View Full Version : Hibs Vs QOTS

Pages : 1 [2]

24-09-2016, 03:54 PM
This season is going to be another struggle unless we start scoring goals.

McHibby
Keatings. Go on son. Get us the three points ya doss Jambo Canute

Bit much, is it no'?

Arabs 2 Morton 1

three teams directly below us all picking up full points

So a 3-0 defeat next week coming by the way of 3 crosses from our left? :greengrin

Roxyhibee
24-09-2016, 03:55 PM
Wee bit true though.

Big bit true.

24-09-2016, 03:55 PM
I know it makes sense to shore up the defence, but I would never be taking Cummings off. He's our only player who can create a goal out of absolutely nothing - a quality which is more than needed in this sort of scenario.

We didn't shore up last week and look what happened, right move by Lennon imo.

Ergye
24-09-2016, 03:56 PM
That's OK under the circumstances. Drown our sorrows on George st and Regroup for next week :aok:

Listen mate, if you can't hold a drink you shouldn't be in the pub, now **** off. :greengrin

Enjoy your beers tonight lads.

We're still gonnae win this league.

Lennon's main task this season is getting us scoring goals. He needs to find a solution, or its going to be dog-fight. 0-0 is a good point under the circs.

Bit much, is it no'?

Just a bit of gentle ribbing, old bean.

24-09-2016, 03:57 PM
We didn't shore up last week and look what happened, right move by Lennon imo.

Would've kept Cummings on last week too.

If Crane is to come in he has to play better than he did against Turriff. Looked well out of his depth that afternoon.

khib70
So a 3-0 defeat next week coming by the way of 3 crosses from our left? :greengrin
We might actually get some decent crosses of our own in from our left with Lewis missing.

Yep will take it under the circumstances , but was hoping to win this one after last weeks defeat

:agree: Me too. I still feel frustrated at having lost 3 points at home last week. Maybe we should have shut up shop and gone for the draw last week too after the red card.

Seems a wee bit odd having a player red carded when it was QOS 15 fouls Hibs 4 fouls. Obviously not at the game. Was it a red? Who was the referee? Even not having seen it, I still maintain the general standard of refereeing in this league is terrible.

Clown got it wrong last week. How about this week?

24-09-2016, 03:58 PM

Seems to be it in a nutshell. Would appear JC missed a couple today and with no one else chipping to help the result is no goals.

No idea about the red card but Id love to hear Lennon do a good bit of bleating about it and put pressure on referees. If we are labelled as the big team in this league, start acting like it.

24-09-2016, 03:59 PM
If Crane is to come in he has to play better than he did against Turriff. Looked well out of his depth that afternoon.

I'd prefer hanlon to play left back next week

It's going to be really interesting. Will we see the Birmingham City Crane or the Turiff Utd Crane? I'll be watching him closely next weekend, really hope the old AC Oxgangs boy does well.

0-0 just isn't good enough

Given the circumstances, I'd disagree.

The Captain....
24-09-2016, 04:00 PM
Decent point with 10 men...showed some fight there to grind that out. In fact from the hibs TV commentary it actually sounded like we had the better of the chances after Stevenson's sending off.

With 10 men away from home? I think it's a good point.

Nope, today was a chance to show we are the best in the league and it ended up being the same old story.

McHibby
Just a bit of gentle ribbing, old bean.

:) "old bean" did make me laugh, you are forgiven!

24-09-2016, 04:03 PM
I just want us to win every game. Anything less than that hacks me off, regardless of the circumstances (late equalisers against better/equal teams excepted). Probably not good for my health to have that outlook, but I'm disappointed by that today.

howdenthehibby
24-09-2016, 04:03 PM
BBC once again camped at Parkhead and the jolly Celtic songs being heard loud and clear over the Tannoy.

Is there any other country in the world that tubes up the erse of two specific clubs and treats the rest as an afterthought?

Bit much, is it no'?
You tell him McGhoo

ClewsHibs
24-09-2016, 04:05 PM
Poor result

24-09-2016, 04:07 PM

Two cummings goals in our last three ganes ,is a concern ,and despite Lennon making it clear others need to step up to the plate ,no one has
But on to next weekend, and dont want to think we could go three games without a win ,so will be looking for us to win that one

24-09-2016, 04:07 PM
Poor result

Decent result with 10 men, would have been poor if 0-0 11 v 11.

Dont know how many fouls we committed last week however that is 2 red cards in a week from probably less than 10 fouls. In a week when Rangers and Celtic have gotten away with 3 stick on reds being ignored, it really does stick in the craw a bit.

1875STEVE
24-09-2016, 04:08 PM
Still think we need a pacey, creative, tricky wee zemmama type to open up defences.

Is the loan market closed???

24-09-2016, 04:08 PM
2 goals for jamie insall as east fife beat livi 3-1

Fifehibby74
24-09-2016, 04:09 PM
Win next week and things will look much better. So far we've played 2 of the top half sides both away from home and took 4 points from 6. So not to bad. Win next week and that would be 7 from possible 9. Big game!

24-09-2016, 04:11 PM
so stevenson wont be playing next week ? every cloud has a silver lining as they say

Away and lie in yer ane pish ya choob...

24-09-2016, 04:13 PM
:agree: Me too. I still feel frustrated at having lost 3 points at home last week. Maybe we should have shut up shop and gone for the draw last week too after the red card.

Seems a wee bit odd having a player red carded when it was QOS 15 fouls Hibs 4 fouls. Obviously not at the game. Was it a red? Who was the referee? Even not having seen it, I still maintain the general standard of refereeing in this league is terrible.

Clown got it wrong last week. How about this week?

Sorry cant help ypu with info not at game iether
But cummings told the ref he got it wrong ,but he was maybe just frustrated at not keeping his goalscoring going given the run he was on

24-09-2016, 04:13 PM
Dunfy v st.mirren about to KO on bbc Alba

Farid on the bench

24-09-2016, 04:14 PM
Good performance given the circumstances. Rank weather, dodgy red card and daft pitch. This shower won't be competing based on the fact they're defending a draw at home against a team with ten men.

24-09-2016, 04:15 PM

Harsh but fair.

24-09-2016, 04:16 PM
Still think we need a pacey, creative, tricky wee zemmama type to open up defences.

No but its cover for gray we are looking to bring in hence Eadsley on Trial with us but if he isnt offerred contract by next week then he will be moved on you would think

24-09-2016, 04:16 PM

Zemmama. Sigh. Remember that first half against Utd at ER? Unplayable. Like a Moroccan Sergio Aguero.

24-09-2016, 04:19 PM
so stevenson wont be playing next week ? every cloud has a silver lining as they say

sergey is that you

24-09-2016, 04:21 PM
Zemmama. Sigh. Remember that first half against Utd at ER? Unplayable. Like a Moroccan Sergio Aguero.

I dream about that ball he played to stokes at ibrox. Some player - under appreciated in his time. Maybe still my favourite ever stokes goal which is incredible given recent history :)

24-09-2016, 04:22 PM
Sorry cant help ypu with info not at game iether
But cummings told the ref he got it wrong ,but he was maybe just frustrated at not keeping his goalscoring going given the run he was on

OK no worries.

24-09-2016, 04:23 PM
United winning was a bit of a bummer as they'll be the ones up there with us at the end of the season.

We could really do with beating or at least not losing against them.

24-09-2016, 04:26 PM
Harsh but fair.

Hardly. Stevenson has been garbage, let's be honest. Had he not been such a loyal servant to the club he would be getting absolutely roasted for his performances.

supermcginn
24-09-2016, 04:27 PM
Biggest priority in the summer should have been two quick agressive wingers, we are stuck with no width pace or qualoty out wide and in this league its a nightmare!

24-09-2016, 04:30 PM
Unless Hibs start scoring much more goals, they are in danger of getting dragged into a real dogfight for this league with the undernoted teams.

It's hard to see where the goals are to come from if Cummings is out. The whole team, forwards, midfield and defenders need to chip in with goals. 12 corners today and still zilch.

QOS 17 points
Hibs 16
Falkirk 13
RR 13
DU 11

24-09-2016, 04:33 PM
I dream about that ball he played to stokes at ibrox. Some player - under appreciated in his time. Maybe still my favourite ever stokes goal which is incredible given recent history :)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMOg0n_rVnA

Possibly the best long ball ive ever seen. The only one that springs to mind that compares is that one to Bergkamp against Argentina.

dchibs
24-09-2016, 04:36 PM
Dunfy v st.mirren about to KO on bbc Alba

Farid on the bench
Heard Farids 2weeks away from making a comeback.

24-09-2016, 04:40 PM
This was a game that QotS had to win and we had to not lose. A draw isn't bad at all. Lack of goals was an issue last season which so us come unstuck.

24-09-2016, 04:44 PM
Possibly the best long ball ive ever seen. The only one that springs to mind that compares is that one to Bergkamp against Argentina.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xtXo-8tThAg

Which is best? You decide. I prefer Stokes'.

24-09-2016, 04:46 PM
Anyone expecting Lennon to be an adventurous, free spirit manager is IMO in dreamland. Lennon has always been conservative in his attitude both as a player & manager. This is a guy who signed us a 35 year old striker only because the 38 year old turned us down. Having said that I think the result today was acceptable in the circumstances & I believe we'll win the league. At the end of the day that's the only thing that matters but don't expect mesmerising football along the way.

24-09-2016, 04:49 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JMOg0n_rVnA

I was right next to the Rangers fans that day.

I got hit by a pie just after than went in and the guy beside me got his head burst open by a coin. Just protecting their players I'm sure.

Great goal though.

24-09-2016, 04:55 PM
I was right next to the Rangers fans that day.

I got hit by a pie just after than went in and the guy beside me got his head burst open by a coin. Just protecting their players I'm sure.

Great goal though.

I never had you down as a 'goader'. I hope you were ashamed of yourself?

24-09-2016, 04:58 PM

do you insult everyone you disagree with ya fanny

24-09-2016, 05:01 PM

This exchange is a thing of beauty. Admins, might we sticky this thread in order that generations of Hibs fans to come can enjoy its evolution?

24-09-2016, 05:04 PM
This exchange is a thing of beauty. Admins, might we sticky this thread in order that generations of Hibs fans to come can enjoy its evolution?

All it needs is the appearance of the word

Fannyhat.

24-09-2016, 05:05 PM

An "old bean" or two might diffuse the situation.

Ergye
24-09-2016, 05:12 PM

Over to you Mikey09

Choob to fanny to ???????

Bawbag would be a proportionate response here one feels.

24-09-2016, 05:15 PM
This was a game that QotS had to win and we had to not lose. A draw isn't bad at all. Lack of goals was an issue last season which so us come unstuck.

Have to agree with you here. Had they beaten us they would have been super confident. As Lennon said the other day, wait till the winter months hit the others. LOADS of games left. We'll win this league. EASY.

24-09-2016, 05:34 PM
Biggest priority in the summer should have been two quick agressive wingers, we are stuck with no width pace or qualoty out wide and in this league its a nightmare!

Totally agree with this. It's something we've severely lacked for a very long time. The centre midfield is always crowded and we don't have enough or any quality wingers that can offer us a different option with providing some width and pace in the wide areas that will stretch teams. It just seems very one dimensional right now, playing through the middle and trying to walk it in. Opposition teams kind of have us figured out. Sit back, remain disciplined and solid and when the chance comes hit them on the counter.

24-09-2016, 05:34 PM

Good idea, future generations of young Hibs fans need to be able to see the quality that made these two former captains of the school debate team the masters of the art that they are today.

24-09-2016, 05:52 PM
Biggest priority in the summer should have been two quick agressive wingers, we are stuck with no width pace or qualoty out wide and in this league its a nightmare!Any suggestions for wingers within our budget ? We let Carmichael go and still have Boyle and Harris so presumably we`d be looking at someone better than those 3 .

The Captain....
24-09-2016, 06:03 PM
Anyone expecting Lennon to be an adventurous, free spirit manager is IMO in dreamland. Lennon has always been conservative in his attitude both as a player & manager. This is a guy who signed us a 35 year old striker only because the 38 year old turned us down. Having said that I think the result today was acceptable in the circumstances & I believe we'll win the league. At the end of the day that's the only thing that matters but don't expect mesmerising football along the way.

Pretty much how I see things too - I still think over the course of the season we'll pull away at some point and end up winning the league by around 7-10 points but as you say we wont be handing out five goal spankings every week. If it gets us back to the Premier tho I'll be happy enough.

The most pressing worry is the lack of goals in the squad, other than Cummings. I still feel the same as I did towards the end of the window in that we still lack a bit of quality/guile up front. From what I've seen of Graham he looks a better player than I thought but unfortunately I dont think we've managed to get decent quality crosses (of the type Jason provided V Morton) in for him when he has played (an old failing). Ive not been overly impressed by Holt..he's had a couple of decent games but I expected more from him in terms of goalscoring..he's missed a lot of chances.

The midfield need to chip in as well..the quality we have there is very decent. The'yre capable but for some reason seem a bit shot shy or seem to snatch at chances.

24-09-2016, 06:24 PM
Decent result with 10 men, would have been poor if 0-0 11 v 11.

Dont know how many fouls we committed last week however that is 2 red cards in a week from probably less than 10 fouls. In a week when Rangers and Celtic have gotten away with 3 stick on reds being ignored, it really does stick in the craw a bit.

Top post.

A not so shabby result in light of being once again down to ten men. Adapted well this week with the sending off compared to v Ayr Utd. Not too displeased with the team performance considering conditions, sending off and away at closest challengers.

24-09-2016, 06:54 PM

His opinion is maybe not in line with majority of hibs.net, but there will be a few regular match day attendees who would be inclined to agree with him. Lewis has had a piss poor start to the season, time for crane to be giving a chance.

Ferry green
24-09-2016, 06:56 PM
Over to you Mikey09

Choob to fanny to ???????

Bawbag would be a proportionate response here one feels.

may I suggest "Bawbag" is a tad adventurous at this stage of proceedings. Could "fud" possibly be a more appropriate retort for the moment ?

24-09-2016, 07:14 PM

I'll see yer Fanny (ooh matron!!!) and raise you a Fopdoodle!

24-09-2016, 07:38 PM
Oh oh mikey lol

24-09-2016, 08:15 PM
Heard Farids 2weeks away from making a comeback.

i done a silly thing, watched 20 mins and got impatient waiting on any goals so flicked channels, ended up with lots of goals in a 4-3 win for dunfermline, with Farid scoring the winner with 5 mins left and a webster OG in amongst all those goals :greengrin

CyberSauzee
24-09-2016, 08:59 PM
sergey is that you

Sergey was at the pub league game Wingate v Lowestoft today. He was gutted when I sent him a text informing him LS had been sent off. Only because it was two yellows and a one game ban and not a straight red with a 3 game ban.

Agree B. Lennon sets out not to lose, which I am a great fan of, but others are not. I would rather see Hibs winning the vast majority of games no matter the performance; years later the important thing is to say we've won rather than how great the performance was on the day. If it's a great performance then all the better. If it's a hard fought 1-0 no-one wants to remember, but a win is a win for me.

Anyway, the bit in bold, I'll buy you a bevvy with my winnings :wink:

24-09-2016, 09:05 PM
His opinion is maybe not in line with majority of hibs.net, but there will be a few regular match day attendees who would be inclined to agree with him. Lewis has had a piss poor start to the season, time for crane to be giving a chance.

With Lewis being sent off today he won't be able to play a League match until 15th October.

Maybe the enforced rest will be a good thing, hopefully he will come back refreshed and get some form back.

24-09-2016, 09:33 PM

As a "regular match day attendee" can I just register my disgust at the bizarre scramble to blame Lewis Stevenson for every single problem hibs encounter.

25-09-2016, 12:38 AM
Sergey was at the pub league game Wingate v Lowestoft today. He was gutted when I sent him a text informing him LS had been sent off. Only because it was two yellows and a one game ban and not a straight red with a 3 game ban.

Agree B. Lennon sets out not to lose, which I am a great fan of, but others are not. I would rather see Hibs winning the vast majority of games no matter the performance; years later the important thing is to say we've won rather than how great the performance was on the day. If it's a great performance then all the better. If it's a hard fought 1-0 no-one wants to remember, but a win is a win for me.

Anyway, the bit in bold, I'll buy you a bevvy with my winnings :wink:

I'll look forward to that S! Especially at London prices! Soon my friend, I hope!

25-09-2016, 01:23 AM
Good point in the end IMO. Especially after their right winger threw himself to the ground and got Stevenson his second yellow. In those conditions, to dominate and probably have the better of the game says a lot. Queens will drop off on that showing.

26-09-2016, 04:21 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mkU0Lw0RNCI

Highlights from QOTS FC

26-09-2016, 04:40 PM

Highlights from QOTS FC

Based on the highlights our midfield struggled to pass the ball and we were lucky not to get beat. Saying that JC has missed two sitters.

26-09-2016, 04:50 PM

Highlights from QOTS FC

Decent highlights. Lewis' sending off a joke, first one was just a result of his clumsiness, no intent or malice, second one an obvious accidental tangling of legs. Both freekicks, neither obvious bookings.

Queens look similar to the way they were last year; big, athletic, defensive and negative.

26-09-2016, 05:31 PM

Highlights from QOTS FCThat looked a penalty when Gray got bundled over? :confused:

26-09-2016, 05:41 PM
That looked a penalty when Gray got bundled over? :confused:

Thought that at the time and still think it should have been a penalty. One of those, anywhere else on the pitch and a foul would have been given. Not the whole story of the game and these things even out :rolleyes:

26-09-2016, 06:33 PM
What is the ref all about? Shafted yet again.

26-09-2016, 08:08 PM
Stevensons first yellow is. clumsy but other team it being well in the queens half is possibly justified.
The second isn't even a foul for me. Both running at speed and legs come together. Could just as easily be called a Hibs foul!!! No wonder Stevenson and eventually Cummings aren't happy.

27-09-2016, 06:50 AM
Stevensons first yellow is. clumsy but other team it being well in the queens half is possibly justified.
The second isn't even a foul for me. Both running at speed and legs come together. Could just as easily be called a Hibs foul!!! No wonder Stevenson and eventually Cummings aren't happy.

Agree first booking is softer as Hamill just runs into him. Second is given by the linesman. Again soft. Penalty every day of the week when Gray fouled in the box.

Dav1986
27-09-2016, 07:30 AM
Few dodgy decisions in those highlights for me. Both stevensons bookingso were very soft for me. 1st hamill is jumping into him as soon as he blasts the ball up the park. 2nd barely looked like there was contact, if there was both running at pace and it's their legs getting tangled rather than an intentional foul. Contrast that where their defender goes through the back of Fyvie late on and free kick given, that was more of a booking than either of stevensons. Then you have the David Gray incident which looked a stonewaller. Anywhere else it's a foul so surely it's a penalty?!

That said, they had a few decent chances too so a draw was perhaps fair as they should have scored with one or two of them.

hhibs
27-09-2016, 01:48 PM
Have to agree with you here. Had they beaten us they would have been super confident. As Lennon said the other day, wait till the winter months hit the others. LOADS of games left. We'll win this league. EASY.

Careful there, Hibs have a dreadful history of collapse during winter months going back over many, many years.

Hope your right of course.