View Full Version : Turriff 0-3 Hibs match updates

04-09-2016, 01:08 PM
Let's get this going. Team news?

04-09-2016, 01:12 PM
Only four subs and fraser Murray starts.

I don't know who that is.

Rocky in goals,

InterviewLoI
04-09-2016, 01:13 PM
Someone mentioned this was on TV? Any truth to this?

STARTING XI | Marciano, Martin, Crane, Hanlon, Forster, Murray, Boyle, Fyvie, Graham, McGeouch, Harris. https://t.co/4aInSqbqBx

Someone mentioned this was on TV? Any truth to this?

BBC alba at 14:50

04-09-2016, 01:14 PM
Hmm. I don't think this tournament is a priority.

04-09-2016, 01:15 PM
Who is Fraser Murray?

04-09-2016, 01:17 PM
Who is Fraser Murray?

Think mainly right sided midfielder?

04-09-2016, 01:18 PM
Hmm. I don't think this tournament is a priority.

Looks a strong team to me - 5 regulars. Crane was always going to play and apart from Fraser Murray, they have all got frst team experience.

04-09-2016, 01:19 PM
Thats beyond a fringe team... Rightly so from Lennon. Only surprise is Dylan starting

04-09-2016, 01:20 PM
Amazed Dylan is playing in this game.

Murray plays for the development team.

Good to see Crane and Martin getting more game time plus interested to see how Graham and Harris do.

Martin playing right back?

Could it be Innes Murray, the guy we signed from Celtic during the week?

Have we invaded the pitch yet?

04-09-2016, 01:21 PM

He's on the bench.

04-09-2016, 01:29 PM

Definitely Fraser.

04-09-2016, 01:29 PM
Have we invaded the pitch yet?
Police horses on the pitch and The Rangers Football Club 2012 fans at the other end of the pitch feeling goaded so they've started a rendition of Hullo Hullo in strong defiance.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

Matty_Jack04
04-09-2016, 01:54 PM

Hes on the bench mate

Iceman1875
04-09-2016, 01:59 PM
Didn't realise Welsh and NI teams come into the next round?

At Easter Road we play...

Frogga
04-09-2016, 02:00 PM
Fraser Murray (I think) was the number 15 at the Tranent game who really impressed me. He's 17 according to transfermarkt but looks about 12.

Lendo
04-09-2016, 02:03 PM
Harris hits the cross bar inside 30 seconds

04-09-2016, 02:03 PM
Weird that there are no name on the shirts

Lendo
04-09-2016, 02:04 PM
Cross bar again!

04-09-2016, 02:04 PM
Graham hits the bar now!!

04-09-2016, 02:05 PM
Hit the crossbar again!

Iceman1875
Bar hit twice inside 3 minutes

Played like a cup tie so far

04-09-2016, 02:07 PM
The goalie's got a yellow shirt on.

04-09-2016, 02:08 PM
The goalie's got a yellow shirt on.

School boy error from the ref.

04-09-2016, 02:08 PM
anyone hit the bar yet?

ClewsHibs
04-09-2016, 02:10 PM
Pitch looks very dry.

04-09-2016, 02:12 PM
Can someone put the starters into formation, as I'm struggling to work it out from the TV - cheers.

That wee two tiered stand at the corner of Turriff's stadium is a thing of beauty.

About 5 corners and woodwork hit twice in first 10 mins.

hibbypostie
04-09-2016, 02:13 PM
the boy crane looked awfy slow there

EH6 Hibby
04-09-2016, 02:13 PM
Weird that there are no name on the shirts

Noticed they had Turriff United written on the ball though. :greengrin

04-09-2016, 02:14 PM
Can someone put the starters into formation, as I'm struggling to work it out from the TV - cheers.

Gk

Martin Jordan Hanlon Crane

Fyfie Dylan

Murray

Harris Graham Boyle

I've seen Murray a few times for development team and been impressed. Looks about 12 but is definitely a prospect.

Iceman1875
04-09-2016, 02:16 PM
Fraser Murray looks a tidy wee player

04-09-2016, 02:16 PM
the boy crane looked awfy slow there

He's getting a bit of a chasing down the Turriff right at the moment

Lendo
04-09-2016, 02:17 PM
anyone hit the bar yet?

Not yet, but we will keep you updated

04-09-2016, 02:17 PM
Turriff having a go.

Lendo
04-09-2016, 02:18 PM
Goal! Fraser Murray

Good goal

Iceman1875
Goal! Murray good finish

good goal:thumbsup::thumbsup:

Gk

Martin Jordan Hanlon Crane

Fyfie Dylan

Murray

Harris Graham Boyle

I've seen Murray a few times for development team and been impressed. Looks about 12 but is definitely a prospect.
Nice one, thanks. As I type this, Murray has just lashed it home - defo looks a tidy player.

1-0 :thumbsup:

Murray

Good goal from Murray

Well taken goal from wee Murray.

Lendo
04-09-2016, 02:19 PM
Tidy finish. Left foot to far post.

MartinfaePorty
04-09-2016, 02:19 PM
Can someone tell the commentator it's Scott Martin not Martin Scott? I'm having bad flashbacks!

Sent from my SM-G900F using Tapatalk

04-09-2016, 02:20 PM
Murray only 17 years old also..good left foot goal

Frogga
04-09-2016, 02:21 PM
Is it true that O'Connor is only 15? I've never seen that at Hibs before!

Iceman1875
04-09-2016, 02:22 PM
2-0 graham

2-0

Graham

Lendo
Graham to make it 2

NoTottiNoParty
04-09-2016, 02:23 PM
Fraser Murray - is Grant Murray his dad? Knew his laddie was in the youth set up a few years ago

Lendo
Harris misses a sitter

What channel is this on?

Never mind, found it.

04-09-2016, 02:24 PM
Fraser Murray - is Grant Murray his dad? Knew his laddie was in the youth set up a few years ago

Grant's middle laddie was on the books a few years back.

Northern Hibby
04-09-2016, 02:24 PM
Falbh (falav) means away, kids taught me well 😉

Lendo
04-09-2016, 02:25 PM
What channel is this on?

Never mind, found it.

Alba

Should be about 5-0 already. Harris misses a very good chance just there.

NoTottiNoParty

Grant's middle laddie was on the books a few years back.

Any yams spotted amongst the Turriff Utd fans? 😏

04-09-2016, 02:26 PM
Harris looking lively. Good to see.

good wing play by Harris, Graham just too late for tap in

Any yams spotted amongst the Turriff Utd fans? 😏

couldnae afford the bus fare mate

Iceman1875
Any yams spotted amongst the Turriff Utd fans? [emoji57]

Not sure but can hear the Warburtons a fa**y song in fine tune [emoji23]

04-09-2016, 02:27 PM
Dylan and Fyvie together - allows us to keep such good possesion

04-09-2016, 02:28 PM
Really thought this would be treated as a training exercise but it it's pretty entertaining

04-09-2016, 02:30 PM
I like this Martin at right back experiment also.

04-09-2016, 02:30 PM
good run and shot by Crane...:agree::agree:

Matty_Jack04
04-09-2016, 02:32 PM
Martin Scotts first touch and use of the ball has been supberb, not a right back option but hopefully we can see him used in midfield at some point through the season looks a real prospect

04-09-2016, 02:32 PM
Graham could score a barrowload for us this season.

HibeeMackenzie
04-09-2016, 02:33 PM
How old is Fraser Murray? Looks a tidy wee player

Iceman1875
04-09-2016, 02:34 PM
Still not convinced with Harris. He looks physically stronger but continues to lose it in possession

04-09-2016, 02:35 PM
Is it true that O'Connor is only 15? I've never seen that at Hibs before!

Yes. In my lads year. Good promising player.

woodyhfc4892
04-09-2016, 02:36 PM
Can someone tell the commentator it's Scott Martin not Martin Scott? I'm having bad flashbacks!

Was thinking the same.. surely not difficult to read a team sheet properly

04-09-2016, 02:37 PM

That's how you say it in Gaelic mate.

04-09-2016, 02:38 PM
Was thinking the same.. surely not difficult to read a team sheet properly

Someone tell matty jack on here too 😜

04-09-2016, 02:38 PM
Same old Turriff, always cheating.

04-09-2016, 02:39 PM
Graham could score a barrowload for us this season.

He will definitely get a fair few - good in the air and seems always on the move.

04-09-2016, 02:40 PM

He's no listed on the official site and he's no got a wiki yet. Looks young.

04-09-2016, 02:41 PM

With Crane / Martin / Harris all coming through youth system also. Plus the 15 year old on bench.

04-09-2016, 02:42 PM
Good save!

MartinfaePorty
Commentator now calling him Martin! Must read Hibs.net or more likely realised his error when Martin got booked!

good save their goalie to deny Graham

04-09-2016, 02:43 PM
Lennon said before the game that certain fringe players were in need of game time, hence Forster, Boyle, Harris and Graham, plus he said Dylan need natch fitness.

Boyle and Harris looking lively, Martin is a cracking wee tidy player and is destined to be a mainstay if he keeps progressing, young Murray looks another player and Dylan/Fraser are controlling the midfield.

04-09-2016, 02:44 PM
Martin Boyle tries a shot, hits the camera man on the gantry,,,very funny...:greengrin:greengrin

04-09-2016, 02:45 PM
He's no listed on the official site and he's no got a wiki yet. Looks young.

There's a good few not on the official site, they've even got 2 pics of Lewis Allen up.

04-09-2016, 02:48 PM
Have to say it's a tidy looking ground.

04-09-2016, 02:48 PM
Very tidy 1st half and very professional. When u make so many changes it can sometimes be unsettling but they look very comfortable

seven nowt
04-09-2016, 02:50 PM
So proud of the boys taking a 2-0 lead against a very decent Turriff outfit. Would be the best win of the season imo

04-09-2016, 02:51 PM
So proud of the boys taking a 2-0 lead against a very decent Turriff outfit. Would be the best win of the season imo

Eh?

Matty_Jack04
04-09-2016, 02:52 PM
Someone tell matty jack on here too 😜
Just as well I'm too old for names & numbers could have been a proper slip up 😳

04-09-2016, 02:52 PM
Have to say it's a tidy looking ground.

I agree.

Super_JMcGinn
04-09-2016, 02:56 PM
Not sure but can hear the Warburtons a fa**y song in fine tune [emoji23]

Would be great to hear some HIBS songs instead of that awful ditty.

bandylegs_jLeighton
04-09-2016, 02:57 PM
Brian Graham is a literal leaping salmon. Opinion revised from meh squad filler to legendary aerial god.

Sent from my SM-G930F using Tapatalk

Iceman1875
04-09-2016, 02:57 PM

It's a great song and I for one have no problem with it [emoji23]

Northern Hibby
04-09-2016, 02:59 PM
Great we half time story about Turriff 👏

04-09-2016, 02:59 PM
Got 20/1 for 0-6 so c'mon Hibs stop hitting the bar and stick it in the net.

04-09-2016, 03:01 PM
Martin Boyle tries a shot, hits the camera man on the gantry,,,very funny...:greengrin:greengrin

Can see the Daily Record headline now:

"Hibs Players Assault Media Staff After Their Fans Battered The Rangers Players In May"

04-09-2016, 03:01 PM
Personally I luv it...think it's hilarious

Argylehibby
04-09-2016, 03:02 PM
Wee bonus getting to watch this today. Sitting by the pool in Mexico while my daughter face times me with camera pointed at her TV showing the game! Not perfect by any means but better than nothing!

GGTTH!

bubblesmorrison
04-09-2016, 03:03 PM

Aw bore off! It is a HIBS song about us winning the Scottish cup.

bubblesmorrison
04-09-2016, 03:05 PM
Wee bonus getting to watch this today. Sitting by the pool in Mexico while my daughter face times me with camera pointed at her TV showing the game! Not perfect by any means but better than nothing!

GGTTH!

Google Turriff United v Hibernian and you will find a stream on the second page.

04-09-2016, 03:05 PM
Is the draw for next round after the game?

04-09-2016, 03:06 PM
This isn't funny now 😡

Crossbar again

Could be 7-0 up, hitting the bar again!

04-09-2016, 03:07 PM
Are these goals regulation size?

04-09-2016, 03:08 PM
Is the draw for next round after the game?

The draw is on Tuesday.

We get £4000 travel allowance if drawn away.

04-09-2016, 03:11 PM
Had twenty quid on over 2.5 goals in the first half. Lennon out.

04-09-2016, 03:12 PM
Harris is very slack with his passing keeps needlessly giving the ball away

At least 3 yams there,my brother and nephews.
They're supporting Kevin Main though,he was Buckie's goalie when they won the highland league.
Signed his shirt and gave it to my nephew, who's now goalie for Elgin city 14's.

Got 20/1 for 0-6 so c'mon Hibs stop hitting the bar and stick it in the net.

:agree: I went for 6-0 too, got 25/1 on skybet

Guaranteed a 5-0 or a 7-0 win now!

04-09-2016, 03:13 PM
I agree.
Yip looks a nice set up, well done to them, pitch looks impressive.

04-09-2016, 03:14 PM
Harris is very slack with his passing keeps needlessly giving the ball away Sent from my SM-G920F using Tapatalk

I think he's been terrible barring one or 2 moments.

He should be thriving playing against this team yet he's been caught ball watching on numerous occasions.

04-09-2016, 03:17 PM

He should be thriving playing against this team yet he's been caught ball watching on numerous occasions.

Yip . He should be running riot against this lot . The boy Murray looks a player tho .
I've backed Hibs minus 2 goals at 11-10 .
Cmon the cabbage .

04-09-2016, 03:18 PM
Harris simply isn't good enough. No matter the chances he's had in the first team he's failed to take any since he first broke through.

04-09-2016, 03:18 PM
Not been impressed with Harris TBH, still shirks challenges, pretty footwork with no end product and final ball isn't great.

04-09-2016, 03:19 PM
Harris just isn't good enough. He should be ripping them up but just looks really poor.

I'm getting nervous. We should take off an attacker and defend our lead. Turriff will score with 5 minutes to go and it'll be panic measures.:wink:

Whole team have gone flat since half time...it's now like a training match tbh

Seen tougher training games.

Just keeping the ball now - not much creativity or attempts at goal.

RMQ1967
04-09-2016, 03:20 PM

This - he's simply brutal. No change from the football he's been playing for the last couple of seasons.

Harris simply isn't good enough. No matter the chances he's had in the first team he's failed to take any since he first broke through.

Harris just isn't good enough. He should be ripping them up but just looks really poor.

:agree: I hate to say it by I agree.

Yip . He should be running riot against this level . The boy Murray looks a player tho . I've backed Hibs minus 2 goals at 11-10 . Cmon the cabbage .

He should indeed but he looks lost where like you say he should be wanting the ball constantly!

I could have had Hibs minus 2 on Skybet at 13/8 but didn't take it??

We should be at least 6 up though.

04-09-2016, 03:21 PM
We are getting sloppy and off the pace, they should have scored or at least tested Rocky there.

fife hfc
04-09-2016, 03:22 PM
Very slack attitude and you would think a lot of them would want to show Lennon they have a professional attitude. Sleeping at moment and Turriff nearly scored.

2nd half rank performance

Time for some changes I think, team as lost their way, looks like they're going through the motions.

Had twenty quid on over 2.5 goals in the first half. Lennon out.

He looked quite sharp early on but he seems to just fade away in games (although the game itself has faded in the second half). Lennon seems keen to give him a chance to see if he can rekindle the form of his early career but he just doesn't seem to believe in himself enough. A real shame as there's no question he looked very exciting back in the day with great pace that allowed him to just glide past players.

04-09-2016, 03:23 PM
1791 attendance. :thumbsup:

Been pish second half. The boy Murray has fallen apart completely and Crane is looking very suspect at the back.

1791 attendance. :thumbsup:

Did the announcer say how many Yams were in attendance?? ;-)

04-09-2016, 03:25 PM
Did the announcer say how many Yams were in attendance?? ;-)

Hopefully the cameraman is one :)

04-09-2016, 03:25 PM
Poor poor 2nd half.

No tempo at all.

04-09-2016, 03:26 PM
Hopefully the cameraman is one :) O ya boy!! :-)

Credit to Boyle for seeking him out that early!!

04-09-2016, 03:26 PM
Poor poor 2nd half.

No tempo at all.

Resorted to lumping the ball at Brian Graham.

04-09-2016, 03:27 PM
Resorted to lumping the ball at Brian Graham.

Yip who appears to always have 3 opposition players around him!

04-09-2016, 03:29 PM
Poor poor 2nd half.

No tempo at all.

Just shows when it comes down to it, we can't afford too many 1st teamers out the team at he same time, one or two but not 5-6.

Plus Harris, Murray and Boyle have vanished from the game.

The Captain....
04-09-2016, 03:29 PM
Disappointing secind half so far. Hopefully pick it up and get a couple more goals.

04-09-2016, 03:30 PM
All the front players have been quiet 2nd half - including Murray.

Harris - hit bar - past post first half and header 2nd half..could have had 3 like Graham.

I would take Dylan and Fyvie off and save thier legs.

04-09-2016, 03:31 PM
It's worth remembering that Harris broke his ankle in the pre-season following a sizzling start to his first-team career and from what I recall Fenlon had gone before he was brought back in just a few days after Butcher had said he wouldn't rush him back. He never looked the same again. I know that was a few years ago, but I sometimes wonder if these sort of things can have a long-term impact on certain young players who look the part early on but never quite go on to fulfil their undoubted potential.

Another I remember was Mark McGraw who seemed an exciting young prospect and did well alongside Keith Wright early in the Skol Cup season before getting a bad injury and never really figuring again. He looked wary of getting tackled when he made his comeback.

Oh, nice assist from Harris for Boyle's goal. Wouldn't you know it!

Absolutely murder this half...had more fun watching paint dry ...none of these can be banging in lennon s door asking why they aren't getting a start that's for sure

When you look back and see when we Had the likes of Brown, Thomson, Deeks, Whitty, O'Connor compared to the youth now. I'm sorry but not impressed at all with any of them. I wouldn't play them in the first team no where near good enough.

04-09-2016, 03:32 PM
Jeezo watching Harris this half is brutal, how many times has he given the ball away or passed it to them.

04-09-2016, 03:34 PM
At last 3-0 Boyle

Boyle 3-0

Jeezo watching Harris this half is brutal, how many times has he given the ball away or passed it to them.
Much better from Harris...3 nil Boyle

04-09-2016, 03:35 PM

Every time bar the set up for the goal.

Still totally unacceptable IMHO. As I mentioned early he should be tearing this team a new one

Time for another couple.

Nice assist from Harris.

Nice assist by Harris

Nice work by Harris there though.

04-09-2016, 03:36 PM
Much better from Harris...3 nil Boyle

Yip, direct running taking the man on and slipping the ball in, much better, just not enough of it, we should be 7-8 up by now.

Green Fish
04-09-2016, 03:36 PM
A QQ

Sent from my E2303 using Tapatalk

04-09-2016, 03:37 PM
A QQ

Sent from my E2303 using Tapatalk

:confused::confused:

04-09-2016, 03:38 PM
Not sure why he hasn't made any subs yet.

04-09-2016, 03:38 PM
Martin, Crane and the boy Murray haven't turned up 2nd half...very disappointing

04-09-2016, 03:40 PM
I'm impressed with Graham. Sort of striker we don't see much at ER. Low centre of gravity.

04-09-2016, 03:41 PM
Team that has never played together strolls through game.

04-09-2016, 03:42 PM
I'm impressed with Graham. Sort of striker we don't see much at ER. Low centre of gravity.

Works hard and works the channels, always looking for the ball.

Harris had a lovely run and cross in the first half that Graham nearly scored from and that was another lovely run and pass for the goal.

He's made a positive contribution.

Yes, his finishing should have been better and he sometimes wates possession. But he has it in him to provide a decent end-product.

I wouldn't be throwing him in the team on this showing but he's a useful squad player who offers something.

Their keeper and the bar or it could have been a lot more, Professional job done

Godsahibby
04-09-2016, 03:43 PM
Had never heard of the boy Murray before today but been impressed, looks a decent player.

Harris had a lovely run and cross in the first half that Graham nearly scored from and that was another lovely run and pass for the goal.

Yes, his finishing should have been better and he sometimes wates possession. But he has it in him to provide a decent end-product.

I wouldn't be throwing him in the team on this showing but he's a useful squad player who offers something.

Sorry but disagree. That's not nearly enough at this level. He's been brutal and has been brutal for far to long now. I'd have let him go in the summer.

Fyvie has strolled it and is my MOTM.

04-09-2016, 03:44 PM
Didn't realise Welsh and NI teams come into the next round?

Hope we draw one of them. Wouldn't mind a wee trip. I've never been to Wales.

04-09-2016, 03:44 PM
Sorry but disagree. That's not nearly enough at this level. He's been brutal and has been brutal for far to long now. I'd have let him go in the summer.
I agree TC he offers very little and is far too lightweight still

04-09-2016, 03:45 PM

Don't think we're denying all that but against this team he should be strolling it, creating loads and scoring loads.

04-09-2016, 03:47 PM
How would you have "let him go" without an agreement from another club to sign him? He is under contract no?

04-09-2016, 03:49 PM
How would you have "let him go" without an agreement from another club to sign him? He is under contract no?

Players can be let go even under contract. Some take a small pay off others just find a club!

Fyvie has strolled it and is my MOTM.

Aye, mines tae.

Odd he hasn't used all the subs when we are 3-0 up and cruising.

04-09-2016, 03:50 PM
I see in the background the Riot Police are getting ready for the end of the match.

There's hunners of them

04-09-2016, 03:50 PM
Players can be let go even under contract. Some take a small pay off others just find a club!
Of course they can but that requires the players agreement. Hibs could not have just "let him go".

04-09-2016, 03:51 PM
Of course they can but that requires the players agreement. Hibs could not have just "let him go".

Yes they can. Hibs could simply pay off the remaining of his contract!

The Captain....
04-09-2016, 03:52 PM
Nobody today pressed a claim for a regular start. Was a pretty insipid performance.

Joe
04-09-2016, 03:53 PM
Linfield away please.

When's the draw?

04-09-2016, 03:54 PM
Good professional game. Did what was needed.

Interesting those criticising Harris for not producing enough. No mention of Boyle, who I would say created less than Harris.

04-09-2016, 03:54 PM
Nobody today pressed a claim for a regular start. Was a pretty insipid performance.

Thought we were good 1st half but dreadful 2nd half tbh. Anyway comfy win and job done good to see Dylan back

04-09-2016, 03:55 PM
No they can't.They can offer to do it but the players doesn't have to accept.The player decides not the club.

Good to see some of the young players, the 2 full back and Murray impressed.

Can't believe some are having a dig at the young guys?! Absolutely ridiculous

Murray on his debut scored and looks neat and tidy -17 years old
Martin playing out of position and strolled it
Crane comfortable on the ball, one iffy moment at the back is it

2nd half was a training game, no one was in a rush to do anything. Not great for the fans but it made us win, see the game out and get our fitness up

Harris looked disappointing however.

The pitch was also very sticky and you could see the ball holding up on the pitch

04-09-2016, 03:56 PM

What would hibs gain from that?

Paying a player the rest of his contract without having the player to call on if needed, and ruling out the possibility of another club taking him before the end of his contract.

Matty_Jack04
04-09-2016, 03:58 PM

Graham certainly did IMO good in the air, held ball up well and link up play was good should keep holt his toes

04-09-2016, 04:00 PM

Paying a player the rest of his contract without having the player to call on if needed, and ruling out the possibility of another club taking him before the end of his contract.

Exactly, he isn't that bad ffs.

04-09-2016, 04:03 PM
Harris had a lovely run and cross in the first half that Graham nearly scored from and that was another lovely run and pass for the goal. He's made a positive contribution. Yes, his finishing should have been better and he sometimes wates possession. But he has it in him to provide a decent end-product. I wouldn't be throwing him in the team on this showing but he's a useful squad player who offers something.

First 15 seconds and then again for Boyles goal apart from that he was terrible and looked totally lost!

No good enough IMHO and really needs to give himself a shake.

Should be running riot against this team, no disrespect to them, and didn't go nearly enough!

04-09-2016, 04:04 PM

😂😂😂 what a bore you are. Great song. Upset cause Hanlon's playing?

04-09-2016, 04:07 PM
First 15 seconds and then again for Boyles goal apart from that he was terrible and looked totally lost!

Should be running riot against this team, no disrespect to them, and didn't go nearly enough!

Who did run riot?

04-09-2016, 04:07 PM
Can't believe some are having a dig at the young guys?! Absolutely ridiculous Murray on his debut scored and looks neat and tidy -17 years old Martin playing out of position and strolled it Crane comfortable on the ball, one iffy moment at the back is it 2nd half was a training game, no one was in a rush to do anything. Not great for the fans but it made us win, see the game out and get our fitness up Harris looked disappointing however. The pitch was also very sticky and you could see the ball holding up on the pitch

I thought the first 3 did their cause no harm and played well in patches, Murray took his goal very well.
Plenty to work on but will stand them in good stead!

I feel for Harris but not good enough!

Shame cause the lad has talent but since his injury he has not been the same player!

04-09-2016, 04:08 PM
😂😂😂 what a bore you are. Great song. Upset cause Hanlon's playing?
It' an infantile song.

TheSouthMoroccan
Job done, but was a poor second half. I too was pretty disappointed with Harris, was hoping to see some improvement but can't see him pushing for a first team place with what he produced today. Was also disappointed with Boyle, he looked on fire when he came on against Morton, he took his goal well but thought we should have seen more of him using his pace today. Anyway Onwards and upwards. Ps, with respect, Mark Warburton is a fanny :greengrin

Who did run riot?

No one but you are now taking the term literally.... You know what I mean though.

Harris has talent but he didn't do himself any favours today IMHO.

Super_JMcGinn
04-09-2016, 04:09 PM

Never ceases to amaze me how a young player is picked on, he might not be good enough time will tell but he was not the only one giving it away. How many times has Hanlon given the ball away but not a peep from anyone.

Hanlon should be looking like Willie Miller minus the tache against this lot.

04-09-2016, 04:10 PM

No they can't. If it was that easy to get out of contract they wouldn't be worth the paper they are written on.

04-09-2016, 04:11 PM
Job done and no pitch invasion. That's the main thing.

04-09-2016, 04:11 PM
Good professional game. Did what was needed.

Interesting those criticising Harris for not producing enough. No mention of Boyle, who I would say created less than Harris.

Considering Harris is in the last chance saloon he should be busting a gut. Against this level of opposition I expected more from him. Liked him in his early appearances but he has not kicked on at all.

04-09-2016, 04:13 PM
Never ceases to amaze me how a young player is picked on, he might not be good enough time will tell but he was not the only one giving it away. How many times has Hanlon given the ball away but not a peep from anyone. Hanlon should be looking like Willie Miller minus the tache against this lot.

Noone is picking on the lad.... His performance was there to be seen and a player with his talent should be showing it against lesser opposition. My opinion mind.

Wondered how long it would take for you to mention Hanlon. We all know what you think of him as a player.

04-09-2016, 04:15 PM
No they can't. If it was that easy to get out of contract they wouldn't be worth the paper they are written on.

Yes the player would need to also agree. Which in Harris case I'm sure he would take it. Or maybe he knows he'd struggle to get another team so happy to sit and see it out!

Put it this way he's a poor player now and where Hibs want to be or the type of player we look want in is 10 times better.

If folk think Harris is good enough can you tell me what he brings to the table?

04-09-2016, 04:16 PM
Never ceases to amaze me how a young player is picked on, he might not be good enough time will tell but he was not the only one giving it away. How many times has Hanlon given the ball away but not a peep from anyone.

What is the best way to post that Harris is not good enough? So were not picking on him?

04-09-2016, 04:16 PM

Had to get Hanlon in there eh?

Harris was way worse, your posts about Hanlon are just poor that aren't backed up with anything.

04-09-2016, 04:17 PM

So basically don't pick on anyone, apart from Hanlon

fishybeaver
Cannie beleive the greif being handed out to Harris, Boyle offered nowt, Crane looked very poor, Foster just punted the ball everytime. Harris made one and could have had a hatrick with a bit of luck. Would take Harris over Boyle any day.

I didn't think Harris had a great game at all.

But he got a good assist, was unlucky not to get another and could have had a couple of goals - getting into decent positions and they weren't exactly bad misses.

I think it's a good thing that even though he didn't have a great game we still got an end-product from him.

I've seen us have enough great individual performances without getting any goals or assists to be too critical of what Harris provided today.

He'll be better for the 90 minutes too, he looked like he needed it.

I'm not saying he's the answer and should be thrown in the team but he made a contribution and we should cut him a bit of slack.

What is the best way to post that Harris is not good enough? So were not picking on him?

Don't some folk just think we're picking on him!!!

Super_JMcGinn
04-09-2016, 04:18 PM
Noone is picking on the lad.... His performance was there to be seen and a player with his talent should be showing it against lesser opposition. My opinion mind.

Wondered how long it would take for you to mention Hanlon. We all know what you think of him as a player.
You are very quick to call out certain players as not good enough Aldo. How did you rate Hanlon today.

If talking about Hanlon takes the flak off the younger players I'm all for it. :wink:

fishybeaver
04-09-2016, 04:18 PM

But he got a good assist, was unlucky not to get another and could have had a couple of goals - getting into decent positions and they weren't exactly bad misses.

I think it's a good thing that even though he didn't have a great game we still got an end-product from him.

I've seen us have enough great individual performances without getting any goals or assists to be too critical of what Harris provided today.

I'm not saying he's the answer and should be thrown in the team but he made a contribution and we should cut him a bit of slack.

Correct!

04-09-2016, 04:19 PM

Smartie look at the team we just played! One assist in 90 mins is pretty horrific. He gave away more passes then anything he can't beat a man anymore either! He's just not got it.

Super_JMcGinn
04-09-2016, 04:21 PM
Had to get Hanlon in there eh?

Harris was way worse, your posts about Hanlon are just poor that aren't backed up with anything.
I thought you knew a bit about football too :confused:. Harris was nothing like as bad as you're making out and you're actually talking about Hibs giving him away ? I've heard it all now

04-09-2016, 04:21 PM
Yes the player would need to also agree. Which in Harris case I'm sure he would take it. Or maybe he knows he'd struggle to get another team so happy to sit and see it out!

Put it this way he's a poor player now and where Hibs want to be or the type of player we look want in is 10 times better.

If folk think Harris is good enough can you tell me what he brings to the table?

Where did I say that I thought he was good enough? The discussion was about you blandly stating that Hibs should let him go. For whatever reason, no agreement was struck in the summer for Harris to leave. Maybe NL thinks he can make a player of him and maybe AH still believes he can make it at Hibs. Hope he does but if not he will eventually move on having agreed a new deal with another team.

04-09-2016, 04:22 PM
Good to see some of the young players, the 2 full back and Murray impressed.

The big bonus for me was to see a " left back" ( Crane) with a strong right foot and playing wih his head up :thumbsup:
Will watch with interest over the next year or so :flag:

Benny Brazil
04-09-2016, 04:23 PM
You are very quick to call out certain players as not good enough Aldo. How did you rate Hanlon today.

If talking about Hanlon takes the flak off the younger players I'm all for it. :wink:

Seriously, why do you dislike Hanlon so much?
I notice you dont mention anything about Forster and any mistakes he made, just Hanlon.

04-09-2016, 04:24 PM
You are very quick to call out certain players as not good enough Aldo. How did you rate Hanlon today. If talking about Hanlon takes the flak off the younger players I'm all for it. :wink:

Very quick it's there for all to see. Hanlon yes as others misplaced passes. Back 4 were pretty solid TBH.

My point about Harris is he doesn't do enough and was good enough today.

If being critical or constructive about a players performance is seen as picking or calling out certain players then so be it!

You have a very short memory when it comes to calling out certain players because you thought they were not good enough (Hanlon being one)

Players can have bad games but can also be consistent throughout a season Harris on his showing today was not good enough. My opinion

04-09-2016, 04:26 PM
Considering Harris is in the last chance saloon he should be busting a gut. Against this level of opposition I expected more from him. Liked him in his early appearances but he has not kicked on at all.

I don't think people are "picking on" Harris or anyone else.

I actually though Ross Jack had United well-drilled; they gave our midfielders less space than they've enjoyed against "better" teams in the past.

It was noticeable that when Alex did put his head down and run at the opposition defence late in the second half, he caused them a lot of problems and actually led to the third goal.

But its difficult to tell much from a match like this one. 3-0, in the next round, all serene.

:hibees

04-09-2016, 04:28 PM
Very quick it's there for all to see. Hanlon yes as others misplaced passes. Back 4 were pretty solid TBH.

My point about Harris is he doesn't do enough and was good enough today.

If being critical or constructive about a players performance is seen as picking or calling out certain players then so be it!

You have a very short memory when it comes to calling out certain players because you thought they were not good enough (Hanlon being one)

Players can have bad games but can also be consistent throughout a season Harris on his showing today was not good enough. My opinion
Aldo it's also unrealistic to expect players who spend weeks on the bench to suddenly appear in the first team and look like a world beater. Except on video games. Also my opinion.

04-09-2016, 04:30 PM
We've found our scapegoat for the season it seems.

04-09-2016, 04:31 PM
I don't think people are "picking on" Harris or anyone else.

I actually though Ross Jack had United well-drilled; they gave our midfielders less space than they've enjoyed against "better" teams in the past.

It was noticeable that when Alex did put his head down and run at the opposition defence late in the second half, he caused them a lot of problems and actually led to the third goal.

But its difficult to tell much from a match like this one. 3-0, in the next round, all serene.

:hibees

So did i.

There's a lot of talk on here of how we should have crushed them and how certain individuals should have been doing much more against such a poor side.

I've seen poorer teams in our league. They were well-drilled, worked hard to put our players under pressure and knocked it about nicely at times.

They were a bit short of quality and composure up front when they got into decent positions but they were reasonably solid.

04-09-2016, 04:33 PM

Yep it's about seeing if he can kick on. He did some decent things but didn't look like he is anywhere near to claiming a place in the team.

Boyle wasn't great either for those comparing but he isn't close to the last chance saloon as he has been a pretty decent performer so far for us.

04-09-2016, 04:35 PM
I thought Boyle was superb in the first half then forgot he was even on in the second.

A real game of 2 halves from him today.

04-09-2016, 04:37 PM
Cannie beleive the greif being handed out to Harris, Boyle offered nowt, Crane looked very poor, Foster just punted the ball everytime. Harris made one and could have had a hatrick with a bit of luck. Would take Harris over Boyle any day.
Are you joking?? Boyle granted wasn't great today but he made the 1st and scored the 3rd. He offers way more than Harris...who I really want to do well but just fails to deliver time and again and is now running out of chances imo

04-09-2016, 04:39 PM
Aldo it's also unrealistic to expect players who spend weeks on the bench to suddenly appear in the first team and look like a world beater. Except on video games. Also my opinion.

HH I get that but I would have thought he would have been busting a gut to impressed.

Flattered to device for most.

The other young lads managed to step up today, albeit in spells.

I do feel for Harris as he has the talent but there is something missing from his game today!

For him and for the club I hope he turns it around but I fear his chances are disappearing by the game

04-09-2016, 04:40 PM
Crushed that we've progressed in this nonsense tournament.

04-09-2016, 04:42 PM
i booed at the TV when they added 2 mins extra on

:)

04-09-2016, 04:42 PM

The club would gain from only paying out his basic wage, with no win bonuses, appearance money, etc. Also, if a player has no chance of being involved, there are various reasons to have him nowhere near the place - use of time and resources, mentality of the group and so on.

04-09-2016, 04:44 PM
People keep saying about Harris having the ability or talent.

I'm not convinced, his touch, passing, dribbling or finishing lets him down time and time again.

So I don't see where this obvious talent is?

He seems slow whilst running with the ball imo too

04-09-2016, 04:45 PM
The club would gain from only paying out his basic wage, with no win bonuses, appearance money, etc. Also, if a player has no chance of being involved, there are various reasons to have him nowhere near the place - use of time and resources, mentality of the group and so on.
Fair enough for a top earner but any bonuses etc would just go to someone else.

Glad we never got beat......😕

fishybeaver

Saddened that despite a 3 nil win some people are starting a witch hunt!

04-09-2016, 04:49 PM
So did i.

There's a lot of talk on here of how we should have crushed them and how certain individuals should have been doing much more against such a poor side.

I've seen poorer teams in our league. They were well-drilled, worked hard to put our players under pressure and knocked it about nicely at times.

They were a bit short of quality and composure up front when they got into decent positions but they were reasonably solid.

People underestimate the quality of the Highland League.

Turriff are well-run (operating within the law and their budget, which not all "more senior" outfits manage to do); a tidy wee ground and what looked to me to be a good playing surface and a well-organised side. And they were fit - I saw no sign of any of their layers flagging as we went into the last quarter.

I would count only 4 of our players - Marciano, Hanlon, Fyvie and Graham - as outright first-choice first-team players. The rest were benchers and youngsters coming through. That's no criticism - every one of them put in a shift and played for the shirt.

The team played well, kept their composure and scored three for no reply. United were working hard to close down our midfielders, but none of our players were hiding and they all did something good during the game. There are a good few players who would have improved that side if Neil had taken them north, but that wasn't the name of the game today.

I suspect that he's learned a lot from that performance and will adapt next week's training schedules accordingly. :devil:

#persevered
04-09-2016, 04:50 PM
People keep saying about Harris having the ability or talent.

I'm not convinced, his touch, passing, dribbling or finishing lets him down time and time again.

So I don't see where this obvious talent is?

He seems slow whilst running with the ball imo too

I disagree that he is slow with the ball but I agree that his touch, weight of pass, marking and crossing were all poor at times today against non league opposition.
I want him to be good but I just don't see him improving enough to make an impact.

Thought Graham was excellent today. Won every header, could have had three or four goals.

04-09-2016, 04:54 PM
Crushed that we've progressed in this nonsense tournament.

So, I'm not alone in thinking this:greengrin

04-09-2016, 04:56 PM
I disagree that he is slow with the ball but I agree that his touch, weight of pass, marking and crossing were all poor at times today against non league opposition.
I want him to be good but I just don't see him improving enough to make an impact.

Thought Graham was excellent today. Won every header, could have had three or four goals.

For me he is quick is a straight foot race however on the ball trying to dribble past someone he seems slow, never appears to knock it past them and go

04-09-2016, 04:56 PM

It's truly sad.

KazaHibs
04-09-2016, 05:01 PM
Would take Harris over Boyle any day.

Eh? No way

04-09-2016, 05:02 PM

Progression was pretty much guaranteed so it was a chance for us to see and judge some fringe players. Harris is commented on because he has come back and there is some debate about whether he will add anything or not.

The constant jumping on anything that isn't just 100 % positive is more tiresome than the proper criticism these days.

04-09-2016, 05:02 PM
There will be a few of the fringe players, particularly the attacking ones, thinking that they could have done more. Decent enough without doing anything that is going to give the manager anything to seriously think about.

04-09-2016, 05:04 PM

Really? It was insipid? You sure mate?

04-09-2016, 05:05 PM
For me he is quick is a straight foot race however on the ball trying to dribble past someone he seems slow, never appears to knock it past them and go

:agree: When he did, he was effective.

It is possible, of course, that he was playing to instructions ....

Actually, what's basically a reserve side win 3-0 away from home with little or nothing in the way of alarm or danger; we progress to the next stage of the competition; nobody gets injured ....

.... likesay - all serene.

04-09-2016, 05:07 PM
Progression was pretty much guaranteed so it was a chance for us to see and judge some fringe players. Harris is commented on because he has come back and there is some debate about whether he will add anything or not.

The constant jumping on anything that isn't just 100 % positive is more tiresome than the proper criticism these days.

Exactly, some folk here want the stepford dot net rather than differing opinions.

I was very surprised at how many Hibs fans travelled up there today, well done everyone who did for what really was a training match. :top marks

Ryan69
04-09-2016, 05:20 PM
No one but you are now taking the term literally.... You know what I mean though.

Harris has talent but he didn't do himself any favours today IMHO.

Hate too say it.....But not done himself any favours in years.

never been the same since the injury,and unless something major happens with him....out the door at end of contract if not before.

04-09-2016, 05:20 PM
Exactly, some folk here want the stepford dot net rather than differing opinions.

I was very surprised at how many Hibs fans travelled up there today, well done everyone who did for what really was a training match. :top marks

My opinion's different from other people's opinions (I would say that's because I'm right and they're wrong, but that would upset folks and besides, hard as it may be to believe, it isn't always true).

So we're having a difference of opinion.

Politely?

Aren't we?

PS: I hate to say it, but I think Ryan69's probably right.

04-09-2016, 05:21 PM

A which hunt? FFS I give up. Every player was a super duper 10/10 and no one was poor. Let me know if this is ok?

fishybeaver
04-09-2016, 05:26 PM
A which hunt? FFS I give up. Every player was a super duper 10/10 and no one was poor. Let me know if this is ok?
Boyle was poor, Crane was poor,Foster was poor, but to suggest a player has no future after a three nil win,is really really poor form!

04-09-2016, 05:27 PM
Very good first half second half a bit pedestrian but good that we killed the game early. Some of the young kids looked good brilliantly taken first goal. Young kid from Celtic looked good but not much time. Decent run out.

04-09-2016, 05:28 PM

No they weren't. You trying to cause trouble?

It was an adequate performance with some players playing better than others.

Like most games we play.

:devil:

04-09-2016, 05:29 PM

Bloody rubbish the cat, stop picking on Harris he was 11/10.