View Full Version : Mikey Stewart

Deano Mourinho
21-07-2016, 08:22 PM
Think he is actually willing Hibs to a victory tonight

21-07-2016, 08:26 PM
I want to hate him but his knowledge, professionalism and impartiality make it difficult. His delivery is a bit monotonous but overall he's easily one of the best scottish pundits and it makes him a good co-commentator.

21-07-2016, 08:27 PM
He likes Hibs and is a very good pundit imo.

Deano Mourinho
21-07-2016, 08:27 PM
I want to hate him but his knowledge, professionalism and impartiality make it difficult. His delivery is a bit monotonous but overall he's easily one of the best scottish pundits and it makes him a good co-commentator.

Totally agree

21-07-2016, 08:28 PM
Yes. Definitely one of the better pundits around the Scottish game (that isn't necessarily a compliment - but it's meant as one!)

He said early on in the game that he wants us to win

Best Scottish pundit at the moment imho and doesn't sugar coat things.

I like him.
Talks very well

SuperAllyMcleod
21-07-2016, 08:51 PM
His interview from the Monday Night Fitba lads is well worth a listen - doesn't pull any punches.

21-07-2016, 08:56 PM
I like him.

21-07-2016, 08:58 PM
He is a jambo obviously but has many good Hibs friends when growing up and ended up playing as well for the Hibees, not all Edinburgh born lads hate the other half at all.

21-07-2016, 08:58 PM
He likes Hibs and is a very good pundit imo.

Yup - really like him.

swin1875
21-07-2016, 08:59 PM
Best Scottish pundit in a long time,very professional and talks very well about the game

21-07-2016, 08:59 PM
He's a good pundit. Actaully offers some interesting insght and made no secret that he was rooting for us tonight.

spudhib
21-07-2016, 09:01 PM
Really insightful co-commentary tonight from mikey especially when you compare it to the previous night and Tom boyds amateurish efforts for the Celtic game.

Finn2015
21-07-2016, 09:02 PM
Yip go along with the above. Very measured and eloquent, good commentator

21-07-2016, 09:03 PM
I like Mikey Stewart, he's probably the best pundit in Scottish football.

21-07-2016, 09:04 PM
Michael Stewart seems a decent guy to be fair. 👍

21-07-2016, 09:06 PM
He seemed pretty chuffed we won the cup too and didn't overdo the pitch invasion handwringing.

stewartbrownn
21-07-2016, 09:07 PM
Sutton made an arse out of him the other week. Didn't think that was possible.

21-07-2016, 09:12 PM
Michael Stewart seems a decent guy to be fair. 👍

Well, he used to be a Jambo, but he's alright now!

21-07-2016, 09:19 PM
Agree with the above he's a great pundit and always been very positive around Hibs.

21-07-2016, 09:32 PM
I like him. :aok:

21-07-2016, 09:37 PM
Thought he was great tonight, knows his stuff and was giving it big for Hibs and their performance. Top marks :top marks

21-07-2016, 09:40 PM
I like Mikey Stewart, he's probably the best pundit in Scottish football.

007 Mickey Weir
21-07-2016, 10:08 PM
Yes thought he gave a very positive and quality out look on us. He totally wanted us to win.

Really enjoyed listening to him

hibsdaft
21-07-2016, 10:44 PM
He seemed pretty chuffed we won the cup too and didn't overdo the pitch invasion handwringing.

yep. that won't be forgotten by me. touch of real class.

21-07-2016, 11:01 PM
I like him, felt he always gave it his all when he played for us. No problem with the guy.

21-07-2016, 11:26 PM
Good commentator, seems a nice guy. Am I allowed to gloat here and say I never joined in with the hate-in when he went back to Hearts? :greengrin

Highland_Hibee
21-07-2016, 11:27 PM
No complaints from me about him as a pundit or player. We all have our loyalties lie somewhere but if you can be impartial then you deserve a break now and again.

21-07-2016, 11:27 PM
I like him and I think he's got a bright future ahead of him within the media.

Highland_Hibee
21-07-2016, 11:30 PM
I like him and I think he's got a bright future ahead of him within the media.

Rumor has it he wanted to move into politics but got knocked back for being too honest.

Delboy4
22-07-2016, 12:13 AM
Very good knowledge of the game and if you heard he was saying "us" & "we" when talking about Hibs.

He still has a soft spot for us...well done Mikey 👍🇳🇬🇳🇬👍

Rivers Cuomo
22-07-2016, 07:25 AM
Was a very good player for Hibs, and actually knows what hes talking about when it comes to football, which is a rarity in Scotland. Dont mind him at all, actually quite like him.

22-07-2016, 07:32 AM
Was a very good player for Hibs, and actually knows what hes talking about when it comes to football, which is a rarity in Scotland. Dont mind him at all, actually quite like him.

He always tried hard but never quite got going. Certainly nowhere near the level of the guys he played with at Hibs: Brown, KT, Boozy even.

Rivers Cuomo
22-07-2016, 07:38 AM
He always tried hard but never quite got going. Certainly nowhere near the level of the guys he played with at Hibs: Brown, KT, Boozy even.

Dont think thats fair tbh, I remember Stewart being a highly competent and important member of that midfield for a couple of years. Didnt do the glamourous things but always tried very hard and never let us down. Overall a successful signing for us.

22-07-2016, 07:53 AM
Dont think thats fair tbh, I remember Stewart being a highly competent and important member of that midfield for a couple of years. Didnt do the glamourous things but always tried very hard and never let us down. Overall a successful signing for us.

I never had a problem with his attitude or commitment but he wasn't a Matty Jack or Marvellous Marv type that did the simple thing and was happy with that. He clearly felt he should be doing the glamorous things but, more often than not, it didn't quite work out for him. I think his spells in Yamland were pretty similar.

22-07-2016, 08:03 AM
Am I the only one left who thinks he's a tosser? As a football pundit I admit he's decent and seems to know what he's talking about. As a person, an arrogant fud with too much to say for himself.

22-07-2016, 08:09 AM
Never been a Michael Stewart fan but in fairness he has grown on me. Has a good knowledge of the game and isn't afraid to voice his opinion. Thought he did a good job with the commentary last night. Don't get me wrong still think hes a bit arrogant but as a pundit he's not bad.

22-07-2016, 08:43 AM
Am I the only one left who thinks he's a tosser? As a football pundit I admit he's decent and seems to know what he's talking about. As a person, an arrogant fud with too much to say for himself.

Can't stand him.

22-07-2016, 08:48 AM

In the 2006-2007 season he was our best midfielder by a long way first half of the season, putting the other 'golden generation' in the shade, absolutely outstanding.

swordin3
22-07-2016, 09:32 AM
Never been a Michael Stewart fan but in fairness he has grown on me. Has a good knowledge of the game and isn't afraid to voice his opinion. Thought he did a good job with the commentary last night. Don't get me wrong still think hes a bit arrogant but as a pundit he's not bad.

Yes used to dislike him but quite impressed with him now.Sutton is a Bellen@ Though thinks football is about battering he'll out of each other.

22-07-2016, 11:47 AM
Mikey Stewart is awright in my book, seems a decent bloke. He also gets brownie points for mocking Billy Brown :greengrin

22-07-2016, 12:44 PM
Mikey Stewart is awright in my book, seems a decent bloke. He also gets brownie points for mocking Billy Brown :greengrin

"Did you play?"

22-07-2016, 12:47 PM
good pundit IMO. He was willing the Hibbies to victory :agree:

Skyegreen
22-07-2016, 01:17 PM
Tells it how it is. Some folk like that but some can't take it and look upon him as a Hearts welt! Which is fair comment in my book!

22-07-2016, 01:45 PM

On Saturday? Thought Sutton came across as poorly as ever whilst Stewart was decent.

Ergye
22-07-2016, 04:56 PM
His destruction of Billy Brown on that radio show was quite simply magnificent. Reduced him to an absolute blithering child. He's alright by me. Though he does look unnervingly like a foetus.

cookin_on_gaz
22-07-2016, 05:50 PM
Rumor has it he wanted to move into politics but got knocked back for being too honest.

He recorded a political broadcast earlier this year. Can't remember for which party but may have been labour (doesn't seem the tory type). He does come across as a fairly decent guy and isn't afraid to say what he thinks.

22-07-2016, 06:19 PM
He recorded a political broadcast earlier this year. Can't remember for which party but may have been labour (doesn't seem the tory type). He does come across as a fairly decent guy and isn't afraid to say what he thinks.

He is an SNP supporter.

Cosmic Truth
22-07-2016, 06:20 PM

I agree.

I think he is slightly biased when Hearts are playing, and that's understandable, but he is pretty fair in his opinions, and isn't afraid to say what he thinks, unlike most of the pundits in Scotland who are petrified of upsetting the zombie hordes.

It sounded to me like he genuinely wanted Hibs to go through last night.

Cosmic Truth
22-07-2016, 06:23 PM

I'd like to have heard that.

Ergye
22-07-2016, 07:01 PM
I'd like to have heard that.

Can hear it here mate. Very entertaining. :aok:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dQw4w9WgXcQ

cookin_on_gaz
22-07-2016, 07:02 PM
He is an SNP supporter.

:agree: remember it now, thanks.

Cosmic Truth
23-07-2016, 02:44 PM

*******!

What a Gh Astley trick to play on anyone.

23-07-2016, 02:53 PM

Sutton is a dick & ma backside has forgotten mair abt fitba than he kens.

23-07-2016, 03:00 PM
Always liked Stewart,a decent pundit and nice guy as well whenever I have spoken to him. Used to see him a lot at the Caley when I worked there as he lives in Rutland Street.

Berwickhibby
23-07-2016, 03:01 PM
He is an okay pundit .... There is a lot worse.... In my opinion Pat Nevin is tops

23-07-2016, 03:13 PM

This is what does my head in about him the most. He's 'famous' because of his football career and now being a pundit. I don't give a **** about what his politics are but he's determined to let everyone know anyway. Stick to the football Mikey.

PeeKay
23-07-2016, 04:00 PM
The standard of football punditry in Scotland is so low that Michael Stewart shines in comparison (Derek Fergusson anyone?) and he feels like a breath of fresh air. Actually I think Tam McManus has been quite good since he started on the BBC.
As far as his politics is concerned, he tried for the SNP candidacy for Edinburgh West but was passed over for Michelle Thomson. That worked out well!

cookin_on_gaz
23-07-2016, 04:03 PM
Think it's fair to say that there is no love lost between Mikey and Chris Sutton!!

EDIT. Sutton is a bellend

23-07-2016, 04:05 PM

That's just no' funny, fellow Hibees divn't deserve that.........:shocked:

23-07-2016, 04:07 PM
Stewart v Sutton II on the go just now.