View Full Version : Apples on the pitch

StevieT
28-08-2016, 12:09 PM
Not sure if this has been mentioned before in any other thread. If so then this can be closed.

In the second half yesterday an apple was thrown at the east stand assistant near to the corner flag at the FF end. A second apple was then thrown at the same assistant when Cummings scored. At this point the assistant called over the referee and he then went to the tunnel to report it to the security guy. This will surely appear in the referee's report which in turn will mean some sort of trouble for the club.

This is not the sort of thing that we want to see at Easter Road and even more so when we are still waiting on the result of the Hampden 'riots'.

Finn2015
28-08-2016, 12:10 PM
I know noticed it myself as I sit in the FF. Absolutely brain dead. Have to wonder about some people.

28-08-2016, 12:21 PM
Some real cox s go to games

28-08-2016, 12:25 PM
Folk in that area must have noticed who did this, assuming it was the same guy both times. Shop him.

28-08-2016, 12:28 PM
Folk in that area must have noticed who did this, assuming it was the same guy both times. Shop him.

:agree: Up to the fans to police ourselves and get these morons to ****, they aren't welcome in our support.

28-08-2016, 12:32 PM
Linesman pointed it out to the ref so it will be in his report.

Just what we need with a compliance officer report about Hampden on the horizon. Morons doesn't even get close.

28-08-2016, 12:33 PM
Who the hell takes Apples to the fitbaw?

Wee Effen Bee
28-08-2016, 12:33 PM
Some real cox s go to games

You do know that many on here find puns a little unappeeling. :wink:

28-08-2016, 12:36 PM
Aye just the hardcore

Twiglet
28-08-2016, 12:50 PM
There were apples getting thrown at the back of the west post match. No idea where they were coming from. We looked up but couldn't see anyone at the windows and it would have been difficult to throw them from there with the way they were open. Bunch of weirdos.

28-08-2016, 01:06 PM
Apparently they were thrown by Granny Smith.

28-08-2016, 01:08 PM
You piped me to it

NGP
28-08-2016, 01:13 PM
2 apples? Does that make it a pear?

Silversand
28-08-2016, 01:15 PM
Standing outside the West after the game, and a bunch of yoofs (no colours) wandered by - 1 of them eating an apple. He then launched it the general direction of a steward standing at the stadium, missing him.

Him & his mates thought this was all very funny.

28-08-2016, 01:24 PM
Very silly, the hardcore bad apples really need to be pruned from our support. But keep it in perspective - no need to get too crabby, plenty golden moments yesterday, and at least things didnt crumble after the players had grafted for the win.

caithnesshibee
28-08-2016, 01:27 PM
Nearly as stupid as the guy throwing the bottle of beer at the steward at the Shrewsbury game, this after he let the same person down a small bottle of wine. Mental

28-08-2016, 01:28 PM
😂😂😂😂 best comment

Sent from my SM-A300FU using Tapatalk

Roxyhibee
28-08-2016, 01:28 PM
1973 ish - evening game against the Huns (must have been a league cup game, as it was still quite light before ko)

I was about 15 years old, 6 foot plus and weighed around 8 stone - had all the strength of a Junior Dispirin.. Was also wearing one of those builders hats, painted green with Paddy Stanton, etc, written on it in white, and with my green cap sleeved tshirt, I thought I looked ace, but oh dear...

Lower East was taken up half Hibs and half Huns, and just before the teams came out I felt this force on my left shoulder that felt to me like I'd been hit by a double decker SMT doing 80mph.

I'm literally launched 7 or 8 rows down the terracing, banging off people and finally coming to rest on my girlie-faced coupon. I'm picked up, by all the Hibbies round me and they're saying "help the laddie up, *** animals - wtf was that.??!"

Then, it's spotted on the ground where I'd been standing - some Hun had brought a large tattie into the game and hit a bullseye with the green domed bean stalk sticking oot like a dream sitting target.!!

The only thing more bruised than my bony shoulder was my fragile young ego.!!

If only there'd been security keeping vegetables out of grounds in those days it would never have happened - the guilty thrower would not have got in that evening -- and none of his fellow Huns would have either.!!

28-08-2016, 01:31 PM
Nearly as stupid as the guy throwing the bottle of beer at the steward at the Shrewsbury game, this after he let the same person down a small bottle of wine. Mental

I saw one coming on to the pitch and thought that it had come on from outside the ground.

High-On-Hibs
28-08-2016, 01:33 PM
Some bad apples go to the games. Rotten to the core.

28-08-2016, 01:33 PM

The guy with no bananas.

28-08-2016, 01:34 PM
Apparently they were thrown by Granny Smith.

Or her son, the apple never falls very far from the tree . . .

RC1875
28-08-2016, 01:38 PM
I was sitting in the front row of the east and the apple landed Infront advertisement board infront of my seat, had no idea where it came from

28-08-2016, 01:49 PM
I was sitting in the front row of the east and the apple landed Infront advertisement board infront of my seat, had no idea where it came from

Asda?

ClewsHibs
28-08-2016, 02:02 PM
I was almost hit by one outside the west after the game. Bizarre

28-08-2016, 02:15 PM
Maybe it was the vitiamin C. Cs

Hezbelle
28-08-2016, 02:21 PM
Chucking apples is out of order!

My boy had an apple at half time that we'd took in. Got to break up the chips and haribo with something healthy.

It wasn't chucked though.

Cauld Bovril
28-08-2016, 02:31 PM
I saw one coming on to the pitch and thought that it had come on from outside the ground.

:agree: I saw one coming over the gap between the east and ff, definitely thrown from outside.

28-08-2016, 02:40 PM
This is seedy banter

28-08-2016, 02:48 PM
So much for healthy eating, they obviously can do more damage to a human being than a soggy pie.

hibsdaft
28-08-2016, 03:35 PM
I was almost hit by one outside the west after the game. Bizarre

Likewise. It looked like the guilty party's were 2/3 young lads in grey trackies outside the back of the West, between the ticket office and the old church. Very odd behaviour.

squire
28-08-2016, 04:25 PM
There's some apples on the pitch. They think it's a turnover

Ultrabee1-0
28-08-2016, 04:26 PM

Is this Lee Wallace? Graaaaaaaas

28-08-2016, 05:20 PM
There's some apples on the pitch. They think it's a turnover

Just in case this post doesn't get the appreciation it so clearly deserves I'd just like to say well done :applause:

Topographic Hibby
28-08-2016, 05:24 PM
:agree: I saw one coming over the gap between the east and ff, definitely thrown from outside.

All joking apart, if it's in the refs report, it could cause us bother. I take in the club know it came from outside the ground and CCTV will show what happened and where they came from etc. We have enough bother wasting our time over Hun-Slap-Gate without having to deal with Apple-Gate.

Neither of which the club are responsible for.

28-08-2016, 05:29 PM
All joking apart, if it's in the refs report, it could cause us bother. I take in the club know it came from outside the ground and CCTV will show what happened and where they came from etc. We have enough bother wasting our time over Hun-Slap-Gate without having to deal with Apple-Gate.

Neither of which the club are responsible for.
Think you're comparing apples with sour grapes.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

28-08-2016, 05:33 PM
Makes you wonder if some of the 400,000 creeps just couldn't stay away from one of our games again.

28-08-2016, 05:33 PM
Apples? It used to be golf balls with nails in them, back when it was a man's game.

28-08-2016, 05:34 PM
I prefer pebbles on the beach myself!

28-08-2016, 05:36 PM
Apples? It used to be golf balls with nails in them, back when it was a man's game.

They didn't taste very nice though.

28-08-2016, 07:38 PM
I wondered why the ref ran over to the main stand after we scored, doesn't matter what the object was it still shouldn't be happening

28-08-2016, 08:51 PM
Surely they were coming from outside?? Even our idiots wouldn't be that idiotic?!

28-08-2016, 09:19 PM
Surely they were coming from outside?? Even our idiots wouldn't be that idiotic?!
We have a hard core .

Wee Effen Bee
28-08-2016, 09:25 PM
We have a hard core .

I think we should take stalk of the situation but we also have to admit that some people are just rotten.

Finn2015
28-08-2016, 09:30 PM
I think we should take stalk of the situation but we also have to admit that some people are just rotten.

Agree with the core of what you are saying but rotten is a bit much, think there are just a few bad apples but the majority are fine. The match went on and the pitch didn't crumble and it wasn't as if the whole support acted like a bunch of Cox's. There was just one bad apple is all

Galahibby
28-08-2016, 10:06 PM
Maybe a passing seagull dropped them.

Ultrabee1-0
29-08-2016, 12:03 AM
I will be getting my self down to asda and buying a **** load of apples for the Raith game.
Rudi is going to get it something awful

29-08-2016, 06:58 AM
This health conscious initiative should be complemented. It's the pie throwers who disgust me.

29-08-2016, 07:23 AM

I'm sure this was how Sir Isaac Newton discovered gravity. He was at a Bristol Rovers game though...

29-08-2016, 07:40 AM
I'm sure this was how Sir Isaac Newton discovered gravity. He was at a Bristol Rovers game though...

Naw, gravy-ty is what you used to get in the pies.

Getting hit by an apple just makes me crabby.

It wasn't a sponsors' promotion? "Crabbie's Alcoholic Ginger Beer - It's A Real Knock-Out"?

29-08-2016, 08:06 AM
I will be getting my self down to asda and buying a **** load of apples for the Raith game.
Rudi is going to get it something awful

Hopefully he'll crumble.

29-08-2016, 08:31 AM
This reminds me of some of the bad apples we've had on the pitch - who can forget Martin McIntosh blundering haplessly around during his brief time at the club.

29-08-2016, 08:52 AM
This reminds me of some of the bad apples we've had on the pitch - who can forget Martin McIntosh blundering haplessly around during his brief time at the club.

...Katy. Thomson, that is. The pick of the crop or the bad apple depending on your point of view. Not forgetting the wee genius Russet Latapy.

29-08-2016, 09:58 AM
Not sure if this has been mentioned before in any other thread. If so then this can be closed.

In the second half yesterday an apple was thrown at the east stand assistant near to the corner flag at the FF end. A second apple was then thrown at the same assistant when Cummings scored. At this point the assistant called over the referee and he then went to the tunnel to report it to the security guy. This will surely appear in the referee's report which in turn will mean some sort of trouble for the club.

This is not the sort of thing that we want to see at Easter Road and even more so when we are still waiting on the result of the Hampden 'riots'.

Tell Lee Wallace...