View Full Version : Ft Hibs 1 v 3 QotS

09-08-2016, 05:27 PM
So after Saturdays success I'm going again with the match thread.

Team news? Changes expected?

Iceman1875
09-08-2016, 05:30 PM
Just seen Fyvie and McGeouch in Nandos they are definetly out! [emoji23]

At Easter Road we play...

09-08-2016, 05:31 PM

My first game in 4 years, think it was the vaz team derby with maybury's brutal back pass. Very excited.

Asked on another thread but can I take a brolly in? Beenter carrying my mates about all day and been warned that I have to return it!

09-08-2016, 05:33 PM
My first game in 4 years, think it was the vaz team derby with maybury's brutal back pass. Very excited.

Asked on another thread but can I take a brolly in? Beenter carrying my mates about all day and been warned that I have to return it!

Think you may be getting your Derby confused there mate!

09-08-2016, 05:35 PM
Good chance. I'may sure it was Maybury's back pass, was vaz te the end of season before?

09-08-2016, 05:35 PM

You should be ok with a brolly. Just get one of those £3 Dunlop ones from st James centre sports direct and dump it at the turnstiles if they are jobsworths.

09-08-2016, 05:37 PM

Stay on till yer beat.

09-08-2016, 05:38 PM
Just seen Fyvie and McGeouch in Nandos they are definetly out! [emoji23]

At Easter Road we play...

wouldn't expect them back any time soon.additional midfielder required.

09-08-2016, 05:38 PM
Borrowed a mates to go to an interview today. Should probably return it.

Thanks. GGTTH

09-08-2016, 05:39 PM
You should be ok with a brolly. Just get one of those £3 Dunlop ones from st James centre sports direct and dump it at the turnstiles if they are jobsworths.

Everything shut at St James now apart from John Lewis

09-08-2016, 05:44 PM
Everything shut at St James now apart from John Lewis

Ach, the place was a dump anyway.

09-08-2016, 05:47 PM
Borrowed a mates to go to an interview today.

The Fred Astaire role in a Singing In The Rain remake?

Gordy M
09-08-2016, 05:51 PM
wouldn't expect them back any time soon.additional midfielder required.

Think fyvie was quoted as hoping to be back for game against dunfy.

09-08-2016, 05:57 PM
Sitting in a bar in deepest Consett. Pouring with rain.
Might get pissed and start a song.

We've got McGinn

Mon the Hibees

Callum7
09-08-2016, 05:59 PM
Hibs starting XI: Laidlaw, Gray, McGregor, Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, McGinn, Bartley, Keatings, Holt, Cummings.

Callum7
Substitutes: Virtanen, Stanton, Harris, Boyle, Martin, Carmichael, Forster. #BetfredCup (https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/BetfredCup?src=hash)

Radio Scotland not broadcasting online radio feeds due to rights issues, anyone know how to get around this rather than me having to sit in the car. I'm no longer living in Edinburgh so can't attend.

ShinyFantastic
Full strength team. Very happy with that. Not picking 11 jakeys off the street like some on here wanted....

09-08-2016, 06:01 PM
Full strength team taking into account injuries. Delighted we are going to try to win the lot this year

09-08-2016, 06:02 PM
Radio Scotland not broadcasting online radio feeds due to rights issues, anyone know how to get around this rather than me having to sit in the car. I'm no longer living in Edinburgh so can't attend.

Where are you? Sky/virgin should have BBC Scotland. Online you would need to have make yourself have a UK ip address

Or sign up to hibs tv. If your abroad you can also get stream of game

007 Mickey Weir
09-08-2016, 06:11 PM
So 3-5-2 attacking, 5-3-2 defending.

09-08-2016, 06:12 PM
Where are you? Sky/virgin should have BBC Scotland. Online you would need to have make yourself have a UK ip address

Or sign up to hibs tv. If your abroad you can also get stream of game

Cheers mate, all sorted now.

I actually considered Hibs TV during the week but there always seems to be negative comments on here re the quality etc. I'll watch how things develop over the coming weeks and consider subscribing.

hibbybrian
09-08-2016, 06:16 PM
Cheers mate, all sorted now.

I actually considered Hibs TV during the week but there always seems to be negative comments on here re the quality etc. I'll watch how things develop over the coming weeks and consider subscribing.

Whilst the quality of stream used to be problematic at times in the past, from last season the quality has been consistently good :thumbsup:

09-08-2016, 06:18 PM
So 3-5-2 attacking, 5-3-2 defending.

Are you thinking that this will be our preferred formation more often than not?

hibsitis
09-08-2016, 06:28 PM

Gene Kelly, if you don't mind :na na:

09-08-2016, 06:29 PM
Currently overseas, but for some reason it won't let me upgrade to overseas subscription , I still get uk only. If I can't get video I'll be gutted

PS I am actually overseas, not using VPN

007 Mickey Weir
09-08-2016, 06:29 PM
I think so. He likes width. It's also the one I would go with with our available players

scotiaf
09-08-2016, 06:32 PM
It shows looking at the bench, we need a striker or 2

09-08-2016, 06:34 PM

Gene Kelly not Fred Astaire methinks.

AL-Qaholik
09-08-2016, 06:40 PM
Strong starting XI but fairly threadbare bench.
We definitely need a couple more strikers and defenders.

09-08-2016, 06:41 PM
Full strength team. Very happy with that. Not picking 11 jakeys off the street like some on here wanted....

No wanting to give youngsters a chance to impress and stake a first team place I see.

Grow up.

Finn2015
09-08-2016, 06:48 PM
Cmon hibs we had scored after this time on Saturday

Standards slipping ☺️

09-08-2016, 06:48 PM
Substitutes: Virtanen, Stanton, Harris, Boyle, Martin, Carmichael, Forster. #BetfredCup (https://mobile.twitter.com/hashtag/BetfredCup?src=hash)

Not the strongest bench but would like to see Martin and Carmichael getting game time at some point during the game
Feel For Foster Not sure what he will have to do to ge a game

007 Mickey Weir
09-08-2016, 06:53 PM
Tom English has just made a joke about our attendance. Why do we always get slagged. I don't see any other club get slagged.

JimboHibs
09-08-2016, 06:54 PM
Not the strongest bench but would like to see Martin and Carmichael getting game time at some point during the game
Feel For Foster Not sure what he will have to do to ge a game

Tbf to the starting 11 it would be a bit harsh to drop any of them just to give Foster a game.

09-08-2016, 06:55 PM
Currently overseas, but for some reason it won't let me upgrade to overseas subscription , I still get uk only. If I can't get video I'll be gutted

PS I am actually overseas, not using VPN

Further edit, quick email to Hibs tv support and sorted. He is an Uber genius ! and I now have video , crystal clear too

HTD1875
09-08-2016, 07:00 PM
Alloa 1-0 Inverness
Dundee United 1-0 Partick
Hamilton 1-0 Morton

Tom English has just made a joke about our attendance. Why do we always get slagged. I don't see any other club get slagged.

It's what BBC do. It's almost policy. He'll be getting an early boot in, for, as the season progresses, they will find it more and more difficult to extract the Michael.

Salisbury Hibby
The man's a muppet. Best ignored.

Sent from my SM-A500FU using Tapatalk

09-08-2016, 07:01 PM

I do believe that a certain Gene Kelly starred in that particular role!

Tbf to the starting 11 it would be a bit harsh to drop any of them just to give Foster a game.

Didnt make my point very well Wasnt meaning someone should be dropped Was trying to highligjt how difficult it will be for him to get a game unless someone is injured So puld be frustrating Season for him

How has the game started?

09-08-2016, 07:03 PM

Hibs well on top without any real chances. 1 good free kick by Keatings.

Bit scrappy, Holt doing well.

Gray booked for his first challenge, poor from ref

Green Reaper

Ref blew his whistle and one player kicked the ball to another

With two men. One kicking the ball to the other in the centre circle.:agree:

Cat Stanton
09-08-2016, 07:04 PM

Think you may be being slightly over-sensitive...

09-08-2016, 07:04 PM

He is reading from a script.

09-08-2016, 07:05 PM
What is the estimated attenance Wouldnt of expected a big crowd tonight if we are heading for 18 , 000 on Saturday

09-08-2016, 07:06 PM
Ref fails to book QoS player (15 I think) for shoulder barging one of.our defenders at a header, more deserving of booking then David Gray's challenge

jst1875
09-08-2016, 07:06 PM
any radio coverage anywhere ?

09-08-2016, 07:08 PM
What is the estimated attenance Wouldnt of expected a big crowd tonight if we are heading for 18 , 000 on Saturday

Poorer than I would have hoped given it is still summer holidays and good prices, but suspect some may be saving for weekend

any radio coverage anywhere ?

http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/37009235

Radio player included in here. Open all mics.

1-0 Hanlon I think.

Hanlon with a tap in after a good free kick.

1 nil already, good start

HTD1875
09-08-2016, 07:09 PM
Good start, hopefully push on

jst1875
09-08-2016, 07:10 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/37009235

Radio player included in here. Open all mics.

got it ... cheers

Nice one!!

Hibs twitter says Holt scored?

09-08-2016, 07:11 PM
Twitter giving it to Usain Holt?

09-08-2016, 07:11 PM
Good start Lets do what Lennon wants and score more when on top and put the game to bed and then give some subs game time

09-08-2016, 07:12 PM
Holt with a bit of a sitter after good play by him, McGinn and Cummings. Tbf it did bounce up just in front of him but should have scored.

Holt misses a sitter

Good ball in by Cummings but Holt makes a bit of a meal of it and fails to score

09-08-2016, 07:13 PM
With two men. One kicking the ball to the other in the centre circle.:agree:

Thought rules had changed where only one man needs to kick the game off?

09-08-2016, 07:14 PM
Nearly 2

Tha Cabbage Kid
09-08-2016, 07:14 PM
holt ,misses a sitter! great ball in from the left from cummings

09-08-2016, 07:15 PM
Thought rules had changed where only one man needs to kick the game off?

They did change, took effect at Euro Champs

HTD1875
09-08-2016, 07:17 PM
Dundee United 3-0 Partick

Cammy Smith Hatrick inside 30 mins

Ardenttwo
09-08-2016, 07:18 PM
They did change, took effect at Euro Champs
Stokes scores

09-08-2016, 07:19 PM

Good start for them. Hope it doesn't give them too much confidence.

Tha Cabbage Kid
09-08-2016, 07:20 PM
wee mistake from the keeper that nearly cost us

09-08-2016, 07:20 PM

Really good player. Small, low centre of gravity, great touch, can run and dribble. Dangerous player.

09-08-2016, 07:23 PM
Ebbsfleet 1 up at Concord Rangers - cracking goal.

09-08-2016, 07:26 PM
Jamie Hammil having a total mare.

09-08-2016, 07:26 PM
Sitter from Fontaine.

We could be out of sight here.

Devonhibs
09-08-2016, 07:27 PM
Jamie Hammil having a total mare. Pleasing:thumbsup:

Finn2015
Wow Dundee United look on fire! Hope that's not the taste of things to come from them

Radio saying Holt playing well.

What are those of you at the game estimating the attendance at?

No wonder when we're booing his every touch. Poor show Hibs fans :stirrer:

Ebbsfleet 1 up at Concord Rangers - cracking goal.

Wrong thread 😜

09-08-2016, 07:28 PM

His failures are almost worth the price of admission alone. Almost.

Radio saying Holt playing well.

Very well. Set up a chance each for Keatings and Cumnings and should have scored hinself.

GlasgowHibee
How bad is Jamie Hamill? He's put on some amount of beef as well.

Reckon maybe 8000

Cracking Keatings free kick just over the bar.

Wow Dundee United look on fire! Hope that's not the taste of things to come from them

Two chances and two goals then a penalty for handball, I wouldn't worry, more often than not the related team defeat a team from their old league first time round.

Finn2015
09-08-2016, 07:29 PM
Reckon maybe 8000

Not bad

09-08-2016, 07:29 PM

Same as a lot of league games last year. 8000ish imo.

09-08-2016, 07:32 PM
HT

09-08-2016, 07:33 PM

What did he say? Absolute roasters on that show

HTD1875
09-08-2016, 07:35 PM
HT scores:

1-0 hibs

Alloa 1-0 ICT
Huns 2-0 Peterhead
Hamilton 1-0 Morton

09-08-2016, 07:36 PM
Still a better attendance % than any Olympic event I've seen!

Hibs playing the ball about well. Atmosphere is dead. Seagulls arriving early! Holt working v hard in tussles. Some great lay offs. Unlucky with his chance just didn't arrive in time I think- prob should have scored. A little tempo uppage would do it early doors 2nd half. Hammil has been utter mince in every sense.

Deano Mourinho
09-08-2016, 07:36 PM

Guys on Sportsound seem to be completely anti Hibs don't really understand why

007 Mickey Weir
09-08-2016, 07:37 PM

"Not being facetious but unless more fans get to Easter Road pretty quickly I'd fancy my chances of counting the attendance myself."
Tom English

09-08-2016, 07:38 PM
Really making this game hard work for ourselves!

Need to up the performance all round in the 2nd half.

09-08-2016, 07:40 PM
Jamie Hammil has been hilariously bad.

09-08-2016, 07:41 PM
Announcer says 10,800 STs sold for this season, great effort everyone.

Heedersnvolleys
Where is our half time warm up guy? Looks unprofessional the boys just kicking the ball about

greenlad
Reckon maybe 8000

Agree not bad at all when you usually get 5-6000 for the equivalent round most years. Let the Radio Scotland jokers laugh, bet we are the 2nd biggest crowd tonight by some distance.

And with 10,800 season tickets as just announced I would wager tonight's crowd may just be our LOWEST of the season.

Finn2015
09-08-2016, 07:42 PM
"Not being facetious but unless more fans get to Easter Road pretty quickly I'd fancy my chances of counting the attendance myself."
Tom English

Very droll. Prick

TAHibby
09-08-2016, 07:42 PM
Jamie Hammil has been hilariously bad.

Hammil entertainment value: 10

09-08-2016, 07:43 PM
Really making this game hard work for ourselves!

Need to up the performance all round in the 2nd half.

Unfortunate not to have scored a couple more tbf, Holt and Fontaine missed sitters

09-08-2016, 07:44 PM
Agree not bad at all when you usually get 5-6000 for the equivalent round most years. Let the Radio Scotland jokers laugh, bet we are the 2nd biggest crowd tonight by some distance.

And with 10,800 season tickets as just announced I would wager tonight's crowd may just be our LOWEST of the season.

Yup. Our lowest crowd of the season will most likely be tonight. Yet it'll probably be higher than everyone else in Scotland's highest attendance of the season outside the old firm, hearts and Aberdeen. Even Dundee Utd probably won't get over 8 unless we take a big away support.

gogsy23
09-08-2016, 07:44 PM
Grant holt is top class. His movement and general play is a joy to watch. Missed a sitted but.....

09-08-2016, 07:45 PM
**** the BBC, early rounds in this cup are always poorly attended. There will be a great crowd there on Saturday and beyond to cheer on the team.

09-08-2016, 07:46 PM
Guys on Sportsound seem to be completely anti Hibs don't really understand why

Maybe they've got side bets on who can best put the boot in. :greengrin Whatever it is, it's pathetic, but effective as they always regularly manage to wind a lot of us up. The only solution is for us to make them eat their words.

danger1875
09-08-2016, 07:47 PM
Sorry but who is Tom English and why should we care what he says?

09-08-2016, 07:50 PM
Yellow for SJM

09-08-2016, 07:50 PM

He's a "journalist" and a bellend and what he says is usually complete pish. Best ignored.

09-08-2016, 07:51 PM
James Keatings has put some outstanding free kicks and corners in tonight.

danger1875
09-08-2016, 07:52 PM
He's a "journalist" and a bellend and what he says is usually complete pish. Best ignored.
That explains why I have no idea who he is. I'll continue in my ignorance

The referee is a bit of a fuss pot

Re the BBC anti-Hibs comments, I have never bought into this kind of chat but I have to say that it is now well and truly on my radar. I used to come across many of them through my work, I always had a soft spot for Richard Gordon, he was very hard working and respectful of others, it seems he is developing a habit of Hibs bashing. I've no doubt that Tom English has been encouraged by the producers to adopt a bit of the old Jim Traynor rhetoric and controversialist approach.

HTD1875
09-08-2016, 07:53 PM
James Keatings has put some outstanding free kicks and corners in tonight.

Some brilliant corners on Saturday too, really whips them in with pace.

09-08-2016, 07:53 PM
That explains why I have no idea who he is. I'll continue in my ignorance

You won't miss a great deal to be honest. He hates Hibs for some reason nobody can fathom

09-08-2016, 07:54 PM

He is turning into a bit of a dick. His written work is solid (I mean the standard of the writing, not the content), I enjoy engaging with his work.

09-08-2016, 07:54 PM

It's just so the BBC can claim to have and Englisman, and Irishman and a Scotsman but only incur two fees. I don't quite get him but my take on BBC is they're desperate for audience and its editorial direction appears to be deliberately controversial - and they appear to go out their way on occasion.

09-08-2016, 07:55 PM
It's just so the BBC can claim to have and Englisman, and Irishman and a Scotsman but only incur two fees. I don't quite get him but my take on BBC is they're desperate for audience and its editorial direction appears to be deliberately controversial - and they appear to go out their way on occasion.

Exactly what I just said - he will almost certainly have been handed Traynor's remit.

09-08-2016, 07:58 PM
Tom English

What a fanny. No doubt ages before ko. An early round league cup game on a Tues against QOTS wouldn't get over 10,000 in any stadium outside Celtic/The Rangers. Bet he wouldn't have commented if it was Hearts or Aberdeen though [emoji849]

09-08-2016, 07:59 PM
Exactly what I just said - he will almost certainly have been handed Traynor's remit.

Can you believe I had a bloke at work who claimed to have worked under him and said he was decent bloke and he said "I'm sure he is a Celtc fan...". Obv he's taught them well #fantasists #TheFollowing

09-08-2016, 08:00 PM
Need a goal to kill this, dobbie looking sharp

JimboHibs
09-08-2016, 08:00 PM
What a fanny. No doubt ages before ko. An early round league cup game on a Tues against QOTS wouldn't get over 10,000 in any stadium outside Celtic/The Rangers. Bet he wouldn't have commented if it was Hearts or Aberdeen though [emoji849]

Seriously lol what he said was hardly controversial.

09-08-2016, 08:02 PM

:agree:. Without actually scripting it, I am sure the producer encourages their 'guests' to follow certain lines of observation and comment.

09-08-2016, 08:04 PM
Anything happening at the match?

Cat Stanton
09-08-2016, 08:06 PM
Seriously lol what he said was hardly controversial.

People's sensitivity about this seems a bit bizarre to me. Think English is a decent journalist - one of the few (alongside Spiers) who highlights Sevco's sectarian singing. And everything I've heard him say tonight about Hibs has been very positive.

He is allowed to point out that the ground looked a bit empty early on, isn't he?

HTD1875
09-08-2016, 08:06 PM
Really need a second goal here

09-08-2016, 08:07 PM
Referee makes an arse of it by booking Gray. Then has to book Hamilton softly for catching Gray. Then has to crap out sending Hamil off for clattering Gray. Muppet.

09-08-2016, 08:08 PM

QOTS collecting cards. Not much else. We're not ruthless in our play.

speedy_gonzales
Need a goal to kill this, dobbie looking sharp
Lottery numbers for Wednesday??

1-1.
It's a bit last season. Can't kill it off and sucker punched.

1-1. Dobbie.

Now there is.

1-1

09-08-2016, 08:09 PM
1-1 being made to rue our missed chances

09-08-2016, 08:10 PM
Lottery numbers for Wednesday??

21 05 16 32 02 28 :wink:

09-08-2016, 08:10 PM
Huns 5 up. That's ruthless.

09-08-2016, 08:11 PM
Didn't kill it. Punished by the Dobmeister.

I'd also like to point out that if we somehow contrive to lose this then it is not the end of the world :wink:

Mmmmm!!!

Missed chances back to bite us with a vengeance!

Hopefully a minor blip!!

Need to get right back at them!

Huns 5 up. That's ruthless.

They did get the easiest draw in the whole competition.

Let's give them NO credit.

I fancy Lennon will be on the lads to keep on top of the opposition until they are squashed. A bit of ruthlessness will do us wonders.

09-08-2016, 08:12 PM
Sounds like last season....

And Peterhead down to 10 players.

I'd also like to point out that if we somehow contrive to lose this then it is not the end of the world :wink:

correct. If United go on a league cup run and we focus on the league I wont be displeased.

09-08-2016, 08:13 PM

I don't care who they are or who they're playing, sticking 5 past your opposition with an hour gone should be our standard this season.

09-08-2016, 08:14 PM
So far Keatings is the only real threat outside of our defenders at corners and free kicks.

Mr Grieves
09-08-2016, 08:14 PM

Yep, lacking intensity and relying on gray and Stevenson for the final ball. It's seems so obvious what we're missing?

09-08-2016, 08:15 PM
Stokes scores 2. Rotherham down 2-1 at home to Morecambe.

dphibs
I'll periscope the last 20 mins hopefully no extra time

Periscope: @danny_peden

And the previous season [emoji849]

Joe's ice cream
I don't care who they are or who they're playing, sticking 5 past your opposition with an hour gone should be our standard this season.

Nothing like a realistic expectation .....

09-08-2016, 08:16 PM
Nothing like a realistic expectation .....

Or a small club mentality.

Joe's ice cream
09-08-2016, 08:18 PM
Or a small club mentality.

How come - do 'small clubs' not want to be winning 5-0?

09-08-2016, 08:19 PM
Dunno, is it a realistic expectation?

09-08-2016, 08:20 PM
I'll periscope the last 20 mins hopefully no extra time

Periscope: @danny_peden

?? Did you changed your mind mate

09-08-2016, 08:20 PM
Surely time for a change? Boyle or Harris maybe.

09-08-2016, 08:23 PM
Boyle on for Holt.

09-08-2016, 08:23 PM
Holt misses free header from a corner.

09-08-2016, 08:25 PM
1-2.

Goalkeeping error. Came for a cross and got nowhere near it.

Laidlaw howler

2-1 QOTS Laidlaw comes to claim ball and completely misses it

1-2. Fantastic. We're heading out.

09-08-2016, 08:26 PM
1-2, it's last season all over again. Lennon honeymoon over after one game.

Got to dig deep Hibs.

Mr Grieves
Keeper nowhere near it

Fast attack vs tippy tappy, the former wins most of the time sadly

Getting exactly what we deserve on our showing in the last 25 minutes or so.

FFS! Need players .. this going into the season without the team/squad assembled is plain daft.

Laidlaw flapping at a cross, QoTS score 1-2

Just like last year, on top for much of game but fail to score more than 1 and put game away

Off the bar
09-08-2016, 08:27 PM
FFS just tuned in to see the score after a tedious evening with the in-laws.

C'mon hibs turn this around

A rather large wake up call.

Poor Ross Laidlaw. Wee cup looking tenuous.

09-08-2016, 08:28 PM
Harris on for McGreggor.

Dinnae, Hibs. Dinnae.

Finn2015
Big wake up call particularly with Dundee United looking so impressive tonight to.

09-08-2016, 08:29 PM
1-3. Suicidal defending.

Big, big wake up call.

Missed chances once again our Achilles heal!!

Self inflicted but need to keep it tight at other end!

Ouch well honeymoon period over sharpish and brought down to earth with a bump.

Early wake up call!!

1-3 awful

1-3. Ooot

Slow, uninspired, zero composure and out of the club to the most ordinary of teams.

Laidlaw flapping at a cross, QoTS score 1-2

Just like last year, on top for much of game but fail to score more than 1 and put game away

Sitting here in Row B. Predictable 1-3

Have to say we've been very poor this half.

What a joke!

09-08-2016, 08:30 PM
Couldn't give a toss about the wee cup. A result like this just sets us up for another long slog in the league. Not good enough.

We should have been out of sight and cruising.

Lennon got a job on his hands

Apart from losing to a team we need to own this season, Id happily leave this Cup to the others. Looking forward Saturday! :flag:

No complaints here. We have been dreadful almost the entire game.

Missing 2 glaring chances while 1-0 up has bitten us big style.

If this is how Lennon wants us to play then its a long season ahead.

Have to go for it now

09-08-2016, 08:31 PM
Nightmare. Really glad I couldn't make it.

09-08-2016, 08:32 PM
We need a good reaction to this on saturday.

Forster on for Cummings. Strange one.

3 minutes added time.

Mr Grieves
Learn a ****ing lesson Hibs!Get pace and width now otherwise we'll be struggling in this league....again!

09-08-2016, 08:33 PM
7746 attendance.

09-08-2016, 08:34 PM
Ooot.

Positives
Concentrate on the League.
Wake up call for Saturday/rest of the season

Negatives
Half our silverware chances gone.
We are vulnerable.
Same issues from last season letting us down.

Bobo
09-08-2016, 08:35 PM
As poor a performance as you'll see all season, honkin' from start to finish with all the same old failings, the defence is murder and a shambles! Sadly found wanting in every department! No creation, threat or dig, far too soft and too slow.

Showing intensity now when it's too late

That match will be a lot harder than tonight's. Same old, same old.

Ardenttwo
09-08-2016, 08:36 PM
Nightmare. Really glad I couldn't make it.
Think you will say this a lot this season. Fans fork out again and what do we get. A 35 year old dud and a goalkeeper who could not get a game for Raith

09-08-2016, 08:36 PM
And there in lies the reason we need a couple of quality signings.

"A friend of mine once said he liked his women like his parmesan: strong smelling and shaved"

fulshie
09-08-2016, 08:37 PM
Cant say I'm too bothered of going out of cup. Rather tonight than Sat coming. Poor 2nd half performance though.

09-08-2016, 08:39 PM
Ooot.

Positives

Negatives
We are vulnerable.

Too many think we've enough in the team/squad for the Championship.. now we know. We need players.

AL-Qaholik
09-08-2016, 08:39 PM
Still no pace.
Still no width.
Still no cutting edge.
Still no reliable keeper.

Much work to be done. Immediately.

09-08-2016, 08:40 PM
This could be gods way of telling us we need to concentrate on the league this season.

None of this retrospective "wee cup" stuff from me though. Could have done with a cup run.

09-08-2016, 08:41 PM
In all seriousness I'd dock them money for that.

How that qualifies as 'the manager won't tolerate losing, there's a different mentality about us this season' no there's not. Insipid garbage.

We either thought that all we had to do was show up or we simply couldn't be arsed. Neither of which are acceptable.

Ooot.

Positives

Negatives
We are vulnerable.

We not entered the Petrofac - genuinely don't know has that bit the dust if favour of some Celtic challenge?

Couldn't believe what I was watching on periscope thought I'd watched the delayed 1st QOS goal... Disappointing. But a wake up call.

Sometimes you don't get what you deserve on football, tonight we did. Woeful and wasteful for long periods.

Lennon and Leeann better get the fingers out getting both players in and the team improved.

09-08-2016, 08:42 PM
Forster on for Cummings. Strange one.

3 minutes added time.

Aerial threat for late bombardment? Game was dead, worth a punt.

ShinyFantastic
09-08-2016, 08:43 PM
That was dreadful. No intensity at all, as if they weren't trying. One cup gone and it's only August.

erskine-hibby
09-08-2016, 08:44 PM
Sore one to take, but if we were to go out of any competition at this stage, I'm glad it's this one.

Finn2015
Will this force the club into bringing more signings in? It's a bit worrying tbh

As much as its all about the league this season that result is a joke and makes me worry for the league campaign to come. Same issues still apply all across the team with no sign of more pace/width being added. Awful stuff.

Sometimes you don't get what you deserve on football, tonight we did. Woeful and wasteful for long periods.

Lennon and Leeann better get the fingers out getting both players in and the team improved.

Most on here think we will skoosh the league with the squad we have got. [emoji22]

09-08-2016, 08:45 PM
That was dreadful. No intensity at all, as if they weren't trying. One cup gone and it's only August.

It's two .. oot of Europe also

That match will be a lot harder than tonight's. Same old, same old.

How do you know that Jim?

Whilst I of course want us to win everything, I am in a very perverse way "glad" (poor choice of word!) we are out of this cup already. I want the league to be our pure focus this season, especially given we are all still basking in the ever-glow of the Scottish Cup win. Know I will probably get torn apart for this but last season we simply had too many games.

Skyegreen
09-08-2016, 08:48 PM
It'll all be ok.

We're going to "SKOOSH" this league

Thump! 😁

09-08-2016, 08:49 PM

Jeezus. If I posted this I'd be burnt alive.

Team not trying?? Cmon.

Only August, LC is always early and league is all that matters. If the performance speeds up transfers then fine.
We reached 2 finals, had 0 expectation of a 3rd in a row. Sport is sport.

09-08-2016, 08:49 PM

Went for a walk at one nil thinking we would go on and win the game That will teach me to be complacent
Full strength team apart from new goalie who needs to start now and a few injuries
Defence has looked good up till now what went wrong tonight
Lack of scoring midfielder has never been addressed and even if hendo comes back he only scored 5 last season
We cant be reliant on cummings to win us games and lack of width and pace has been issue thats not been resolved
I expexted more Transfer Actvity but will be patient
But agree we need to focus on leaugue and now boumce back

09-08-2016, 08:50 PM
Same old story tonight, we had enough chances in the first have to be well out of sight at half time.

Second half was awful, there was no urgency from the players, Cummings may as well have been in the stands for all the good he was, McGinn was off his game, Bartley looked slow. Impressed with Holt though

Read some comments earlier about Tom English berating us. Turned on Radio Scotland just in time for him to suggest that Lennon is "under pressure" after this result - what nonsense!

Most on here think we will skoosh the league with the squad we have got. [emoji22]

All this crap about skooshing the league is totally embarrassing. There is no evidence to suggest we should even be favourites on that showing. Tonight's result will send out one very clear message to every team in the Championship ......... we are still a soft touch and there for the beating.

In all seriousness I'd dock them money for that.

How that qualifies as 'the manager won't tolerate losing, there's a different mentality about us this season' no there's not. Insipid garbage.

We either thought that all we had to do was show up or we simply couldn't be arsed. Neither of which are acceptable.

Hopefully the last of the 'We won the Scottish Cup and we are untouchable' mindset. Time for Heroes starts again from scratch lads!

I hoping for a big 90 minute performance on Saturday, if not Im a bit concerned about the season.

However, if we stay in the Championship for next few years, at least its nice to be as far removed from the Old Firm and Hearts as possible!

Football. :doh:

It'll all be ok.

Thump! 😁

It's almost as if you're gloating.

Anyway, this is the league cup.

09-08-2016, 08:51 PM
That formation did not work. Stevenson and Gray are not wingers and playing with only two recognised midfielders was asking for trouble.

mcfly
09-08-2016, 08:52 PM
Calm down everyone.

Yes a poor performance but let's not panic.

This team 8 weeks ago won us the Scottish cup - let's give them time.

New goalie must be available soon and I'm sure we will have a couple other players .

This season is all about promotion - nothing else will do

All this crap about skooshing the league is totally embarrassing. There is no evidence to suggest we should even be favourites on that showing. Tonight's result will send out one very clear message to every team in the Championship ......... we are still a soft touch and there for the beating.

Hopefully not based on one league cup match.. But you're right we need to make sure that we don't send that message by making a hefalump of the next few league games.

That formation did not work. Stevenson and Gray are not wingers and playing with only two recognised midfielders was asking for trouble.

It'll work in some situations, like it did vs Falkirk away. Not tonight though.

It was the same team that has been doing well up till now, sounds like they thought they just had to turn up and stroll it, victims of their own publicity. Rather concentrate on the league to be honest.

Laughing Scott
09-08-2016, 08:54 PM
Honking.
Same frailties as last season.
Need to get the fingers oot pronto, otherwise it's gonna be a long season ahead. :(

Read some comments earlier about Tom English berating us. Turned on Radio Scotland just in time for him to suggest that Lennon is "under pressure" after this result - what nonsense!

Exaggeration, yes, but hardly nonsense. It's results and performances like this that give these pundits some sort of justification for their 'down' on Hibs.

Shows we miss Dylan and Fraser big time and highlights the lack of squad depth. Unlike some I thought the bench looked awful. Midfield needs creativity and Lennon needs to rip into them because performances like that will see a third season in the Championship.

Well done Queens though - absorbed the limited pressure, then countered.,Hibs never seem to do 'ruthless'.

09-08-2016, 08:55 PM
I knew we should have paraded the cup before the start.

09-08-2016, 08:56 PM
Fyvie and McGeough are a massive part of our team. We're pretty average without them.

hhibs
09-08-2016, 08:58 PM
As much as its all about the league this season that result is a joke and makes me worry for the league campaign to come. Same issues still apply all across the team with no sign of more pace/width being added. Awful stuff.

Exactly.

That was truly woeful and just underlines to me that as you say nothing at the club has moved on,same mistakes,same weaknesses in the team and unbelievably same lack of of urgency in changing our team/tactics when it was clear we were going nowhere and that QofS were gaining confidence.

Was not all that impressed with our performance against Falkirk either, though welcomed the three points,I am by no means confident that unless we strengthen the squad significantly we will screw it up ,again.

Pace,Pace,Pace and someone else who can put the ball in the bloody net !

Hope lennon bins that line up/formation straight away. That was dire tonight

Shows we miss Dylan and Fraser big time and highlights the lack of squad depth. Unlike some I thought the bench looked awful. Midfield needs creativity and Lennon needs to rip into them because performances like that will see a third season in the Championship.

Well done Queens though - absorbed the limited pressure, then countered.,Hibs never seem to do 'ruthless'.

ahem, fourth!

09-08-2016, 08:59 PM
Should have been 3 or 4 up at half time.

2nd half was brutal.

Cat Stanton

I'm afraid this already is a third season in it...

Funny how Hearts were hammered in the first round a couple of seasons ago and still skooshed the league.

09-08-2016, 09:01 PM
It'll all be ok.

Thump! 😁

Just as well this isnt a league game then

09-08-2016, 09:01 PM
Last year we were all saying the same thing, don't worry about the cups, lets focus on promotion. That did;t go to plan, we had great cup runs, and won the SC. OK I know we would all love to retain the Holy Grail again, but the LC is gone, maybe that's a good thing, as we can concentrate on promotion which, well to me anyway, is FAR more important this season. League first, then cups this time.

09-08-2016, 09:02 PM
Fyvie and McGeough are a massive part of our team. We're pretty average without them.

They don't have the pace to make up the lack of pace by our current defence.

Any team with a speedy forward will cut us apart. FACT

Skyegreen
09-08-2016, 09:03 PM
4 goals conceded in two games!

Worrying 🤔

09-08-2016, 09:04 PM
3 or 4 New faces needed urgently.

09-08-2016, 09:05 PM
It'll work in some situations, like it did vs Falkirk away. Not tonight though.

3-5-2 should be used imo if we are playing a quality side and looking to try to contain them and fight for possession. At home in this division we need to be playing a much more positive formation. Stevenson and Gray, for all there qualities cannot be our only attacking outlets on the wing.

09-08-2016, 09:06 PM
ahem, fourth!

Yep, meant that Jim.

I don't like this 'focus on league' argument either - that result gives United, Morton, Dunfermline confidence. We need a cup run for money as well as prestige.

On Sarurday we better come out the traps with intensity and verve - tonight was a huge wake up call and the 'cup final' safety net needs to be cast off and the sleeves rolled up. As much as I know it's inevitable I hate our fans constantly berating former Jambos - egg on face is sure to follow and I wish their energy would go into cheering Hibs players.

The Captain....
09-08-2016, 09:06 PM
Signings...signings....signings....we need them and now.

First half was ok'ish and without hitting the heights we were creating chances and should have been a couple up at half time..Holt missing the easiest of the chances towards the end of the first half.

Second half was absolute garbage...looked leaden footed, lacked any creativity and the players looked like they were running on empty. Its my guess that for all Lennon's talk about the strength of the squad his selection of more or less the same players tonight told its own story.

Im not a Holt fan - he lacks mobility and is half a yard slow. He needs to get fitter to start. Others will disagree (fair enough) who enjoy seeing a lumbering target man but it's not for me.

Time for the Board to redouble their efforts to bring in our targets and if they're not available, look for alternatives. Arguably our tardiness over bringing in a keeper has contributed to two Cup exits already this season.