PDA

View Full Version : The" state" of Scottish Football

swordin3
22-07-2016, 07:46 PM
Being a Hibby things are looking up at the moment but as a whole people ask the question why are we struggling to produce international quality players. Pretty simple 40 years ago kids were out on the pitches ,car parks ,Fields, school grounds playing football honing there skills. Playing till dusk
5 hours a day down the parks .
Now a days they are on the computer, i-pad or watching love island.
As a coach I know the SFA say it takes 10,000 hours to perfect a single skill so there are a very small percentage of boys or girls reaching that target even elite players would struggle to meet this quota and they are training 4-5 times a week.
perfect example of my point when I was young you could not find a set of goals on the public parks with any grass on them they were worn out with kids playing on them. Look at any public park , now fully grassed like a bowling green due to lack of use.
Kids learn by playing 2 hours on a Sunday at he local team is not going to produce a Pat Stanton or Kenny Dalglish. Thoughts folks.:confused:

Hibernia&Alba
22-07-2016, 07:54 PM
But what about smaller nations such as Iceland and the two Irelands? Smaller populations, same technology but much better progress.

Scorrie
22-07-2016, 07:57 PM