View Full Version : Raith v Hibs 1952

12-09-2016, 10:25 PM
BBC a bit late with their report on the Hibs game as usual - 64 years this time. :wink:
Don't know if this link has been posted before.

http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/video-raith-v-hibs-scottish-cup-tie-in-1952-1-3993615

greenteam
13-09-2016, 06:05 AM
BBC a bit late with their report on the Hibs game as usual - 64 years this time. :wink:
Don't know if this link has been posted before.

http://www.fifetoday.co.uk/sport/football/video-raith-v-hibs-scottish-cup-tie-in-1952-1-3993615

Not bad for the Beligently Broadcasts Crap.
Mind you I love watching us in the 50s

13-09-2016, 06:25 AM
Remarkable that game even went ahead, they were made of sterner stuff in those days!

13-09-2016, 06:31 AM
That pitch is an absolute ice rink. Some of our greatest players were like Bambi on Ice. I watched the whole reel with the Benny Hill music playing through my head.

Great footage though

13-09-2016, 06:41 AM
Crowd looks huge. Loved the bit where the polis man stops to have a look at the game.

13-09-2016, 05:23 PM
Well it all came good in the end, we finally won the bl00dy thing 64 years later.

13-09-2016, 05:34 PM
Interesting the number of times Younger punched the ball rather than trying to catch it, probably a wise move by a keeper in the days when forwards could bundle you and the ball into the net.

13-09-2016, 06:12 PM
Replay 0-0,third game lost 4-1.Raith were a bogy team in the cup.They knocked us out in a replay in Kirkcaldy a couple of years later 3-1.I remember queuing for the train back-a long way in those days-when the team arrived at the station somebody shouted "Shaw you couldnae pick a team of ostriches".For the last 60 years I've wondered what he meant:greengrin

13-09-2016, 08:13 PM
Interesting the number of times Younger punched the ball rather than trying to catch it, probably a wise move by a keeper in the days when forwards could bundle you and the ball into the net.

Did Oxley not used to get pelters for this? :greengrin

13-09-2016, 08:22 PM
Replay 0-0,third game lost 4-1.Raith were a bogy team in the cup.They knocked us out in a replay in Kirkcaldy a couple of years later 3-1.I remember queuing for the train back-a long way in those days-when the team arrived at the station somebody shouted "Shaw you couldnae pick a team of ostriches".For the last 60 years I've wondered what he meant:greengrin

I thought everyone knew that ostriches are naturally gifted footballers.

Mind you, we gave them a good beating in 1955 ...

(Check the scoreboard at the end. :wink: I bet you didnae expect a German pun there, eh?)

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c2l6579VYqA

Just remind me - who did Smith, Reilly and Younger play for again?

13-09-2016, 08:29 PM

(Check the scoreboard at the end. :wink: I bet you didnae expect a German pun there, eh?)

Great watch :agree: When a punter attacked Gordon Smith, Lawrie was right in there to sort things out :greengrin

13-09-2016, 09:05 PM
Great watch :agree: When a punter attacked Gordon Smith, Lawrie was right in there to sort things out :greengrin

That's the sort of thing that can happen when you play football against Ostriches, John.

:devil:

13-09-2016, 09:38 PM
That's the sort of thing that can happen when you play football against Ostriches, John.

:devil:

13-09-2016, 10:43 PM

And furthermore, I would like to say that this evening I have not only perpetrated a bilingual football pun of world-shattering awfulness, but have also posted another comment linking Pat Stanton, the offside law, quantum physics and Schrodinger's Cat.

I would like to know whether this has ever occurred on a football forum before?

:hibees

13-09-2016, 11:21 PM
[B]

Brilliant
Just gi'e the baw tae thingamyjig :wink:

14-09-2016, 06:10 PM

He always said that he hadn't done that when in later life he was perfecting his twinkling old gentleman act instead of the fierce 100% don't tangle with us competitor that he really was.Some of the "I felt a touch so I went down" brigade should watch that clip and see what real centre forward play is-old man's rant.

14-09-2016, 06:12 PM

Excellent effort.We seemed to have regular running battles with them,maybe a continuation of the previous 5 year one.