View Full Version : Tesco

01-09-2016, 12:35 AM
If ever a company set itself up to shoot itself in the foot until there was no foot left then Tesco is it. I was a Tesco shopper for years even after their bad PR over pricing. They then shut several stores that I used and also cancelled new stores planned at a few locations.
Today I learn that staff at Tesco bank in Edinburgh is being moved to Glasgow and Newcastle.

It's 'Tesco No More' for me.

01-09-2016, 06:14 AM
If ever a company set itself up to shoot itself in the foot until there was no foot left then Tesco is it. I was a Tesco shopper for years even after their bad PR over pricing. They then shut several stores that I used and also cancelled new stores planned at a few locations.
Today I learn that staff at Tesco bank in Edinburgh is being moved to Glasgow and Newcastle.

I was tempted to say that's great news as I know a jambo sparryheid of the most bitter and deluded variety who works for them and will now have to commute from Musselburgh to Glasgow. But I shouldn't really.

01-09-2016, 11:39 AM

Tesco Bank will still have a large presence at the Gyle. It's the Haymarket office that will be closed.

speedy_gonzales
01-09-2016, 06:22 PM
The shop itself has went down hill rapidly recently.
A couple of years ago, they had a sit down with staff and market researchers to rationalise their "lines".
This resulted in them thinning down a lot of their products, so rather than having a decent range & choice they'll have their "Everyday, Own Brand & Finest" along with a single Brand and in some stores they have stopped some lines altogether. '00' flour & Retsina were two products that my local store used to stock but suddenly stopped. When asked they said there was no demand or that they weren't big sellers. The member of staff then said they'd been asked a few times and had suggested to other customers that Sainsburys still stocked them. They missed the point that demand is clearly still there and when I said if I have to go to Sainsburys for my pasta flour/I'm just going to do my shop they said "well that's your choice". It wasn't my choice, my hand was forced when you scaled back the products.

First world problems eh?

01-09-2016, 07:24 PM
Tbh I just refuse to shop in Tesco now because the price/quality ratio is all wrong.

I do the main bulk of my weekly shop in Lidl and pick up my fruit and veg (which is Lidls weakest point by a mile imo) at a local greengrocer and average about £15 a week cheaper than when I was shopping in Tesco. Quality wise I'm getting better quality fruit and veg, better quality bread and baked goods and everything else is comparable for less money. It's a no brainer.

01-09-2016, 07:52 PM
I never use Tesco due to their red, white and blue colour scheme!
It's Asda or Morrison's for me every time.🤗

Edit: with the exception of fresh fruit n veg where I find lidl is by far the best.

01-09-2016, 08:37 PM

Edit: with the exception of fresh fruit n veg where I find lidl is by far the best.

Tesco's Fruit & Nut chocolate bars are the tops.

02-09-2016, 08:38 AM
Tbh I just refuse to shop in Tesco now because the price/quality ratio is all wrong.

I do the main bulk of my weekly shop in Lidl and pick up my fruit and veg (which is Lidls weakest point by a mile imo) at a local greengrocer and average about £15 a week cheaper than when I was shopping in Tesco. Quality wise I'm getting better quality fruit and veg, better quality bread and baked goods and everything else is comparable for less money. It's a no brainer.

Anyone who doesn't shop in Lidl is missing out.

02-09-2016, 09:05 AM
Anyone who doesn't shop in Lidl is missing out.

Yep. Missing the queues at check out and the bad service :wink:

02-09-2016, 09:33 AM

Yep I hate it. Standing in a queue to get haf a dozen things to save a couple of quid then having to go to Tescos for the main stuff after. Pointless!

02-09-2016, 10:30 AM
Why do they have such a tiny area to pack your stuff? The checkout assistant then proceeds to throw your stuff at you in a rapid fire action. I don't do our weekly shop which is just as well.

02-09-2016, 10:34 AM
We have an Aldi and a Tesco right next to each other, the difference in price between the two is mental. Tesco definitely overcharge when you see how much Aldi charge for similar items (sometimes identical items). After years and years of shopping in Tesco, I always think that the cashier has missed something when they tell me the price at Aldi :greengrin

02-09-2016, 11:35 AM
Why do they have such a tiny area to pack your stuff? The checkout assistant then proceeds to throw your stuff at you in a rapid fire action. I don't do our weekly shop which is just as well.

The idea is for you to put everything back in the trolley and pack on the shelves so the cashier can get to the next customer.

02-09-2016, 11:42 AM
Can't say I'm a fan of Lidl and Aldi, not a pleasant shopping experience.

02-09-2016, 11:46 AM
I alternate between asda, tesco and lidl.

Asda mainly for the meat, 3 for 10 pound which the mrs insists on. And to be fair the mske your own pizza at Asda always seem to do the trick.

Tesco is at the foot of the walk and is used for getting a few messages. but we never do a big shop there.

Lidl is fine by me, but what I find is I just by crap for myself....like thier big bars of chocolate. 85p or somthing but they they are great, and im not really a chocolate person. But the winner has to be the bakery. The cheese twists are a hangovers dream :thumbsup: and all the other stuff cereal, cold meat etc never had an issue with.

TBH she does most of the shopping/savings....i just look around to see who has the best deals on beer/cider that week

02-09-2016, 12:19 PM
Can't say I'm a fan of Lidl and Aldi, not a pleasant shopping experience.

Never had a bad experience in Aldi, always has friendly staff, the stuff that I go in there for, and the store's always bright and clean. Shopping's never fun, but I don't find it any worse than Tesco, to be honest.

Asda, on the other hand...brutal!

02-09-2016, 12:44 PM
The idea is for you to put everything back in the trolley and pack on the shelves so the cashier can get to the next customer.

That's all well and good, but if you take a basket you have to leave it at the other end of the checkout.

02-09-2016, 01:49 PM
That's all well and good, but if you take a basket you have to leave it at the other end of the checkout.

Just take a bag and fill it as you go, then you know it all fits when you get to the checkout so you can just chuck it all back in again :greengrin

02-09-2016, 01:59 PM
Just take a bag and fill it as you go, then you know it all fits when you get to the checkout so you can just chuck it all back in again :greengrin

Ha ha, I'll try that next time. I'm sure the security guard will be fine with me walking around the store putting things in a bag :greengrin.

02-09-2016, 02:29 PM
Ha ha, I'll try that next time. I'm sure the security guard will be fine with me walking around the store putting things in a bag :greengrin.

I do that all the time! :agree:

02-09-2016, 04:33 PM

Aldi and Lidl checkout staff have strict targets to meet on how quickly they scan stuff through which is why they are basically throwing the stuff at you.

First time few times I went in I made a right mess of the packing, but eventually you get decent at it :greengrin

02-09-2016, 04:35 PM
I used to think the same as some of the comments above about Lidl/Aldi being poor.

It’s only recently I’ve started going to Aldi and less often Lidl, but I think its definitely worth it for Meat, Cheese and veg and you will save a noticeable amount of money.

A lot of the stuff you get in the fictional Aldi/Lidl brands is just other branded stuff sold at a cheaper price – eg the Lidl Scottish cheese is all Graham’s and their own brand Shortbread is Walker’s.

For me Aldi is the far better of the two.

More and more people are using the discounters for essentials, and then doing a separate shop at one of the bigger Supermarkets for the other stuff that you can’t get.

They will continue to get better and better as well.

hibbycraig
02-09-2016, 04:43 PM
Me and the mrs do our weekly at lidl. We make a meal plan for the week, saves us buying rubbish we don't need. Usually about £25-£35 for us two and the wee one. Local tesco for milk and bread. And definitely chuck all the stuff back in the trolley to take away pack. Always £5 off vouchers in the papers for spending over £40 if you're doing a bigger shop.

02-09-2016, 04:46 PM
Aldi and Lidl checkout staff have strict targets to meet on how quickly they scan stuff through which is why they are basically throwing the stuff at you.

First time few times I went in I made a right mess of the packing, but eventually you get decent at it :greengrin
I was in the one in the kirkgate to get a pair of wellies(which they didn't have) and I got a couple of things from the bakery section. It was still hot and surprisingly tasty. For the record the bakery produce wasn't a replacement for the wellies, I've never eaten wellies before. :greengrin

02-09-2016, 06:56 PM
I love Tesco's finest range and so stick with them for that option. The missus does her Mum's shopping at Morrisons so we get a bit of a mix as she often picks things up. Have tried Lidl,Aldi,Asda but always end up back at Tesco.

02-09-2016, 08:42 PM
The shop itself has went down hill rapidly recently.
A couple of years ago, they had a sit down with staff and market researchers to rationalise their "lines".
This resulted in them thinning down a lot of their products, so rather than having a decent range & choice they'll have their "Everyday, Own Brand & Finest" along with a single Brand and in some stores they have stopped some lines altogether. '00' flour & Retsina were two products that my local store used to stock but suddenly stopped. When asked they said there was no demand or that they weren't big sellers. The member of staff then said they'd been asked a few times and had suggested to other customers that Sainsburys still stocked them. They missed the point that demand is clearly still there and when I said if I have to go to Sainsburys for my pasta flour/I'm just going to do my shop they said "well that's your choice". It wasn't my choice, my hand was forced when you scaled back the products.

First world problems eh?

Whenever they get something decent they withdraw Iran fake up a finest version which is invariably *****. Finest equals crap own brand equals barely edible

Stick
02-09-2016, 09:40 PM
I like shopping at Aldis. Where else can you pick up bread, milk, and a welders mask, at the same time.

02-09-2016, 09:56 PM

Aye that is weird

Matty_Jack04
03-09-2016, 08:25 AM
I buy meat online in bulk and get the majority of everything else from lidls, unless there's something my Mrs is hugely fussy about (washing powder and the like) I barely use Tesco anymore our food bill comes in more than half of what my Mrs playgroup crew are spending a month, I don't see how Tesco can pull themselves out the hole they've dug tbh

03-09-2016, 12:12 PM
Are these steak/meat packs you buy online any good? Any recommendations?

03-09-2016, 06:50 PM

Donald Russell is quite good.

Go on to one of the voucher websites (Groupon, it is on, etc) and give it a go at half price first.

Matty_Jack04
03-09-2016, 06:51 PM

I use www.musclefood.com had no problems whatsoever been using them over a year now, there are other ones no idea what there like though

04-09-2016, 07:13 AM
I use www.musclefood.com had no problems whatsoever been using them over a year now, there are other ones no idea what there like though
I read someone saying that had changed so their meat was now eastern european? When they first started it was guaranteed British but they have removed this guarantee?

Matty_Jack04
04-09-2016, 07:54 AM
I read someone saying that had changed so their meat was now eastern european? When they first started it was guaranteed British but they have removed this guarantee?

I had no idea over this to be honest, I checked there quality comparison on the website and I can only find a guarantee on the cattle being '100% brittish, farm assured cattle' there is no similar statement about their chicken, it does ring a bell someone telling me these are from France although that could well be wrong, they are currently promoting an offer of a 65 piece hamper as 'best of brittish' selection which states 'sourced in the brittish isles' and 'red tractor approved' chicken

04-09-2016, 10:15 AM
I've limited choice because of the locality I live in. However I have no petty hang ups over shop colours, labeling of produce etc etc :yawn2: so its Tesco for me every time. Good service and friendly staff are big factors for me.

04-09-2016, 02:09 PM
One thing I buy from Asda is their Rib Eye Steaks, they are superb and great value when 2 for £7.

06-09-2016, 08:22 AM
I like shopping at Aldis. Where else can you pick up bread, milk, and a welders mask, at the same time.
FFS, who needs bread? :rolleyes:

06-09-2016, 09:11 AM
Always like Lidl mum was married to a German so she always shopped there.
Plus does any other supermarket have such a good song!
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Jxl8P1fNT9Y

08-09-2016, 07:29 AM

My thoughts entirely. I don't look forward to checkout time. Are supermarkets all like that in Germany?

08-09-2016, 09:24 AM
My thoughts entirely. I don't look forward to checkout time. Are supermarkets all like that in Germany?

No, only Lidle and Aldi. They're the supermarket equivalent to the airlines "Low cost carriers".

08-09-2016, 09:24 AM

They have ways of making you pack.

08-09-2016, 07:03 PM

Ah yes. I will never shop there again now you've pointed that out. Many thanks.

Ajo
09-09-2016, 05:24 PM

I work for the bank and there is only a small proportion of employees who are moving to either Glasgow or Newcastle. The Haymarket office is shutting as the lease is up so we'll all be moving to the gyle office which we own!

09-09-2016, 06:34 PM
well i love my Tesco clubcard :agree: Aldi for milk and bread and that's it

i see three former executives have been charged with false accounting

http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/business-37316125
Three former Tesco executives have been charged as part of a continuing investigation into accounting irregularities at the supermarket giant in 2014.
Carl Rogberg, Christopher Bush and John Scouler have been charged with fraud and false accounting, the Serious Fraud Office (SFO) said.

patch1875
09-09-2016, 08:24 PM
We shop at Tesco for the clubcard points but even they are getting slashed hardly any extra points available now.

09-09-2016, 08:57 PM
We shop at Tesco for the clubcard points but even they are getting slashed hardly any extra points available now.

I noticed they are doing away with the clubcard boost in store where you can double your vouchers value. What they are replacing it with is a load of mince like deals at pizza express.

That used to come in really handy at Christmas.

10-09-2016, 11:37 AM
I work for the bank and there is only a small proportion of employees who are moving to either Glasgow or Newcastle. The Haymarket office is shutting as the lease is up so we'll all be moving to the gyle office which we own!

Go to hear that most employees are not being forced to travel to Glasgow, Ajo.

Alas, it doesn't alter my changed views on Tesco as a company.
A tsunami of PR disasters. Faux pas after faux pas.

22-09-2016, 12:24 PM
I wouldn't shop with customers like these in the store at price reducing time. They need security guards with tasers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bCLjkBd2i0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PeqsojK4K1I

patch1875
23-09-2016, 01:57 PM
I noticed they are doing away with the clubcard boost in store where you can double your vouchers value. What they are replacing it with is a load of mince like deals at pizza express.

That used to come in really handy at Christmas.

Tbh we only use the vouchers for eating out as it's decent value when quadrupled with all the extra points deals you used to get I would average 12-15 quid a month now it's about £8-9.

speedy_gonzales
23-09-2016, 04:00 PM
I wouldn't shop with customers like these in the store at price reducing time. They need security guards with tasers.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=6bCLjkBd2i0
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PeqsojK4K1I
I've witnessed scrums like that in Tescos Corstorphine but I've also seen it in Asda Chesser when they've 'whoopsed' a lot of stuff in one go. Whilst it's good to get a bargain and buying short dated fruit'n'veg is actively encouraged by most supermarkets, that kind of behaviour is almost feral and makes you wonder whether it's driven by greed or desperation.

beensaidbefore
23-09-2016, 04:29 PM
I used to think the same as some of the comments above about Lidl/Aldi being poor.

It’s only recently I’ve started going to Aldi and less often Lidl, but I think its definitely worth it for Meat, Cheese and veg and you will save a noticeable amount of money.

A lot of the stuff you get in the fictional Aldi/Lidl brands is just other branded stuff sold at a cheaper price – eg the Lidl Scottish cheese is all Graham’s and their own brand Shortbread is Walker’s.

For me Aldi is the far better of the two.

More and more people are using the discounters for essentials, and then doing a separate shop at one of the bigger Supermarkets for the other stuff that you can’t get.

They will continue to get better and better as well.

I agree 100%. Bit of a culture change for the big 4, but once you get the hang of it you would be mental/lazy/snobby to not shop there. Let's face it they ain't producing the stuff themselves, it all comes from the same manufacturers as the other shops.

25-09-2016, 11:25 AM
my daughter works at lidl's customer services in Livingston, she was telling me last week that the managers there get a new car every SIX months, they have a private valet team that comes to clean these cars THREE times/week...overkill or whit :rolleyes: they are taking on an extra couple of hundred staff when they move to euro central possibly next year, another big jobs loss for livingston though

25-09-2016, 12:04 PM
my daughter works at lidl's customer services in Livingston, she was telling me last week that the managers there get a new car every SIX months, they have a private valet team that comes to clean these cars THREE times/week...overkill or whit :rolleyes: they are taking on an extra couple of hundred staff when they move to euro central possibly next year, another big jobs loss for livingston though

I hope I don't sound too unsympathetic but most folks have to travel to work. Livi to Eurocentral isn't any worse than folks who have to travel from Fife to the Lothians to work. I can't really see that Livi is particularly devastated by a company moving 20 mins down the road, where there are trains, buses and park and ride.

25-09-2016, 12:12 PM
I hope I don't sound too unsympathetic but most folks have to travel to work. Livi to Eurocentral isn't any worse than folks who have to travel from Fife to the Lothians to work. I can't really see that Livi is particularly devastated by a company moving 20 mins down the road, where there are trains, buses and park and ride.

well you SHOULD be sympathetic, it will most likely cost bank of dad money towards a car upgrade :greengrin and it will still be another big building lying empty in livingston, along with the large B & Q store that closed last month, although i noticed they are building new units opposite tony macaroni which will bring jobs

25-09-2016, 03:57 PM
well you SHOULD be sympathetic, it will most likely cost bank of dad money towards a car upgrade :greengrin and it will still be another big building lying empty in livingston, along with the large B & Q store that closed last month, although i noticed they are building new units opposite tony macaroni which will bring jobs

Haha well, there is that. At least you're not having to give her a lift!

25-09-2016, 09:20 PM
Heard ikea might be interested in the old B&Q site in livingston

26-09-2016, 04:47 PM

Oh Lord. Please no.

My wife will never be out of the place.

26-09-2016, 06:18 PM

Not really their style to have two.

26-09-2016, 07:13 PM

Somewhere for the "West Lothian Hikers Club" to go in adverse weather.

26-09-2016, 08:23 PM
Living in Leith, I tend to use Tesco for brand goods that I can't get in Lidl e.g. Kellog's Cornflakes or more 'upmarket' goods like Whole Earth Crunchy Peanut Butter :drool: The Leith Tesco is a massive off-licence in the evenings although it's a disgrace it doesn't have any fridges for booze. £1.50 for Brewdog Jet Black Heart Oatmeal Milk Stout was welcome at the weekend. Lidl can't be faulted on price but some of the products are hit and miss. I find the fruit and veg decent though but only to supplement my organic veg box.

The Kirkgate Lidl is a nightmare at the tills as although it has already been expanded once it is usually mobbed. Apparently they are taking over the units next door and expanding in the next few months to include self-service tills which will be a huge improvement. There was talk of Lidl taking over the old B&Q in Easter Road but that seems to have died a death.

26-09-2016, 08:31 PM
They have ways of making you pack.

26-09-2016, 11:35 PM
Living in Leith, I tend to use Tesco for brand goods that I can't get in Lidl e.g. Kellog's Cornflakes or more 'upmarket' goods like Whole Earth Crunchy Peanut Butter :drool: The Leith Tesco is a massive off-licence in the evenings although it's a disgrace it doesn't have any fridges for booze. £1.50 for Brewdog Jet Black Heart Oatmeal Milk Stout was welcome at the weekend. Lidl can't be faulted on price but some of the products are hit and miss. I find the fruit and veg decent though but only to supplement my organic veg box.

The Kirkgate Lidl is a nightmare at the tills as although it has already been expanded once it is usually mobbed. Apparently they are taking over the units next door and expanding in the next few months to include self-service tills which will be a huge improvement. There was talk of Lidl taking over the old B&Q in Easter Road but that seems to have died a death.
I was in the one on Dalry Road the other day and they had self service checkouts, what a difference it made. I was only buying dog food, but I didn't have to queue at all.

27-09-2016, 11:30 AM
What would our grandfathers have made of us all discussing the relative merits of different supermarkets? Don't get me wrong, it's progress that we are, but I can only imagine what my Old Boys would have to say about this!

27-09-2016, 12:49 PM

There's a Lidl opening on Logie Green Road shortly, right opposite the Broughton Tesco.

It was due to open last year but there were some kind of building issues. That will be my go to as it's closer than the Kirkgate for me.

28-09-2016, 03:29 PM
All this time wasted going to supermarkets just order online and a nice man from Sainsbury's will deliver it.

28-09-2016, 11:10 PM
What would our grandfathers have made of us all discussing the relative merits of different supermarkets? Don't get me wrong, it's progress that we are, but I can only imagine what my Old Boys would have to say about this!

A bunch of perfumed and tattoed nancy boys gossiping about groceries like lassies.

26-05-2017, 11:32 AM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-north-east-orkney-shetland-40057648

How to make yourself more customer friendly (or not?).
You can pay with plastic but its a no-no re. bags.

speedy_gonzales
26-05-2017, 12:14 PM

I can't see this being a problem these days. The vast majority of shoppers bring their own bags, and even if they don't, the bags for life are not throwaways, they carry a lot more bottles of beer than the 5p ones and when they get tatty they're replaced free of charge.

26-05-2017, 01:56 PM
I can't see this being a problem these days. The vast majority of shoppers bring their own bags, and even if they don't, the bags for life are not throwaways, they carry a lot more bottles of beer than the 5p ones and when they get tatty they're replaced free of charge.

Really? I didn't know that. No more crappy 5p bags for me. :aok:

26-05-2017, 02:00 PM

There will be a commercial reason behind this.

The admin costs of sorting out the amounts due to the SG won't be huge, but probably outweigh any perceived benefit from having the brand name on fewer and fewer bags.

(signed, A.Cynic)

26-05-2017, 02:13 PM

The admin costs of sorting out the amounts due to the SG won't be huge, but probably outweigh any perceived benefit from having the brand name on fewer and fewer bags.

(signed, A.Cynic)

I share your nom-de-plume on many subjects, CWG :cool2:

speedy_gonzales
26-05-2017, 03:39 PM
Really? I didn't know that. No more crappy 5p bags for me. :aok:
It was certainly the case at Tescos before the bag tax was implemented.
I'd like to think they still do it, else how is it a bag for life?!?

26-05-2017, 03:44 PM

Easy-peasy, Tesco will kill you if you lose or break it. :greengrin

26-05-2017, 03:49 PM

They do.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
27-05-2017, 07:11 AM
We have an Aldi and a Tesco right next to each other, the difference in price between the two is mental. Tesco definitely overcharge when you see how much Aldi charge for similar items (sometimes identical items). After years and years of shopping in Tesco, I always think that the cashier has missed something when they tell me the price at Aldi :greengrin

Were the same, its about 30 quid a week cheaper.

Not a bad selection of Scottish beer usually too.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
27-05-2017, 07:18 AM
I agree 100%. Bit of a culture change for the big 4, but once you get the hang of it you would be mental/lazy/snobby to not shop there. Let's face it they ain't producing the stuff themselves, it all comes from the same manufacturers as the other shops.

Wr found aldi nappies and wipes to be the best, and considersbly cheaper for anyone with a wee one. Dont get asda's own, leak all over the place (particuarly unpleasant when the are in with you!)

28-05-2017, 11:11 AM
Wr found aldi nappies and wipes to be the best, and considersbly cheaper for anyone with a wee one. Dont get asda's own, leak all over the place (particuarly unpleasant when the are in with you!)

I found that you need to match the nappy to the kid. Price makes little difference its more to to with design and fluid dynamics being matched. Boots won brand worked best for us (and they did size 0 which helped).

hibeenicol
28-05-2017, 02:11 PM

(signed, A.Cynic)

Not sure that Tesco would be giving THE SG any money as the cash they take from the bag tax they donate back to local communities.
They've said this will continue with the bag for life charge.

28-05-2017, 03:11 PM
I might start using tesco more often. Someone's just been shot about an hour ago in the car park of the sainsburys along the road that we usually use. Loyalist fued most likely. Loads of people including kids witnessed it apparently. ****bags.