View Full Version : Football strips that you really dislike

12-09-2016, 03:49 PM
There have obviously been some monstrous kits launched down the years, with even Hibs guilty of some shockers, but I'm talking more about the strips traditionally associated with certain clubs.

For me I've never found Celtic's supposedly classic hooped strip easy on the eye. Before they had numbers on the back it was sort of OK and the simple Lisbon Lions era effort was the best of the bunch. Overall though, Hibs win the battle of the green and white strip design hands down.

Similarly, Liverpool's all-red affair has always been a turn-off. Red shirts and white shorts works but all red is unpleasant. Ditto for Aberdeen. During the great years for both clubs it seemed to give them an air of menace but these days it's just not a good combo.

Never been a fan of Newcastle and St Mirren's black vertical stripes either. No real reason, just doesn't work for me.

12-09-2016, 04:09 PM
Hearts tops.

12-09-2016, 04:10 PM
Inter Milan have the best strip in football IMO. Classic black and blue stripes.

Have always thought teams with yellow as their main colour stand out and when the whole end is in yellow it looks class ie Dortmund.

Never been keen on all white strips.

12-09-2016, 04:10 PM
Hertz.

greenteam
12-09-2016, 04:12 PM
Hearts tops.

Just that

greenteam
12-09-2016, 04:16 PM
Always liked Argentina and brazil tops.
Nowadays its white strips. .must be going colour blind.

Don Giovanni
12-09-2016, 04:17 PM
Anything maroon

:boak:

12-09-2016, 04:41 PM
Hearts and Celtic's, we had the hoops 1st they borrowed it and kept it, couldn't even be arsed designing their own strip.

12-09-2016, 04:43 PM
Hearts strips being the most obvious one. Maroon is just minging.

I've never liked West Ham or Aston Villa strips though. Claret and sky blue is a horrible combination.

12-09-2016, 04:44 PM
Always disliked celtic's hoops, partly because of the history and partly because I never liked them being allowed to have numbers on their shorts when every other club had shirt numbers

WWFTWTG
12-09-2016, 04:45 PM
***** doesn't show on a maroon jersey

12-09-2016, 04:46 PM
Maroon.its the bottom of the bin colour. The last colour left colour. Not fit to be a colour. Bloodied turd iv'e heard a few folk describe it.

12-09-2016, 04:51 PM
The godawful skintight numbers that are in vogue at the moment.

Rangers particularly guilty of this. Ian Black needed no help at all in looking like a fanny, but if anyone's ever looked dafter wearing a football kit I've yet to see it.

12-09-2016, 05:00 PM
Partick Thistle with red yellow and black have a great combination of colours to come up with some great strips, but they rarely do, this seasons effort is particularly minging. ... last seasons was actually quite nice, but utterly ruined by that daft sponsor's logo.

ICT are another one .... Its an amalgamation of two clubs Caley blue and Thistle red, but they continually kick ex Thistle fans in the baws with a nearly all blue effort, I don't think since they entered the league ICT have managed a single strip that was nice to look at.

Apart from that, any club with tops, shorts and socks the same colour is utterly boring and one of the reasons I hate seeing Hibs home top combined with green shorts, because the traditional Hibs kit is one of the best in football.

In that England West Brom probably win the rubbish strip stakes every year, its usually so bland it even makes the likes of Newcastle look exciting.

Further afield I do have a liking for the River Plate strip, pretty classy.

12-09-2016, 05:12 PM
This abomination is clearly the worst thing in creation

(yeah, I know it probably doesn't count. BUT LOOK AT IT!)

wpj
12-09-2016, 05:16 PM
Out of interest and as i dont live in Scotland are there many hearts away tops being worn in Edinburgh or to their matches? That really is a horror show!

Green Cabbage 7
12-09-2016, 05:23 PM
Hearts top, in the words of the pub land lord, nobody chooses to wear maroon.

12-09-2016, 05:26 PM
Dundee United's bright tangerine is shocking. Nobody can look good wearing that.

12-09-2016, 05:30 PM
Anything maroon

12-09-2016, 05:46 PM
Hearts current away top is so bad it's unbelievable. I haven't seen a Yam brave enough to be seen wearing that shocker around town.

12-09-2016, 05:47 PM
Out of interest and as i dont live in Scotland are there many hearts away tops being worn in Edinburgh or to their matches? That really is a horror show!

Fat at jakey lad walked past me the other day in Livingston shopping centre wearing it....I was tempted to ask him if he had the only strip that made it out in public :greengrin

12-09-2016, 05:54 PM
Never liked the blue and white hoops of QPR. Hoops can make supporters look like barrels, particularly the short and stocky.

As for best strips, agree about Inter Milan, in fact Italians IMHO, tend to make better examples of club colours. Always liked the Sampdoria strip, blue with a unique central bands matching the club crest. It'd be good to see Hibs incorporate aspects of our badge eg subtle harp motif in differentiated greens on our kit, given textile technology.

12-09-2016, 05:55 PM
Hertz.

Exactly!

I mean a reddish brown colour - eek!!

12-09-2016, 06:34 PM
Spurs kits are always rank.

ICT kits are usually difficult to look at.

Never liked Dundee Utd's kits either.

12-09-2016, 06:49 PM
Good shout on the ICT strip. It could be half decent with that colour combo but is never pleasant.

And how could I have forgotten to mention the all-maroon Hearts kits. The ultimate anti-style statement. Truly awful. We may not always have enjoyed the best of derby records but when it comes to strips that are easy on the eye we hammer them every time. The Hibs strip in its classic format of green shirt with white sleeves and white shorts is truly a thing of beauty and you'll find there are fans of our club who were drawn to supporting us because of that strip.

12-09-2016, 06:57 PM
Never liked hoops.They make players look unfit and overweight somehow.Celtic,Hamilton,Kilmarnock,Motherwell,Part ick and Stirling Albion all played in hoops when I was a kid.The only ones who looked OK were Queens Park who then as they do now had very narrow hoops and the jerseys outside the shorts-quite classy.

12-09-2016, 07:03 PM
Wolves strips are alway hideous

12-09-2016, 07:08 PM

I've got a Scotland replica top from Toffs in the same colours, needless to say that won't see the light of day again! :-)

12-09-2016, 07:09 PM
Hearts tops.

Hit the nail right on the head.

blaikie
12-09-2016, 07:13 PM
Orange rangers away top from years back, obviously pandering to that element of their support.

12-09-2016, 07:13 PM
There have obviously been some monstrous kits launched down the years, with even Hibs guilty of some shockers, but I'm talking more about the strips traditionally associated with certain clubs.

For me I've never found Celtic's supposedly classic hooped strip easy on the eye. Before they had numbers on the back it was sort of OK and the simple Lisbon Lions era effort was the best of the bunch. Overall though, Hibs win the battle of the green and white strip design hands down.

Similarly, Liverpool's all-red affair has always been a turn-off. Red shirts and white shorts works but all red is unpleasant. Ditto for Aberdeen. During the great years for both clubs it seemed to give them an air of menace but these days it's just not a good combo.

Never been a fan of Newcastle and St Mirren's black vertical stripes either. No real reason, just doesn't work for me.

This one is seriously bowfin.

12-09-2016, 07:22 PM
Remember the Arsenal maroon kit from 05/06. Truly hideous. 😷

12-09-2016, 07:25 PM
Our 'Thistle' strip the other year - when we wore it against a Motherwell team in grey, the only word that came to mind was insipid.

12-09-2016, 07:33 PM
17429Just awful and should never see the light of day ever again, and the strip.

buktadays
12-09-2016, 07:42 PM
Grey Man U away shirt , 95/96? Bloody awful...

12-09-2016, 07:44 PM
17429Just awful and should never see the light of day ever again, and the strip.

Good shout :agree:

12-09-2016, 08:40 PM
This abomination is clearly the worst thing in creation

(yeah, I know it probably doesn't count. BUT LOOK AT IT!)

What the hell is that 😝

12-09-2016, 09:30 PM
great thread. Too numerous to name them all, where to start? Coventry brown away strip circa 1980ish, Present England home kit, present Scotland away kit, any Rangers kit because its a Rangers kit, similar Hearts. Norwich City pajamas top from the early 90s. Any Preston kit (Im a Blackpool lad). WBA away kit (yellow and green stripes)

12-09-2016, 09:50 PM
I loved that WBA strip!!. What about pretty much any Celtic away top of the late 80s and I to the 90s, some of the worst tops ever. As said before, any hearts strip, just a bowfing colour!

12-09-2016, 10:03 PM
I've never found Inverness Caley's strip to be particularly pleasing on the eye. They always seem to find shades of reds and blues that don't really work, and always looks like a cheap Sunday pub team strip.

12-09-2016, 10:05 PM
This abomination fi the lessers circa 1991 was as hideous then as it is now...

12-09-2016, 10:17 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160912/847cca2e9316e756f58ec40269ccb400.jpg

This rather sums up the typical Spurs efforts...

12-09-2016, 10:20 PM
And some beauties here..

http://www.shortlist.com/style/fashion/50-worst-football-kits-ever#gallery-16

12-09-2016, 10:56 PM
Spurs kits are always rank.

ICT kits are usually difficult to look at.

Never liked Dundee Utd's kits either.

Must be a gooner

12-09-2016, 10:57 PM
Even hearts away strip this season is better than this abomination.......

Barman Stanton
12-09-2016, 11:13 PM
That maroon Scotland away strip was a shocker.

I remember in the 80s Clydebank had a shirt sponsored by Wet Wet Wet. Imagine wearing a top with a boy band written across it : /

13-09-2016, 05:50 AM
Must be a gooner

Nope, don't like Arsenal either.

Everton are my favourite English team.

13-09-2016, 07:14 AM
Don't mind maroon strips because if they are done well they look quite good. Roma's especially. Don't mind the gold of wolves and that Spurs away kit either.

Claret and blue just doesn't go though and I don't know why so many teams have this combination.

Yeovil are also right down there with their combination of hoops at the front and whatever at the back.

Don't like Portugal either with their dark shades of red and green. You wouldn't see Colin and Justin doing up a room with those colours for a good reason.

13-09-2016, 08:42 AM
would agree about Wolves and obviously Hearts..both teams just wear horrible colours full stop.

I always find it amazing that Italy always look fantastic in Royal Blue while Rangers always look seedy and schemey

13-09-2016, 09:33 AM
The Scotland away strips have been dire for years now.

Highland_Hibee
13-09-2016, 09:45 AM
I have three Hibs shirts hanging on my wall. Two from the "SPL era" and last season shirt "for historical reasons". This thread has made me realise looking at them how much I don't like our "bottle green" efforts.

The Pointer
13-09-2016, 10:33 AM
Maroon isn't really a 'proper' colour being so dull it looks like red with the life sucked out of it and reminds me of depressing industrial 50/60s British films. Their grey strips of a few season's ago were equally bland but summed the whole club up.

Our design is superb (obviously) and no-one has consistently had a design like it although unlike others here, I like the green strip and shorts combo. Just think it looks cool. In a similar vein, I quite like the current Scotland strip with the white sleeves.

I've never liked yellow, particularly Wolves' version of it with black shorts, although Norwich's strip looks ok with the green trim and shorts. ICT's blue and red looks like The Rangers' reserves and I don't like fluorescent green or yellow.

Billy McKirdy
13-09-2016, 10:43 AM
The Coventry strip from the mid 80s when they were sponsored by the car firm Talbot, it was a stylised T based on the cars logo.

13-09-2016, 11:15 AM
Don't mind maroon strips because if they are done well they look quite good. Roma's especially. Don't mind the gold of wolves and that Spurs away kit either.

Claret and blue just doesn't go though and I don't know why so many teams have this combination.

Yeovil are also right down there with their combination of hoops at the front and whatever at the back.

Don't like Portugal either with their dark shades of red and green. You wouldn't see Colin and Justin doing up a room with those colours for a good reason.

Roma play in Tyrian purple and gold. They wouldn't be seen dead in maroon.

13-09-2016, 12:34 PM

I remember that; what the hell was it all about? There were some bizarre kits in that period; just mental.

13-09-2016, 02:23 PM

Looks like a stock market crash.

13-09-2016, 02:35 PM
Anything Maroon, what a disgusting colour.

13-09-2016, 02:37 PM
The canary yellow of Norwich isn't the most flattering colour.

Billy McKirdy
13-09-2016, 02:51 PM

I mind that one, it's pure gash :greengrin also 'we arra peoples' seems odd for a tic top :rolleyes:

13-09-2016, 04:26 PM
I've never liked gold with black trims as worn by Wolves.
Also had an adverse to any strip with horizontal hoops.
As someone said earlier, it makes fat supporters look even fatter.

Vertical stripes are just as bad for beer belliers as it looks like there's a roundabout around their belly-button.

13-09-2016, 05:11 PM
Hearts tops. A genuinely bogging colour.

13-09-2016, 05:20 PM
Motherwells...thanks to this thread for letting me get that off my chest

13-09-2016, 05:26 PM
Any St Pauli shirt.

Exhibit-A

http://footballholics.com/shop/15634-thickbox/2009-2010-st-pauli-home.jpg

13-09-2016, 05:27 PM
Exhibit-B

http://worldsoccertalk.com/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/st-pauli-home-shirt-600x750.jpg

13-09-2016, 05:35 PM
Any St Pauli shirt.

Exhibit-A

Actually quite like that! haha.

fulshie
13-09-2016, 06:12 PM
The white Scotland away top with the red and purple squiggle that ran from the shoulder down over the chest was horrific. Also the Scotland strip with the hoop around the shorts was awful. Am not picking on Scotland, its just that these were terrible strips.

13-09-2016, 06:32 PM
I always liked the candy stripes the Hearts wore in the 1950s-mind you it helped that they had some great players.Many Hearts supporters at the time threatened not to go back unless they wore maroon.

13-09-2016, 06:41 PM
Any St Pauli shirt.

Exhibit-A

Broon just isn't acceptable.

Bill Milne
14-09-2016, 11:41 AM
Anything maroon

:boak:

this!!

14-09-2016, 11:47 AM
Leaving aside the obvious like Hearts and Rangers which is a given there's a few that always seem to have crap kits.

ICT. Could look like Barcelona, looks Sunday league.

Hamilton, Celtic, Sporting Lisbon etc. Hoops are for rugby.

Ecuador, Venezuela, Colombia etc. Yellow and blue just about works for Brazil, the other South American countries that use it just look a bit cheap tbh.

On the flip side there are a few who rarely get it wrong:

Germany
Werder Bremen
Aegentina
AC Milan
Juventus
Inter
France

fiolex1
14-09-2016, 11:50 AM
Never really liked the Airdrie kit, with the Rugby League diamond design. Also agree with most on here every top the "Merricks" wear!

FifeHibs
14-09-2016, 01:06 PM
The Cowdenbeath effort of early e 90's

http://www.globalfootballshirts.com/ekmps/shops/4dd49f/images/1991-1993-cowdenbeath-away-l-s-football-shirt-adults-large-top-scotland-classic-soccer-jersey-4087-p.jpg

14-09-2016, 04:34 PM

http://www.globalfootballshirts.com/ekmps/shops/4dd49f/images/1991-1993-cowdenbeath-away-l-s-football-shirt-adults-large-top-scotland-classic-soccer-jersey-4087-p.jpg

Jeez, that'll keep the gulls away.

14-09-2016, 04:52 PM
How about a football strip that makes you look like a rotting corpse

http://www.abc.es/media/deportes/2016/05/12/palen--250x500.jpg

14-09-2016, 05:07 PM
That can't be real!!

14-09-2016, 05:10 PM
Anything with stripes or hoops looks pish. I've always loved the simplicity of our kit.

14-09-2016, 05:12 PM
That can't be real!!

You'd think so but sadly it is....

Link (http://www.telegraph.co.uk/football/2016/05/13/inside-out-spanish-football-club-aims-to-shock-with-new-anatomic/)

wpj
14-09-2016, 05:24 PM
How about a football strip that makes you look like a rotting corpse

http://www.abc.es/media/deportes/2016/05/12/palen--250x500.jpg

Be perfect for a zombie club if anyone knows of such a thing?

14-09-2016, 05:34 PM

That shocker has 1992 written all over it, and it must have been around at the same time as the crazy Celtic effort posted above. Would have looked incredible with the multi-coloured shell suits of the era.

14-09-2016, 05:43 PM
Speaking of the fashion crimes of early nineties kits, mind the Hull City tiger effort? Quintessentially 1992 :faf:

14-09-2016, 06:20 PM
Surely the Scottish suspender belt shorts must be the alltime worst.

14-09-2016, 06:31 PM
Really dislike Man City colours, reminds me of my uncles rusty old 1979 Vauxhall Chevette. 😁

Matty_Jack04
14-09-2016, 09:49 PM
Leaving aside the obvious like Hearts and Rangers which is a given there's a few that always seem to have crap kits.

ICT. Could look like Barcelona, looks Sunday league.

Hamilton, Celtic, Sporting Lisbon etc. Hoops are for rugby.

Ecuador, Venezuela, Colombia etc. Yellow and blue just about works for Brazil, the other South American countries that use it just look a bit cheap tbh.

On the flip side there are a few who rarely get it wrong:

Germany
Werder Bremen
Aegentina
AC Milan
Juventus
Inter
France

Thought the colombia top last World Cup was supberb... Agree with all others though

16-09-2016, 08:41 AM
Rangers. When I moved to Berlin I tried and tried to make Hertha my team. Went along to games home and away, built friendships with fans who played in the same team as me and who followed Hertha but despite all my efforts I couldn't pull a blue and white scarf around my neck or wear their sometimes red, white and blue strip. Naw, just naw.