View Full Version : Hibs Under 20's v Hearts Under 20's

17-08-2016, 09:25 PM
On 23/8/16, Anybody know what time the kick-off is? I've not been to one for ages.

17-08-2016, 09:29 PM
Christ last time I was at one of these I was on the park trying to keep up with Ivan Sproule. Absolute flying machine close up.

17-08-2016, 09:31 PM
Might be at riccarton as Hibs were talking about playing there games there this season.

17-08-2016, 09:43 PM
On 23/8/16, Anybody know what time the kick-off is? I've not been to one for ages.

Check the SPFL website on Friday, it's due to be played at the new Indoor facility at HW, 7pm KO, but the KO time could change

17-08-2016, 09:43 PM
I've read 7pm on a couple of sites and 2pm on hearts official site. Tweeted hibs and Spfl earlier to confirm kick off but no reply yet. Hope they confirm it soon so fans can make arrangements to get to it.

18-08-2016, 01:31 PM
Confirmed 2pm kick off at Oriam, the new sport Scotland venue at heriot watt riccarton, spoke to Spfl

Don't know about costs to get in, not doubt hibs will post on Monday or Tuesday morning to confirm this

18-08-2016, 01:32 PM
Confirmed 2pm kick off at Oriam, the new sport Scotland venue at heriot watt, as spoke to Spfl

Don't know about costs to get in, not doubt hibs will post on Monday or Tuesday morning to confirm this

Thanks Nikki, just the time I didn't want!!!'

23-08-2016, 07:57 AM
Just a reminder that the game is today at 2pm

23-08-2016, 08:29 AM
Confirmed 2pm kick off at Oriam, the new sport Scotland venue at heriot watt riccarton, spoke to Spfl

It's free entry to these games. They just ask for a donation.

23-08-2016, 09:10 AM
It's free entry to these games. They just ask for a donation.

What happens when the ball inevitably hits the roof from one of the Hearts defenders clearances or as Levein might call it a tactical long ball. :greengrin

23-08-2016, 11:29 AM
Intending to go for first half - looking forward to seeing the facility.

Finn2015
23-08-2016, 11:58 AM
Have to have a cheeky wee look at this while at work😄

1875STEVE
23-08-2016, 12:10 PM
Marciano & Fyvie both starting for Hibs.

Marciano, Donaldson, Crane, Forster, Porteous, Martin, Harris, Fyvie, Shaw, Gullan, Murray

andrew70
23-08-2016, 12:29 PM
Going by the starting XI and the subs bench I don't think it would be too much to assume that Stanton, Insall and Carmichael are on their way out as per recent reports. Harris starting may mean he's still in Lennon's thoughts?

None of the rest quoted.

Hopefully Crane shows up well and obviously the 'keeper gets in some much needed game time.

23-08-2016, 12:31 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160823/5be9ab1ab75dd5a0b0b9f5a004bee0f9.jpg

23-08-2016, 12:39 PM

Marciano, Donaldson, Crane, Forster, Porteous, Martin, Harris, Fyvie, Shaw, Gullan, Murray

Do you have the saviles' team by any chance? Thinking of putting money on us at 23/20 with McBookie.

23-08-2016, 12:41 PM
Do you have the saviles' team by any chance? Thinking of putting money on us at 23/20 with McBookie.

U20s to face Hibs: Noring, Godinho, Nowak, Baur, Reid, Petkov, Paton, Irving, Muirhead, Johnsen, Zanatta

Subs: Mason, Currie, McLean,Jones, Brandon,Morrison, Vladislav

23-08-2016, 12:42 PM
Hearts have their new forward Johnsen plus Robbie Muirhead and the boy Zanatta playing. Rest of the team looks ike youngsters.

23-08-2016, 12:50 PM
Hearts have their new forward Johnsen plus Robbie Muirhead and the boy Zanatta playing. Rest of the team looks ike youngsters.

That Robbie Muirhead is overrated. 20 years old and at his 4th club. Stood out at youth level as he was much bigger than boys his age. Now he is playing with adults he is nothing special. Just 7 months younger than Cummings and only 8 career goals in 72 matches.

The_Sauz
23-08-2016, 12:51 PM
Going by the starting XI and the subs bench I don't think it would be too much to assume that Stanton, Insall and Carmichael are on their way out as per recent reports. Harris starting may mean he's still in Lennon's thoughts?

None of the rest quoted.

Hopefully Crane shows up well and obviously the 'keeper gets in some much needed game time.

Is there not a rule on over aged players that can play in a development game (sure it was 3) :confused:

23-08-2016, 12:52 PM

Hearts team I typical Levein fashion are all giants.

Oriam impressive but could do with lights being turned on.

23-08-2016, 12:54 PM
Anywhere offering odds on this?

23-08-2016, 12:54 PM
U20s to face Hibs: Noring, Godinho, Nowak, Baur, Reid, Petkov, Paton, Irving, Muirhead, Johnsen, Zanatta

Subs: Mason, Currie, McLean,Jones, Brandon,Morrison, Vladislav

Hearts promoting a lot of Scottish youth players there I see.

23-08-2016, 12:57 PM

Foreign youngsters, a few Canadians and Bulgarians mixed in with Scottish

23-08-2016, 12:58 PM
Anywhere offering odds on this?

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160823/75b41d46d59458bc48bb10a332183641.jpg

andrew70
23-08-2016, 12:59 PM
Is there not a rule on over aged players that can play in a development game (sure it was 3) :confused:

Possibly for some reason I thought it was 5 not including the keeper. 3 sounds more plausible to be fair.

CallumHibs07
23-08-2016, 01:02 PM
We should pump them with that team.

23-08-2016, 01:06 PM
Wonder how hot it will get in there. If it's anything like World Of Football that can get unbearable at times when it's anything other than cold outside.

23-08-2016, 01:08 PM
Hearts take just 4 minutes to get their first booking.

23-08-2016, 01:12 PM
Who is at home?

23-08-2016, 01:13 PM
Who is at home?

Not me, I'm at work.

23-08-2016, 01:14 PM

Thought porteous was at edinburgh city? Hasn't kicked a ball for them yet.

23-08-2016, 01:14 PM
Not me, I'm at work.

😂😂I'm just going. To work niot home.

23-08-2016, 01:15 PM

He is, it's a development loan so he can still play with Hibs u20s. He started for Edinburgh City at the weekend against Cowdenbeath.

RCNG
23-08-2016, 01:15 PM
Another hertz booking...

23-08-2016, 01:16 PM

Part of the deal was he could play in Development League for Hibs, same story with Oli Shaw and Stenny.

23-08-2016, 01:16 PM
Another hertz booking...

These boys will be pretty close to the first team.

23-08-2016, 01:17 PM
1-0 Hibs, Jamie Gullan, good finish

23-08-2016, 01:17 PM
The omission of Carmichael, Stanton and Insall looks ominous for them.

Unless they're on the bench which I've not seen posted.

23-08-2016, 01:18 PM
Another hertz booking...

Johnsen

23-08-2016, 01:18 PM
So Hibs winning the football, Hearts leading the hacking.

23-08-2016, 01:19 PM
He is, it's a development loan so he can still play with Hibs u20s. He started for Edinburgh City at the weekend against Cowdenbeath.
along with dunsmore I see, Martynuik was playing as well, not a promising start to the league campaign for city jardine is on tenterhooks from what I have been hearing.

ano hibby
23-08-2016, 01:20 PM
Think Gullan was on Hearts books until a year or two back..perhaps someone else can confirm?

23-08-2016, 01:21 PM
along with dunsmore I see, Martynuik was playing as well, not a promising start to the league campaign for city jardine is on tender hooks from what I have been hearing.

Bit of a damp squid?

23-08-2016, 01:23 PM
http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160823/75b41d46d59458bc48bb10a332183641.jpg

Managed to get on in time, cheers :aok:

23-08-2016, 01:24 PM
Near on pished masel at a Hearts mutant on kickback asking why it would be a home game for us when it was played at their facility :faf:

Thankfully, a fellow Jambo pointed it out to him that it wasn't their facility...they merely make block bookings like other teams such as Edinburgh Girls Lacrosse Under 13s and the Abbeyhill Boys Under 17s Hockey Team.

Big teams of course...

23-08-2016, 01:25 PM
Think Gullan was on Hearts books until a year or two back..perhaps someone else can confirm?

Yep. Joined Hibs afterwards. And now he's scored.

You'd think they would have learned after letting Cummings go...

The_Sauz
23-08-2016, 01:25 PM
Possibly for some reason I thought it was 5 not including the keeper. 3 sounds more plausible to be fair.

You were right, it is 5 :aok: They changed the rule in 2014.

23-08-2016, 01:27 PM
The omission of Carmichael, Stanton and Insall looks ominous for them.

Unless they're on the bench which I've not seen posted.

I was told this morning that Carmichael, Harris, Stanton insall and Handling are all free to go

The_Sauz
23-08-2016, 01:30 PM
I was told this morning that Carmichael, Harris, Stanton insall and Handling are all free to go

WOW!!!!
If that's true, is it cost cutting, or has Neil Lennon got replacements lined up :confused:

Finn2015
23-08-2016, 01:31 PM
WOW!!!!
If that's true, is it cost cutting, or has Neil Lennon got replacements lined up :confused:

Hopefully will be freeing up money wages whatever for new signings

23-08-2016, 01:36 PM
WOW!!!!

I expect Harris, Stanton and Insall to go.

No chance of Handling going until he's fit.

23-08-2016, 01:38 PM
WOW!!!!
Why the shock? Think most would agree they should be looking elsewhere if they want to be playing regular football.

Salt N Sauzee
23-08-2016, 01:38 PM

Harris & Insall told they are wanted at the club and Lennon wants them to remain around the first team.

23-08-2016, 01:39 PM
http://www.bet365.com/home/FlashGen4/WebConsoleApp.asp?lng=1&cb=1032557113

Salt N Sauzee
23-08-2016, 01:40 PM
Hertz Muirhead booked for diving in the U20's game. There's a shock.

23-08-2016, 01:41 PM
Hearts up to 3 bookings, young Murray booked for Hibs. Oli Shaw's shot stopped by Noring.

23-08-2016, 01:43 PM
Bit of a damp squid?

It's not Squid, it's Squib!!!

23-08-2016, 01:44 PM
Booked in an Under 20s game for diving. Cheating really does run deep at that club.

23-08-2016, 01:45 PM
Son Of Haggart is reading this and even he's dived already

Finn2015
23-08-2016, 01:45 PM
Booked in an Under 20s game for diving. Cheating really does run deep at that club.

They start them young mate

23-08-2016, 01:46 PM
1-1, Rocky error

23-08-2016, 01:46 PM
1-1, Rocky error

Was it a bad one billy?

The_Sauz
23-08-2016, 01:48 PM
Why the shock? Think most would agree they should be looking elsewhere if they want to be playing regular football.

Insall was brought up here as a development player, so why get rid of him just now :confused:

Was it a bad one billy?

Misread a back pass.

Was it a bad one billy?

Horrendous.

23-08-2016, 01:50 PM
Misread a back pass.

Rather he done it in these games than the first team.

HTD1875
23-08-2016, 01:52 PM
1-1, Rocky error

Hopefully not a sign of things to come.

23-08-2016, 01:53 PM
Insall was brought up here as a development player, so why get rid of him just now :confused:

Brought in by Stubbs as a gamble, too old for the development side really.

23-08-2016, 01:54 PM
Harris & Insall told they are wanted at the club and Lennon wants them to remain around the first team.

Harris has looked average again. One run a few minutes after Lennon appeared on his side though!

Keeper looks good overall but he was a bit casual with the pass back leading to the goal.

Hearts have the usual 6 or 7 giants with diving and hounding the ref thrown in.

Finn2015
23-08-2016, 01:54 PM
Bloody hell just before HT to

23-08-2016, 01:56 PM

Yes, I know - anyone who watched The IT Crowd would have got it, for everyone else...whoooosh!

23-08-2016, 01:57 PM

That was lifted directly from the Sun.

Danny Handling has already tweeted that it was news to him.

AND An E
23-08-2016, 01:57 PM
1-1, Rocky error Please, no this nonsense again..

Salt N Sauzee
23-08-2016, 01:59 PM
Please, no this nonsense again..

is your picture a face-swap with Andy Gillies...?

1-1, Rocky error

Rocky Horror Show, I can see the headlines now

The_Sauz

Hibs.net very own spell checker [emoji4]

Sent from my LG-K350 using Tapatalk

23-08-2016, 02:01 PM
Yes, I know - anyone who watched The IT Crowd would have got it, for everyone else...whoooosh!

Brilliant :greengrin

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XnXKVY-_i2c

AND An E
23-08-2016, 02:04 PM
is your picture a face-swap with Andy Gillies...? I'm not sure actually. My Hibby mate sent me this (the surrounding head shape is his), so maybe he knows this Gillies fellow. It came with some caption saying this is how he would look after 6 nights out on the vodka, patsies and a roll around with the Ladyboys of Bangkok.

1875STEVE
23-08-2016, 02:04 PM

Just noticed they are playing their new Polish defender aswell.

23-08-2016, 02:19 PM
2-1 Hibs

2-1 Hibs Gullan again.

2-1 Hibs, Gullan again with a flick on header

23-08-2016, 02:27 PM
LoveNgoo
Today, 14:20
2-1 down and we take off Johnsen and Muirhead. Daly must know I have a big bet on Hearts

GIRFUY 😂

23-08-2016, 02:28 PM
Hopefully we dont do a Hearts here and **** it up in the last 10 minutes.

23-08-2016, 02:28 PM
What formation are we playing?

23-08-2016, 02:29 PM
I think the attention Lennon is giving Harris here he will be staying and getting worked on.

SouthsideHarp_Bhoy
23-08-2016, 02:31 PM
I think the attention Lennon is giving Harris here he will be staying and getting worked on.

Thats encouraging

23-08-2016, 02:31 PM

He's 24, surely he wants to be playing regularly.

23-08-2016, 02:32 PM

Fyvie looking ok Andy?
Keeper had much to do in the second half?

23-08-2016, 02:32 PM
2-2, thought it was a foul, but ref gave the goal

23-08-2016, 02:33 PM
2-2

23-08-2016, 02:33 PM
2-2 McLean

23-08-2016, 02:40 PM
2-2, thought it was a foul, but ref gave the goal

So they hack, dive and get favours from the ref

It really does go from top to bottom with them

23-08-2016, 02:44 PM
So they hack, dive and get favours from the ref

It really does go from top to bottom with them

**** them.

They put out a team to hammer us according to Kickback and they, as it stands are scraping a draw. Sums them up. Obsessed.

23-08-2016, 02:50 PM
Their goalie Noring is having a good game by all accounts, says all you need to know :agree:

Fyvie looking ok Andy?
Keeper had much to do in the second half?

Fyvie looking good. We've struggled a bit with matching them physically this half.

must be a joy watching footy at the saviledome

hack and dive, hack and dive

23-08-2016, 02:57 PM
must be a joy watching footy at the saviledome

hack and dive, hack and dive

http://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20160823/f727850f31c8a7ee2eeba20cda0318fb.jpg

Hack and decker football.

23-08-2016, 03:02 PM
Finished 2-2

23-08-2016, 03:14 PM
Good game of football from hibs, good fouling and moaning from hearts.

Great facilities there! Glad we are using it for our matches this season.

23-08-2016, 03:20 PM
My Yam mate was asking why we're being "allowed" to use "there" facilities...

23-08-2016, 03:26 PM

Coz we called early and booked it before them :wink:

23-08-2016, 03:28 PM

Not sure on the others but know for a fact Danny hasn't been told that...

23-08-2016, 03:34 PM
Enjoyed the game, probably about a fair result on reflection. What a big physical team Hearts are. Thought Rocky looked really comfortable about from his mistake. My 1st look at the boy Gullan, 2 good goals and a good all round performance from him, good see Fyvie get 90 mins as well

andrew70
23-08-2016, 03:36 PM
Enjoyed the game, probably about a fair result on reflection. What a big physical team Hearts are. Thought Rocky looked really comfortable about from his mistake. My 1st look at the boy Gullan, 2 good goals and a good all round performance from him, good see Fyvie get 90 mins as well

Fraser Fyvie will start as soon as he proves he's fit enough. Great player who offers a lot.

23-08-2016, 03:39 PM

Are all development games there?

23-08-2016, 03:47 PM

Posted Today, 15:30 Clerry Jambo, on 23 Aug 2016 - 3:40 PM, said:http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_images/JKB_2010/snapback.png (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?app=forums&module=forums&section=findpost&pid=5564179)

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/400/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2016/8/23/bb34981b-20a7-4a69-a635-b2b7b114c446.jpg

Ann keeping bad company I see............

She looks really smug in a sort of this is so much better than the farm your Diddy wee team train at...of course these are premiership facilities....way!

Another Yam who doesn't understand the concept of ownership ...... They may be 'premiership facilities' ... just not theirs :faf:

23-08-2016, 04:00 PM
Are all development games there?

All hibs home development games will be.

Hearts are playing theirs at stenhousemuir

23-08-2016, 04:01 PM
Posted Today, 15:30 Clerry Jambo, on 23 Aug 2016 - 3:40 PM, said:http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/public/style_images/JKB_2010/snapback.png (http://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?app=forums&module=forums&section=findpost&pid=5564179)

http://ichef.bbci.co.uk/live-experience/cps/400/cpsprodpb/vivo/live/images/2016/8/23/bb34981b-20a7-4a69-a635-b2b7b114c446.jpg

She looks really smug in a sort of this is so much better than the farm your Diddy wee team train at...of course these are premiership facilities....way!

Another Yam who doesn't understand the concept of ownership ...... They may be 'premiership facilities' ... just not theirs :faf:

Premiership university hockey and lacrosse facilities they mean? Typical Merrick logic, it defies belief at times 😂

23-08-2016, 04:03 PM
Who is the boy gullan

Shearer
23-08-2016, 04:05 PM
Thought Fyvie was very poor, Harris probably the stand out, looked positive going forward and seems to have his confidence back

23-08-2016, 04:06 PM
Who is the boy gullan

17 year old striker also can play midfield. Signed for us last summer from hearts. Looks good from the games I've seen him in, has an eye for goal and took his first goal well today with a low half volley

23-08-2016, 04:19 PM
Marciano - looked comfortable with ball on the ground - short passing. Didn't see him play long much - but in warm up kicks off ground looked suspect. Howler for the goal but made a good save during game also.

Donaldson - fast - better 2nd half than 1st.
Crane - similar to Donaldson - yams equaliser can from his side
Forster - some good things - some very odd passes - needs to be more consistent (like Hanlon)
, Porteous - did ok though got turned for the goal
Martin - usual Martin performance - would like to see him add more attacking shots to his game.
Harris - better 2nd half when he used the space and speed - 1st half I thought was poor
Fyvie - strolled it considering it was his first game back for a while
Shaw - busy not much service
Gullan - took both goals well
Murray - like Shaw.

Hibs played flat 4-4-2 and Hearts seemed to change to a 4-4-2 diamond - crowding middle areas to stop Fyfie and Martin dictate.

Hearts dangers came from Zanetta (tricky wide player) and thier new striker Johnnson - basically Osman Sow part 2 - very tall.

Reasonable even game - Hibs played better football but could tell they hadn't played together - Hearts goals were very simple - 2 tap ins.

Lots of players slipping on new surface - pitch is massive also and over 400 people watching - including Lennon and Neilson.

23-08-2016, 04:29 PM

This was Hibs HOME fixture. So they were visiting our faculties 🙄😀

23-08-2016, 04:38 PM
Thought Fyvie was very poor, Harris probably the stand out, looked positive going forward and seems to have his confidence back

Whit?!

23-08-2016, 04:43 PM

Funny how people see things differently.

My mate text me to say Fyvie was head and shoulders above everyone on the park whilst 'Harris played like Harris'. I didn't take that to be a compliment.

Not saying you're wrong and he's right, just interesting people at the same game can see things so differently.

23-08-2016, 05:16 PM
Harris frustrates the living daylight out of me , has the potential to beat players with pace and a bit of trickery, but just drifts in and out of the game too much , and instead putting a ball in with a bit of intent ..all the time and he can do it well he gets to floating balls in !! The biggest problem I think is he is a bit of a luxury ...in the team

23-08-2016, 05:19 PM
All hibs home development games will be.

Hearts are playing theirs at stenhousemuir

Cool, yeah I meant Hibs development games dont care about Hearts ones. :greengrin

23-08-2016, 05:22 PM
Harris frustrates the living daylight out of me , has the potential to beat players with pace and a bit of trickery, but just drifts in and out of the game too much , and instead putting a ball in with a bit of intent ..all the time and he can do it well he gets to floating balls in !! The biggest problem I think is he is a bit of a luxury ...in the team

All about confidence IMO.

He goes for the touch line and he's exposed and needs to do something himself, cuts inside and he's got the safety net of being able to lay it off to someone. Same with the crosses, he can float balls in and if nothing comes of it then so be it, if he tries a lower fizzed ball in there's more chance of it not beating the first man and it'd look like he'd made an arse of it.

It's a shame but I can't see it changing any time soon, I'd hoped we'd see the benefit of his loan spells but from what I saw in pre season I'd be surprised if there was much improvement from him.

Best all round if he moves on to a club with less pressure IMO.

23-08-2016, 08:10 PM

He goes for the touch line and he's exposed and needs to do something himself, cuts inside and he's got the safety net of being able to lay it off to someone. Same with the crosses, he can float balls in and if nothing comes of it then so be it, if he tries a lower fizzed ball in there's more chance of it not beating the first man and it'd look like he'd made an arse of it.

It's a shame but I can't see it changing any time soon, I'd hoped we'd see the benefit of his loan spells but from what I saw in pre season I'd be surprised if there was much improvement from him.

They just need to tell him to go for it and take a risk.

For me it's a typical Scottish academy player - the X factor and risk of a wide player has been taken out of him.

2nd half he had some great runs - first half he was in and out of the game.

Regarding Fyvie he strolled it and I can't wait till he's back in the first team.

23-08-2016, 08:44 PM

For me it's a typical Scottish academy player - the X factor and risk of a wide player has been taken out of him.

Regarding Fyvie he strolled it and I can't wait till he's back in the first team.

What's the risk. He has a full back behind him. Drive at the opposing player 1v1 and deliver.

23-08-2016, 08:47 PM
What's the risk. He has a full back behind him. Drive at the opposing player 1v1 and deliver.

Risk of losing possession. Too many coaches shout pass pass pass etc.

I would like him to just drive with the ball and beat a player.

Anyone hear a rumour that the new indoor pitch isn't high enough for FIFA standards and they can't host indoor international youth games there ? Wasn't sure if this is true or not..anyone confirm?

23-08-2016, 08:53 PM

You've summed him up for me. Shame really because there's raw talent there. I always think of the 2-1 game at PBS when he ripped them a new one.

Finn2015
23-08-2016, 08:58 PM

Fyvie is much underrated. Can't wait to see him back to

23-08-2016, 09:01 PM
Risk of losing possession. Too many coaches shout pass pass pass etc.

I would like him to just drive with the ball and beat a player.

Anyone hear a rumour that the new indoor pitch isn't high enough for FIFA standards and they can't host indoor international youth games there ? Wasn't sure if this is true or not..anyone confirm?

Lennon was just in front of me and made a point of praising everything Harris tried and was constantly screaming at him to get forward and take men on.

Harris was anonymous until Lennon showed up next to him but he did some decent things after that.

When you have to coax a performance out of a pretty experienced player now in an under 20 game it's not good.

I got the clear impression Lennon wants to make something of him.

He was also on Martin's case about keeping his discipline which I liked.

23-08-2016, 09:04 PM
Lennon was just in front of me and made a point of praising everything Harris tried and was constantly screaming at him to get forward and take men on.

Harris was anonymous until Lennon showed up next to him but he did some decent things after that.

When you have to coax a performance out of a pretty experienced player now in an under 20 game it's not good.

Good to hear, Andy. What's your view on Scott? I think there's a cracking player in there who can be developed with good coaching

23-08-2016, 09:05 PM

Lennon knows that pace out wide makes goal scoring easy in this league.He thinks we already have it if he can convince Harris to produce.

23-08-2016, 09:08 PM
Good to hear, Andy. What's your view on Scott? I think there's a cracking player in there who can be developed with good coaching

He could be a cracking player. Has that dig but also a quality passer.

He was having a wee moan at the ref today which left him slightly out of position and Lennon let him have it!

23-08-2016, 09:13 PM
He could be a cracking player. Has that dig but also a quality passer.

He was having a wee moan at the ref today which left him slightly out of position and Lennon let him have it!

He'll learn :greengrin

23-08-2016, 09:19 PM

He's 21, played 51 league games, 29 of which were substitute over a 4 year period so I'd challenge that he's pretty experienced.

23-08-2016, 09:21 PM
Lennon knows that pace out wide makes goal scoring easy in this league.He thinks we already have it if he can convince Harris to produce.Not just in this league , if Harris stays and gets a chance next season IF we go up would expect him to make a big impact next season too . Not just making goals ( high rate of assists with QOS after laying on goal for Scott Martin in cup game for us early last season ) but also scoring ( him and Stanton both scored more than our other midfielders when on loan last season ) .Hope Lennon gives Harris a chance anyway since I can`t see us signing a more talented player to replace him ( when he first went to Dundee we got Boyle who continues to be a useful sub but has never looked like he`ll become a regular starter in Championship let alone in higher division while for me Harris will either fizzle away for lack of ambition or reach a much higher level than we are in at present ).

23-08-2016, 09:21 PM

Like I said 2nd half Harris was direct, quick and at times unplayable. It was a positive 2nd half for me.

1st half maybe took a while to get into it and new surface etc may have been an issue. Lots of fast players slipping.

Anyway hopefully games will lead to more confidence. His assist stars were good last year.

Regarding Martin - for me we need to define what type of player he is..he isn't a holding midfielder - more of a box to box player with a bit of bite. He's not a 10 type player and I've not seen him score many goals so I think to get to the next level they need to try figure out a role which suits his skill set. I think he could be a great holding midfielder as gets about pitch well and often breaks play up.

24-08-2016, 12:11 PM
I'm not sure actually. My Hibby mate sent me this (the surrounding head shape is his), so maybe he knows this Gillies fellow. It came with some caption saying this is how he would look after 6 nights out on the vodka, patsies and a roll around with the Ladyboys of Bangkok.

What a classless, graceless post.

24-08-2016, 12:17 PM
Like I said 2nd half Harris was direct, quick and at times unplayable. It was a positive 2nd half for me.

1st half maybe took a while to get into it and new surface etc may have been an issue. Lots of fast players slipping.

Anyway hopefully games will lead to more confidence. His assist stars were good last year.

Regarding Martin - for me we need to define what type of player he is..he isn't a holding midfielder - more of a box to box player with a bit of bite. He's not a 10 type player and I've not seen him score many goals so I think to get to the next level they need to try figure out a role which suits his skill set. I think he could be a great holding midfielder as gets about pitch well and often breaks play up.

Who were the Celtic managers who oversaw the transition of the Hibs Scott Brown into the Celtic one, i.e. a bustling box to box type into a sitting one? I'm sure Neil Lennon will have been part of this.

Maybe Lennon's still working out how best to use Scott Martin? For me he's as close to Scott Brown as we've seen - I'd be looking to get 90 minutes of non-stop energy out of him, wind him up before the game and set him loose. I don't think he's a holding/ sitting midfielder by any stretch of the imagination, although he might be when his legs go.

Theinsider
24-08-2016, 12:36 PM
Who were the Celtic managers who oversaw the transition of the Hibs Scott Brown into the Celtic one, i.e. a bustling box to box type into a sitting one? I'm sure Neil Lennon will have been part of this.

Maybe Lennon's still working out how best to use Scott Martin? For me he's as close to Scott Brown as we've seen - I'd be looking to get 90 minutes of non-stop energy out of him, wind him up before the game and set him loose. I don't think he's a holding/ sitting midfielder by any stretch of the imagination, although he might be when his legs go.

Regarding the Scott Brown comparison. That's exactly what I thought of the lad when I first seen him v Wigan at la manga. I think he could be a very good player for us. Needs to keep working hard a force his way into a very good midfield as it stands at present.

24-08-2016, 12:42 PM

Is that at Heriot Watt? And can anyone get in to watch or are they closed doors game?

Edit: never mind just seen earlier posts. I'm going there for a year so ideal to take a few games in!

24-08-2016, 01:09 PM
Is that at Heriot Watt? And can anyone get in to watch or are they closed doors game?

Edit: never mind just seen earlier posts. I'm going there for a year so ideal to take a few games in!

Think you will also be able to use the facilties in Oriam, it's huge! Also the public can join the gym there

24-08-2016, 01:14 PM
Think you will also be able to use the facilties in Oriam, it's huge! Also the public can join the gym there

Perfect I'll look into it, cheers!

AND An E
24-08-2016, 05:14 PM
What a classless, graceless post. I've been reading this forum for a while, and I know the kind of tripe you like to spew on here. Please leave me out of it, thank you.

24-08-2016, 05:58 PM

They did the same with Riccarton for many years, claiming it was 'theirs'. As no-one (specially the media) questioned it, their lie was so successful they even used it in negotiations with some foreign-players as OWNING purpose-built training-facilities can give the impression your club's a 'Big team', serious about football.

Their lie was so successful that they didn't even pay the rent for it - Vlad, being a newcomer, also believed they owned it .............

24-08-2016, 06:57 PM
We should start claiming it as ours now too.
2 training centres eh