View Full Version : John Rankin joins Falkirk

22-07-2016, 07:06 PM
John Rankin‏@jranks11 9m9 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/jranks11/status/756563655232282624) Absolutely delighted to have signed for @falkirkbairns (https://twitter.com/falkirkbairns) looking forward to the challenge that lies ahead. Can't wait to get started
https://abs.twimg.com/emoji/v2/72x72/1f44a.png

22-07-2016, 07:08 PM
We'll need to score 2 at least.

#backtohauntus

22-07-2016, 07:09 PM
John Rankin‏@jranks11 9m9 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/jranks11/status/756563655232282624)Absolutely delighted to have signed for @falkirkbairns (https://twitter.com/falkirkbairns) looking forward to the challenge that lies ahead. Can't wait to get started
Half decent player who will be posted missing when the going gets tough.

22-07-2016, 07:11 PM
Don't have any ill feeling towards him as a player and i wish him the best, apart from when he plays Hibs of course.

That said though I've never thought he was a particularly good player and if he's the replacement for Will Vaulkes I'm quite happy with that.

22-07-2016, 07:12 PM
He'll score for fun in this division.

22-07-2016, 07:14 PM
I wish the guy well. A good pro who was unjustifiably pilloried by some of our supposed fans.

Just don't dare score against us though John.

22-07-2016, 07:16 PM

Squigglers aplenty

Ergye
22-07-2016, 07:41 PM
Runs around like a dog that's been let out the car down the local park. The Scottish way. He's no more a footballer than... Well... A dog down the local park. Not worried about him in the slightest.

He does have fantastic legs to be fair. Muscular and tanned, like Jimmy Calderwoods right arm.

22-07-2016, 07:45 PM
Vaulks out, Rankin in.

Not disappointed.

22-07-2016, 07:49 PM
Wouldn't get close to our current midfield.

22-07-2016, 07:51 PM
Good pro though...decent signing for them.

22-07-2016, 07:59 PM
Great engine, super fit, below average footballer. Falkirk continue to build a very workmanlike team. McCracken, rankin, Taiwo, Miller, Baird

Ken
22-07-2016, 08:00 PM

No chance!! He'll score about 3-4 goals

22-07-2016, 08:10 PM
They've lost Vaulks and Sibbald and replaced them with Liam Henderson (lesser) and Rankin, significant downgrade. Unless I'm missing someone they've snapped up.

22-07-2016, 08:13 PM
Thought he may have been picked up by a bottom six SPL side .

22-07-2016, 08:17 PM

He's scored about 40 goals in over 400 appearances since 2003. He's hardly a prolific scorer.

Don't like him.

22-07-2016, 08:19 PM
Great engine, super fit, below average footballer. Falkirk continue to build a very workmanlike team. McCracken, rankin, Taiwo, Miller, Baird

A midfield 3 of players deemed not good enough for Hibs. Rankin, Taiwo and Kerr (was on trial)

22-07-2016, 08:20 PM
A midfield 3 of players deemed not good enough for Hibs. Rankin, Taiwo and Kerr (was on trial)

And all 3 decent players ....

22-07-2016, 08:25 PM
They've lost Vaulks and Sibbald and replaced them with Liam Henderson (lesser) and Rankin, significant downgrade. Unless I'm missing someone they've snapped up.

Where has Sibbald gone?

Always thought he was a good player, would be delighted if we'd have got him.

(They lost someone to st Johnstone, don't think it was Sibbald though, is that who you're talking about?)

22-07-2016, 08:27 PM

All 3no longer good enough to get out this league

22-07-2016, 08:30 PM
Where has Sibbald gone?

(They lost someone to st Johnstone, don't think it was Sibbald though, is that who you're talking about?)

Blair Alston, Is that who you meant?

Apologies for doubting you if Sibbald has left them

22-07-2016, 08:30 PM
All 3no longer good enough to get out this league

Perhaps. But Kerr was excellent last season...and the other two can be top on their day too.

22-07-2016, 08:35 PM
Where has Sibbald gone?

Alston, that's who I meant. My bad. Hopefully Sibbald follows.

22-07-2016, 08:38 PM
Hopefully Sibbald signs for us...zero info just a player I really admire

swordin3
22-07-2016, 08:39 PM
John Rankin‏@jranks11 9m9 minutes ago (https://twitter.com/jranks11/status/756563655232282624)Absolutely delighted to have signed for @falkirkbairns (https://twitter.com/falkirkbairns) looking forward to the challenge that lies ahead. Can't wait to get started

He may have a bigger six pack than John Collins. Allegedly:rolleyes:

Matty_Jack04
22-07-2016, 08:45 PM
Runs around like a dog that's been let out the car down the local park. The Scottish way. He's no more a footballer than... Well... A dog down the local park. Not worried about him in the slightest.

He does have fantastic legs to be fair. Muscular and tanned, like Jimmy Calderwoods right arm.

22-07-2016, 08:56 PM
The days of us being scared of teams containing players like John Rankin are well and truly over. I like him personally but he's just an old Tom Taiwo.

22-07-2016, 08:57 PM
No chance!! He'll score about 3-4 goals

Whooosh :greengrin

22-07-2016, 08:59 PM
The days of us being scared of teams containing players like John Rankin are well and truly over. I like him personally but he's just an old Tom Taiwo.
:agree: We're head and shoulders above the rest.

22-07-2016, 09:02 PM

https://youtu.be/OPBa-nCGbqg

Canon Hannan
22-07-2016, 09:24 PM
He is a great lad and true professional. But getting older and there is no doubt Falkirk are weaker now after losing 2 top midfielders.

22-07-2016, 09:29 PM
Never ever liked him.

john18722
22-07-2016, 11:46 PM
Vaulks out, Rankin in.

Not disappointed.

Has Vaulks left?

dunfyhibby
22-07-2016, 11:50 PM
Really!! Rankin prolific goal scorer! C'mon!! Laughable😄😄

22-07-2016, 11:51 PM
Where is sibbald went too?

Ken
22-07-2016, 11:56 PM
Whooosh :greengrin

Was it???? I thought he was being genuine! Oh well

bob12345
23-07-2016, 12:11 AM
He's scored about 40 goals in over 400 appearances since 2013. He's hardly a prolific scorer.

Don't like him.

Can't fault his world record appearances per year ratio!

jonny
23-07-2016, 12:30 AM
Has Vaulks left?

Away to Rotherham

23-07-2016, 01:23 AM
can never understand the grief some former hibs players get from some fans, he wasn't a world cup star but the guy gave 100% and was certainly not the worst ever player to play for us

Jdawg
23-07-2016, 04:32 AM
He played his heart out for hibs like he has all the clubs he has paid for. Not the best but by no means poor.

I don't recall him skating hibs since he left as far as I recall?

A good professional, looks after himself, think some of the comments are a bit unnecessary.

23-07-2016, 04:55 AM
[QUOTE=Jdawg;4767903]He played his heart out for hibs like he has all the clubs he has paid for. Not the best but by no means poor.

A good professional, looks after himself, think some of the comments are a bit unnecessary.[/QUOTE

I agree.

He is an experienced professional who has played at a higher standard than the division he now finds himself in, and he will be one of Falkirk's regular starters.

Vaulks leaving WILL lessen Falkirk's ability to do us harm, but Rankin coming in certainly plugs that gap a lot more than an 18 year old stepping up from the youth team.

23-07-2016, 05:30 AM
Can't fault his world record appearances per year ratio!

:doh:

23-07-2016, 05:38 AM
He played his heart out for hibs like he has all the clubs he has paid for. Not the best but by no means poor.

A good professional, looks after himself, think some of the comments are a bit unnecessary.

Nearly all comments apart from maybe one or two are praising him?

23-07-2016, 09:41 AM
Rankin was largely pish at Hibs and played his part in the downward spiral of the club when he was there. Tried hard etc, etc. No malice against him though, just a fact. Glad he is joining our rivals, we know what to expect.

The biggest mystery for me is how he has become a pundit. Tragically wooden and adds nothing. Who makes these decisions at the BBC?

Jdawg
23-07-2016, 09:44 AM
Nearly all comments apart from maybe one or two are praising him?

I don't see the need for anyone to make negative comments.

Now if we we're discussing someone like Joe Keenan I would understand.

23-07-2016, 09:47 AM
I don't see the need for anyone to make negative comments.

Now if we we're discussing someone like Joe Keenan I would understand.

It's a thread discussing a former player who is joing a side who are likely to be one of the main contenders for promotion. Nowt wrong offering views, why on earth wouldn't you?

23-07-2016, 09:58 AM
Midfield disco dancer.

23-07-2016, 10:02 AM
Where has Sibbald gone?

Sibbald is still there and will be given a presentation before the Hibs game for having reached 200 matches for them.

For what it's worth, Craig Sibbald is basically just the Falkirk David Wotherspoon. Broke into the scene with a lot of hype but fails to show what he's capable of with any sort of consistency and is the source of frustration for a lot of their fans. I can see him bouncing between the likes of Partick Thistle and Kilmarnock on frees for the rest of his career.

23-07-2016, 10:07 AM
Stubbs weakening falkirk for us, cheers Alan.

23-07-2016, 10:11 AM
Pretty inoffensive character is John Rankin. We have had a lot worse and we have had better who didn't put in half the effort.

23-07-2016, 10:27 AM
He's alright, no more than that. IMO he's quite a similar player to Taiwo who's also at Falkirk. Works hard, I suppose. I thought that he was probably a better player for DU than he ever was for us. He's got something to do with the PFA Scotland nowadays, doesn't he? He fits that profile perfectly IMO, average player who speaks well when interviewed, like Higgins and latterly Wishart. That's just my opinion though. Not got anything against him personally.

Humo
23-07-2016, 10:31 AM
He scored a flukey goal against us up at Tannadice where ben Williams hit the ball off of him and he celebrated going off his nut. Hated him after that personally.

Sent from my SM-A500F using Tapatalk

23-07-2016, 10:47 AM
can never understand the grief some former hibs players get from some fans, he wasn't a world cup star but the guy gave 100% and was certainly not the worst ever player to play for us

If we're not allowed to give different opinions on players then what's the point of hibs net? :dunno:

Ball retention terrible, no vision, ran about around opponents but rarely actually put his foot in, compounded these sins by wearing his socks round his ankles as if he thought he was georgie best, and is now the most anodyne pundit on BBC Scotland. Which is saying something.

23-07-2016, 10:55 AM
Nothing to worry us

Average player who works hard. Always seem to have a real go when playing against us as he felt he never got a fair deal from us

Felt we played him mainly on left and he always drifted inside and left gaps which the opposition exploited.

Better suited centrally but wasn't good enough to hold that position down for us.

Has had a few sly digs at us on TV and in papers since leaving but put that down to HIS opinion he got a raw deal.

Bottom line is he thinks he is better than he actually is

23-07-2016, 11:08 AM

Aye maybe ten years ago.

23-07-2016, 11:09 AM

Maybe ten years ago.

23-07-2016, 11:24 AM
Maybe ten years ago.

Aye right....I watched Mark Kerr play excellent games against us last season....

23-07-2016, 01:46 PM
Decent player, gave his all for Hibs.

Not a world beater, but in that team far from the biggest problem we had.

23-07-2016, 02:00 PM
Maybe ten years ago.I think Taiwo is probably better now than when he was 16...

calmacuk
23-07-2016, 02:05 PM
Making his debut on BT Sport just now against St Johnstone in the league cup.

23-07-2016, 02:18 PM
Making his debut on BT Sport just now against St Johnstone in the league cup.

Liam Craig misses a pen.

23-07-2016, 02:38 PM
3rd pen of the game.

2-0 Saints. Swanson, 2 pens.

23-07-2016, 02:42 PM
I can only imagine what shade of scarlety-purple houston's coupon is just now after conceding 3 first half penalties.

23-07-2016, 02:52 PM
I can only imagine what shade of scarlety-purple houston's coupon is just now after conceding 3 first half penalties.

Well, instead of having a go at the ref or St Johnstone he should be asking why his team cant defend penalties :greengrin

As for John Rankin ... you could never fault the guy for effort, but going from Dundee Utd to Falkirk suggests a downward spiral. The Falkirk midfield will no doubt be hard working, but so is ours and when you match a team for workrate the team with that bit of quality will usually win.

23-07-2016, 03:07 PM
https://youtu.be/OPBa-nCGbqg

That wee dug is better than Rankin

1875STEVE
23-07-2016, 04:00 PM
IMO Falkirk wont be as strong this season.

Sold Vaulks & Alston.

Midfield will consist of Rankin, Kerr & Taiwo......

23-07-2016, 05:26 PM

Come on man JR runs about. That's all he does. He should have been into athletics or something.
Kerr, I will give you, has been a decent player.
Taiwo was meh

supermcginn
23-07-2016, 05:38 PM
Pretty inoffensive character is John Rankin. We have had a lot worse and we have had better who didn't put in half the effort.

I found his corners which hit the first man every time very offensive as did his comments about dundee utd being a much bigger club! He was murder!

24-07-2016, 12:41 PM
I found his corners which hit the first man every time very offensive as did his comments about dundee utd being a much bigger club! He was murder!

Mon dieu I forgot about his corners :grr: Absolute murder and for some reason Riordan who had a great delivery from a corner never got to take them, I think under Mixu?

24-07-2016, 07:45 PM
He had his moments at hibs and I felt picked up a lot of unfair criticism at times but still a very average player. Don't have anything against the guy though, good proffesional and can't fault him for effort.

25-07-2016, 11:50 AM
Couldn't stand Rankin when he was here. Worked his nuts off but was one of the worst decision makers i'd ever seen. Ye''d think he'd based his game around playing FIFA.

He was constantly attempting long passes that he wasn't capable of and shooting from ridiculous distances. I was delighted when he left.

Saying that he seems to have got over that and was not a bad player for Dundee United. My Utd supporting pals love him.

He'll probably be decent for Falkirk but he wouldn't get anywhere near our team.

25-07-2016, 12:00 PM
Good luck at your new club, John.

A true professional who always gave his best for us.

25-07-2016, 12:29 PM
Don't like him, comes across as an arrogant wee nyaff. Crap pundit too.

If he was half as good as he thinks he is then he'd be twice as good as he actually is.

25-07-2016, 12:47 PM
Aye right....I watched Mark Kerr play excellent games against us last season.... Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Cheating barsteward who got McGinn sent off along with his plum of a manager.

He committed the foul went down and rolled about in alleged agony til JM was shown red then made an absolutely miraculous recovery

Falkirk class .... Cheat