View Full Version : Glory Glory to the Hibees - Extra verse?

lastminute
26-08-2016, 08:06 AM
Now that, finally, “the Scottish Cup is in the bag”, it got me thinking that maybe we need an extra verse added to the end of one of our favourite Hibs songs to celebrate that momentous achievement.
Here’s my effort. Scroll to the bottom or sing your way there - altogether now..!

There is a bonny fitba team at Easter Road they play
I go along to cheer them every other Saturday
In colours green and white the finest in the land today
The Hibs go marching on

(Chorus)Glory, Glory to the Hibees
Glory, Glory to the Hibees
We are the Hibee Boys

Against the continentals we have always stood the test
Against the famous English clubs we’re better than the rest
We’ve beat the champs of Europe and we are by far the best
As we go marching on

We are the Hibee Boys

And when I dream of bygone days, as I do now and then
I dream about the forward line who were our greatest men
Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond we won’t see again
But their memory marches on, gie the ba’ tae Reilly

We are the Hibee Boys

And now we’ve got a younger team I dinnae want to brag
I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag
We’re going to top the league next year and win the Scottish flag
As we go marching on

We are the Hibee Boys

In May of 2016, to Hampden went the team
Henderson delivered and David Gray fulfilled our dream
The wait was finally over and our pride was clearly seen
As the Hibs went marching on!

We are the Hibee Boys

26-08-2016, 08:17 AM
No thanks, although I'm not opposed to a completely new song.

Weststandwanab
26-08-2016, 10:53 AM
No thanks, although I'm not opposed to a completely new song.

That is a bit harsh.

I quite like it.

26-08-2016, 10:55 AM
Now that, finally, “the Scottish Cup is in the bag”, it got me thinking that maybe we need an extra verse added to the end of one of our favourite Hibs songs to celebrate that momentous achievement.
Here’s my effort. Scroll to the bottom or sing your way there - altogether now..!

There is a bonny fitba team at Easter Road they play
I go along to cheer them every other Saturday
In colours green and white the finest in the land today
The Hibs go marching on

We are the Hibee Boys

Against the continentals we have always stood the test
Against the famous English clubs we’re better than the rest
We’ve beat the champs of Europe and we are by far the best
As we go marching on

We are the Hibee Boys

And when I dream of bygone days, as I do now and then
I dream about the forward line who were our greatest men
Smith, Johnstone, Reilly, Turnbull, Ormond we won’t see again
But their memory marches on, gie the ba’ tae Reilly

We are the Hibee Boys

And now we’ve got a younger team I dinnae want to brag
I only want to say the Scottish Cup is in the bag
We’re going to top the league next year and win the Scottish flag
As we go marching on

We are the Hibee Boys

In May of 2016, to Hampden went the team
Henderson delivered and David Gray fulfilled our dream
The wait was finally over and our pride was clearly seen
As the Hibs went marching on!

We are the Hibee Boys

A bit awkward in the wording. Anyway, no change needed.

Why has a Proclaimers version never been done though!?

StevieCowan
26-08-2016, 11:10 AM
https://youtu.be/tOnNy8K1KfY

26-08-2016, 11:14 AM
It's not a bad effort but I like GGTTH as it is.

That was the highlight of the post match celebrations at Hampden for me. Seeing 20000 Hibs fans singing along with gusto.

I know a majority will have prefered SOL but for me GGTTH was the triumph.

26-08-2016, 12:14 PM
It's not a bad effort but I like GGTTH as it is.

That was the highlight of the post match celebrations at Hampden for me. Seeing 20000 Hibs fans singing along with gusto.

Yip and especially when we got to "only want to say the Scottish cup is in the bag" and the noise levels increased!

Highland_Hibee
26-08-2016, 12:24 PM
Not saying I don't like the effort but I couldn't see GGTTH altered at this stage.