View Full Version : Irn Bru Cup - Turriff v Hibs

13-08-2016, 05:31 PM
Can someone tell me the dates of round 3 please? Sure thats the round we enter.

13-08-2016, 05:38 PM
Can someone tell me the dates of round 3 please? Sure thats the round we enter.

3rd and 4th September I think. Weekend games

13-08-2016, 07:34 PM
Is it a free for all draw? or is there a seeding? Is this also when the teams from Wales/NI are introduced?

I'm not sure how I feel about the IB cup, I was quite keen to try and make a go of it this season and the Welsh/NI teams seemed like an interesting addition. However the U20 teams from the Premiership has totally stumped me. :confused: Absolutely terrible decision which detracts any interest in the tournament while also being a complete smack in the face to teams who compete in it - I'm sure many Raith fans would deem winning it a couple of years ago (admittedly v. Rangers - always fun) as a high point of the last few years for them, now it's being made a mockery of. IMO

13-08-2016, 07:37 PM
Is it a free for all draw? or is there a seeding? Is this also when the teams from Wales/NI are introduced?

I'm not sure how I feel about the IB cup, I was quite keen to try and make a go of it this season and the Welsh/NI teams seemed like an interesting addition. However the U20 teams from the Premiership has totally stumped me. :confused: Absolutely terrible decision which detracts any interest in the tournament while also being a complete smack in the face to teams who compete in it - I'm sure many Raith fans would deem winning it a couple of years ago (admittedly v. Rangers - always fun) as a high point of the last few years for them, now it's being made a mockery of. IMO

The Welsh and Northern Irish teams don't enter until the 4th round.

13-08-2016, 07:41 PM

14-08-2016, 12:11 AM

Hopefully a trip to either of these places.

14-08-2016, 12:17 AM
When is the draw?

14-08-2016, 12:33 AM

Letting in u20 teams is just their way of easing in the old firm B teams into the lower league. Well that's my take on it. Takes away the point of the cup in the first place! Lower league teams only. Can't wait for next year when we don't have to play in it.

15-08-2016, 04:27 PM
The ties are this week, so would expect the draw towards the end of this week. Have Hibs made any indication if they are playing their development team or not?

16-08-2016, 12:00 PM
The ties are this week, so would expect the draw towards the end of this week. Have Hibs made any indication if they are playing their development team or not?

It should be a no brainer. It was a joke of a competition before and now with the u20 sides its a farce. The sooner we are out of it the better IMO.

16-08-2016, 12:03 PM
I think Lennon will play a development team , or atleast leave out our main guys like Dylan , McGinn , Cummings ect. His remit is to be promoted and wont want any distractions.

16-08-2016, 12:07 PM
No. Just no.

16-08-2016, 12:49 PM
I think Lennon will play a development team , or atleast leave out our main guys like Dylan , McGinn , Cummings ect. His remit is to be promoted and wont want any distractions.

McGinn and Cummings could be away with the Scotland national team or the under 21's, if their eligible

16-08-2016, 01:08 PM
It should be a no brainer. It was a joke of a competition before and now with the u20 sides its a farce. The sooner we are out of it the better IMO.

I don't think it was a joke competition IMO - it was a vary serious competition for teams that were outwith the top flight of Scotland and would have been one I'd liked to have seen us win. However, the addition of U20 teams makes it a joke - can't understand who would ever agree to such a ridiculous idea.

I'd like to see us play a reasonable team if we're drawn against a normal team (maybe without a couple of key guys so long as it's still a team likely to win), but if we get drawn against one of the U20 teams I'd hope that we'd likewise play an U20 team.

16-08-2016, 01:23 PM
I don't think it was a joke competition IMO - it was a vary serious competition for teams that were outwith the top flight of Scotland and would have been one I'd liked to have seen us win. However, the addition of U20 teams makes it a joke - can't understand who would ever agree to such a ridiculous idea.

I'd like to see us play a reasonable team if we're drawn against a normal team (maybe without a couple of key guys so long as it's still a team likely to win), but if we get drawn against one of the U20 teams I'd hope that we'd likewise play an U20 team.

Hopefully we draw Hearts colts or whatever their called and play our u20's.

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 01:26 PM
3rd and 4th September I think. Weekend games

Hopefully a home tie that I suppose I will go to. The wife will understand 😂

16-08-2016, 01:42 PM
Having a look at the SPFL web site, it seems the U20 premier teams are no longer called this. They are all listed as Colts?!? First they want to be like the English with the league set up, now they're going for an American term for U20 teams. I have to admit when I seen Heart Colts, I read it all wrong and thought a Hibee had hacked the SPFL web site :wink:

16-08-2016, 01:56 PM

Only in Scotland can teams from other countries come into a cup at a later stage than there own teams.

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 02:12 PM
Only in Scotland can teams from other countries come into a cup at a later stage than there own teams.

True

16-08-2016, 02:19 PM
To treat this joke in a serious manner would be a massive error of judgement, and one which I don't see Lennon making. As a first team endeavour all this mess can offer Hibs is potential distraction, injuries and embarrassment.

We should play a reserve/youth side and aim to win it with that.

Otherwise ignore. I certainly wouldn't dream of wasting my money on a single fixture.

16-08-2016, 02:38 PM
Having a look at the SPFL web site, it seems the U20 premier teams are no longer called this. They are all listed as Colts?!? First they want to be like the English with the league set up, now they're going for an American term for U20 teams. I have to admit when I seen Heart Colts, I read it all wrong and thought a Hibee had hacked the SPFL web site :wink:
Colts is used at youth level over here.

Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk

16-08-2016, 02:42 PM
Play our colts or let the hibs.net team enter. I don't want our first team entertaining this in any way whatsoever as too much is at stake.

Leith_Hibee
16-08-2016, 02:56 PM
The teams from Ireland and Wales also bring a couple of additional TV deals.
The 20's addition is supposed to help player development playing against senior opposition and in a competitive environment.
It's still a good competition for lower league teams and the Tournie will pay travel costs for teams drawn in Ireland and Wales.
It's good to see them trying to be innovative.

16-08-2016, 03:01 PM
If Hibs get drawn against an U20 team we better send out our strongest team or it could be embarassing.

16-08-2016, 03:09 PM
Colts is used at youth level over here.

tbh I was just using to make the joke about the yams U20 being colts, it never worked, would have it they were cults or conts :greengrin a two letter jump was just too much :wink:

16-08-2016, 03:13 PM
If Hibs get drawn against an U20 team we better send out our strongest team or it could be embarassing.

Totally disagree. Sending out a strong team against an u20 side would be embarrassing.

We can't have this getting in the way.

16-08-2016, 03:14 PM
Totally disagree. Sending out a strong team against an u20 side would be embarrassing.

We can't have this getting in the way.
It will be a tough call either way!

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 03:27 PM
Don't think it will be a tough call, all fans would understand if we decided throw out youngsters in for this competition surely

16-08-2016, 04:46 PM
I quite fancy a wee trip to Wales or N.Ireland so wouldn't mind us putting out a full strength team to be fair.

If we were drawn against rangers, Celtic or hearts U21s, what's the chances of them playing first team players in their team or are they not allowed to do that?

Nailsea Hibby
16-08-2016, 05:26 PM

Anybody know what Welsh teams are in it ?

16-08-2016, 06:08 PM
It's something a bit different, shades of the Texaco and Anglo-Scottish Cup for those of us old enough to remember.

I imagine that if it was just a boring knockout for the teams below the top flight, we would be moaning about why we couldn't be more imaginative and involve top-flight dev teams, Lowland and Highland League and god forbid, Welsh and NI teams.

I think the SPFL deserve credit on this one, it's something a bit more interesting and engaging than what's went before.

16-08-2016, 06:31 PM
Anybody know what Welsh teams are in it ?
The New Saints are a definite. Think Bala Town are the other one. Both would suit me fine.

16-08-2016, 07:53 PM
All bar one of the U20 Premier teams getting beaten, only Partick winning.

16-08-2016, 08:12 PM
Latest Scores

Partick Thistle U20 1 0 Queen's Park

Aberdeen U20 0 2 Forfar Athletic

Albion Rovers 2 0 Hamilton Academical U20

Brechin City 3 1 Cove Rangers

Cowdenbeath 1 1 Celtic U20

Elgin City 2 0 Heart of Midlothian U20

Motherwell U20 1 2 Airdrieonians

Peterhead 0 2 Brora

Stranraer 6 0 Spartans

16-08-2016, 08:14 PM
Celtic score.

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 08:17 PM
All bar one of the U20 Premier teams getting beaten, only Partick winning.

Celtic u20 now 2-1 up

16-08-2016, 08:21 PM
Cowdenbeath boy just gave the Celtic fans a GIRUY as he was going off (getting subbed). Got a red card after he left the park.

That Gary Glen came onto replace him but had to go back off as the GIRUY occurred while he was still on the pitch hence they are down to 10 men! :greengrin

16-08-2016, 08:33 PM
Looks like Hertz are heading oot another tournament😄

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 08:36 PM
Motherwell and Hamilton u20's out. Hertz and Aberdeen about to join them

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 08:43 PM
By my reckoning after looking at tonight and the previous round, 9 of the u20 sides are out and Patrick thistle are 1-1 after 90 mins tonight to

16-08-2016, 08:52 PM
I watched the Celtic game tonight - I expected more from them.

16-08-2016, 08:56 PM
Put a coupon on for all the senior teams (bar Celtic) to beat the U20 sides, Queens Park cost me 650 *angry smiley*

Done a 7 fold with same 5 plus Peterhead and Stranraer. Queens Park done me for 900 *even angrier smiley*

Finn2015
16-08-2016, 09:16 PM
Patrick thistle u20 lost on penalties to Queen's Park. Think the only u20 sides left are the old firm ones

16-08-2016, 09:16 PM
queens park beat the maryhill magyars on penalties in the non-sectarian glesca derby

16-08-2016, 09:32 PM
queens park beat the maryhill magyars on penalties in the non-sectarian glesca derby

So we might get a trip to Hampden in the next round

16-08-2016, 09:49 PM
When's the draw for the next round? The Sevco Colts at Ibrox for us? 😎

16-08-2016, 09:52 PM
When's the draw for the next round? The Sevco Colts at Ibrox for us? 😎

That would be an interesting test of how well Sevco can protect fans when given complete control of the security arrangements.

16-08-2016, 09:58 PM
Looks like Hertz are heading oot another tournament😄

I wouldn't lay into the Jambos that much. They've made it perfectly clear that they're focussing all their efforts on the League Cup this year.

16-08-2016, 11:18 PM
So we might get a trip to Hampden in the next round

would need to be a neutral venue, the hampden pitch still has rivers of blood to clean up and big patches of turf to get relaid :(

p.s. oh aye, and a new crossbar

17-08-2016, 02:03 AM
My home town team putting the maroon balloons out on their erchies.........:aok:

17-08-2016, 07:11 PM
Latest scores in this tonight.

Arbroath 0 East Fife 0
21 mins
Turriff United 0 Montrose 0
21 mins
Rangers U20 0 Stenhousemuir 2 :greengrin
40 mins

17-08-2016, 07:53 PM
All 11 Sevco young offenders are currently being attacked by the entire Stenhousemuir team and have had a 3-1 score line inflicted upon them. Still 20 minutes to go. Ambulances are preparing to ferry the injured casualties to hospital

17-08-2016, 08:27 PM
Draw tomorrow at 1pm for those interested.

17-08-2016, 08:27 PM
Draw tomorrow at 1pm for those interested.

We in this round?

17-08-2016, 08:39 PM
[QUOTE=3pm;4795101]We in this round?[/QUOTE

Think so. Games are on weekend of 2/3 Sept.

Finn2015
17-08-2016, 10:16 PM
So apart from Celtic, all u20 sides out!

17-08-2016, 10:28 PM
We in this round?

We are indeed.

Unsure if it's regionalised or not.

17-08-2016, 10:29 PM
Can we draw Linfield in the next round? Them away would be fun.

17-08-2016, 10:31 PM

The Welsh and Northern Irish teams enter at the fourth round stage.

Tomorrow's draw is for the third round.

17-08-2016, 10:34 PM
The Welsh and Northern Irish teams enter at the fourth round stage.

Tomorrow's draw is for the third round.
Cheers.

1875STEVE
17-08-2016, 10:34 PM
think letting the welsh and irish in and letting the "colts" in is a good idea.

Folk moan about Scotland never qualifying for tournaments, this gives young players in the colt teams much needed game time, even if it is against the likes of elgin, Montrose or Cowdenbeath.

The worst thing they ever did was scrap the reserve league, it gives these laddies experience against old heads, and the possible experience of playing in a different country.

I think its a cracking idea, and when we go up, I hope our colts at in it.

As for this season, id play a team made up of colts and fringe players.

17-08-2016, 10:44 PM
Stenny away please.

Finn2015
17-08-2016, 10:47 PM
I agree it is a good concept the only thing I'm slightly miffed about is how the Irish and Welsh sides join at later rounds. Agree with the point about the Colt sides though, in the long term could help bring quite a few youngsters on

17-08-2016, 10:57 PM
Play a team similar to the one that beat Birmingham City in this competition.

18-08-2016, 07:52 AM

Realise we can't draw them but Linfield are playing their Scottish brothers on 3rd Sep anyway

18-08-2016, 07:56 AM
Hearts colts got fired out by elgin i see

18-08-2016, 07:58 AM
Realise we can't draw them but Linfield are playing their Scottish brothers on 3rd Sep anyway
I'm sure that will be a celebration of diversity, tolerance and inclusiveness.

ElginHibbie
18-08-2016, 07:59 AM
Watched Elgin put out the Gorgie Youth with ease so hoping for a Elgin vs Hibs draw :pray:

Finn2015
18-08-2016, 08:08 AM
I'm sure that will be a celebration of diversity, tolerance and inclusiveness.

lugz
18-08-2016, 09:53 AM
So we play one of: Peterhead, Brechin, Forfar, East Fife, Elgin or Turriff United.

Finn2015
18-08-2016, 10:16 AM
So we play one of: Peterhead, Brechin, Forfar, East Fife, Elgin or Turriff United.

I'd love Turriff at ER. Would consider a train up for it

18-08-2016, 10:26 AM

Not sure about that. It looks like the pots are regionalised - so the teams in each pot will be drawn against the other teams in the same pot.

If that is right, Hibs will play Dundee United, Falkirk, Raith Rovers, Alloa Athletic or Dunfermline Athletic :wink:

18-08-2016, 10:29 AM
Not sure about that. It looks like the pots are regionalised - so the teams in each pot will be drawn against the other teams in the same pot.

If that is right, Hibs will play Dundee United, Falkirk, Raith Rovers, Alloa Athletic or Dunfermline Athletic :wink:

Hibs have tweeted they will play one of the Norther sides in Pot B....Shambles from SFA if true, regional is not the case if so

18-08-2016, 10:30 AM
Wonder if we'll cancel it if we get 3 players called up?

18-08-2016, 10:32 AM
Could be the same day as Lewis's testimonial dinner?

That could work out pretty crap depending on the draw as I would most of the players and management are likely to attend?

18-08-2016, 10:34 AM
Hibs have tweeted they will play one of the Norther sides in Pot B....Shambles from SFA if true, regional is not the case if so

That's unbelievable.
So, apart from possibly drawing East Fife, all away teams will travel zillions of miles - Lossiemouth, anyone??? :confused:

18-08-2016, 10:36 AM
That's unbelievable.
So, apart from possibly drawing East Fife, all away teams will travel zillions of miles - Lossiemouth, anyone??? :confused:

Don't understand this at all. With the Colt sides playing, and Irish/Welsh teams entering at next round, this really is a shambles of a tournament. Only in Scotland:rolleyes::rolleyes:

18-08-2016, 10:39 AM

Hibs are in Pot A with the likes of Dundee U, Falkirk and Raith. The teams in Pot A will each be drawn against one of the teams in Pot B is my understanding.

18-08-2016, 10:39 AM
Don't understand this at all. With the Colt sides playing, and Irish/Welsh teams entering at next round, this really is a shambles of a tournament. Only in Scotland:rolleyes::rolleyes:

agreed - its rubbish - we should put our U20s in it ..no real interest in it.

18-08-2016, 10:40 AM
The Irn Bru Cup... 😂 I'd play the under 14's in this embarrassing competition.

18-08-2016, 10:42 AM
The Irn Bru Cup... 😂 I'd play the under 14's in this embarrassing competition.

Next thing with this mickey mouse cup, is the Winners will be presented the trophy by Oor Wullie.....

Rugy07
18-08-2016, 10:48 AM
That's unbelievable.

It looks like it is regionalised, but Hibs are deemed to be north as there is an uneven number of teams from north and south. I'd have thought Dumbarton would be more northern than Hibs, but most northern teams are east coast so Edinburgh is probably quicker and easier to travel to and from. I actually think it's fair enough.

18-08-2016, 10:55 AM
It looks like it is regionalised, but Hibs are deemed to be north as there is an uneven number of teams from north and south. I'd have thought Dumbarton would be more northern than Hibs, but most northern teams are east coast so Edinburgh is probably quicker and easier to travel to and from. I actually think it's fair enough.

If it was regionalised we should be facing teams from within our region, we aren't so can't understand the logic....It's downright stupid. If it is not regionalised it should just be an open draw

Rugy07
18-08-2016, 10:57 AM
If it was regionalised we should be facing teams from within our region, we aren't so can't understand the logic....It's downright stupid. If it is not regionalised it should just be an open draw

We are, we're in the north region!

18-08-2016, 11:04 AM
We are, we're in the north region!

Thanks for clarifying:rolleyes:

18-08-2016, 11:36 AM
Hearts under 20s were also in north section last round.

18-08-2016, 11:49 AM
Crazy that a team who play 50 miles from the English border are considered to be northern!

18-08-2016, 12:02 PM
Draw delayed due to issue with the balls. Will commence at 1:15

Finn2015
18-08-2016, 12:04 PM

12 more minutes of additional gut wrenching tension.

Only the Irn-bru cup ☺️

18-08-2016, 12:14 PM
The microwave to heat the balls is malfunctioning!

BonnieFitbaTeam
18-08-2016, 12:17 PM
Is the draw being broadcast somewhere ?

calmacuk
18-08-2016, 12:18 PM
Is the draw being broadcast somewhere ?

Should be a link posted on their Twitter page: https://twitter.com/irnbrufootball

18-08-2016, 12:19 PM
3rd Round Draw

Periscope feed

https://www.periscope.tv/irnbrufootball/1rmGPDyANwZGN?

18-08-2016, 12:21 PM
Away to Turriff

18-08-2016, 12:22 PM
Terrible feed, my iphone could be better

Alloa vs East Fife
Brechin vs Dunfermline
Dundee Utd vs Peterhead
Turiff Utd vs Hibernian

I'd love Turriff at ER. Would consider a train up for it

Turriff away it is

Falkirk vs Elgin City
Forfar vs Raith

North section complete

18-08-2016, 12:24 PM
South
QoS vs Stenny
Stranraer vs Dumbarton
Livvy vs Celtic Colts
Albion R vs St Midden
Ayr U vs Airdrie
Queens Park vs Morton

18-08-2016, 12:25 PM
Turriff away it is

Wonder if Lewis Stevenson will get back in time for his testimonial dinner at 6pm.:greengrin

Baw187
18-08-2016, 12:26 PM
Where's Turriff??

18-08-2016, 12:27 PM
Where's Turriff??

Near Elgin.

18-08-2016, 12:27 PM
Where's Turriff??

Way north of Aberdeen

3 and a half hour drive from Easter Road

Baw187
18-08-2016, 12:28 PM
Near Elgin.

I gotcha. [emoji1303]Been to Elgin a few times.

18-08-2016, 12:29 PM
It's miles away, near the top of Country, either drive to Inverness or Peterhead and cut across

18-08-2016, 12:30 PM
It's miles away, near the top of Country, either drive to Inverness or Peterhead and cut across

What does their ground hold

Finn2015
18-08-2016, 12:31 PM
Ach well bang goes the dream of going up that weekend. To far north

18-08-2016, 12:31 PM
Wonder if Lewis Stevenson will get back in time for his testimonial dinner at 6pm.:greengrin

Can't see us sending first team up there?

calmacuk
18-08-2016, 12:32 PM

Wikipedia says 2135 (135 seated).

Their record attendance is apparently only 824.

18-08-2016, 12:32 PM

18-08-2016, 12:34 PM

just over 2,000

18-08-2016, 12:35 PM
"Hibs got Turriff."

"Yes, I got a bit. I replanted it in the back garden and I've got a bit of the net as well."

18-08-2016, 12:37 PM

Running a bus S?

18-08-2016, 12:38 PM
Can't see us sending first team up there?

Wouldn't have thought so, they've all bought tickets to the dinner.

I don't think they realised there was a game on that Saturday, thought it was a free week.

Danny_Hibee
18-08-2016, 12:38 PM

You don't need to go quite as far as Peterhead, you can head out past Aberdeen airport and it is about 35/40 minutes from there. Still not exactly ideal though.

18-08-2016, 12:39 PM
You don't need to go quite as far as Peterhead, you can head out past Aberdeen airport and it is about 35/40 minutes from there. Still not exactly ideal though.

Thanks Danny:aok:

18-08-2016, 12:40 PM

I don't think they realised there was a game on that Saturday, thought it was a free week.

18-08-2016, 12:40 PM
Running a bus S?

Would for first team, but won't if under 20's

BonnieFitbaTeam
18-08-2016, 12:41 PM

Indeed, nowhere near Elgin. And if you go via Inverness it's a bloody long way round :wink:

Tollhouse Hibee
18-08-2016, 12:43 PM
Near Elgin.

north of Aberdeen, nowhere near elgin

18-08-2016, 12:45 PM
Once played for East Lothian at Turriff in the Scottish Indoor Bowling League.

Stopped at Aberdeen for food then onto Turriff.

Was quite a quiet game until the Turriff Utd game finished, their fans piled into the bowls stadium and turned it into bedlam.

Nutters.

18-08-2016, 12:49 PM

Yep through Newmachar and Oldmeldrum would be the road if going via Dyce.

18-08-2016, 12:50 PM
Sounds like a good day out 🍻

BonnieFitbaTeam
18-08-2016, 12:51 PM
Yep through Newmachar and Oldmeldrum would be the road if going via Dyce.

Yup, and Fyvie !

Zondervan
18-08-2016, 12:55 PM
On the road to Banff, where Hibs played a couple of pre-season games 1992.

18-08-2016, 01:02 PM

That's a fair baws up.

I would imagine Hibs won't go fully with a youth team and it fairly puts a spanner in the works for the dinner.

18-08-2016, 01:04 PM
That's a fair baws up.

I would imagine Hibs won't go fully with a youth team and it fairly puts a spanner in the works for the dinner.

18-08-2016, 01:06 PM
That's a fair baws up.

:agree: it's their job, it's a first team fixture. A night out shouldn't interrupt.

I assume this game is included in the away ST as well?

18-08-2016, 01:08 PM
Do they have a mob?

Any good Irish pubs?

18-08-2016, 01:09 PM
Do they have a mob?

Any good Irish pubs?

They have a horse. Just one.

18-08-2016, 01:14 PM
That's a fair baws up.

Could maybe make it a lunchtime kick off.

18-08-2016, 01:16 PM
Could maybe make it a lunchtime kick off.

Friday night on Alba :wink:

18-08-2016, 01:16 PM
Might be shifted to the Sunday?

18-08-2016, 01:18 PM
It's also an International weekend, we may have players called up to various squads

18-08-2016, 01:19 PM
:agree: it's their job, it's a first team fixture. A night out shouldn't interrupt.

I assume this game is included in the away ST as well?

Yes

18-08-2016, 01:20 PM
It's also an International weekend, we may have players called up to various squads

And with us being out the league cup, although this is our lowest priority, we'll want to give this a good go

18-08-2016, 01:22 PM
That's a fair baws up.

That is what I was told Andy, they may try to change the game with Turriff.

I don't think they could change the testimonial dinner as everything is in place.

A home draw wouldn't have been ideal but they could probably have got up for near enough 6pm, an earlier ko and they would have made it no problem.

Turriff with a 3pm ko and I don't think they would get back much before 9pm.

I agree that Hibs won't send an out and out youth team.

18-08-2016, 01:34 PM
http://turriffunited.co.uk/

https://www.google.co.uk/maps/@57.5404832,-2.4927735,9z

18-08-2016, 01:36 PM
I fancy going to this as long it's not a stupid KO time. Never been to Turriff but did go to Forres Mechanics when we played them pre season in the 1980's. Crazy to think it's quicker to get to Brondby than Turriff

18-08-2016, 01:37 PM
Is there an option to swap this to Easter Road? I'm sure Turiff wouldn't mind the revenue :greengrin

18-08-2016, 01:37 PM
I fancy going to this as long it's not a stupid KO time. Never been to Turriff but did go to Forres Mechanics when we played them pre season in the 1980's. Crazy to think it's quicker to get to Brondby than Turriff

Not if you went with BA it wasn't, took us a day to get to Copenhagen

18-08-2016, 01:40 PM
Great part of the country, hope it doesn't clash with the Scotland game.

EDIT - Scotland game is 7:45 on Sunday night so highly unlikely that it will.

18-08-2016, 01:42 PM
OK. Bit of a daft competition. But for me this is part of the attraction that our league set up can offer. Good days out with pals at all sorts of cities, towns, villages. Take a good crowd up...help sustain Turriff for a few more months or more. Exactly the opposite of the Champions League but where 99% of football actually sits.

Probably more interesting than a game in Perth, Kilmarnock, Inverness, Glasgow etc.

18-08-2016, 02:09 PM
Send the reserves up and give a couple if the hibs office workers a game.

18-08-2016, 02:12 PM
OK. Bit of a daft competition. But for me this is part of the attraction that our league set up can offer. Good days out with pals at all sorts of cities, towns, villages. Take a good crowd up...help sustain Turriff for a few more months or more. Exactly the opposite of the Champions League but where 99% of football actually sits.

Probably more interesting than a game in Perth, Kilmarnock, Inverness, Glasgow etc.

This👍

18-08-2016, 02:22 PM

Totally agree

18-08-2016, 03:12 PM

Well said.

18-08-2016, 04:00 PM
Gutted to me missing this due to Stevensons testimonial dinner.

18-08-2016, 04:11 PM
1pm kick off would solve the problem for the players making Lewis' dinner.

Not sure about the fans though.

18-08-2016, 04:21 PM
1pm kick off would solve the problem for the players making Lewis' dinner.

Not sure about the fans though.

Could go to extra time and penalties

18-08-2016, 04:24 PM
[QUOTE=Dashing Bob S;4795689]Do they have a mob?/QUOTE]

Compared to the falkirk mob They are pretty hardcore.....i going tooled up with my best dancing shoes and shiny sequenced jacket...they won't know what's hit them

18-08-2016, 04:33 PM
Could go to extra time and penalties

True but I'd be willing to take the chance!

18-08-2016, 04:48 PM
They have a horse. Just one.

No, it's the Turriff Coo you should be looking for.

18-08-2016, 05:31 PM
It's a Turriffic draw for Hibs!

18-08-2016, 05:42 PM
So is there going to be scramble for tickets for this game like the planned scramble for Dumbarton?

18-08-2016, 06:00 PM
So is there going to be scramble for tickets for this game like the planned scramble for Dumbarton?

Why do these things bother you so much G? You'll get one so why worry about what others get up to?

18-08-2016, 06:07 PM

No but anyone who entered the away ticket scheme and for whatever reason can't make the game will have their account debited for the cost of the ticket. Turriff Utd won't be complaining though.

jingler1954
18-08-2016, 06:13 PM
I'd play the same team who played Birmingham GGTTH
and look forward to a trip to our Celic cousins.