over huge cracks.. A fourth season in the Chumpionship and croweds halfed.

02-10-2016, 12:55 PM

The problem is that it's the exact same story as in previous seasons, controlling matches and drawing when we should be winning. Yes there is a long way to go, but this should have been rectified by now, why is it that Hibs continue to frustrate like this and what is being done to fix this

PompeyHibs
02-10-2016, 12:56 PM
Boooo booo booo utter gash.

Cant score goals!! 3 goals in last four games in second tier of Scottish fitbaw = shocking

Defence and midfield offer zero goal scoring thret!!!

2/9pts = ouch.

Crowds will start dipping watching performaces like that.

Pointless ball possession at times, playing needless triangles in midfield which slows the game down.

FFS Hibs

Zzzzz Championship fitbaw

euro Hibby
02-10-2016, 12:57 PM
sorry, but got worse as the game went on. Not the right type of entertainment to keep hold of 15.000 fans.
Lots of more games to go but form is not good.

We've been poor for weeks now. Clear failure to address last seasons issues, again even with a different manager. This team in its current state will not get us promoted.

Dan Sarf
It's not all bad news guys. I'm meeting someone called SluttyLora11 later. Apparently she's what's called a Hot Mom and has her own car. She wants a sexual relationship that could develop but doesn't have to. Perfect. I'm just waiting for her to confirm she's got my address, credit card details, etc. and then she'll be here in a minute (luckily she only lives 5.2miles away).

GlasgowHibee
02-10-2016, 12:58 PM
Pretty poor performance, whole team just lacked any sort of fluidity. We didn't play as a team, we played as defenders, midfielders, and strikers.

I can understand why Cummings is frustrated going off, he had absolutely no service. McGinn seemed to be scared to play, I wonder if the upcoming Scotland game was playing on his mind? Probably his worst performance in a Hibs jersey.

02-10-2016, 12:58 PM

Dismal comment but let's not start with this bed wetters pish. The 'soaking sheets brigade' have been right more often than not these last few years.

As for the game same old same old. No urgency, no pace and no vision. Midfield were pretty anonymous for most of the game yet again. Zonal Marking at corners is ducking horrible, never been a fan.

02-10-2016, 12:59 PM
Type of performance you would expect from a preseason fixture. But NL won't need to be told that.

Centre backs, Fyvie and Keatings did their jobs, the rest were woeful.

Brian Graham ahead of Holt baffles me

Thought the keeper did well too. He's grown on me in the last couple of weeks.

It's not all bad news guys. I'm meeting someone called SluttyLora11 later. Apparently she's what's called a Hot Mom and has her own car. She wants a sexual relationship that could develop but doesn't have to. Perfect. I'm just waiting for her to confirm she's got my address, credit card details, etc. and then she'll be here in a minute (luckily she only lives 5.2miles away).

I thought watching McGinn get ****ged all game would've been enough for you

02-10-2016, 01:01 PM
Its the pace and urgency every time ah dinnae get it, were a bloody good team, best in the league, stop fannying about trying to pass yir way into the net, just GET F, N INTAE THUM, its not rocket science, hammer them wear them down. **** sake.

Yup, thats whats not changed. Tippy tappy and then rushed shot.

The goal was good mind.

Funny how another bad decision by Thomson has led to another loss of points. Not a corner for their goal. But our defending of corners is woeful.

Mr Grieves

This is the third season of playing with this formation, this style and these players . What makes you think it's suddenly going to click and we'll start getting results? We had a really poor summer transfer windows were we've not addressed any of our deficiencies. Completely unacceptable.

02-10-2016, 01:02 PM

Da*** did I just read?!

02-10-2016, 01:02 PM
Wrong team.No pace.No width.Hanlon fish out of water.Cardinal sin making two changes when you only have to make one.Nobody can cross the ball.Players standing still to take ball.Top goal scorer in Cummings nobody can make a chance for him.

02-10-2016, 01:06 PM
Funny how another bad decision by Thomson has led to another loss of points. Not a corner for their goal. But our defending of corners is woeful.

Behave!

We were rubbish. Stop making excuses.

Shinnie elects to try and control the ball after a great pass from Hanlon rather than shooting. Why is it.our players try to walk the ball in to the net?

THAT has been our problem for the last 2-3 seasons !

We'll still win the league but we're orders of magnitude worse than last season. We should be strolling this league and spending the second half of the season blooding youngsters and preparing the Premiership, not 'being right up there' and setting ourselves up to crawl over the line.

Neil Lennon will get us promoted but nothing more.

02-10-2016, 01:08 PM
Given the time I'm guessing the game finished at 1-1.
BBC live reporting just confirmed.

This game was billed as a match against our biggest rival for promotion and on this occasion we matched them. the head to head's will be important so, level just now making the next one more important.

1 point off top?

the league is in progress Mon the Hibbies.

I'll be back home for the next home game but thanks for the updates on today's match.

No way will United be our main rivals for top spot, even their own fans have accepted that this season.

Septimus
02-10-2016, 01:09 PM
Come back Lewis. All is forgiven.

Kavinho
02-10-2016, 01:11 PM
Lennons comments..
Frustrated,
Same old same old
We need to find a way of creating and scoring
Not satisfied with the result but all in all a fair result

02-10-2016, 01:13 PM
United are terrible, they are wetting themselves because they got a point, they will not be going up at the end if the season, I reckon we will be 10 to 15 points clear of them if we get our erses into gear and take it serious.

02-10-2016, 01:14 PM
Doesn't say much for crane if lennon's playing a centre back in his place. I thought he looked great against Birmingham......should have given the lad a chance IMHO of course.
No pace, no urgency, pitter patter in midfield, no one busting a gut to get behind them, slow, slow football, with no presence up front (although tbh, not sure who's better holt or graham)
Could be a long season......

02-10-2016, 01:16 PM
Good 1st half and absolute stinker in the 2nd.
Anybody moan about Stevenson's crossing just show them Hanlon attempting them.
Again we need width and pace but we seem to always play the ball inside, which slows us down because all their men are there. McGinn was brutal and should've been subbed instead of Shinnie.
Strikers feeding off scraps but at least Keatings gets stuck in unlike JC who closes down twice in a game, he needs to do more to make things happen.
Passing was shocking and all over the place, never seen so many misplaced passes and the shooting was its usual piss poor.

RedHibby
02-10-2016, 01:20 PM
Doesn't say much for crane if lennon's playing a centre back in his place. I thought he looked great against Birmingham......should have given the lad a chance IMHO of course.
No pace, no urgency, pitter patter in midfield, no one busting a gut to get behind them, slow, slow football, with no presence up front (although tbh, not sure who's better holt or graham)
Could be a long season......

I was arguing with a few guys at work re would it be Crane or Hanlon. I wanted Crane to get a chance but I new he would move Hanlon over to the left. It worries me when I know exactly what the Manager is going to do and he doesn't see this as an opportunity to try out a young player who in the past has not done much wrong.

02-10-2016, 01:20 PM
Three games without a win in this division is utterly woeful. Two of them at home as well. Same old failings. Time to earn your keep, Mr. Lennon.

We are 2 points off where we need to be at the end of the season.

It's been a bad month but it's hardly catastrophic. Keep the faith.

RedHibby
02-10-2016, 01:23 PM

The fans have been keeping the faith for the past three seasons, unfortunately we as a team have not changed or sorted out the issues that have proved to be our downfall for the past three seasons.

02-10-2016, 01:30 PM
We are a group of good players who are underachievng as a team. Somebody forgot to tell them we are supposed to skoosh this league. :rolleyes:

02-10-2016, 01:56 PM

Well thats the first one to say it this season, i wonder just how many times over the last few years we've had posts just like that telling us how far BEHIND we are?

paddy1875
02-10-2016, 02:00 PM
Certain players need to be dropped to get some urgency back. So slow to get the ball forward unless it's zapped up the park to nobody. Useless with the front 2 we started with today. Try getting some youth players in to waken some up

02-10-2016, 02:01 PM
That's me out from starting Match Day Threads.

I'm thinking of not reading them[emoji6]

02-10-2016, 02:05 PM
I hope our players are watchin Spurs v Man City the noo, thats how we should be doing it, relentless attack from Spurs.Attack, Attack, Attack.

02-10-2016, 02:14 PM
Behave!

We were rubbish. Stop making excuses.

Woeful at defending corners not an excuse 🤔

02-10-2016, 02:18 PM
Dodgy corners wouldn't matter if we had midfielders busting a gut to get in the box and trying to score.

Hate to say it, but the Gunts midfielders know where the goals are.

Ours couldn't score in a bag of fannies right now.

02-10-2016, 02:36 PM
Well thats the first one to say it this season, i wonder just how many times over the last few years we've had posts just like that telling us how far BEHIND we are?

Plenty of course, but I hope it won't happen many more times between now and May.

02-10-2016, 02:56 PM
Groundhog day - a situation in which a series of unwelcome or tedious events appear to be recurring in exactly the same way.

That sums it up at ER today. Still, Hibs will "skoosh it". :rolleyes:

02-10-2016, 03:09 PM
Come back Lewis. All is forgiven.

my thoughts exactly after PH's 6th straight shocker of a cross

02-10-2016, 03:21 PM
On paper we should be winning more games but it's not an exact science, look at other results today ? Man U with the worlds most expensive player drawing with Stoke ! I still think we will win it as it's a long haul until the end of the season and we have a better squad than any other team.

02-10-2016, 03:28 PM
2 points from 9 simply isn't good enough. Same old story again today, too many missed chances and failure to finish teams off when ahead. A few points:

Thought Halon looked so awkward down that side, totally out of position and his comfort zone in fairness to him but his delivery was dreadful. Gray and Lewis cause problems for defences down the wings, we badly missed that today.

McGeough looked knackered, hopefully he can stay injury free and build up his fitness.

McGinn once again was a target man for them and I thought he coped ok but gave the ball away cheaply at times.

Shinnie (apart from a great ball through for the goal) failed to do much to impress me again.

Utd are dreadful. Would be very very surprised if they were to go up this season. The fact that they came to ER and played for a draw says a lot about how far they've fallen. In years gone by they would have came to win. They were delighted with scraping a point today. They're players time wasted etc towards the end to try and box out the game and run down the clock. Absolutely no desire to go for a winner.

Sorry to sound like such a moan because all in all I didn't think today was a terrible performnace. We dominated the game but frustratingly once again failed to capitalise and we got stung. With QoS dropping points yesterday we had the chance to put ourselves back ahead.

02-10-2016, 03:43 PM

Sounds like a keeper...

02-10-2016, 03:45 PM
Sounds like a keeper...

A more mobile one than Marciano hopefully.

02-10-2016, 03:47 PM
Only my third game of the Season but in comparison to the previous two games the lack of creativity in the final third was a concern
Not one chamce created for Cummingsand then when Gragham was brought on he seemed to not be able to hold up the ball and was too easily disspossed .
They were happy to let Hanlon see plenty of the ball wide left as playing out of position he never really delivered any great balls into the box ( (but not his position so no real surprise )
Keatings was only real threat all game and no surprise he scored
Eardsley came on and he is clearly rusty sonthat didnt do us any favours
Dylan got frustrated ,as no one runs off the ball for him ,so he beats four players and finds he has to turn and go back or sideways We need to use him to do what he does best ,run at players ,beat them ,but he then needs someome to be running into space to pass it to
Mcginn just seems to have dropped off in form but you can never question his committment
We switched off at set piece for thier goal and they got a lift from that, and itspurred them on ,and we didnt really get back on top .
Having said that we didt look like losing the game

Not sure Shinnie has yet fitted in in a way that improves us

Not sure how Lennon gets us back to winning ways as expexted us to win today with the prize of going back to the top of the Leaugue
Frustrating game given the amount of possession we had in that first half
Maybe the Cup game next week gives is s wee chance to try something different out
After our great start i didnt think we would then go three games without a win Two points out of nine gives other teams hope they can make a challenge But still early days and surely we will improve

02-10-2016, 04:24 PM
Sounds like a keeper...
Could she cover at left back and do a bit on the wing? If so not averse to seeing this one pursued further.

coldingham hibs
02-10-2016, 04:35 PM
In my opinion we need to sacrifice a defensive full-back/wing back and throw Boyle in there, we need his pace to take on the opposition. Had Boyle been in the positions Paul Hanlon was in for most of the game we would have created loads of chances.

Sometimes you need to try something different.

02-10-2016, 04:39 PM
Got to say I didn't enjoy that game very much. The crowd was pretty subdued, I've heard a better atmosphere inside ER with 7,000 there and if you sit in the FF lower its like being slowly cooked when the sun is blazing down like it was today, not to mention and you spend the whole game shielding your eyes from it ... humph :sairhead:

As for the game itself, we played OK in the first half without being brilliant and deserved to be ahead at half time. The more we huffed and puffed in the second half the more you could see the Utd equalizer coming. I actually thought Hanlon did OK at LB but his final ball was terrible and when he got in for a shot he didn't even test the keeper. Apart from that the defence didn't look in that much bother for most of the match, but its pretty clear to me that zonal marking at corners is a bloody stupid tactic and today didn't do anything to change my mind.

I thought McGinn was awful, he was caught in possession time and time again and his passing was poor as well and to be honest Shinnie, apart from a good pass for the goal was practically anonymous .... McGeouch did his best to drive forward, but from so deep he was having to beat 3 men just to get into dangerous areas, he had one great run in the first half, but his shot from a good position was tame to say the least. Fyvie was the pick of the bunch for me and should have been man of the match.

Its hard to be critical of any of the forwards, there was a total lack of service for most of the match, but when they did get on the ball they tried to make things happen, I actually thought JC had one of his better games when he was in possession of the ball.

In short, too many of our players weren't on it today, certainly as a unit, and we need to improve our form a good bit if we are going to start making the dent in this league we should be. Nothing much of note happened to stir the crowd out of its lunchtime stupor and if we cant get back to winning at home and even better winning with a bit to spare we are going to start losing walk up supporters for these games, which would be a real shame given the superb crowds we have been getting.

I would say that not for the first time this season I have wondered just exactly what Neil Lennon thinks about on the touchline .... After about 15 minutes of the 2nd half I would have hooked McGinn and replaced him with just about anybody, he did hook Shinnie later on and the guy can have no complaints about it to be honest, but one of the criticisms often levelled at Stubbs was that he couldn't change a formation or introduce subs when the game is clearly crying out for it and to me at least it looks like Lennon is cut from the same cloth.

Ho hum, onwards and upwards ... given the other results this weekend things could have been a lot worse.

Dan Sarf
02-10-2016, 06:18 PM
Could she cover at left back and do a bit on the wing? If so not averse to seeing this one pursued further.

She's not arrived yet (should have been here ages ago) but I'll ask her when she gets here and keep you posted. She must have got held up in the traffic or her own car has broken down. I'm not worried though, these things happen.

:rockin:

02-10-2016, 06:22 PM
She's not arrived yet (should have been here ages ago) but I'll ask her when she gets here and keep you posted. She must have got held up in the traffic or her own car has broken down. I'm not worried though, these things happen.

:rockin:
If she can beat a full back and put a half decent cross in I will pick her up and drive her there myself[emoji6]

02-10-2016, 06:36 PM
sounds like a keeper...

:lol::lol:

scooby
02-10-2016, 08:41 PM
Got to say I didn't enjoy that game very much. The crowd was pretty subdued, I've heard a better atmosphere inside ER with 7,000 there and if you sit in the FF lower its like being slowly cooked when the sun is blazing down like it was today, not to mention and you spend the whole game shielding your eyes from it ... humph :sairhead:

As for the game itself, we played OK in the first half without being brilliant and deserved to be ahead at half time. The more we huffed and puffed in the second half the more you could see the Utd equalizer coming. I actually thought Hanlon did OK at LB but his final ball was terrible and when he got in for a shot he didn't even test the keeper. Apart from that the defence didn't look in that much bother for most of the match, but its pretty clear to me that zonal marking at corners is a bloody stupid tactic and today didn't do anything to change my mind.

I thought McGinn was awful, he was caught in possession time and time again and his passing was poor as well and to be honest Shinnie, apart from a good pass for the goal was practically anonymous .... McGeouch did his best to drive forward, but from so deep he was having to beat 3 men just to get into dangerous areas, he had one great run in the first half, but his shot from a good position was tame to say the least. Fyvie was the pick of the bunch for me and should have been man of the match.

Its hard to be critical of any of the forwards, there was a total lack of service for most of the match, but when they did get on the ball they tried to make things happen, I actually thought JC had one of his better games when he was in possession of the ball.

In short, too many of our players weren't on it today, certainly as a unit, and we need to improve our form a good bit if we are going to start making the dent in this league we should be. Nothing much of note happened to stir the crowd out of its lunchtime stupor and if we cant get back to winning at home and even better winning with a bit to spare we are going to start losing walk up supporters for these games, which would be a real shame given the superb crowds we have been getting.

I would say that not for the first time this season I have wondered just exactly what Neil Lennon thinks about on the touchline .... After about 15 minutes of the 2nd half I would have hooked McGinn and replaced him with just about anybody, he did hook Shinnie later on and the guy can have no complaints about it to be honest, but one of the criticisms often levelled at Stubbs was that he couldn't change a formation or introduce subs when the game is clearly crying out for it and to me at least it looks like Lennon is cut from the same cloth.

Ho hum, onwards and upwards ... given the other results this weekend things could have been a lot worse.

Pretty much as I saw it, its been a frustrating few weeks and we should be doing much better.