View Full Version : hibs 7 -1 Ayr United

familyman
17-09-2016, 09:41 PM
How things change....anyone remember in the 70's when we won League Cup and had next home game against Ayr United, Cropley(Soldier) scoring a great goal in only a few seconds after start of match..ahh to turn the clock back..come on Hibs this is not just any old team get us sorted asap.
even the pies tasted better then!!!

17-09-2016, 09:43 PM
Think we scored eight that day? Seven again the yams on new years day

Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk

17-09-2016, 09:43 PM
How things change....anyone remember in the 70's when we won League Cup and had next home game against Ayr United, Cropley(Soldier) scoring a great goal in only a few seconds after start of match..ahh to turn the clock back..come on Hibs this is not just any old team get us sorted asap.

I remember it being 8-1

Feed McGraw
17-09-2016, 09:46 PM
8-1.

17-09-2016, 09:48 PM
How things change....anyone remember in the 70's when we won League Cup and had next home game against Ayr United, Cropley(Soldier) scoring a great goal in only a few seconds after start of match..ahh to turn the clock back..come on Hibs this is not just any old team get us sorted asap.even the pies tasted better then!!!Talking about turning the clock back, after the game today my mates and I went for a drink at the cask and barrel. Sitting outside and some older guys came and sat next to us. Turns out the older guys were George Stewart, Ally McLeod and Jackie McNamara snr amongst other old Hibs players! Had a lovely wee chat and drink with them and they were all surprised younger guys like us (28 so not too young) knew who they were!Great stories and cracking banter! Really took our minds off the result today.

17-09-2016, 09:55 PM
Definitely 8-1. :agree:

17-09-2016, 09:57 PM
it was 8-1, goin on 15-1.

17-09-2016, 09:59 PM

Well ... we scored the other seven a couple of weeks later. :greengrin

ruthven_raiders
17-09-2016, 10:01 PM

I was there, my late dad took me, wasn't allowed to go to league cup final tho

17-09-2016, 10:09 PM
Well ... we scored the other seven a couple of weeks later. :greengrinabsolutely. I missed both the 8-1, and the immortal you mention, for shall I say Family reasons. she promised to throw me oot,if I didnae calm doon. mind you when 18 years old and all that happening, you think you are king o' the world being a Hibby:greengrin

17-09-2016, 10:19 PM
Worth pointing out that Ayr had a good team then , maybe their best ever team so the 8 v 1 was probably a better result than the 7 v 0 on New Year`s Day .

cheltenhamhibee
17-09-2016, 11:07 PM
It was my first ever Hibs match, just cemented what I already knew, Hi-Bees til I die

hhibs
17-09-2016, 11:23 PM

It sure was.epic game.

Ally Mcleod,the Ayr manager remarked on our "total football"

Those really were the days.

17-09-2016, 11:35 PM
It sure was.epic game.

Ally Mcleod,the Ayr manager remarked on our "total football"

Those really were the days.

Ally (Concord nose) McLeod said after the game that his side hadn't played badly and to be perfectly honest, he was right, Ayr played okay but Hibs were on a different planet that day.

malcky
18-09-2016, 01:24 AM
I was there, my late dad took me, wasn't allowed to go to league cup final tho

Ditto never got to the cup ginal but got to the Ayr game

18-09-2016, 10:57 AM
Ditto never got to the cup ginal but got to the Ayr game
Sure we paraded the League Cup we had just won.

18-09-2016, 11:28 AM
I think we also beat St Johnstone 9-2 around the same time. And Rosenberg 9-1.

18-09-2016, 12:04 PM
I think we also beat St Johnstone 9-2 around the same time. And Rosenberg 9-1.

Totally different teams/era

Apologies, they were 1976 and 1974 respectively

18-09-2016, 12:07 PM
Sure we paraded the League Cup we had just won.
Back of a small truck with 2 reserves or 2 apprentices standing like statues. Took about 20 mins if I remember correctly. Must have gone with an adult. We were standing in the lower terrace near the cave. My usual spot was under the tv gantry high up...

Sent via the bushes @ EM

18-09-2016, 01:28 PM
IIRC the 8 that day took our total goals scored that season to 105 and it still wasn't Christmas. Great days indeed