View Full Version : Mr Hibs

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:37 PM
As usual ive been listening to sunshine on Leith and it got me thinking about Mr Hibs LS..and how proud he makes me feel that a player has stuck with us through thick and thin.
I was wondering if any other player deserves that title?.
IMHO Yogi does. Player, captain. manager. .enough for me! , but is there anyone else that has that proper Hibs factor..id love to say LG, but he kissed a Celtic badge which broke my heart TBH..

08-09-2016, 12:40 PM
As usual ive been listening to sunshine on Leith and it got me thinking about Mr Hibs LS..and how proud he makes me feel that a player has stuck with us through thick and thin.
IMHO Yogi does. Player, captain. manager. .enough for me! , but is there anyone else that has that proper Hibs factor..id love to say LG, but he kissed a Celtic badge which broke my heart TBH..
Paddy. The King of E R.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:42 PM
Ok..you got me lol

08-09-2016, 12:43 PM
Gary smith.

Edson Arantes
08-09-2016, 12:47 PM
Mr Stanton.

08-09-2016, 12:51 PM
Tam McCourt.

Not a player, obviously, but he's been here in various roles as long as I've been watching Hibs.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:51 PM
Gary smith lol...I loved that guy..always was in my computer teams

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:52 PM
Tams a good one

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:53 PM
Ive got Sir Tom, Petrie and the Proclaimers too

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:54 PM
Alex Edwards was Mr Hibs when I was a kis

greenteam
08-09-2016, 12:55 PM
Kid

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:01 PM
Oh and Mrs Hibs LD.. won't be missing her out.
The reason ive mentioned the people I have is because of 1) the stadium we have 2) the song we have and 3) and the loyalty we are getting from players.
Really so proud to be a Hibs fan again

08-09-2016, 01:12 PM
Oh and Mrs Hibs LD.. won't be missing her out.
The reason ive mentioned the people I have is because of 1) the stadium we have 2) the song we have and 3) and the loyalty we are getting from players.
Really so proud to be a Hibs fan again

Mrs Hibs ? Nah don't agree with that one, she's only doing the job she's paid for.

Earlydelivery
08-09-2016, 01:14 PM
The King mr Stanton

ath
08-09-2016, 01:17 PM
Yogi is Celtic through and through. Also said he would consider managing hmfc after what happened at Hibs. I like the bloke but would not consider him legend status.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:18 PM
Didn't know that. ..now off my list

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:20 PM
Mrs Hibs ? Nah don't agree with that one, she's only doing the job she's paid for.

Yea ok agree, but deserves a mention I think, has done a lot to bring us back

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:21 PM
Yogi is Celtic through and through. Also said he would consider managing hmfc after what happened at Hibs. I like the bloke but would not consider him legend status.

I always thought he was a Hibs fan...oops

08-09-2016, 01:22 PM
Boozy is definitely the French 'Mr Hibs'. Absolutely loves the club. Of course that title would've been reserved for Sauzee had his management panned out a little bit less disastrously, but AFAIK he's not too fond of us now.

ath
08-09-2016, 01:22 PM
Didn't know that. ..now off my list

Either did I until I heard him on sports sound recently.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:27 PM
Boozy is definitely the French 'Mr Hibs'. Absolutely loves the club. Of course that title would've been reserved for Sauzee had his management panned out a little bit less disastrously, but AFAIK he's not too fond of us now.

Dont blame him tbh...our dark days

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:29 PM

Boozy was brilliant. .great player, I wish a lot of previous players were abiut today. However the team we have now are The Scottish Cup Holders...oh yea

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:32 PM
My point is kinda meant to be Hibs FANS.
glad I started this now. I was sure Yogi was a Hibs fan! Kinda annoyed I didn't know that :0 (

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2016, 01:35 PM
Jimmy Orourke

08-09-2016, 01:35 PM
Yea heard that. Disappointing to hear his greatest football moment was when he signed for Celtic.

Tom Hart RIP
08-09-2016, 01:36 PM
Keith wright, mickey Weir and Gordon Hunter

08-09-2016, 01:37 PM
Jimmy Orourke
Everyone knows his name.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:37 PM
Glad someone mentioned Keith. ..is he a Hibs fan?? I've heard 2 or 3 people say different?

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:38 PM
McGregor could be a legend soon too..I defo know hes a Hibs fan

greenteam
08-09-2016, 01:39 PM
In fact he is

davemcbain
08-09-2016, 01:50 PM
Super Joe T.

Evergreen86
08-09-2016, 01:53 PM
Erich Schaedler

08-09-2016, 02:01 PM
Paul Hanlon

hhibs
08-09-2016, 02:18 PM
Erich Schaedler

With you on that one, Erich was indeed.

Pardon me saying though ,you seem a bit young to be remembering or do you have a connection ?

Also would say Joe Baker and Eddie Turnbull. :flag:

greenteam
08-09-2016, 02:35 PM
With you on that one, Erich was indeed.

Pardon me saying though ,you seem a bit young to be remembering or do you have a connection ?

Also would say Joe Baker and Eddie Turnbull. :flag:

Agree with all comments..
Surprised nobody has mentioned Riordon or O, Conner. ..in their own rights they kind of are.
Most of the 70s team are for me
Remember them all with fond memories

08-09-2016, 02:36 PM
Agree with most of the names mentioned so far. One I don't see listed is John Fraser.
John was a tremendous servant to the club over many, many years as both player and coach.
He turned 80 this year and was the first Hibs captain I can remember lifting silverware (Summer Cup at Pittodrie 63/64 season).
John was also a publican for a time, running Tipplers - a wee pub on Bread Street.
Hoping John is in good health these days.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 02:36 PM
But the point was..fan to player to legend
.good memories being brought back though. .thanx for that

08-09-2016, 02:40 PM
Tams a good one

Pitch has never been the same since he went upstairs

08-09-2016, 02:40 PM
Ray Wilkins, Matt Doherty, just two who bled green and white for the cause. As a manager, Colin Caldwell. One of our own.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 02:42 PM
Ray Wilkins, Matt Doherty, just two who bled green and white for the cause. As a manager, Colin Caldwell. One of our own.

Lol. Just wish they had just bled

greenteam
08-09-2016, 02:48 PM

Iremember watching TV once and Ray Wilkins was a pundit. Underneath in writing it said "Ray Wilkins, Hibernian manager".

My Mrs was on the phone to the Guinness Book Of Records asking if 187 swear words in 15 seconds was a record

Edinburgher
08-09-2016, 03:00 PM
Has to be Pat Stanton - a great ambassador for the club. Pretty sure Ray Wilkins applauded the Rangers fans after a diabolical game at ER in which he was substituted?

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:10 PM
That man and Butcher are pretty much the opposite of this thread and their names should never ever be mentioned on Hibs.net. or anywhere else.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:12 PM
Has to be Pat Stanton - a great ambassador for the club. Pretty sure Ray Wilkins applauded the Rangers fans after a diabolical game at ER in which he was substituted?

I liked Pat...wish he got more support from the Board. Oh well, I think we learned our lesson on nanagers

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:13 PM

Yip

08-09-2016, 03:14 PM
Has no-one mentioned Sidney Poitier yet?

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:16 PM
Ok
..dont remember him lol

yerauldda
08-09-2016, 03:17 PM
Darren Mcgregor.. Once a fan, then a player, now a cup winning legend.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:22 PM
Darren Mcgregor.. Once a fan, then a player, now a cup winning legend.

My thoughts exactly mate

08-09-2016, 03:27 PM
Jimmy Orourke
Aye, spot on and twinned with Paddy.
Lawrie must be right up there too as he was the only original Hibby in the Famous Five.

08-09-2016, 03:28 PM
Ok
..dont remember him lol

No?

He had a great partnership with Rod Steiger in the 60's.

08-09-2016, 03:35 PM
Jimmy McCall, with the club over 50 years and lived through some of awesomist times.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:38 PM
No?

I was born in 67...sorry

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:39 PM
Jimmy McCall, with the club over 50 years and lived through some of awesomist times.

Please tell me more bud

green leaves
My point is kinda meant to be Hibs FANS.
glad I started this now. I was sure Yogi was a Hibs fan! Kinda annoyed I didn't know that :0 (

Eh?
You do know Lewis is a Raith fan?

greenteam
I was born in 67...sorry

Oh please stop

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:40 PM
Eh?
You do know Lewis is a Raith fan?

Im from Kirkcaldy and i know he use to be..

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:43 PM
I'm learning a lot...keep telling me..its hard to keep up when you live abroad

greenteam
08-09-2016, 03:52 PM
No?

Think ive got an ablum from him...
Fik sake. My history aint great and I want to learn..geez a break

08-09-2016, 03:54 PM
I'm learning a lot...keep telling me..its hard to keep up when you live abroad

Ffs, will I need to take my passport when we play Raith away?

08-09-2016, 04:05 PM
Please tell me more bud

Signed for us early 1920's from Celtic, player, coach, kitman, probably every job bar managing the club. Still with Hibs during the Tornadoes era. One of Pat Stanton's heroes, which speaks volumes.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 04:10 PM
Signed for us early 1920's from Celtic, player, coach, kitman, probably every job bar managing the club. Still with Hibs during the Tornadoes era. One of Pat Stanton's heroes, which speaks volumes.

Then he should be categorised as Mr Hibs. Thank you for that mate. Much appreciated

greenteam
08-09-2016, 04:14 PM
I think we have a winner..thank you so much for that pal

Topographic Hibby
08-09-2016, 04:42 PM
Ned Turnbull.

Player, goal scorer, famous fiver, manager, cup winner, mine host on Easter road and all round fan. Came up with the whole Hibs class thing as well.

And the only Hibs manager I stopped in the street for an autograph when I was 11 year old. Swore at me as well, so true to form......!!!'

greenteam
08-09-2016, 04:48 PM
Ned Turnbull.

Player, goal scorer, famous fiver, manager, cup winner, mine host on Easter road and all round fan. Came up with the whole Hibs class thing as well.

And the only Hibs manager I stopped in the street for an autograph when I was 11 year old. Swore at me as well, so true to form......!!!'

Thought about him too..

08-09-2016, 04:52 PM
If we are talking Mr Hibs it's got to be games played, Pat Stanton, Eddie Turnbull and Gordon Hunter all well over 300 games for Hibs

greenteam
08-09-2016, 04:55 PM
If we are talking Mr Hibs it's got to be games played, Pat Stanton, Eddie Turnbull and Gordon Hunter all well over 300 games for Hibs

Jeez...thats conviction..how many games has LS played?

greenteam
08-09-2016, 05:01 PM
Pitch has never been the same since he went upstairs
In my eyes a legend. .is he still doing the green keeping?

greenteam
08-09-2016, 05:02 PM

Jeez...thats conviction..how many games has LS played?

greenteam
08-09-2016, 05:04 PM

Yea. All legends. Only ever saw Pat Stanton and I dont remember it...my uncle wont ever let me forget though

greenteam
08-09-2016, 05:05 PM
Yea. All legends. Only ever saw Pat Stanton and I dont remember it...my uncle wont ever let me forget though

Oh. Just had a slap
.I saw Gorden Hunter a few times lol

08-09-2016, 05:12 PM
[QUOTE=greenteam;4813968]Jeez...thats conviction..how many games has LS played?[/QUO

iHibs have him at 327, Hunter on 409 and Pat on 617.

08-09-2016, 05:22 PM
Agree with all comments..
Surprised nobody has mentioned Riordon or O, Conner. ..in their own rights they kind of are.
Most of the 70s team are for me
Remember them all with fond memories

Riordan defo a Hibs fan.

O'Connor is a Celtic fan.

greenteam
08-09-2016, 05:36 PM
Riordan defo a Hibs fan.

Another thing I didnt know. ..thanks bud

greenteam
08-09-2016, 05:37 PM
[QUOTE=greenteam;4813968]Jeez...thats conviction..how many games has LS played?[/QUO

iHibs have him at 327, Hunter on 409 and Pat on 617.

617..wow...real legend. .thanks

dchibs
08-09-2016, 05:53 PM
Alex Edwards was Mr Hibs when I was a kis
Mine too.

08-09-2016, 06:06 PM
Going by iHibs i've got 6 players with over 400 games for Hibs and another 17 with over 300

Arthur Duncan - 626
Pat Stanton - 617
Willie Ormond - 506
Eddie Turnbull - 487
Peter Kerr - 483
John Blackley - 410

08-09-2016, 06:47 PM
Tam Preston. Played for about 10 years and loved the club. Lovely man to boot.

08-09-2016, 06:56 PM
Turnbull. Played in our best ever team and managed the second best. 3 league titles 1 league cup & 2 dryborough cups. Unrivalled imo.

08-09-2016, 08:01 PM

I concur.

08-09-2016, 11:18 PM
Please tell me more bud

Here's some more bits on Jimmy McColl. Wiki page brief but gives some good info.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jimmy_McColl_(footballer,_born_1892)

iHibs comments a bit better, also his stats - over a hundred and forty goals in 320 matches with only one pen.

Wee bit about a presentation at a Hibs Schalke game in 1970. I like his nickname.

http://www.fitbastats.com/hibs/player.php?playerid=381

08-09-2016, 11:30 PM

Tam was one of the nicest people I have met through my time following Hibs....didn't know him before I left for Oz 40 odd years ago, but on hearing I was coming back for a visit he personally got in touch with me to arrange for me to have a beer and talk all things Hibs at his pub.

Needless to say, any visit back included return visits to Tommy's place.

A gem of a man.

I think though, that if there was ONE man who is viewed as being the personification of our club,that would have to be Mr Patrick Stanton, formerly of Niddrie Mains.

08-09-2016, 11:44 PM
Tam was one of the nicest people I have met through my time following Hibs....didn't know him before I left for Oz 40 odd years ago, but on hearing I was coming back for a visit he personally got in touch with me to arrange for me to have a beer and talk all things Hibs at his pub.

Needless to say, any visit back included return visits to Tommy's place.

A gem of a man.

I think though, that if there was ONE man who is viewed as being the personification of our club,that would have to be Mr Patrick Stanton, formerly of Niddrie Mains.King Patrick of Stanton, with no doubt, imho. however another person did aluminate the pluses, of Ned Turnbull and it has to be said that his wins and trophies need to be agnolidged. torn faced auld bugger though as far as I ken. Tam Mc Court, bordering on legendary status, he always seems to get into the important pictures. well done Tam :aok:

Septimus
09-09-2016, 04:34 AM
Nobody seems to have mentioned Lawrie Reilly.

CorrieHibs
09-09-2016, 05:58 AM
Paul Hanlon and McGregor. 2 die hard hibbys and 2 Scottish cup winners with Hibs.

09-09-2016, 12:25 PM
Nobody seems to have mentioned Lawrie Reilly.

I did. (post #50) :aok:

09-09-2016, 03:29 PM
Going by iHibs i've got 6 players with over 400 games for Hibs and another 17 with over 300

Arthur Duncan - 626
Pat Stanton - 617
Willie Ormond - 506
Eddie Turnbull - 487
Peter Kerr - 483
John Blackley - 410

Was wondering when Arthur would get a mention. Good shout!

10-09-2016, 08:39 AM
Riordan defo a Hibs fan.

O'connor has always been a hibs fan......he had said it time and again

cmcd
10-09-2016, 08:52 AM
Agree with most of the names mentioned so far. One I don't see listed is John Fraser.
John was a tremendous servant to the club over many, many years as both player and coach.
He turned 80 this year and was the first Hibs captain I can remember lifting silverware (Summer Cup at Pittodrie 63/64 season).
John was also a publican for a time, running Tipplers - a wee pub on Bread Street.
Hoping John is in good health these days.

Saw John in FF Behind the Goals bar last season . Looks very fit for his age

Tom Hart RIP
10-09-2016, 08:56 AM
Eric stevenson. 390 games 79 goals, lifelong Hibs fan

cmcd
10-09-2016, 09:01 AM
If I can have 2 Mr Hibs they would be Gordon Smith and Pat Stanton without a doubt

10-09-2016, 09:14 AM
If I can have 2 Mr Hibs they would be Gordon Smith and Pat Stanton without a doubt
Sorry, but was Gordon not a he*rts fan in his youth. PS, like Lawrie, was born a Hibbie, lived a Hibbie , and will die a Hibbie (not for a good for a good few years yet we all hope).

greenteam
10-09-2016, 09:46 AM

Thanks bud

10-09-2016, 09:48 AM
http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/hall-of-fame/hall-of-fame-2012-inductees

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/hall-of-fame/hall-of-fame-2010-inductees

The nice thing about these threads is the digging they can inspire, at this moment I would put PS is in the Mr Hibs seat, but there are a few candidates I hadn't though of [liked the story of Eric Stevenson skyving an Ayr game to see the cup final].

10-09-2016, 10:09 AM
O'connor has always been a hibs fan......he had said it time and again

Celtc fan, in his young days he was always in a Celtc top, and attends Celtc games. :aok:

greenteam
10-09-2016, 10:15 AM
http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/hall-of-fame/hall-of-fame-2012-inductees

http://www.hibshistoricaltrust.org.uk/hall-of-fame/hall-of-fame-2010-inductees

The nice thing about these threads is the digging they can inspire, at this moment I would put PS is in the Mr Hibs seat, but there are a few candidates I hadn't though of [liked the story of Eric Stevenson skyving an Ayr game to see the cup final].

Ive learned a lot, which was my point..I made a mistake earlier by stating being a Hibs fan was important. In retrospect of that comment I now realise its irelivent which team they support. Its what they have done for our club by committing to our club and being part of mmaking the club what it is andmaking us proud of them..hope you understand what I mean?