View Full Version : Joe Davis ex Hibby passed away......

Hibby soldier
08-08-2016, 03:18 PM
Just heard on twitter Joe Davis the penalty king in the 60's has passed away.......

08-08-2016, 03:20 PM
Really sad to hear this. Joe joined us from Third Lanark and was a firm favourite at Easter Road. As you say, quite the penalty King.

RIP Joe

Big L
08-08-2016, 03:23 PM
Really good player, very popular with the fans! RIP Penalty king.

Hibby soldier
08-08-2016, 03:25 PM
75 years old......

Sherlock Jones
08-08-2016, 03:27 PM
Sad news. Cheerio Joe.

08-08-2016, 03:27 PM
Remember Joe, well and can't remember if he actually missed a penalty for us, a very good player back then in trying times for the club.

RIP Joe

ACLeith
08-08-2016, 03:28 PM
75 years old......

Not old nowadays. Another from my boyhood gone sadly.

h185forever
08-08-2016, 03:30 PM
Fondly remembered ....always ...RIP JOe

08-08-2016, 03:31 PM
Remember Joe, well and can't remember if he actually missed a penalty for us, a very good player back then in trying times for the club.

RIP Joe

I think he may only have missed one. An important one against Hearts.

RIP Joe

08-08-2016, 03:31 PM
RIP Joe, always cool as a cucumber.

hibbybrian
08-08-2016, 03:42 PM
RIP Joe.

A great servant to the club from 1962 to 1969, remembered for his penalty prowess but was also a terrific defender and Club Captain.

Finn2015
08-08-2016, 03:43 PM
My condolences

08-08-2016, 03:53 PM
Yes best penalty taker I've seen next to lettiss rip

08-08-2016, 03:58 PM
Signed as a replacement for John Parke if i remember correctly, good honest pro.

08-08-2016, 03:58 PM
A big figure from my young Hibs days. The penalty king.

green.oracle
08-08-2016, 04:05 PM

RIP Joe

Firstly, condolences to his family and friends.
Second, i can recall 3 where he did not score. Scottish cup tie v them 1966, new years day v them 1969 and fairs cup v hamburg 1969.
Sure he scored from the spot 40 times

RIP Joe

inglisavhibs
08-08-2016, 04:06 PM
Signed as a replacement for John Parke if i remember correctly, good honest pro.
Yes he did, took over from John Parke. Eric Stevenson won the penalties and Joe scored them. He had an unusual run up as he never lifted his head. R.I.P Joe.

08-08-2016, 04:17 PM
Was the first left back I saw for Hibs.

Met him in the Fenwick a couple of times on our way to / from Killie.

RIP Joe.

confused
08-08-2016, 04:17 PM
Another of my boyhood hero's sadly gone ,cool as cucumber and sound as a pound, a great servant to the club in his time with us,R.I.P.

Roxyhibee
08-08-2016, 04:20 PM
His family can be proud that he is still thought of so highly by the Hibs supporters from those days, that seem so long ago now..

First time I saw us win a New Years Derby was when Joe scored in a 1 nil victory at Easter Road in the late 60's..? I remember as a young boy, buzzing and dying to get home to brag about our win. My dad and uncles seemed pleased enough coming out the ground but I was jumping about..

RIP Joe and thanks for great memories.

08-08-2016, 04:20 PM
Joe was a solid no. 3 for us.
Another sad loss.
RIP.

08-08-2016, 04:26 PM
Ever present 4 seasons in a row.

bythecringe
08-08-2016, 04:32 PM
So sad to hear of his passing. What a duo he and Eric Stevenson were. Eric won the penalties and Joe put them away as cool as you like. Thanks for the memories. RIP

08-08-2016, 04:35 PM
Captain when I first saw the Hibees. Only 75 puts it in perspective. RIP

08-08-2016, 04:36 PM

He sure was & im not sure we ever did a better piece of business. Played in about 200/300 consecutive games & I don't think he was ever booked. Super player & a true gentleman, sad news.

08-08-2016, 04:38 PM
Eric Stevenson to win the penalties and Joe to convert them - the dynamic duo.

RIP Joe and thanks for the memories.

BarneyHibby
08-08-2016, 04:45 PM
Sad news... RIP Joe

hhibs
08-08-2016, 04:53 PM
RIP Joe.

A great servant to the club from 1962 to 1969, remembered for his penalty prowess but was also a terrific defender and Club Captain.

Fully agree, gave his all for the club,sad loss.

c31
08-08-2016, 04:59 PM
My condolences to his family and his mates. He was a part of the first Hibs team I remember, in these day it was basically the same team every week.
Allan, Duncan Davis, Stanton Mason McGraw, Scott Quinn Stein Cormack Stevenson.

RIP Joe...

wandering_hibee
08-08-2016, 05:12 PM
The first player I ever saw score a goal for Hibs, a penalty of course, and he instantly became my hero. RIP Joe and thanks for the memories.

Roxyhibee
08-08-2016, 05:14 PM
My condolences to his family and his mates. He was a part of the first Hibs team I remember, in these day it was basically the same team every week.

RIP Joe...

Love reading the names in that team - my first Hibee Heroes in my very early years.

Do you mean Madsen where you've put Mason.? - (not trying to be funny, I was young and may have missed a name or 2 in those days..)

08-08-2016, 05:25 PM
Love reading the names in that team - my first Hibee Heroes in my very early years.

Do you mean Madsen where you've put Mason.? - (not trying to be funny, I was young and may have missed a name or 2 in those days..)

Thanks for asking. That one made me think as well.

08-08-2016, 05:36 PM
Back in the day we would simply say " meet at Joe's pylon " and we would all gather under the floodlight pylon behind Joe Davis at kickoff.

He always seem to win the toss and of course kick up-hill first half. I think we were still calling it Joe's pylon until it was pulled down in the 80's.

08-08-2016, 05:54 PM

John Madsen, Danish centre half, our first scandi signing -from Morton !

08-08-2016, 05:59 PM
Sorry to here that news. Was in the team the first time I set foot in ER.

banchoryhibs
08-08-2016, 06:11 PM
A stalwart in the team when I first went to Easter Road. RIP Joe

Tom Hart RIP
08-08-2016, 06:22 PM
My first Derby was at ER in New Year's Day late 60s. Hibs got a penalty with 10 mins to go. It had just started snowing and joe tucked it past Cruikshanks to win the game. Great memory

Tom Hart RIP
08-08-2016, 06:23 PM

RIP Joe...
My first team as well. Great team

08-08-2016, 06:26 PM
Another of my boyhood hero's sadly gone ,cool as cucumber and sound as a pound, a great servant to the club in his time with us,R.I.P.

Agreed. RIP Joe. Top player. Always remembered.

c31
08-08-2016, 07:37 PM

Yeah sorry Madsen, Danish player -- old age plays memory tricks some times...

08-08-2016, 07:41 PM
Sorry to hear of Jo's passing. He was one of the most dependable players of his generation. Had a wee look at Joe's stats. He was ever-present in the side 4 seasons on the trot from '65/'66 to '68/'69 (a total of 273 games). Joe's goal scoring at ER was pretty amazing too. According to 'hibernian -The Players and Managers 1946 - 2009' he netted 31 times in a 2 year period.
Condolences to Joe's family and friends.

08-08-2016, 07:42 PM
Joe Davis was a terrific full back, and a fine footballer, as was his partner on the other side of the pitch, Bobby Duncan.

RIP.

08-08-2016, 07:59 PM
One of Hibs best ever full backs. The double act of Eric Stevenson and Joe won us countless games.
The sight of Stevie sitting in the penalty box and Joe walking towards the penalty spot is one of my lasting memories of Hibs in the 60's. Great days
RIP Joe.

belhavenbill
08-08-2016, 08:03 PM
A great full back who was an integral part of an entertaining team which never quite achieved as much as it should have. Did he not take the penalties? Hence the number of goals scored. And did he not replace John Parke another fine left back? RIP Joe.

08-08-2016, 08:04 PM
Mr Dependable !!
Finest penalty taker I have ever seen at ER , Don't think he ever missed one
RIP !!

08-08-2016, 09:25 PM
I well remember the times we won a penalty and the shout from our old shed was "Joe, Joe, Joe Davis" and up he would step to slot the ball into the net. Even better when it was doon the slope towards us.

Thanks Joe. :flag:

09-08-2016, 12:38 AM
Mr Dependable !!
Finest penalty taker I have ever seen at ER , Don't think he ever missed one
RIP !!

He did...and the one against Hamburg proved costly, but his signing from Third Lanark to replace JohnParke was a fine piece of business by the club.

Saw him scores of times but only face to face meeting was when as a youth I was having a kick about at Seafield and Hibs turned up in a bus to do their training there.

After the had finished I noticed one player had left behind their tracksuit bottoms and a look at the tag said they belonged to J Davis, so I went in search of him, to return them.

He wasn't in any group of players that were having a chat and someone said he was already on the bus.

He was...up the back having a fag!

Maybe not today's equivalent of good sports science perhaps, but it seemed to work for him, as there was never a doubt about his fitness during his time at ER.

Another good Hibby passes on....condolences to family and friends.

jockspanner
09-08-2016, 04:58 AM

RIP Joe...

RIP Joe, this was the first team I was able to quote to memory aged about 8, Joe as always, king of the penalty kicks, my condolences to his family.

LoaningCrHibbie
09-08-2016, 08:47 AM
R.I.P. Joe and thanks for the memories... (I often go to the National library on George IV Bridge researching Hibs so I'll do some research on Joe and let you all know)

09-08-2016, 08:52 AM
RIP Joe, this was the first team I was able to quote to memory aged about 8, Joe as always, king of the penalty kicks, my condolences to his family.

My first team too, though I sometimes had Willie Wilson rather than Thomson Allan. Did they overlap?

09-08-2016, 09:17 AM
I vividly remember him scoring a penalty against Celtic at ER to put us 2-1 up with about 10mins to go then John Hughes went on the rampage and we ended up losing 4-2 (I think)

Bill Milne
09-08-2016, 09:27 AM

RIP Joe

Joe was, normally, deadly from the spot but he missed a penalty at ****castle in the cup in 1966!!

09-08-2016, 10:19 AM
Fondly remembered ....always ...RIP JOe

RIP Joe

I think he may have missed a couple - the Evening News brought out a special edition with banner headlines when he did, it was such big news - but I do remember him being second top scorer with 15 goals (all but 2 being penalties) one season.

Wee Stevie won the pens, Joe stuck them away. Great double act.

I'm very sorry to hear he's died.

09-08-2016, 10:22 AM
I vividly remember him scoring a penalty against Celtic at ER to put us 2-1 up with about 10mins to go then John Hughes went on the rampage and we ended up losing 4-2 (I think)

Worse - it was 5-2. I was there. :grr:

I would say that Hughes was an animal, but that would be grossly unfair to the animals.

Probably the dirtiest and most unprincipled apology for a 'footballer' I've ever seen.

09-08-2016, 10:41 AM

I would say that Hughes was an animal, but that would be grossly unfair to the animals.

Probably the dirtiest and most unprincipled apology for a 'footballer' I've ever seen.

09-08-2016, 10:44 AM
I vividly remember him scoring a penalty against Celtic at ER to put us 2-1 up with about 10mins to go then John Hughes went on the rampage and we ended up losing 4-2 (I think) it was 5-2 they scored 4 goals in the last ten minutes. I was up in the top tier next to some Celtic fans who gave it plenty when they scored direct to me as I done when joe put us 2-1 up that's how I remember it vividly even tho memory a bit clouded now.

Argylehibby
09-08-2016, 11:06 AM

RIP Joe...

Sorry to hear of Joe's death, thoughts go out to family and friends.

A few weeks back I found an old autograph book I had as a kid and most if not all of the guys named here have signed it.

09-08-2016, 11:10 AM

Joe, on the other hand, was a complete sportsman and gentleman.

09-08-2016, 11:12 AM

Aye, broke Bobby Duncan's leg. Nearly 50 years ago now but will never forget that sound.

09-08-2016, 12:47 PM
Aye, broke Bobby Duncan's leg. Nearly 50 years ago now but will never forget that sound.

Me neither.

09-08-2016, 04:31 PM

And to put into perspective Sunday's reffing performance at the PBS, Hughes didn't even get booked for it. Automatic sending off in any league in the world without the (as it was then) Old Firm in it.