View Full Version : sevco statement
14-09-2016, 08:09 AM
I do think you are wrong about this. As someone born in 1968 I can remember the main wave of shops (both corner shops and fashion shops) being opened by immigrants from the Asian Sub-continent. My family used them and had good friendly relations with their proprietors. The term Paki shop was originally used in a purely descriptive way as a shortening of the word Pakistani. It was a term used by pretty much everyone in Edinburgh and as such I would guarantee you the majority did not have racist feeling towards the people in question. (although no doubt a minority were racist and did also use the term). However the rise of "skinhead" culture in particular in the early 1980's led to a lot of verbal and physical attacks on asian immigrants and in particular the use of graffiti terms such as "go-home Paki" meant that the phrase which was originally just a generic term for Asian immigrants became associated with racism and violence.
It is now (imho) unacceptable to use the phrase and I don't think I personally have used it since about 1983.
It wasn't invented by racists though they just commandeered it.
Hun isn't sectarian it's footballtarian
greenteam
14-09-2016, 08:14 AM
It is reported in various places, except their own website.
If you look on page 5 of "huns behaving badly".
There is a statement from 1872, but the one I saw yesterday doesn't seem to be anywhere. Only seen it on teletext
AltheHibby
14-09-2016, 08:31 AM
"Interestingly very few people ever get pulled up for using the term "yank" which as a shortening of "Yankee" to describe an American"
Funny you should say that. I called some friends from South Caroline "Yankees" and was told "we're not Yankees, we're Rednecks", which I thought was an insult!
14-09-2016, 08:35 AM
This thread has taken a weird turn. So, anyway, back on topic...
The Huns are revolting.
The the huns are worse than the ones that used to follow the now defunct Glasgow rangers, coming up fast are West of Scotland FC and Scottish cup supporters though. Our thanks to the daily record for outing the latter two dangerous groups.
Sent from my HTC One mini 2 using Tapatalk
greiggy
14-09-2016, 09:05 AM
"Interestingly very few people ever get pulled up for using the term "yank" which as a shortening of "Yankee" to describe an American"
Funny you should say that. I called some friends from South Caroline "Yankees" and was told "we're not Yankees, we're Rednecks", which I thought was an insult!
Yankees are from the northern states. It dates back to the civil war.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 09:23 AM
Yankees are from the northern states. It dates back to the civil war.
Cracker is a bad thing to call a south USA person..no idea why, but I can guess
14-09-2016, 09:23 AM
No, because Paki isn't short for Pakistani. The term was coined by British racists, and is a blanket term which is applied to people of South Asian descent, as opposed to Pakistanis.
Thats wrong!
I was educated by a Pakistani lady some years ago re this. The term 'Paki" is acceptable unless used in an abusive tone or manner. The lady explained to me that 'Pakistan' is a combination of two words Clean and Land clean land. It is therefore if 'Paki' is used fondly, you will be calling someone clean which is not offensive.
14-09-2016, 09:27 AM
Thats wrong!
I was educated by a Pakistani lady some years ago re this. The term 'Paki" is acceptable unless used in an abusive tone or manner. The lady explained to me that 'Pakistan' is a combination of two words Clean and Land clean land. It is therefore if 'Paki' is used fondly, you will be calling someone clean which is not offensive.
.. and then there's the alternative :-
an acronym referring to the names of the five northern regions of the British Raj: Punjab, Afghania, Kashmir, Sindh, and Baluchistan
lobster
14-09-2016, 09:34 AM
I agree that Rangers do their best to avoid condemnation of their own bigoted traditions, but at the same time rather than just attack these guys, an olive branch could help us all get to a more sensible place.
This latter comment provides some welcome light on the issue. The fact of the matter is that many at Rangers feel demonised regardless of how others might value that claim. As Devine put it recently on 'Scotland's Game' we are living through the last days of the religious sectarianism that has blighted our country. It is time for people to come together and build a better, more tolerant, and inclusive society. To exclude Rangers from that process, as some people seem to want to do, is wrong, very dangerous, and somewhat ironically sectarian.
greenteam
Thats wrong!
Interesting information. However even though it might not be racist towards them. It seems more racist to white brits, which is enough for me to not use the phrase anymore even if I obviously dont mean it in a racist or negative way . Just the way it is and I dont mind complying if people actually think im racist by using it..
Thats wrong!
I think it's "pure" as opposed to "clean".
14-09-2016, 09:45 AM
This latter comment provides some welcome light on the issue. The fact of the matter is that many at Rangers feel demonised regardless of how others might value that claim. As Devine put it recently on 'Scotland's Game' we are living through the last days of the religious sectarianism that has blighted our country. It is time for people to come together and build a better, more tolerant, and inclusive society. To exclude Rangers from that process, as some people seem to want to do, is wrong, very dangerous, and somewhat ironically sectarian.
Nobody is excluding Rangers from anything.
I'm sure everyone would welcome a more inclusive Rangers but the actions of their fans and also now the actions at boardroom level suggest they are further away from eradicating sectarian than for many a year.
14-09-2016, 09:46 AM
I think it's "pure" as opposed to "clean".
Just going by what she said but if pure, that is some compliment :)
I use neither term as age has made me realise people are just people.
14-09-2016, 10:01 AM
The only folk wanting to exclude The Rangers from building a 'better, more tolerant, and inclusive society' is The Rangers.
Hun bassas.
14-09-2016, 10:14 AM
The only folk wanting to exclude The Rangers from building a 'better, more tolerant, and inclusive society' is The Rangers.
Hun bassas.
Exactly this. Their histrionics indicate not that they fear this process happening without them, but that the ramifications of it will, and are, eroding an influence based on entrenched priviledge, bigotry and, of course, sectarianism.
lobster
14-09-2016, 10:19 AM
Nobody is excluding Rangers from anything.
I'm sure everyone would welcome a more inclusive Rangers but the actions of their fans and also now the actions at boardroom level suggest they are further away from eradicating sectarian than for many a year.
Time to eradicate the 'but' and start talking.
lobster
14-09-2016, 10:20 AM
Hun bassas.
Really? Grow up.
14-09-2016, 10:22 AM
My auld mum, god rest her, always talked about going to 'the Paki' shop and she didn't have a racist bone in her body. Her half sister married a black doctor back in the 40s or 50s and my mum had to endure a fair bit of whispered racism from co workers at the time, 'imagine waking up next to that' was one comment. Her nephew from that marriage became a successful lawyer and he would send her money, sometimes hundreds of pounds, at Christmas and did so for years right up until she died just over a year ago, needless to say there isn't any racists in my family :greengrin
I don't know if being 56 years old makes me one of the 'older generation' but I wouldn't dream of using the word Paki or Chinky ..... I have had many a debate with friends over the 'Gollywog' issue. To a lot of them its a fondly remembered harmless child's toy and a marmalade logo, but to black people it perpetuates a racist 'yessum massa' stereotype they detest and its not hard to see why to a man and woman they find it offensive.
The first time I heard the Hun reference used on the TV or Radio was on 'on the ball' ... I think they were discussing rhyming slang and Stewart Cosgrove referred to Rangers as "The Currant Buns" following that with "what do you call the Rangers superstore? ... what every Hun wants" :greengrin I don't remember any outcry at the time, which adds to the theory that rather than being a sectarian term some folk have decided to make it one.
14-09-2016, 10:22 AM
Really? Grow up.
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160914/2eef088cc78c20c4873b9e484014450c.jpg
lobster
14-09-2016, 10:24 AM
Exactly this. Their histrionics indicate not that they fear this process happening without them, but that the ramifications of it will, and are, eroding an influence based on entrenched priviledge, bigotry and, of course, sectarianism.
As the original poster stated, hold out an olive branch, don't engage in antagonistic and offensive terminologies like 'Hun Bassas' as you seem to agree with. And then we might test the veracity of your latter claim.
lobster
14-09-2016, 10:26 AM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160914/2eef088cc78c20c4873b9e484014450c.jpg
Good, well done. See how easy it is?
14-09-2016, 10:44 AM
Time to eradicate the 'but' and start talking.
The point is Rangers, by the actions of their fans and board, have shown zero indication that they wish to tackle the sectarian issue they have within their support.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-09-2016, 10:59 AM
[/B]
As the original poster stated, hold out an olive branch, don't engage in antagonistic and offensive terminologies like 'Hun Bassas' as you seem to agree with. And then we might test the veracity of your latter claim.
But this is football. We want to antagonise and offend them.
Huns should get the same accommodation as national front-ers, neo-nazis and KKK members. Their 'traditions' are the same.
[/B]
I offered a Rangers fan an olive branch once and he whittled it into a make-shift flute.
Easy-peasy to stop using the "h" word if the wee souls feel sensitive to it.
Would be interesting if it were done across the board and see where that left them.
Doubt it'll happen but it's not that hard.
lobster
14-09-2016, 11:07 AM
The point is Rangers, by the actions of their fans and board, have shown zero indication that they wish to tackle the sectarian issue they have within their support.
That's open to debate. Many Rangers fans do want that.
14-09-2016, 11:10 AM
Would hazard a guess that there are more who want to keep it rather than eradicate it
lobster
14-09-2016, 11:11 AM
But this is football. We want to antagonise and offend them.
Huns should get the same accommodation as national front-ers, neo-nazis and KKK members. Their 'traditions' are the same.
Good luck with that staggering level of basic reductionism. Many Rangers fans I know would find that deeply offensive. However if being offensive is your aim you are certainly on the right track.
14-09-2016, 11:14 AM
Rangers are acting as I would expect any 4yr old.
TrinityHibs
14-09-2016, 11:14 AM
That's open to debate if you are talking about the pond life that turn up at ER
14-09-2016, 11:20 AM
[/B]
if a Rangers fan cannot take being referred to as a 'hun', or for that matter, a Hibs fan cannot handle being called a 'hobo' then I'd suggest that they have one skin too few to attend games in a football stadium. Your 'let's-not-be-beastly-to-the-hun-least-they-skweem-and-skweem' argument is very spurious. They've been doing that for years and the craven silence of others hasn't made any difference. The nastiness in Scottish football has been almost exclusively generated by them and their supremacist culture, (aided by Celtic embracing the role of oppressed), which has deeply sectarianized the game in Scotland.
Refraining from using pergorative (but let's get this straight, no matter how they try to spin it, non-racist) terms would have to happen right across football, and not simply be about mollycoddling to the persecution fantasies of one set of supporters. Such a cultural change would be unprecedented and in any case, probably make football as interesting as cricket.
To single out Rangers fans as being too sensitive to the point of mentally fragility and emotionally feebleness, and therefore in need of 'special' treatment, is, in spite of their best efforts to prove this is actually the case, in reality a form of discrimination against them.
If you can't see that they are playing a very shallow, cynical and ultimately rather pathetic and childish game of deflective victim-embracing here, then neither myself nor anybody else are going to convince you at this point. We'll just have to agree to sportingly differ on the best ways of dealing with their outbursts, but I'd suggest that pandering to them for fear or upsetting them further is the age-old response that the bully-victim mentality demands, and one which we shouldn't be indulging.
14-09-2016, 11:22 AM
[/B]
As I said before mate .... You couldn't have found a better platform on which to kick the sectarianism into touch than the old Rangers signing of Mo Johnson back at the very end of the 80s, it could and should have been a catalyst for change. Instead you had nut cases burning season tickets outside the ground and rather than being seen as a beacon of hope Johnson was vilified as a traitor by the Celtic fans and at best accepted as a tame fenian bassa by the Rangers fans who were prepared to 'live with it'
This current incarnation of Rangers is if anything more dedicated to the Billy boy culture than the clubs fans were in the 80s. For all his faults I think David Murray did want to change that culture, but can the same be said of the lot in charge now, if anything they seem to be hell bent on encouraging it.
Apart from that, nobody can deny that Hibs fans have done more than anybody to move away from bigotry and sectarianism .. I don't know how old you are, but back in the 70s and early 80s it wasn't in the slightest bit unusual to see tricolours ( no flag debates please ) in the Hibs support and our songbook wasn't that much different from Celtics, I,I, IRA, IRA, OK could be heard at many Hibs away games.
In the decades since then the Hibs support have all but eradicated any sign of that carry on from our games, we have turned to songs in support of our club and even the young guys rather than turn to that nonsense have resurrected some of the old Hibs songs and come up with new stuff that in no way harks back to those days of the 70s and 80s and all credit to them for it. Even when we play Sevco when was the last time anybody heard a song about Orange bassas or anything like that from our support in retaliation to the bigoted pish flowing from the south stand?
How has that change in our supports attitude been received by the Rangers support? Has it in any way lead to a downturn in their bigotry when they visit ER or when we go to Ibrox? ... no, if anything it has been cranked up to 11. As far as they are concerned we are and always will be a bunch of Fenian bassas no matter what we do, just like Mo Johnson.
I for one am not in favour of binning the one historic insult we still have to hurl at them that wasn't a sectarian term and I'm not going to sit back and watch them or anybody else impose their bigoted, sectarian, bull**** agenda on us in order to make it look as if we are as bad as them when we're not ...... my mum always said "never give in to a bully" and in my opinion if we allow them to dictate to us in this manner that's exactly what we would be doing ..... screw that!!!
lobster
14-09-2016, 11:24 AM
Would hazard a guess that there are more who want to keep it rather than eradicate it
That might be a fair guess but how will will know if it has any truth? By offering an olive branch or by continuing antagonism?
14-09-2016, 11:31 AM
Good luck with that staggering level of basic reductionism. Many Rangers fans I know would find that deeply offensive. However if being offensive is your aim you are certainly on the right track.
Amazing that you don't hear them speak out against the deliberate policy of their club to inflame tensions and play the victim.
If they are offended, why don't they tackle the issue themselves?
How has that change in our supports attitude been received by the Rangers support?
Barely anyone has noticed. Nil By Mouth claim we sing sectarian songs, that Celtic supporting lawyer guy (now passed) claimed on the radio, unchallenged, that you could hear IRA songs at Easter Road a few years ago and some The Rangers fans said we were singing "Alan Stubbs' Fenian Army" at the last Scottish Cup Final (which we won, btw).
People outwith Hibs are too lazy and uninterested, they hear what they want to hear.
Ozymandias
14-09-2016, 11:36 AM
That might be a fair guess but how will will know if it has any truth? By offering an olive branch or by continuing antagonism?
It would be virtually impossible to deny, by anyone who has seen the ambulatory pollutants that attend ER when the The Rangers come visiting, that the majority of that sample group do not only want to continue with their "traditions", but actively rejoice in and promote them.
14-09-2016, 11:53 AM
Barely anyone has noticed. Nil By Mouth claim we sing sectarian songs, that Celtic supporting lawyer guy (now passed) claimed on the radio, unchallenged, that you could hear IRA songs at Easter Road a few years ago and some The Rangers fans said we were singing "Alan Stubbs' Fenian Army" at the last Scottish Cup Final (which we won, btw).
People outwith Hibs are too lazy and uninterested, they hear what they want to hear.
I couldn't agree more mate. As you say we have received no credit whatsoever from the MSM for what has been a pretty remarkable turn around in the last 3 decades. At the cup final the fans sang 'Alan Stubbs green & white army' but I suppose if you have bigoted ears you will hear bigoted songs where none exist. I never heard a single song or chant on the day that was anything other than in support of Hibs and given that a tricolour is a pretty effective tool for winding up the Sevco support there were remarkably few.
I had an argument with a knuckle dragger on Facebook where he went on about tricolours, he never responded when I told him to look at all of the Hibs flags hanging around the perimeter track at Hampden, there was not a single tricolour and the only national flag in evidence belonged to the Polish Hibs lads.
hhibs
14-09-2016, 12:02 PM
Saint Jude ,dude.:flag:
proud_and_green
14-09-2016, 12:08 PM
If I'm not allowed to call them huns any more I won't call them Sevconians or Zombies but stills.
Or maybe call them Bennies.....:wink:
greenteam
14-09-2016, 12:17 PM
Or maybe call them Bennies.....:wink:
Call them whatever the hell you want mate..not interested in goody2shoes approach to these people.
What still sticks in my throat was watching Hibs trying to take a corner at Ipox and our player being pelted with pies etc . However that seems to be ok...the fik it was ok!.
Nothing was ever done about that and I wont forget it..so anything you call them is fine because you cant be racist to animals.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-09-2016, 12:27 PM
Im sure they do, but that is their problem.
I do see amd admire what you are trying to do, but sometimes you just have to call out bigotry amd racism for what it is - and there should be no accomodation for it.
Rangers traditions are based on hating others. They are absolutely the aggressor in this instance. They only way they are victims is of their own familys ignorance and bigotry being passed on to them.
SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
14-09-2016, 12:28 PM
Ps what you call reductionism could just as easily be thrown back at you as sophistry.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 12:35 PM
Ps what you call reductionism could just as easily be thrown back at you as sophistry.
Go paint grass green
greenteam
14-09-2016, 12:46 PM
Go paint grass green
Ive got a big word too
..whogivesaflyingfik. do you actually know what your arguing about or a you just going to flaunt weird words about?. Whatever your point is I disagree with you...sorry if that makes me a racist or an anarchist
What still sticks in my throat was watching Hibs trying to take a corner at Ipox and our player being pelted with pies etc . However that seems to be ok...the fik it was ok!.
BBC Radio commentary team thought the incidents at the play-off game season before last were funny, they must have as the laughed throughout whenever this happened.
proud_and_green
14-09-2016, 12:56 PM
Call them whatever the hell you want mate..not interested in goody2shoes approach to these people.
Nothing was ever done about that and I wont forget it..so anything you call them is fine because you cant be racist to animals.
It was not a serious post...it will probably only resonate with people of a certain vintage and in a specific profession. But basically is a direct reference to the suggestion of calling them 'stills'.
Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
greenteam
14-09-2016, 12:56 PM
BBC Radio commentary team thought the incidents at the play-off game season before last were funny, they must have as the laughed throughout whenever this happened.
Can you remember that? Scott Allen taking a corner being pelted with everything. .Hibs didn't make a big deal of it, but we should of
greenteam
14-09-2016, 01:01 PM
It was not a serious post...it will probably only resonate with people of a certain vintage and in a specific profession. But basically is a direct reference to the suggestion of calling them 'stills'.
Sent from my E5823 using Tapatalk
I know mate..not having a go at you. Just losing the plot with them getting away with everthing they do and then criminalising other clubs for doing much less. .its got to a point where they honestly believe they are above everyone else..we as a representative of the Scottish league need it stopped and the sooner the better
greenteam
14-09-2016, 01:02 PM
I know mate..not having a go at you. Just losing the plot with them getting away with everthing they do and then criminalising other clubs for doing much less. .its got to a point where they honestly believe they are above everyone else..we as a representative of the Scottish league need it stopped and the sooner the better
Yea..zombies...dead
lobster
14-09-2016, 01:37 PM
if a Rangers fan cannot take being referred to as a 'hun', or for that matter, a Hibs fan cannot handle being called a 'hobo' then I'd suggest that they have one skin too few to attend games in a football stadium. Your 'let's-not-be-beastly-to-the-hun-least-they-skweem-and-skweem' argument is very spurious. They've been doing that for years and the craven silence of others hasn't made any difference. The nastiness in Scottish football has been almost exclusively generated by them and their supremacist culture, (aided by Celtic embracing the role of oppressed), which has deeply sectarianized the game in Scotland.
Refraining from using pergorative (but let's get this straight, no matter how they try to spin it, non-racist) terms would have to happen right across football, and not simply be about mollycoddling to the persecution fantasies of one set of supporters. Such a cultural change would be unprecedented and in any case, probably make football as interesting as cricket.
To single out Rangers fans as being too sensitive to the point of mentally fragility and emotionally feebleness, and therefore in need of 'special' treatment, is, in spite of their best efforts to prove this is actually the case, in reality a form of discrimination against them.
If you can't see that they are playing a very shallow, cynical and ultimately rather pathetic and childish game of deflective victim-embracing here, then neither myself nor anybody else are going to convince you at this point. We'll just have to agree to sportingly differ on the best ways of dealing with their outbursts, but I'd suggest that pandering to them for fear or upsetting them further is the age-old response that the bully-victim mentality demands, and one which we shouldn't be indulging.
I would contest the comparison you make. More problematically ‘Huns’ is widely equated with ‘FB’. And there lies a huge problem. You can’t realistically ban one without the other. More broadly, it’s too convenient to blame the devilish 'other' and it avoids the more difficult task of trying to understand different perspectives and how they are formed. You seem to have concluded that that’s what 'they' are like and ‘they’ somehow have some kind of a calculated strategy of playing the victim. It might be argued that all you are doing is feeding that view.
Rangers perceive there to be an anti-Rangers campaign on the go exemplified by the actions of a small minority of the Celtic support last Saturday. For ‘them’ using the terminology of ‘Hun’ gives that odious display implicit support.
As the earlier poster suggested wouldn’t Hibs as a community be better placed to hold out an olive branch and desist from terminologies that the ‘other’ find unacceptable. Would that be in fact, ‘Hibs class’? To rise above the BS?
Having said that if what people actually want is a carnivalesque approach to football where socially unacceptable things are permitted if not encouraged then that’s an entirely different matter.
14-09-2016, 01:59 PM
I would contest the comparison you make. More problematically ‘Huns’ is widely equated with ‘FB’. And there lies a huge problem. You can’t realistically ban one without the other. More broadly, it’s too convenient to blame the devilish 'other' and it avoids the more difficult task of trying to understand different perspectives and how they are formed. You seem to have concluded that that’s what 'they' are like and ‘they’ somehow have some kind of a calculated strategy of playing the victim. It might be argued that all you are doing is feeding that view.
Rangers perceive there to be an anti-Rangers campaign on the go exemplified by the actions of a small minority of the Celtic support last Saturday. For ‘them’ using the terminology of ‘Hun’ gives that odious display implicit support.
As the earlier poster suggested wouldn’t Hibs as a community be better placed to hold out an olive branch and desist from terminologies that the ‘other’ find unacceptable. Would that be in fact, ‘Hibs class’? To rise above the BS?
Having said that if what people actually want is a carnivalesque approach to football where socially unacceptable things are permitted if not encouraged then that’s an entirely different matter.
Surely those who perpetrate the crime should be making the inroads than the other clubs being relied upon?
It is the The Rangers fans and The Rangers as a club who are committing and almost encouraging respectively this culture of us against them. It is getting worse and The Rangers' board is not doing anything to help it, rather they are making it worse.
What would you suggest is the explanation behind the vile that spills out of the stands and board room at Ibrox?
If it is not a case of that's how 'they' are brought up then i don't know what it is. You certainly aren't born a bigot. Furthermore, if it purely interaction with fans of The Rangers that breeds these people then again it is up to The Rangers to sort this
greenteam
14-09-2016, 02:22 PM
Surely those who perpetrate the crime should be making the inroads than the other clubs being relied upon?
It is the The Rangers fans and The Rangers as a club who are committing and almost encouraging respectively this culture of us against them. It is getting worse and The Rangers' board is not doing anything to help it, rather they are making it worse.
What would you suggest is the explanation behind the vile that spills out of the stands and board room at Ibrox?
If it is not a case of that's how 'they' are brought up then i don't know what it is. You certainly aren't born a bigot. Furthermore, if it purely interaction with fans of The Rangers that breeds these people then again it is up to The Rangers to sort this
So what to do?
14-09-2016, 02:33 PM
So what to do?
Punish the clubs, who will then punish the fans until it stops. Painful process for the clubs who have offenders but it's the route to take imo.
The only route i can see.
Certainly the Rangers need to be reigned in with their ridiculous statements.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 02:39 PM
Punish the clubs, who will then punish the fans until it stops. Painful process for the clubs who have offenders but it's the route to take imo.
I honestly feel sorry for the "football" supporting side of their support, but yea it needs sorting, but the statements need laughed at first. How dare they have a go at other fans.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 02:41 PM
What goes around. .comes around. .they really need to be introduced to Karma.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 02:45 PM
I honestly feel sorry for the "football" supporting side of their support, but yea it needs sorting, but the statements need laughed at first. How dare they have a go at other fans.
hhibs
14-09-2016, 03:09 PM
In your universe.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 03:32 PM
Sorry Alex. No idea why my posts are being repeated. Not even had a curry
greenteam
14-09-2016, 03:33 PM
You might be right and agree with you, but it won't ever happen mate
Ozymandias
14-09-2016, 03:42 PM
This is not true. I'd say pretty much every fan in the country refers to The Rangers as Huns. I'd suggest only Sevco and a few deluded yams refer to Celtic as Fenian B*******. To suggest otherwise is a false equivalence and precisely what they want.
To rise above the BS, as you put it, requires at least a modicum of willingness to change from both sides if it were to have chance of any positive outcome. It takes the merest glance at Follow follow or Rangers media, or to read the utterances from the board, to realise that that simply is not going to happen at their end. Token gestures are only going to fuel the belief they are the victims here. They simply aren't.
What goes around. .comes around. .they really need to be introduced to Karma.
They have been introduced to karma. David Gray's header in the 92nd minute! Can't stand The Rangers and the victim card they keep playing.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 03:58 PM
They have been introduced to karma. David Gray's header in the 92nd minute! Can't stand The Rangers and the victim card they keep playing.
Exactly mate
majorhibs
14-09-2016, 04:24 PM
Just for a minute, stop being a typical hun. You are very obviously young & niave to come out with rubbish like huns is widely equated with FB- my advice is you seriously step away from your keyboard & do some real research into football history in Scotland- before computers if your REALLY daring- & while your not being & sticking up for typical huns, realise in the 70s & 80s your own neanderthals actually called theirselves huns- & glorified in it- but those long ago glory hunters throughout Scotland- were the same bigoted clowns as now. Seriously, a support that every single week are heard singing they are up to their knees in fenian blood, EVERY single week- are saying they do not like bigotry against them??? Just stop it Lobster. Dont be an idiot. An olive branch to the guy sitting opposite you, who is going to go away to the next match he attends in Scotland, & sing with many thousands of others beside him he is up to his knees in fenian blood, amongat many other ditties for 90 minutes. You have a word with the many huns you know & tell them that their songs are offensive to others. See where it gets you.
lobster
14-09-2016, 04:30 PM
In your universe.
That it? :aok:
lobster
14-09-2016, 04:37 PM
Just for a minute, stop being a typical hun. You are very obviously young & niave to come out with rubbish like huns is widely equated with FB- my advice is you seriously step away from your keyboard & do some real research into football history in Scotland- before computers if your REALLY daring- & while your not being & sticking up for typical huns, realise in the 70s & 80s your own neanderthals actually called theirselves huns- & glorified in it- but those long ago glory hunters throughout Scotland- were the same bigoted clowns as now. Seriously, a support that every single week are heard singing they are up to their knees in fenian blood, EVERY single week- are saying they do not like bigotry against them??? Just stop it Lobster. Dont be an idiot. An olive branch to the guy sitting opposite you, who is going to go away to the next match he attends in Scotland, & sing with many thousands of others beside him he is up to his knees in fenian blood, amongat many other ditties for 90 minutes. You have a word with the many huns you know & tell them that their songs are offensive to others. See where it gets you.
'theirselves'? Seriously? 'a typical hun'? Jesus wept.
To achieve a level of condescension towards others one requires a level of intelligence.
Btw I don't know any 'huns' as you put it, I know Rangers supporters with far more insight than you. Twit. Sorry Major Twit
14-09-2016, 04:38 PM
Only because Sevco fans have mounted a concerted effort naively aided by Nil by Mouth to have it viewed as such ... the whole argument here is that 'Hun' is certainly not a sectarian insult, whereas Fenian ( always accompanied by b.....d ) certainly is and more to the point is certainly intended to be.
As for the theory that we are assisting them in playing the victim, give me a break, its as plain as the nose on your face that the board at Rangers are currently indulging in a strategy of doing just that in a highly cynical attempt to form an us against the rest culture around the club, the fans are absolutely lapping it up and that's going to be the strategy no matter what we do or don't do.
If you want evidence of that look at their attitude towards the Daily Record, that newspaper which can hardly be called critical of Rangers fans or their club is absolutely vilified on Rangers message boards like The Bear's Den and Follow, Follow for being anti Rangers. If you want more evidence consider this ......... at what point following the cup final have they made any attempt to build bridges between Hibs and their club at a boardroom level? Every utterance from them starting from 15 minutes after the final whistle on the 21st of May has been to demonise the Hibs support and to call for Hibs to be punished for and take the whole blame for what happened that day. Does that sound like a club looking for an Olive branch to you?
Nobody is looking for 'socially unacceptable things' to be permitted at football in the form of bigotry, sexism, homophobia or racism if that is what you are alluding to. But finding insulting terms to use against your competitors and especially against your derby rivals or clubs you have a traditionally intense rivalry with as we do with Rangers is a culture as old as professional football itself.
Its just unfortunate for us that possibly uniquely in world football two of our biggest rivals have both by accident and design intertwined their clubs culture with a religion based conflict in another country and as a result see any insult aimed at them as being sectarian in nature and if it isn't they will make every effort to make it appear sectarian, because that is the be all and end all of their attitude to each other and they see no distinction between themselves and other clubs ...... that can be seen in their attitude when one of them asks what club you support and when the answer isn't Celtic or Rangers the next question is who do you prefer Celtic or Rangers? as if you have some sort of a moral responsibility to pick a side in their bigotry driven hatefest.
hhibs
14-09-2016, 04:44 PM
That it? :aok:
|Yep,all its worth.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 04:49 PM
Only because Sevco fans have mounted a concerted effort naively aided by Nil by Mouth to have it viewed as such ... the whole argument here is that 'Hun' is certainly not a sectarian insult, whereas Fenian ( always accompanied by b.....d ) certainly is and more to the point is certainly intended to be.
As for the theory that we are assisting them in playing the victim, give me a break, its as plain as the nose on your face that the board at Rangers are currently indulging in a strategy of doing just that in a highly cynical attempt to form an us against the rest culture around the club, the fans are absolutely lapping it up and that's going to be the strategy no matter what we do or don't do.
If you want evidence of that look at their attitude towards the Daily Record, that newspaper which can hardly be called critical of Rangers fans or their club is absolutely vilified on Rangers message boards like The Bear's Den and Follow, Follow for being anti Rangers. If you want more evidence consider this ......... at what point following the cup final have they made any attempt to build bridges between Hibs and their club at a boardroom level? Every utterance from them starting from 15 minutes after the final whistle on the 21st of May has been to demonise the Hibs support and to call for Hibs to be punished for and take the whole blame for what happened that day. Does that sound like a club looking for an Olive branch to you?
Nobody is looking for 'socially unacceptable things' to be permitted at football in the form of bigotry, sexism, homophobia or racism if that is what you are alluding to. But finding insulting terms to use against your competitors and especially against your derby rivals or clubs you have a traditionally intense rivalry with as we do with Rangers is a culture as old as professional football itself.
Its just unfortunate for us that possibly uniquely in world football two of our biggest rivals have both by accident and design intertwined their clubs culture with a religion based conflict in another country and as a result see any insult aimed at them as being sectarian in nature and if it isn't they will make every effort to make it appear sectarian, because that is the be all and end all of their attitude to each other and they see no distinction between themselves and other clubs ...... that can be seen in their attitude when one of them asks what club you support and when the answer isn't Celtic or Rangers the next question is who do you prefer Celtic or Rangers?
No mate it wasnt. This started as a moan at Rangers being being pig heads about a statement they sent. It turned into a what's racist thread and now, with any luck it will get back to the whole point of ny post. ...how to get these fans to get back on side with just being a football fan
lobster
14-09-2016, 04:51 PM
Its just unfortunate for us that possibly uniquely in world football two of our biggest rivals have both by accident and design intertwined their clubs culture with a religion based conflict in another country and as a result see any insult aimed at them as being sectarian in nature and if it isn't they will make every effort to make it appear sectarian, because that is the be all and end all of their attitude to each other and they see no distinction between themselves and other clubs ...... that can be seen in their attitude when one of them asks what club you support and when the answer isn't Celtic or Rangers the next question is who do you prefer Celtic or Rangers? as if you have some sort of a moral responsibility to pick a side in their bigotry driven hatefest.
We are stuck with the history of our country but we can rise above it, thats all I am saying. Your last comment seems to entirely agree with that.
lobster
14-09-2016, 04:53 PM
Rangers are acting as I would expect any 4yr old.
lobster
14-09-2016, 04:55 PM
|Yep,all its worth.
All you are worth Judy
greenteam
14-09-2016, 04:56 PM
No mate it wasnt. This started as a moan at Rangers being being pig heads about a statement they sent. It turned into a what's racist thread and now, with any luck it will get back to the whole point of ny post. ...how to get these fans to get back on side with just being a football fan
Your post is brilliant, but all I want is a solution!
How much longer do we have to put up with being spat on, abused because of our heritage? ?..for me its entirety up to people how have their own opinions, but to me its enough. .enough hatred, enough anti Catholic derogatory comments. .I love my Hibs and im not a catholic.
14-09-2016, 04:59 PM
Lobster, are you Keith Jackson?
Only askin like cos I'm a twit.
14-09-2016, 05:03 PM
Anyone remember a fan of the now defunct Glasgow rangers who used to post on here, blueisthecolour I think he was?
hhibs
14-09-2016, 05:04 PM
All you are worth Judy
I refer to your content but since you want to make it personal..............with respect,you are clearly an attention seeking ,contrary ,pseudo intellectual.
14-09-2016, 05:04 PM
Anyone remember a fan of the now defunct Glasgow rangers who used to post on here, blueisthecolour I think he was?
Aye, he was a fanny. There's nothing worse than sycophantic opposition fans who come on here and try to be all buddy-buddy with us.
14-09-2016, 05:06 PM
I will never stop calling them Huns.
14-09-2016, 05:09 PM
Boy has this thread gone off topic big time!
Now where were we, oh aye......
T'Rangers are a hypocritical bunch of Bigots attempting to deflect from their own Fans behaviour, cynically attempting to cash in on their vile traditions and both clubs are disgusting cesspits of sectarianism.
lobster
14-09-2016, 05:10 PM
I refer to your content but since you want to make it personal..............with respect,you are clearly an attention seeking ,contrary ,pseudo intellectual.
Clearly in your universe
hhibs
14-09-2016, 05:11 PM
Aye, he was a fanny. There's nothing worse than sycophantic opposition fans who come on here and try to be all buddy-buddy with us.
Hmm, I wonder who that might be ?
lobster
14-09-2016, 05:14 PM
No you are approx the third twit. Keep up.
14-09-2016, 05:21 PM
Meanwhile in the offices of Ibrox:
http://veganamericanprincess.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/See-no-evil-hear-no-evil-speak-no-evil-monkeys-14750406-1600-1200.jpg
I love being a trio twit �� it makes me all fuzzy inside �� ok then and since we are on guess who? Are you Jim trainer?
Religion and the ugly side of it are in both Rangers and Celtic's DNA, and to some extent it's also in the DNA of the ruling bodies of our game.
Only the government can probably do anything of significance if we are to eradicate it, but I am not sure they are up for that fight.
It's what the Rangers and Celtic are, what they will always be about. What their fans do in private is up to them but when they sing their songs in the stadiums in games played under the SFA/SPFL/UEFA jurisdictions they should be punished and only points deductions or extremely heavy fines will do.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 05:22 PM
Probably a stupid question, but wtf are you on about???
14-09-2016, 05:23 PM
People on here can't help but have a dig at your character when they disagree with you. It's the Hibs.net way.
That said, I don't agree Hun and FB are in the same category when it comes to insults/slurs. For one, hun just doesn't have the same history to it. The Rangers' sudden realisation that they are offended by being called Huns feels almost artificial.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 05:27 PM
People on here can't help but have a dig at your character when they disagree with you. It's the Hibs.net way.
That said, I don't agree Hun and FB are in the same category when it comes to insults/slurs. For one, hun just doesn't have the same history to it. The Rangers' sudden realisation that they are offended by being called Huns feels almost artificial.
It is mate..agree with you. How this got onto racism is beyond me. Of course their HUNS..NUF SED
14-09-2016, 05:28 PM
We are stuck with the history of our country but we can rise above it, thats all I am saying. Your last comment seems to entirely agree with that.
I absolutely agree with rising above bigotry and sectarianism Lobster ....... That does not in my opinion include allowing these sectarian bigots to tar us, or me, with their bigoted sectarian brush. I am not going to watch as they bully the media, Nil by Mouth or us into admitting that a term which is NOT sectarian is sectarian. That's not a step towards ending sectarianism in my opinion, that's allowing sectarian bigots to dictate the terms of what language I am allowed to use and telling me that because I insult them in whatever form that takes sectarian or not, that the very fact that its an insult against them makes it sectarian.
14-09-2016, 05:28 PM
Yep and it's taken them approx. 400 years to come to this conclusion!
The rangers are the virus in today's society! Despicable disgusting club unfit for purpose in this day and age. If any one feels sorry for there plight, they need to reflect upon their emotional intelligence. The Rangers will never change nor grow up to be a mature responsible sporting football club in our life time!
For me, they need shut down!
14-09-2016, 05:33 PM
Yep and it's taken them approx. 400 years to come to this conclusion!
The rangers are the virus in today's society! Despicable disgusting club unfit for purpose in this day and age. If any one feels sorry for there plight, they need to reflect upon their emotional intelligence. The Rangers will never change nor grow up to be a mature responsible sporting football club in our life time!
For me, they need shut down!
If they want to complain about it then firstly they need to come to the table with clean hands. They cant so they can go and do one.
hhibs
14-09-2016, 05:36 PM
You really are keen on yourself.
14-09-2016, 05:37 PM
As far as I'm concerned the use of the word Hun to describe The Rangers is not sectarian and I will continue to call them Huns until someone out with the Hun community tells me it's unacceptable.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 05:38 PM
http://veganamericanprincess.com/wp-content/uploads/2012/08/See-no-evil-hear-no-evil-speak-no-evil-monkeys-14750406-1600-1200.jpg
Good one lol
14-09-2016, 05:43 PM
Boy has this thread gone off topic big time!
Now where were we, oh aye......
T'Rangers are a hypocritical bunch of Bigots attempting to deflect from their own Fans behaviour, cynically attempting to cash in on their vile traditions and both clubs are disgusting cesspits of sectarianism.
[emoji106] That's the one
greenteam
14-09-2016, 05:44 PM
As far as I'm concerned the use of the word Hun to describe The Rangers is not sectarian and I will continue to call them Huns until someone out with the Hun community tells me it's unacceptable.
Im outwith the Hun community and I can categorically give you permission, without prejudice or faith..give you permission to call them Huns
14-09-2016, 05:45 PM
The next infirm game is going to be on hogmanay. Wow.
greenteam
14-09-2016, 05:47 PM
Good one lol
greenteam
14-09-2016, 05:54 PM
I guess stand up comedy isnt allowed on this site lol...
14-09-2016, 05:56 PM
You do realise people of other ethnicities post on this website? Also, comedy tends to have an element of humour in it.
14-09-2016, 05:59 PM
Racism is hilarious, you are either trolling or an idiot.
14-09-2016, 06:03 PM
Racism is hilarious, you are either trolling or an idiot.
There's also option c.
14-09-2016, 06:04 PM
The Admins used to close threads before they descended into this level of childish name-calling.
Oh for the good old days.
14-09-2016, 06:08 PM
The Admins used to close threads before they descended into this level of childish name-calling.
Did you see the deleted post?
I agree though, let's go back to rivals.net!
14-09-2016, 06:08 PM
Give it a rest eh. I've been busy been with tons of other crap so not even ventured onto the thread.
How many posts have you reported?
greenteam
14-09-2016, 06:10 PM
Jeez after all the racist stuff it was meant as a joke. .im sure everi would of seen it as one. ..no matter
14-09-2016, 06:12 PM
Jeez after all the racist stuff it was meant as a joke. .im sure everi would of seen it as one. ..no matter
Same assumption you made at the start of the thread that instigated the discussion. It was in incredibly poor taste and the fact it was removed should tell you that.