View Full Version : 20mph

01-08-2016, 01:14 PM
How long before we have to drive everywhere in reverse?

01-08-2016, 01:16 PM
Can I ask a silly question?

Are all the streets, that have the new limit, signed accordingly?

I was driving about yesterday, a tad confused. :greengrin

speedy_gonzales
01-08-2016, 01:25 PM
Drove through Kirkliston this morning, plenty 20 signs up and paint on the road so you'd have to be Mr Magoo to miss it. However, there was a little confusion where the old 20 zone outside the primary school is/was. The council have left the 30 roundels up on the back of the big sign with the yellow flashers so there is some contradictory signage.

Apart from that, the 20 zone seemed to be obeyed by all motorists around me, long may it continue??

derekHFC
01-08-2016, 01:38 PM
I didn't realise that it was a phased implementation, I thought it was all of Edinburgh at once and was surprised that there weren't more signs up.

I stay in zone 2, so it doesn't come into effect for me till later on, its just the town centre and west of the city for now.

I did speak to someone earlier who said that in one street, it was sign-posted for 20mph going one way and 30mph going the other. I don't know if he was being serious or not :greengrin

01-08-2016, 01:55 PM
I didn't realise that it was a phased implementation, I thought it was all of Edinburgh at once and was surprised that there weren't more signs up.

I stay in zone 2, so it doesn't come into effect for me till later on, its just the town centre and west of the city for now.

I did speak to someone earlier who said that in one street, it was sign-posted for 20mph going one way and 30mph going the other. I don't know if he was being serious or not :greengrin

That surely wouldn't be the case - maybe they ran out of paint or haven't replaced the signs.

On a related note, I'd like to see motorways etc being upped to 80 MPH.

01-08-2016, 02:35 PM
That surely wouldn't be the case - maybe they ran out of paint or haven't replaced the signs.

Not sure it would make much odds here with just 2 lanes, you would still get you folk on the inside sitting at 50 then the knock on with slightly quicker but still slow vehicles clogging the overtaking lane to get by them - I doubt putting it up to 80 would make those that are slow anyway go much quicker and they are the real barrier to getting the roads moving more quickly.

01-08-2016, 02:40 PM
It's the biggest load of pish ever. Another money spinner for the counci, pointless venture.

If you're worried about folk speeding, just put cameras up? simple. Now you end up stuck driving behind somebody driving 14mph all the way through the grassmarket and holyrood park, adding a good 10 minutes to the journey time with cyclists overtaking you.

01-08-2016, 02:54 PM
Drove through Kirkliston this morning, plenty 20 signs up and paint on the road so you'd have to be Mr Magoo to miss it. However, there was a little confusion where the old 20 zone outside the primary school is/was. The council have left the 30 roundels up on the back of the big sign with the yellow flashers so there is some contradictory signage.

Apart from that, the 20 zone seemed to be obeyed by all motorists around me, long may it continue??
Love the irony, given your user name. :greengrin

01-08-2016, 02:59 PM
Not sure it would make much odds here with just 2 lanes, you would still get you folk on the inside sitting at 50 then the knock on with slightly quicker but still slow vehicles clogging the overtaking lane to get by them - I doubt putting it up to 80 would make those that are slow anyway go much quicker and they are the real barrier to getting the roads moving more quickly.
Amazing that since the invention of the motor car 30mph in towns seemed reasonable. All of a sudden it's too fast.

01-08-2016, 03:09 PM
It's reasonable to have 20 mph limits in residential areas and I'd have no objection to a full implementation of that. But this is taking it too far. I can see this causing a lot of frustration. The ********s that come up with this need to be put down, I don't believe for one second that this was met by approval on the apparent survey they carried out.

01-08-2016, 03:18 PM
It's reasonable to have 20 mph limits in residential areas and I'd have no objection to a full implementation of that. But this is taking it too far. I can see this causing a lot of frustration. The ********s that come up with this need to be put down, I don't believe for one second that this was met by approval on the apparent survey they carried out.
Aye, I love surveys. I'm sure I could arrange the 'selection' to get any result I wanted.
i.e. Poll the residents of Barton re. building a new prison there. Difficult to predict the outcome, eh?

EH6 Hibby
01-08-2016, 03:27 PM

If they're doing the zones in line with their parking restrictions then it could be the case that one side of the road is different to the other.

I got my one and only parking ticket on Montrose terrace for that reason. I regularly park on the left hand side going towards London Road, you can park between 9.15am and 4.30pm. There were no spaces one day so I parked on the other side and got a ticket. You can't park on that side between 8am and 6pm.

01-08-2016, 04:52 PM

Agreed it's a load of pish, thankfully most people seem to be ignoring it including the police car I was behind on the mound earlier.

01-08-2016, 07:59 PM
I was stuck behind this old geezer on the way home from the meadows, going south. Despite the fact we were outside the zone he stuck to 19 mph for 2 miles, despite there being no one about and him being outside the zone! Lots of people clearly thinking its 20 mph everywhere.

01-08-2016, 08:56 PM

Ah you see that's the problem. You and I and who knows how many others thump their keyboard on here (dotnet and the like) but won't, or didn't, object when the consultation was on. Nor as far as I'm aware, because I'm sure we would have heard ;-) did those representing the professional drivers like the taxi companies or trade associations.

Apathy at its best and the more apathic we are the more crap like this we'll get.

01-08-2016, 10:51 PM
Signs say 30 but paint on the road says 20, crazy so I added them together and done 50.

02-08-2016, 07:52 AM
Signs say 30 but paint on the road says 20, crazy so I added them together and done 50.

02-08-2016, 09:33 AM
How has the city centre been since this has been in place, is ok or carnage? The thing that get me is that there's a huge difference between central Edinburgh and the rest of the city, I just don't see 20mph as the way forward.

02-08-2016, 09:57 AM
I wonder what sort of impact this will have on taxi fares?

02-08-2016, 10:21 AM
How has the city centre been since this has been in place, is ok or carnage? The thing that get me is that there's a huge difference between central Edinburgh and the rest of the city, I just don't see 20mph as the way forward.

The centre is all stop start anyway so not sure it makes one jot of difference to the traffic in the likes of George St.

Beyond that I've not noticed any difference at all but will surely get stuck behind some do goofed doing 17mpg soon enough!

02-08-2016, 12:06 PM
The centre is all stop start anyway so not sure it makes one jot of difference to the traffic in the likes of George St.

Beyond that I've not noticed any difference at all but will surely get stuck behind some do goofed doing 17mpg soon enough!

Glad I'm not paying their road tax. :wink:

02-08-2016, 01:09 PM
It shouldn't make any difference as your fare is mostly calculated on distance travelled. It's only when the cab is stationary that it would make any difference. For example if you travel 10 miles at 30mph it would cost the same as travelling 10 miles at 60mph even though the time in the taxi would be half as much.

02-08-2016, 01:31 PM

No impact at all, they will still be expensive :greengrin

02-08-2016, 01:39 PM
No impact at all, they will still be expensive :greengrin
Reassuringly expensive old boy :greengrin

02-08-2016, 02:47 PM
It shouldn't make any difference as your fare is mostly calculated on distance travelled. It's only when the cab is stationary that it would make any difference. For example if you travel 10 miles at 30mph it would cost the same as travelling 10 miles at 60mph even though the time in the taxi would be half as much.

Cheers! Cannae even remember the last time I was in one. Probably asked the driver if he'd been busy though! :greengrin

02-08-2016, 02:54 PM
Glad I'm not paying their road tax. :wink:

Bloomin' autocorrect!

02-08-2016, 02:57 PM

However, if there's a substantial increase in journey times because of the new limits, cabbies will have to work longer for the same money. That can't be good for you.

Equally so, punters might be less happy, and your tips could suffer.

02-08-2016, 05:09 PM

I never knew that! �� I always thought it was just in the cab. You learn something new every day :aok:

02-08-2016, 07:32 PM
However, if there's a substantial increase in journey times because of the new limits, cabbies will have to work longer for the same money. That can't be good for you.

Equally so, punters might be less happy, and your tips could suffer.
All that is true, hopefully it won't happen though.

Callum7
02-08-2016, 09:37 PM
I'll have a man walking infront of my car with a red flag.

http://i64.tinypic.com/sl2zgh.jpg

02-08-2016, 11:38 PM
I'll have a man walking infront of my car with a red flag.

http://i64.tinypic.com/sl2zgh.jpg

Don't laugh. That's where we're heading.
Progress - that's how the numpties see it.
(Lunatics/asylum comes to mind.)

03-08-2016, 05:38 AM
I'll not be happy until all Edinburgh progresses to this

http://www.oldbike.eu/museum/wp-content/uploads/2012/03/1869_boneshaker_bicycle_4.jpg

03-08-2016, 05:52 AM
I don't know what's worse, the rule itself or the patronising way it's being presented to us.

We're being reassured that "this is for the greater good" and "life is better at 20" by the same people who assured us that there were absolutely no potholes on Edinburghs roads a few months ago.

03-08-2016, 10:27 AM
I don't know what's worse, the rule itself or the patronising way it's being presented to us.

We're being reassured that "this is for the greater good" and "life is better at 20" by the same people who assured us that there were absolutely no potholes on Edinburghs roads a few months ago.
:agree: Did you see the stupid mascot they had out on the streets?

03-08-2016, 02:25 PM
:agree: Did you see the stupid mascot they had out on the streets?

Please tell me you're joking.

Edit: just googled it. FFS!

03-08-2016, 04:25 PM
Please tell me you're joking.

Edit: just googled it. FFS!
Someone was probably paid money to come up with that.

ACLeith
03-08-2016, 05:59 PM
Experienced it for the first time today. Tried hard but found I was going most of the time at 25. What a criminal I am!!

Impossible to get beyond 3rd gear, so fuel consumption will suffer and presumably emissions will rise. And I'm driving an illegal emissions Skoda anyway that hasn't been recalled as yet so me very bad 😈

03-08-2016, 06:02 PM
Experienced it for the first time today. Tried hard but found I was going most of the time at 25. What a criminal I am!!

Impossible to get beyond 3rd gear, so fuel consumption will suffer and presumably emissions will rise. And I'm driving an illegal emissions Skoda anyway that hasn't been recalled as yet so me very bad 😈
You boy racer you!

ACLeith
03-08-2016, 06:10 PM
You boy racer you!

Yeah call me a boy anytime👍

04-08-2016, 12:58 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/our-region/edinburgh/edinburgh-residents-urged-to-report-drivers-who-break-20mph-speed-limit-1-4193740

How would you even prove this without taking a video of your own speedometer followed by car speeding away and breaking the law doing so?

Absolute lunacy.

04-08-2016, 01:21 PM
http://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/our-region/edinburgh/edinburgh-residents-urged-to-report-drivers-who-break-20mph-speed-limit-1-4193740

How would you even prove this without taking a video of your own speedometer followed by car speeding away and breaking the law doing so?

Absolute lunacy.
Any party that proposes to scrap this or even just scale it back will get my vote in the next council elections.

04-08-2016, 01:33 PM
I smell a petition..

speedy_gonzales
04-08-2016, 02:17 PM

Absolute lunacy.
Down south, a safety partnership will hand a speed gun and a clipboard to a local group of volunteers.
They then stand kerbside and monitor the traffic. Any motorists exceeding a certain limit has their car make/model/colour noted down with the recorded date, time & speed. This information is passed on to their local plod and they send the letter out.
Personally, I've found the people who carry this out to be complete NIMBY's with Napoleon syndrome, HOWEVER, if every motorist that is recorded speeding receives a letter from the local community and perhaps slows down a bit next time, that is surely better than 3pts & a fine, or worse,,,,, TRAFFIC CALMING MEASURES!

04-08-2016, 02:50 PM

Absolute lunacy.

Lee Wallace has already reported a driver who was going 23 mph.

04-08-2016, 04:57 PM
I got stuck behind a foreign driver today, he was either lost or thought the whole of Edinburgh was 20mph, well I say 20mph but I don't think he got faster than 10mph :grr:

04-08-2016, 06:28 PM
Whatever happened to ...

F R E E D O M ! ! ! !

?????

04-08-2016, 10:03 PM

Absolute lunacy.

Lee Wallace has already grassed up ten drivers.